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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (2)

1. EmR0913 — Rule adopted revising s. ATCP 21.17,
relating to the quarantines of Brown County and Kenosha
County for emerald ash borer.

Finding of Emergency
On July 24, 2009, APHIS identified emerald ash borer in

Brown County. On August 12, 2009, APHIS identified
emerald ash borer in Kenosha County.  Emerald ash borer is
an exotic pest that poses a dire risk to the ash forest. When
APHIS declares quarantine, DATCP has regulatory authority
for import controls and quarantine for emerald ash borer
under ATCP 21.17.  It is anticipated that APHIS will declare
quarantines for Brown County and Kenosha County but that
it will take up to six weeks for APHIS to act.   A six week delay
until enactment of the federal quarantines leaves too much
time for businesses or individuals to move potentially
emerald ash borer infested material out of the county to areas
of Wisconsin or other states that are not infested with emerald
ash borer.

DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Publication Date: August 22, 2009
Effective: August 22, 2009 through

 January 18, 2010
Hearing Dates: September 29 and 30, 2009

2. EmR0922 — Rule adopted revising s. ATCP 21.17,
relating to the quarantines of Milwaukee County, Racine
County and Waukesha County for emerald ash borer.

Finding of Emergency
On August 28, 2009, APHIS identified emerald ash borer

in Milwaukee County, near the borders of Racine County and
Waukesha County. Emerald ash borer is an exotic pest that
poses a dire risk to the ash forest. When APHIS declares
quarantine, DATCP has regulatory authority for import
controls and quarantine for emerald ash borer under ATCP
21.17.  It is anticipated that APHIS will declare quarantines
for Milwaukee County, Racine County and Waukesha County
but that it will take up to six weeks for APHIS to act.  A six
week delay until enactment of the federal quarantines leaves
too much time for businesses or individuals to move
potentially emerald ash borer infested material out of the
county to areas of Wisconsin or other states that are not
infested with emerald ash borer.

DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Publication Date: September 14, 2009
Effective: September 14, 2009

through February 10, 2010
Hearing Date: October 15, 2009

Children and Families
Family and Economic Security, Chs. DCF 101−153

EmR0906 — Rule adopted revising ss. DCF 120.05,
120.07 and 120.08, relating to emergency assistance for
needy families.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Children and Families finds that an

emergency exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety,
or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The recent large increase in foreclosures has caused tenants
living in rental properties that are in foreclosure to lose their
housing. Under the current rule, these tenants are not eligible
for Emergency Assistance due to impending homelessness
and would only be able to receive assistance if they became
homeless.  This emergency rule will allow these tenants to
receive assistance for impending homelessness and avoid the
additional expense and trauma of homelessness.

The current maximum payment amounts for Emergency
Assistance due to homelessness and impending homelessness
are insufficient to allow a smaller family to obtain or retain a
permanent living accommodation.  Increasing the payments
for smaller households immediately will help them obtain or
retain a permanent living accommodation with fewer
resources from other sources and may prevent homelessness
for these families.
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The current rule has no maximum payment amount for
Emergency Assistance due to an energy crisis.  All other
categories of assistance have a maximum payment based on
group size.  This emergency rule requires that families first
exhaust resources available through the Wisconsin Home
Energy Program and sets a maximum payment amount for
assistance available for Emergency Assistance due to energy
crisis to make better use of the program’s limited funds.

Publication Date: April 9, 2009
Effective: April 22, 2009 through

September 18, 2009
Extension Through: November 17, 2009
Hearing Date: June 11, 2009

Commerce
Licenses, Certifications and Registrations, Ch. Comm 5
Wis. Commercial Building Code, Chs. Comm 60−66

EmR0904 — Rule adopted creating ss. Comm 5.30 and
61.295, relating to building contractor registration.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows:

1.  Under Chapter 560 of the Statutes, the department of
commerce is charged with facilitating the establishment and
retention of business enterprises in Wisconsin, and with
seeking closer cooperation and coordination between units of
state government, so that the economy of the state may
continue to develop fully and meet citizen and community
needs.

2. Under Chapters 101 and 145 of the statutes, the
department of commerce has oversight over the design,
construction, alteration and maintenance of public buildings
and places of employment, one− and two− family dwellings,
public swimming pools and public water attractions in order
to protect public safety, health and welfare and the waters of
the state.

3.  The department has proposed an administrative rule that
would require the registration of various types of building
contractors not already credentialed by the department under
existing administrative rules.  Under the proposed rules
contractors must be registered with the department by January
1, 2010.  A public hearing on that proposal was held on
January 21, 2009.

4.  The proposed rule has three main benefits to Wisconsin:
first, it will enhance the department’s ability to communicate
with and educate building contractors throughout the state
about their obligations to limit safety and health risks for the
citizens of Wisconsin; second, it will enhance the ability of the
department to cooperate and coordinate with the Department
of Workforce Development relative to their administration of
unemployment insurance and workers compensation
insurance programs; and third, it will enhance the ability of
the department to cooperate and coordinate with the
Department of Revenue relative to their administration of the
state income tax program.

5.  Due to the current economic circumstances, the
department has determined that the implementation for
building contractor registration should be July 1, 2009 in
order for the benefits to be in effect for the 2009 building
construction season.

Publication Date: March 2, 2009

Effective: March 2, 2009 through
July 29, 2009 

Extension Through: November 26, 2009
(except ss. Comm 5.30 (1)  and 61.295 (2)

Effective: July 1, 2009 through
November 27, 2009

Hearing Date: March 31, 2009

Commerce
Uniform Dwelling, Chs. Comm 20−25

EmR0917 — Rule adopted revising Ch. Comm 22,
relating to energy conservation.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare. A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1. Recently, chapter Comm 22, relating to energy
conservation, was repealed and recreated to bring the
Wisconsin requirements in line with the national model
energy code. Effective April 1, 2009, chapter Comm 22
incorporates new prescriptive requirements that apply to
individual components such as walls, windows, skylights,
doors and ceilings. Within that subsection is section Comm
22.31 (2) (a), that allows the use of a “total dwelling thermal
envelope” method, and (2) (b), that allows the use of
REScheck software, version 4.1.0, or later, to calculate
compliance with the Uniform Dwelling Code thermal
envelope requirements.

2. The U.S. Department of Energy’s Building Energy
Codes Program develops and distributes REScheck software.
The software program simplifies and clarifies residential code
compliance with the Model Energy Code (MEC) and the
International Energy Conservation Code (IECC). REScheck
software makes it easier for designers, builders, product
manufacturers and code officials to comply with energy codes
based on the IECC or ASHRAE/IESNA Standard 90.1
requirements. Also, REScheck can be tailored to meet
state−specific codes.

3. The department included the REScheck software edition
requirement in anticipation that Version 4.1.0 would be
compatible with the current code. Working with Pacific
Northwest Laboratories, who contracts with the U.S.
Department of Energy to develop the REScheck software, the
department developed state−specific energy calculations that
were not incorporated into REScheck software until Version
4.2.2. The calculations that reflect the current code are
identified in the software as “Wisconsin 2009.” Versions prior
to 4.2.2 do not have the code choice “Wisconsin 2009.”

4. Previous versions of REScheck, including Version 4.1.0,
do not meet nor support the requirements of Wisconsin’s
current energy code. In fact, Version 4.1.0 includes other
values, such as gross wall trade−offs and appliance credits that
are not included in chapter Comm 22 that became effective
April 1, 2009.

5. The department recognizes that without promulgating
this emergency rule, there would be confusion and
miscalculations surrounding the use of Version 4.1.0 and
other previous and out−of−date versions of REScheck
software to calculate compliance with Uniform Dwelling
Code thermal envelope requirements.
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Publication Date: September 5, 2009
Effective: September 5, 2009 through

February 1, 2010
Hearing Date: October 21, 2009

Commerce
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104—

EmR0910 — Rule adopted to create Chapter Comm 100,
relating to tax benefits for job creation, capital investment,
employee training, and corporate headquarters.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by section 9110 (4) in 2009 Wisconsin Act

2, exempts the Department from providing evidence that this
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety or welfare; and exempts the Department
from providing a finding of emergency for the adoption of this
rule.

Publication Date: June 30, 2009
Effective: June 30, 2009 through 

July 1, 2010 or the date
permanent rules take
effect, whichever is sooner

Hearing Date: September 15, 2009

Corrections

EmR0920 — Rule adopted revising s. DOC 309.466,
relating to inmate release accounts.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of public peace, health, safety and
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Under 2009 WI Act 28, an increased number of inmates are
being considered for release.  In addition, the department has
developed a number of release initiatives to address an
inmate’s successful transition from incarceration to
community life.  As part of those initiatives, there are costs
associated with that transition, including acquiring housing,
employment, and transportation.  For example, an inmate
must have a social security card, a driver’s license or state
identification card, the first months rent and security deposit
for an apartment, and civilian clothing.

Under the current rule, an inmate may only use release
account funds for “adequate clothing for release” and for
“out−of−state release transportation.”  In addition, the rule
limits the maximum amount of money which can be saved in
the release account to $500.00.  The emergency rule
immediately permits the use of release account money for a
wide variety of purchases, including fees associated with
obtaining a driver’s license or state identification card,
housing, and a mode of transportation (bus tickets, vehicle,
bicycle, etc.).  In the past the Department has borne some of
these costs, despite an inmate having the money in his or her
release account.  Given the initiatives of reentry and release,
an inmate should be responsible for these expenditures.

In addition, the emergency rule raises the limit on release
accounts from $500.00 to $5,000.00.  Since the current limit
was established, the cost of living in the community has risen.
The department seeks this change to reflect the significant

costs of housing, transportation, and food and other
necessities.

If the rule is not created promptly and immediately, the
department will not be able to use inmate release account
funds to pay for items which inmates need in preparation for
their release to the community.  The purpose of the emergency
rule is to permit inmates to use release account funds for a
greater range of expenditures related to their release from
incarceration and transition back into the community.  The
permanent rule process has been started.  However, the
permanent rule process will take approximately nine months
to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to respond
promptly to the need to use inmate funds, not state funds,
while permanent rules are being developed.

Publication Date: September 10, 2009
Effective: September 10, 2009

through February 6, 2010
Hearing Date: October 14, 2009

Financial Institutions — Banking

EmR0907 — Rule adopted to create Chapter DFI−Bkg
47 and to repeal Chapter DFI−Bkg 41, relating to the
transition from a registration system to a license system.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by section 9117 of 2009 Wisconsin Act 2

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Publication Date: May 4, 2009
Effective: Section 1: 

5−4−09 through 7−1−11
Section 2: 
9−1−09 through 7−1−11
Section 3:
1−10−10 through 7−1−11

Hearing Date: June 10, 2009

Health Services
Health, Chs. DHS 110—

EmR0928 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter DHS 163,
relating to requirements for conducting lead−safe renovation
activities in pre−1978 housing and child−occupied facilities,
and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health Services (department) finds that

an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the continuity of regulations relating to
lead hazard exposure in Wisconsin.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

Under ch. DHS 163, the department, as Wisconsin’s public
health agency, regulates lead hazard reduction and lead
management activities in pre−1978 housing (target housing)
and child−occupied facilities.  The rules include standards for
certification of individuals and companies conducting these
activities, accreditation of lead training courses and approval
of instructors, and work practices.  In addition to the
department’s authority under chs. 250 and 254, Stats., to
regulate lead hazards, the department has authorization from
the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to regulate lead
hazard reduction and management activities in lieu of the EPA
administering federal regulations in Wisconsin.
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On April 22, 2008, the EPA issued rules under 40 CFR 745
to establish requirements for training renovators, other
renovation workers, and dust sampling technicians; for
certifying renovators, dust sampling technicians, and
renovation firms; for accrediting providers of renovation and
dust sampling technician training; and for renovation work
practices (and associated recordkeeping requirements) that
disturb paint in target housing and child−occupied facilities.
Under the EPA regulations, beginning on April 22, 2010,
persons who perform renovation activities for compensation,
including repair and painting activities, that disturb paint in
target housing and child−occupied facilities must be certified,
properly trained, and follow specific work practices to
prevent lead contamination.  The EPA will begin accepting
applications for certification from individuals and companies
on October 22, 2009.

States that promulgate rules that conform to the EPA
standards on or before October 22, 2009, may accept
applications for certification in lieu of the EPA.  Otherwise,
on October 22, 2009, the EPA will begin accepting these
applications and the associated fees from Wisconsin
companies and individuals.  Such an occurrence may cause
confusion among the regulated community and property
owners, and would impede the department’s ability to
continue to administer a viable lead hazard reduction program
if covered persons begin complying with the EPA
certification requirements before state requirements are
implemented.  Promulgating rules before October 22, 2009,
will help to avoid any unnecessary complexity for covered
persons that may be caused by overlapping state and federal
regulations that address lead−based paint hazards in target
housing and child−occupied facilities.

Publication Date: October 16, 2009

Effective: October 19, 2009
through March 17, 2010

Hearing Date: November 18, 2009

Insurance (5)

1. EmR0918 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter Ins 6,
relating to exempting commercial umbrella and
commercial liability policies covering only hired and
non−owned autos from having to offer or include
uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Act 28 (2009) modified the requirements for auto
insurance in Wisconsin.  Most of these new provisions go into
effect on November 1, 2009.  These modifications did not
specifically address the issue of insurers who write
commercial liability insurance and commercial umbrella
policies which insure only hired and non−owned automobiles
(“HNO”) under the policy but do not insure any automobiles
owned by the insured.

If these new Act 28 requirements apply to commercial
liability insurance and commercial umbrella policies which
insure only hired and non−owned automobiles (“HNO”)
under the policy, this creates a significant problem.  Some of
these insurers do not have authority to write auto insurance
which is needed to write uninsured (“UM”) and underinsured
coverage (“UIM”).  Other insurers offering the commercial

umbrella and commercial liability HNO have not ever written
UM/UIM coverages because the current rules exempt them.
Insurers have also stated that obtaining reinsurance for this is
a problem.

This issue was addressed in 1997 when an emergency rule
was promulgated and modifications to Ins 6.77 were enacted
in response to various court cases.  In that process,
commercial insurers who wrote liability policies that covered
only HNO were exempted from the requirement to offer or
include UM/UIM coverage.  This emergency rule would
continue this exemption so that the market for commercial
liability insurance and commercial umbrella policies is not
disrupted.

Publication Date: September 9, 2009
Effective: November 1, 2009 through

March 30, 2010
Hearing Date: December 8, 2009

(See the Notice in this Register)

2. EmR0923 — Rule adopted to create section Ins 3.36,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to treatment of autism spectrum
disorders and affecting small business.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to s. 632.895

(12m) (f) 2., Stats., need not find that an emergency exists nor
provide evidence that promulgating a rule is necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.

Specifically, s. 632.895 (12m) (f), Wis. Stats., requires the
commissioner to define “intensive−level services,”
“nonintensive−level services,” “paraprofessional,” and
“qualified” for purposes of providing services under this
subsection. The statute further authorizes that the
commissioner may promulgate rules governing the
interpretation or administration of this subsection.

Publication Date: September 26, 2009
Effective: September 26, 2009

through February 22, 2010
Hearing Date: December 2, 2009

(See the Notice in this Register)

3. EmR0925 — Rule adopted to create section Ins 3.75,
relating to continuation of group health insurance
policies.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under 2009 Wisconsin Act 11, section 9126, a Finding of

Emergency is not required for this emergency rule. The
relevant portion of 2009 Act 11 reads as follows:
2009 Wisconsin Act 11, SECTION 9126.0Nonstatutory
provisions; Insurance.

(4) CONTINUATION COVERAGE RULES. (a) Notwithstanding
section 632.897 of the statutes and subsections (1), (2), and
(3), the commissioner of insurance may promulgate rules
establishing standards requiring insurers to provide
continuation of coverage for any individual covered at any
time under a group policy who is a state eligible individual to
whom subsection (2) or (3) applies or an assistance eligible
individual, as defined under section 3001 (a) (3) of the federal
act, including rules governing election or extension of
election periods, notice, rates, premiums, premium payment,
application of preexisting condition exclusions, and election
of alternative coverage.

(b) The commissioner may promulgate the rules under
paragraph (a) as emergency rules under section 227.24 of the
statutes. Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (c) of the
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statutes, emergency rules promulgated under this paragraph
may remain in effect for one year and may be extended under
section 227.24 (2) of the statutes.  Notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the commissioner is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating a rule
under this paragraph as an emergency rule is necessary
for the preservation of public peace, health, safety, or
welfare and is not required to provide a finding of
emergency for a rule promulgated under this paragraph.
[Emphasis Added]

Publication Date: October 1, 2009
Effective: October 2, 2009

through October 1, 2010
Hearing Date: December 8, 2009

(See the Notice in this Register)

4. EmR0927 — Rule adopted to create Chapter Ins 57,
relating to care management organizations and affecting
small business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Beginning January 1, 2010, care management
organizations are required to obtain a permit from the
commissioner to provide services under the Family Care
program.  In order to ensure no gap in services to enrollees,
organizations and the office need to complete and accept
applications for permits prior to January 1, 2010.
Promulgation of this rule will permit the timely filing and
review of permittees.

Publication Date: October 9, 2009
Effective: October 10, 2009

through March 10, 2010
Hearing Date: December 3, 2009

(See the Notice in this Register)

5. EmR0930 — Rule adopted to create section Ins 3.34,
relating to insurance coverage of dependents to age 27 and
affecting small business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:  the
Commissioner is aware that insurers, employers and
consumers are interpreting the state mandate inconsistently so
without this rule consumers will not be treated similarly when
the law becomes effective on January 1, 2010; the
Commissioner has received numerous inquiries from
insurers, consumers and employers seeking clarity of terms
and guidance on interpretation and implementation of the law
as many employers are entering open enrollment for the 2010
plan year.

These changes will be effective the day following
publication in the official state newspaper and a permanent
rule will start the permanent rule process to achieve
uniformity in interpretation therefore protecting the public,
informing employers, and guiding insurers in the state.

Publication Date:  October 30, 2009
Effective:  October 31, 2009 through

 March 29, 2010
Hearing Date:  December 9, 2009

(See the Notice in this Register)

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

EmR0914 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter NR 10,
relating to hunting and the 2009 migratory game bird seasons
and waterfowl hunting zones.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies
rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds. The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions.  Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until mid−August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations to
conformity with the federal regulations.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Publication Date: August 22, 2009
Effective: September 1, 2009 through

January 28, 2010
Hearing Date: November 4, 2009

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Water Regulation, 

Chs. NR 300—

EmR0915 — A rule adopted revising Chapters NR 335 and
336, relating to grants for dam maintenance, repair,
modification, or abandonment and removal.

Finding of Emergency
The substantial increase in bonding for the dam grant

programs is a strong message from the legislature that
concern for public welfare from unsafe dams is growing, as
well as the desire to help dam owners, including the owners
of the many dams damaged during the flooding in 2007 and
2008.  In order to protect the public and provide this
financial assistance, these additional funds should be put to
work as soon as possible. The timeline for permanent rule
promulgation will impede the Department’s ability to
accept applications and commit funding to dam safety
projects until at least June 2010, which would delay most
projects until late 2010 or 2011.  The emergency rules will
allow immediate implementation of modifications that will
allow a grant application cycle to be conducted yet this fall
and allow most projects to be constructed during the 2010
construction season or before.
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Publication Date: August 28, 2009
Effective: August 28, 2009 through

January 24, 2010

Pharmacy Examining Board

EmR0903 — A rule adopted repealing s. Phar 4.02 (2),
relating to the practical examination.

Finding of Emergency
The Pharmacy Examining Board finds that, under s. 227.24

(1), Stats., the repeal of s. Phar 4.02 (2) is required for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety and welfare.

Currently, under s. Phar 4.02 (2), the board administers a
practical examination to determine an applicant’s competence
in compounding and dispensing medications, which includes
consultation of patients.  The board has determined that this
examination is no longer needed because the competencies
tested in the examination are also tested in two other national
examinations that applicants are required to take in order to
obtain a license in Wisconsin.  The board has also determined
that the practical examination requirement may contribute to
the shortage of pharmacists in Wisconsin.

First, under s. Phar 4.02 (1) and (3), an applicant is required
to take and pass the Multi−State Pharmacy Jurisprudence
Examination (MPJE) and the North American Pharmacist
Licensure Examination (NAPLEX).  Both of these
examinations test competencies that relate to subject areas
that are also tested in the practical examination.  As a result,
applicants are required to take an additional examination, and
pay an additional examination fee.  In some instances, this
step may also result in a delay in the processing of applications
for licensure.

Second, in reference to the shortage of pharmacists in
Wisconsin, the board has found that populations in rural areas
and in certain city neighborhoods are underserved.  The board
believes that, because of its practical examination
requirement, potential applicants from other states are
declining to seek licensure in Wisconsin.  Wisconsin is one of
only four states that require a practical examination.  None of
the states that border Wisconsin have a practical examination
requirement.

Publication Date: February 28, 2009
Effective: February 28, 2009 through

July 27, 2009
Extension Through: November 24, 2009
Hearing Date: April 8, 2009

Public Defender Board

EmR0926 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PD 8,
Discovery Payments, relating to the maximum fees that the
state public defender may pay for copies of discovery
materials in criminal proceedings, proceedings under Chapter
980, Wis. Stats., and other proceedings in which the state
public defender provides legal representation.

Finding of Emergency
These rules are promulgated under s. 227.24 (1) (a), Stats.,

because the magnitude of the shortfall in the state public
defender’s appropriation for transcripts, discovery, and
interpreters in both years of the current biennium constitutes
an emergency that requires implementation of a rule earlier
than a permanent rule could take effect if the agency were to

comply with the applicable notice, hearing, legislative−
review, and publication requirements.

The state public defender was initially provided a base
budget of $60,000 in 1995 for discovery payments, which at
that time consisted mostly of photocopies and some
photographs.  In the 1999−2001 budget act, this appropriation
was increased to $150,000, based on a presumptive rate for
photocopies of $0.20 per page.  In the 2001−2003 biennial
budget act, this appropriation was subjected to a five percent
funding reduction, leaving a base budget for discovery
payments of $142,500.

The public defender received discovery bills totaling
$717,000 for the fiscal year that ended June 30, 2009.
Although discovery costs are caseload driven, this represents
a nearly five−fold increase since 2001 and is due primarily to
two factors. First, in the past many counties and
municipalities did not bill the state public defender for copies
of discovery materials. Because local budgets have come
under increasing pressure, most now do so. Second, 2005
Wisconsin Act 60 resulted in more widespread use of audio
and video recordings of interrogations by law enforcement,
copies of which must be provided to the defense.

The public defender board’s requests for cost−to−continue
budget increases for discovery payments in 2007−2009 and in
2009−2011 were not funded.  Instead, the FY 2009−2011
budget act reduced this appropriation by 1%, leaving a base
budget of $141,100, and directed the board to promulgate
rules to address the funding shortfall.

Publication Date: October 3, 2009
Effective: October 3, 2009 through

March 1, 2010
Hearing Date: November 16, 2009

Public Instruction (2)

1. EmR0916 — A rule adopted revising ss. PI 35.03 and
35.05, relating to establishing a fee under the Milwaukee
Parental Choice Program.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to Section 9139 (3) of the nonstatutory provisions

of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the Department of Public
Instruction is not required to provide evidence that this rule is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a finding of
emergency.

Publication Date: September 1, 2009
Effective: September 1, 2009 through

January 28, 2010
(Except Section 1)

Effective: October 1, 2009 through
 February 27, 2010

Hearing Date: October 26, 2009

2. EmR0921 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PI 15,
relating to revenue limit exemptions for energy
efficiencies.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to Section 9139 (2x) of the nonstatutory

provisions of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the Department of
Public Instruction is not required to provide evidence that this
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a
finding of emergency.
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Publication Date: September 4, 2009

Effective: September 4, 2009 through
January 31, 2010

Hearing Date: November 9, 2009

Public Service Commission

EmR0919 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PSC 172,
relating to the police and fire protection fee created under
2009 Wisconsin Act 28.

Finding of Emergency
The Commission finds that an emergency exists and that an

emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.  The police and fire
protection fee, which must go into effect September 1, 2009,
(2009 Wisconsin Act 28 section 9441) will be used to replace
shared revenue payments for such services.  To ensure the
public peace, health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of
Wisconsin, it is vital for funding of police and fire protection
services to continue smoothly, quickly, and unimpeded.  Thus,
it is necessary for the rule administering the fee to be
implemented as soon as possible.

Publication Date: September 11, 2009

Effective: September 11, 2009
through February 7, 2010

Regulation and Licensing (2)

1. EmR0827 — Rule adopted creating s. RL 91.01 (3) (k),
relating to training and proficiency in the use of automated
external defibrillators for certification as a massage
therapist or bodyworker.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008

Effective: September 10, 2008 
through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Dates: November 26, 2008
April 13, 2009

2. EmR0828 — Rules adopted to amend s. RL 181.01 (2)
(c); and to create ss. RL 180.02 (1m), (3m) and (11),
181.01 (1) (d), (2) (c) 1. and 2., relating to training and
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators
for licensure as a licensed midwife.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of

regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Date: November 26, 2008

Revenue (3)

1. EmR0912 — Rule adopted revising Chapter Tax 2,
relating to combined reporting for corporation franchise
and income tax purposes.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The function of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue is
to administer the Wisconsin tax laws. These laws, and tax
policy for raising revenue, are determined by the State
Legislature. The State Legislature recently enacted numerous
items of tax legislation, affecting individuals and businesses
alike. Some of these apply retroactively to January 1, 2009.
Emergency rules are needed, not only to address the risk of
revenue loss, but to add more clarity and certainty about the
scope and application of the newly enacted statutes.

Publication Date: August 8, 2009
Effective: August 8, 2009 through

January 4, 2010
Hearing Dates: September 25, 2009 and

October 16, 2009

2. EmR0924 — Rule adopted revising Chapter Tax 11,
relating to sale and use tax.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The changes made by the emergency rule must be effective
October 1, 2009, to be in conformity with the Streamlined
Sales and Use Tax Agreement.  In order to meet this deadline,
it is necessary to promulgate this rule as an emergency rule.

Publication Date: September 30, 2009
Effective: October 1, 2009 through

February 27, 2010
Hearing Dates: December 1 and 15, 2009

(See the Notice in this Register)

3. EmR0929 — Rule adopted to create sections Tax 2.85
and 11.90, relating to failure to produce records.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
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preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to reflect changes in Wisconsin’s tax
laws due to the adoption of penalties for failure to produce
records.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to provide
guidance so that the penalties can be administered in a fair and
consistent manner.

Publication Date: October 19, 2009

Effective: October 19, 2009 through
March 17, 2010

Transportation
EmR0909 — Rule adopted amending section Trans

315.03 (1) (a) and (c), relating to safety belt medical use
exemption.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Transportation finds that an

emergency exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for
the immediate preservation of public health and safety.
Current federal law at 23 USC 406 provides safety belt
performance grants to a state that has in effect and is
enforcing a conforming primary safety belt use law for all
passenger motor vehicles. A grant of federal funds estimated
at roughly $15,000,000 are available if this state is eligible
on or before September 30, 2009; a secondary grant based on
“share of unallocated funds,” estimated at not more than
$1,000,000, may be available if this state is eligible on or
before June 30, 2009.  The Wisconsin Legislature is
currently deliberating a primary safety belt use law as part of
the executive biennial budget bill, 2009 Assembly Bill 75,
with the aim of qualifying for safety belt performance grants.
Were the law timely enacted, this state could remain
ineligible for safety belt performance grants because
Department rules allow persons other than physicians to
grant medical exemptions from safety belt use requirements.

Immediate action is necessary to avoid forfeiting
approximately $16,000,000 in federal funds for highway
safety activities.  Increased use of safety belts has been
shown to reduce the severity of injuries sustained in motor
vehicle collisions, and limiting the medical use exemption to
physicians would increase use of safety belts.

Publication Date: June 25, 2009
Effective: June 25, 2009 through

November 21, 2009
Hearing Date: September 8, 2009

Veterans Affairs
EmR0911 — Rule adopted to revise section VA 2.01,

relating to the assistance to needy veterans grant program.

Finding of Emergency
The Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs finds that

an emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
The economic recession in effect for the last fiscal year has
adversely affected the veteran population. Many veterans
have lost their employment or had their scope of employment
reduced. In addition to losing employment, many veterans
have seen their health care reduced or eliminated. In order to
serve the largest population of veterans and ensure minimal
health care for that population, the department is requesting
emergency rules to define “vision care and to limit the
eligibility, by available funding, for “dental care”, “hearing
care”, and “vision care”.  These eligibility limitations, which
address the cost, type and frequency of care available under
the program, will allow more veterans in need to access the
limited resources of this program.

Publication Date: July 1, 2009
Effective: July 1, 2009 through

November 27, 2009
Hearing Date: August 14, 2009
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Scope Statements

Administration

Subject

Creates a new chapter relating to the administrative
procedures for the Wisconsin Covenant Scholars Program.

Objective of the Rule

Mandated by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 and required for
proper administration of the Wisconsin Covenant Scholars
Program.

Policy Analysis

The 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 requires the Department of
Administration (DOA), instead of the Wisconsin Higher
Education Aids Board (HEAB), to promulgate rules for the
implementation of the Wisconsin Covenant Scholars
Program and submit proposed rules to Legislative Council
staff no later than the first day of the twelfth month beginning
after the effective date of the bill.  The Act also requires DOA
to promulgate rules establishing criteria for designation as a
Wisconsin Covenant Scholar by the Office of the Wisconsin
Covenant Scholars Program (OWCSP).

The 2007 Wisconsin Act 20 created s. 39.437, Wis. Stats.,
which provides grants to Wisconsin Covenant Scholars who
are enrolled at least half−time at an eligible in−state
institution.  HEAB administers this program with the
assistance of the OWCSP under s. 39.437, Wis. Stats.

Statutory Authority

Section 39.437 (5), Wis. Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

These rules are not intended to address any proposed or
existing federal regulations.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Wisconsin residents designated as Wisconsin Covenant
Scholars by OWCSP attending post−secondary institutions of
higher education in Wisconsin.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

We estimate approximately 72 hours of staff time will be
needed to promulgate the rules.

Contact Information
Amy Bechtum, Director
Office of the Wisconsin Covenant
P.O. Box 7869
Madison, WI  53707−7869
(608) 261−8652

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject

Revises Chapters ATCP 10, 12 and 15, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to animal health and disease control, and humane
officer training.

Objective of the Rule
This rule will modify current animal health rules.  Among

other things, this rule may:
� Update current rules related to animal markets, animal

dealers, animal truckers and animal transport vehicles,
including rules related to livestock identification and
records, and facility standards.

� Update current rules related to the approved import
feedlot licensing process.

� Create a mechanism for a shipment of animals moving
within the state under special conditions with written
consent of the State Veterinarian but without meeting the
intra state movement requirements.

� Revise current rules related to farm−raised deer.  Among
other things, this rule may incorporate new federal rules
related to chronic wasting disease (CWD).

� Implement new statutory authority to include a
re−inspection fee for entities licensed or registered by the
division.

� Update current rules and fees related to the training and
certification of humane officers.

� Modify quarantine rules to include procedures for
quarantine of fomites and quarantine of geographic areas
in addition to individual premises.

� Revise current rules related to fish farms.  Among other
things, this rule may update recordkeeping, movement
and health certification requirements and clarify types.

� Update rules pertaining to importing circus, rodeo, racing
and menagerie animals.

� Update rules pertaining to fairs and exhibitions.
� Update rules pertaining to veterinarian certification

programs and the fees assessed for the certification.
� Update import requirements for Tuberculosis, and

Brucellosis across applicable species to reflect changes in
the federal Tuberculosis and Brucellosis programs.

� Make other miscellaneous changes to current animal
health rules.

Policy Analysis
Animal Markets, Dealers and Truckers

DATCP regulates animal markets, animal dealers, animal
truckers and animal transport vehicles under ss. 95.68, 95.69,
95.71 and 95.71(4), Stats.  This rule may update current rules
to improve animal disease control and clarify existing rules.
Among other things, this rule may clarify current
requirements related to facility standards, and recordkeeping
requirements.
Farm−raised Deer

DATCP currently regulates persons who keep, move or
import farm−raised deer (deer, elk and other cervids).  Current
rules include regulations related to deer farms, hunting
preserves, disease monitoring (including CWD monitoring),
identification and movement of farm−raised deer, and
reporting and recordkeeping requirements.

This rule may update current rules, based on experience to
date under those rules.  This rule may also incorporate new
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federal rules proposed by the United States Department of
Agriculture, including rules related to CWD monitoring,
testing for interstate movement, and state certification of
CWD herd status.

Under current rules, all keepers of farm−raised deer must
register with DATCP.  Registration fees are based on the
number of deer in the registered herd.  This rule may revise the
current fee structure to reflect the purposes for which a herd
is kept.

Among other things, this rule may:

� Align Wisconsin farm−raised deer regulations with
federal standards.

� Modify identification requirements for farm−raised deer
herds.

� Modify registration requirements and fees for
farm−raised deer herds.

Fish Farms
DATCP currently registers premises that are operated as

fish farms and regulates the movement of fish into and around
Wisconsin.   Current rules include regulations related to
recordkeeping, importing fish or fish eggs, introducing fish or
fish eggs to waters of the state and disease monitoring of fish
or fish eggs moved into and around the State.

Under current rules, all fish farm facilities must register
with DATCP.  Registration requirements vary, depending on
fish farm type (for example, whether the fish farm offers fee
fishing, or ships live fish or fish eggs).  Among other things
this rule may:

� Clarify fish farm registration categories and requirements,
including the process for changing a fish farm’s
registration category during a registration year.

� Modify health certification requirements.
� Modify recordkeeping requirements.
Technical Changes

This rule may make a number of miscellaneous, largely
technical, changes to current animal health rules.

Policy Alternatives

Animal Markets, Animal Dealers and Animal Truckers
If DATCP takes no action, current rules will remain in

effect.  Failure to update rules may make it more difficult to
trace animals in the event of an animal disease outbreak.

Farm−raised Deer
If DATCP takes no action, current rules will remain in

effect.  When the national CWD program is implemented,
current Wisconsin rules will be inconsistent with federal
standards.  Among other things, that may limit export
opportunities for the farm−raised deer industry.  Current state
rules do not adequately address all of the issues that have
come to light, in recent years, related to the control of CWD
in farm−raised deer.

Fish Farms
If DATCP takes no action, current rules will remain in

effect.  Some of the current rules are rather cumbersome and
may have limited health benefits.  Modifications could
facilitate administration and compliance, and could provide
equivalent protection.

Statutory Authority

Sections 93.07 (1) and (10) and 173.27, Stats., and ch. 95,
Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
Most animal health regulations are adopted and

administered at the state level.  However, the U.S. Department
of Agriculture (USDA) administers federal regulations
related to the interstate movement of animals, particularly
with respect to certain major diseases.  States regulate
intrastate movement and imports to the state.  States certify
the disease status of certain herds, at the request of herd
owners, to facilitate interstate movement of animals from
those herds.  States also license and regulate entities such as
animal markets, animal dealers and animal truckers
(regulations vary by state).

State regulation of interstate animal movement is generally
consistent with federal standards, where applicable.
However, states may impose additional import requirements
if those requirements are reasonably designed to prevent the
spread of disease, and do not impose an unreasonable burden
on interstate commerce.

Wisconsin’s current rules related to farm−raised deer are
consistent with applicable federal rules.  However, USDA is
proposing changes to federal rules related to CWD in
farm−raised deer.  The proposed federal rules may modify
current testing and monitoring requirements for interstate
movement, and may modify current identification
requirements for interstate movement.  DATCP may modify
current state rules, as necessary, to be consistent with the new
federal rules.

USDA has less well−developed programs for new or
localized diseases, or emerging animal−based industries.
States often take a lead role in developing programs to address
new animal health issues and disease threats (farm−raised
deer and fish diseases, for example), particularly if those
issues or threats have a more local or regional focus.
Wisconsin’s program related to fish and farm−raised deer are
perhaps the leading programs in the nation, and have provided
models for proposed federal programs.

Entities Affected by the Rule
The rule will provide important health protection for the

Wisconsin livestock industry.  This rule will have a direct
impact on animal markets, animal dealers, animal truckers,
veterinarians, livestock operators, keepers of farm−raised
deer and certified humane officers.  In some cases, this rule
may add to current regulations, but in other cases this rule may
streamline or eliminate current regulations.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 0.80 FTE

staff to develop this rule.  That includes time required for
investigation and analysis, rule drafting, preparing related
documents, coordinating advisory committee meetings,
holding public hearings and communicating with affected
persons and groups.  DATCP will use existing staff to develop
this rule.  DATCP may need additional personnel to
administer this rule, once the rule is adopted.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject
Revises Chapter ATCP 30, relating to atrazine pesticide

applications.

Objective of the Rule
Regulate the use of atrazine pesticides to protect

groundwater and assure compliance with Wisconsin’s
Groundwater Law.  Update current rule to reflect
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groundwater−sampling results related to atrazine obtained
during the past year.  Reorganize current rule to accommodate
any new or expanded prohibition area (PA).

Policy Analysis

DATCP must regulate the use of pesticides to assure
compliance with groundwater standards under ch. 160, Stats.
Groundwater standards are established by the Department of
Natural Resources under ch. NR 140, Wis. Adm. Code.  DNR
has established a groundwater enforcement standard of 3
µg/liter for atrazine and its chlorinated metabolites.

DATCP must prohibit atrazine uses that result in
groundwater contamination levels that exceed the DNR
enforcement standard under s. 160.25, Wis. Stats.  DATCP
must prohibit atrazine use in the area where groundwater
contamination has occurred unless DATCP determines to a
reasonable certainty, based on the greater weight of credible
evidence, that alternative measures will achieve compliance
with the DNR enforcement standard.

Currently, under ch. ATCP 30, Wis. Adm. Code, the use of
atrazine is prohibited in 101 PAs (approximately 1,200,000
acres), including large portions of the Lower Wisconsin River
Valley, Dane County and Columbia County.  The current rules
also restrict atrazine use rates and handling practices,
including the timing of applications, on a statewide basis.  The
statewide restrictions are designed to minimize the potential
for groundwater contamination, as required under s. 160.25,
Wis. Stats.

Over the next year, DATCP may identify additional wells
containing atrazine and its chlorinated metabolites at and
above the current DNR enforcement standard.  In order to
comply with ch. 160, Wis. Stats., DATCP must take further
action to prohibit or regulate atrazine use in the areas where
these wells are located.  DATCP proposes to amend ch. ATCP
30, Wis. Adm. Code to add PAs or take other appropriate
regulatory action in response to any new groundwater
findings.

Policy Alternatives

No change.  If DATCP takes no action, current rules will
remain in effect.  But that will not adequately protect
groundwater or meet DATCP’s statutory obligations in areas
(if any) where there may be new groundwater contamination
findings.

Statutory Authority

Sections 93.07, 94.69, and 160.19 through 160.25, Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Pesticides and pesticide labels must be registered with the
federal Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”).  Persons
may not use pesticides in a manner inconsistent with the
federal label.  The current federal label for atrazine advises
that atrazine should not be used on permeable soils with
groundwater near the soil surface.  Wisconsin has clearer,
more definite restrictions on atrazine use, based on actual
findings of groundwater contamination in this state.

EPA is proposing federal rules that would require states to
create pesticide management plans for pesticides that have the
potential to contaminate groundwater.  Wisconsin’s current
regulatory scheme for atrazine pesticides would likely
comply with the proposed federal rules.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Residents whose private wells are located in a newly

proposed or expanded PA would be affected by the proposed
rule.  Atrazine users in a newly proposed or expanded PA
would also be affected by the proposed rule.  Dealers,
distributors and manufacturers of atrazine who service areas
covered by new or expanded PAs may be affected by a
reduction in atrazine sales.  Commercial pesticide applicators
must be aware of atrazine PAs in order to avoid illegal
applications.  The proposed action will not have any effect on
consumers.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 0.5 FTE
staff to develop this rule.  This includes investigation,
drafting, preparing related documents, coordinating advisory
committee meetings, holding public hearings and
communicating with affected persons and groups.  DATCP
will use existing staff to develop this rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Subject

Revises Chapter ATCP 60, relating to somatic cell limits in
dairy goat milk.
Objective of the Rule

This rule will modify current rules for dairy farms
producing goat milk.  This rule will change the current
somatic cell limit for goat milk, to make it consistent with the
current national standard established by the Interstate
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO).
Policy Analysis

DATCP administers Wisconsin’s milk safety program
under ch. 97, Stats.  DATCP has adopted rules for dairy farms
under ch. ATCP 60, Wis. Adm. Code, including dairy farms
producing goat milk.  The current rules regulate the safety,
wholesomeness and quality of milk.  Among other things, the
current rules establish somatic cell limits for goat milk.

This rule will change the current somatic cell limit for goat
milk, to make it consistent with the current national standard
established by the Interstate Pasteurized Milk Ordinance
(PMO).  State rules must be consistent with the PMO in order
for Wisconsin to ship milk in interstate commerce.
Policy Alternatives

If DATCP takes no action, current rules will remain in
effect.  Maintaining the current limits for somatic cells in goat
milk will adversely affect goat milk producers and processors
by jeopardizing sales of goat milk and fluid milk products in
interstate commerce.

There are no statutory alternatives at this time.
Statutory Authority

Sections 93.07 (1), and 97.22 (8) (a), Stats.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

The states have entered into an interstate agreement, in
cooperation with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
(FDA), to establish minimum standards for Grade A milk and
fluid milk products.  Those minimum standards are spelled
out in the PMO.  Only Grade A milk and fluid milk products
may be shipped in interstate commerce.  Under the terms of
the interstate agreement, FDA may decertify a state that fails
to comply with the PMO.  Other states may then refuse to
accept shipments of milk or fluid milk products from the
decertified state.
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The PMO was recently modified to change the somatic cell
count limits for Grade A goat milk.  The U.S. Department of
Agriculture is making equivalent changes in its standards for
the production of Grade B milk, which may be used to
produce non−fluid products such as cheese.

Entities Affected by the Rule

This rule will affect goat milk producers and dairy plants
that process goat milk.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

DATCP estimates that it will use the equivalent of 0.10
FTE staff to revise this rule.   This includes rule drafting,
preparing related documents, holding public hearings and
communicating with affected persons and groups.  DATCP
will use existing staff to develop this rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject

Revises Chapter ATCP 127, relating to the telemarketing
“No Call” list.

Objective of the Rule

Implement 2007 Wis. Act 226 which, among other things,
allows Wisconsin residents to add their mobile phone
numbers (not just “land line” phone numbers) to the state’s
telemarketing “No Call” list.  Adopt rule changes to
implement Act 226, and make minor technical updates as
needed.

Policy Analysis

DATCP currently administers Wisconsin’s telemarketing
“No Call” list under s. 100.52, Stats.  The law prohibits
telemarketers from making unwanted calls to phone numbers
that Wisconsin residents have listed on the “No Call” list.

2007 Wisconsin Act 226 modified s. 100.52, Stats.  Among
other things, Act 226 authorizes Wisconsin residents to list
mobile telephone numbers (not just “land line” phone
numbers) on the “No Call” list.  The law change reflects the
growing use of mobile phones, and the importance of
protecting mobile phone owners as well as “land line” phone
owners from unwanted telemarketing calls.

DATCP has already expanded the “No Call” list to include
mobile phone numbers, per Act 226, but has not yet brought
its “No Call” rules into conformity with the new statute.  This
rule will modify current “No Call” rules under ch. ATCP 127,
Wis. Adm. Code, to reflect the changes made by Act 226.  This
rule may also make minor technical updates to current “No
Call” rules.  This rule will not make any major changes to
current “No Call” program operations, which have already
been revised to reflect Act 226.

Policy Alternatives

DATCP is obligated to update its rules to reflect current
statutes.  Failure to do so would lead to confusion for
consumers and businesses.  This rule is needed to ensure
consistent application of “No Call” regulations.

Statutory Authority

Sections 100.52 and 100.20 (2), Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Federal regulations also prohibit telemarketers from
making calls to persons listed on a federal “No Call” list.

Mobile phone numbers, as well as “land line” numbers, may
be included on the federal list.

Wisconsin’s “No Call” law predates the federal law.
Wisconsin regulations are similar to, but not identical to, the
federal regulations (Wisconsin regulations are slightly more
protective of consumers).   Wisconsin coordinates its “No
Call” program with the federal program.

Entities Affected by the Rule
This rule will affect mobile phone owners, as well as

businesses that may wish to make telemarketing calls to
mobile phone owners.  This rule will clarify the application of
Wisconsin’s “No Call” law and rules, consistent with law
changes contained in 2007 Wis. Act 226.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
DATCP estimates that it will use approximately .20 FTE

staff time to develop this rule.  This includes research,
drafting, preparing related documents, holding public
hearings, coordinating advisory council discussions and
communicating with affected persons and groups. DATCP
will assign existing staff to develop this rule.

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board

Subject
Revises section BC 2.025, relating to certain services

constituting medical procedures that barbering and
cosmetology licensees may perform pursuant to authority
delegated by a physician.

As written, this rule presently outlines/specifies training
and supervision requirements, which may be outside the
jurisdiction of the board.  The rule needs to be modified and/or
clarified to ensure the promotion of safe and competent
practice in the areas of laser hair−removal, micro−
dermabrasion, chemical exfoliation, and other delegated
medical procedures as may be defined within the scope of
medical practice.

Objective of the Rule
To modify and/or refine the provisions included in s. BC

2.025 referring to the delegation of certain medical
procedures and the training and supervision of these practices,
so that the rules correctly reflect the jurisdiction that the board
has in governing these procedures.

Policy Analysis
The current rule provides authority for the board to require

training in certain procedures that would fall under the scope
of “medical practice.”  This includes the use of lasers for
laser−hair removal, microdermabrasion and chemical
exfoliation.  As this training would fall under the purview of
a physician’s license, the board does not have jurisdiction over
training in this area.

As a delegated procedure, supervision is also delegated to
the attending physician.  Current language provides the
standard for physician supervision in s. BC 2.025 (1), but it is
unclear whether this supervision is to be under the scope of
“general supervision” as defined in BC 1.01 (7) or if the
physician needs to directly inspect procedures.

Statutory Authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 454.08, Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is

intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rule.
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Entities Affected by the Rule
Barbering and cosmetology licensees performing certain

delegated medical procedures, physicians supervising
delegated medical practices.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
200 hours.

Insurance

Subject
Creates Ins 3.34, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to coverage of

dependents to age 27 and affecting small business.

Objective of the Rule
2009 Wis. Act 28 created s. 632.885, Stats., a new health

insurance mandate for coverage of adult dependents between
the ages of 17 and 27.  The commissioner is aware that
insurers, employers and consumers are interpreting the
mandate inconsistently that may result in disparate treatment
of adult dependents without guidance and clarity through this
proposed rule.

Policy Analysis
Currently dependents of insureds participating in small

employer or group health plans require inclusion of
dependents typically through age 24 if the dependent is a
full−time student.  Dependents who are disabled prior to
turning 18 also have continuing access to health insurance
through a parent’s health plan.  However, this is the first
mandate to specify an end age and additionally addresses
adult dependents that are called to active duty while a
full−time student.

Statutory Authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 628.34 (12), Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no existing federal regulation although both

houses are working on proposals containing similar extension
of coverage to adult dependents.

Entities Affected by the Rule
All disability insurers, including limited−scope dental and

vision plans and self−insured governmental plans including
state, county, city, town, village or school district.
Intermediaries assisting insureds will need to be aware of and
comply with the rule and mandate.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
200 hours and no other resources are necessary

Public Service Commission

Subject
Creates Chapter PSC 128, relating to wind siting rules.

Objective of the Rule
2009 Wisconsin Act 40 (Act 40) establishes statewide

criteria for the installation or use of a wind energy system with
a nominal operating capacity of less than 100 megawatts, and
helps ensure consistent local procedures for such systems.
Act 40 requires the Commission to promulgate a variety of
rules that specify the conditions a city, village, town, or county
(political subdivision) may impose on such a system.  If a

political subdivision chooses to regulate such systems, its
ordinances may not be more restrictive than the
Commission’s rules.

Policy Analysis

Act 40 identifies several areas that these rules must cover
and several areas that they may cover.  It requires that the rules
include provisions dealing with the decommissioning of wind
energy systems, including restoration of the site, and setback
requirements that reasonably protect against health effects
that are associated with wind energy systems.

Act 40 also requires rules that specify the information and
documentation to be provided in an application for approval,
the procedure to be followed by a political subdivision in
reviewing the application, the information and
documentation to be kept in a political subdivision’s record of
its decision, as well as the requirements and procedures for
enforcing restrictions included in the rule.  The rules must also
require the owner of a wind energy system with a nominal
operating capacity of at least one megawatt to maintain proof
of financial responsibility ensuring the availability of funds
for decommissioning the system.

The rules may also include provisions dealing with issues
such as visual appearance, electrical connections to the power
grid, interference with radio, telephone or television signals,
maximum audible sound levels, and lighting.

Currently, an electric generating facility with a nominal
operating capacity of 100 megawatts or more may not be
constructed unless the Commission grants a certificate of
public convenience and necessity.  Act 40 requires the
Commission to consider the restrictions specified in these
rules when determining whether to grant a certificate of public
convenience and necessity.  The rules may also require the
Commission to consider the conditions specified in these
rules when determining whether to grant a public utility a
certificate of authority for a wind farm smaller than 100
megawatts. 

Act 40 also creates a 15−person Wind Siting Council that
will, among other things, advise the Commission in the
drafting of these rules.

Statutory Authority

Sections 196.02 (1) and (3), 227.11, and newly−created
196.378 (4g), Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

There are a number of federal laws that interact with the
issues in this rulemaking, although the Commission is not
aware of any that deal with the substance of them; that is, the
minimum requirements that a political subdivision may
impose.  A few of the federal laws that may inter−relate
include the National Environmental Policy Act, 42 USC 4321
et. seq., the Endangered Species Act, 16 USC 1531–1544, and
14 CFR Pt. 77, which requires a Federal Aviation
Administration airspace study before constructing certain
types of projects.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Affected entities include cities; villages; towns; counties;
persons and entities that own, want to construct, or want to
host wind energy systems; and landowners near such
proposed wind energy systems.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The Commission estimates that approximately 800 hours
of Commission staff time will be required in this rulemaking.
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Regulation and Licensing — 
Auctioneer  Board

Subject
Revises section RL 128.04, relating to approval of course

providers for auctioneers’ continuing education (CE).

Objective of the Rule
The board seeks to add to its list of approved CE course

providers appraisers that are approved by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation to
teach a 7 hour update course relating to the Uniform Standards
of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

Policy Analysis
The board recognizes auctioneers registered in this state

who are currently practicing auctioneering, and who have
engaged in such practice for at least 5 years and attorneys who
are engaged in the field of auctioneering−related law.
Addition of another course provider would not diminish CE
opportunities for auctioneers that are not appraisers.  It would
expand CE options for dual licensees.

Statutory Authority
Sections 227.11 (2), 480.04 (1) and 480.08 (6), Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is

intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rule.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Appraisers licensed as auctioneers, auctioneers’

continuing education course providers, the Auctioneer Board
and the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
100 hours.

Tourism

Subject
Creates Chapter Tour 3, relating to grants to municipalities

and organizations for regional tourist information centers.

Policy Analysis
The Department of Tourism proposes to specify the use of

funds, define application procedures, contracts and reporting
requirements for the administration of the grant program for
regional tourist information centers.

Statutory Authority
Section 41.16, Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There are no applicable federal regulations.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Wisconsin municipalities and non−profit organizations

that operate tourist information centers.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
Approximately 50 hours of staff time.

Contact Information
Laura Muenich
(608) 261−8764
lmuenich@travelwisconsin.com

Veterans Affairs

Subject

Amends section VA 2.02 (2), relating to the date by which
an application for the Tuition Reimbursement Program
(VET−ED)  must be completed and delivered to the
department.

Objective of the Rule

The repeal of the statutory requirement to complete and
deliver an application for the Tuition Reimbursement
program administered under s. 45.20 (2) (c) 2. a., Stats.,
requires the department to implement a rule regarding the date
by which  an application for the Tuition Reimbursement
Program (VET−ED)  must be completed and delivered to the
department.  The use of an application deadline which follows
the close of a semester, term or class has proven to be
unacceptable for estimating the use of monies in a timely
manner, resulting in a consistent inability to correctly gauge
the usage of the program and adjust reimbursement levels
accordingly.

The department will identify a time period for completion
and reception of applications which will allow the department
to project the approximate expenditure anticipated for a given
semester in advance of the actual reimbursement of all
completed grant applications. The amendment of the rule will
provide a date for initial submission of the grant application
as well as providing a basis for late submissions of the
application to be accepted. As the majority of applications
involve the reimbursement for a semester or a term, the
department will be able to calculate the approximate potential
usage of the program in any semester or term prior to the
conclusion of that semester or term and adjust reimbursement
levels accordingly

Policy Analysis

Under the prior statutory requirement, the application was
not required to be submitted until 60 days following the
completion of the class, term or semester. The department was
unable to accurately predict budgetary expenditures based on
the structure of the process, as some potential requests for
reimbursement were not made prior to the end of the fiscal
year. The statute allows the department the flexibility of
adjusting the level of reimbursement, with a specific
exception for 100% disabled veterans, between a 100%
reimbursement and no reimbursement. The prior process
limited the ability to vary the reimbursement level because the
projected usage was not available until after all applications
had been initiated and completed. The department believes it
will be able to manage the budgeted funds in a manner more
consistent with good accounting practices and effectuate the
policies of the Board of Veterans Affairs if the process
requires identification of a potential reimbursement within
the first 60 days of the start of the semester, term or class rather
than within 60 days following the end of the semester, term or
class. The department believes it will be able to adjust
reimbursement levels, if necessary, for any semester, term or
class based on the receipt of this information at the earlier date
proposed under this amended rule.

Statutory Authority

Section 45.20 (2) (c) 2. a., Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that has
any direct bearing upon the proposed rule.
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Entities Affected by the Rule
The amended rule will affect veterans applying for tuition

reimbursement under the program. It will also affect the
school veterans certifying officials and county veterans
service officers who assist individuals with initiating and
completing applications for reimbursement under this
program.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
Approximately 5 hours of Department of Veterans Affairs

staff time.
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Accounting Examining Board
CR 09−100

On October 29, 2009, the Accounting Examining Board
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapters Accy 7 and 8, relating
to granting certificates to applicants pursuant to an
international mutual recognition agreement.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on December
10, 2009.

Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Division of Board Services
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov

Health Services
Health, Chs. DHS 110—

CR 09−089

On October 21, 2009, the Department of Health Services
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapter DHS 124, relating to
forfeitures, anatomical gifts, and automatic external
defibrillator (AED) training for hospitals.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required, but has not yet been scheduled
for this proposed rule.

Contact Information

For substantive questions on rules contact:

Rachel Currans−Sheehan

(608) 266−3262

Small Business Regulatory Review Coordinator:
Rosie Greer
(608) 266−1279
greerrj@dhs.state.wi.us

Hearings and Appeals
CR 09−101

On October 30, 2009, the Division of Hearings and
Appeals submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapter HA 2, relating to the
procedure for hearings for revoking or not revoking various
types of community supervision by the Department of
Corrections.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required, but has not yet been scheduled
for this proposed rule.
Contact Information

Diane E. Norman
Administrative Assistant
(608) 266−7668
diane.norman@wisconsin.gov

Insurance
CR 09−095

On October 29, 2009, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order creates section Ins 3.34, relating to
coverage of dependents to age 27 and affecting small
business.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December
9, 2009.
Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web
site at:  http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm  or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.

For additional information, please contact Julie E. Walsh at
(608) 264−8101 or e−mail at julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov in
the OCI Legal Unit.

Insurance
CR 09−094

On October 29, 2009, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
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Analysis

The proposed order creates section Ins 3.36, relating to
treatment of autism spectrum disorders and affecting small
business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December
2, 2009.

Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web
site at:  http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm  or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.

For additional information, please contact Julie E. Walsh at
(608) 264−8101 or e−mail at julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov in
the OCI Legal Unit.

Insurance
CR 09−096

On October 29, 2009, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order creates section Ins 3.75, relating to
continuation of group insurance policies.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December
8, 2009.

Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web
site at:  http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm  or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.

For additional information, please contact Robert Luck at
(608) 266−0082 or e−mail at robert.luck@wisconsin.gov in
the OCI Legal Unit.

Insurance
CR 09−097

On October 29, 2009, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises section Ins 6.77, relating to
exempting commercial umbrella and commercial liability
policies covering only hired and non−owned autos from
having to offer or include uninsured and underinsured
motorist coverage.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December
8, 2009.

Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web
site at:  http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm  or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.

For additional information, please contact Robert Luck at
(608) 266−0082 or e−mail at robert.luck@wisconsin.gov in
the OCI Legal Unit.

Insurance
CR 09−093

On October 29, 2009, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order creates Chapter Ins 57, relating to care
management organizations and affecting small business.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December
3, 2009.
Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web
site at:  http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm  or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.

For additional information, please contact Julie E. Walsh at
(608) 264−8101 or e−mail at julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov in
the OCI Legal Unit.

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control, 

Chs. NR 400—
CR 09−088

On October 23, 2009, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapters NR 404, 438, and
484, relating to ambient air quality standards for ozone and
lead and new reporting requirements for lead compounds.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for December
1, 2009.
Contact Information

Robert B. Eckdale
Bureau of Air Management
(608) 266−2856
Robert.Eckdale@wisconsin.gov

Pharmacy Examining Board
CR 09−098

On October 29, 2009, the Pharmacy Examining Board
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order amends sections Phar 6.08, 7.12, and
8.12, relating to security systems, utilization reviews, and
prescription orders transmitted by facsimile machines.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on December
2, 2009.
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Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Dept. of Regulation and Licensing
Division of Board Services
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov

Pharmacy Examining Board
CR 09−099

On October 29, 2009, the Pharmacy Examining Board
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order creates section Phar 7.095, relating to
remote dispensing sites.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on December
2, 2009.

Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Dept. of Regulation and Licensing
Division of Board Services
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov

Public Service Commission
CR 09−086

On October 22, 2009, the Public Service Commission
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order creates Chapter PSC 172, relating to
the police and fire protection fee created under 2009
Wisconsin Act 28.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held on December 2, 2009.  The
Telecommunications Division of the Commission is the
organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of the
rule.

Contact Information
Dennis Klaila
Docket Coordinator
(608) 267−9780

Revenue
CR 09−087

On October 22, 2009, the Department of Revenue
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order creates sections Tax 2.85 and 11.90,
relating to changes in Wisconsin’s tax laws due to the
adoption of penalties for failure to produce records.  It also

provides guidance to Department employees and taxpayers so
that the penalties can be administered in a fair and consistent
manner.  This includes providing a standard response time, a
standard for noncompliance, and penalty waiver provisions.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be scheduled.  The
Office of the Secretary is primarily responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information
Dale Kleven
Income, Sales and Excise Tax Division
(608) 266−8253
dale.kleven@revenue.wi.gov

Revenue
CR 09−090

On October 28, 2009, the Department of Revenue
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapter Tax 11, relating to
sales and use tax.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required.  Two hearings have been
scheduled; the first for December 1, 2009, and the second for
December 15, 2009.  The Office of the Secretary is primarily
responsible for the promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information
Dale Kleven
Income, Sales and Excise Tax Division
(608) 266−8253
dale.kleven@revenue.wi.gov

Veterans Affairs
CR 09−091

On October 29, 2009, the Department of Veterans Affairs
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises section VA 2.01, relating to the
assistance to needy veterans grant program.

The creation of VA 2.01 (1) (u) and VA 2.01 (1) (v) will
establish a definition for the vision care assistance available
under this program. The creation of VA 2.01 (3) (d), VA 2.01
(3) (e), VA 2.01 (3) (f), and VA 2.01 (3) (g) will establish
program limitations for the aid offered through the program.
The program is intended to provide health care assistance to
those veterans who are not eligible for the federal assistance
offered to veterans.  The current program rules do not provide
program limitations or direction for health care professionals
in providing necessary services to eligible veterans. The
creation of a definition for ”vision care” and the creation of
specific program limitations will allow veterans to receive a
reasonable modicum of the benefits available to those
veterans eligible for federal assistance. All care offered
through the program will have monetary and frequency
limitations imposed upon the available services
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Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be scheduled at a later
time.  The Office of the Secretary is primarily responsible for
the promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information
James A. Stewart
Chief Legal Counsel
30 W. Mifflin Street — P.O. Box 7843
Madison, WI 53707−7843
Telephone: (608) 266−3733
e−mail: jimmy.stewart@dva.state.wi.us

Veterans Affairs
CR 09−092

On October 29, 2009, the Department of Veterans Affairs
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises section VA 1.11, relating to the
duties and powers of the Secretary.

The amendment of s. VA 1.11 (1) (a) will limit
employment, after January 1, 2011, in the positions of
commandant or administrator, division of homes to
individuals who are licensed as skilled nursing home
administrators by the State of Wisconsin or who obtain such
licensure within 90 days of initiating employment in the
position. The department believes that this requirement will
provide better management and more accountability for the
skilled nursing facilities. The repeal of VA 1.11 (8) will
realign the direction of the commandants from direct
supervision by the Secretary to direct supervision by the
Administrator, Division of Homes.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be scheduled at a later
time.  The Office of the Secretary is primarily responsible for
the promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information
James A. Stewart
Chief Legal Counsel
30 W. Mifflin Street — P.O. Box 7843
Madison, WI 53707−7843
Telephone: (608) 266−3733
e−mail: jimmy.stewart@dva.state.wi.us
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing
Accounting Examining Board

CR 09−100
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Accounting Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2) and 442.01, Stats, the Accounting Examining
Board will hold a public hearing at the time and place
indicated below to consider an order to renumber and amend
section Accy 8.04 (intro.), (1), (2) and (3); and to create
sections Accy 7.05 (1) (c) and 8.05, relating to granting
certificates to applicants pursuant to an international mutual
recognition agreement.

Hearing Information
Date: December 10, 2009
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing and Submission of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of
Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935,
or by email to pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.  Written
comments must be received by December 18, 2009, to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or by
email at pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted
Section 442.05, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 and 442.01, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The Accounting Examining Board is granted the authority

to promulgate rules to grant certificates to applicants who are
certified to practice under the laws of a foreign country.

Related statute or rule
There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed

above.

Plain language analysis
This proposed rule−making order would enable the board

to grant certified public accountant certificates and licenses to
applicants who are certified to practice by a foreign
credentialing authority that is a signatory to the International
Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) that has been entered
into by the National Association of State Boards of
Accountancy (NASBA) and the American Institute of
Certified Public Accountants (AICPA).

SECTION 1 creates a provision that enables the board to
grant a certificate to an applicant who meets the requirements
under newly created s. Accy 8.05.  Current rules allow
candidates holding certifications from foreign countries to be
granted a certificate by the Accounting Examining Board if
they meet specified criteria.

SECTION 2 renumbers and amends existing provisions to
make clear that certification through the MRA is an additional
and separate route to certification for foreign candidates.

SECTION 3 creates a route to licensure for accountants
who hold a credential from a foreign credentialing authority
that is a signatory to the MRA.  A foreign credentialing
authority may not be a signatory to the MRA until the
International Qualifications Appraisal Board (IQAB) has
found that the requirements to obtain the foreign credential
are substantially equivalent to the requirements used in the
United States.  The IQAB is jointly created by the NASBA
and the AICPA.  The MRA is currently being used by other
states and a number of foreign credentialing authorities.

An applicant who has a credential from an authority that is
a current signatory to the MRA must still meet other
qualifications to receive a credential from this state.  The
applicant’s credential must be in good standing and the
applicant must pass the state professional ethics examination.
The state examination covers state laws and professional
standards of conduct.  The applicant must have successfully
completed the International Qualification Examination
(IQEX).  The IQEX is an examination prepared by the AICPA
to test the applicant’s knowledge of the differences between
the accounting standards used in the United States and the
accounting standards used in other countries.  The IQEX
covers ethics, professional and legal responsibilities, business
law, uniform commercial code, federal taxation and
accounting issues, business structure, accounting and
reporting for governmental and not−for−profit organizations,
and recent regulatory issues.

Comparison with federal regulations
This is not an area which is regulated by federal law or

subject to any proposed federal legislation.  The standards for
state licensure are regulated by each state.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Educational standards for foreign applicants must be

substantially equivalent to those in effect in the state and the
applicant must have a license in the foreign country.
www.idfpr.com
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Iowa:

Specific educational requirements must be met or other
requirements which the board determines are substantially
equivalent.
www.state.ia.us/government/com/prof/account/home.html

Michigan:

Educational qualifications must be earned at an institution
accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and
Schools or other equivalent education.
www.michigan.gov/dleg

Minnesota:

Educational qualifications must be earned at an institution
accredited by an accrediting agency listed with the United
States Department of Education or approved by the board.
www.boa.state.mn.us

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

As outlined above, current rules allow candidates holding
certifications from foreign countries to be granted a certificate
by the Accounting Examining Board if they meet specified
criteria.  Rule changes to ch. Accy 7 relating to certified public
accountant education requirements and ch. Accy 8 relating to
endorsement qualifications, will serve to clarify an additional
and separate route to certification for foreign candidates.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

This rule change will not affect or impact adversely small
businesses.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated costs incurred by the private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Small Business Impact
These proposed rules were reviewed and discussed by the

department’s Small Business Review Advisory Committee
which determined that the rules will have no significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses,
as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s
Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at
hector.colon@wisconsin.gov, or by calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Division of Professional Credentialing and the
Division of Management Services.  The total one−time salary
and fringe costs are estimated at $2,865.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone
608−266−0495; email at pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

EmR0918 — CR 09−097
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the

authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth under s. 227.18, Stats., the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) will hold a public hearing
to consider emergency rules and the adoption of proposed
permanent rules revising section Ins 6.77, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to exempting commercial general liability policies
from offering uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Hearing Information
Date: December 8, 2009
Time: 10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the

   matter may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 227

125 South Webster Street, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments
Written comments can be mailed to:

Robert Luck
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 677
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Robert Luck
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 677
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Robert Luck
robert.luck@wisconsin.gov

Web site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm
Comments submitted through the Wisconsin Admin. Rule

Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the
proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copy of Proposed Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, 

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)
Statutes interpreted

Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12) and 632.32, Stats.
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Statutory authority

Sections 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12) and 631.01 (5),
Stats.

Explanation of agency authority

Section 631.05, Stats, allows the Commissioner to
“exempt any class of insurance contract or insurer from any
or all of the provisions of this chapter and ch. 632 if the
interests of Wisconsin insureds or creditors or of the public of
this state do not require such regulation.” These types of
policies have never offered UM/UIM or MedPay coverage
and thus this would continue the status quo. The exemption is
required so that the market for commercial liability insurance
and commercial umbrella policies is not disrupted. The
commissioner has previously exercised this authority in
adopting and amending Ins 6.77, Wis. Admin. Code.

Related statutes or rules

Section Ins 6.77, Wis. Adm. Code

Plain language analysis and summary of the proposed rule

This rule would exempt commercial liability insurance and
commercial umbrella policies which cover only HNO from
the requirement to offer or include UM/UIM coverages. This
would continue the current regulatory requirements for these
policies.

Comparison with federal regulations

None

Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:

215 ILCS 5/143a   In Hartbarger v. Country Mut. Ins. Co.,
107 Ill. App. 3d 391, it was found that this section was enacted
to insure a minimum amount of uninsured motorist
protection, but did not give the authority to rewrite
unambiguous provisions of an umbrella policy in order to
expand the maximum coverage afforded plaintiff.

Iowa:

Iowa Code § 321A.21  Primary insurance is purchased to
be the first tier of insurance coverage while an umbrella policy
is intended to cover only catastrophic losses that exceed the
insured’s required primary insurance limit. “Umbrella”
policies are not included under Iowa Code § 321A.21, the
financial responsibility statute. Jalas v. State Farm Fire & Cas.
Co., 505 N.W.2d 811, 1993 Iowa Sup. LEXIS 211 (Iowa
1993).

Michigan:

Michigan is a no−fault state and thus is not comparable to
Wisconsin.

Minnesota:

Minnesota is a no−fault state and thus is not comparable to
Wisconsin.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The rule continues the status quo.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

The change will continue the existing practice used by
insurers issuing commercial umbrella and commercial
liability policies covering only HNO. As such, it will have no
impact. Small businesses may not be able to obtain general

liability insurance or be required on short notice to have to
find another carrier for their business insurance.

Small Business Impact
This rule will have little or no effect on small businesses.

The lack of this change would likely disrupt small business
insurance and thus their operation.

Small business regulatory coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
This rule will continue the status quo and thus would not

affect any revenues or expenses of OCI.

Private sector fiscal impact
This rule change will have no significant effect on the

private sector regulated by OCI and will continue the status
quo regarding insurers and small businesses.

State or local government fiscal impact
There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

EmR0923 — CR 09−094

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the
authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth under ss. 227.18 and 227.24 (4), Stats.,
the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) will hold
a public hearing to consider emergency rules and proposed
permanent rules creating section Ins 3.36, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to autism spectrum disorders treatment and affecting
small business.

Hearing Information
Date: December 2, 2009
Time: 2:00 p.m., or as soon thereafter as the

   matter may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 227

125 South Webster Street, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 336
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 336
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474
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Comments can be emailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov

Web site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin Admin. Rule
Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the
proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copy of Proposed Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, 

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statutes interpreted
Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12), 632.895 (12m), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12),

632.895 (12m), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The statutes all relate to the commissioner’s authority to

promulgate rules regulating the business of insurance as it
relates to disability insurance products.  Specifically, s.
632.895 (12m) (f), Wis. Stats., requires the commissioner to
define “intensive−level services,” “nonintensive−level
services,” “paraprofessional,” and “qualified” for purposes of
providing services under this subsection.  The statute further
authorizes that the commissioner may promulgate rules
governing the interpretation or administration of this
subsection.

Related statutes or rules
There are no other statutes or rules that mandate services

for autism spectrum disorders.  This rule creates a new section
to implement the newly created mandate pursuant to 2009
Wis. Act 28.

Plain language analysis and summary of the proposed rule
Under 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the Commissioner is

required pursuant to s. 632.895 (12m), Stats., to define four
terms: intensive level services, non−intensive level services,
qualified, and paraprofessionals; and may draft rules that
relate to the interpretation or administration of section.

To ensure clear understanding of current provider
qualifications and treatment options for autism spectrum
disorders the Commissioner established the Autism Working
Group.  The work group was charged with advising the
Commissioner on definitions for the four required terms and
making recommendations on how the statute should be
implemented.  The group was composed of parents,
providers, insurers, and advocates. Administrators of the
Waiver program at the Department of Health services also

participated.  The group met every other week beginning June
23rd, 2009 until September 10th, 2009

The Waiver program was used as a baseline to discuss the
implementation of the new mandate.  Current literature on
autism spectrum disorders and information from other states
was presented to the working for review and consideration.
Because the research and literature in the realm of autism
treatments is rapidly evolving, the working group
recommended defining “evidence−based” and “behavioral”
rather than creating a list of approved therapies that could
readily become outdated.

The proposed rule includes definitions of intensive level
behavioral therapy and non−intensive level therapy.  Based
upon current research, the rule limits intensive level services
to children aged 2 to 9 as this period of time has shown to be
the optimum time for gains for individuals diagnosed with
autism spectrum disorders.  Building from the waiver
program, the working group developed a comprehensive
regulation.

The proposed rule contains criteria necessary for one to be
considered qualified provider, qualified professional,
qualified therapist and qualified paraprofessional.  The
criteria include a combination of educational, professional
and specific training with individuals diagnosed with autism
spectrum disorders and for qualified paraprofessionals
specific requirements for supervised implementation of a
treatment plan for the insured.  The rule includes provisions
to permit individuals who are currently providing services
through the department’s waiver program to be deemed
qualified for up to two years and permit insurers and
self−funded plans to contract with these individuals who are
experienced but may not met the “qualified” requirements.

The rule also handles several administrative concerns.  It
allows insurers to deny claims they believe to be fraudulent,
exclude travel time from the required hours of treatment and
allocated dollars for treatment and permits dispute resolution
through independent review organizations.

Comparison with federal regulations
Autism Treatment Acceleration Act of 2009 (S. 819, H.R.

2413) was proposed in May.  If passed, Section 12 will
require all insurance companies across the country to provide
coverage for evidence−based, medically−necessary autism
treatments and therapies.  If passed a comparison of final
federal requirements and state law and regulation will need to
be reviewed.

Additionally, the ‘‘Paul Wellstone and Pete Domenici
Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008’’ (29
U.S.C. 1185a), requires for group health plans that offer both
medical and surgical benefits and mental health or substance
use disorder benefits to ensure financial and treatment
limitations are no more restrictive than the predominant
financial requirements applied to substantially all medical
and surgical benefits covered by the plan.  Further the federal
law does not permit separate cost sharing requirements that
are applicable only with respect to mental health or substance
use disorder benefits.  Federal guidance is due early 2010 on
the Mental Health Equity Act of 2008.  Wisconsin’s law is
broader than the federal act but will need to be reviewed when
the federal regulations are finally promulgated and effective.

Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Public Act 95−1005 requires private insurers cover autism

benefits for children under 21 years of age. No rule−making
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accompanied this law, however, the statute does include
Applied Behavioral Analysis, intervention, and modification
as a part of the covered behavioral treatments. The law is
subject to pre−existing condition limitations. It is also subject
to denials based on medical necessity.

Iowa:

A bill, SF 1 was introduced in the Iowa legislature this year
but did not pass. There are no other similar laws or rules in
Iowa.

Michigan:

Two bills − HB 4183 and 4176 − requiring autism coverage,
have passed the Michigan House; however, they are not
expected to reach a vote this year.  There are no other similar
laws or rules in Michigan.

Minnesota:

Section 62A.3094 was enacted and became effective
August 1, 2009.  The mandate requires coverage for the
diagnosis, evaluation, assessment and medically necessary
care for autism spectrum disorders including intensive
behavior therapy, behavior services, speech therapy,
occupational therapy, physical therapy and medications.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The Commissioner created an advisory Autism Working
Group to assist in the development of workable definitions of
“intensive” and “nonintensive” level services; “qualified”
providers and “paraprofessionals.”  The advisory working
group was comprised of providers, insurers, advocates,
parents of autistic children and representatives from the
Department of Health Services familiar with the Medicaid
waiver program for autism services.  The working group met
seven times between June 23 and September 10, 2009.  This
proposed rule reflects the advisory working group’s
recommendations.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

There are no insurers offering disability insurance or state
or local governmental self−funded entities that meet the
definition of a small business.

Small Business Impact
The rule will have little or no effect on small businesses.

Small business regulatory coordinator

The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and
may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate

Private sector fiscal impact

This rule change will have no significant effect on the
private sector regulated by OCI.

State or local government fiscal impact

None.

Long−range fiscal implications

None.

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

EmR0925 — CR 09−096
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the

authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth under s. 227.18, Stats., the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) will hold a public hearing
to consider emergency rules and the adoption of proposed
permanent rules creating section Ins 3.75, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to continuation of group insurance policies.

Hearing Information
Date: December 8, 2009
Time: 10:30 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the

   matter may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 227

125 South Webster Street, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Written comments can be mailed to:
Robert Luck
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 375
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Robert Luck
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 375
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Robert Luck
robert.luck@wisconsin.gov

Web site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm
Comments submitted through the Wisconsin Admin. Rule

Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the
proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copy of Proposed Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, 

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)
Statutes interpreted

Sections 600.01 and 628.34 (12), Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 601.41 (3), 601.42, 632.897, Stats., s. 9126 of
2009 Wisconsin Act 11 and the American Recovery and
Reinvestment Act of 2009, P.L. 111−5.
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Explanation of agency authority
2009 Act 11 specifically permits the commissioner to enact

this rule.

Related statutes or rules
Sections 632.746 and 632.897, Stats.

Plain language analysis and summary of the proposed rule
The United States Department of the Treasury, Internal

Revenue Service published an interpretation of the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 that provided a
continuation election opportunity for covered employees
including former employees when an employer discontinues
a group health plan.  The proposed rule will consider
continuation coverage election options for employees that
meet the requirements of s. 632.897, Stat., or s. 9126 of 2009
Wisconsin Act 11 whose employer or former employer
discontinues the group health insurance policy.  The proposed
rule will consider election and eligibility criteria for
continuation of coverage through a group policy.

Comparison with federal regulations
The United States Department of the Treasury, Internal

Revenue Service published in a frequently asked question and
answer format the question of continuation rights for
employees and their dependents when employers discontinue
a group policy and determined that eligible employees would
be able to elect continuation coverage that may be eligible for
premium subsidy under the American Recovery and
Reinvestment Act of 2009.  There is no current state rule or
policy on this specific issue.

Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
None.

Iowa:
None.

Michigan:
None.

Minnesota:
None.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
This proposed rule would enact for Wisconsin insureds the

ability to elect continuation of coverage when an employer
discontinues group health insurance consistent with the
Internal Revenue Service’s interpretation of the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

The rule imposes no substantial requirements on small
employers but would allow discontinued employees of small
employer who have group insurance the ability to elect
continuation of health insurance coverage.

Small Business Impact
This rule does not impose any additional requirements on

small businesses and will have little or no negative effect on
them.

Small business regulatory coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate

Private sector fiscal impact
This rule change will have no significant negative effect on

the private sector regulated by OCI but will allow numerous
people to continue group health insurance that would not be
able to without this change.

State or local government fiscal impact
There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

EmR0927 — CR 09−093
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the

authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth under s. 227.18, Stats., the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) will hold a public hearing
to consider emergency rules and the adoption of proposed
permanent rules creating Chapter Ins 57, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to care management organizations and affecting
small business.

Hearing Information
Date: December 3, 2009
Time: 10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the

   matter may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 227

125 South Webster Street, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 57
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 57
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov

Web site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin Admin. Rule
Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed
rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copy of Proposed Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:
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Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, 

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statutes interpreted
Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12), ch. 648, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12),

648.10 (1), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
2009 Wisconsin Act 28 created chapter 648, Wis. Stat.,

establishing the regulation of care management
organizations.  The statute specifically authorizes the
commissioner to promulgate rules that are necessary to carry
out the intent of the statute with consultation with the
department.  These proposed rules are the result of numerous
discussions with the department and incorporate effective
regulatory tools modified appropriately for care management
organizations.

Related statutes or rules
The proposed rule is consistent with and related to existing

financial regulations including, chs. Ins 9, 40 and 50, Wis.
Adm. Code.

Plain language analysis and summary of the proposed rule
Ch. 648, Wis. Stats., was created to establishes financial

regulation of care management organizations that provide and
coordinate services for the Family Care program.  Family
Care is a Wisconsin Medicaid program that was designed to
provide cost−effective, comprehensive and flexible
long−term care that fosters consumers’ independence and
quality of life, while recognizing the need for
interdependence and support.  Family Care improves the
cost−effective coordination of long−term care services by
creating a single flexible benefit that includes a large number
of health and long−term care services that are typically only
available separately.  Enrollees have access to specific health
care services offered by Medicaid as well as long−term care
services in the Home and Community−Based Waivers and the
state−funded Community Options Program.

Family Care is a public program operated by the Wisconsin
Department of Health Services (“Department”), that
contracts with both private and public plans to provide
consumers an option for coverage of long−term care services
beyond fee−for−service and the self−directed supports
waiver.  The care management organizations receive a fixed
capitated amount per enrollee from the Department through
the waiver programs.  However, due to the nature of the
organizations and the structure of the plan, care management
organizations, unlike insurers, may be less able to build and
draw upon reserves both during the expansion periods and due
to the potential for unforeseen expenditures.

The proposed rule implements ch. 648, Stats., financial
regulatory oversight of the care management organizations in
coordination with the Department to ensure the organizations
use sound financial tools when commencing operations and

ongoing oversight of the financial condition of the
organizations.  Specifically the proposed rule establishes
minimum financial standards, financial reporting
requirements, regulatory examinations and restricted reserves
for care management organizations in the event of an
insolvency.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation related

to oversight of care management organizations.

Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
None.

Iowa:
None.

Michigan:
None.

Minnesota:
None.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The Office engaged along with the Department of Health

Services engaged PricewaterhouseCoopers to analyze the
necessary reserves and regulatory structure for the Family
Care program.  In addition the office reviewed care
management organizations’ financial information,
coordinated the proposed regulatory scheme with current
oversight provided by the Department and reviewed
accounting principles best suited for care management
organizations

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

The Office worked with the Department of Health Services
to determine the rule’s effect on small businesses that are care
management organizations.

Small Business Impact
This rule will have minimal to no effect on small businesses

that are care management organizations.  This rule may effect
small businesses that are care management organizations
seeking a permit from the commissioner.  The office worked
closely with the Department to minimize the impact on the
care management organizations and will share information
between departments so not to overly burden care
management organizations

Small business regulatory coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate

Private sector fiscal impact
This rule change will have no significant effect on the

private sector regulated by OCI.

State or local government fiscal impact
There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.
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Notice of Hearing
Insurance

EmR0930 — CR 09−095
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the

authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth under s. 227.18, Stats., subject to the
Commissioner’s approval of the Statement of Scope, the
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) will hold a
public hearing to consider emergency rules and adoption of
proposed permanent rules creating section Ins 3.34, Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to coverage of dependents to age 27 and
affecting small business.

Hearing Information
Date: December 9, 2009
Time: 1:00 p.m., or as soon thereafter as the

   matter may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 227

125 South Webster Street, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 334
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 334
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov

Web site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin Admin. Rule
Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed
rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copy of Proposed Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, 

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statutes interpreted
Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12), 632.885, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The commissioner is authorized by s. 601.41, Stats., to

propose rules in accordance with s. 227.11 (2), Stats., in order
for the commissioner to administer and enforce the insurance
statutes.  Since passage of 2009 Wis. Act 28, the
commissioner has been made aware of dramatic differences
in interpretation and approaches to implementation that
necessitate rule making.

Related statutes or rules
None.

Plain language analysis and summary of the proposed rule
The proposed rule interprets and implements the

requirements of s. 632.885, Stats., by clarifying and defining
eligibility criteria and providing guidance as to how insurers
and self−insured health plans are to determine an adult child’s
eligibility for coverage.  The proposed rule clarifies that the
mandate applies to individual and group health insurance,
limited−scope health insurance including vision and dental
plans as well as self−insured health plans.  The rule also
clarifies that this mandate does not apply to certain insurance
products including long−term care and Medigap policies.
Further, as described in the applicability provisions of 2009
Wis. Act 28, the rule states when the mandate first applies,
including the initial applicability for collectively bargained
health plans.

The proposed rule provides clarity through definitions of
“premium contribution” and “premium amount.”  The
commissioner received the greatest volume of inquiries
seeking guidance on how the premium comparison was to be
conducted.  The proposed rule simplifies and guides insurers
and self−insured plans on exactly what is to be compared for
this element of eligibility determination.

Guidance is provided regarding to whom an offer of
coverage for an eligible adult child is to be given and
reinforces the statutory provision that it is only the applicant
or the insured who determines whether or not an eligible
dependent is added to his or her health plan.  The rule further
informs insurers and self−insured plans on prohibited
practices that would unduly restrict an otherwise eligible
dependent from coverage contrary to the intent of the statute.

Specifically the rule provides specific guidance to insurers
offering individual health insurance products as compared to
insurers or self−insured health plans offering group health
insurance coverage.  Insurers offering individual health
insurance may rate, may utilize pre−existing condition
waiting periods and may apply elimination riders to an
eligible adult child but may not impose such limitations as
coverage would be rendered illusory.  Insurers offering group
health insurance or limited−scope insurance and self−insured
health plans must comply with s. 632.746, Stat., with regards
to pre−existing condition waiting periods and application of
creditable coverage.  The rule also requires insurers and
self−insured health plans to treat an eligible adult child as a
new entrant and provide annually at least a 30−day enrollment
period.

Finally, the rule clarifies s. 632.885 (2) (a) 3. and (b) 3.,
Stats.  An adult child is an eligible adult child when the child
is between the ages of 17 and 27, is not married and who is not
eligible for his or her employer sponsored coverage or whose
employer does not offer health insurance to its employees.  An
adult child who has been called to federal active duty is an
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eligible adult child when a full−time student, less than 27
years of age when called to active duty.  The rule clarifies that
the adult child will have up to 12 months after completing
active duty to apply for full−time student status at an
institution of higher education, and that if the adult child is
called more than once in four years of the first call to active
duty, insurers and self−insured health plans may only use the
adult child’s age at the time of the first call to active duty when
determining eligibility.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no existing regulation directly related to this new

mandate.  The federal government, US House and Senate are
currently debating health insurance reform and at this time the
office is aware that some of the proposals will be revised to
contain similar requirements for extending coverage to adult
children, but none have passed as of this date.

Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:

215 ILCS 5/356z.12 provides parents with the option of
keeping unmarried dependents on their health care insurance
up to age 26. Parents with dependents who are veterans can
keep dependents on the plans up to age 30. The veterans must
be unmarried, must be Illinois residents, and must have
received a discharge other than dishonorable.  Veterans do not
have to be enrolled as full−time students.

Iowa:

Iowa Code § 509.3 and Iowa Code § 514E.7 requires that
health insurance providers continue to cover unmarried
children under their parents’ coverage provided that the child:
1) is under the age of 25 and a current resident of Iowa, 2) is
a full−time student, or 3) has a disability.  Iowa Code §
509A.13.B, effective July 1, 2009, allows reenrollment of the
same children in previously existing coverage under certain
circumstances.

Michigan:

No comparable regulations found.  Michigan Code §
500.3406g prohibits the denial of enrollment on certain
grounds for plans offering dependent coverage, and §
500.3406h addresses the eligibility of parents for dependent
coverage and the health coverage of children through
noncustodial parents.  § 500.2264 provides exception for the
termination of dependent coverage at specified age if a child
is incapable of self−support due to mental or physical
disability.

Minnesota:

Minnesota Chapter 62E.02 Defines “dependent” as a
spouse or unmarried child under age 25, or a dependent child
of any age who is disabled.

Ohio:

(information only) Ohio Rev. Code § 1751.14, as amended
by 2009 OH H 1 allows an unmarried, dependent child who
is an Ohio resident or a full−time student to remain on parent’s
insurance up to age 28, or without regard to age if they are
incapable of self−sustaining employment due to disability.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The commissioner reviewed existing interpretation of

terms used within the new mandate that are used in other areas
of the statutes and administrative code for consistency.
Further the commissioner considered the intent of the
mandate and proposed rules that furthered that intent.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

Although there are some limited−scope health insurers that
may meet the definition of a small business, the effect on the
insurers will not be significant since insurers will be able to
assess and collect premium for the inclusion of the eligible
adult child or may apply limitations on coverage.
Intermediaries, some of whom may meet the definition of a
small business will need to become familiar with this
regulation but will not significantly effect those persons.

Small Business Impact
This rule does not impose any additional requirements on

small businesses and will have little or no effect on them.

Small business regulatory coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate

Private sector fiscal impact
This rule change will have no significant effect on the

private sector regulated by OCI.

State or local government fiscal impact
There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—
CR 09−024

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 29.014,
29.089,  29.193, 29.197, 29.597, 169.085, 169.24, and 227.11,
Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold public
hearings on revisions to Chapters NR 10 and 19, Wis. Adm.
Code relating to hunting, trapping regulations and wildlife
rehabilitation.

Hearing Information

The hearing will be held on:

Date: December 15, 2009
Time: 6:00 p.m..
Location: Schmeeckle Reserve

2419 North Point Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54481

Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act,
reasonable accommodations, including the provision of
informational material in an alternative format, will be
provided for qualified individuals with disabilities upon
request.  Please call Scott Loomans at (608) 267−2452 with
specific information on your request at least 10 days before
the date of the scheduled hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Submittal of Written
Comments

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on
the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Scott
Loomans, Bureau of Wildlife Management, P.O. Box 7921,
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Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until
December 16, 2009.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Mr. Loomans.

Agency Contact Person
Scott Loomans
101 South Webster Street, PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707−7921
(608) 267−2452
scott.loomans@wisconsin.gov

Analysis Prepared by Department of Natural Resources

Statutes interpreted
Sections 29.014, 29.089, 29.193, 29.197, 29.597, 169.085,

169.24, and 227.11, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 29.014, 29.089,  29.193, 29.197, 29.597, 169.085,

169.24, and 227.11, Stats.

Plain language analysis
The intent of these rule changes is to correct drafting errors,

provide clarification to existing rules, simplify regulations,
and update administrative code language and references.
Policy issues affected by this rule are ones which have already
been addressed by previous rulemaking.

In addition, the proposed rule will place a 2−year sunset
provision on a rule promulgated by the 2009 spring hearing
package that splits the bobcat hunting and trapping seasons
into two separate permit periods. The sunset provision would
cause the bobcat season to revert to a single permit period
beginning on the Saturday nearest October 17 and continuing
through December 31 in 2011 unless the sunset is lifted by
rule.

The proposed rules will also:

1. Clarify that access permits are required of deer hunters
at Lake Wissota state park.

2. Clarify that the harvest of deer of either sex is allowed
by archery and gun hunters who possess disabled
hunting permits, making this regulation consistent
with the law that applies to disabled hunters during
firearm seasons.

3. Clarify that, where it is legal to place bait for hunting
deer, bait may be placed on the day before the archery
season as is currently allowed on the day before the
gun seasons.

4. Remove the prohibition of hunting deer with full metal
jacketed, nonexpanding type bullets so that only
nonexpanding type bullets are prohibited.

5. Establish that the prohibition of hunting and firearm
discharge on the day before the firearm deer season
applies only to the traditional nine−day deer season.

6. Establish that velvet antlers may be possessed in a
CWD zone and clarifies that antlers being transported
out of a CWD zone must be free of brain tissue but hair
or hide does not need to be removed.

7. Incorporate by reference the definitions for a section
of federal regulations that are already incorporated
into Wisconsin code related to baiting migratory game
birds.

8. Eliminate an unnecessary cross reference.
9. Eliminate confusing and unnecessary language and

clarifies that, where body−gripping type traps from 60
to 75 square inches in size are prohibited, larger traps
are also prohibited.

10. Eliminate an unnecessary gear requirement; relaxing
mechanical locks are not needed on snares.

11. Eliminate a limit on participation by disabled hunters
during turkey seasons that is no longer needed with
only seven turkey management zones.

12. Correct an omission in the name of a deer management
unit.

13. Include trapping as an educational outdoor skills
activity for which certain exemptions are available so
that this rule language will be consistent with statute.

14. Clarify that volunteer wildlife rehabilitators may only
serve in a limited capacity on wildlife rehabilitation
activities.

15. Correct the number of a subdivision.
16. Update wildlife rehabilitation code language so that it

is consistent with proposed changes to the list of
threatened and endangered species.

Related statute or rule
There are no state rules or statutes currently under

promulgation that directly relate to the provisions that are
proposed in this administrative order.
Comparison with federal regulations

These state rules and statutes do not relieve individuals
from the restrictions, requirements and conditions of federal
statutes and regulations.  Regulating the hunting and trapping
of native species has been delegated to state fish and wildlife
agencies.  Additionally, none of the proposed rules exceed the
authorities granted to states in 50 CFR part 10.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

These rule change proposals do not represent significant
policy changes and do not differ significantly from
surrounding states.  All surrounding states have regulations
and rules in place for the management and recreational use of
wild game and furbearer species that are established based on
needs that are unique to that state’s resources and public
desires.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

This rule order is necessary to correct inconsistencies
created through the promulgation of other rules and statutes,
update code language, correct previous drafting errors, and to
clarify existing administrative code language. The rule
changes included in this order do not deviate from current
department policy on the management of wildlife and the
regulation of hunting and trapping.
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

These rules are applicable to individual sportspersons and
impose no compliance or reporting requirements for small
businesses, and no design or operational standards are
contained in the rule.

Small Business Impact
Pursuant to s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the

proposed rules will have a significant economic impact on
small businesses.

The Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
may be contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.



Page 36 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 647 Mid−November 2009

Environmental Analysis
The Department has made a preliminary determination that

this action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The intent of these rule changes is to correct drafting errors,

provide clarification to existing rules, simplify regulations,
and update administrative code language and references.  The
department anticipates no fiscal effect from these proposed
rule changes.

State fiscal effect
None.

Local government fiscal effect
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
No long−range fiscal implications are anticipated.

Notice of Hearing

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control, 

Chs. NR 400—
CR 09−088

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss. 227.16
and 227.17, Stats, the Department of Natural Resources,
hereinafter the DNR, will hold a public hearing on proposed
revisions to Chapters NR 404, 438, and 484, relating to
ambient air quality standards for ozone and lead and new
reporting requirements for lead compounds on the date and at
the time and location listed below.

The proposed revisions relate to issues for State
Implementation Plan approvability, and the State
Implementation Plan developed under s. 285.11 (6), Stats.,
will be revised.

Hearing Information

Date: December 1, 2009 (Tuesday)
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: DNR Southeast Region Headquarters

Room 140−141
2300 N. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.
Milwaukee, WI

Reasonable accommodations, including the provision of
informational material in an alternative format, will be
provided for qualified individuals with disabilities upon
request. Contact Robert Eckdale in writing at the DNR,
Bureau of Air Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI
53707; by E−mail to Robert.Eckdale@wisconsin.gov ; or by
calling (608) 266−2856. A request must include specific
information and be received at least 10 days before the date
of the scheduled hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule
The proposed rule and supporting documents, including

the fiscal estimate, may be viewed and downloaded from the
Administrative Rules System Web site which can be accessed
through the link provided on the Proposed Air Pollution
Control Rules Calendar at http://www.dnr.state.wi.us/air/
rules/calendar.htm . If you do not have Internet access, a copy
of the proposed rule and supporting documents, including the
fiscal estimate, may be obtained free of charge by contacting
Robert B. Eckdale, Bureau of Air Management Rules
Coordinator, by e−mail at robert.eckdale@wisconsin.gov or
by calling (608) 266−2856.

Submission of Written Comments
Comments on the proposed rule must be received on or

before Monday, December 14, 2009. Written comments may
be submitted by mail, fax, E−mail, or through the Internet and
will have the same weight and effect as oral statements
presented at the public hearing. Written comments and any
questions on the proposed rules should be submitted to:

Larry Bruss
Department of Natural Resources
Bureau of Air Management (AM/7)
101 S. Webster Street
Madison, WI  53703
Phone: (608) 267−7543
Fax: (608) 267−0560
E−mail: Larry.Bruss@wisconsin.gov
Internet: Use the Adm. Rules System Web site accessible

through the link provided on the Proposed Air
Pollution Control Rules Calendar at

http://www.dnr.state.wi.us/air/rules/calendar.htm

Analysis Prepared by Department of Natural Resources
Statute interpreted

Section 285.21 (1) (a), Stats.  The State Implementation
Plan developed under s. 285.11(6), Stats., is revised.
Statutory authority

Sections 285.11 (1) and (6) and 285.21 (1) (a), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

The Department is required under s. 285.21 (1) (a), Stats.,
to promulgate by rule ambient air standards similar to, but not
more restrictive than the national ambient air quality
standards (NAAQS). The Department is also authorized
under s. 285.11 (1) and (6), Stats., to promulgate rules and
establish control strategies in order to prepare and implement
the State Implementation Plan for the prevention, abatement
and control of air pollution in the state.
Related statute or rule

There are no related statutes that are not identified above.
Plain language analysis

Chapter NR 404, Wis. Adm. Code, contains ambient air
standards which are intended to be the same as the federal
NAAQS promulgated by EPA, as is required under s.
285.21(1)(a), Stats. Chapter NR 438, Wis. Adm. Code,
establishes requirements for submission of reports for owners
or operators of air contaminant sources related to the ambient
air standards that are employed by the Department. The Clean
Air Act requires EPA to review the latest scientific
information every five years and promulgate NAAQS which
are designated to protect public and public welfare. In 2008,
EPA strengthened the 8−hour ozone NAAQS to 0.075 ppm
and revised the NAAQS for lead from 1.5 micrograms/cubic
meter (µg/m3) to 0.15 µg/m3.
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The Department is proposing to amend chs. NR 404 and
438, Wis. Adm. Code, to maintain consistency with the
federal NAAQS. Specifically, the proposed rule revisions
would: A) adopt the ozone and lead NAAQS into ch. NR 404,
Wis. Adm. Code; and B) incorporate the corresponding lead
reporting requirements into ch. NR 438, Wis. Adm. Code.

Comparison with federal regulations
The federally−enforced NAAQS are contained in Title 40,

Part 50 of the Code of Federal Regulations (40 CFR Part 50).
The purpose of these proposed rules is to make the
State−enforced ambient air standards for ozone and lead in ch.
NR 404, Wis. Adm. Code, consistent with the corresponding
federal NAAQS, as required under s. 285.21(a), Stats.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
These proposed rule revisions are designed to make

Wisconsin’s ambient air quality standards consistent with
federal NAAQS, which are effective and enforced throughout
the United States. Consequently, these proposed rules would
be identical to the ambient air standard regulations in effect in
the adjacent states.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The EPA, through its Clean Air Scientific Advisory

Committee has conducted exhaustive reviews and
assessments on the health science of air pollution impacts to
human health and welfare. This research has yielded NAAQS
that are based upon sound health science designed to protect
public health and welfare. The Department is accepting this
extensive federal research as this order’s factual data and
analytical methodologies. Information on the federal rule
changes are obtained from the federal registers published on
March 27, 2008 (Vol. 73, No. 60) for ozone and on November
12, 2008 (Vol. 73, No. 219) for lead.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

In light of the statutory requirement to promulgate by rule
new ambient air quality standards similar to but not more
restrictive than the federal standards, the Department relies on
the federal data and the analytical methodologies EPA used to
develop and promulgate the national ambient air quality
standards. EPA analysis establishes that NAAQS do not have
significant impacts upon small entities, including small
businesses because NAAQS themselves impose no
regulations upon small entities. Information on the analysis
and supporting documents used to determine effect on small
entities are contained in the EPA’s Regulatory Impact
Analysis (RIA) docket EPA−HQ−OAR−2007−0225 for the
ozone NAAQS and RIA docket EPA−HQ−OAR−2006−0735
for the lead NAAQS.

An economic impact report has not been requested.

Small Business Impact
The promulgation of the ozone and lead ambient air quality

standards would not have any direct effect on businesses,
including those defined as small business. Following the
promulgation of the ozone and lead air quality standards, the
EPA will determine if any areas in the state should be
designated as nonattainment for either of the new air quality
standards. The Department is required to develop an air
quality management state implementation plan (SIP) to
ensure that all ambient air quality standards are attained and
maintained in all areas of the state. The future development of
that SIP to address ozone and lead may result in emission
limitations being developed for specific source categories or

implementing emission control technologies which may
affect businesses, including small businesses. Any
prospective SIP revisions would occur through the
development of additional rules, which would include
analyses of the rules’ potential effects on the private sector,
including small businesses.

Environmental Analysis
The DNR has made a preliminary determination that

adoption of the proposed rules would not involve significant
adverse environmental effects and would not need an
environmental analysis under ch. NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.
However, based on the comments received, the DNR may
prepare an environmental analysis before proceeding. This
analysis would summarize the DNR’s consideration of the
impacts of the proposal and any reasonable alternatives.

Fiscal Estimate
Summary

The proposed rules will not have any direct economic
impact on the private sector. If, in the future, EPA were to
designate any areas in the state as non−attainment areas for
either of the proposed ambient air quality standards, it could
become necessary to develop rules to control emissions of
ozone precursors or lead. If such rules become necessary, any
potential economic impact to the private sector will be
evaluated at that time.
State fiscal effect

None.
Local government fiscal effect

None.

Notice of Hearing
Pharmacy Examining Board

CR 09−098
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Pharmacy Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b),
227.11 (2) and 450.02 (3) (a), (b), (d) and (e), Stats., the
Pharmacy Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the
time and place indicated below to consider an order to amend
sections Phar 6.08, 7.12 (2) (f) and 8.12 (2) (b), relating to
security systems, utilization reviews, and prescription orders
transmitted by facsimile.

Hearing Information
Date: December 2, 2009
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing and Submission of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of
Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935,
or by email to pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.  Comments
must be received on or before December 2, 2009, to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.
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Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or by
email at pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted
Sections 450.02 (3) (b), 450.06 (2) (b), 450.09 (3) and

450.11 (1) and (2), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 450.02 (3) (a), (b),

(d) and (e), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The Pharmacy Examining Board has the authority under s.

450.02 (3) (d), Stats., to promulgate rules necessary for the
administration of ch. 450, Stats., and under s. 450.02 (3) (a)
to (c), Stats., relating to the distribution and dispensing of
drugs; establishment of security standards for pharmacies,
and establishment of minimum standards for the practice of
pharmacy.

Related statute or rule
There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed

above.

Plain language analysis
SECTION 1 amends s. Phar 6.08 to clarify that a pharmacy

is required to have a centrally monitored alarm system.  The
current rules permit a pharmacy to have an alarm system in the
immediate physical structure within which a pharmacy is
located.

SECTION 2 amends s. Phar 7.12 (2) (f) to clarify that the
reference to “drug initialization” used in the rule should read
“drug utilization.”

SECTION 3 amends s. Phar 8.12 (2) (b) to clarify that
prescription orders may be transmitted by a facsimile
machine in instances in which a patient “meets the eligibility
requirements for placement in a long term care facility,” but
elects to reside at home.  Under the current rules a pharmacist
may not dispense a schedule II controlled substance pursuant
to a prescription order transmitted by a facsimile machine
unless certain conditions stated in s. Phar 8.12 (1) are satisfied
and all the conditions set forth in s. Phar 8.12 (2) (a) to (c) are
met.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Pharmacy Alarms, Security.

Section 1330.75 Security Requirements.  a)  Whenever
the pharmacy (prescription area) is not occupied by a
registrant, the pharmacy (prescription area) must be
secured and inaccessible to non−licensed persons
(employees and public).  This may be accomplished by
measures such as walling off, locking doors, and
electronic security equipment, as approved by the
Division.

Utilization Review.
Not applicable.  Rule corrects a drafting error.

Faxing Schedule II Controlled Substance Prescriptions.
Neither the statutes nor rules establish prima facie
permission for pharmacists to dispense schedule II
controlled substances faxed by a practitioner on behalf
of patients residing in−home that are eligible for nursing
home placement.

Iowa:

Pharmacy Alarms, Security.
657—6.7(124,155A) Security.  While on duty, each
pharmacist shall be responsible for the security of the
prescription department, including provisions for
effective control against theft of, diversion of, or
unauthorized access to prescription drugs, records for
such drugs, and patient records as provided in
657—Chapter 21.
6.7(1) Department locked.  The prescription department
shall be locked by key or combination so as to prevent
access when a pharmacist is not on site except as
provided in subrule 6.7(2).
6.7(2) Temporary absence of pharmacist.  In the
temporary absence of the pharmacist, only the
pharmacist in charge may designate persons who may be
present in the prescription department to perform
technical and nontechnical functions designated by the
pharmacist in charge.  Activities identified in subrule
6.7(3) may not be performed during such temporary
absence of the pharmacist.  A temporary absence is an
absence of short duration not to exceed two hours.  In the
absence of the pharmacist, the pharmacy shall notify the
public that the pharmacist is temporarily absent and that
no prescriptions will be dispensed until the pharmacist
returns.
8.5(3) Secure barrier.  The pharmacy department shall
be surrounded by a physical barrier capable of being
securely locked to prevent entry when the department is
closed.  A secure barrier may be constructed of other
than a solid material with a continuous surface if the
openings in the material are not large enough to permit
removal of items from the pharmacy department by any
means.  Any material used in the construction of the
barrier shall be sufficient strength and thickness that it
cannot be readily or easily removed, penetrated, or bent.
The plans and specifications of the barrier shall be
submitted to the board for approval prior to the start of
construction.  The board may also require on−site
inspection of the facility or pharmacy department prior
to the pharmacy’s opening or relocation.  The pharmacy
department shall be closed and secured in the absence of
the pharmacist except as provided in rule
657—6.7(124,155A) or 657—7.6(124,155A).
[4/4/2007]

Utilization Review.
Not applicable.  Rule corrects a drafting error.

Faxing Schedule II Controlled Substance Prescriptions.
Neither the statutes nor rules establish prima facie
permission for pharmacists to dispense schedule II
controlled substances faxed by a practitioner on behalf
of patients residing in−home that are eligible for nursing
home placement.

Michigan:
Pharmacy Alarms, Security.

R 338.482 Housing of pharmacy.
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(3)  All pharmacies that occupy less than the entire area
of the premises owned, leased, used, or controlled by the
licensee shall be permanently enclosed by partitions
from the floor to the ceiling.  All partitions shall be of
substantial construction and shall be securely lockable
so that drugs and devices that can only be sold by a
pharmacist are unobtainable during the absence of the
pharmacist.  Identification of this department by the use
of the words “drug,” “medicines,” or “pharmacy” or by
the use of a similar term or combination of terms shall
be restricted to the area that is registered by the board.
The pharmacy department shall be locked when the
pharmacist is not in the establishment.

Utilization Review.
Not applicable.  Rule corrects a drafting error.

Faxing Schedule II Controlled Substance Prescriptions.
Neither the statutes nor rules establish prima facie
permission for pharmacists to dispense schedule II
controlled substances faxed by a practitioner on behalf
of patients residing in−home that are eligible for nursing
home placement.

Minnesota:

Pharmacy Alarms, Security.
6800.0700 PHARMACY, SPACE, AND SECURITY.
Subpart 1 D.  The pharmacy must be surrounded by a
continuous partition or wall extending from the floor to
the permanent ceiling, containing doors capable of
being securely locked to prevent entry when the
pharmacy is closed.

Utilization Review.
Not applicable.  Rule corrects a drafting error.

Faxing Schedule II Controlled Substance Prescriptions.
Neither the statutes nor rules establish prima facie
permission for pharmacists to dispense schedule II
controlled substances faxed by a practitioner on behalf
of patients residing in−home that are eligible for nursing
home placement.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The board recognized the need to tighten security
requirements so that all pharmacies, even if they are located
within a larger structure that is alarmed, would be equipped
with an alarm.  The board was contacted about the barriers to
providing care to long term pharmacy care patients who
receive care at home.  As a result of a subsequent discussion
during a board meeting, the board decided to change its
controlled substances faxing rule.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

Requiring all pharmacies to be alarmed may have an
impact on small businesses, but its primary impact is on chain
or hospital pharmacies that are more typically inside a larger
structure.  The faxing change will assist small businesses in
providing care to long term care patients at home.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Small Business Impact
These proposed rules were reviewed and discussed by the

department’s Small Business Review Advisory Committee
which determined that the rules will have no significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses,
as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at hector.colon@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate
Summary

The department estimates that this rule will require staff
time in the Division of Professional Credentialing.  The total
one−time salary and fringe costs are estimated at $266.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone
608−266−0495; email at pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Pharmacy Examining Board

CR 09−099
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Pharmacy Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b),
227.11 (2), 450.02 (3) (d) and 450.062, Stats., the Pharmacy
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to create section
Phar 7.095, relating to remote dispensing sites.

Hearing Information
Date: December 2, 2009
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing and Submission of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of
Regulation and Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400
East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, WI 53708−8935, or by email to pamela.haack@
wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received on or before
December 2, 2009, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or by
email at pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.
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Analysis Prepared by Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted
Sections 450.06 (1) and 450.062, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 450.02 (3) (d) and

450.062, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The board is authorized under s. 450.02 (3) (d), Stats., to

promulgate rules necessary for the administration of ch. 450,
Stats., and under s. 450.062, Stats., to promulgate rules
relating to the establishment and operation of remote
dispensing sites.

Related statute or rule
Section Phar 7.09 relates to the use of automated

dispensing systems.

Plain language analysis
SECTION 1 creates s. Phar 7.095, which sets forth the

process and procedures for establishing and operating remote
dispensing sites.

As stated in s. 450.06 (1), Stats., except as provided in rules
adopted by the board under s. 450.062, Stats., no pharmacist
may dispense at any location that is not licensed as a pharmacy
by the board.  The board is proposing to adopt these rules to
set forth the process and procedures for establishing and
operating remote dispensing sites.

The proposed rules include definitions for “health care
facility,” “managing pharmacist,” “practitioner,” “remote
dispensing site,” and “supervising pharmacy.”  The proposed
rules also clarify that a remote dispensing site shall not be
licensed as a pharmacy and that no person may use or display
certain titles in connection with the operation of a remote
dispensing site.  In addition, the proposed rules identify where
remote dispensing sites may be located; the requirements for
operating remote dispensing sites; the requirements for
dispensing; the responsibilities of managing pharmacists, and
the requirements for pharmacy technicians and interns.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:

Statutes:  Section 225 ILCS 85
Rules:  Section 1330.98
Illinois’ statutes provide a significant amount of detail as

to tele−pharmacy, remote prescription processing, common
electronic filing, automated dispensing and storage systems,
and centralized prescription filling.  Tele−pharmacy is
included as part of the definition of the practice of pharmacy.
Tele−pharmacy models must meet a set of conditions
regarding pharmacist responsibility, technician training,
supervision and patient counseling.  Remote prescription
processing, or “outsourcing” occurs when at least one of eight
listed functions are identified.  Conditions under which
remote prescription processing may occur are also specified,
including ownership, electronic filing and record
maintenance provisions.  The statutes are very detailed
regarding automated pharmacy systems/remote dispensing.
Subjects covered include:  security; procedures;
confidentiality; designated personnel; storage (temperature,
proper containers, handling outdated drugs), dispensing and

delivery, home pharmacy supervision and re−stocking of
systems that use removable cartridges.  The rules provide
additional detail for automated dispensing and storage
systems, including provisions relating to documentation,
storage, security, record keeping, stocking, proper containers,
and quality assurance.
Iowa:

Rules:  Chapters 9 and 18.
Chapter 9 of Iowa’s rules relates to automated medication

dispensing systems, including:  pharmacist responsibilities;
quality assurance; policies and procedures; system, site and
process requirements; dispensing and distributing; security
and confidentiality; records; error identification and logging;
verification and accuracy; reporting; and outpatient
automated medication dispensing.  Chapter 18 addresses
centralized filling and processing, including:  system
qualifications; labeling; legal compliance; patient
notification; originating pharmacy compliance; policies and
procedures; and records.

Michigan:
Statutes:  Section 333.17753, Michigan Public Health

Code
Rules:  Chapter 338
Michigan’s statutes include a section on centralized

prescription filling, which lists the record−keeping, security
and quality improvement conditions that apply to
outsourcing.  The rules state that a license is required at each
separate location where drugs are prepared or dispensed.

Minnesota:
Statutes:  Section 150.01
Rules:  Section 6800.0800, 2600, 4075, 6600
Minnesota’s statutes define central service pharmacy as a

pharmacy that may provide dispensing functions, drug
utilization review, packaging, labeling, or delivery of a
prescription product to another pharmacy for the purpose of
filling a prescription.  Minnesota’s rules provide definitions
for community and hospital satellite pharmacies.  Plans for
satellite pharmacies must be submitted to the board for
approval.  The rules also specify the requirements for vending
machines (responsibility, policies and procedures),
centralized processing and filling (ownership, filing, policy
and procedures manual, records, tracking of drugs, security,
quality improvement, counseling and notification), and
freedom of choice.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The board created a committee to draft remote dispensing
guidelines after 2007 Wisconsin Act 202 (Senate Bill 409)
became effective.  The committee met once and devised
several safeguards to protect the public.  Since the remote
dispensing model departs from the traditional dispensing
model, the board sought to address drug security, training and
supervision of remote site staff, privacy, labeling and quality
assurance in the context of remote site dispensing.  The final
guidelines, which have been written into this rule draft, are the
result of committee discussions and recommendations that
were finalized by the full board.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

This rule will have an impact on small businesses, though
it is not clear exactly what impact it will have.  The board
received correspondence expressing concerns and suggesting
that the remote sites will adversely impact chain and
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independent pharmacies in the region, making it more
difficult to compete.  One pharmacy owner suggested
protective language in the remote dispensing rules that would
disallow remote sites within a pre−determined radius of
existing pharmacies.  The board took up the concerns at its
July 22, 2009 meeting and deliberated on the benefits and
costs of the legislation, noting that its primary purpose is to
increase access to prescription drugs.  The board also noted
that small business concerns were heard while the legislation
was pending, resulting in Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 409,
which limited remote dispensing to sites specifically
identified in the legislation.  It was noted in testimony that
there is a likelihood that small businesses will benefit from
new ventures with clinics and practitioners.  The board also
considered other possibilities, such as improved care
coordination and the increased likelihood of patients to fill
prescriptions at a remote site located at a health clinic.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Small Business Impact
These proposed rules were reviewed and discussed by the

department’s Small Business Review Advisory Committee
which determined that these rules will have no significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses,
as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at hector.colon@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Division of Board Services.  The total on−going
salary and fringe costs are estimated at $7,100.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708; telephone 608−266−0495; email at
pamela.haack@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Public Defender Board

CR 09−067
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 977.02

(5), (6) and (8), and 977.03 (3), Stats., the State Public
Defender (SPD) will hold a public hearing to consider a
proposed order to revise Chapter PD 1, relating to the
certification of private bar attorneys to accept appointments
to provide legal representation for state public defender
clients.

Hearing Information
SPD will hold a public hearing at the time and place shown

below.

November 30, 2009
1:00 pm to 3:00 pm
SPD Administrative Office, Banoul Conference Room
315 N. Henry Street, 2nd Floor
Madison, Wisconsin  53703
Handicap accessibility is in the rear of the building.  If you

require communication accommodation at the hearing, please
call Marla Stephens, (414) 227−4891, at least 10 days prior to
the hearing date.

Appearances at Hearing and Submission of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to attend the hearing and
comment on the proposed rule.  Persons appearing may
make an oral presentation and are requested to submit their
comments in writing.  Written comments on the proposed
rule will be accepted into the record and receive the same
consideration as testimony presented at the hearing if they
are received by Monday, December 7, 2009.  Written
comments should be addressed to:  Marla Stephens, SPD, PO
Box 7923, Madison, WI 53707−7923, or by email:
stephensm@opd.wi.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rule
To view the proposed rule and certification application

forms online, go to:  http://www.wisspd.org/html/appellate/
PropPD1.asp.  You may contact Marla Stephens at
stephensm@opd.wi.gov or by telephone at (414) 227−4891
to request a copy of the proposed rule and certification
application forms be sent to you by U.S. mail.  Copies of the
rule and certification application forms will also be available
at the hearing.

Analysis Prepared by the State Public Defender Board
Statutes interpreted

Sections 977.02 (5) and (6), 977.03 (3), 977.05 (4) and (5),
and 977.08 (1) to (3), Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 977.02 (5), (6) and (8), and 977.03 (3), Stats.
Explanation of Agency Authority

Sections 977.05 (4) and (5) and 977.08 (1) require the state
public defender to appoint attorneys to represent indigent
clients in specified cases.  Section 977.08 (2) and (3) require
the state public defender to notify all attorneys that they may
be appointed to provide legal representation to state public
defender clients, to review the qualifications of attorneys
seeking appointment, and to certify lists of attorneys qualified
to accept appointments. Section 977.02 (5) allows the state
public defender board to promulgate rules that establish
procedures to assure that the legal representation of indigent
clients by the private bar at the initial stages of cases assigned
under ch. 977 is at the same level as the representation
provided by the state public defender. Section 977.02 (6)
allows the state public defender board to establish rules to
accommodate the handling of certain potential conflict of
interest cases by the office of the state public defender.
Section 977.03 (3) allows the state public defender board to
promulgate rules to establish procedures under which the state
public defender may appoint attorneys based upon the state
public defender’s evaluation of the attorneys’ performance.
Section 977.02 (8) allows the state public defender board to
perform all other duties necessary and incidental to the
performance of any duty enumerated in ch. 977, Stats.
Related statute or rule

None
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Plain language analysis

The ethical rules in Supreme Court Rules Chap. 20, Rules
of Professional Conduct for Attorneys, prohibit conflicts of
interest and require zealous representation. Consequently, the
state public defender appoints some cases to private attorneys
who are not employees. Because the state public defender
does not have direct oversight of the legal representation
provided in these cases, the state public defender uses other
means, including certification lists, to ensure that the private
attorneys are competent to represent clients in different types
of cases.  The proposed rules modify certification criteria and
procedures to:

� Update the certification lists to reflect changes in
substantive and procedural law.

� Permit the state public defender to exercise discretion to
certify, recertify, sanction, suspend, caution, place
conditions upon or decertify a private attorney for cause.

� Establish criteria for the exercise of discretion.

� Permit the state public defender to consider an attorney’s
prior disciplinary record and other conduct, in addition to
experience and education, when making certification
decisions.

� Require an attorney to reapply for certification after
decertification or voluntary removal from any
certification list.

� Permit the state public defender to require a period of
provisional certification to allow the state public defender
to monitor the representation provided to clients.

� Permit the state public defender to suspend case
appointments to an attorney pending an investigation into
performance or billing.

� Permit the state public defender to disclose information
about an investigation after the investigation is concluded.

Comparison with federal regulations

There are no existing or proposed federal regulations that
address the activities of the proposed rules.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Iowa:

Appointment:  Appellate courts appoint the State Appellate
Defender. At the trial court level, the State Public Defender
files a notice with a district court clerk in each county served
by the public defender designating which local public
defender office shall receive notice of appointment of cases.
This designee shall be appointed by the court to represent all
the eligible indigents in all of the cases and proceedings
specified in the designation.  The State Public Defender may
notify the trial court that the public defender designee will not
provide legal representation in certain cases. The State Public
Defender may contract with private attorneys and nonprofit
organizations for the provision of legal services to indigent
persons.

Certification/Standards for Private Attorneys:  The State
Public Defender may confer with judges, attorneys and others
having knowledge about the attorney’s competence,
effectiveness, trustworthiness and ability to provide services.
Also, the State Public Defender may conduct additional
investigation as deemed warranted. The information received
may be considered when deciding to award an initial contract
or renew a contract for legal services with a private attorney.

Illinois:
Appointment:  Appeals are appointed by the appellate court

to the State Appellate Defender. Trial court judges appoint the
local public defender office.

Certification/Standards for Private Attorneys: Appellate
cases: An attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois who has
prior criminal appellate experience or an attorney who is a
member or employee of a law firm which has at least one
member with that experience may submit a bid to the State
Appellate Defender to receive cases. Prospective bidders
must furnish legal writing samples that are deemed acceptable
to the State Appellate Defender.  Trial cases: No written
qualifications and standards or on−going legal education
requirements were found.

Michigan:
Appointment: Appellate courts determine eligibility and

appoint the State Appellate Defender Office to cases. The trial
courts determine eligibility and appoint local public defense
agencies to represent the indigent.

Certification/Standards for Private Attorneys: The State
Appellate Defender Office has initial qualification
requirements and on−going training requirements. The trial
courts vary by county as to qualifications and on−going
training requirements. For example, Wayne County (Detroit)
appoints the Legal Aid and Defender of Detroit and does not
appear to have published qualification standards or on−going
training requirements for private attorneys who wish to be
appointed to public defender cases. Oakland County
(Pontiac) inquires about criminal law experience and
education and requests the names of judges and attorneys for
references as part of the initial qualification. Also, Oakland
County requires private attorneys to agree to attend on−going
training related to criminal law.  Macomb County (Mt.
Clemons) has an Indigent Assignment List Selection
Committee that reviews attorney applications and assigns
attorneys to a level.  An attorney must apply to this Committee
to move to a higher level.  Also, Macomb County requires
annual training of one continuing legal education credit or
three mini−seminars relating to criminal law.

Minnesota:
Appointment:  The trial and appellate courts appoint cases.

The trial court judge appoints the district public defenders’
offices in the jurisdiction in which the charge is filed. There
are ten judicial districts in Minnesota. The district public
defender cannot be required to make the eligibility
determination or investigate the availability of assets. If a
conflict of interest or other situation exists, the court can
appoint to private attorneys who have contracts for
appointments with the district public defender’s office.

Certification/Standards for Private Attorneys: The Chief
Public Defender in each of the districts reviews the
qualifications of a private attorney who applies for a contract
to accept appointments of public defender cases.  There are no
published standards for that review.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
None.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

None.

Small Business Impact
None.
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Fiscal Estimate
No fiscal estimate is required.

Agency Contact Person
Marla Stephens
315 N. Henry Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 7923, Madison, Wisconsin  53707−7923
Phone:  414.227.4891
Email:  stephensm@opd.wi.gov

Notice of Hearing

Public Defender Board
CR 09−068

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 51.60,
51.605, 55.105, 55.107, 977.02 (2m), (3), (4m) and (4r), and
977.075 Stats., the State Public Defender (SPD) will hold a
public hearing to consider the proposed order to revise
Chapters PD 2, 3, and 6, relating to representation by the state
public defender of persons detained under Ch. 51 or 55, Stats.,
or subject to involuntary administration of psychotropic
medication without a predetermination of financial eligibility.

Hearing Information
SPD will hold a public hearing at the time and place shown

below.
November 30, 2009
10:00 a.m. to Noon
SPD Administrative Office, Banoul Conference Room
315 N. Henry Street, 2nd Floor
Madison, Wisconsin  53703
Handicap accessibility is in the rear of the building.  If you

require communication accommodation at the hearing, please
call Marla Stephens, (414) 227−4891, at least 10 days prior to
the hearing date.

Appearances at Hearing and Submission of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to attend the hearing and
comment on the proposed rule.  Persons appearing may
make an oral presentation and are requested to submit their
comments in writing.  Written comments on the proposed
rule will be accepted into the record and receive the same
consideration as testimony presented at the hearing if they
are received by Monday, December 7, 2009.  Written
comments should be addressed to:  Marla Stephens, SPD, PO
Box 7923, Madison, WI  53707−7923, or by email:
stephensm@opd.wi.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rule
To view the proposed rule and fiscal note online, go to:

http://www.wisspd.org/html/appellate/PropPD236.aspsteph
ensm@opd.wi.gov.  You may contact Marla Stephens at
stephensm@opd.wi.gov or by telephone at (414) 227−4891
to request a copy of the proposed rule and fiscal note be sent
to you by U.S. mail.  Copies of the rule and fiscal note will also
be available at the hearing.

Analysis Prepared by the State Public Defender Board

Statutes interpreted
Sections 51.60, 51.605, 55.105, 55.107, 977.075 (1g), (4),

977.085 (3), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 51.60, 51.605, 55.105, 55.107, 977.02 (2m), (3),

(4m) and (4r), and 977.075, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Section 977.02 (2m) allows the state public defender board
to promulgate rules regarding eligibility for legal services for
persons who are entitled to be represented by counsel without
a determination of indigency.  Sections 977.02 (4m) and
977.075 allow for the state public defender board to establish
rules setting the maximum amount a person subject to 51.605
or 55.107 must pay as reimbursement for legal services.
Section 977.02 (4r) allows the state public defender board to
promulgate rules that establish procedures to provide the
department of administration with any information
concerning collection of payments.
Related statute or rule

The proposed rules implement statutory changes relating
to the appointment of counsel without a determination of
indigency and the payment for representation in chapter 51
and 55 cases. Similar statutes include ss. 48.23 (4) and 938.23
(4) relating to the appointment of counsel in juvenile cases
without a determination of indigency.  Other similar statutes
and rules include ss. 48.275, 938.275 and 977.075 and chapter
PD 6 related to the payment for representation in chapter 48
and 938 cases.
Plain language analysis

The proposed rules implement the statutory changes that
became effective July 1, 2008, affecting the state public
defender’s office in proceedings under chapters 51 and 55,
Stats.  The specific actions proposed include:
� Removing the requirement of a finding of financial

eligibility by the state public defender before legal
counsel is appointed for chapter 51 and 55 clients

� Removing the client’s prepayment options for chapter 51
and 55 case types

� Creating a new rule for reimbursement rates for chapter 51
and 55 case types

� Requiring reports to the legislature’s joint committee on
finance and the department of administration regarding
the collection of payments ordered under chapter 51 and
55

2007 Wisconsin Act 20 removed the requirement that
persons subject to the civil commitment proceedings of
chapters 51 or 55 complete a pre−representation indigency
evaluation and required the public defender to appoint
counsel without a determination of indigency.  At the
conclusion of the proceeding, the circuit court may inquire as
to the person’s ability to reimburse the state for the cost of
representation. If the court determines that the person is able
to reimburse the costs of representation, the court may order
reimbursement in an amount not to exceed the maximum
amount established by the public defender board, currently in
Wisconsin Administrative Code PD 6.01. The court may
require the public defender to conduct a determination of
indigency and report the results of that determination to the
court.

Any reimbursement is made to the clerk of courts for the
county where the proceedings took place.  The clerk of each
county deposits 25% of the reimbursement payments to the
county treasury and transmits the remaining 75% to the
secretary of the department of administration to be credited in
the public defender’s private bar and investigator
reimbursement appropriation. The clerks of court for each
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county are required to report to the public defender by January
31 the total amounts of court−ordered reimbursement ordered
and paid under chapters 51 and 55 for the previous calendar
year. The effective date of these statutory provisions is July 1,
2008.

Comparison with federal regulations
There are no existing or proposed federal regulations that

address the activities of the proposed rules.

Comparisons with rules in adjacent states
For all adjacent states to Wisconsin, if neither the

respondent nor others provide counsel for a civil commitment
hearing, the respective court appoints counsel for him or her.
To compensate the attorneys for their services in the states of
Minnesota, Iowa, and Illinois, the applicable court enters an
order upon the county to pay the entire fee or such an amount
as the respondent is unable to pay.  In Michigan, the court
compensates appointed counsel from court funds in an
amount that is reasonable and based upon time and expenses.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The proposed rules implement statutory changes that went

into effect on July 1, 2008.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

None.

Small Business Impact
None.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
These administrative rules conform to statutory changes

that took effect on July 1, 2008, having been implemented as
part of the State’s 2007−09 biennial budget act. The rules will
not have any fiscal effect independent of these statutory
changes. The statutory changes eliminated the requirement
that a respondent in a chapter 51 proceeding or a chapter 55
proceeding complete a financial application before qualifying
for representation through the State Public Defender (SPD).

The estimated fiscal effect of the legislation was
summarized in the Legislative Fiscal Bureau’s Paper Number
621 (May 8, 2007). This paper (at p. 5) reviewed the average
cost for chapter 51 and chapter 55 cases and the estimated
number of additional cases under these chapters in which the
SPD would appoint an attorney. The estimated annual cost to
the SPD was $320,500, the amount by which the SPD’s
budget was increased beginning in fiscal year 2008−2009.

State fiscal effect
None.

Local government fiscal effect
None.

Private sector fiscal effect
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
As noted above, the fiscal effect stems from the statutory

changes, not from the administrative rules. The two major
factors that may affect the SPD’s costs from the statutory
changes are 1) the number of chapter 51 and chapter 55 cases
and 2) the average costs of providing representation in these
cases.

Agency Contact Person
Marla Stephens
315 N. Henry Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 7923, Madison, Wisconsin  53707−7923
Phone:  414.227.4891
Email:  stephensm@opd.wi.gov

Notice of Hearing
Public Instruction

 CR 09−084
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 119.23

(2) (a) 6. c. and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Department of Public
Instruction will hold a public hearing as follows to consider
proposed permanent rules to create section PI 35.07, relating
to establishing a nonrenewable waiver from the requirement
that a teacher have a bachelor’s degree in order to teach in a
private school under the Milwaukee Parental Choice
Program.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held as follows:

December 8, 2009Milwaukee
4:30 – 6:00 p.m. Hope Christian School — Fortis

3601 North Port Washington Ave.
Room 207

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you require reasonable accommodation to
access any meeting, please call Robert Soldner, Director,
School Management Services, (608) 266−7475 or leave a
message with the Teletypewriter (TTY) at (608) 267−2427 at
least 10 days prior to the hearing date.  Reasonable
accommodation includes materials prepared in an alternative
format, as provided under the Americans with Disabilities
Act.

Copies of Proposed Rule
The administrative rule and fiscal note are available on the

internet at http://dpi.wi.gov/pb/rulespg.html.  A copy of the
proposed rule and the fiscal estimate also may be obtained by
sending an email request to lori.slauson@dpi.wi.gov or by
writing to:

Lori  Slauson, Administrative Rules and Federal Grants
Coordinator

Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI  53707

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments on the proposed rules received by Ms.
Slauson at the above mail or email address no later than
December 14, 2009, will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Public Instruction

Statute interpreted
Section 119.23 (2) (a) 6. c., Stats., and Section 9139 (4r) of

the nonstatutory provisions of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.

Statutory authority
Sections 119.23 (2) (a) 6. c. and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and

Section 9139 (4r) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2009
Wisconsin Act 28.
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Explanation of agency authority
Section 119.23 (2) (a) 6. c., Stats., requires the department

to, by rule, implement a process to issue a temporary,
nonrenewable waiver to certain teachers that meet specific
statutory requirements and who are employed by a private
school participating in the Milwaukee Parental Choice
Program (MPCP) program.

Section 119.23 (11), Stats., requires the department to
promulgate rules to implement and administer the MPCP.

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., gives an agency rule−making
authority to interpret the provisions of any statute enforced or
administered by it, if the agency considers it necessary to
effectuate the purpose of the statute.

SECTION 9139 (4r) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2009
Wisconsin Act 28, requires the department to, no later than the
first day of the 4th month beginning after the effective date of
the Act (October 1, 2009), submit proposed rules to the
Legislative Council staff.

Related statute or rule
N/A

Plain language analysis
2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the 2009−11 biennial budget bill,

made several modifications to the Milwaukee Parental
Choice Program under s. 119.23, Stats. Several of the
modifications require that the department develop rules to
implement the statutory provisions. One of those
modifications requires the department to develop a rule
setting forth the process to issue a temporary, nonrenewable
waiver for eligible teachers who have been teaching in a
participating private school for at least 5 consecutive years
immediately preceding July 1, 2010, but do not have a
bachelor’s degree.

By statute, a teacher may apply for a temporary,
nonrenewable waiver if he or she:

� Was employed by the private school participating in the
Milwaukee Parental Choice Program (MPCP) on July 1,
2010,

� Has been teaching for at least the 5 consecutive years
immediately preceding July 1, 2010, and

� Does not have a bachelor’s degree from an accredited
institution of higher education on July 1, 2010.

The statutes further require the applicant to submit to the
department a waiver application designed by the department
and a plan for satisfying the requirements under s. 119.23 (2)
(a) 6. a., Stats., including the name of the accredited institution
of higher education at which the teacher is pursuing or will
pursue the bachelor’s degree and the anticipated date on
which the teacher expects to complete the bachelor’s degree.

The rules include the statutory requirements described
above and establish the process for requesting the temporary,
nonrenewable waiver. The rules require specific information
to be submitted by July 31, 2010, when applying for the
waiver, including:

� Information documenting that the institution of higher
education is accredited.

� The name and contact information of the accredited
institution of higher learning.

� A list of specific classes to be taken to complete the
bachelor’s degree.

� If applicable, an official transcript showing courses
already completed that count toward the bachelor’s
degree.

� Information demonstrating a bachelor’s degree from the
accredited institution of higher education can be issued
within five years under the plan proposed by the applicant.

Finally, no waiver granted under these rules is valid after
July 31, 2015.

The Act requires the permanent rules to be submitted to the
Legislative Council by October 1, 2009.

Comparison with federal regulations
N/A

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and Minnesota do not have rules

relating to private school voucher programs.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The waiver granted under these rules is only available to

teachers that meet the requirements on July 1, 2010 and valid
until July 31, 2015.  The information required in the rule is
typical of information requested from regular teachers in
determining whether they are on−track to receiving proper
certification.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

N/A

Small Business Impact
The proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.

Fiscal Estimate
Summary

The rule sets forth the process to issue a temporary,
nonrenewable waiver for eligible teachers who have been
teaching in a participating private school but do not meet the
new licensing requirement created by 2009 Wis. Act 28 under
s. 119.23 (2) (a) 6. a, Stats.

The rules will have no local fiscal effect and will have no
significant economic impact on small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

The costs associated with the new waiver application
process and review will be absorbed by the department.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector
N/A

Agency Contact Person
Robert Soldner, Director
School Management Services
(608) 266−7475
robert.soldner@dpi.wi.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Public Service Commission

CR 09−086
NOTICE IS GIVEN that pursuant to s. 227.16 (2) (b),

Stats., the Commission will hold a public hearing on a
proposed rule to create Chapter PSC 172 related to the police
and fire protection fee created under 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.
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Hearing Information

Date: December 2, 2009
Wednesday — 1:30 p.m.

Location: Amnicon Falls Hearing Room
Public Service Commission Bldg.
610 North Whitney Way
Madison, WI

Accommodation

This building is accessible to people in wheelchairs
through the Whitney Way (lobby) entrance.  Handicapped
parking is available on the south side of the building.

The Commission does not discriminate on the basis of
disability in the provision of programs, services, or
employment.  Any person with a disability who needs
accommodations to participate in this proceeding or who
needs to obtain this document in a different format should
contact Dennis Klaila, Docket Coordinator, at (608)
267−9780 or dennis.klaila@psc.state.wi.us.

Submission of Written Comments
Any person may submit written comments on these

proposed rules.  The hearing record will be open for written
comments from the public, effective immediately, and until
Tuesday December 15, 2009, at noon (Monday December 14,
2009, at noon, if filed by fax).  All written comments must
include a reference on the filing to docket 1−AC−228.  File by
one mode only.

Industry:  File comments using the Electronic Regulatory
Filing system.  This may be accessed from the Commission’s
website psc.wi.gov.

Members of the Public:
If filing electronically:  Use the Public Comments system or
the Electronic Regulatory Filing system.  Both of these may
be accessed from the Commission’s website: psc.wi.gov.

If filing by mail, courier, or hand delivery:  Address as shown
in the box below.

If filing by fax:  Send fax comments to (608) 266−3957.  Fax
filing cover sheet MUST state “Official Filing,” the docket
number 1−AC−228, and the number of pages (limited to
25 pages for fax comments).

Comments Due:
Tuesday
December 15, 2009
Noon

FAX Due:
Monday
December 14, 2009
Noon

Address Comments to:
Sandra J. Paske
Secretary to the Commission
Public Service Commission
P.O. Box 7854
Madison, WI  53707−7854
FAX (608) 266−3957

Agency Contact Information
Questions regarding this matter should be directed to

Dennis Klaila, Docket Coordinator, at (608) 267−9780 or
dennis.klaila@psc.state.wi.us.

Small business questions may be directed to Gary Evenson
at (608) 266−6744 or gary.evenson@psc.state.wi.us.

Media questions should be directed to Tim LeMonds,
Director of Governmental and Public Affairs at (608)
266−9600.

Hearing or speech−impaired individuals may also use the
Commission’s TTY number, if calling from Wisconsin (800)
251−8345, if calling from outside Wisconsin (608) 267−1479.

Analysis Prepared by the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin

Statute interpreted
This rule interprets s. 196.025 (6), Stats., which imposes a

police and fire protection fee on communications service
connections.

Statutory authority
Sections 196.02 (1) and (3), 196.025 (6) (d) 1., and 227.11,

Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 227.11, Stats., authorizes agencies to promulgate

administrative rules.  Section 196.02 (1), Stats., authorizes
the Commission to do all things necessary and convenient to
its jurisdiction.  Section 196.02 (3), Stats., grants the
Commission specific authority to promulgate rules.  Section
196.025 (6) (d) 1., Stats., allows the Commission to
promulgate rules about the new police and fire protection fee.

Related statutes or rules
Sections 77.59 (1) to (5), (5m) except any penalty or

interest provision, (6) (a), (8) and (8m) describe department
of revenue audit and appeal procedures.

Summary of rule
This rule deals with the new police and fire protection fee.

It establishes the requirements for administering the fee.
The rule states that a fee must be assessed on all retail voice

communications connections including voice over internet
protocol, except that no fee should be assessed on lines used
internally by a communications provider, by the federal
government or by tribal governments.  Anyone required to
assess the fee must register with the Department of Revenue
(DOR), which will be collecting the fee.

For communications connections under a subscription plan
(one with regularly occurring payments scheduled), the
provider is required to assess 75 cents per connection, per
month.  If a partial month of service is provided, then the
provider is to follow the same procedure it uses with county
911 fees.  If the provider does not assess those fees, then it can
charge the full fee amount unless its billing system can prorate
it.  If a customer has more than 10 connections from a
particular provider, each connection above 10 is assessed .075
cents per connection, per month.  If only a partial payment is
received from a customer, the payment is first applied to the
provider’s charges.  Providers must explain the fee on the first
bill on which it appears and, if it is listed separately on the bill,
must identify the bill in a manner specified in the statute and
in the rule.

For prepaid wireless communications connections, the
provider or retailer that sells the plan must assess 38 cents per
connection sold in retail sales transactions.  Retail sales
transactions involving prepaid wireless include the sale of a
phone and airtime, as well as sales of additional airtime.
Whether the source of the sale is Wisconsin is determined
using a hierarchy similar to that used for sales tax purposes.

Returns must be filed with the DOR.  Fees imposed during
one month must be paid to DOR by the end of the following
month.  Extensions may be granted for good cause.  Fees
written off as uncollectible and those repaid when an item is
returned may be deducted from a later return.
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Appeals about amounts due or refunds must be filed with
DOR within 60 days of the date on which a notice of amount
due, notice of refund, or notice of refund claim denial is
received.  A request for a redetermination must be filed with
DOR as well.  If the communications provider or retailer
wishes to pursue its appeal further, it must file an objection to
the assessment with the commission, which will follow a
process similar to that in s. PSC 196.85, Stats., which deals
with objections to other PSC assessments.

Resellers are required to file a form with their underlying
local exchange carrier certifying that the lines they have
purchased will be resold.  This ensures that the local exchange
carrier is not held responsible for submitting fees on those
lines.

Providers and retailers are required to keep records about
fee assessment.  DOR and the commission can audit for
compliance and the commission can bring an action for
uncollected fees.

Comparison with federal regulations
The Commission is not aware of any existing or proposed

federal legislation on this matter.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
The Commission is not aware of any similar rules in

surrounding states.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The Commission and the DOR worked together to develop

this rule.  The current processes used by DOR for the
collection of sales and other taxes were considered while
developing this rule.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The Commission and DOR worked together to develop this
rule.  The steps taken by DOR to reduce the burden of tax
filings on small businesses were taken into account when
drafting this rule.

Small Business Impact
While the statute creating this fee and this rule will affect

small businesses to some degree, the Commission is unable to
estimate the number because the statute and rule apply to all
telecommunications providers and to retailers that sell
prepaid wireless telecommunications plans.  Since the
Commission does not regulate wireless telecommunications
providers or retail sellers of wireless services, it does not have
the data necessary to determine whether those are small
businesses.  However, the Commission and the Department of
Revenue (DOR) worked together to develop this rule.  The
steps taken by DOR to reduce the burden of tax filings on
small businesses were taken into account when drafting this
rule.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
Section 196.025 (6), Stats., and thus this rule implementing

it, has a fiscal impact as it will increase costs to businesses and
government, although it may be possible to absorb them. The
fee created by the statute will be billed to each government
and business customer according to a formula based on the
number of lines of service they have in groupings of 10.  For
government, the fee would presumably be offset by revenue
collections.  For small businesses, the fee would be an

additional cost of doing business or recovered in charges to
customers.

2009 WI Act 28 created a fee to be paid by
telecommunications customers for support of county costs of
police and fire protection services.  The fee is billed to both
residential and business landline and wireless providers
including those wireless providers who use pre−paid cards to
obtain cellular service.  This fee will be billed to state and local
government customers and business customers following the
definitions in the law and this rule.  Federal Government
offices will be exempt from the charge because of the federal
supremacy clause and the various court interpretations of its
applicability in situations similar to those of this fee.

The cost effect on state and local government presumably
will be in turn absorbed by collections in revenue.  Each
government and business customer will be billed according to
a formula based on the number of lines of service they have
in groupings of 10.  Statistics on the number of lines for
governments and small businesses are not available without
extensive data requests of all providers of landline and
cellular services in Wisconsin.

State fiscal effect
Increase in costs that may be possible to absorb within

agency’s budget.

Types of local governmental units affected
Towns, Villages, Cities, Counties, School Districts.

Affected Ch. 20 appropriations
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
For government, fee offset by revenue collections.
For small business, fee would be additional cost of doing

business or recovered in charges to customers.

Text of Proposed Rule

SECTION 1. PSC ch. 172 is created to read:

Chapter PSC 172
Police and Fire Protection Fee on 
Communications Connections

PSC 172.01  General.  (1) PURPOSE. The purpose of this
chapter is to implement the police and fire protection fee
required under s. 196.025(6), Stats.

(2)  EXCEPTION. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude the
commission from giving special and individual consideration
to exceptional or unusual circumstances and, upon
investigation of the facts and circumstances involved,
adopting requirements that may be other or different than
those provided in this chapter.

PSC 172.02  Definitions.  In this chapter:
(1)  “Basic local voice service” means the provision to

residential or business customers of an access facility,
whether by wire, cable, fiber optics or radio, and essential
usage within a local calling area for the transmission of
high−quality 2−way interactive switched voice
communication.

(2)  “Commercial mobile radio service” has the meaning
given in 47 USC 332 (d).

(3)  “Commission” means the public service commission.
(4)  “Communications provider” means a person that

provides communications service.
(5)  “Communications service” means any of the

following:
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(a)  Retail basic local voice service.
(b)  Retail wireless voice service.
(c)  Retail voice over internet protocol service.
(6)  “Communications service connection” means a link

with a communications network that provides a person the
ability to access that network for voice communications.

(7)  “Customer” means a person that purchases a
communications service connection.  “Customer” includes
pay telephone providers, but excludes resellers.

(8)  “Department” means the department of revenue.
(9)  “Fee” means the police and fire protection fee imposed

under s. PSC 196.025 (6).
(10)  “Official company lines” are communications service

connections that are reserved for a communications
provider’s internal administrative use.

(11)  “Prepaid wireless retail transaction” means the sale of
a prepaid wireless communications plan with no expectation
that it will be resold.  A prepaid wireless retail transaction
includes any of the following:

(a)  The sale of a handset with airtime for a specified dollar
amount, or for a specified period time, such as a finite number
of minutes of use or days of service.

(b)  The sale of additional airtime, including an additional
finite dollar amount of service, additional minutes of use or
additional days of service, whether the additional airtime was
sold at a retail location, over the internet, by mail, or by
telephone call.

(12)  “Prepaid wireless communications plan” means a
plan for wireless voice service that provides a person the right
to utilize wireless voice service, is paid for prior to use, and
is sold in predetermined dollar amounts whereby a number of
units declines with use of a known amount.

(13)  “Place of primary use” has the meaning given in 4
USC 124(8).

(14)  “Retailer” means a person that sells a prepaid wireless
communications plan on behalf of a communications
provider.

(15)  “Subscriber” means a person that enters into a
subscription communications plan with a communications
provider.

(16)  “Subscription communications plan” means a
contract or other service agreement in which a subscriber pays
a periodic rate for a communications service, including both
recurring and nonrecurring charges, either paid in advance for
service to be provided in the subsequent month or paid in
arrears for the service previously provided.

(17)  “Voice over internet protocol service” means a service
that is provided to customers with either a billing address or
a place of primary use within the state, that does all of the
following:

(a)  Enables real−time, two−way voice communications.
(b)  Employs a broadband connection from the user’s

location.
(c)  Requires internet protocol−compatible customer

premises equipment.
(d)  Permits users generally to receive calls that originate

on the public switched telephone network and to terminate
calls to the public switched telephone network.

(18)  “Wireless voice service” means commercial mobile
radio service, including the resale of commercial mobile radio
service but excluding mobile satellite service, that meets all
of the following:

(a)  The source of the sale is Wisconsin under s. PSC 172.06
(2)(b).

(b)  Offers real−time, two−way switched voice service that
is interconnected with the public switched network.

PSC 172.03  Police and fire protection fee.  (1)  FEE. 
Except as provided in sub. (2), the fee shall be imposed on all
communications service connections with an assigned
telephone number, including a communications service
provided using a voice over internet protocol connection.

(2)  EXEMPTIONS.  The fee may not be imposed on the
following communications service connections:

(a)  Those purchased by offices and agencies of the federal
government or a sovereign tribe.

(b)  Those used as official company lines.
(c)  Those sold to resellers that bill end−users for the

communications services provided, except that the fee shall
be applied by the reseller when the connection is resold to an
end−user.

PSC 172.04  Registration.  Every communications
provider and retailer required to impose the fee shall register
with the department, in the manner prescribed by the
department, to report and remit the fees.

PSC 172.05  Assessment of fee.  (1)  SUBSCRIPTION

COMMUNICATIONS PLAN.  (a) Application of fee.  A
communications provider shall apply a fee of $0.75 per month
on each communications service connection established
under a subscription telecommunications plan.  The
communications provider shall remit the fee to the
department using the procedure specified in s. PSC 172.06.

(b)  Partial month of service.  If a communications provider
charges a subscriber for less than a full month of subscription
communications plan service, the communications provider
shall assess the fee in the same way that it assesses the
countywide 911 charges under s. 256.35 (3), Stats.  A
provider that does not assess the 911 fees may assess a full fee
if its billing system does not permit the fee to be prorated.

(c)  Multi−line service.  1.  If a communications provider
furnishes multiple communications service connections to a
single subscriber account, the communications provider shall
impose a fee according to the following schedule:

a.  For subscribers with 10 or less communications service
connections, $0.75 per connection, per month.

b.  For subscribers with more than 10 communications
service connections, $7.50 for the first 10 connections plus
$0.075 per service connection in excess of 10, per month.

2. a.  If a subscriber receives service from more than one
communications provider, the communications providers
serving the subscriber may not add together the
communication service connections to determine the fee
imposed on the subscriber.  Each communications provider
shall determine the fee to be imposed on a subscriber based
upon the communication service connections the provider
itself provides.

b.  A communications provider  may not add together the
communications service connections from multiple accounts
to determine the fee imposed.  Only service connections
within an account may be added together.

(d)  Partial payments.  If a subscriber remits to the
communications provider an amount less than the full amount
billed to the subscriber in a given month, the communications
provider shall first apply the partial payment to any amount
the subscriber owes to the communications provider for the
communications service provided.
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(e)  Billing identification and information.  1.  On its bill,
a communications provider shall identify the fee in one of the
following ways:

a.  List the fee separately from other charges on a
subscriber’s bill and identify the fee as “police and fire
protection fee.”

b.  Combine the fee with a charge imposed under s.
256.35(3), Stats., and identify the combined fee and charge as
“charge for funding countywide 911 systems plus police and
fire protection fee.”

c.  Combine the fee with basic rates and either do not
identify the fee separately, or state that the basic rate includes
the “police and fire protection fee.”

2.  On the first bill on which the fee appears, a
communications provider offering a subscription
communications plan shall inform its subscribers by bill
message of the following:

a.  The addition of the fee to the monthly bill.
b.  The purpose the fee is intended to serve.
(2)  PREPAID WIRELESS COMMUNICATION PLAN.  (a)

Application of fee.  Any retailer or communications provider
that sells a Wisconsin communications service connection
established under a prepaid wireless communications plan
shall impose a $0.38 fee on each prepaid wireless retail
transaction.  The fee does not apply to the sale of related
wireless handset equipment and accessories.

(b)  Determining Wisconsin connection.  A
communications provider or retailer shall determine if a
communications service connection that it sells is a
Wisconsin communications service connection as follows:

1.  If a customer receives the purchased item at a seller’s
business location, the sale is sourced to that business location.

2.  If a customer does not receive the purchased item at a
seller’s business location, the sale is sourced to the location
where the customer, or the customer’s designated recipient,
receives the product, including the location indicated by the
instructions known to the seller for delivery to the customer
or the customer’s designated recipient.

3.  If the location of a sale of a purchased item cannot be
determined under subd. 1. or 2.,  the sale is sourced to the
customer’s address as indicated by the seller’s business
records, if the records are maintained in the ordinary course
of the seller’s business and if seller’s use of that address to
establish the location of a sale is not in bad faith.

4.  If the location of a sale of a purchased item cannot be
determined under subds. 1. to 3., the sale is sourced to the
customer’s address as obtained during the consummation of
the sale, including the address indicated on the customer’s
payment instrument, if no other address is available and if the
seller’s use of that address is not in bad faith.

5.  If a customer buys a prepaid wireless communications
plan and the location of the sale cannot be determined under
subds.1. to 4., the sale is sourced to the location associated
with the telephone number associated with the plan, as
determined by the seller.

(c)  Remission of fee.  1.  If a prepaid wireless retail
transaction is completed by a retailer, that retailer shall
impose the fee and remit it using the procedure specified in s.
PSC 172.06.

2.  If a prepaid wireless retail transaction is completed by
a communications provider, that provider shall impose the fee
and remit it using the procedure specified in s. PSC 172.06.

(d)  Invoice or sales receipt identification.  A
communications provider or retailer may state the amount of
the fee separately on a bill, invoice, sales receipt, or other
document associated with the prepaid wireless retail
transaction.  If a retailer or communications provider lists the
fee separately, it shall identify the fee as “police and fire
protection fee.”

(e)  When a communications provider or retailer does not
state the amount of the fee separately on a bill, invoice, sales
receipt or other document associated with the prepaid wireless
retail transaction, but establishes to the satisfaction of the
commission and the department that the customer is aware
that the fee is included in the total sales price of the prepaid
wireless retail transaction, the sales price shall be the amount
received exclusive of the fee.

Note::  For example, a 50 minute card for a prepaid wireless
account is sold in a vending machine for $20.00.  A sign is
conspicuously posted on the vending machine that the “Price
Includes the Police and Fire Protection Fee.”  The sales price
of the card is $19.62, the amount paid by the customer less the
fee ($20.00 − $0.38 = $19.62).

PSC 172.06  Filing returns.  (1)  FILING.  Every person
registered or required to be registered for the fee shall
electronically file a return.

(2)  ACCRUAL BASIS.  A filer under sub. (a) shall collect,
report and remit the fee on an accrual, or as−imposed, basis.

(3)  DUE DATE.  A filer under sub. (1) shall submit the return
and remit fees to the department by the last day of the month
following the month in which the fees are imposed.

(4)  EXTENSIONS.  The department may, for good cause,
extend the time for making any return or remitting any amount
under this chapter.  The extension may not exceed one month
from the due date of the return and may be granted at any time
provided a request is filed with the department within or prior
to the period for which the extension is requested.

PSC 172.07  Uncollectible amounts and returns.  (1)
UNCOLLECTIBLE AMOUNTS.  (a)  A filer under s. PSC 172.06 (1)
may claim a deduction for an unpaid fee if all of the following
are met:

1.  The communications provider or retailer previously
reported and remitted the fee to the department.

2.  The communications provider or retailer writes off the
fee as uncollectible in its books and records.

3.  The unpaid fee is eligible to be deducted as a bad debt
for federal income tax purposes, regardless of whether the
filer is required to file a federal income tax return.

(b)  A deduction shall be claimed in the period in which the
filer writes off the unpaid fee as uncollectible in its books and
records and in which the amount is eligible to be deducted as
a bad debt for federal income tax purposes.

(c)  If the filer subsequently collects, in whole or in part, any
bad debt for which a deduction under par. (a) is claimed, the
filer shall include the amount collected in the return filed for
the period in which the amount is collected and shall remit the
fee with that return.

(2)  CUSTOMER RETURNS.  A filer under s. PSC 172.06 (1)
may claim a deduction for a fee that is included in a previously
filed return but refunded to the purchaser in cash or in credit.
The filer shall claim the deduction on the return for the period
in which the refund of the fee is paid.

PSC 172.08  Resale.  (1) (a)  A reseller shall file a properly
completed form PFP−211, Wisconsin Police and Fire
Protection Fee Resale Certificate, with the communications
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provider from which it purchases communications services to
resell. The reseller shall certify that the service connections it
has purchased are being, or will be, resold.  The certificate
shall indicate whether the certificate is for a single purchase
or for continuous purchases.

(b)  Within 30 days of the effective date of this rule, a
reseller shall file a form under par. (a) for services it is
purchasing at that time.  If that form is not for continuous
purchases, the reseller shall file a form under par. (a) within
10 days of purchasing additional services , for resale.  If a new
purchasing relationship is established after the effective date
of this rule, the reseller shall file a form under par. (a) within
10 days of purchasing services for resale.

(2)  When filing a return under s. PSC 172.06 (1), a
communications provider selling services for resale to a
reseller shall not include communications service
connections or prepaid wireless retail transactions involving
services for which they have received a certificate under par.
(a).

(3)  A reseller shall apply, collect, and remit the fee for all
communications service connections that it resells to an
end−user.

PSC 172.09  Sales and use tax exemption.  The fee is not
subject to Wisconsin sales or use taxes.

PSC 172.10  Audit.  (1)  The commission may audit to
determine compliance with this chapter.

(2)  The department may, by office or field audit and using
the procedures in ss. 77.59 (1) to (5), (5m) except any penalty
or interest provision, (8) and (8m), Stats, determine
compliance with this chapter.

(3)  The filer under s. PSC 172.06 (1) shall maintain records
to substantiate the number of communications service
connections subject to the fee and the number of prepaid
wireless retail transactions subject to the fee, as well as
records to substantiate sales for resale and uncollectible
accounts.

PSC 172.11  Appeals.  (1)  A communications provider or
retailer that disagrees with a notice from the department about
an amount due, a refund due, or a refund claim denial relating
to the fee may file an appeal with the department.

(2)  A communications provider’s or retailer’s appeal shall
be in writing and signed.  The appeal shall state the facts and
reasons for disagreeing with the adjustments and include
supporting documents.

(3)  A communications provider or retailer shall mail or fax
the appeal within 60 days after receiving a notice of amount
due, notice of refund, or notice of refund claim denial from the
department.  The appeal shall be submitted to the address or
fax number provided in the notice.  An appeal that is mailed
is considered timely if it is postmarked on or before the due
date specified and is received by the department within five
days of the due date.

(4)  The procedures in s. 77.59 (6) (a), Stats., shall apply to
an appeal under subs. (1) to (3).

(5) (a)  Within 30 days after a redetermination under sub.
(4) is mailed, a communications provider or retailer may file
an objection with the commission. The objection shall set out
in detail the grounds upon which the objector regards the bill
to be excessive or erroneous.

(b)  The commission, after at least 10 days notice to the
objector, shall hold a hearing on the objection. After the
hearing the commission shall mail a decision by registered
mail that includes the amount, if any, to be paid.

(c)  If the amount to be paid under the order in par. (b) is not
paid within 10 days after the determination has been sent by
registered mail, the commission may proceed under s. PSC
172.12.

PSC 172.12  Collection action authorized.  The
commission may bring an action to collect any amount that is
required to be remitted under this chapter.

Notice of Hearings
Revenue

EmR0924 — CR 09−090
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2) (a) and 227.24, Stats., the Department of Revenue will
hold public hearings to consider emergency rules and the
creation of permanent rules revising Chapter Tax 11, relating
to sales and use tax.

The proposed rule order will:

� Reflect the changes in Wisconsin’s sales and use tax laws
due to the adoption of the statutory changes needed to
bring Wisconsin’s sales and use tax laws into compliance
with the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement

� Provide guidance to Department employees and taxpayers
so that they can properly apply the Wisconsin sales and
use tax laws.

Hearing Information
The hearings will be held:

Date and Time: Location:
December 1, 2009 Events Room
 at 1:00 p.m. State Revenue Building

2135 Rimrock Road
Madison, Wisconsin

December 15, 2009 Events Room
 at 1:00 p.m. State Revenue Building

2135 Rimrock Road
Madison, Wisconsin

Handicap access is available at the hearing location.

Copies of Proposed Rules
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule order and the full

fiscal estimate may be obtained at no cost by contacting the
department. See Agency Contact Person listed below.

Submission of Written Comments
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and

may make an oral presentation.  It is requested that written
comments reflecting the oral presentation be given to the
department at the hearings.  Written comments may also be
submitted to the contact person shown under Agency Contact
Person listed below no later than December 15, 2009, and will
be given the same consideration as testimony presented at the
hearings.
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Agency Contact Person
Dale Kleven
Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 6−40
2135 Rimrock Road — PO Box 8933
Madison  WI  53708−8933
Telephone: (608) 266−8253
E−mail: dale.kleven@revenue.wi.gov

Analysis Prepared by Department of Revenue

Statute interpreted
Section 71.255, Stats.

Statutory authority
Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., provides that each agency

may promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any
statute enforced or administered by it, if the agency considers
it necessary to effectuate the purpose of the statute.

Related statute or rule
There are no other applicable statutes or rules.

Plain language analysis
This proposed rule does the following:

� Reflects the changes in Wisconsin’s sales and use tax laws
due to the adoption of the statutory changes needed to
bring Wisconsin’s sales and use tax laws into compliance
with the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement
(SSUTA).

� Provides guidance to Department employees and
taxpayers so that they can properly apply the Wisconsin
sales and use tax laws.

� Removes incorrect and outdated information.
� Revises punctuation to improve readability and conform

to Legislative Clearing House rules and requirements.
� Removes the term “gross receipts” from the rules and

replaces it with “sales price,” which is a newly defined
term under the SSUTA.

� Changes numerous references to “tangible personal
property” that were previously contained in the rules to
“tangible personal property and items, property, and
goods under s. 77.52 (1) (b), (c), and (d), Stats.” because
the definition of “tangible personal property” under
previous law was amended and some items that were
previously included in the definition of “tangible personal
property” now have the sales and use tax specifically
imposed on them in new sections of the statutes,
specifically secs. 77.52 (1) (b), (c), and (d), Stats.

� Renumbers various sections within the rules to improve
readability.

� Adds additional information related to numerous
statutory changes that were not previously  reflected in the
rules, including information related to new exemptions on
items such as durable medical equipment for home use,
mobility–enhancing equipment, prosthetic devices and
food and food ingredients and certain admissions.

� Adds numerous definitions that were adopted to various
rules including s. Tax 11.08, 11.09, 11.12, 11.29 and 11.66.

� Creates a new rule (s. Tax 11.945), specifically relating to
the proper sourcing of transactions so a person will know
whether the transaction is subject to Wisconsin sales or

use tax and adds information relating to the sourcing of
leases and rentals in s. Tax 11.29.

� Adds numerous listings of taxable and nontaxable items
to various rules, including s. Tax 11.08, 11.09, 11.17,
11.45 and 11.51.

� Adds additional information pertaining to exemption
certificates in s. Tax 11.14.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is

intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rule.
However, the Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP) is a
nationwide project that is intended to modernize and simplify
the sales and use tax reporting in the states who choose to
conform their laws to the requirements contained in the
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA).
Adopting the requirements of the SSUTA will help make
Wisconsin’s sales and use tax laws more uniform with the
sales and use tax laws of the other states that have also
conformed their laws to the requirements of the SSUTA.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Minnesota, Michigan and Iowa have conformed their laws
to the requirements of the SSUTA and therefore, like
Wisconsin, must administer their laws in a manner consistent
with the requirements of the SSUTA.  These states do this
through a combination of statutory provisions and
administrative rules.

Illinois has not conformed their laws to the requirements of
the SSUTA and is not bound by the requirements contained in
the SSUTA.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
2009 Wisconsin Act 2 adopted statutory changes to bring

Wisconsin’s sales and use tax statutes into conformity with the
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement. The department
has created this proposed rule to reflect these changes in
Wisconsin’s sales and use tax laws.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

As explained above, this proposed rule is created to reflect
changes in Wisconsin’s sales and use tax laws. As the rule
itself does not impose any significant financial or other
compliance burden, the department has determined that it
does not have a significant effect on small business.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

This proposed rule does not have a significant fiscal effect
on the private sector.

Small Business Impact
This proposed rule order does not have a significant

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Fiscal Estimate
2009 Wisconsin Act 2 adopted statutory changes to bring

Wisconsin into conformity with the Streamlined Sales and
Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA).  The SSUTA is the result of an
effort by state governments, with input from local
governments and the private sector, to simplify and
modernize sales and use tax administration.  Under the
agreement, Wisconsin must use standard definitions for sales
tax purposes.

The proposed rule conforms ch. Tax 11 to current law, as
modified by the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement
provisions of 2009 Wisconsin Act 2.  The rule provides
guidance in the application of the law by providing specific
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examples of items that are both included and excluded from
certain SSUTA definitions.   The rule provides examples of
exempt durable medical equipment, exempt prosthetic
devices, and exempt mobility enhancing equipment.  The rule
also provides several guide lists — including items typically
sold by grocers that are subject to the sales tax and items
typically sold by grocers that are exempt from the tax.

Since the fiscal effect of conforming Wisconsin law to the
SSUTA was included in the fiscal estimate of 2009 Wisconsin
Act 2, the rule has no fiscal effect.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board
CR 09−065

A rule−making order to revise Chapter BC 9 and to create
Chapter BC 11, relating to renewal, reinstatement of license,
and continuing education.

Insurance
CR 09−055

A rule−making order to create section Ins 17.28 (3h),
relating to supervision and direction.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 09−051
A rule−making order to revise Chapters NR 19 to 23,

relating to housekeeping changes to fishing regulations that
clarify existing code which does not accurately reflect the
intent of rules previously adopted by the Natural Resources
Board.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 09−053
A rule−making order to revise Chapter NR 10, relating to

deer management unit population goals.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−030

Rule revising section A−E 6.03, relating to land surveying
experience.
Effective 1−1−10.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−032

Rule creating Chapter A−E 10, relating to continuing
education for land surveyors.
Effective 1−1−10.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−033

Rule revising section A−E 8.03 (5), relating to the
definitions of supervision, direct supervision, responsible
charge, and direction and control.
Effective 1−1−10.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−034

Rule revising section A−E 8.08 (3) and (4), relating to

failure to respond to information requests in conjunction with
an investigation of a complaint filed against a registrant.
Effective 1−1−10.

Financial Institutions — Banking
CR 09−060

Rules revising Chapters DFI−Bkg 40 to 44, repealing
Chapter DFI−Bkg 45, and creating Chapter DFI−Bkg 47,
relating to the transition from a registration system to a license
system under subch. III of Ch. 224, Stats., branch offices,
mortgage broker agreements, surety bonds, and trade names.
Effective 1−1−10; except the repeal eff. 1−1−11.

Financial Institutions — Securities
CR 09−056

Rules revising Chapters DFI−Sec 1 to 5, 7 and 9, relating to
minor revisions to securities sections for conformity with
Wisconsin securities statutes, filings, and securities agent
examination matters.
Effective 1−1−10.

Transportation
CR 09−058

Rules revising section Trans 315.03 (1), relating to safety
belt medical use exemption.
Effective 1−1−10.
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