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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (3)

1. EmR1038 — Rule adopted to create section ATCP
21.21, relating to restricting the import of certain plants, wood
and wood products to prevent the introduction of thousand
cankers disease of walnut trees into this state.

Finding of emergency
(1)  Thousand cankers disease is an emerging fungal

disease that can be carried by the walnut twig beetle (the
beetle is native to this country).  The disease poses a serious
threat to black walnut trees, an important forest species in
Wisconsin.  Black walnut is known for its highly valuable
lumber, which is used for finished products such as furniture,
musical instruments and gun stocks.  There are approximately
18.5 million black walnut trees in Wisconsin, with over 13%
of them located in the southeastern part of the state.
Wisconsin businesses export over $4 million in black walnut
products annually.

(2)  Thousand cankers disease was first observed in New
Mexico in the 1990’s.  The disease has spread throughout the
western United States, causing dieback and mortality in black
walnut trees.  In July, 2010, the disease was also confirmed in
the Knoxville, Tennessee area.  The Tennessee infestation is

the first confirmed infestation east of the Mississippi River,
the native range of the black walnut tree.

(3)  Thousand cankers disease is currently known to exist
in the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada,
New Mexico, Oregon, Tennessee, Utah and Washington.  The
disease has not yet been found in Wisconsin.

(4)  Thousand cankers disease may be spread by the
movement of firewood, nursery stock, and unfinished or
untreated wood products.  It is important to restrict the import
of host materials from infested areas, to prevent the disease
from being introduced into Wisconsin.  The disease, if
introduced into Wisconsin, could cause great damage to
Wisconsin’s economically−important and environmentally
important walnut forest resource.

(5)   It is important to restrict the import of host materials
from infested areas as soon as possible.  Without this
emergency rule, host materials may be imported into
Wisconsin from infested areas without adequate safeguards to
prevent the introduction of thousand cankers disease into this
state.

(6)  It would take over a year to adopt the necessary import
restrictions by the normal rulemaking procedure prescribed in
ch. 227, Stats.  DATCP is therefore adopting this temporary
emergency rule under s. 227.24, Stats., pending the adoption
of a more “permanent” rule by the normal rulemaking
procedures.  This temporary emergency rule is necessary to
protect the public peace, health, safety and welfare, and to
help prevent the introduction of a serious plant disease in this
state, pending the adoption of a “permanent” rule by the
normal procedure.

Publication Date: November 1, 2010

Effective Dates: November 1, 2010 through
March 30, 2011

2. EmR1040 — Rule adopted to create Chapter ATCP 53,
relating to agricultural enterprise areas.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
Under s. 91.84(2), the department may use the procedure

under s. 227.24 to promulgate a rule designating an
agricultural preservation area or modifying or terminating the
designation of an agricultural preservation area.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24(1)(c) and (2), a rule promulgated
under that subsection remains in effect until the department
modifies or repeals the rule.  Notwithstanding s. 227.24(1)(a)
and (3), the department is not required to determine that
promulgating a rule under that subsection as an emergency
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a
finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under that
subsection.

The department views s. 91.84(2) as authority to adopt
permanent rules that shall be published immediately in the
Wisconsin Administrative Code.

Publication Date: November 9, 2010

Effective Dates: January 1, 2011 until the 
Department modifies or 
repeals the rule
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3. EmR1048 — Rule adopted to repeal and recreate
Chapter ATCP 20, relating to seed labeling and sales.

Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to sections 93.07(1) and 94.45(6), Stats.  This

emergency rule is also adopted pursuant to the nonstatutory
provision in 2009 Wis. Act 28, section 9103(3).

2009 Wis. Act 28 repealed outdated seed standards
effective January 1, 2011, and authorized DATCP to adopt
new standards by rule.  A non−statutory provision, contained
in section 9103(3) of Act 28, authorized DATCP to adopt
interim rules by the emergency rulemaking procedure under
s. 227.24, Stats., without a finding of emergency.  Under this
non−statutory provision, the interim rules may remain in
effect until July 1, 2011 or until the effective date of proposed
“permanent” seed rules, whichever date is earlier.

Publication Date: January 1, 2011

Effective Dates: January 1, 2011 through
July 1, 2011

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board

EmR1047 — Rule adopted to revise Chapters BC 9 and 11,
relating to late renewal and continuing education.

Finding of Emergency
The rule as currently promulgated fails to adequately

protect the public to the extent that several provisions are
underdeveloped, ambiguous or silent.  As a result,
inconsistent interpretations and contradictory information
has led to significant confusion within the profession.  Given
that the rules require licensees to comply by March 31, 2011,
the errors and omissions need to be addressed immediately so
licensees can receive adequate training to provide safe and
competent services to the public, and comply with the
requirements for renewal of a license.

Publication Date: December 23, 2010

Effective Dates: December 23, 2010 through
May 21, 2011

Children and Families (2)
Safety and Permanence, Chs. DCF 37−59

1. EmR1034 — Rule adopted to create sections DCF
57.485 and 57.49 (1) (am), relating to determination of need
for new group homes.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 14m (b) of 2009 Wisconsin Act 335 provides that

the department is not required to provide evidence that
promulgating a rule under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency.

Section 14m (b) also provides that notwithstanding s.
227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats., an emergency rule promulgated
under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., remains in effect until the
permanent rules promulgated under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., take
effect.

Publication Date: September 2, 2010
Effective Dates: September 2, 2010 through

the date permanent rules
become effective

Hearing Dates: October 21, 2010

2. EmR1050 — Rule adopted to repeal Chapter DCF 38
and revise Chapter DCF 56, relating to foster care.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Children and Families finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

In the Child and Family Services Review of Wisconsin’s
child welfare system this past year, the federal Administration
for Children and Families found that Wisconsin is not
operating in substantial conformity with a number of federal
requirements.  In response to this review, the department has
submitted a program improvement plan that commits the
department to complete implementation of the levels of care
system and the child assessment tool throughout the first
quarter of 2011.  Implementation must begin immediately to
meet this deadline and subsequent dependent deadlines in the
remaining 2 years of the program improvement plan.

Publication Date: January 1, 2011
Effective Dates: January 1, 2011 through

May 30, 2011
Hearing Dates: February 8 & 15, 2011

(See the Notice in this Register)

Commerce (4)
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104—

1. EmR1019 —Rule adopted to create Chapter Comm
135, relating to tax credits for investments in food processing
plants and food warehouses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of public welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows.  Under
sections 71.07 (3rm), 71.28 (3rm) and 71.47 (3rm) of the
Statutes, as created in 2009 Wisconsin Act 295, a taxpayer
may claim a tax credit for investments in food processing
plants and food warehouses during taxable years beginning
after December 31, 2009.

Section 560.2056 (4)  of the Statutes, as likewise created in
2009 Wisconsin Act 295, requires the Department to (1)
implement a program for certifying taxpayers as eligible for
the food processing plant and food warehouse investment
credit, (2) determine the amount of credits to allocate to those
taxpayers, and (3) in consultation with the Department of
Revenue, promulgate rules to administer the program.  No
other provisions are established in the Statutes regarding the
specific process for taxpayers to use in applying for the
credits, and for the Department of Commerce to use in
certifying eligible taxpayers and in allocating the credits.

Because of enactment of 2009 Wisconsin Act 295, a number
of entities that may be eligible for the tax credits have contacted
the Department with inquiries concerning the process for
applying for the credits, for expenditures that have been or will
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be incurred during taxable years that began after December 31,
2009.  In addition, section 71.07 (3rm) of the Statutes includes
a $1,000,000 tax−credit allocation that became available on
May 27, 2010, and expires on June 30, 2010.

Although the Department of Commerce has begun
promulgating the permanent rule that is required by 2009 Act
295, the time periods in chapter 227 of the Statutes for
promulgating permanent rules preclude the permanent rule
from becoming effective in time to accommodate allocating
the tax credits for the 2009−10 fiscal year.  This emergency
rule will enable the Department of Commerce to establish an
application, certification, and tax credit allocation process for
the entities that will be eligible for the allocation that expires
on June 30, 2010. 

Publication Date: June 8, 2010

Effective Dates: June 8, 2010 through
November 4, 2010

Extension Through: March 11, 2011

Hearing Dates: August 17, 2010

2. EmR1026 — Rule adopted creating Chapter Comm
139, relating to rural outsourcing grants.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by Section 45 (1) (b) of 2009 Wisconsin

Act 265, exempts the Department from providing evidence
that this emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare; and exempts the
Department from providing a finding of emergency for the
adoption of this rule.

Publication Date: July 2, 2010

Effective Dates: July 2, 2010 through
November 28, 2010

Extension Through: January 27, 2011

Hearing Dates: October 13, 2010

3. EmR1041 — Rule adopted creating Chapter Comm
103, relating to certification of disabled−veteran−owned
businesses, and affecting small businesses.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by SECTION 101 (1) in 2009 Wisconsin

Act 299, exempts the Department from providing evidence
that this emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare; and exempts the
Department from providing a finding of emergency for the
adoption of this rule.

Publication Date: November 14, 2010

Effective Dates: November 15, 2010 through
April 13, 2011

4. EmR1044 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter Comm
139, relating to rural outsourcing grants.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by SECTION 45 (1) (b) of 2009

Wisconsin Act 265, exempts the Department from providing
evidence that this emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety or welfare; and
exempts the Department from providing a finding of
emergency for the adoption of this rule.

Publication Date: November 28, 2010
Effective Dates: November 28, 2010 through

April 26, 2011

Government Accountability Board (3)

1. EmR1016 — Rule adopted to create section GAB 1.91,
relating to organizations making independent disbursements.

Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., the Government

Accountability Board finds an emergency exists as a result of
the United States Supreme Court decision Citizens United v.
FEC, 558 U.S. ___, (No. 08−205)(January 21, 2010).  Within
the context of ch. 11, Stats, the rule provides direction to
organizations receiving contributions for independent
disbursements or making independent disbursements.
Comporting with Citizens United, this emergency rule order
does not treat persons making independent disbursements as
full political action committees or individuals under s. 11.05,
Stats., for the purposes of registration and reporting.  With
respect to contributions or in−kind contributions received,
this emergency rule order requires organizations to disclose
only donations “made for” political purposes, but not
donations received for other purposes.

The Board adopts the legislature’s policy findings of s.
11.001, Stats., emphasizing that one of the most important
sources of information to voters about candidates is available
through the campaign finance reporting system.  The Board
further finds that it is necessary to codify registration,
reporting and disclaimer requirements for organizations
receiving contributions for independent disbursements or
making independent disbursements so that the campaign
finance information is available to voters.  The rule must be
adopted immediately to ensure the public peace and welfare
with respect to the administration of current and future
elections.

Publication Date: May 20, 2010
Effective Dates: May 20, 2010 through

October 16, 2010
Extension Through: February 13, 2011
Hearing Dates: August 30, 2010

2. EmR1035 — Rule adopted to repeal and recreate
Chapter GAB 4, relating to observers at a polling place or
other location where votes are being cast, counted or
recounted.

Finding of Emergency
The Government Accountability Board repeals and

recreates chapter GAB 4, Election observers, to establish
guidelines for election inspectors and observers alike
regarding observation by “any member of the public” of the
public aspects of the voting process and regarding the conduct
of observers at polling places and other locations where
observation of the public aspects of the voting process may
take place.  The Board finds that an emergency exists and that
an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

Pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., the Government
Accountability Board finds that an emergency exists in the
Board’s May 5, 2008 decision to decline to reaffirm the
administrative rule ElBd 4.01 because the rule was
inconsistent with the requirements of its enabling statute, s.
7.41, Stats.  The statute states that any member of the public
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is allowed to be present at the polls on Election Day to
observe; however, it does not specify standards of conduct by
which observers must abide.

The Board further finds that given the public interest in the
2010 General Election, the expected high turnout, the
increasing use of observers in the polling place, and the
comments of municipal and county clerks regarding the
obstacles observers can pose to the orderly conduct of
elections, it is necessary to codify standards to regulate the
observers’ conduct and that the attached rule governing
observer conduct must be adopted prior to the General
Election to ensure the public peace and safety with respect to
the administration of the fall elections.

Publication Date: September 24, 2010

Effective Dates: September 24, 2010 through
February 20, 2011

Hearing Dates: December 13, 2010

3. EmR1049 — Rule adopted to amend section GAB 1.28,
relating to the definition of the term “political purpose.”

Finding of Emergency
The Government Accountability Board amends s. GAB

1.28(3)(b), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the definition of the
term “political purpose.”  Section GAB 1.28 as a whole
continues to clarify the definition of “political purposes”
found in s. 11.01(16)(a)1., Stats., but repeals the second
sentence of s. GAB 1.28(3)(b) which prescribes
communications presumptively susceptible of no reasonable
interpretation other than as an appeal to vote for or against a
specific candidate.

This amendment to s. GAB 1.28(3)(b) is to the rule that was
published on July 31, 2010 and effective on August 1, 2010,
following a lengthy two year period of drafting, internal
review and study, public comment, Legislative review, and
consideration of U.S. Supreme Court decisions.  Within the
context of ch. 11, Stats, s. GAB 1.28 provides direction to
persons intending to engage in activities for political purposes
with respect to triggering registering and reporting
obligations under campaign financing statutes and
regulations.  In addition, the rule provides more information
for the public so that it may have a more complete
understanding as to who is supporting or opposing which
candidate or cause and to what extent, whether directly or
indirectly.

Pursuant to §227.24, Stats., the Government
Accountability Board finds an emergency exists as a result of
pending litigation against the Board and two decisions by the
United States Supreme Court:  Federal Election Commission
(FEC) v. Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc. (WRTL II), 550 U.S. 549
(2007) and Citizens United v. FEC, 558 U.S. ___, (No.
08−205)(January 21, 2010).  Following the effective date of
the August 1, 2010 rule, three lawsuits were filed seeking a
declaration that the rule was unconstitutional and beyond the
Board’s statutory authority: one in the U.S. District Court for
the Western District of Wisconsin, one in the U.S. District
Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin, and one in the
Wisconsin Supreme Court.  On August 13, 2010, the
Wisconsin Supreme Court temporarily enjoined enforcement
of the August 1, 2010 rule, pending further order by the Court.

In the lawsuit in the U.S. District Court for the Western
District of Wisconsin, the parties previously executed a joint
stipulation asking the Court to permanently enjoin application
and enforcement of the second sentence of s. GAB 1.28(3)(b).
On October 13, 2010, the Court issued an Opinion and Order

denying that injunction request.  In denying the injunction, the
Court noted that “G.A.B. has within its own power the ability
to refrain from enforcing, or removing altogether, the
offending sentence from a regulation G.A.B. itself created”
and emphasized that “removing the language—for example,
by G.A.B. issuing an emergency rule—would be far more
‘simple and expeditious’ than asking a federal court to
permanently enjoin enforcement of the offending regulation.”
Wisconsin Club for Growth, Inc. v. Myse, No. 10−CV−427,
slip op. at 2 (W.D. Wis. Oct. 13, 2010).  The Court further
noted that staying the case would give the Board time to
resolve some or all of the pending issues through further
rulemaking.  Id., slip op. at 14.

In addition, the Board, through its litigation counsel, has
represented to the Wisconsin Supreme Court that it does not
intend to defend the validity of the second sentence of s. GAB
1.28(3)(b) and that it would stipulate to the entry of an order
by that Court permanently enjoining the application or
enforcement of that sentence.

This amendment brings s. GAB 1.28(3)(b) into conformity
with the above stipulation, with the representations that have
been made to the Wisconsin Supreme Court, and with the
suggestions made in the October 13, 2010, Opinion and Order
of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of
Wisconsin.  The Board finds that the immediate adoption of
this amendment will preserve the public peace and welfare by
providing a simple and expeditious clarification of the
meaning of s. GAB 1.28 for litigants, for the regulated
community, and for the general public and by doing so in
advance of the 2011 Spring Election and any other future
elections.

Publication Date: January 7, 2011
Effective Dates: January 7, 2011 through

June 5, 2011

Insurance (2)

1. EmR1042 — Rule to create section Ins 3.35, relating to
colorectal cancer screening coverage and affecting small
business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Beginning December 1, insurers offering disability
insurance policies and self−insured governmental plans are
required to offer coverage for colorectal cancer screening.  In
order to ensure there is no gap in coverage the office needs to
promulgate guidance as directed s. 632.895 (16m) (d), Stats.,
in advance of the initial implementation date.

Publication Date: November 29, 2010
Effective Dates: November 29, 2010 through

April 27, 2011
Hearing Dates: January 25, 2011

(See the Notice in this Register)

2. EmR1043 — Rule to amend sections Ins 3.37 (1) to (5)
(intro);  and to create sections Ins 3.37 (2m), (3m), (4m) and
(5m), and 3.375, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to health
insurance coverage of nervous and mental disorders and
substance use disorders, and affecting small business.
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Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by s. 632.89 (4) (b) 2., Stats., provides an

exemption from a finding of emergency for adoption of the
rule.  Section 632.89 (4) (b) 2., Stats., reads as follows:

s. 632.89 (4) (b) 2.  Using the procedure under s. 227.24,
the commissioner may promulgate the rules under subd. 1.,
for the period before the effective date of any permanent rules
promulgated under subd.1., but not to exceed the period
authorized under 227.24 (1) (c) and (2).  Notwithstanding s.
227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3), the commissioner is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating a rule under
this subdivision as an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and
is not required to make a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated under this subdivision.

Publication Date: November 29, 2010
Effective Dates: November 29, 2010 through

April 27, 2011
Hearing Dates: January 25, 2011

(See the Notice in this Register)

Military Affairs
EmR1030 — Rule adopted to create Chapter DMA 1,

relating to military family financial aid.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, section 9136, a Finding of

Emergency is not required for this emergency rule. The
relevant portion of 2009 Act 28 reads as follows:

2009 Wisconsin Act 28, Section 9136. Nonstatutory
provisions; Military Affairs.

(2c) EMERGENCY RULE; MILITARY FAMILY
FINANCIAL AID.  Using the procedure under section 227.24
of the statutes, the department of military affairs shall
promulgate the rules described under section 321.45 (2) of the
statutes, as created by this act, for the period before the
permanent rules become effective, but not to exceed the
period authorized under section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the
statutes.  Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and
(3) of the statutes, the department of military affairs is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating a rule
under this subsection as an emergency rule is necessary
for the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare and is not required to provide a finding of
emergency for the rules promulgated under this
subsection. [Emphasis added]

Publication Date: July 26, 2010
Effective Dates: July 26, 2010 through

December 22, 2010
Hearing Dates: October 13, 2010

Natural Resources (5)
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

1. EmR1028 — Rule adopted to amend section NR 10.104
(7) (a), relating to the use of archery deer hunting licenses.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  Deer populations are well below goal in
much of northeast Wisconsin, causing great concern from

hunters and others who value deer.  This rule is one of the ways
the department is trying to rebuild the populations there.  The
federal government and state legislature have delegated to the
appropriate agencies rule−making authority to control and
regulate hunting wild animals.  The State of Wisconsin must
provide publications describing the regulations for deer
hunting to approximately 250,000 archery deer hunters prior
to the start of the season.  These regulations must be legally
in effect prior to printing nearly 1 million copies of the
regulations publication.  The timeline for the permanent
version of this rule will not have it in effect in time for these
deadlines.

Publication Date: July 8, 2010
Effective Dates: July 8, 2010 through

December 4, 2010
Hearing Dates: August 30, 2010

2. EmR1036 — Rule adopted to create section NR 40.04 (2)
(g) relating to the identification, classification and control of
invasive species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: September 29, 2010
Effective Dates: September 29, 2010

through: See bold text above
Hearing Dates: October 25 to 29, 2010

3. EmR1037 — Rule adopted to create section NR 27.03 (3)
(a) relating to adding cave bats to Wisconsin’s threatened
species list.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Wis.

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The proposed rule change seeks to provide
protection to Wisconsin cave bat species, which face the
imminent threat of white−nose syndrome.  White−nose
syndrome has spread across 14 states and 2 Canadian
provinces in the last 3 years, spreading up to 800 miles per
year.  Mortality rates of affected bat colonies reach 100%. The
disease was located last spring within 225 miles of the
Wisconsin’s southern boarder and 300 miles from the
northern boarder.  Because the known dispersal distance of the
little brown bat is 280 miles, an affected cave is now located
within the dispersal range of Wisconsin little brown bats.
Listing the cave bat species before white−nose syndrome has
been detected in Wisconsin will allow the Department time to
work collaboratively with stakeholders to ensure that
appropriate conservation measures are developed and in place
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when white−nose syndrome is first detected.  Because of the
speed of white−nose syndrome, the Department would not
have time to develop appropriate conservation measures if
normal rule−making procedures were used and listing was
delayed until after white−nose syndrome was detected in
Wisconsin. Based on the current location and known rate of
spread of the disease, we anticipate the presence of
white−nose syndrome in Wisconsin as early as January 2011.

Publication Date: September 29, 2010

Effective Dates: September 29, 2010 through
February 25, 2011

Hearing Dates: October 25 to 29, 2010

4. EmR1039 (DNR # IS−49−10(E)) — Rule adopted to
create sections NR 40.02 (7g), (7r), (25m), (28m) and
(46m), 40.04 (3m) and 40.07 (8) relating to the identification,
classification and control of invasive bat species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: November 3, 2010
Effective Dates: November 3, 2010 through

See bold text above

Hearing Dates: November 29, 2010

5. EmR1045 (DNR # IS−07−11(E))— Rule to repeal
section NR 40.02 (28m); to amend section NR 40.04 (3m),
and to repeal and recreate section NR 40.07 (8), (all as
created by Natural Resource Board emergency order
EmR1039, DNR # IS−49−10(E)), relating to the
identification, classification and control of invasive species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,

the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: December 13, 2010

Effective Dates: December 13, 2010 through
See bold text above

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control,

Chs. NR 400—

EmR1046 (DNR # AM−48−10(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an emergency order to
amend section NR 407.02 (4) (b) (intro.), and Table 3 in
407.05 (5) and to create sections NR 400.02 (74m), 400.03
(3) (om), and (4) (go) and (ki), 405.02 (28m), 405.07 (9),
407.02 (8m) and 407.075, relating to major source permitting
thresholds for sources of greenhouse gas emissions and
affecting small business.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  Preservation of the public welfare
necessitates putting the forgoing rules into effect prior to the
time that it would take if the Department complied with
normal procedures.

On April 1, 2010, the U.S. EPA promulgated the first
emission standard for gases contributing to climate change,
i.e., greenhouse gases or GHG, which will become effective
on January 2, 2011.  While these standards target automobile
emissions, under the Clean Air Act, this action will
unintentionally subject stationary sources across the country
to complex prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) and
Title V permitting and emission control requirements. U.S.
EPA attempted to mitigate this unintended effect by
promulgating additional rules, which became effective on
June 3, 2010, limiting applicability of the permitting
requirements.  However, Wisconsin sources will not be
affected by the new U.S. EPA rules since existing state statute
and administrative code do not contain the same applicability
limiting provisions.  State rules consistent with those at the
federal level must be in effect on January 2, 2011 in order to
provide the relief U.S. EPA intended for Wisconsin sources.
Without these proposed emergency rules, many sources,
including municipal landfills, hospitals, asphalt plants,
wastewater treatment plants, small wood fired boilers and
agricultural digesters, will be considered major emissions
sources of GHG, and therefore subject to the permit and
emission control requirements for GHG.  These permit and
control requirements were never intended or designed to
address the type or size of sources that could now be affected.
Without the proposed changes, the existing rules would have
the potential to overwhelm DNR permitting staff, divert
resources away from significant environmental issues, and
delay issuance of construction permits for critical projects for
expanding businesses.

Therefore, the Department finds that the proposed
emergency rules are necessary and appropriate for the
preservation of the public welfare.

Publication Date: December 15, 2010

Effective Dates: December 15, 2010 through
                                                May 15, 2011

Hearing Dates: January 21, 2011
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Public Instruction
EmR1051 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PI 46,

relating to training requirements for individuals
administering nonprescription and prescription drug products
to pupils.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

Section 118.29 (6), Stats., requires the department to
approve training in administering nonprescription drug
products and prescription drugs.  The statute also specifies
that no school bus driver, employee, or volunteer may
administer a nonprescription drug product or prescription
drug, use an epinephrine auto−injector, or administer
glucagon unless he or she has received such training.  Because
the statutory requirement becomes effective March 1, 2011,
administrative rules must be in place as soon as possible so
that training programs can be established prior to the effective
date of the statutes.

Publication Date: December 28, 2010
Effective Dates: December 28, 2010 through

May 26, 2011

Regulation and Licensing (4)

1. EmR0827 — Rule adopted creating section RL 91.01 (3)
(k), relating to training and proficiency in the use of
automated external defibrillators for certification as a
massage therapist or bodyworker.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Dates: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Dates: November 26, 2008
April 13, 2009

2. EmR0828 — Rules adopted to amend section RL 181.01
(2) (c); and to create sections RL 180.02 (1m), (3m) and (11),
181.01 (1) (d), (2) (c) 1. and 2., relating to training and
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators for
licensure as a licensed midwife.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence

that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Dates: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Dates: November 26, 2008

3. EmR1031 — Rule adopted revising Chapters RL 110 to
116, relating to the regulation of professional boxing contests.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Department of Regulation and Licensing, pursuant to

2009 Wisconsin Act 111, is not required to provide evidence
that an emergency exists nor provide evidence that
promulgating a rule is necessary for the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety, or welfare.

Publication Date: August 25, 2010
Effective Dates: September 1, 2010 through

January 28, 2011
Hearing Dates: September 20, 2010

4. EmR1032 — Rule adopted creating Chapters RL 192 to
196, relating to the regulation of mixed martial arts sporting
events.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Department of Regulation and Licensing, pursuant to

2009 Wisconsin Act 111, is not required to provide evidence
that an emergency exists nor provide evidence that
promulgating a rule is necessary for the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety, or welfare.

Publication Date: August 26, 2010
Effective Dates: September 1, 2010 through

January 28, 2011
Hearing Dates: September 20, 2010

Technical College System Board
EmR1025 — Rule adopted to amend Chapter TCS 17,

relating to training program grant funds.

Finding of Emergency
The Wisconsin Technical College System Board finds that

an emergency exists and that an emergency rule is necessary
for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting an
emergency is:

In May 2010, the Wisconsin C.O.R.E. Jobs Act provided
an additional $1 million GPR for the training program grants
authorized in Wis. Stats. §§ 20.292 (1) (eh) and 38.41.  These
funds were provided to address a critical need of Wisconsin
employers for skills training and education necessary to
protect the state’s economic vitality and health, with a special
emphasis on advanced manufacturing and welding.

The WTCS Board is required to award these funds by June
30, 2011, the end of the current 2009−11 biennium.  In
addition, s. TCS 17.06 (1), Wis. Adm. Code, requires that
district boards or employers receiving skills training or
education under the grant shall contribute matching funds,



Page 12 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 661 Mid−January 2011

other than in−kind matching funds, equal to at least 25% of
total approved project costs.

Due to the sustained decline in economic conditions and
reduction in business revenues, technical college districts
report that employers are withdrawing participation in
approved training grants because of an inability to fund the
25% match.  Therefore, to ensure that business and incumbent
workers in need of skills training and other education may
access these services and that appropriated funds are
distributed to technical college districts for this purpose

before the end of the fiscal year, emergency administrative
rules eliminating the 25% match requirement must be
established immediately.

Publication Date: July 2, 2010

Effective Dates: July 2, 2010 through
November 28, 2010

Extension Through: January 27, 2011
Hearing Dates: September 28, 2010
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Scope Statements

Chiropractic Examining Board

Subject
Creates administrative rules pursuant to 2009 Wisconsin

Act 28 and implemented under Chapter 446 of the Wisconsin
Statutes, relating to Chiropractic Radiological Technicians
and Chiropractic Technicians.

Objective of the Rule
2009 Wisconsin Act 28 has created new statutory

provisions in chapter 446 of the Wisconsin Statutes.  These
new statutory provisions include the establishment of
Chiropractic Radiological Technicians and Chiropractic
Technicians to be licensed and regulated by the Chiropractic
Examining Board.  The new statutory provisions also include
additions or amendments relating to:
� Continuing education;
� Examination(s);
� Examination fee to applicants for licensure that are

associated with the cost of developing and administering
an exam;

� Delegation of services to non−licensed persons as well as
Chiropractic Radiological Technicians and Chiropractic
Technicians;

� Evaluation standards and discontinuance of chiropractic
practice regarding patients;

� Waiver  of an insured patient’s copayments, coinsurance
or deductibles;

� Disciplinary action against a license or certificate holders;
� Unprofessional conduct standards by licensees and

certificate holders; and
� Penalties associated with disciplinary action against a

license or certificate holder.
The new statutory provisions will require the Chiropractic

Examining Board to amend or create administrative rules in
a host of areas such as its initial licensure registration and
renewal requirements, continuing education, examinations,
definitions, scope of practice, practice standards, and code of
conduct.  The promulgation of administrative rules pursuant
to chapter 446 of the Wisconsin Statutes is necessary to
implement the additional standards regarding the practice of
Chiropractic that have been created by 2009 Wisconsin Act
28.

Policy Analysis
None.

Statutory Authority
Sections 446.01; 446.02; 446.025, 446.026, 446.028;

446.03, 446.04, 446.05; 446.07, Wis. Statutes.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is

intended to address the activities to be regulated by this rule.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Chiropractors, Chiropractic Radiological Technicians, and

Chiropractic Technicians.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
240.  This estimate is based on the time spent by staff and

possibly an advisory committee to prepare documents,
coordinate public hearings, prepare fiscal estimates and
conduct other work related to the promulgation of the
administrative rules within the practice of Chiropractic.

Controlled Substances Board
Subject

Creates Chapter CSB 3 pursuant to section 961.335 (8), (9)
of the Wisconsin Statutes relating to the granting of special
use authorizations (SUA) including, but not limited to,
requirements for keeping and disclosure of records,
submissions of protocols, filing of applications, and
suspension or revocation of permits.
Objective of the Rule

The rules will further clarify what is required when
applying for a special use authorization, record keeping and
disclosure requirements and the criteria for suspension or
revocation of such authorization.
Policy Analysis

SUA holders frequently exceed the quantities of controlled
substances permitted by their SUA or use controlled
substances for which they do not have an SUA.  They do not
file amendments when they are deviating from what the
special use authorization allows.  The person to whom the
special use authorization is issued leaves the organization and
the organization continues to operate under the SUA even
though they have no authority to do so.  Currently, the Board
has no authority to take action when an SUA holder acts
contrary to the terms of the SUA.  The rules will help the
Controlled Substances Board more clearly delineate what is
required when applying for an SUA, what ongoing
responsibilities an SUA holder may have to keep and disclose
records, what responsibilities an SUA holder has to amend an
SUA, and what actions or lack of action on the part of an SUA
holder will result in suspension or revocation of the SUA.
Statutory Authority

Section 961.335 (8) of the Wisconsin Statutes.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal legislation that
relates to this issue.
Entities Affected by the Rule

The Controlled Substances Board may issue a permit
authorizing a person to manufacture, obtain, possess, use,
administer or dispense a controlled substance for the purposes
of scientific research, instructional activities, chemical
analysis or other special uses.  Individuals may be authorized
to receive the authorization on behalf of a college or
university department, research unit or similar administrative
organizational unit and students, laboratory technicians,
research specialists or chemical analysts under his or her
supervision.  All such individuals and entities will be affected
by these rules.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

120 hours.
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 11−001

(ATCP # 10−R−6)

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection announces that on December 29, 2010
it referred the following proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse, pursuant to s.
227.15, Stats.

Analysis

The proposed rules revise Chapter ATCP 21, relating to
Thousand Cankers Disease.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on January 26,
2011.  The department’s Agricultural Resource Management
Division is primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Information

If you have questions, you may contact Bob Dahl at (608)
224−4573.

Children and Families
Safety and Permanence, Chs. DCF 35—59

CR 10−148

On December 21, 2010, the Department of Children and
Families submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rules repeal Chapter DCF 38 and revise
Chapter DCF 56, relating to foster care.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be held on February
8, 2011, in Madison and February 15, 2011, in Milwaukee.
The organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of
the proposed rules is the Division of Safety and Permanence.

Contact Information
Elaine Pridgen
Telephone: (608) 267−9403
Email: elaine.pridgen@wisconsin.gov

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2
Gas Systems, Ch. Comm 40

CR 11−002

The Wisconsin Department of Commerce announces that
on January 3, 2011 it referred the following proposed rule to
the Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rules revise Chapters Comm 2 and 40,

relating to fuel gas systems and affecting small business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held February 8,
2011.  The Department’s Division of Safety and Buildings is
primarily responsible for promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information
Sam Rockweiler, Department of Commerce
Division of Environmental and Regulatory Services
P.O. Box 14427
Madison, WI 53708−0427
Phone: (608) 266−0797
Email: Sam.Rockweiler@wisconsin.gov

Insurance
CR 10−149

On December 20, 2010, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rules create section Ins 3.35, relating to

colorectal cancer screening coverage and affecting small
business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held January 25, 2011.  This will
serve as the public hearing for both the emergency rule that
was published November 29, 2010 and the permanent rule
attached.

Contact Information
A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web

site at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.  For
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additional information, please contact Julie E. Walsh at (608)
264−8101 or e−mail at julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov in the OCI
Legal Unit.

Insurance
CR 10−150

On December 20, 2010, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rules create section Ins 3.375, relating to
health insurance coverage of nervous and mental disorders
and substance use disorders and affecting small business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held January 27, 2011.  This will
serve as the public hearing for both the emergency rule that
was published November 29, 2010 and the permanent rule
attached.

Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web
site at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.  For
additional information, please contact Julie E. Walsh at (608)
264−8101 or e−mail at julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov in the OCI
Legal Unit.

Insurance
CR 10−151

On December 20, 2010, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rules revise Chapters Ins 2, 7, and 28,

relating to life settlements and affecting small business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held March 17, 2011.

Contact Information
A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the Web

site at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting Inger
Williams, Public Information and Communications, Office of
the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.  For
additional information, please contact James W. Harris at
(608) 267−2833 or e−mail at james.harris@wisconsin.gov in
the OCI Legal Unit.

Public Service Commission
CR 10−147

(PSC # 1−AC−234)

On December 16, 2010, the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin submitted a proposed rule to the Joint Legislative
Council Staff for review.

Analysis
The proposed rules revise Chapter PSC 118, relating to

renewable resource credits.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held on February 15, 2011, from
9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. at the Public Service Commission
building, 610 North Whitney Way, Madison, Wisconsin.  The
Gas and Energy Division of the Commission is the
organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of the
rule.

Contact Information
The contact person is Preston Schutt, Docket Coordinator,

(608) 266−1462.
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

CR 11−001
(ATCP # 10−R−6)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the state of Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(DATCP) announces that it will hold a public hearing on its
hearing draft rule revising section ATCP 21.21, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to thousand cankers disease of walnut.

Hearing Information
DATCP will hold one public hearing at the time and place

shown below.

Date and Time: Location:
January 26, 2011
Wednesday
1:00pm−3:00pm

Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection
Conference Room 266 (2nd flr)
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53718−6777

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
this hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by January 12, 2011, by writing to Stacy
VanWormer, Division of Agricultural Resource
Management, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911,
telephone (608) 224−4574.  Alternatively, you may contact
the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.  The hearing facility is
handicap accessible.

Copies of Proposed Rule
You may obtain a free copy of this hearing draft rule by

contacting the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource
Management, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708.  You can also obtain a copy by calling
(608) 224−4573 or emailing robert.dahl@wisconsin.gov.
Copies will also be available at the hearing.  To view the
hearing draft rule online, go to:
https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Home.

Submittal of Written Comments
DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing and

comment on the proposed rule.  Following the public
hearings, the hearing record will remain open until February
9, 2011 for additional written comments.  Comments may be
sent to the Division of Agricultural Resource Management at
the address below or to robert.dahl@wisconsin.gov or at
https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Home.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule restricts the import of certain plants, wood and
wood products to prevent the introduction of thousand
cankers disease of walnut trees (“thousand cankers disease”)
into this state.  This rule restricts the import of affected
materials from states and nations that are known to be infested
with thousand cankers disease (there are certain exemptions).

Statute(s) interpreted
Sections 93.06 (1p), 93.07 (12) and 94.01, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 93.06 (1p), 93.07 (1), 93.07 (12), 94.01 and

227.24, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
DATCP has broad general authority, under s. 93.07 (1),

Stats., to interpret laws under its jurisdiction.  DATCP also has
broad general authority, under ss. 93.07 (12) and 94.01, Stats.,
to adopt regulations to prevent and control plant pest
infestations.  DATCP is adopting this rule, under authority of
s. 227.24, Stats., pending the adoption of a more “permanent”
rule by the normal rulemaking process.

Related statute(s) or rule(s)
DATCP has adopted rules regulating a variety of plant

pests under ch. ATCP 21, Wis. Adm. Code.  This rule amends
ch. ATCP 21 by adding restrictions related to thousand
cankers disease.

Plain language analysis
Thousand cankers disease is an emerging fungal disease

that can be carried by the walnut twig beetle (the beetle is
native to this country).  The disease poses a serious threat to
black walnut trees, an important forest species in Wisconsin.
Black walnut is known for its highly valuable lumber, which
is used for finished products such as furniture, musical
instruments and gun stocks.  There are approximately 18.5
million black walnut trees in Wisconsin, with over 13% of
them located in the southwestern part of the state.  Wisconsin
businesses export over $4 million in black walnut products
annually.

Thousand cankers disease was first observed in New
Mexico in the 1990’s.  The disease has spread throughout the
western United States, causing dieback and mortality in black
walnut trees.  In July, 2010, the disease was also confirmed in
the Knoxville, Tennessee area.  The Tennessee infestation is
the first confirmed infestation east of the Mississippi River,
the native range of the black walnut tree.  The disease is
currently known to exist in the states of Arizona, California,
Colorado, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Tennessee,
Utah and Washington.

Thousand cankers disease has not yet been found in
Wisconsin.

Thousand cankers disease may be spread by the movement
of firewood, nursery stock, and unfinished or untreated wood
products.  Subject to certain exemptions, this  rule restricts the
movement of potential host materials into Wisconsin, if those
materials originated from or were exposed to the environment
in an area where thousand cankers disease is known to exist.

Rule content
Plant Pests; Import Prohibition
Under this rule, no person may knowingly import the

walnut twig beetle or the fungal pathogen Geosmithia
morbida sp. Nov into this state, except pursuant to a special
DATCP permit (for controlled scientific research or other
limited purposes that pose no significant disease risk).
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Host Materials; Import Prohibition
Under this rule, no person may import any of the following

host materials into this state from an infested nation, state or
area (as determined by the United States department of
agriculture):
� Firewood from any species of tree.

� Living or dead plants or plant parts of the genus Juglans
(walnuts).  This prohibition applies, for example, to
nursery stock, budwood, scionwood, green lumber, logs,
stumps, roots, branches, composted chips and
uncomposted chips.

Exemptions
The prohibition against the importation of host materials

does not apply to any of the following:
� Nuts, nut meats or nut hulls.

� Processed lumber, with square edges, which is 100%
bark−free and kiln−dried.

� Finished wood products without bark (for example,
finished furniture, musical instruments or gun stocks).

� Materials that are accompanied by a written certificate,
signed by a pest control official in the infested area, which
describes the materials and states at least one of the
following:
� The materials have not been exposed to thousand

cankers disease.  The certificate must explain the basis
for the official’s statement.

� The materials have been effectively treated to destroy
thousand cankers disease.  The certificate must specify
the date and method of treatment.

� The materials have been produced, processed, stored,
handled or used under conditions, described in the
certificate, which effectively preclude the
transmission of thousand cankers disease.

� Materials imported in compliance with a written
agreement between the importer and DATCP.  The
agreement must include all of the following:
� The name and address of the importer.
� The type and volume of material that may be imported

under the agreement.
� The locations from which the material may be

imported under the agreement.
� The names and addresses of the persons to whom, and

the locations to which, the material may be imported
under the agreement.

� The method by which the material may be imported.
� The time period covered by the agreement.
� The importer’s commitment to keep complete records

of each import shipment under the agreement, and to
submit those records to DATCP for inspection and
copying upon request.

� Specific import terms and conditions that will, in
DATCP’s opinion, effectively ensure that materials
imported pursuant to the agreement will not introduce
thousand cankers disease into this state.

� A provision authorizing DATCP to terminate the
agreement without prior notice, for any reason.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service of the
United States Department of Agriculture (APHIS) has not yet

issued any quarantine for thousand cankers disease.  APHIS
does not restrict imports from other nations, because the
walnut twig beetle is native to North America.  APHIS is
working with the U.S. Forest Service on strategies to limit the
spread of the disease.  Federal law does not prevent Wisconsin
from taking regulatory action to prevent thousand cankers
disease from spreading to this state.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Several states, including Indiana, Kansas, Missouri,

Michigan, Nebraska North Carolina and Oklahoma, have
adopted regulations to prevent the spread of thousand cankers
disease.  The recent disease finding in Tennessee − the first
finding in the black walnut’s native range east of the
Mississippi – has prompted many states (including Wisconsin
and some surrounding states) to consider import restrictions
to prevent the spread of the disease.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
This rule is based on generally−accepted plant disease

information from reliable sources, including APHIS and the
U.S. Forest Service.

Environmental Impact
This rule will have a positive impact on the environment,

by helping to prevent the spread of thousand cankers disease
into this state.  This rule will help protect Wisconsin’s
environmentally−important black walnut forest resource.

Effect on Small Business
This rule will benefit Wisconsin wood industries by

helping to preserve Wisconsin’s economically important
black walnut forest resource.  Black walnut is a highly
valuable tree, prized for the quality of its wood.  Black walnut
is used to make furniture and other important value−added
wood products.  There are approximately 18.5 million black
walnut trees in Wisconsin, with over 13% of them located in
the southwestern part of the state. Wisconsin businesses
export over $4 million in black walnut products annually.

This rule will not have a significant adverse impact on
businesses in this state.  This rule restricts the import of certain
untreated firewood and untreated black walnut wood products
from areas outside this state, but does not otherwise restrict
the distribution or sale of wood or wood products.  This rule
will restrict the activities of a small number of businesses in
this state, and offers ways for those businesses to minimize
any potential adverse impacts.

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator, Keeley Moll, at the address above, by emailing
to keeley.moll@wisconsin.gov or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Fiscal Estimate
This rule will not have a significant fiscal impact on state

government.  DATCP will incur some added inspection and
monitoring costs, but will minimize those costs by integrating
inspection activities under this rule with other plant pest
inspection and monitoring activities.  DATCP will absorb the
added costs with current budget and staff.  This rule will have
no fiscal effect on local governments.

Agency Contact Person
Bob Dahl at (608) 224−4573 or email at

robert.dahl@wisconsin.gov.
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Notice of Hearing

Children and Families
Safety and Permanence, Chs. DCF 35—59

CR 10−148, EmR1050

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to sections
48.62 (1) and (8), 48.67 (1) and (4), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.,
the Department of Children and Families proposes to hold 2
public hearings to consider emergency rules and proposed
permanent rules repealing Chapter DCF 38 and revising
Chapter DCF 56, relating to foster care.

Hearing Information

Date and Time: Location:
February 8, 2011
Tuesday
1:30pm

Madison
GEF 1 Building
Room D203
201 E. Washington Ave
Madison, WI 53718

Date and Time: Location:
February 15,
2011
Tuesday
1:30pm

Milwaukee
Bureau of Milwaukee Child
Welfare
6111 N. Teutonia Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53209

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions.  Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at a hearing, please call (608)
267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audio format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Submittal of Written
Comments

A copy of the proposed rules is available at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  This site allows you to view
documents associated with this rule’s promulgation, register
to receive email notification whenever the Department posts
new information about this rulemaking order, and submit
comments and view comments by others during the public
comment period.  You may receive a paper copy of the rule or
fiscal estimate by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel
Department of Children and Families
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53707
(608) 267−9403
dcfpublichearing@wisconsin.gov
Written comments on the proposed rules received at the

above address, email, or through the
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov web site no later than
February 17, 2011, will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Children and
Families

Statute(s) interpreted
Sections 48.62 and 48.67, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 48.62 (1) and (8), 48.67 (1) and (4), and 227.11 (2)

(a), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 48.62 (1), Stats., provides that any person who

receives, with or without transfer of legal custody, 4 or fewer
children or, if necessary to enable a sibling group to remain
together, 6 or fewer children or, if the department promulgates
rules permitting a different number of children, the number of
children permitted under those rules, to provide care and
maintenance for those children shall obtain a license to
operate a foster home from the department, a county
department or a licensed child welfare agency as provided in
s. 48.75, Stats.

Section 48.62 (8), Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act
28 and affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act 71, provides that the
department shall promulgate rules relating to foster homes as
follows:
� Rules providing levels of care that a licensed foster home

is certified to provide.  Those levels of care shall be based
on the level of knowledge, skill, training, experience, and
other qualifications that are required of the licensee, the
level of responsibilities that are expected of the licensee,
the needs of the children who are placed with the licensee,
and any other requirements relating to the ability of the
licensee to provide for those needs that the department
may promulgate by rule.

� Rules establishing a standardized assessment tool to
assess the needs of a child placed or to be placed outside
the home, to determine the level of care that is required to
meet those needs, and to place the child in a placement that
meets those needs.  A foster home that is certified to
provide a given level of care may provide foster care for
any child whose needs are assessed to be at or below the
level of care that the foster home is certified to provide.
A foster home that is certified to provide a given level of
care may not provide foster care for any child whose needs
are assessed to be above that level of care unless the
department, county department, or child welfare agency
issuing the foster home license determines that support or
services sufficient to meet the child’s needs are in place
and grants an exception to that prohibition.

� Rules providing monthly rates of reimbursement for
foster care that are commensurate with the level of care
that the foster home is certified to provide and the needs
of the child who is placed in the foster home.  Those rates
shall include rates for supplemental payments for special
needs, exceptional circumstances, and initial clothing
allowances for children placed in a foster home that is
receiving an age−related monthly rate under s. 48.62 (4),
Stats.  In promulgating the rules, the department shall
provide a mechanism for equalizing the amount of
reimbursement received by a foster parent prior to the
promulgation of those rules and the amount of
reimbursement received by a foster parent under those
rules so as to reduce the amount of any reimbursement that
may be lost as a result of the implementation of those
rules.
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� Rules providing a monthly retainer fee for a foster home
that agrees to maintain openings for emergency
placements.

Section 48.67 (1), Stats., provides that the department shall
promulgate rules establishing minimum requirements for the
issuance of licenses to, and establishing standards for the
operation of, child welfare agencies, day care centers, foster
homes, treatment foster homes, group homes, shelter care
facilities, and county departments.  Those rules shall be
designed to protect and promote the health, safety, and
welfare of the children in the care of all licensees.

Section 48.67 (4), Stats., requires that all foster parents
successfully complete training in the care and support needs
of children who are placed in foster care that has been
approved by the department.  The training shall be completed
on an ongoing basis, as determined by the department.  The
department shall promulgate rules prescribing the training
that is required under this subsection and shall monitor
compliance with this subsection according to those rules.

Related statute(s) or rule(s)

Chapter 48, Stats.; DCF 37 and 54.

Summary of proposed rule

Section 48.62 (8) (a), Stats., directs the department to
create rules providing levels of care for foster homes.  The
purpose of levels of care is to improve the placement stability,
safety, and permanence of children placed in foster homes by
matching their assessed needs with the skills, abilities, and
capacities of caregivers.

Levels of Care

The Department has implemented the rules on levels of
care in two phases.  The first level of care rule was effective
January 1, 2010, and created a process to certify foster homes
at Level 1 or 2 and created training requirements for foster
parents who operate foster homes with a Level 1 or 2
certification.  A Level 1 foster home is available only to foster
parents with a child−specific license.  The creation of Level
1 foster homes coincided with implementation of the statutory
requirement that relative caregivers of a child placed in the
caregiver’s home under court order who received kinship care
payments under DCF 58 apply for and obtain a foster care
license if they are licensable.  A Level 2 foster home is a basic
foster home.

This rule creates a process to certify foster homes at Level
3 to 5.  DCF 38, Treatment Foster Care for Children, is
repealed and most of the requirements in DCF 38 are
integrated into DCF 56, Foster Home Care for Children, to
create a single foster care rule with progressive requirements
for all foster parents and agencies.  Requirements from DCF
38 that have been integrated into DCF 56 with minor
modifications include requirements regarding the
characteristics and responsibilities of foster parents, physical
environment of foster homes, care of foster children,
responsibilities of supervising and licensing agencies, and
responsibilities of the treatment team.

Treatment Foster Parent Requirements under DCF 38.
Under DCF 38, a treatment foster parent had to have the
following qualifications:

� Experience: An applicant had to meet at least 2 criteria
from a list of 5 types of education, skills, abilities, and
work or personal experience with children.

� Training:

� 18 hours of pre−placement training.
� 24 hours of training in the second 12−month period

following licensure.
� 18 hours of ongoing training in every subsequent

12−month period.

� Three favorable references.

Level 3 Moderate Treatment Foster Homes.  For new Level
3 foster homes, a foster parent must have the following
qualifications:

� Experience: An applicant must meet at least 3 criteria
from a list of 7 types of education, skills, abilities, and
work or personal experience with children.

� Training:
� 36 hours of pre−placement training.
� 24 hours of training during the initial licensing period,

which is generally 2 years.
� 18 hours of ongoing training in each 12−month period

subsequent to initial licensing period.

� Four favorable references.

The rule provides that a licensing agency shall issue a
modified license with a certification to operate a Level 3
foster home without determining the eligibility of the foster
parent if on December 31, 2010, the foster parent had a license
to operate a treatment foster home under ch. DCF 38.

Level 4  Specialized Treatment Foster Homes.  For new
Level 4 foster homes, a foster parent must have the following
qualifications:

� Experience: An applicant must meet at least 4 criteria
from a list of 7 types of education, skills, abilities, and
work or personal experience with children.

� Training:
� 40 hours of pre−placement training.
� 30 hours of training during the initial licensing period,

which is generally 2 years.
� 24 hours of ongoing training in each 12−month period

subsequent to initial licensing period.

� Four favorable references.

The rule provides that no licensing agency may issue a
certification to operate a Level 4 foster home without first
determining the eligibility of the foster parent under the new
Level 4 requirements.

Level 5 Exceptional Treatment Foster Homes.
Certification to operate a Level 5 foster home is available only
when an exception is granted by the department exceptions
panel.  An applicant for certification to operate a Level 5
foster home, in conjunction with a licensing agency, may
apply for Level 5 certification if the following conditions are
met:

� A placement is needed for a child with the following
conditions:
� The child has behaviors or conditions that require a

high degree of supervision and overnight awake care
that is provided by program staff who rotate shifts
within a 24−hour period.

� The child will benefit from a home−like environment
that has fewer children than a group home or
residential care center for children and youth.

� The child is expected to need long−term care or has
needs agreed to by the department.



Page 20 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 661 Mid−January 2011

�All other community placement options have been
investigated and determined to be unavailable or not in the
best interest of the child.

A Level 5 foster home must have a program manager who
is the foster parent and licensee of the foster home.  An
applicant for a program manager position must have specified
education or experience and must complete 40 hours of
pre−placement training, 30 hours of initial licensing training,
and 24 hours of ongoing training in each 12−month period
subsequent to the initial licensing period.

A Level 5 foster home must have program staff who are
responsible for daily supervision of the children and direct
care to the children to ensure their safety and well−being.  The
minimum staff ratios for program staff are one program staff
person for every 2 children during waking hours and one
program staff person for every 4 children during sleeping
hours.  An applicant for a program staff position must have
specified education and experience and have a background
check, favorable references, and, if hired, a health exam.
Before working independently with a child, program staff
must complete 40 hours of pre−placement training and work
with qualified experienced program staff or similar
professionals for at least the first 80 hours of employment
Program staff must also complete 24 hours of ongoing
training in each year of employment subsequent to the initial
year of employment.

The department exceptions panel has been granting
exceptions to operate shift−staffed treatment foster homes
under DCFS Memo Series 2006−15.  Licensing agencies will
issue a modified license with a certification to operate a Level
5 foster home to a foster parent who, on December 31, 2010,
had been granted an exception to operate a shift−staffed
treatment foster home by the department exceptions panel.

Assessment of Needs and Strengths

Section 48.62 (8) (b), Stats., directs the department to
create rules establishing a standardized assessment tool to
assess the needs of a child placed or to be placed outside the
home, to determine the level of care that is required to meet
those needs, and to place the child in a placement that meets
those needs.

The standardized assessment tool prescribed by the
department is the Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths
(CANS) tool authored by Dr. John Lyons and the Praed
Foundation and customized for use in Wisconsin by the
department and the author.  There is substantial research
demonstrating the reliability and validity of the CANS tool.
It is used statewide in 15 other states and is used in parts of 22
additional states.

The rule provides that a placing agency shall assess each
foster child before placement in a foster home or within 30
days after the child’s placement.  A placing agency shall
assess each foster parent in relation to the child placed within
30 days after the child’s placement in the foster home.  A
placing agency shall reassess each foster child and the child’s
foster parent within 6 months after the child’s last assessment
or reassessment.  The placing agency, licensing agency, or
foster parent may request a reassessment more frequently.
The person who will administer the tool will first review the
child’s case record; interview or collect information from an
individual who has interviewed the child, child’s family,
foster parent or other out−of−home care provider, and the
child’s team or treatment team; and review information
gathered in collaboration with the child’s team or treatment

team.  The person administering the standardized assessment
tool will rate the child’s needs and strengths relative to what
is developmentally appropriate for a child of a similar age and
the foster parent’s needs in relation to that child to determine
how to support the placement stability of the child with that
foster parent.

The placing agency will use information from the
assessment of a child, child’s family, and the foster parent of
the child for all of the following:
� To communicate information about the needs and

strengths of the child and child’s family.

� To assist with determining the child’s service needs and
developing the child’s plan of care.

� To determine a level of need of 1/2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 for the
child.

� To inform decisions regarding a placement at a level of
care that is appropriate to meet the child’s level of need.

� To evaluate the match between the knowledge, skills, and
abilities of a foster parent and the needs and strengths of
a child.

� To assist in the development of services and supports
needed for a specific child and foster parent to promote the
stability of the placement.

� To provide a mental health screen to all children entering
foster care.

� To determine any supplemental payments for a child’s
special needs.

A placing agency, in accordance with a licensing agency,
may place a child in a foster home that is certified to provide
a given level of care if the child’s level of need is at or below
the level of care that the foster home is certified to provide.
A placing agency may place a child with a level of need that
is higher than the level of care that a foster home is certified
to provide if the placing agency grants an exception and
documents in the child’s electronic case record what services
and supports will be provided to meet the child’s needs.  A
child whose level of need is lower than 5 may not be placed
in a Level 5 foster home, except for continuation of an existing
placement during planning for the child’s transition to a less
restrictive setting following a reassessment.

Supplemental Payments, Exceptional Payments, and
Retainer Fee

Supplemental Payments.  A placing agency shall make
supplemental payments for a child’s special needs to a foster
parent who operates a foster home with a Level 2 to 5
certification.  The placing agency shall determine the amount
of a supplemental payment based on the total of all of the
following:
� ‘Identified needs and strengths.’ A dollar amount

determined by the department multiplied by the total
points that the placing agency rates a child to determine
the presence of special needs on a form prescribed by the
department.  The placing agency will use information
obtained from the standardized assessment tool to rate the
child relative what is developmentally appropriate for a
child of a similar age in the following areas:
� Adjustment to trauma.
� Life functioning, including physical, mental, and

dental health; relationships with family members; and
social skills.

� Functioning in a child care or school setting.
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� Strengths.
� Behavioral and emotional needs.
� Risk behaviors.
� Child’s language.

� ‘Level of care higher than level of need.’ An amount
determined by the department if a foster home’s level of
care certification is higher than the level of need of a child
placed in the foster home and the foster home has a Level
3 or 4 certification.

Exceptional Payments.  A placing agency may make
exceptional payments to a foster parent to accomplish any of
the following:

� Enable the child to be placed in a foster home instead of
being placed or remaining in a more restrictive setting.

� Enable the placement of siblings or minor parent and
minor children together.

� Assist with transportation costs to the school the child was
attending prior to placement in out−of−home care.

� Replace a child’s basic wardrobe that has been lost or
destroyed in a manner other than normal wear and tear.

� For a child placed in a foster home before February 21,
2011, and who remains placed in that foster home,
equalize the total monthly payment amount lost by the
child’s foster parent due to implementation of the new
method of determining supplemental payments.

The Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing
Adoptions Act of 2008 allows the state to claim federal funds
for expenses to assist a foster child with transportation costs
to the school the child was attending prior to placement in
out−of−home care.

Retainer Fee. A placing agency may provide a monthly
retainer fee to a foster parent to maintain openings in a foster
home for emergency placements.  This fee may not be
considered part of the foster care payment for a specific child.

Other

� A foster parent may not smoke or allow another person to
smoke in a foster home or in a vehicle when a foster child
is present.

� The rule incorporates provisions of DSP Memo Series
2009−05 that was jointly issued by the Department of
Health Services and the Department of Children and
Families.  It provides that a foster parent may not use any
type of physical restraint on a foster child unless the foster
child’s behavior presents an imminent danger of harm to
self or others and physical restraint is necessary to contain
the risk and keep the foster child and others safe.  If
physical restraint is necessary, the rule provides certain
prohibited practices.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

Under 45 CFR 1355.32 and 1355.33, the federal
Administration for Children and Families conducts a Child
and Family Services Review of each state’s child welfare
system every 5 years.  States found not to be operating in
substantial conformity with federal requirements shall
develop a program improvement plan.  The program
improvement plan must set forth the goals, the action steps
required to correct each identified weakness or deficiency,
and dates by which each action step is to be completed in order
to improve the specific areas.

42 USC 671(a)(24) requires that the state plan for foster
care and adoption assistance include a certification that,
before a child in foster care under the responsibility of the
state is placed with prospective foster parents, the prospective
foster parents will be prepared adequately with the
appropriate knowledge and skills to provide for the needs of
the child, and that such preparation will be continued, as
necessary, after the placement of the child.

42 USC 675 (1) (G) defines “case plan” to include a plan
for ensuring the educational stability of the child while in
foster care, including an assurance that the state agency has
coordinated with appropriate local educational agencies to
ensure that the child remains in the school in which the child
is enrolled at the time of placement or if remaining in such
school is not in the best interests of the child, assurances by
the state agency and the local educational agencies to provide
immediate and appropriate enrollment in a new school, with
all of the educational records of the child provided to the
school.

42 USC 674 (4) (A) defines “foster care maintenance
payments” as payments to cover the cost of (and the cost of
providing) food, clothing, shelter, daily supervision, school
supplies, a child’s personal incidentals, liability insurance
with respect to a child, reasonable travel to the child’s home
for visitation, and reasonable travel for the child to remain in
the school in which the child is enrolled at the time of
placement.

As part of the Fostering Connections to Success and
Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008, 42 USC 675 (1) (G) was
created and 42 USC 674 (4) (A) was amended to add the
phrase “reasonable travel for the child to remain in the school
in which the child is enrolled at the time of placement.”

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
The assessment tool prescribed by the department is used

statewide in Iowa and Illinois and is used parts of Minnesota
and Michigan.  Michigan and Illinois have a levels of care
system for foster homes.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The non−statutory requirements of the rule are based on

recommendations from the Out−of−Home Care/Adoption
Committee and the Foster Parent Training Committee.  The
committees have worked with the department for the past 5
years to incorporate new federal laws into state law and policy
by referring to other state models and national standards of
child welfare practice.  For the past 2 years, both committees
have focused on developing policy to implement the levels of
care and foster parent training initiatives in 2009 Wisconsin
Act 28.  Both committees have statewide membership of staff
from counties, tribes, private child−placing agencies, foster
and treatment foster parents, court personnel, advocacy
agencies, and state government.

Analysis used to determine effect on small business
The proposed rule will affect private child−placing

agencies, some of which are small businesses.  The policies
in the rule were developed in collaboration with members of
the Foster Parent Training Committee and the Out−of−Home
Care/Adoption Committee, which included representatives
from child−placing agencies.

Much of the rule is based on current practices of the
majority of agencies supporting treatment foster care.  The
sections on agency responsibilities were part of DCF 38 and
have been rewritten into DCF 56 with few changes.
Representatives from child−placing agencies indicated that
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their agencies already require foster parents to have as much
or more than the training hours in the proposed rule.  Many
agencies that serve treatment foster parents and treatment
foster children with higher needs already have a levels or
intensity system with different foster parent qualifications,
training, and payments.  The rule will put structure and
consistency to the levels of care that will help counties know
what services they are purchasing as they work with different
private agencies that provide similar services.  Existing
treatment foster homes will be grandfathered in as Level 3
foster homes and existing shift−staffed treatment foster
homes will be grandfathered in as Level 5 foster homes.  Some
private child−placing agencies will choose to offer Level 4
foster homes and will certify these foster parents under the
emergency and proposed rules.  The administrative cost will
be minimal.

In addition, the department will be providing 6 hours of the
new pre−placement training without charge to the agencies.
The department is also creating online training to allow
agency staff to receive certification and recertification in
administering the standardized assessment tool without
charge.

Effect on Small Business
The rule will affect small businesses, but will not have a

significant economic effect on a substantial number of small
businesses.  The Department’s Small Business Regulatory
Coordinator is Elaine Pridgen, elaine.pridgen@wisconsin.
gov; (608) 267−9403.

Fiscal Estimate

State fiscal effect
Indeterminate.

Local fiscal effect
Indeterminate.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.

Assumptions used in arriving at fiscal estimate
This rule incorporates the administrative rule under

Chapter 38 into Chapter 56 to create one universal licensing
code for foster care and treatment foster care providers.  This
is the second phase of creating the Levels of Care system
passed in 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.  This rule establishes the
requirements for certification at levels 3, 4, and 5.  A foster
home is licensed at these levels based on a number of factors,
including the level of knowledge, skill, training, and
experience of the licensee.  This rule establishes the minimum
amount of training at each of these levels.  In addition, this rule
mandates the use of the Child and Adolescent Needs and
Strengths (CANS) rating tool.  This rating tools is designed to
consistently identify the needs of children, ensure that
providers are addressing those needs, and determine
reimbursements to foster and treatment foster parents.

The rule will affect counties and the Department, which
operates the child welfare program in Milwaukee County.
The rule is not anticipated to affect current foster care and
treatment foster care providers.  Most existing providers meet
the qualifications in the rule and existing providers are
grandfathered into the rule.

The implementation of the CANS rating tool may identify
some unmet needs for children, which could increase the costs
of providing services to these children.  Also, the CANS

rating tool could more appropriately identify a lesser level of
need for children who already are receiving special services,
which may decrease costs to serve these children.
Additionally, providing children with adequate services may
reduce the length of stay for children in out−of−home care,
reducing long−term costs.  The net effect of these scenarios
cannot be determined.

Agency Contact Person
Jonelle Brom, Bureau of Permanence and Out−of−Home

Care, Division of Safety and Permanence, (608) 264−6933,
jonelle.brom@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

Fee schedule, Ch. Comm 2
Gas Systems, Ch. Comm 40

CR 11−002

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to sections
101.02 (15) (h) to (j), 101.16 (2), 101.17 and 101.19 of the
Wisconsin Statutes, the Department of Commerce will hold
a public Hearing on proposed rules revising Chapters Comm
2 and 40 relating to fuel gas systems, and affecting small
businesses.

Hearing Information
The public Hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
February 8, 2011
Tuesday
10:30 am

Thompson Commerce Center
3rd flr, Room 3B
201 West Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

This Hearing will be held in an accessible facility.  If you
have special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the Hearing,
please call Sam Rockweiler at (608) 266−0797 or at Contact
Through Relay at least 10 days prior to the Hearing date.
Accommodations such as interpreters, English translators, or
materials in audio tape format will, to the fullest extent
possible, be made available upon a request from a person with
a disability.

Submittal of Written Comments and Appearances at
the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to appear at the Hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing, via e−mail.  Persons submitting comments will not
receive individual responses.  The Hearing record on this
rulemaking will remain open until February 14, 2011, to
permit submittal of written comments from persons who are
unable to attend the Hearing or who wish to supplement
testimony offered at the Hearing.  E−mail comments should
be sent to sam.rockweiler@wisconsin.gov.  If e−mail
submittal is not possible, written comments may be submitted
to Sam Rockweiler, Department of Commerce, Division of
Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427,
Madison, WI 53708−0427.

Copies of Proposed Rule
The proposed rules and an analysis of them are available by

entering “Comm 40” in the search engine at the following
Website:https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Hom
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e.  Paper copies may be obtained without cost from Sam
Rockweiler at the Department of Commerce, Division of
Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427,
Madison, WI 53707, or at sam.rockweiler@wisconsin.gov, or
at telephone (608) 266−0797, or at Contact Through Relay.
Copies will also be available at the public Hearing.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Commerce

Statute(s) interpreted
Sections 101.02 (1) and (15) (h) to (j), 101.11, 101.16,

101.17 and 101.19.

Statutory authority
Sections 101.02 (1) and (15) (h) to (j), 101.16 (2), 101.17,

101.19 (1) and 227.11 (2) (a).

Explanation of agency authority
Under sections 101.02 (1) and (15) (h) to (j) of the Statutes,

the Department is required to establish rules and prescribe
safeguards for protecting the life, health, safety and welfare
of employees and frequenters of public buildings and places
of employment.  Under section 101.16 (2) of the Statutes, the
Department is required to establish rules relating to design,
construction, location, installation, operation, repair, and
maintenance of equipment for storage, handling, use, and
transportation by tank truck or tank trailer, of liquefied
petroleum gases for fuel purposes, and for the odorization of
those gases.  Under section 101.17 of the Statutes, installation
and use of machines and mechanical devices must comply
with the rules of the Department. Section 101.19 of the
Statutes authorizes the Department to assess fees for
providing services.  The Department also has authority under
section 227.11 (2) (a) of the Statutes to promulgate rules
interpreting any statute that is enforced or administered by the
Department, if the rule is considered necessary to effectuate
the purpose of the statute.

Related statute(s) or rule(s)
Some of the fuel gas systems that are addressed by the

proposed rule changes are connected to gas piping and
appliances or equipment that is addressed by either the
Wisconsin Commercial Building Code, which is contained in
chapters Comm 61 to 66, or the Uniform Dwelling Code,
which is contained in chapters Comm 20 to 25.  Some of the
gases that are addressed by the proposed changes are also used
for other than fuel purposes – and those uses may include
storage in pressure vessels, which is then addressed in chapter
Comm 41, and mechanical refrigeration, which is addressed
in chapter Comm 45.

Plain language analysis
Chapter Comm 40 establishes minimum safety standards

for design, construction, installation, operation, testing,
inspection, repair and maintenance of liquefied petroleum gas
systems, liquefied natural gas systems, compressed natural
gas systems, gaseous hydrogen systems, and liquefied
hydrogen systems – where these gas systems are used for fuel
purposes, such as for heating appliances or engines.

The proposed changes would primarily update this chapter
to have it include newer editions of several referenced
national standards from the National Fire Protection
Association (NFPA), and to make it consistent with current
industry and regulatory practices.  For example, the changes
include more detailed requirements from a recent amendment
to a national standard, for purging piping and equipment that
use liquefied petroleum gas.  The changes would also clarify

and refine administrative elements, such as where and how the
chapter applies, and where Department−level plan approval
and inspection is required, including for vehicle−fuel
dispensing systems.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

An Internet−based search of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) found the following existing federal
regulations relating to liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied
natural gas, compressed natural gas, gaseous hydrogen and
liquefied hydrogen as covered in this update of chapter Comm
40:
� 29 CFR 1910.101 – Compressed Gases (General

Requirements). This regulation in the federal Department
of Labor applies to the general inspection of compressed
gas cylinders.

� 29 CFR 1910.103 – Hydrogen. This regulation in the
federal Department of Labor applies to the design and
installation of gaseous hydrogen systems and of liquefied
hydrogen systems on consumer premises.

� 29 CFR 1910.110 – Storage and Handling of Liquefied
Petroleum Gases. This regulation in the federal
Department of Labor applies to the design, construction,
location, installation and operation of liquefied petroleum
gas systems.

� 33 CFR 127 Subpart B – Waterfront Facilities Handling
Liquefied Natural Gas. This regulation in the federal
Department of Homeland Security applies to the marine
transfer area of waterfront facilities handling liquefied
natural gas.

These federal regulations were revised July1, 2010, and
appear to be similar to the proposed rules.  In addition to
containing specific requirements for the various gas systems,
the federal regulations incorporate by reference several
national standards published by the NFPA, the American
National Standards Institute, the Compressed Gas
Association and the American Society of Mechanical
Engineers.

An Internet−based search of the 2009 and 2010 issues of
the Federal Register did not find any proposed regulations
relating to gas systems as covered in this update of chapter
Comm 40.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
An Internet−based search of the four adjacent states’ rules

found the following requirements relating to gas systems used
for fuel purposes:
� Illinois – Under the Illinois Administrative Code (41 Ill.

Admin. Code 200), the Office of the Illinois State Fire
Marshall adopts the 2008 edition of NFPA Standard 58 for
liquefied petroleum gas. The rules also reference the 2006
edition of NFPA 54. Illinois does not have rules for
liquefied natural gas, compressed natural gas or hydrogen.

� Iowa – The Division of the State Fire Marshal is
responsible for regulating liquefied petroleum gas and
liquefied natural gas, in chapter 101 of the Iowa
Administrative Code. That chapter adopts NFPA 54, 58
and 59A by reference. Currently, Iowa does not have rules
for compressed natural gas or hydrogen.

� Michigan – The Department of Environmental Quality
administers rules relating to liquefied petroleum gas and
liquefied natural gas. These rules adopt the 2004 editions
of NFPA 52, 58 and 59A. The Department of Energy,
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Labor and Economic Growth administers rules for
compressed and liquefied natural gas and hydrogen.
These rules adopt NFPA 52 and federal Occupational
Safety and Health Administrations regulations 29 CFR
1910.101 and 1910.103 for compressed gases and gaseous
and liquefied hydrogen systems.

� Minnesota – The Minnesota State Fire Code incorporates
by reference the 2006 edition of the International Fire
Code (IFC). The IFC references NFPA 50A, 50B, 52, 58
and 59A. In addition, chapter 38 of the Minnesota State
Fire Code incorporates by reference the 2004 edition of
NFPA 58, and states that “the storage, handling,
transportation and use of liquefied petroleum gas and the
installation of all equipment pertinent to systems for such
uses shall be designed, constructed, installed, operated
and maintained in accordance with the provisions” in that
standard.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

In considering the latest editions of the referenced
standards from NFPA, Department staff comprehensively
compared these standards to the requirements currently in
chapter Comm 40, and concluded that these standards are
clearer and provide more detail than the current requirements
and standards in Comm 40, and would not impose significant
costs or other impacts on a substantial number of businesses.
The Department’s advisory council for fuel gas systems then
reviewed these comparisons and agreed with these
conclusions, and similarly assisted with developing the other
changes for updating Comm 40. The members of that council
represent the stakeholders involved in the fuel gas systems
industry, and are members of the following organizations:

ANGI Energy Systems
City of Milwaukee
Cooperative Network
National Propane Gas Association
Wisconsin Agri−Service Association, Inc.
Wisconsin Crop Production Association
Wisconsin Propane Gas Association
Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association, Inc.
Wisconsin Utilities Association, Inc.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report

An economic impact report was not prepared or required
under section 227.137 of the Statutes.  Consideration of the
potential effects on small business was based on guidelines
produced by the federal Small Business Administration’s
Office of Advocacy.  The advisory council described above
did not identify any significant impacts relative to compliance
with the proposed changes for updating chapter Comm 40.

Effect on Small Business

The proposed changes are not expected to impose
significant costs or other impacts on a substantial number of
businesses because the primary effect of the changes is to
make chapter Comm 40 consistent with current regional and
national standards for fuel gas systems, and with current
industry and regulatory practices.

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
Any business involved with the design,
construction, installation, operation, inspection,
repair or maintenance of liquefied petroleum gas
systems, liquefied natural gas systems,
compressed natural gas systems, gaseous
hydrogen systems, or liquefied hydrogen
systems, that are used for fueling purposes.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

The rules require submittal of some additional
plan review information to the Department or a
first class city, for any gas system that is newly
required to have plan approval.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

No new professional skills would be needed for
compliance with these rules.

4. Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.

No − Rules not submitted to Small Business
Regulatory Review Board

Any inquiries for the small business regulatory coordinator
for the Department of Commerce can be directed to Sam
Rockweiler, as listed above.

Environmental Impact
Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered

the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Fiscal Estimate

State fiscal effect
None.

Local fiscal effect
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
None known or anticipated.

Assumptions used in arriving at fiscal estimate
The included changes to where Department−level plan

approval and inspection is required should not significantly
affect either state or local government costs or revenues.

The anticipated costs that may be incurred by the private
sector in complying with any new requirements in the
proposed rules are adequately described in the rule summary
which immediately precedes the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person
Sam Rockweiler, Wisconsin Department of Commerce,

Division of Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O.
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Box 14427, Madison, WI, 53708−0427; telephone (608)
266−0797; e−mail sam.rockweiler@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

CR 10−149, EmR1042

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority
granted under section 601.41 (3), Stats., and the procedures
set forth in under sections 227.18, and 227.24 (4), Stats., OCI
will hold a public hearing to consider the adoption of the
attached proposed rulemaking order and the emergency rule
published November 29, 2010, affecting section Ins 3.35,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to colorectal cancer screening
coverage and affecting small business.

Hearing Information

Date and Time: Location:
January 25, 2011
Tuesday
9:30 am

OCI
2nd Floor, Room 227
125 S. Webster St.
Madison, WI 53703

Submittal of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 605
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 605
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin
Administrative Rule Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin
.gov on the proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
10th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule

A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,
analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Public Information and
Communications, OCI, at: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov,
(608) 264−8110, 125 South Webster Street – 2nd Floor,
Madison WI or PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.

Analysis Prepared by the Office fo the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statute(s) interpreted

Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12), 632.895 (16m), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12),

632.895 (16m), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
2009 Wis. Act 346 created s. 632.895 (16m), Stats., and

required the commissioner to promulgate rules that specify
guidelines for the colorectal cancer screening that must be
covered, specify the factors for determining whether an
individual is at high risk for colorectal cancer and to update
periodically the guidelines as medically appropriate.

Related statute(s) or rule(s)
None.

Plain language analysis
The proposed rule implements s. 632.895 (16m), Stats.,

mandating coverage for colorectal cancer screening.  For
flexibility, the proposed rule allows insurers and self−insured
governmental plans to select from among the U.S. Preventive
Services Task Force, the National Cancer Institute, or the
American Cancer Society guidelines it will follow related to
colorectal cancer screening intervals and specific screening
tests or procedures.  Insurers and self−insured governmental
health plans are to inform enrollees of the guideline or
guidelines they use and if they use more than one guideline,
which guideline is primary if a dispute arises.

The proposed rule requires insurers and self−funded
governmental plans to provide coverage of at least three of
four identified screening tools: fecal occult blood test, flexible
sigmoidoscopy, colonoscopy and computerized tomographic
colonography.  The determination for appropriate screening
test or procedure is to be based upon medical necessity or
medically appropriate basis and is eligible for internal and
independent review.

Additionally, the proposed rule sets forth guidance on
determination of persons at high risk for developing
colorectal cancer.  The proposed guidance is based upon the
guidelines of the American Cancer Society as it is the only
organization that has detailed standards for high risk
categories and screening intervals.  However, the rule does
permit insurers to utilize additional criteria if the National
Cancer Institute or the U.S. Preventive Service Task Force
develops high risk criteria.

In light of federal health reform, the proposed rule requires
insurers to comply with preventive services contained in the
patient protection and affordable care act of 2010, PL
111−148,  as amended by the federal health care and education
reconciliation act of 2010, P.L. 111−152.  Finally, insurers and
self−insured governmental health plans are required to
annually review the selected guidelines and comply with
updates in the subsequent policy year.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

The patient protection and affordable care act of 2010, PL
111−148, as amended by the federal health care and education
reconciliation act of 2010, P.L. 111−152, (“ACA”), includes
colorectal cancer screening as a covered preventive health
service contained in the 45 CFR Subtitle A §147.130.
However, the federal requirements for preventive health are
not effective until January 1, 2014.  The federal regulation
addresses cost sharing limitations that insurers may impose
when the service is a preventive health service that supersede
the state’s law when implemented in 2014.  The federal
regulations and the ACA are not as specific as s. 632.895
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(16m), Stats., and do not address high risk factors, therefore
the state’s law would not be preempted.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
215ILCS5/356x Sec. 356x. Mandate provides coverage for

colorectal cancer examination and screening in accordance
with the published American Cancer Society guidelines.
Illinois law also permits consideration of other existing
colorectal cancer screening guidelines issued by nationally
recognized professional medical societies or federal
government agencies, including the National Cancer
Institute, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and
the American College of Gastroenterology.  The Illinois
mandate restricts insurers from imposing deductible,
coinsurance, waiting period, or other cost−sharing limitations
that is greater than that required for other coverage under the
policy.

Iowa:
No similar law.
Michigan:
No similar law.
Minnesota:
Minnesota statutes section 62A.30 mandates coverage for

accident and health insurance, health maintenance
organizations excluding fixed indemnity and accident only
policies.  Every policy or plan must provide coverage of
routine screening procedures for cancer and the office or
facility visit.  Among the cancer screenings listed colorectal
cancer is included.  Reference is made to include other proven
ovarian cancer screening evaluated by the federal food and
drug administration or the National Cancer Institute.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

OCI surveyed insurers doing business in Wisconsin
regarding coverage of screening tests and procedures for
colorectal cancer and found that of the insurers surveyed, all
insurers currently provide coverage for some form of
colorectal cancer screening.

As to guidelines, OCI consulted with the department of
health services, representatives and discussed the proposed
rule with interested parties including the American Cancer
Society, Wisconsin Radiological Society, Wisconsin
Association of Health Plans and numerous providers.  The
guidelines utilized in the rule include not only the American
Cancer Society but also National Cancer Institute and the U.S.
Preventive Services Task Force.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

There are no insurers that offer comprehensive health
insurance that qualify as small businesses in accordance with
s. 227.114 (1), Wis. Stat.  Intermediaries that solicit individual
health insurance will be required to use the new form but since
it is available at no cost from the office, the effect will be
minimal.

Effect on Small Business

This rule will require intermediaries to learn about the
colorectal cancer benefit but will not have a fiscal impact.

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s. 227.114,
Stats., the proposed rule may have an effect on small

businesses.  The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is as
follows:

a. Types of small businesses affected:
Insurance agents, LSHO, Town Mutuals, Small
Insurers.

b. Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required:

Adds the option of electronically filing forms to the
OCI and requires attestation of the Flesch score and
tool used to determine the Flesch score.  No other
bookkeeping or reporting requirements other than are
currently required.

c. Description of professional skills required:
Some small businesses, not otherwise exempted by
rule, will need to update the website to include
information on how to request or access the insured’s
policy.  Other than creating the notice, no other
professional skills other than are currently required.

Small business regulatory coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov.

Fiscal Estimate
There will be no state or local government effect.

Private sector fiscal effect
There will be no significant fiscal effect on the private

sector as the proposed rules add a benefit for consumers with
little additional cost since most if not all insurers and
self−funded governmental plans currently provide coverage.

Agency Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the Web site
at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting Inger
Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, Madison WI
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

CR 10−150, EmR1043

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the
authority granted under section 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in under sections 227.18 and 227.24 (4),
Stat., OCI will hold a public hearing to consider the
emergency rule and the adoption of the attached proposed
permanent rulemaking order affecting sections Ins 3.37 and
3.375, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to health insurance coverage
of nervous and mental disorders and substance use disorders
and affecting small business.

Hearing Information

Date and Time: Location:
January 27, 2011
Thursday
1:00 pm

OCI
2nd Floor, Room 227
125 S. Webster St.
Madison, WI 53703
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Submittal of Written Comments
Written comments can be mailed to:

Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 3375
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 3375
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin
Administrative Rule Web site at:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be
considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
10th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Public Information and
Communications, OCI, at: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov,
(608) 264−8110, 125 South Webster Street – 2nd Floor,
Madison WI or PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.

Analysis Prepared by the Office fo the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statute(s) interpreted
Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12), and 632.89, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12), and

632.89, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The commissioner is required to promulgate rules to

implement recreated s. 632.89, Stats., pursuant to s. 632.89
(4) (b), Stats., ensuring that insurers offering group health
benefit plans and self−funded governmental plans include as
a covered benefit the treatment of nervous and mental
disorders and substance use disorders.  In addition s. 632.89
(4) (a), Stats., requires the commissioner to promulgate rules
relating to transitional treatment.

Related statute(s) or rule(s)
Section 609.71, Stats., was also created by 2009 Wis. Act

218 requiring defined health plans comply with the
requirements contained in s. 632.89 and s. Ins 3.37, Wis.
Admin. Code describe coverage for transitional treatment as
required by s. 632.89 (4) (a), Stats.

Plain language analysis
The proposed rule implements the recreated s. 632.89,

Stats., instituting mental health parity in the treatment of
nervous and mental disorders and substance use disorders.
The proposed rule amends regulations relating to transitional

treatment coverage and creates a new section for
implementing requirements for the coverage of nervous and
mental disorders and substance use disorders.

The transitional treatment regulation is bifurcated into
requirements for plans issued on or after November 1, 2007
and prior to December 1, 2010 and parallel numbered sections
for polices issued on or after December 1, 2010.  For existing
policies or policies for which an employer has requested an
exemption pursuant to s. 632.89 (3c) or (3f), Stats., the
requirements reflect s. 632.89, 2007 Stats., and updated cites
and provisions of regulations contained in the department of
health services pertaining to transitional treatment.

For plans issued on or after December 1, 2010, parallel
requirements are created within the proposed revisions to s.
Ins 3.37 to apply to insurers offering group health insurance
plans and for self−insured governmental plans on a going
forward basis.  The types of services are the same except for
removal of minimum dollar limitations and the types of
insurers or self−insured governmental plans to which the
requirements apply.

Concerns were raised regarding compliance with the
PPACA requirement of no annual limits for essential benefits
and s. 632.89 (2), 2007 Stat., benefit levels.  The concerns
were silenced after identifying that the s. 632.89 (2), 2007
Stat., are written as “not less than” so act as benefit floors and
do not preclude exceeding the floor amount therefore not
volatile of the federal law.

The proposed rule also creates s. Ins 3.375, Wis. Adm.
Code, to implement s. 632.89, Stats., for policies issued on or
after December 1, 2010, that requires insurers offering group
health insurance and self−insured governmental plans to
provide coverage for the treatment of nervous and mental
disorders and substance use disorders no more restrictively
than coverage for the most common or frequent type of
treatment limitations that are applied to substantially all other
coverage under the plan.  This means insurers and
self−insured governmental plans cannot impose limited
benefits or impose different cost−sharing provisions based
upon receiving nervous, mental or substance use disorders
treatment.  The rule defines “substantially all” to mean that the
terms of coverage for nervous, mental and substance use
disorders is to be treated no more restrictively than a single
type of financial requirements or quantitative treatment
limitations that apply to two−thirds of covered medical or
surgical benefits.

Pursuant to s. 632.89 (3c), Stats., for employers seeking an
exemption based upon increased costs related to the parity
requirements, employers may request insurers to have a
qualified actuary determine, at the insurer’s cost,  whether the
employer is eligible for the exemption.  Nothing in the rule,
however, limits or prohibits an employer or self−funded
governmental plan from obtaining, at their cost, a qualified
actuarial determination.

Proposed s. Ins 3.375 (5), contains provisions governing
insurers offering individual health benefit plans that contain
benefits for the treatment of nervous and mental disorders or
substance use disorders.  Insurers offering these individual
health benefit plans shall make available the criteria for
determining medical necessity and if the individual health
benefit plan denies benefits related to nervous and mental
disorders or substance use disorders it shall make the reason
for the denial available to the insured, participant, or
beneficiary in addition to complying with s. 632.857, Stats.
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For eligible employers electing an exemption, Appendix 1
and 2 contain the model notices that insurers are to provide to
employers or self−insured governmental plans that the
employer is to post and distribute to employees explaining the
basis of the exemption as well as a list of the benefits that will
be provided to the employees as was contained in s. 632.89,
2007 Stats.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

The Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of
2008 (“MHPAEA”), was effective October 1, 2009 with
interim final regulations published in February 2010.
Wisconsin’s 2009 Wis. Act 218 paralleled many provisions of
the federal law in the statute and enhanced coverage benefits
for Wisconsin consumers insured through small employers
and covered by individual health benefit plans.

Additionally, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care
Act of 2010, P.L. 111−148, as amended by the Federal Health
Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, P.L. 111−152
(jointly “PPACA”), identifies the treatment for mental health
benefits and substance use disorders as an essential benefit
that is to be contained in all health plans effective January 1,
2014.  Further, as an essential benefit, as of September 23,
2010, insurers are to remove annual limits and phase out
lifetime limitations over the next several years.

However, as of the date of this proposed rule, no specific
federal guidance has been provided on how the MHPAEA and
PPACA will be combined and what affect that combination
will have on insurers and consumers.  In the absence of such
guidance, the commissioner’s proposed rule does not
interfere with an insurer’s ability to comply with Wisconsin
law, federal parity and federal health reform.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Illinois:
214 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann 5/370c, SB 1341, and HB 2190

provide minimum mandated benefits affecting group health
policies having more than 50 enrolled employees.  Covered
conditions include serious mental illness, including pervasive
developmental disorders and post−traumatic stress disorders.
Benefits include a minimum of 45 inpatient days and 35
outpatient visits benefits for serious mental illness; other
mental health conditions may be subject to 50% co−pays and
the lesser of the annual limit of $10,000.00 or 25% of the
lifetime policy limit.  Mental illness resulting from the use of
controlled substances or cannabis and addictions to controlled
substances and cannabis are not required to be covered.

Iowa:
Iowa code 514c.22 and HF420 provide minimum

mandated benefits affecting group health policies having
more than 50 enrolled employees.  There is a 50−employee
exemption if no coverage of mental illness is provided.
Serious mental illness including pervasive developmental
disorders and autistic disorders are covered; the minimum
benefits include 30 inpatient days and 52 outpatient visits per
plan year.

Michigan:
SB 1209/Act 252 provides a minimum mandated benefit

affecting Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs) that
covers broad−based mental health disorders and substance

use disorders.  Minimum coverage levels include a 3% cost
exemption and no fewer than 20 outpatient mental health
visits per plan year.

Minnesota:
Minn. Stat. Sec. 62A.152, Minn. Stat. Sec. 62Q.47, and SB

845 provide comprehensive parity for HMOs and Community
Integrated Service Networks.  Benefits are mandated if
offered for individual and group policies.  Broad−based
mental health disorders and substance use disorders are
covered at minimum coverage levels.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The commissioner appointed a 20−member advisory

council that met two times to discuss implementation advice
to the commissioner on the parity law, content and delivery of
notices to employees and components of the actuarial study.
The council membership includes Sen. Hansen and Rep.
Pasch, the sponsors of Wisconsin’s law as well as
representatives from the insurance industry, mental health and
hospital providers, consumer mental health and substance use
disorder advocates, large and small businesses.  The
commissioner’s staff also met with the Department of Health
Services to ensure citations and coverage description reflects
current transitional treatment provisions and updated
regulations.  The proposed rule reflects the results of the
council’s deliberations and advice.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

Upon review of insurers affected by the regulation, the
office identified no small businesses that would be affected by
the regulation.

Effect on Small Business
No significant effect will be imposed on regulated small

businesses.  No additional technology requirements are
necessary to comply with the regulation.

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis
Pursuant to s. 227.14(2g), Stats., the proposed rule may

have a significant economic impact on small businesses.

Small business regulatory coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov.

Fiscal Estimate
There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.

Private sector fiscal effect
This rule change will have no significant effect on the

private sector regulated by OCI.

Agency Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the Web site
at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting Inger
Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, Madison WI
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873
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Notice of Hearing

Insurance
CR 10−151

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the
authority granted under section 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in under section 227.18, Stats., OCI will
hold a public hearing to consider the adoption of the attached
proposed rulemaking order affecting sections Ins 2.18, 7.02,
7.04, 28.06, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to life settlements and
affecting small business.

Hearing Information

Date and Time: Location:
March 17, 2011
Thursday
10:00am

OCI
2nd Floor, Room 227
125 S. Webster St.
Madison, WI 53703

Submittal of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
James W. Harris
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
James W. Harris
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
James W. Harris
james.harris@wisconsin.gov

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin
Administrative Rule Web site at:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be
considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule

A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,
analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Public Information and
Communications, OCI, at: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov,
(608) 264−8110, 125 South Webster Street – 2nd Floor,
Madison WI or PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.

Analysis Prepared by the Office fo the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statute(s) interpreted

Sections 600.01, 632.69, Stats.

Statutory authority

Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42 (3), 628.34,
628.38, 631.20, 631.23 and 632.69, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority

2009 Wisconsin Act 344 created s. 632.69, Stats., replacing
Wisconsin’s viatical settlement statute with comprehensive
regulation of life settlement transactions.  The statute replaces
licensing requirements for brokers and providers and
establishes pre−licensing and continuing education standards.
The statute provides the commissioner with authority to adopt
rules implementing and administering the law including
appropriate licensing requirements and standards for
continuing licensure for providers and brokers, financial
accountability for providers and brokers, and the adoption of
rules governing the relationship and responsibilities of
insurers, providers and brokers during settlement of a life
insurance policy.

Related statute(s) or rule(s)

See the statutes interpreted in paragraph 1, above.

Plain language analysis

The proposed rule will assist in implementation of the
requirements of s. 632.69, Stat. including those provisions
relating to licensure, training, disclosures, reporting,
examinations and conduct of licensees.  The proposed rule
sets forth initial and renewal license application deadlines,
fees and requirements, including financial accountability,
training, and information to be submitted.  The rule lists
criteria that may be used in assessing qualification of an
applicant for licensure.  The proposed rule provides for
notification to the commissioner of administrative actions,
criminal proceedings and lawsuits that may affect licensure,
and reporting of cessation of business activity or change of
business address or location of business records.  The
proposed rule provides detail for fulfilling the form filing and
approval requirements of s. 632.69 (5), Stat. as well as
providing formats for notices to policyholders, owners and
purchasers.  The proposed rule incorporates license
application forms in to ch. Ins 7, Wis. Adm. Code, and add
certain categories of approved training to s. Ins 28.06, Wis.
Adm. Code.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

There are no federal regulations which are intended to
address life settlement activities to be regulated by the
proposed rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
215 ILCS 159/1, et. Seq., effective 7/01/2010, amended

Illinois viatical settlement law.  To date there has been no
formal adoption of language similar to the proposed rule.

Iowa:
IAC 191−48, effective 4/03/2009, contains provisions for

viatical and life settlements comparable to the proposed rule.
Michigan:
Michigan General Insurance Laws, Chapter 550 contains

viatical settlement contract regulations.  To date there has
been no formal adoption of language similar to the proposed
rule.

Minnesota:
Minnesota Laws, Chapter 60A.957, et. Seq., effective

8/01/2009, contains viatical settlement contract regulations.
To date there has been no formal adoption of language similar
to the proposed rule.
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Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The proposed rule is based upon reference to a model
regulation and analysis of the proposed provisions by a
working group consisting of representatives of the insurance
industry, the life settlement industry, an institutional
investment group, life insurance agents, regulators and
consumer and senior interest associations.  The proposed rule
will address regulatory needs of the expanding life settlement
industry, add procedures for administrative oversight of
licensees operating within the state and provide important
disclosures to consumers.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The proposed rule continues, and expands existing
licensing, reporting and disclosure requirements relating to
viatical settlements and life settlements.  The rule should have
little effect on small businesses.

Effect on Small Business

This rule will have little or no effect on small businesses.

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s. 227.114,
Stats., the proposed rule may have an effect on small
businesses.  The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is as
follows:

a. Types of small businesses affected:
Insurance agents, Small Agencies

b. Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required:

None beyond those currently required.

c. Description of professional skills required:
None beyond those currently required.

Small business regulatory coordinator

The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and
may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov.

Fiscal Estimate

There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.

Private sector fiscal analysis

This rule will have no significant effect on the private
sector regulated by OCI.

Agency Contact Person

A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,
analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the Web site
at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting Inger
Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, Madison WI
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Notice of Hearing
Public Service Commission

CR 10−147
(PSC # 1−AC−234)

NOTICE IS GIVEN that pursuant to section 227.16 (2) (b),
Stats., the commission will hold a public hearing on proposed
revisions to Chapter PSC 118, relating to renewable resource
credits.

Hearing Information

Date and Time: Location:
February 15,
2011
Tuesday
9:30am−11:30am

Public Service Commission
610 North Whitney Way
Madison, WI 53705

This building is accessible to people in wheelchairs
through the Whitney Way (lobby) entrance.  Handicapped
parking is available on the south side of the building.

The commission does not discriminate on the basis of
disability in the provision of programs, services, or
employment.  Any person with a disability who needs
accommodations to participate in this proceeding or who
needs to get this document in a different format should contact
the Docket Coordinator, as indicated in the previous
paragraph, as soon as possible.

Submittal of Written Comments
Any person may submit written comments on these

proposed rules.  The hearing record will be open for written
comments from the public, effective immediately, and until
March 1, 2011, at noon (February 28, 2011, at noon, if filed
by fax).  All written comments must include a reference on the
filing to docket 1−AC−234.  File by one mode only.

Industry:
File comments using the Electronic Regulatory Filing

system.  This may be accessed from the commission’s
website, www.psc.wi.gov.

Members of the Public:
If filing electronically:  Use the Public Comments system

or the Electronic Regulatory Filing system.  Both of these may
be accessed from the commission’s website,
www.psc.wi.gov.

If filing by mail, courier, or hand delivery:  Address as
shown in the box below.

If filing by fax:  Send fax comments to (608) 266−3957.
Fax filing cover sheet MUST state “Official Filing,” the
docket number 1−AC−234, and the number of pages (limited
to 25 pages for fax comments).

Analysis Prepared by the Public Service Commission

Agency authority and explanation of agency authority
This rule is authorized under ss. 196.02 (1) and (3), 196.378

(3 ) (a) 1., and 196.378 (3) (a) 1m., and 227.11, Stats.
Section 227.11, Stats., authorizes agencies to promulgate

administrative rules. Section196.02 (1), Stats., authorizes the
commission to do all things necessary and convenient to its
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jurisdiction. Section 196.02 (3), Stats., grants the commission
specific authority to promulgate rules.  Section 196.378 (3) (a)
1., Stats., grants the commission specific authority to
promulgate rules that establish requirements for the creation
and use of a renewable resource credit on or after January 1,
2004.  Section 196.378 (3) (a) 1m., Stats., grants the
commission specific authority to promulgate rules that allow
an electric provider to create a renewable resource credit
based on use in a year by the electric provider, or a customer
or member of the electric provider.

Statutes interpreted

This rule interprets ss. 196.378 (1) (h) 1. h. to j. and (i) and
(3) (a) 1. and 1m. and (c), Stats. These statutes deal with the
creation, sale, calculation and tracking of renewable resource
credits, and specify the manner for aggregating or allocating
renewable resource credits.

Related statute(s) or rule(s)

Section 196.374, Stats., defines the term “renewable
resource,” and deals with energy efficiency and renewable
resource programs.  Section 196.377, Stats., deals with the
promotion of renewable energy sources.  Section 196.378,
Stats., provides definitions for certain renewable resources
that are included in this rule.

Brief summary of rule

2009 Wisconsin Act 406 establishes statewide criteria for
the creation of renewable resource credits (RRCs) by electric
providers, and the inclusion of certain resources that generate
electric power from certain fuel, synthetic gas, or densified
fuel pellets in the renewable portfolio standard.

This rule creates definitions for biogas, displaced
conventional electricity, non−electric facility, pyrolysis, solar
light pipe, solar water heater and synthetic gas, and refines
existing definitions to prevent ambiguity.  This rule also
describes when certain RRCs are considered created and
used, and which facilities are eligible for creating RRCs, even
in instances where the RRC is created from a renewable
resource not produced on site.

Under this rule, an RRC may be created by the
displacement of conventional electricity caused by the use of
a non−electric facility under certain circumstances.  For
example, a building with solar light pipes, i.e., a non−electric
facility as defined by this rule, displaces conventional
electricity and this displacement creates an RRC that can be
used by the electric provider or by a customer or member of
the electric provider.  This rule provides greater detail
describing when and how this can be done.

Displaced conventional electricity is calculated by taking
the annual average mix of resources used to generate
electricity in the entire area served by the Midwest
Independent Transmission System Operator.  Alternatively,
displaced conventional electricity may be calculated by
establishing a different percentage for a specific type of
non−electric facility if its seasonal or diurnal operating
characteristics justify a percentage that differs from the
annual average percentage.  Electric providers or users of a
non−electric facility must determine the net amount of
electricity displaced by using methodologies outlined under
proposed Wis. Admin. Code § 118.09 (3) (a).

Lastly, this rule provides a procedure for the certification
and registration of renewable and non−electric facilities that
can issue an RRC; a means of tracking RRCs that have been

created, retired or expired; and permits the aggregation and
allocation of RRCs by wholesale suppliers.

Comparison with existing or proposed federal regulations
No federal renewable portfolio standard (RPS) exists at

this time.  Several legislative proposals to establish a federal
“renewable electricity standard” have been submitted within
the last year.  Two have been referred to the Committee on
Energy and Natural Resources and the third has been placed
on the Senate Legislative Calendar under General Orders
(Calendar No. 576).

Two of the three federal legislative proposals establish a
minimum annual percentage of the base quantity of electricity
that an electric utility sells to electric consumers; one proposal
calls for a minimum of 15% by 2021 and the other calls for a
minimum of 25% by 2025.  The third proposal does not
specify a minimum annual percentage to be achieved.  The
proposed federal regulations include many of the same kinds
of renewable resources as does this rule, e.g., biogas, biomass,
solar, and wind.

Two of the proposed federal regulations address the
issuance of renewable energy credits (RECs), direct the U.S.
Secretary of Energy (Secretary) to establish a means to
administer RECs and promulgate regulations regarding the
measurement and verification of electricity savings.  Under
these proposals, the Secretary may delegate REC−tracking to
a national, state or local entity.  One REC is worth one kilowatt
hour under the proposed regulations.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Like Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan and Minnesota have

adopted renewable portfolio standard (RPS) mandates.  Iowa,
however, has not adopted an RPS mandate.

Illinois:
Illinois has promulgated rules addressing compliance with

and reporting requirements for its RPS.  In Illinois,
investor−owned utilities (IOUs) that sell outside their service
territories to comply with the RPS1 and alternative retail
electric suppliers (ARES) are required to comply with the
RPS.  Municipal and cooperative utilities are exempt from the
RPS.  The Illinois RPS requires that renewable resources
provide 25% of the overall standard retail electric sales by
2024−2025.

1 Also referred to as ARES in these situations.

For IOUs, wind power must provide a minimum of 75% of
the renewable energy and the remaining 25% may come from
other eligible renewable resources.  ARES must obtain a
minimum of 60% of their renewable energy from wind power;
the remaining 40% may come from other eligible renewable
resources.  IOUs and ARES may procure their renewable
energy either through energy bundled with renewable energy
credits or through the purchase of tradable renewable energy
credits on their own.  Utilities must retire credits that they use
for compliance.

Through 2011, utilities must procure the renewable
resources in Illinois.  If it is not cost−effective to procure
in−state eligible resources, utilities may procure these
resources from adjoining states.  Utilities may, as a last resort,
procure resources from other regions of the country if
resources from adjoining states are not cost−effective.  After
2011, equal preference is given to in−state resources and
adjoining states.  IOUs and ARES must submit an annual
compliance report by September 1 of each year.

Iowa:



Page 32 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 661 Mid−January 2011

Iowa adopted its alternate energy production (AEP)
requirements prior to widespread use of energy−based RPSs
in other states.  Iowa’s AEP differs from an RPS in that the
AEP is capacity−based and relates to specific AEP facilities,
either owned or contracted by utilities, rather than being an
energy−based portfolio requirement.  At this time, only two
Iowa utilities – Interstate Power and Light Company (IPL)
and MidAmerican Energy Company (MidAmerican) – are
required by the AEP statutes to own or purchase their share of
alternate energy from AEP production facilities or small
hydro facilities for a combined total of 105 megawatts.  IPL
currently fulfills its entire obligation with wind, while
MidAmerican fulfills its obligation with wind and a small
amount of biogas capacity.

Michigan:

Michigan has an RPS, and while it has not promulgated any
rules or issued any technical guidance document outlining the
implementation of its mandates, it has begun the process of
developing a system to address compliance and REC
tracking.  The state’s renewable energy certification system,
MIRECS2, was developed by APX, Inc., which also
developed the Midwest Renewable Energy Tracking System
(M−RETS) used by Wisconsin.  MIRECS will track all
relevant information about renewable energy produced and
delivered in Michigan.  APX, Inc., designed MIRECS so that
it would integrate with M−RETS and the North American
Renewables Registry to provide for import and export of
certificates across renewable energy markets.  Additionally,
the Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) has hired
an auditor who will be responsible for performing inspections
of renewable energy facilities to ensure compliance.

2 MIRECS stands for “Michigan Renewable Energy Certification
System.”

Under Michigan’s RPS, IOUs, rural electric cooperatives,
municipal utilities and retail suppliers must have 10% of their
electricity come from eligible renewable resources by 2015.
As the state’s two largest IOUs, Detroit Edison Company
(DTC) and Consumers Energy (Consumers) have additional
obligations beyond those of other utilities.  DTC must procure
300 megawatts of new renewable resources by 2013 and 600
megawatts of new renewable resources by 2015.  Consumers
must procure 200 megawatts of new renewable resources by
2013 and 500 megawatts of new renewable resources by
2015.

Utilities may achieve compliance with the RPS by
purchasing RECs.  Up to 50% of the RPS may be met with
RECs produced by utility−owned facilities.  A REC has a
three−year lifetime from the end of the month it was
generated.  The MPSC requires utilities to submit affidavits
and a renewable energy plan to verify compliance on a
biennial basis.

Minnesota:

Minnesota has not promulgated any rules or issued any
technical guidance document outlining the implementation of
its RPS mandates; however, the Minnesota Public Utilities
Commission (PUC) has an open docket to address
implementation issues that have not been fully addressed in
previous dockets or that are due to changes in national, state
or M−RETS policies and protocols.  Only renewable energy
credits (RECs) recorded and tracked by M−RETS may be
used for compliance with the RPS.  Xcel Energy, public
utilities providing electric service, generation and

transmission cooperative electric associations, municipal
power agencies and power districts operating in the state are
subject to the RPS mandates.

Under Minnesota’s RPS, the standard for Xcel Energy
requires that eligible renewable electricity account for 30% of
total retail electricity sales, including sales to retail customers
of a distribution utility to which Xcel Energy provides
wholesale service, in Minnesota by 2020.  Xcel must procure
a minimum of 24% of its eligible renewable electricity from
wind, solar may contribute up to 1%, and the remaining 5%
may be generated from other eligible technologies to meet the
2020 standard.  Other utilities must obtain 25% of their
electricity from eligible renewable electricity by 2020 to meet
the RPS, and are not subject to requirements that specify
percentages for particular types of renewable resources.

Presently, Minnesota places the burden on its utilities to
carry out the RPS mandates.  Utilities must report when they
retire their RECs and submit a biennial report to the PUC that
provides information on retail sales, REC retirements and
REC trading activities.

Effect on Small Business
This rulemaking will not negatively affect small

businesses. It may benefit small businesses that own or sell the
technologies that this rulemaking makes eligible for
renewable resource credits or allow small business who use
renewable resources to create RRCs that can then be sold to
electric providers.
Initial regulatory flexibility analysis

The proposed rule will have no negative impact on small
businesses, as defined in s. 227.11 (1), Stats.  The proposed
rule may have a beneficial impact for small businesses in
either of two ways.

1) The proposed rule establishes new ways for Wisconsin
electric providers to create renewable resource credits
(RRCs), in addition to all of the existing ways in the current
rule. RRCs can be used to comply with Wisconsin’s
Renewable Portfolio Standards (RPS) mandate. By giving
electric providers new options for creating RRCs, but not
requiring the use of those options, the costs of complying with
the RPS mandate may decrease. Electric providers are
authorized to recover their RPS compliance costs in the rates
they charge customers and members. Thus, if an electric
provider’s RPS compliance costs are reduced, their customers
or members (including small businesses) may indirectly
benefit through reduced electric rates.

2) The proposed rule also makes it possible for a small
business (or any other customer or member of an electric
provider) to benefit more directly, if the business is using a
qualifying technology or resource to produce non−electric
energy. In such circumstances, the proposed rule allows the
electric provider to create RRCs based on energy produced by
the small business, but only with the permission of the small
business. A small business could request compensation from
the electric provider in exchange for granting permission to
create those RRCs.

This rulemaking will affect electric generating utilities
(EGUs).  Because of Wisconsin’s Renewable Portfolio
Standards mandate, renewable resources must account for a
certain percentage of an EGU’s electricity generation.  This
proposed rule expands the types of renewable resources that
may be used to create RRCs, thus making it easier for an EGU
to meet the RPS requirements.
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Fiscal Estimate

State fiscal effect
No state fiscal effect.

Local fiscal effect
No local government costs.

Fund sources affected
PRO.

Affected Chapter 20 Appropriations
20.155 (g)

Assumptions used in arriving at fiscal estimate
State Fiscal Effects
There are no estimated state fiscal effects from the

proposed changes to the Renewable Resource Credit Trading
Program rule (PSC 118).

The proposed changes to PSC 118 mainly implement
changes to state statute enacted under 2009 Wisconsin Act
406.  The proposed rule revises the definition of a renewable
resource credit to allow electric providers to use additional
credits to meet minimum renewable percentage requirements
under 196.378 (2) (a).  The proposed rule allows electric
providers to create renewable resource credits from the
electric providers’ use and/or their customers’ or members’
use of solar energy, geothermal energy, biomass, biogas,
synthetic gas created by the plasma gasification of waste,
densified fuel pellets, and fuel produced by pyrolysis of
organic or waste material, if these sources displace electricity
from conventional energy sources, as per Act 406.  The
revised rule specifies how these new sources will be certified
by the Commission, how credits from these sources will be
calculated, and that displacement of conventional energy by
these sources could be verified through an audit.  Verification
of displacement through a potential audit is consistent with
the verification processes in existing rule for existing
renewable sources.

In addition to revisions relating to Act 406, revisions to
PSC 118 allow the Commission to collaborate with other
states to purchase, as a group, program administrator services
for tracking renewable resource credits.  The proposed rule
provides the Commission the option to either contract for a
program administrator through a standard competitive
procurement, or to access program administration services
through participation in a regional renewable energy tracking
system group, such as Midwest Renewable Energy Tracking
System, Inc.  Additional revisions to PSC 118 clarify existing
code language where ambiguity or unintended consequences
in the original language have been identified.

The revised rule is not anticipated to have a state fiscal
effect because revisions to PSC 118 are not anticipated to
change state staff workload or program administrator costs.
State staff workload does not change due to the revised rule
because the rule does not add program requirements above
those established under Act 406.  Program administrator costs
are not anticipated to change because the new option of
accessing program administration services through
participation in a regional group is not anticipated to decrease
program costs.  The complexity needed in a contract to
administer either a statewide renewable resource credit
trading program or a regional program is unlikely to reduce
any one state’s share of administration costs under a group.
The rule also allows the Commission to procure for
administrative services through a competitive procurement;

so if costs for administrative services under the group are
more costly than those anticipated through a standard
procurement, the Commission has the option to use the
standard procurement and avoid additional costs.  Therefore,
the revised rule is not anticipated to have a state fiscal effect.

Local Fiscal Effects
There are no estimated local fiscal effects from the

proposed changes to PSC 118.  Local governments can be
electric providers and are subject to the rule, but the rule does
not establish new requirements; it only provides direction to
operators on how to comply with current state statutes.
Therefore, the revised rule is not estimated to have a local
fiscal effect.

Fiscal Effect for Electric Providers and Small Businesses
There is no estimated fiscal effect for electric providers.

Electric providers are already subject to the state statutes the
proposed rule implements.  The rule does not add
requirements; it only provides direction to operators on how
to comply with current state statutes.  Small Businesses are
also unlikely to experience a fiscal effect under this rule as it
is consistent with state statutes.  The rule does not change the
opportunities provided under Act 406 for small businesses to
sell renewable resource credits to utilities.  Therefore, the
revised rule is not estimated to have a fiscal effect to electric
providers or small businesses.

Long−range fiscal implications
Costs to administer a renewable resource credit trading

program could be reduced in the long term, under this rule,
because it includes an option allowing the Commission to
contract for administrative services through a regional
renewable resource credit trading program group.  If the
regional group can implement a regional renewable resource
credit trading program that is more streamlined than the
current Wisconsin system, and if the Commission can pool its
contracting resources with other states in the group, then it is
possible that, by contracting through the group for a more
streamlined program, administrative service costs will
decrease.

Text of Proposed Rule
SECTION 1.  PSC 118.02 (1) is renumbered 118.02 (1r)

and amended to read:
PSC 118.02 (1r) “Certified renewable facility” means an

electric generating facility that the commission certifies has
met the definition of a renewable facility under s. PSC 118.05.

SECTION 2.  PSC 118.02 (1) and (1g) are created to read:
118.02 (1)  “Biogas” means a gas created by the anaerobic

digestion or fermentation of biomass, food processing waste
or discarded food.

(1g) “Certified non−electric facility” means a non−electric
facility that the commission certifies under s. PSC 118.055.

SECTION 3.  PSC 118.02 (2) is amended to read:
PSC 118.02 (2) “Compliance period” means a calendar

year, beginning January 1, during which an electric provider
is required to deliver achieve a renewable energy percentage
under

s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats.
SECTION 4.  PSC 118.02 (3m) is created to read:
PSC 118.02 (3m)  “Densified fuel pellets” means pellets

made from waste material that does not include garbage, as
defined in s. 289.01 (9), Stats., and that contains no more than
30 percent fixed carbon.
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SECTION 5.  PSC 118.02 (4) is amended to read:
PSC 118.02 (4) “Designated representative” means the

person authorized by the electric provider to register a
renewable facility or non−electric facility with the program
administrator, or to purchase or sell RRCs.

SECTION 6.  PSC 118.02 (5), (5g) and (5r) are created to
read:

PSC 118.02 (5)  “Displaced conventional electricity”
means electricity derived from conventional resources that an
electric provider or a customer or member of the electric
provider would have used except that the person used instead
a certified non−electric facility that meets the requirements of
ss. PSC 118.03 and 118.04.

(5g)  “Division administrator” means the administrator of
the commission’s gas and energy division.

(5r)  “Geothermal heating and cooling installation” means
a ground source heat pump.

SECTION 7.  PSC 118.02 (6) is amended to read:
PSC 118.02 (6) “MWh” means megawatt−hour of

electricity.
SECTION 8.  PSC 118.02 (6m) and (7m) are created to

read:
PSC 118.02 (6m)  “Non−electric facility” means any of the

following when used by an electric provider or by a customer
or member of the electric provider:

(a)  A solar water heater.
(b)  A solar light pipe.
(c)  A geothermal heating and cooling installation.
(d) An installation generating thermal output from

biomass, biogas, synthetic gas, densified fuel pellets, or fuel
produced by pyrolysis.

(e)  Any other installation specified by the commission.
(7m)  “Pyrolysis” means an industrial process that heats

organic or waste material under pressure in an
oxygen−starved environment to break the material down into
gases, liquid and solid residues.

SECTION 9.  PSC 118.02 (10) is renumbered 118.02 (10)
(intro.), and amended to read:

PSC 118.02 (10) (intro.) “Renewable resource credit”
means one MWh of renewable energy from a certified
renewable facility that is physically metered with the net
generation measured at the certified renewable facility’s bus
bar, that is delivered to a retail customer with the retail sale
measured at the customer’s meter, that ignores the
transmission and distribution losses between the bus bar and
the customer’s meter, that exceeds the minimum percentage
requirement specified in s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats., and that
meets the requirements of ss. PSC 118.03 and 118.04. either
of the following:

SECTION 10.  PSC 118.02 (10) (a) and (b) are created to
read:

PSC 118.02 (10) (a)  One MWh of renewable energy from
a certified renewable facility that meets each of the following
requirements:

1. It is physically metered with the net generation measured
at the certified renewable facility’s bus bar.

2.  It is delivered to a retail customer with the retail sale
measured at the customer’s meter.

3. It ignores the transmission and distribution losses
between the bus bar and the customer’s meter.

4. It exceeds the minimum percentage requirement
specified in s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats.

5.    It meets the requirements of ss. PSC 118.03 and 118.04.
(b)  One MWh of displaced conventional electricity, as

calculated under s. PSC 118.09.
SECTION 11.  PSC 118.02 (14) to (16) are created to read:
PSC 118.02 (14)  “Solar light pipe” means a device that

concentrates and transmits sunlight through a roof to an
interior space, employing highly−reflective material inside
the device to focus and direct the maximum available sunlight
to the interior space.

(15)  “Solar water heater” means a device that concentrates
and collects solar radiation to heat water for domestic use,
pool heating, space heating, or ventilation air heating.

(16)  “Synthetic gas” means gas created by the plasma
gasification of waste.

SECTION 12.  PSC 118.025 is created to read:
PSC 118.025 Renewable resource designation.  Biogas is

a renewable resource under s. 196.378 (1) (h) 2., Stats.
SECTION 13.  PSC 118.03 (1) (intro.) and (a) are

amended to read:
PSC 118.03 (1) (intro.) An electric provider may create an

RRC for renewable energy only if the renewable facility that
is the source of the electric provider’s renewable energy meets
all of the following requirements:

(a)  The energy output of the renewable faility is physically
metered and the accuracy of the metering is subject to
verification by the program administrator or the commission.

SECTION 14.  PSC 118.03 (2) is created to read:
PSC 118.03 (2)  An electric provider may create an RRC

for conventional electricity displaced by the use of a
non−electric facility only if the non−electric facility meets all
of the following requirements:

(a)  The non−electric facility registers with, and is certified
by, the commission under s. PSC 118.055.

(b)  The non−electric facility was placed in service on or
after June 3, 2010.

(c)  The non−electric facility will replace or reduce the use
of an electric device used at the same location for the same
purpose as the non−electric facility.

(d)  Any other condition established by the commission.
SECTION 15.  PSC 118.03 (3) (b) is renumbered PSC

118.03 (3) and is amended to read:
PSC 118.03 (3)  An electric provider may only use the

renewable portion of a biomass co−fired facility’s energy
production the production from a facility using both a
renewable and conventional fuel, based on the relative energy
content of the fuels, to create RRCs in the applicable reporting
period.

SECTION 16.  PSC 118.03 (4) is created to read:
PSC 118.03 (4) (a)  An electric provider may create RRCs

for a facility that has contracted with a producer of biogas, gas
from pyrolysis, or synthetic gas for ownership of the gas and
that has sufficient contracts to deliver the gas to the facility,
according to the resulting number of MWh that the facility
generates or the amount of conventional electricity that the
facility displaces.

(b)  An electric provider may create an RRC for a facility
that satisfies par. (a) if the electric provider demonstrates all
of the following:
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1. The gas producer meters the amount of gas delivered,
using metering devices that comply with ss. PSC 134.27 and
134.28.

2. The gas producer measures the heat content of the gas at
least monthly.

3. The facility complies with sub. (1) or (2).
SECTION 17.  PSC 118.04 (1) is created to read:
PSC 118.04 (1)  For purposes of determining how long an

RRC is eligible to be used to meet an electric provider’s
minimum percentage requirement under s. 196.378 (2) (a),
Stats.:

(a)  An RRC under s. PSC 118.02 (10) (a) is created when
the renewable facility generates the renewable energy.

(b)  An RRC under s. PSC 118.02 (10) (b) is created on
December 31 of the year in which the use of the certified
non−electric facility displaces conventional electricity.

(c)  An RRC is used in the compliance period for which it
is retired, regardless of the date on which the RRC is retired
in the RRC tracking program.

SECTION 18.  PSC 118.04 (2) (e) and (g) 2. are amended
to read:

PSC 118.04 (2) (e)  Renewable energy or displaced
conventional electricity that would meet the definition of an
RRC under s. PSC 118.02 (10), except that it consists of less
than one MWh, shall constitute a fraction of an RRC.  A
fractional RRC may not be smaller than 0.01 MWh.

(g) 2.  An RRC created Renewable energy generated on or
after January 1, 2004, but produced by a renewable facility
that was placed into service before January 1, 2004, may only
be sold or used to meet an electric provider’s minimum
percentage requirement under s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats., if the
RRC used to create an RRC if the renewable energy
constituted an incremental increase in output from the
renewable facility due to capacity improvements that were
made on or after January 1, 2004, as provided in s. 196.378 (3)
(a) 2., Stats.  The RRCs described in this subdivision may not
be used after the fourth year after the year in which the credit
is created, as provided in s. 196.378 (3) (c), Stats.  If the
renewable facility was originally constructed prior to January
1, 2004, but is entirely replaced with a new and more efficient
facility, all of the output from the new facility constitutes an
incremental increase and can be used to create RRCs.

EXAMPLE:  If the renewable facility was originally
constructed prior to January 1, 2004, but is entirely replaced
with a new and more efficient facility, all of the output from
the new facility constitutes an incremental increase and can be
used to create RRCs.

SECTION 19.  PSC 118.04 (2) (g) 4. is created to read:
PSC 118.04 (2) (g) 4.  An RRC created for displaced

conventional electricity may be sold or used to meet an
electric provider’s minimum percentage requirement under s.
196.378 (2) (a), Stats.  The RRCs described in this subdivision
may not be used after the fourth year after the year in which
the credit is created, as provided in s. 196.378 (3) (c), Stats.

SECTION 20.  PSC 118.04 (5) is amended to read:
PSC 118.04 (5)  Subject to commission approval, the

program administrator may establish any  procedure
necessary to ensure that accurately record the creation, sale,
transfer, purchase and retirement of RRCs are accurately
recorded.

SECTION 21.  PSC 118.05 (1) is amended to read:

PSC 118.05 (1) (a)  An Except as provided in s. PSC
118.055, an electric provider may only use the energy of a
certified renewable facility for creation of an RRC.  The
commission shall certify renewable facilities or delegate this
responsibility to the program administrator.  Any electric
provider or owner of a renewable facility that is adversely
affected by the program administrator’s decision to certify or
not certify may protest to the commission.  Such a protest shall
be served in writing on the division administrator within 10
working days after the adversely affected person has received
notice of the program administrator’s service of the decision.
The division administrator may settle and resolve protests
brought under this paragraph.  If the protest cannot be
resolved by mutual agreement, the division administrator
shall issue a written decision.  Any person adversely affected
by the division administrator’s written decision may, within
20 working days after its issuance, appeal the decision to the
commission by alleging facts that show a violation of a
particular statute or provision of this chapter.

(b)  The program administrator may not issue an RRC
under s. PSC 118.03 (1) before the date that a renewable
facility is certified, but the program administrator may issue
an RRC for energy that a certified renewable facility produced
subsequent to the date it delivered its request for certification.

SECTION 22.  PSC 118.055 is created to read:
PSC 118.055 Certification of non−electric facilities.  (1) (a)

An electric provider may create an RRC under s. PSC 118.03
(2) based on the use of a certified non−electric facility by the
electric provider, or by a customer or member of the electric
provider, to the extent that the use displaces conventional
electricity.  The commission shall certify non−electric
facilities or delegate this responsibility to the program
administrator.  Any electric provider or owner of a
non−electric facility adversely affected by the decision to
certify or not certify may protest to the commission.  Such a
protest shall be served in writing on the division administrator
within 10 working days after service of the decision.  The
division administrator may settle and resolve protests brought
under this paragraph.  If the protest cannot be resolved by
mutual agreement, the division administrator shall issue a
written decision.  Any person adversely affected by the
division administrator’s written decision may, within 20
working days after its issuance, appeal the decision to the
commission by alleging facts that show a violation of a
particular statute or provision of this chapter.

(b)  The program administrator may not issue an RRC for
conventional electricity displaced by use of a non−electric
facility before the date that the facility is certified, but the
program administrator may issue an RRC for displaced
conventional electricity subsequent to the date that a certified
non−electric facility delivers its request for certification.

(2)  To obtain certification of a non−electric facility, the
electric provider, or a designated representative, shall provide
the following information to the commission in a format
approved by the commission:

(a)  The non−electric facility’s location, owner, technology,
and date placed in service.

(b)  Information that demonstrates the non−electric facility
meets the eligibility criteria under s. PSC 118.03.

(c)  The estimated annual amount of displaced
conventional electricity and information supporting this
estimate.

(d)  Any other information the commission determines to
be necessary.
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(e)  The electric provider’s affirmation that it has verified
all of the information in pars. (a) to (d).

(f)  If the electric provider does not own the non−electric
facility, a statement signed by the facility owner that affirms
the information in pars. (a) to (d) and permits the electric
provider to create RRCs from the facility.

(3)  The commission or the program administrator shall
inform the electric provider, or its designated representative,
whether it has certified a non−electric facility for which it has
received an application under sub. (2).

(4)  The commission may make on−site visits to any
certified unit of a non−electric facility to determine its
compliance with this chapter and with s. 196.378, Stats., may
request copies of all supporting documentation used to
comply with this section, and may decertify any unit that it
finds not to be in compliance.

(5)  Nothing in these rules obligates the owner of a
non−electric facility to permit the electric provider to create
RRCs from the facility.

SECTION 23.  PSC 118.06 (1) is amended to read:
PSC 118.06 (1)  The commission shall, using a competitive

process, contract with a program administrator who shall
operate either a statewide or a regional RRC tracking
program. do one of the following:

SECTION 24.  PSC 118.06 (1) (a) and (b) are created to
read:

PSC 118.06 (1) (a)  Using a competitive process, contract
with a program administrator who shall operate either a
statewide or a regional RRC tracking program.

(b)  Participate in a regional organization that contracts
with a program administrator who shall operate a statewide or
regional RRC tracking program.

SECTION 25.  PSC 118.06 (2) (b) and (c) (intro.) are
amended to read:

PSC 118.06 (2) (b)  Create an account for each certified
renewable facility or certified non−electric facility that
participates in the tracking program and requests a separate
account.

(c) (intro.)  Register Upon request, register each renewable
facility the commission has certified, including the following
data about the facility:

SECTION 26.  PSC 118.06 (2) (cm) and (d) 1m. are
created to read:

PSC 118.06 (2) (cm)  Upon request, register each
non−electric facility the commission has certified, including
the following data about the facility:

1.  Its electric provider’s account number.
2.  Its location, owner, technology, and date placed in

service.
3.  Its estimated annual amount of displaced conventional

electricity.
4.  Any additional data the commission deems necessary

for proper operation of the tracking program.
(d) 1m.  Issues a unique electronic certificate for each

MWh of conventional electricity displaced by a certified
non−electric facility that complies with ss. PSC 118.03 and
118.04, as calculated under s. PSC 118.09.  The certificate
shall identify which non−electric facility displaced the MWh,
when the facility operated, and any other characteristics the
commission finds necessary.

SECTION 27.  PSC 118.06 (2) (d) 3. b. is repealed.

SECTION 28.  PSC 118.06 (2) (em) is created to read:
PSC 118.06 (2) (em)  Audit registered non−electric

facilities, as needed, to verify the amount of displaced
conventional electricity.

SECTION 29.  PSC 118.06 (5) is amended to read:
PSC 118.06 (5)  The program administrator may not issue

RRCs for energy produced by a decertified renewable facility
or for conventional electricity displaced by the operation of a
decertified non−electric facility.

SECTION 30.  PSC 118.09 and 118.10 are created to read:
PSC 118.09  Calculation of displaced conventional

electricity.  (1) For each calendar year, the division
administrator shall, by order, determine the percentage of
electricity from conventional  resources for the entire state.
The division administrator shall base this determination on
the annual average mix of resources used to generate
electricity in the entire area served by the Midwest
Independent Transmission System Operator.  The division
administrator may, by order, also establish a different
percentage for a specific type of non−electric facility if its
seasonal or diurnal operating characteristics justify a
percentage that differs from the annual average percentage.

(2)  The division administrator may, by order, establish a
displacement formula for any type of non−electric facility.
The division administrator shall base any such formula on a
calculation of the minimum amount of displaced electricity
that would be expected in a typical calendar year under
realistic operating conditions.

(3)  For each calendar year, the electric provider or the user
of a non−electric facility shall determine the net amount of
electricity displaced by the non−electric facility, using either
of the following methods:

(a) 1.  The determination may be based upon site−specific
measurements and calculations of:

a.  The amount of electricity used by the non−electric
facility.

b.  The amount of electricity that would have been used for
the same purposes by the electric device that was replaced by
the non−electric facility or that was used less due to the use of
the non−electric facility.

2.  The net amount of electricity displaced by the
non−electric facility in a calendar year is equal to the amount
in subd. 1. b. minus the amount in subd. 1. a.  If this value is
less than zero, the electric provider may not create any RRCs
for the non−electric facility for that calendar year.

(b)  The determination may be based upon a current
displacement formula established under sub. (2) and any
site−specific variables necessary to calculate the formula.

(4)  The amount of conventional electricity displaced by a
non−electric facility in a calendar year is equal to the net
amount of displaced electricity determined under sub. (3),
multiplied by the applicable percentage of displaced
electricity in that calendar year that is from conventional
resources as determined under sub. (1).

(5)  The electric provider or the user of a non−electric
facility shall maintain documentation of all information used
in the determination made under sub. (3).

(6)  Determinations under sub. (3) are subject to the
commission’s review and verification.

PSC 118.10  Individual consideration.  The commission
may consider exceptional or unusual situations and may, by
order, apply different requirements to an individual facility
than those provided in this chapter.
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SECTION 31.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule takes effect
on the first day of the first month following publication in the
Wisconsin administrative register, as provided in s. 227.22
(2), Stats.

(End)

Agency Contact Person
Questions regarding this matter, including small business

questions should be directed to Docket Coordinator Preston

Schutt at (608) 266−1462 or preston.schutt@wisconsin.gov.
Media questions should be directed to Teresa
Weidemann−Smith, Communications Specialist,
Governmental and Public Affairs, at (608) 266−9600.
Hearing− or speech−impaired individuals may also use the
commission’s TTY number:  If calling from Wisconsin, use
(800) 251−8345; if calling from outside Wisconsin, use (608)
267−1479.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 10−100

(ATCP # 09−R−19)
Rule−making order revises Chapter ATCP 16, relating to

regulation of dog sellers.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 10−110

(ATCP # 9−R−13)
Rule−making order revises Chapter ATCP 30, relating to

atrazine restrictions for 2011.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 10−114

(DNR # ER−35−10)
Rule−making order revises Chapter NR 27, relating to

management of bats with White Nose Syndrome.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 10−115

(DNR # IS−41−10)

Rule−making order revises Chapter NR 40, relating control
of White Nose Syndrome.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 10−123

(DNR # IS−47−10)

Rule−making order revises Chapter NR 40, relating control
of White Nose Syndrome.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Public Service Commission
CR 08−070

(PSC # 1−AC−224)
Revises Chapter PSC 116, relating to a fuel cost rate

adjustment process for electric utility service.
Effective 3−1−11.

Public Service Commission
CR 10−057

(PSC # 1−AC−231)
Creates Chapter PSC 128, relating to Wind Energy

Systems.
Effective 3−1−11.
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Public Notices

Children and Families
Notice of Implementation of Foster Care Levels of Care

Section 48.62 (9), Stats., directs the Department of Children and Families publish a notice in the Administrative
Register when the department is ready to implement the rules promulgated under s. 48.62 (8), Stats., relating to foster
care levels of care.  The department is promulgating these rules to be effective January 1, 2011.  Statutory changes in 2009
Wisconsin Act 71, section 25, will also take effect on that date.
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