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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (3)

1. EmR1038 — Rule adopted to create section ATCP
21.21, relating to restricting the import of certain plants, wood
and wood products to prevent the introduction of thousand
cankers disease of walnut trees into this state.

Finding of emergency
(1)  Thousand cankers disease is an emerging fungal

disease that can be carried by the walnut twig beetle (the
beetle is native to this country).  The disease poses a serious
threat to black walnut trees, an important forest species in
Wisconsin.  Black walnut is known for its highly valuable
lumber, which is used for finished products such as furniture,
musical instruments and gun stocks.  There are approximately
18.5 million black walnut trees in Wisconsin, with over 13%
of them located in the southeastern part of the state.
Wisconsin businesses export over $4 million in black walnut
products annually.

(2)  Thousand cankers disease was first observed in New
Mexico in the 1990’s.  The disease has spread throughout the
western United States, causing dieback and mortality in black
walnut trees.  In July, 2010, the disease was also confirmed in
the Knoxville, Tennessee area.  The Tennessee infestation is

the first confirmed infestation east of the Mississippi River,
the native range of the black walnut tree.

(3)  Thousand cankers disease is currently known to exist
in the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada,
New Mexico, Oregon, Tennessee, Utah and Washington.  The
disease has not yet been found in Wisconsin.

(4)  Thousand cankers disease may be spread by the
movement of firewood, nursery stock, and unfinished or
untreated wood products.  It is important to restrict the import
of host materials from infested areas, to prevent the disease
from being introduced into Wisconsin.  The disease, if
introduced into Wisconsin, could cause great damage to
Wisconsin’s economically−important and environmentally
important walnut forest resource.

(5)  It is important to restrict the import of host materials
from infested areas as soon as possible.  Without this
emergency rule, host materials may be imported into
Wisconsin from infested areas without adequate safeguards to
prevent the introduction of thousand cankers disease into this
state.

(6)  It would take over a year to adopt the necessary import
restrictions by the normal rulemaking procedure prescribed in
ch. 227, Stats.  DATCP is therefore adopting this temporary
emergency rule under s. 227.24, Stats., pending the adoption
of a more “permanent” rule by the normal rulemaking
procedures.  This temporary emergency rule is necessary to
protect the public peace, health, safety and welfare, and to
help prevent the introduction of a serious plant disease in this
state, pending the adoption of a “permanent” rule by the
normal procedure.

Publication Date: November 1, 2010

Effective Dates: November 1, 2010 through
March 30, 2011

Hearing Date: January 26, 2011

2. EmR1040 — Rule adopted to create Chapter ATCP 53,
relating to agricultural enterprise areas.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
Under s. 91.84(2), the department may use the procedure

under s. 227.24 to promulgate a rule designating an
agricultural preservation area or modifying or terminating the
designation of an agricultural preservation area.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24(1)(c) and (2), a rule promulgated
under that subsection remains in effect until the department
modifies or repeals the rule.  Notwithstanding s. 227.24(1)(a)
and (3), the department is not required to determine that
promulgating a rule under that subsection as an emergency
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a
finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under that
subsection.

The department views s. 91.84(2) as authority to adopt
permanent rules that shall be published immediately in the
Wisconsin Administrative Code.

Publication Date: November 9, 2010

Effective Dates: January 1, 2011 until the 
Department modifies or 
repeals the rule
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3. EmR1048 — Rule adopted to repeal and recreate
Chapter ATCP 20, relating to seed labeling and sales.

Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to sections 93.07(1) and 94.45(6), Stats.  This

emergency rule is also adopted pursuant to the nonstatutory
provision in 2009 Wis. Act 28, section 9103(3).

2009 Wis. Act 28 repealed outdated seed standards
effective January 1, 2011, and authorized DATCP to adopt
new standards by rule.  A non−statutory provision, contained
in section 9103(3) of Act 28, authorized DATCP to adopt
interim rules by the emergency rulemaking procedure under
s. 227.24, Stats., without a finding of emergency.  Under this
non−statutory provision, the interim rules may remain in
effect until July 1, 2011 or until the effective date of proposed
“permanent” seed rules, whichever date is earlier.

Publication Date: January 1, 2011

Effective Dates: January 1, 2011 through
July 1, 2011

Hearing Date: January 11, 2011

Children and Families (2)
Safety and Permanence, Chs. DCF 37−59

1. EmR1034 — Rule adopted to create sections DCF
57.485 and 57.49 (1) (am), relating to determination of need
for new group homes.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 14m (b) of 2009 Wisconsin Act 335 provides that

the department is not required to provide evidence that
promulgating a rule under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency.

Section 14m (b) also provides that notwithstanding s.
227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats., an emergency rule promulgated
under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., remains in effect until the
permanent rules promulgated under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., take
effect.

Publication Date: September 2, 2010

Effective Dates: September 2, 2010 through
the date permanent rules
become effective

Hearing Date: October 21, 2010

2. EmR1050 — Rule adopted to repeal Chapter DCF 38
and revise Chapter DCF 56, relating to foster care.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Children and Families finds that an

emergency exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety,
or welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency
is:

In the Child and Family Services Review of Wisconsin’s
child welfare system this past year, the federal Administration
for Children and Families found that Wisconsin is not
operating in substantial conformity with a number of federal
requirements.  In response to this review, the department has
submitted a program improvement plan that commits the
department to complete implementation of the levels of care

system and the child assessment tool throughout the first
quarter of 2011.  Implementation must begin immediately to
meet this deadline and subsequent dependent deadlines in the
remaining 2 years of the program improvement plan.

Publication Date: January 1, 2011

Effective Dates: January 1, 2011 through
May 30, 2011

Hearing Dates: February 8, 15, 28, 2011

Commerce (4)
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 100—

1. EmR1019 —Rule adopted to create Chapter Comm
135, relating to tax credits for investments in food processing
plants and food warehouses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of public welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows.  Under
sections 71.07 (3rm), 71.28 (3rm) and 71.47 (3rm) of the
Statutes, as created in 2009 Wisconsin Act 295, a taxpayer
may claim a tax credit for investments in food processing
plants and food warehouses during taxable years beginning
after December 31, 2009.

Section 560.2056 (4) of the Statutes, as likewise created in
2009 Wisconsin Act 295, requires the Department to (1)
implement a program for certifying taxpayers as eligible for
the food processing plant and food warehouse investment
credit, (2) determine the amount of credits to allocate to those
taxpayers, and (3) in consultation with the Department of
Revenue, promulgate rules to administer the program.  No
other provisions are established in the Statutes regarding the
specific process for taxpayers to use in applying for the
credits, and for the Department of Commerce to use in
certifying eligible taxpayers and in allocating the credits.

Because of enactment of 2009 Wisconsin Act 295, a number
of entities that may be eligible for the tax credits have contacted
the Department with inquiries concerning the process for
applying for the credits, for expenditures that have been or will
be incurred during taxable years that began after December 31,
2009.  In addition, section 71.07 (3rm) of the Statutes includes
a $1,000,000 tax−credit allocation that became available on
May 27, 2010, and expires on June 30, 2010.

Although the Department of Commerce has begun
promulgating the permanent rule that is required by 2009 Act
295, the time periods in chapter 227 of the Statutes for
promulgating permanent rules preclude the permanent rule
from becoming effective in time to accommodate allocating
the tax credits for the 2009−10 fiscal year.  This emergency
rule will enable the Department of Commerce to establish an
application, certification, and tax credit allocation process for
the entities that will be eligible for the allocation that expires
on June 30, 2010.

Publication Date: June 8, 2010

Effective Dates: June 8, 2010 through
November 4, 2010

Extension Through: March 11, 2011

Hearing Date: August 17, 2010
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2. EmR1026 — Rule adopted creating Chapter Comm
139, relating to rural outsourcing grants.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by Section 45 (1) (b) of 2009 Wisconsin

Act 265, exempts the Department from providing evidence
that this emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare; and exempts the
Department from providing a finding of emergency for the
adoption of this rule.

Publication Date: July 2, 2010

Effective Dates: July 2, 2010 through
November 28, 2010

Extension Through: March 28, 2011
Hearing Date: October 13, 2010

3. EmR1041 — Rule adopted creating Chapter Comm
103, relating to certification of disabled−veteran−owned
businesses, and affecting small businesses.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by SECTION 101 (1) in 2009 Wisconsin

Act 299, exempts the Department from providing evidence
that this emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare; and exempts the
Department from providing a finding of emergency for the
adoption of this rule.

Publication Date: November 14, 2010
Effective Dates: November 14, 2010 through

           (corrected)                    April 12, 2011
Hearing Date: February 15, 2011

4. EmR1044 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter Comm
139, relating to rural outsourcing grants.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by SECTION 45 (1) (b) of 2009

Wisconsin Act 265, exempts the Department from providing
evidence that this emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety or welfare; and
exempts the Department from providing a finding of
emergency for the adoption of this rule.

Publication Date: November 28, 2010
Effective Dates: November 28, 2010 through

April 26, 2011
Hearing Date: February 16, 2011

Government Accountability Board

EmR1049 — Rule adopted to amend section GAB 1.28,
relating to the definition of the term “political purpose.”

Finding of Emergency
The Government Accountability Board amends s. GAB

1.28(3)(b), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the definition of the
term “political purpose.”  Section GAB 1.28 as a whole
continues to clarify the definition of “political purposes”
found in s. 11.01(16)(a)1., Stats., but repeals the second
sentence of s. GAB 1.28(3)(b) which prescribes
communications presumptively susceptible of no reasonable
interpretation other than as an appeal to vote for or against a
specific candidate.

This amendment to s. GAB 1.28(3)(b) is to the rule that was
published on July 31, 2010 and effective on August 1, 2010,
following a lengthy two year period of drafting, internal
review and study, public comment, Legislative review, and
consideration of U.S. Supreme Court decisions.  Within the
context of ch. 11, Stats, s. GAB 1.28 provides direction to
persons intending to engage in activities for political purposes
with respect to triggering registering and reporting
obligations under campaign financing statutes and
regulations.  In addition, the rule provides more information
for the public so that it may have a more complete
understanding as to who is supporting or opposing which
candidate or cause and to what extent, whether directly or
indirectly.

Pursuant to §227.24, Stats., the Government
Accountability Board finds an emergency exists as a result of
pending litigation against the Board and two decisions by the
United States Supreme Court:  Federal Election Commission
(FEC) v. Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc. (WRTL II), 550 U.S. 549
(2007) and Citizens United v. FEC, 558 U.S. ___, (No.
08−205)(January 21, 2010).  Following the effective date of
the August 1, 2010 rule, three lawsuits were filed seeking a
declaration that the rule was unconstitutional and beyond the
Board’s statutory authority: one in the U.S. District Court for
the Western District of Wisconsin, one in the U.S. District
Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin, and one in the
Wisconsin Supreme Court.  On August 13, 2010, the
Wisconsin Supreme Court temporarily enjoined enforcement
of the August 1, 2010 rule, pending further order by the Court.

In the lawsuit in the U.S. District Court for the Western
District of Wisconsin, the parties previously executed a joint
stipulation asking the Court to permanently enjoin application
and enforcement of the second sentence of s. GAB 1.28(3)(b).
On October 13, 2010, the Court issued an Opinion and Order
denying that injunction request.  In denying the injunction, the
Court noted that “G.A.B. has within its own power the ability
to refrain from enforcing, or removing altogether, the
offending sentence from a regulation G.A.B. itself created”
and emphasized that “removing the language—for example,
by G.A.B. issuing an emergency rule—would be far more
‘simple and expeditious’ than asking a federal court to
permanently enjoin enforcement of the offending regulation.”
Wisconsin Club for Growth, Inc. v. Myse, No. 10−CV−427,
slip op. at 2 (W.D. Wis. Oct. 13, 2010).  The Court further
noted that staying the case would give the Board time to
resolve some or all of the pending issues through further
rulemaking.  Id., slip op. at 14.

In addition, the Board, through its litigation counsel, has
represented to the Wisconsin Supreme Court that it does not
intend to defend the validity of the second sentence of s. GAB
1.28(3)(b) and that it would stipulate to the entry of an order
by that Court permanently enjoining the application or
enforcement of that sentence.

This amendment brings s. GAB 1.28(3)(b) into conformity
with the above stipulation, with the representations that have
been made to the Wisconsin Supreme Court, and with the
suggestions made in the October 13, 2010, Opinion and Order
of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of
Wisconsin.  The Board finds that the immediate adoption of
this amendment will preserve the public peace and welfare by
providing a simple and expeditious clarification of the
meaning of s. GAB 1.28 for litigants, for the regulated
community, and for the general public and by doing so in
advance of the 2011 Spring Election and any other future
elections.



Page 8 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 663 March 31, 2011

Publication Date: January 7, 2011
Effective Dates: January 7, 2011 through

June 5, 2011
Hearing Date: February 16, 2011

Insurance (3)

1. EmR1042 — Rule to create section Ins 3.35, relating to
colorectal cancer screening coverage and affecting small
business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Beginning December 1, insurers offering disability
insurance policies and self−insured governmental plans are
required to offer coverage for colorectal cancer screening.  In
order to ensure there is no gap in coverage the office needs to
promulgate guidance as directed s. 632.895 (16m) (d), Stats.,
in advance of the initial implementation date.

Publication Date: November 29, 2010
Effective Dates: November 29, 2010 through

April 27, 2011
Hearing Date: January 25, 2011

2. EmR1043 — Rule to amend section Ins 3.37 (1) to (5)
(intro);  and to create sections Ins 3.37 (2m), (3m), (4m) and
(5m), and 3.375, relating to health insurance coverage of
nervous and mental disorders and substance use disorders,
and affecting small business.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by s. 632.89 (4) (b) 2., Stats., provides an

exemption from a finding of emergency for adoption of the
rule.  Section 632.89 (4) (b) 2., Stats., reads as follows:

632.89 (4) (b) 2.  Using the procedure under s. 227.24, the
commissioner may promulgate the rules under subd. 1., for
the period before the effective date of any permanent rules
promulgated under subd.1., but not to exceed the period
authorized under 227.24 (1) (c) and (2).  Notwithstanding s.
227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3), the commissioner is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating a rule under
this subdivision as an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and
is not required to make a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated under this subdivision.

Publication Date: November 29, 2010
Effective Dates: November 29, 2010 through

April 27, 2011
Hearing Date: January 25, 2011

3. EmR1101— Rule adopted to revise section Ins 6.07 (4)
and (9), relating to readability and electronic access to
insurance policies and affecting small business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows: the
cost of implementing the Flesch scores and electronic access
to policies significantly exceeded anticipated costs for the

insurance industry; a review of state resources indicates
insufficient staff to timely review the volume of health
insurance policy filings resulting from the flesch score
requirement; and it is anticipated the federal department of
Health and Human Services (“HHS”) will use National
Association of Insurance Commissioners recommendations
for the development of standards for a uniform summary of
benefits and coverage explanation for all potential
policyholders and enrollees.  Repealing these provisions now
before costly system overhauls will save both the industry and
the state significant resources.  Further, although it was
anticipated that the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners was planning to implement a national
readability standard, such movement has stalled negating the
amendment to prior Flesch readability scores.

The changes contained in this emergency rule will restore
prior standards and ease financial constraints for the insurance
industry.

Publication Date: February 9, 2011
Effective Dates: February 9, 2011 through

July 8, 2011

Natural Resources (3)
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

1. EmR1036 — Rule adopted to create section NR 40.04 (2)
(g) relating to the identification, classification and control of
invasive species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: September 29, 2010
Effective Dates: September 29, 2010

through: See bold text above
Hearing Dates: October 25 to 29, 2010

2. EmR1039 (DNR # IS−49−10(E)) — Rule adopted to
create sections NR 40.02 (7g), (7r), (25m), (28m) and
(46m), 40.04 (3m) and 40.07 (8) relating to the identification,
classification and control of invasive bat species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
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procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: November 3, 2010
Effective Dates: November 3, 2010 through

See bold text above

Hearing Date: November 29, 2010

3. EmR1045 (DNR # IS−07−11(E))— Rule to repeal
section NR 40.02 (28m); to amend section NR 40.04 (3m),
and to repeal and recreate section NR 40.07 (8), (all as
created by Natural Resource Board emergency order
EmR1039, DNR # IS−49−10(E)), relating to the
identification, classification and control of invasive species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: December 13, 2010

Effective Dates: December 13, 2010 through
See bold text above

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control,

Chs. NR 400—

EmR1046 (DNR # AM−48−10(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an emergency order to
amend section NR 407.02 (4) (b) (intro.), and Table 3 in
407.05 (5) and to create sections NR 400.02 (74m), 400.03
(3) (om), and (4) (go) and (ki), 405.02 (28m), 405.07 (9),
407.02 (8m) and 407.075, relating to major source permitting
thresholds for sources of greenhouse gas emissions and
affecting small business.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect

the public welfare.  Preservation of the public welfare
necessitates putting the forgoing rules into effect prior to the
time that it would take if the Department complied with
normal procedures.

On April 1, 2010, the U.S. EPA promulgated the first
emission standard for gases contributing to climate change,
i.e., greenhouse gases or GHG, which will become effective
on January 2, 2011.  While these standards target automobile
emissions, under the Clean Air Act, this action will
unintentionally subject stationary sources across the country
to complex prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) and
Title V permitting and emission control requirements. U.S.
EPA attempted to mitigate this unintended effect by
promulgating additional rules, which became effective on
June 3, 2010, limiting applicability of the permitting
requirements.  However, Wisconsin sources will not be
affected by the new U.S. EPA rules since existing state statute
and administrative code do not contain the same applicability
limiting provisions.  State rules consistent with those at the
federal level must be in effect on January 2, 2011 in order to
provide the relief U.S. EPA intended for Wisconsin sources.
Without these proposed emergency rules, many sources,
including municipal landfills, hospitals, asphalt plants,
wastewater treatment plants, small wood fired boilers and
agricultural digesters, will be considered major emissions
sources of GHG, and therefore subject to the permit and
emission control requirements for GHG.  These permit and
control requirements were never intended or designed to
address the type or size of sources that could now be affected.
Without the proposed changes, the existing rules would have
the potential to overwhelm DNR permitting staff, divert
resources away from significant environmental issues, and
delay issuance of construction permits for critical projects for
expanding businesses.

Therefore, the Department finds that the proposed
emergency rules are necessary and appropriate for the
preservation of the public welfare.

Publication Date: December 15, 2010

Effective Dates: December 15, 2010 through
May 15, 2011

Hearing Date: January 21, 2011

Public Instruction

EmR1051 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PI 46,
relating to training requirements for individuals
administering nonprescription and prescription drug products
to pupils.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

Section 118.29 (6), Stats., requires the department to
approve training in administering nonprescription drug
products and prescription drugs.  The statute also specifies
that no school bus driver, employee, or volunteer may
administer a nonprescription drug product or prescription
drug, use an epinephrine auto−injector, or administer
glucagon unless he or she has received such training.  Because
the statutory requirement becomes effective March 1, 2011,
administrative rules must be in place as soon as possible so
that training programs can be established prior to the effective
date of the statutes.
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Publication Date: December 28, 2010
Effective Dates: December 28, 2010 through

May 26, 2011
Hearing Date: January 12, 2011

Regulation and Licensing (5)

1. EmR0827 — Rule adopted creating section RL 91.01 (3)
(k), relating to training and proficiency in the use of
automated external defibrillators for certification as a
massage therapist or bodyworker.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Dates: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Dates: November 26, 2008
April 13, 2009

2. EmR0828 — Rules adopted to amend section RL 181.01
(2) (c); and to create sections RL 180.02 (1m), (3m) and (11),
181.01 (1) (d), (2) (c) 1. and 2., relating to training and
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators for
licensure as a licensed midwife.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Dates: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Date: November 26, 2008

3. EmR1031 — Rule adopted revising Chapters RL 110 to
116, relating to the regulation of professional boxing contests.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Department of Regulation and Licensing, pursuant to

2009 Wisconsin Act 111, is not required to provide evidence
that an emergency exists nor provide evidence that
promulgating a rule is necessary for the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety, or welfare.

Publication Date: August 25, 2010
Effective Dates: September 1, 2010 through

January 28, 2011
Extension Through: March 29, 2011
Hearing Date: September 20, 2010

4. EmR1032 — Rule adopted creating Chapters RL 192 to
196, relating to the regulation of mixed martial arts sporting
events.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Department of Regulation and Licensing, pursuant to

2009 Wisconsin Act 111, is not required to provide evidence
that an emergency exists nor provide evidence that
promulgating a rule is necessary for the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety, or welfare.

Publication Date: August 26, 2010
Effective Dates: September 1, 2010 through

January 28, 2011
Extension Through: March 29, 2011
Hearing Date: September 20, 2010

5. EmR1102 — Rule adopted creating Chapters RL 200 to
202, relating to governing professional conduct of individuals
licensed as sign language interpreters, and for the treatment of
state resident licensure exemption requests.
Finding of Emergency

2009 Wisconsin Act 360 created laws regulating the
practice of sign language interpreting, and became effective
on December 1, 2010.  Under the act, codified at s. 440.032,
Stats., individuals practicing as sign language interpreters
must now be licensed by the department, and must comply
with a code of professional conduct to be promulgated by the
department.  The new law also provides for exemptions from
the licensure requirement under certain circumstances, and
requires the council to promulgate rules establishing the
criteria and procedures for granting state resident exemptions.
As s. 440.032, Stats., is already in effect, an emergency rule
is necessary to implement the law pending promulgation of a
similar permanent rule.

Publication Date: March 16, 2011
Effective Dates: March 16, 2011 through

August 12, 2011

Regulation and Licensing — 
Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board

EmR1047 — Rule adopted to revise Chapters BC 9 and 11,
relating to late renewal and continuing education.
Finding of Emergency

The rule as currently promulgated fails to adequately
protect the public to the extent that several provisions are
underdeveloped, ambiguous or silent.  As a result,
inconsistent interpretations and contradictory information
has led to significant confusion within the profession.  Given
that the rules require licensees to comply by March 31, 2011,
the errors and omissions need to be addressed immediately so
licensees can receive adequate training to provide safe and
competent services to the public, and comply with the
requirements for renewal of a license.

Publication Date: December 23, 2010
Effective Dates: December 23, 2010 through

May 21, 2011
Hearing Date: April 4, 2011
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Scope Statements

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

Subject
Revises Chapter NR 10, related to the bobcat hunting and

trapping season.

Policy Analysis
Through this rulemaking, the department will evaluate

whether the bobcat hunting and trapping season should
remain split into two separate time periods, if it should revert
back to a single, straight season framework, or if the trial
period should be extended in order to allow additional
evaluation.

In 2010 and 2011, the bobcat season is split into two
separate permit periods: the Saturday nearest Oct. 17 − Dec.
25 and Dec. 26 to Jan 31.  Beginning in 2012, the season
reverts back to a single permit period beginning on the
Saturday nearest October 17 and continuing through
December 31.

During this rule making process, impacts of the split bobcat
season framework and public opinion will be evaluated.  If
there is support, this rule proposal would make the split season
framework permanent.  If a return to the single, straight
season framework is desired, this proposal would make
routine housekeeping changes to strike the 2010 and 2011
seasons from administrative code language.  If there is not
enough information for a complete evaluation, an extension
of the trial season could be proposed.

Statutory Authority
Sections 29.011, 29.014 and 29.192 (4), Wis. Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife

resources located within their boundaries provided they do
not conflict with regulations established in the Federal
Register.  None of these rule changes violate or conflict with
the provisions established in the Federal Code of Regulations.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Groups likely to be impacted or interested in this

rulemaking are bobcat hunters and trappers, including
members of groups such as the Wisconsin Trappers
Association, Bear Hunters Association, Wildlife Federation,
and the Conservation Congress.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
144 hours.

Agency Contact
Scott Loomans, 101 S Webster St., Madison, WI 53707,

(608) 267−2452, scott.loomans@wisonsin.gov.
John Olson, 2501 Golf Course Road, Ashland, WI 54806,

(715) 685−2934, johnf.olson@wisconsin.gov.

Regulation and Licensing —
Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy

Affiliated Credentialing Board

Subject
Revisions to Chapters RL 90 to 94 necessary following

2009 Wisconsin Act 355, including the temporary permit
issued by the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy
Affiliated Credentialing Board.

Objective of the Rule
Make any necessary changes to the Massage Therapy and

Bodywork Therapy rules as a result of 2009 Wisconsin Act
355.  Establish the requirements to be satisfied by a person
seeking a temporary license to practice massage therapy and
bodywork therapy.

Policy Analysis
Wis. Stat. s. 460.04 (2) (f) requires the person to be a

graduate of a massage therapy or bodywork therapy school or
program and may require the holder of a temporary license to
make disclosures to clients and to practice under the
supervision of a licensed massage therapist or bodywork
therapist.  The temporary license period may not exceed 6
months.

Statutory Authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 460.04 (2), 460.08, Wis. Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
None.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Graduates of a massage therapy or bodywork therapy

school, licensed massage therapists or bodywork therapist
supervisors, massage therapy and bodywork therapy schools
or programs, Wisconsin Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
It is estimated that 200 hours will be needed to promulgate

the rule.
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Insurance
CR 11−015

On March 15, 2011, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule revises Chapter Ins 17, relating to annual
Injured Patients and Families Compensation Fund fees,
mediation panel fees, and provider classifications.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held April 13, 2011.

Contact Information
Inger Williams, Public Information and Communications
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
Phone: (608) 264−8110
OR
Theresa Wedekind, Legal Unit
Phone: (608) 266−0953
Email: Theresa.Wedekind@wisconsin.gov

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1 —

CR 11−012

(DNR # FR−45−10)

On March 8, 2011, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule creates Chapter NR 46, relating to
Administrative changes to the Managed Forest Law Program.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held April 13, 2011.  The
Department’s Forest Tax Program is responsible for
promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information
Kathryn J. Nelson
Forest Tax Program and Policy Chief
101 S. Webster Street
Madison, WI 53707−7921
Phone: (608) 266−3545

Regulation and Licensing
CR 11−018

On March 16, 2011, the Department of Regulation and
Licensing submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
This proposed rule creates Chapters RL 200 to 202, relating

to the licensure of sign language interpreters, establishing a
code of conduct and a process and the criteria for granting
licensure exemptions to state residents.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 3,
2011 at 9 a.m. at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 121A,
Madison, Wisconsin (enter at 55 North Dickinson Street).

Contact Information
Kris Anderson, Paralegal
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Division of Board Services
Phone: (608) 261−2385
Email: Kristine1.Anderson@wisconsin.gov

Regulation and Licensing
Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional

Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors
Examining Board

CR 11−014

On March 11, 2011, the Examining Board of Architects,
Landscape Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and
Land Surveyors submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule creates Chapter A−E 13, relating to

continuing education for professional engineers.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on April 19,
2011 at 1:30pm at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room
121A, Madison, Wisconsin (enter at 55 North Dickinson
Street).

Contact Information
Kris Anderson, Paralegal
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Division of Board Services
Phone: (608) 261−2385
Email: Kristine1.Anderson@wisconsin.gov
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Regulation and Licensing —
Hearing and Speech Examining Board

CR 11−017

On March 15, 2011, the Hearing and Speech Examining
Board submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule−making order revises Chapter HAS 8,
relating to continuing education.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on April 25,
2011 at 1:15pm at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room
121A, Madison, Wisconsin (enter at 55 North Dickinson
Street).

Contact Information
Sharon Henes, Paralegal
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Division of Board Services
Phone: (608) 261−2377
Email: Sharon.Henes@wisconsin.gov

Regulation and Licensing —
Radiography Examining Board

CR 11−016
On March 15, 2011, the Radiography Examining Board

submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule−making order creates Chapter RAD 1 to
5, relating to establishing the standards for courses of study,
examinations, continuing education and the code of ethics for
the newly created radiographer license and limited x−ray
machine operator permit (LXMO).
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 10,
2011 at 9:15am at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room
121C, Madison, Wisconsin (enter at 55 North Dickinson
Street).
Contact Information

Sharon Henes, Paralegal
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Division of Board Services
Phone: (608) 261−2377
Email: Sharon.Henes@wisconsin.gov
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing

Insurance
CR 11−015

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the
authority granted under section 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in under section 227.18, Stats., OCI will
hold a public hearing to consider the adoption of the attached
proposed rulemaking order revising Chapter Ins 17 Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to annual injured patients and families
compensation fund fees, mediation panel fees, and provider
classifications.

Hearing Information

Date and Time Location
April 13, 2011 OCI
Wednesday Room 227, 2nd Floor
at 10:00 A.M. 125 South Webster Street

Madison, WI 53703

Submittal of Written Comments
Written comments can be mailed to:

Theresa L. Wedekind
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 1701
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:

Theresa L. Wedekind
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 1701
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:

Theresa L. Wedekind
theresa.wedekind@wisconsin.gov

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin
Administrative Rule Web site at: http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
7th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule

A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,
analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Public Information and
Communications, OCI, at: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov,
(608) 264−8110, 125 South Webster Street – 2nd Floor,
Madison WI or PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statute(s) interpreted
Sections 655.27 (3), and 655.61, Wis. Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 601.41 (3), 655.004, 655.27 (3) (b), and 655.61,

Wis Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The commissioner of insurance, with the approval of the

board of governors (board) of the injured patients and families
compensation fund (fund), is required to establish by
administrative rule the annual fees which participating health
care providers must pay to the fund and the annual fee due for
the operation of the medical mediation panel.

Related statute or rule
None.

Plain language analysis
This rule establishes the fees that participating health care

providers must pay to the fund for the fiscal year beginning
July 1, 2011.  These fees represent a 8.5% increase from fees
paid for the 2010−11 fiscal year.  The board approved these
fees at its meeting on February 16, 2011, based on the
recommendation of the board’s actuarial and underwriting
committee and reports of the fund’s actuaries.

This rule includes additions to the Insurance Services
Office (ISO) code listing to address new classification
specialties.  ISO codes are the numerical designation for a
health care provider’s specialty and are used to classify the
provider for assessment purposes.

The board is also required to promulgate by rule the annual
fees for the operation of the injured patients and families
compensation mediation system, based on the
recommendation of the director of state courts.  The
recommendation of the director of state courts was reviewed
by the board’s actuarial and underwriting committee.  This
rule implements the funding level approved by the board by
establishing mediation panel fees for the next fiscal year at
$25.00 for physicians and $5.00 per occupied bed for
hospitals, representing a decrease of $3.00 per physician and
a decrease of $1.00 per occupied bed for hospitals from
2010−11 fiscal year mediation panel fees.

Comparison with existing or proposed federal regulations
To the fund board’s and OCI’s knowledge there is no

existing or proposed federal regulation that is intended to
address patient compensation fund rates, administration or
activities.

Comparison with similar rules in adjacent states
To the fund board’s and OCI’s knowledge there are no

similar rules in the adjacent states to compare this rule to as
none of adjacent states have a patients compensation fund
created by statute where rates are directed to be established
yearly by rule as is true in Wisconsin.
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Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

None.  This rule establishes annual fund fees pursuant to
the requirements of the above−noted Wisconsin statutes.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business or in preparation of an economic impact
report

This increase in fund fees will have an effect on some small
businesses in Wisconsin, particularly those that employ
physicians and other health care professionals.  The mediation
panel fee is assessed only on physicians and hospitals, not on
corporations or other health care entities.  The fund fee
increases will affect only those small businesses that pay the
fund fees and mediation panel fees on behalf of their
employed physicians.  However, the fund fee increase will not
have a significant effect nor should it negatively affect the
small business’s ability to compete with other providers.

Effect on Small Business

This rule will have little or no effect on small businesses.
The increase contained in the proposed rule will require
providers to pay an increased fund fee which will increase the
operational expenses for the providers.  However, this
increase is not considered to be significant and will have no
effect on the provider’s competitive abilities.

Small business regulatory coordinator

The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and
may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov.

Fiscal Estimate

Assumptions used in arriving at fiscal estimate

The Injured Patients and Families Compensation Fund
(IPFCF or Fund) is a segregated fund.  Annual Fund fees are
established to become effective each July 1 based the Fund’s
needs for payment of medical malpractice claims.  The
proposed fees were approved by the Fund’s Board of
Governors at its February 16, 2011, meeting and represent an
increase of 8.5% over fiscal year 2011 fund fees.

The Fund is a unique fund; there are no other funds like it
in the country.  The Fund provides unlimited liability
coverage and participation is mandatory.  These two features
make this Fund unique compared to funds in other states.  The
only persons who will be affected by this rule change are the
Fund participants themselves as the IPFCF is fully funded
through assessments paid by Fund participants.

There is no effect on GPR.

State fiscal effect: None.  Fund sources affected: SEG.

Local fiscal effect: No local government costs.

Long−range fiscal implications: None.

Private sector fiscal analysis

The increase in fees promulgated by this rule does not
result in a significant fiscal effect on the private sector.
Although a health care provider may pass this increase on to
its patients, there will not be a significant fiscal effect on the
private sector as a result of this proposed rule.

Agency Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the Web site
at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting Inger
Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor, Madison

                   WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1 —
CR 11−013

(DNR # FR−45−10)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to sections
227.16 and 227.17, Stats, the Department of Natural
Resources, hereinafter the Department, will hold a public
hearing on changes to Chapter NR 46 regarding
administration of the Managed Forest Law program on the
date(s) and at the time(s) and location(s) listed below.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held on:

Date and Time Location
April 13, 2011 Marathon County Public Library
Wednesday First Floor Meeting Room 
at 10:00 A.M. 300 N. 1st Street

Wausau, WI 54403
Reasonable accommodations, including the provision of

informational material in an alternative format, will be
provided for qualified individuals with disabilities upon
request.  Contact Kathryn J. Nelson in writing at the
Department of Natural Resources, Forest Tax Program (FR/4)
101 S Webster, Madison, WI 53707; by E−mail to
Kathryn.Nelson@Wisconsin.gov ; or by calling (608)
266−3545.  A request must include specific information and
be received at least 10 days before the date of the scheduled
hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule
The proposed rule and supporting documents, including

the fiscal estimate, may be viewed and downloaded from the
Administrative Rules System Web site which can be accessed
through the link: https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/
public/Home.  Use your Search feature to find the rule.  You
may want to search for NR 46, MFL, or forestry.  Scroll down
to find the rules under Permanent Rules Under Promulgation.

If you do not have Internet access, a printed copy of the
proposed rule and supporting documents, including the fiscal
estimate, may be obtained free of charge by contacting
Kathryn J. Nelson, Department of Natural Resources, Forest
Tax Program (FR/4), 101 S. Webster St, Madison, WI, 53703,
or by calling (608) 266−3545.

Submittal of Written Comments
Comments on the proposed rule must be received on or

before April 22, 2010.  Written comments may be submitted
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by U.S. mail, fax, E−mail, or through the Internet and will
have the same weight and effect as oral statements presented
at the public hearing.  Written comments and any questions on
the proposed rules should be submitted to:

Kathryn J. Nelson
Department of Natural Resources
Forest Tax Program
101 S Webster St.
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 266−3545
Fax: (608) 266−8576
E−mail: Kathryn.Nelson@wisconsin.gov

Analysis Prepared by Department of Natural Resources

Statute(s) interpreted

Subchs. I and VI, Ch. 77, Stats.

Statutory authority

Sections 227.11 (2) (a), 77.82 (2m) (a) and (am), (3) (am)
and (g), (4), Stats. and generally subchs. I and VI, Ch. 77,
Stats.

Plain language analysis

Repeal Subchapter II regarding the Woodland Tax Law and
references to Woodland Tax Law throughout NR 46:  The
Woodland Tax Law was a private landowner incentive
program that allowed participants to pay reduced property tax
while they grew trees for harvest.  A management plan was
developed for each parcel enrolled in the program that
required harvesting of timber.  Enrollment in Woodland Tax
Law was for a 15 year period.  Woodland Tax Law was
repealed when the Managed Forest Law was enacted in 1985.
The last Woodland Tax Law contacts expired on December
31, 2000.  Repealing of this subchapter will eliminate wording
in NR 46 for a program that no longer exists.  There are no
negative impacts to existing participants under Managed
Forest Law or Forest Crop Law.  Forest landowners wishing
to enroll in a forestry tax incentive program may enroll in
Managed Forest Law.

Amend the definition of “incompatible with existing uses of
the land.”  Lands that are considered incompatible with the
production of timber products include those lands within a
recorded subdivision plat defined under s. 236.02 (12), Stats.
or other division of land recorded under s. 236.03 (1), Stats.
This proposal eliminates an exception to allow for uniform
interpretation and implementation of the rule.  Lands that are
divided as a subdivision plat are largely held for the purpose
of providing land for housing development and do not easily
allow for management of forested lands for timber products.
Forest Crop Law lands that had subdivision plats created after
enrollment into the Forest Crop Law program would no
longer be allowed to enroll in Managed Forest Law unless the
subdivision plat is vacated under Subchapter VIII, Section
236, Stats. even if there had been no sale of individual
subdivision plat lots.  There are no lands enrolled under
Woodland Tax Law, so provisions relating to this program are
no longer pertinent.

Repeal the definition of “management plan packet.”  2009
Wisconsin Act 365 required that Managed Forest Law
applications must include all supporting documents,
including a management plan, map, forest reconnaissance
data, property ownership documents (deeds, land contracts,
etc.), tax statement, certified survey maps, and application
fee, including a remittance form to properly deposit the

application fee.  A “management plan packet” is an obsolete
phrase since passage of 2009 Wisconsin Act 365.  The
proposal is to eliminate this phrase from NR 46.

Amend the wording of NR 46 to replace “petition” and
“petitioner” with “application” and “applicant.”   2009
Wisconsin Act 365 replaced the words “petition” with
“application,” and “petitioner” with “applicant.”  The
proposal is that NR 46 would use the same wording as in
statute.

Amend the application dates and requirements. 2009
Wisconsin Act 365 replaced the March 31, May 15 and July
1 application deadlines with a June 1 application deadline.
The statutory change also required that management plans
need to be submitted with the application.  Independent
certified plan writers would continue to provide application
and management plan development service to landowners.
DNR foresters provide these services in situations where
services from independent certified plan writers are not
available.  Proposed changes to NR 46 would make all dates
and requirements for Managed Forest Law applications
consistent with new statutory language.

Amend MFL application fees.  Recording fees at local
register of deeds offices have increased to $30.00 per
document.  The department is required to collect the cost of
recording Managed Forest Law documents from landowners
as an application fee.  The proposal is to increase the
application fee from $20 to $30 per county for each
application.

Repeal NR 46 wording requirements in application forms
and management plans.  NR 46 currently lists wording
requirements to be used on the application and management
plan regarding building characteristics and management
plans.  Application forms are required to have certain
information regarding building characteristics and wording in
management plans for landowners to acknowledge that
violations of the building requirements may cause lands to be
withdrawn from the Managed Forest Law program.  These
specific wording requirements were inserted into NR 46 at a
time when the building provisions were new, however these
building provisions have been in effect since 1998.  The
proposal is to remove the wording requirements from NR 46
so that no one statutory or administrative code provision is
highlighted over and above other provisions of the Managed
Forest Law.

Amend the certified plan writer program certification
requirements.  The department has amended its training
requirements according to the skills and training needs of
students.  NR 46 states the homework required for plan writer
certification.  Proposed amendments to NR 46 eliminate the
specific homework requirements to allow the department to
better meet student training needs.

Amend reporting dates as a result of new application
deadlines provided for in 2009 Wisconsin Act 365.  Deadlines
for certified plan writers to report management plan cost data
must be adjusted in order to have new costs available for use
for the new Managed Forest Law application dates.  The NR
46 proposal will be to move the dates to collect cost data to be
one month earlier from May 31 to May 1 of each year.

Require that owners buying lands from large ownerships as
defined in NR 46.18(4) provide a management plan within one
year of the transfer date.  Historically, the department has
written management plans free of charge.  This proposal
requires that landowners who purchase lands from large
ownerships provide a management plan within 1 year of the
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date of transfer.  Landowners would follow the same protocol
to obtain the services of a certified plan writer as new
enrollees.

Require that owners who no longer meet the qualifications
of a large ownership in NR 46.18(4) must provide a
management plan within one year of losing large ownership
status.  Landowners who no longer qualify as a large
ownership as defined in NR 46.18(4) are placed in the small
landowner category, requiring that a management plan be
developed.  Historically the department has written these
plans.  This proposal would require that landowners who lose
their status as a large ownership provide a management plan
within 1 year of the date of losing their large ownership status.
Landowners would follow the same protocol to obtain the
services of a certified plan writer as new enrollees.

Amend wording associated with the alternative withdrawal
tax calculation.  Landowners who withdraw lands early from
the Managed Forest Law are required to pay a withdrawal tax
based on a formula that multiplies the assessed value, tax rate
and years under the law, or based on 5% of the average
stumpage value for the market zone.  Adjustments to the
wording will clarify that the withdrawal tax estimates are not
the same as the Department of Revenue withdrawal tax
estimates recently created in 2009 Wisconsin Act 365.  NR 46
wording changes will also include statutory references
regarding renewal of lands under Managed Forest Law.

Comparison with existing or proposed federal regulations

There are no known federal rules which apply to the
Managed Forest Law program.

Comparison with similar rules in adjacent states

Minnesota, Michigan, Iowa and Illinois offer some type of
incentive program to forest landowners, however their
program requirements are not as comprehensive as
Wisconsin’s Managed Forest Law.

Effect on Small Business
Effect on small business will be de minimis.

Fiscal Estimate

Assumptions used in arriving at fiscal estimate

Summary of the changes to NR 46, Wis. Admin. Code under
FR−45−10.

Changes to NR 46 include a variety of topics including
elimination of the subsection associated with management of
the Woodland Tax Law, changing the definition of
“incompatible with existing uses of the land,” repealing of the
definition of “management plan packet,” replacing the words
“petition” and “petitioner” with “application” and
“applicant,” amending the application dates and
requirements, amending the application fees, repealing the
requirement for specific wording on application forms and
management plans, amending the requirements to be certified
as a plan writer, amending reporting dates for certified plan
writers, requiring that owners buying lands from larger
ownerships provide a management plan within one year of the
date of transfer, requiring that owners who no longer meet the
qualifications of a large ownership provide a management
plan within one year of losing large ownership status,
amending wording associated with the alternative withdrawal
tax calculation.

Most provisions of the proposed NR 46 rule change have
no fiscal impact on state or local revenues or expenditures,

including provisions to repeal subchapter II, amend or repeal
definitions, amending application deadlines and
requirements, repeal specific wording used in MFL forms,
amend certified plan writer program certification
requirements, amend certified plan writer reporting dates,
amending wording associated with determining the
alternative withdrawal tax.

Changes to NR 46 that do have a fiscal impact include the
following:

STATE FISCAL IMPACT:
Amend MFL application fees.
The department’s cost to record orders at the register of

deeds office has increased from $20 to $30 per order.  Since
MFL landowners pay an application fee that covers the
recording costs, application fees must be increased from $20
to $30.  Over the past 5 years, an average of 1,249 applications
have been received for entry into MFL.  This new entry is
expected to be constant for the next 5 years.  In addition, there
is an expected increase in applications due to the renewal of
lands from expiring MFL entries.  Roughly 67% of lands that
are expiring from the Forest Crop Law program re−enroll
under MFL.  If this trend remains constant it is expected that
an average of 837 renewals will be submitted annually.  If
landowners pay an additional $10 per entry for new or
renewal applications, the department will collect an
additional $20,860 to cover the recording costs (1,249 new
entries + 837 renewals = 2,086 total entries x $10/entry =
$20,860).

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FISCAL IMPACT:
None.
PRIVATE SECTOR FISCAL IMPACT:
Require that owners buying lands from large ownerships,

as defined in NR 46.18(4), provide a management plan within
one year of the transfer date.

Roughly 113 transfers from a large ownership to a small
ownership have occurred annually from calendar year 2005
through 2009.  Under this rule proposal, landowners would be
required to provide a management plan within one year of the
date of transfer that would be written by a certified plan writer.
DNR foresters would write a management plan only if
services from a certified plan writer are not available.

Certified plan writers charge for their services in a variety
of ways including: (1) a combination of plan cost and per acre
cost, (2) per acre costs only, (3) hourly costs or (4) project
costs.  To determine the cost of plan writing services for this
fiscal estimate the cost the department would charge to write
a management plan is used, which is based on the plan cost
and per acre costs.  DNR determines these costs by averaging
the costs certified plan writers annually charge landowners for
plan writing services.  The current base rate, or cost per plan
is $470 per plan, with an additional charge of $6.73 per acre.

The average MFL ownership is 67 acres; therefore,
landowners would collectively spend $104,062.83 to have
these plans prepared by certified plan writers [(113 plans x
$470/plan) + (7,571 acres (67 ac. per plan x 113 plans) x
$6.73/acre) = $104,062.83].

Require that owners who no longer meet the qualifications
of a large ownership in NR 46.18(4) must provide a
management plan within one year of losing large ownership
status.

Currently there are two large landowners who no longer
meet the qualifications of a large landowner that would need
to develop management plans through a certified plan writer.
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Under this rule proposal these two landowners would need to
have management plans developed at a cost of $17,032.99
[(10 plans x $470/plan) + (1,832.54 acres x $6.73/acre) =
$17,032.99].

State fiscal effect:
Increase existing revenues.
Fund sources affected: SEG.
Affected chapter 20 appropriations: Section 20.370 (1)

(cr).

Local fiscal effect
No local government costs.

Anticipated cost by private sector
Landowners applying for Managed Forest Law will pay an

additional $15 per county for MFL applications.  This extra
cost covers the fees to record new MFL Orders of Designation
with registers of deeds.

Agency Contact Person
Kathryn J. Nelson
Forest Tax Program and Policy Chief
Ph: 608−266−3545
e−mail: Kathryn.Nelson@Wisconsin.gov

Notice of Hearing
Regulation and Licensing

Examining Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers

and Land Surveyors
CR 11−014

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Examining Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land
Surveyors in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 443.015, Stats.,
Stats., the Examining Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land
Surveyors will hold a public hearing at the time and place
indicated below to consider an order to create Chapter A−E
13, relating to continuing education requirements for
professional engineers.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held on:

Date and Time Location
April 19, 2011 Room 121A
Tuesday 1400 East Washington Avenue 
at 1:30 P.M Madison, WI 53703

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Kris Anderson, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or by
email at Kristine1.Anderson@wisconsin.gov.

Appearances at the Hearing and Submittal of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Comments may be submitted to Kris

Anderson, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI
53708−8935, or by email to
kristine1.anderson@wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be
received on or before April 19, 2011 to be included in the
record of the rule−making proceedings.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statute(s) interpreted
Section 443.015, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 443.015, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Under 2007 Act 47, codified at s. 443.015, Stats., the

Examining Board of Architects, Landscape Architects,
Professional Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors is
authorized to establish rules regarding continuing education
(CE) requirements for purposes of renewing the credential of
individuals licensed under Ch. 443, Stats.

Related statute or rule
There are no other statutes or rules than those listed above.

Plain language analysis
This proposed rule−making creates ch. A−E 13, Wis.

Admin. Code, relating to continuing education requirements
for the credential renewal of professional engineers within the
jurisdiction of the Examining Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land
Surveyors, as permitted under s. 443.015, Stats.

SECTION 1 creates ch. A−E 13, entitled “CONTINUING
EDUCATION FOR PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS.”

SECTION 2 creates s. A−E 13.01, entitled “Authority and
purpose.”  This section provides the statutory authority for the
creation of ch. A−E 13, and indicates that ch. A−E 13
implements biennial continuing education requirements for
professional engineer registrants.

SECTION 3 creates s. A−E 13.02, entitled “Definitions.”
This section defines, in numbered subsections, seven (7)
terms as they are used in ch. A−E 13: (1) “biennium,” (2)
“college semester hour,” (3)“continuing education,” (4)
“continuing education unit” or “CEU,” (5) “course” or
“activity,” (6) “EAC/ABET,” and (7) “professional
development hour” or “PDH.”

SECTION 4 creates s. A−E 13.03, entitled “Continuing
education.”  This section has three (3) subsections.
Subsection (1) of s. A−E 13.03 has four lettered paragraphs.
Paragraph (a) provides that beginning with the August 2012
biennial registration period, all registered professional
engineers who have renewed their credential one or more
times shall complete at least 30 PDHs of approved continuing
education each biennial period.

Paragraph (b) provides that of those 30 required PDHs, 2
must be in the area of professional conduct and ethics.

Paragraph (c) provides that of those same 30 PDHs, a
maximum of 13 may be obtained through courses in either a
traditional classroom setting, by computer conferencing, or
by video conferencing, in which participants can
communicate directly with each other and the instructor.

Paragraph (d) provides that a maximum of 15 PDHs earned
in excess of the 30 required for one biennial registration
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period may be used toward the next biennium’s continuing
education requirements.

Subsection (2) of s. A−E 13.03 sets forth, in lettered
paragraphs, seven (7) different means by which a registrant
may satisfy his or her biennial continuing education
requirements: (a) completing courses offered at an
EAC/ABET−accredited engineering school or college; (b)
completing short courses or tutorials and distance education
courses offered via correspondence, DVD, or the internet; (c)
presenting or attending seminars, in−house courses,
workshops, or making professional or technical presentations
at meetings, conventions, or conferences; (d) teaching or
instructing any of the courses or programs listed in paragraphs
(a) to (c), where the PDH earned for each hour of teaching is
twice that earned for participation only; (e) publishing papers,
articles, or books in the registrant’s practice area, where each
such publication earns 5 PDHs, and where peer−reviewed
publications earn 10; (f) participating in professional and
technical societies for a maximum of 4 PDHs per biennium,
where participation as an officer or committee member earns
2 PDHs per year; and (g) attaining a patent in the registrant’s
practice area, where each such patent earns 10 PDHs.

Subsection (3) of s. A−E 13.03 provides that any registrant
who fails to meet the continuing education requirements by
the registration renewal date may not practice professional
engineering until renewal has been achieved.

SECTION 5 creates A−E 13.04, entitled “Examples of
qualifying activities.”  This section provides five (5)
examples of qualifying activities in numbered subsections.

SECTION 6 creates s. A−E 13.05, entitled “Standards for
approval.”  This section has two subsections.  Subsection (1)
of s. A−E 13.05 establishes, in lettered paragraphs, four
criteria for approval of a continuing education program.

Subsection (2) of s. A−E 13.05 provides that the
professional engineer section of the joint A−E examining
board has final authority to approve continuing education
courses and other methods for earning PDHs.  Subsection (2)
also lists, in lettered paragraphs (a) – (n), fourteen (14)
approved provider entities, and in lettered paragraphs (o) and
(p), two (2) general, or catch−all, categories of potential
continuing education providers that may seek approval from
the professional engineer section.

SECTION 7 creates s. A−E 13.06, entitled “Certificate of
completion; proof of attendance.”  This section has three (3)
subsections.  Subsection (1) of s. A−E 13.06 requires
applicants for registration renewal to certify their compliance
with the continuing education requirements of ch. A−E 13.

Subsection (2) of s. A−E 13.06 provides that the
professional engineering section may randomly audit
registrants biennially for continuing education compliance.

Subsection (3) of s. A−E 13.06 provides that within 30 days
of receiving a written request from the section for evidence of
compliance, a registrant shall submit such evidence, and that
failure to do so will result in denial of the registrant’s renewal
application.

SECTION 8 creates s. A−E 13.07, entitled
“Recordkeeping.”  This section has three (3) numbered
subsections.  Subsection (1) of s. A−E 13.07 requires all
registrants to maintain, on a form approved by the
professional engineer section, records of having satisfied the
continuing education requirements for at least the three (3)
most recent biennia.

Subsection (2) of s. A−E 13.07 provides that the records
maintained under subs. (1) must include evidence of
registrant’s attendance at, and completion of, any program
providing continuing education the registrant counts toward
his or her required PDHs.

Subsection (3) of s. A−E 13.07 requires registrants to
convert any CEUs awarded for continuing education courses
to PDHs for recordkeeping.

SECTION 9 creates s. A−E 13.08, entitled “Waiver of
continuing education.”  This section has six (6) numbered
subsections.  Subsection (1) of s. A−E 13.08 provides that
renewal applicants may request, in writing, a waiver of the
continuing education requirements for reasons of “extreme
hardship.”  The professional engineer section, or its designee,
will have sole discretion on how to address such requests.

Subsection (2) of s. A−E 13.08 defines “extreme hardship”
as an inability to fulfill the continuing education requirements
during a particular biennial period for one of the four (4)
reasons set forth in lettered paragraphs (a) – (d).  Paragraphs
(a) – (c) describe specific hardship situations; paragraph (d)
allows the professional engineer section to waive the
requirements under any other extenuating circumstances it
finds acceptable.

Subsection (3) of s. A−E 13.08 prohibits the professional
engineer section from waiving continuing education
requirements for the same registrant for two consecutive
biennia.

Subsection (4) of s. A−E 13.08 allows the professional
engineer section to waive the continuing education
requirements for a renewal applicant who has maintained an
active Wisconsin license for at least 30 years, provided that
the applicant has retired from the profession and no longer
receives compensation for his or her services.

Subsection (5) of s. A−E 13.08 prohibits a renewal
applicant who has received a waiver under subs. (4) from
practicing professional engineering until he or she has met the
late renewal requirements set forth in s. A−E 13.10.
Comparison with existing or proposed federal regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.
Comparison with similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Thirty hours of continuing education are required for

professional engineers each biennial renewal. http://www.
ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801138000032
50R.html.

Iowa:
Thirty hours of continuing education are required for

professional engineers for each biennial renewal.
http://www.state.ia.us/government/com/prof/engineer/rene
wals.html.

Michigan:
There are no continuing education requirements for

professional engineers.  www.michigan.gov/dleg.
Minnesota:
Twenty−four hours of continuing education are required

for professional engineers for each biennial renewal.
http://www.aelslagid.state.mn.us/conted.html.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The Professional Engineer Section of the Examining
Board of Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors examined models
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of continuing education from the National Council for
Examiners of Engineers and Surveyors, as well as from other
Wisconsin regulatory boards.

In addition, the section received input from a steering
committee organized by the Wisconsin Society of
Professional Engineers which included representatives of 10
professional engineering societies or trade associations.  The
steering committee discussed the content and operation of the
proposed draft for purposes of creating a continuing
education program that will be beneficial to both the public
and professional engineers.

The comparison information with the rules in adjacent
states was obtained directly from contact with those states and
a review of their rules.  The comparisons to the adjacent states
demonstrate that the proposed rules are substantially
consistent with the rules in those states.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

Data was obtained from the Department of Regulation and
Licensing’s Credentialing Division Renewal Unit, additional
information was obtained from the steering committee
organized by the Wisconsin Society of Professional
Engineers and research was conducted regarding the
availability of continuing education credits offered via online
courses, trade associations sponsored seminars and other
means, as well as the costs associated therewith.  That data
was compared with the requirements outlined in the proposed
rules and based thereon, appears that these rules will have no
significant impact on a substantial number of small
businesses.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Effect on Small Business

These proposed rules will be reviewed by the department’s
Small Business Review Advisory Committee to determine
whether the rules will have any significant economic impact
on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.

Small business regulatory coordinator

The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at john.murray@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling (608) 266−2112.

Fiscal Estimate

The department estimates that this rule will require staff
time in the Office of Exams, Division of Board Services and
Division of Professional Credentialing.  The total one−time
salary and fringe costs are estimated at $12,400.  The total
on−going salary and fringe costs are estimated at $11,800.

Anticipated costs incurred by the private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person

Kris Anderson, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin

53708; telephone 608−261−2385; email at
kristine1.anderson@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Regulation and Licensing

Hearing and Speech Examining Board
CR 11−017

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Hearing and Speech Examining Board in
sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 459.095, 459.12 (1), 459.24
(5m), Stats., and interpreting section 459.095 and 459.24
(5m), Stats., the Hearing and Speech Examining Board will
hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to amend section HAS 8.03 (1), to repeal the
Note following section HAS 8.03 (1), amend section HAS
8.03 (3) and (6) and to amend section HAS 8.04 (6), relating
to continuing education.
Hearing Information

The hearing will be held on:

Date and Time Location
April 25, 2011 Room 121A
Monday 1400 East Washington Avenue 
at 1:15 P.M. Madison, WI 53703

Appearances at the Hearing and Submittal of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or by email to
sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.  Written comments must be
received by 1:15 p.m. on April 25, 2011 to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Sharon Henes, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or by
email at sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing
Statute(s) interpreted

Sections 459.095 and 459.24 (5m), Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 459.095, 459.12 (1) and
459.24 (5m), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

The Hearing and Speech Examining Board has the
authority under ss. 459.095, 459.12 (1) and 459.24 (5m),
Stats., to promulgate rules relating to continuing education.
Related statute or rule

There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed.
Plain language analysis

Section 1 of the proposed rule amends to require at least 2
hours of ethics as part of the required 20 hours of continuing
education.
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Section 2 of the proposed rule repeals the note following
HAS 8.03(1) which states that a list of approved programs
may be obtained from the Board.

Section 3 of the proposed rule amends the statement
certifying that he or she has completed the continuing
education programs to include at least 2 of the hours in ethics.
It creates an exemption so a licensee is not required to take or
report continuing education prior to or at the time of the first
renewal of the license.

Section 4 of the proposed rule amends to allow other
acceptable continuing education activities including
employer in−service training, other professional
organizations’ programs, college or university course work
and courses offered by any provider authorized by the
International Association for Continuing Education and
Training.  Prior approval is not required for activities related
to professional development or practice completed during the
renewal period.

Comparison with existing or proposed federal regulations

None.

Comparison with similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:

Illinois includes ethics as an approved content area, but no
hour requirement is imposed.  http://www.ilga.gov/
commission/jcrar/admincode/077/07703000sections.html.

Iowa:

There is no provision for ethics or best practices in the
statutes or rules.  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/
continuingeducation.asp?board=had.

Michigan:

Michigan has no requirements for continuing education.

Minnesota:

There is no provision for ethics or best practices in the
statutes or rules.  http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/
hop/hid/certregs.html.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

No study resulting in the collection of factual data, other
than a review of surrounding states, was used relating to this
rule.  The primary methodology for revising the rule is based
on the Board’s collective experience and determination that a
change is necessary.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Effect on Small Business

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

Small business regulatory coordinator

The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at John.Murray@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that the proposed rule will have

no significant fiscal impact.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person
Sharon Henes, Department of Regulation and Licensing,

1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 116, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608−261−2377; email
at sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Regulation and Licensing

Radiography Examining Board
CR 11−016

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Radiography Examining Board in sections 15.08
(5) (b), 227.11 (2), 462.06, Stats, and interpreting Chapter
262, Stats, the Radiography Examining Board will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to create Chapters RAD 1, RAD 2, RAD 3,
RAD 4, RAD 5 and RAD 6 relating to standards for courses
of study, examinations, continuing education, and a code of
ethics for the newly created radiographer license and limited
x−ray machine operator permit.
Hearing Information

Date and Time Location
May 10, 2011 Room 121C
Tuesday 1400 East Washington Avenue 
at 9:15 A.M. Madison, WI 53703

Appearances at the Hearing and Submittal of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or by email to
sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.  Written comments must be
received by 9:15 a.m. on May 10, 2011, to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Sharon Henes, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or by
email at sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing
Statute(s) interpreted

Chapter 462, Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5), 227.11 (2), 462.06, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Under 2009 Act 106, codified at s. 462.06, Stats., the
Radiography Examining Board (RAD) is authorized to
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promulgate rules which establish the standards for courses of
study, examinations, continuing education, and a code of
ethics for the newly created radiographer license and limited
x−ray machine operator permit (LXMO), and to effectuate the
purpose of the statute.

Related statute or rule
There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed

above.

Plain language analysis
SECTION 1 creates ch. RAD 1, entitled “Authority and

Definitions.”
Section RAD 1.01 identifies the statutory authority under

which chapters RAD 1 to 6 are adopted.
Section RAD 1.02 defines the terms used in chapters RAD

1 to 6 applicable to the credentialing and practice of
radiographers and limited x−ray machine operators.

SECTION 2 creates ch. RAD 2, entitled “Requirements for
Radiographer License”

Section 2.01 establishes the criteria for issuance of a
license to practice as a radiographer.

Section 2.02 establishes the standards for an approved
course of study.

Section 2.03 establishes the standard for examination
required for licensure.

Both Section 2.02 and 2.03 provide that active certification
by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
(ARRT) is deemed to satisfy the educational and examination
requirements for licensure in the proposed rules.

Section 2.04 contains the requirements for issuance of
license by endorsement to persons who holds a radiography
credential in another jurisdiction.

Section 2.05 provides the basis for denial of an application
for licensure.

Note:  Although the non−statutory provisions of 2009 Act
106 creates a transitional period for the issuance of a
radiographer license, the educational qualifications of the
national examination provider, ARRT, effectively preclude
the board from offering a license under the non−statutory
terms of the act.  The ARRT requires that a person shall
complete an approved course of study in radiography to be
eligible to take the ARRT radiographer examination, as well
as sets the passing score, and defines the reexamination
options available to examinees.  Unlike the limited scope
machine operator examination for which eligibility can be
determined by each state under the state laws, the board
cannot waive the completion of an approved course of study
for the ARRT radiographer examination.

SECTION 3 creates ch. RAD 3, entitled “Requirements for
Limited X−Ray Machine Operator (LXMO) Permit”.

Section 3.01 establishes the criteria for issuance of a permit
to practice as a LXMO.

Section 3.02 establishes the standards for an approved
course of study for a permit.

Section 3.03 establishes the standards for examination.
Section 3.04 establishes the Board’s authority to determine

the passing grade for the examination.
Section 3.05 limits the number of reexamination attempts

allowed within a 12 month period.
Section 3.06 establishes the requirements for issuance of a

permit during the non−statutory transitional period.  During

the “transitional” period a person may receive a LXMO
permit without completing a formal course of study if the
person has been engaged in the limited scope practice of
radiography for at least 3 of the 5 years immediately
preceding the application.  A person who applies for a permit
during the transitional period shall successfully pass the
required examination.  Beginning on April 1, 2012, a person
who applies for a LXMO permit shall be required to complete
both the required course of study and pass the
board−approved limited scope examination in order to
receive the credential.

Section 3.07 provides the basis for denial of an application
for a permit.

SECTION 4 creates ch. RAD 4, entitled “Scope of
Practice.”

Section 4.01 establishes the scope and standards of practice
for a licensed radiographer based upon nationally recognized
and accredited sources.

Section 4.02 establishes the scope and standards of practice
for a LXMO permit holder based upon nationally recognized
and accredited sources.

SECTION 5 creates ch. RAD 5, entitled “Continuing
Education.”

Section 5.01 establishes the continuing education
requirements for renewal of a license or permit.

Section 5.02 provides the method for verifying compliance
with the continuing education requirements.

Section 5.03 defines those who are recognized providers of
continuing education deemed acceptable to the board.

Section 5.04 establishes the recordkeeping requirements
for continuing education hours.

Section 5.05 establishes the random audit process for
verifying continuing education compliance.

Section 5.06 provides for a waiver or postponement of the
continuing education requirements on the basis of a hardship
and defines the meaning of hardship.

SECTION 6 creates ch. RAD 6, entitled “Unprofessional
Conduct.”

Section 6.01 establishes a code of ethics for persons who
practice radiography with a license or permit issued under this
chapter.  The rules of unprofessional conduct list 16 separate
acts or behavior which may result in disciplinary action by the
board.

Comparison with existing or proposed federal regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that

addresses licensure and activities to be regulated by the rule.
Existing federal laws are pertinent to the accreditation
standards for radiography programs.

Comparison with similar rules in adjacent states
The comparison information with the rules in adjacent

states was obtained directly from a review of the following
statutes and rules.

Iowa:
641 Iowa Admin. Code 42 specifies the training

requirements for diagnostic radiographers, limited diagnostic
radiographers and limited in−hospital diagnostic
radiographers.  Iowa requires satisfactory completion of an
agency approved training program, satisfactory completion
of an agency−approved examination and submission of the
appropriate fee.  641 Iowa Admin. Code 42.2(1).  To renew,
licensees must submit an annual renewal application which
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includes specified fees and completion of continuing
education requirements.  641 Iowa Admin Code 42.2(4).
Iowa requires successful completion of a Joint Review
Committee on Education in a Radiologic Technology
approved course of study, certification by the American
Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the
American Registry of Clinical Radiography Technologists, or
an equivalent agency−approved training course to prepare
students to demonstrate competency in various areas
including radiation protection of patients and workers,
technique and quality control to achieve diagnostic objectives
with minimum patient exposure, and patient care.  See 641
Iowa Admin. Code 42.3(1).  The Iowa Department of Public
Health contracts with the American Registry of Radiography
Technologists for the certification examination.  Individuals
who have passed the general radiography examination with
the ARRT meet testing requirements.  Limited diagnostic
radiographers must also complete an approved course of
study and pass the limited scope examination.  Radiographers
must have 24 clock hours of continuing education during a
two−year period.  One hour must be in radiation protection.
Limited diagnostic radiographers and limited in−hospital
diagnostic radiographers must have 12 clock hours, with one
hour in radiation protection. 641 Iowa Admin. Code 42.2(3).
http://www.legis.state.ia.us/aspx/ACODOCS/DOCS/641.42
.pdf

Illinois:
32 Illinois Admin. Code 401 accredits persons in the

practice of medical radiation technology by requiring
minimum standards for preparatory education and experience
as well as examination and continuing education
requirements.  Illinois recognizes both active status
accreditation and temporary accreditation for medical
radiography.  Active accreditation applies to individuals who
have passed an examination; temporary accreditation applies
to persons who have completed an approved program in
radiography.  Individuals who seek active or temporary
accreditation in medical radiography must pass the
certification examination of the American Registry of
Radiology Technologists.  See s. 401.70.  Renewal of medical
radiography accreditation requires 24 continuing education
credits.  See Ill Admin. Code 401.140(b).  CE requirements
may be met by engaging in activity approved by the agency,
including approved post−secondary courses relevant to
radiology science and/or patient care, advanced life support
or instructor/instructor trainer certification, or an advanced
level exam approved or acceptable to ARRT.  An individual
may not legally perform medical radiation technology
without valid accreditation or without express approval of the
Agency.  Technologists seeking renewal are required to attest
they acquired the necessary number of continuing education
credits and the agency may perform an audit in which the
individual is asked to provide documentation of continuing
education.  Illinois assesses civil penalties against those who
perform medical radiation procedures without valid
accreditation.  Illinois’ rules closely follow the draft model
rules of the Conference of Radiation Control Program
Directors.  http://www.state.il.us/iema/legal/pdf/32_401.pdf

Minnesota:
In Minnesota, human use x−ray operator minimum

requirements are set forth in Minn. Stat. 144.121 – X−Ray
Machines; Other Sources of Ionizing Radiation.  The
Minnesota Department of Health requires initial site specific
training and additional training if there is a change to a

registrant’s quality assurance program.  An individual in a
facility with registered x−ray equipment may not operate the
equipment unless the individual passes a national
examination approved by the commissioner of health.  The
criteria for approval of examinations are based on national
standards, such as the examination in radiography from the
ARRT and the examination from the ARRT for limited x−ray
machine operators.  A limited x−ray operator is anyone who
is not a radiologic technologist registered by the ARRT.
Under Minn. Stat. 144.121 (5a), a limited x−ray operator may
only practice medical radiography on limited regions of the
human anatomy for which the operator has successfully
passed an examination.  The Minnesota statutes and
administrative rules do not have educational, renewal or
continuing education requirements for diagnostic medical
radiographers or limited x−ray machine operators.
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=144.121

Michigan:
The State of Michigan does not license the operators of

x−ray equipment, nor does it have requirements relative to the
licensure or credentialing of x−ray machine operators.
http://law.justia.com/us/cfr/title42/42−1.0.1.6.60.0.19.4.11.h
tml

The comparison of the proposed rules to the adjacent states
demonstrates that the rules are relatively comparable to those
in adjacent states.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

No study resulting in the collection of factual data was used
relating to this rule.  The primary method for creating the
proposed rules was based upon the provisions in 2009 Act 106
and ch. 462, Stats., and information from the American
Registry of Radiologic Technologists and American Society
of Radiologic Technologists.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Chapter 462, Stats, exempts from the licensure and
permitting requirements the following licensed health care
providers; physicians; a person enrolled in a board approved
radiography program who is directly supervised by a
physician or persons licensed under s. 462.03(2); a
chiropractor licensed under s. 446. 02 or a person under the
direct supervision of a chiropractor if the person has
successfully completed a course of instruction of at least 48
hours approved by the chiropractic examining board; a dentist
licensed under s. 447.04 (1) or a person directly supervised by
a dentist, a dental hygienist licensed under s. 447.04 (2); a
physician assistant licensed under s. 448.04 (1) (f) and a
podiatrist licensed under s. 448.63 or a persons under the
direct supervision of a such a podiatrist if the person has
successfully completed a course of instruction related to
x−ray examinations approved under 448.695 (3) by the
podiatrists affiliated credentialing board.

There are approximately 951 registered hospital and
medical facilities, of which 508 sites have at least one X−ray
machine on the premise.  This information is derived from the
Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Radiation
Protection and X−Ray Registration Database.
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Effect on Small Business
These proposed rules were reviewed by the Small Business

Review Advisory Committee and it was determined that the
rules will not have a significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.

Small business regulatory coordinator
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at john.murray@wisconsin.gov or by
calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Division of Enforcement, Division of
Management Services, Office of Exams and Division of
Professional Credentialing.  The total one−time salary and
fringe costs are estimated at $7,510.  The total on−going
salary and fringe costs are estimated at $56,525.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person
Sharon Henes, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone
608−261−2377; email at sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 10−122

(DATCP # 09−R−05)
Revises Chapters ATCP 21 Appendix A, 29, 30, 35, 55, 57,

90, 91, 92, 161 and 167, relating to various technical rule
changes.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 10−120

(DATCP # 09−R−4)
Creates Chapter ATCP 161 subchapter V, relating to

economic development grants and loans − accountability
provisions.

Insurance
CR 10−149

Revises section Ins 3.37 and creates section Ins 3.375,

relating to health insurance coverage of nervous and mental
disorders and substance use disorders.

Insurance
CR 10−150

Creates section Ins 3.35, relating to colorectal cancer
screening coverage.

University of Wisconsin System Board of
Regents

CR 10−104

Revises Chapter UWS 19, relating to accrual and use of
sick leave by faculty, academic staff, and limited appointees
of the University of Wisconsin System.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.  The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Public Defender Board
CR 10−133

Revises Chapter PD 3, relating to determining, collecting
and processing the payments from persons as payment for
legal representation.
Effective 6−19−11.

Public Defender Board
CR 10−134

Revises Chapter PD 6, relating to determining, collecting
and processing the payments from persons as payment for
legal representation.
Effective 6−19−11.

Regulation and Licensing
Controlled Substances Board

CR 10−112
Creates section CSB 2.35, relating to scheduling of a

schedule II controlled substance, lisdexamfetamine under ch.
961, Stats, of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.
Effective 5−1−11.

Technical College System Board
CR 10−096

Revises section TCS 17.06, relating to training program
grants.
Effective 5−1−11.
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Sections Affected by Rule Revisions and Corrections

The following administrative code sections had rule revisions and corrections take place in March 2011, and will be effective
as indicated in the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at
(608) 266−7590.

Editorial Corrections
Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.92 (4) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Health Services
Ch. DHS 139
DHS 139.06 (1), (2)
DHS 139.07 (1), (2)
Ch. DHS 192
DHS 192.03 (7)
DHS 192.05 (1), (2)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 101
NR 101.03 (4), (5)
Ch. NR 109
NR 109.01
Ch. NR 116
NR 116.07 (6) (c)
NR 116.12 (2) (b)
Ch. NR 120
NR 120.06 (1) (c)
NR 120.17 (2) (o)
Ch. NR 121
NR 121.01
NR 121.03 (4), (9), (10), (11), (13), (18), (19)
NR 121.04 (1)
NR 121.05 (1) (c)
NR 121.06 (2) (a)
Ch. NR 129
NR 129.13 (2) (e)
Ch. NR 130
NR 130.03 (9)
NR 130.06 (2)
NR 130.09 (1) (a), (b)
NR 130.12 (1)
Ch. NR 131
NR 131.02
NR 131.03 (2), (18), (20), (21)
NR 131.05 (6)
NR 131.06 (3) (d), (4) (e), (6)
NR 131.07 (1), (3) (g), (4) (j), (k), (L)
NR 131.08 (2) (g)
NR 131.09 (2) (a)
NR 131.10 (1) (d), (g)
NR 131.11 (2)

NR 131.13 (1)
NR 131.14 (1)
NR 131.17 (intro.), (5)
NR 131.19 (2) (a), (5) (c)
Ch. NR 133
NR 133.03 (11)
NR 133.06 (1) (b), (c)
NR 133.07 (1) (b)
NR 133.09 (1), (3)
Ch. NR 134
NR 134.09 (2)
Ch. NR 141
NR 141.07 (2)
Ch. NR 146
NR 146.01 (1)
NR 146.02 (5), (9), (11)
NR 146.09 (1) (c)
Ch. NR 172
NR 172.01 (Note)
NR 172.02 (Note)
NR 172.05 (1) (Note)
NR 172.06 (4) (a) (Note)
Ch. NR 182
NR 182.02 (2), (4), (9)
NR 182.07 (1) (a)
NR 182.075 (1x) (b), (2) (a)
NR 182.17 (10) (c)
Ch. NR 185
NR 185.07 (3) (a)
Ch. NR 186
NR 186.01
NR 186.03 (19)
NR 186.05
NR 186.06 (1)
NR 186.08 (2) (e), (f)
NR 186.09 (1), (4) (d), (6) (c)
NR 186.11 (4) (b), (5) (e), (f)
Ch. NR 187
NR 187.01
NR 187.03 (4), (6)
NR 187.04 (3)
Trans 233
Entire Chapter Reprinted
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Executive  Orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 14. Relating to a Special Session of the Legislature and Amending Executive Orders #1 and
#4.

Executive Order 15. Relating to a Special Election for the Sixtieth Assembly District, Eighty−third Assembly
District, and Ninety−fourth Assembly District.

Executive Order 16. Relating to a Special Election for the Sixtieth Assembly District, Eighty−third Assembly
District, and Ninety−fourth Assembly District and Amending Executive Order #15.

Executive Order 17. Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff as a Mark of Respect for First Lieutenant Daren M. Hidalgo of the United States
Army Who Lost His Life While Serving His Country During Operation Enduring Freedom – Afghanistan.

Executive Order 18. Relating to Suspending Executive Order #108.

Executive Order 19. Relating to Executive Order #172.

Executive Order 20. Relating to the Creation of the Governor’s Pardon Advisory Board.
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Public Notices

Health Services
Medical Assistance Reimbursement to Hospitals

Pay For Performance Payment Plan for State Fiscal Year 2011−2012

The State of Wisconsin reimburses hospitals for services provided to Medical Assistance recipients under the authority
of Title XIX of the Social Security Act and Chapter 49 of Wisconsin State Statutes.  This program, administered by the
State’s Department of Health Services (Department), is called Medicaid or Medical Assistance.

The Department is proposing to modify inpatient hospital pay for performance measures and associated payment rates
for state fiscal year 2011.  The pay for performance measures are projected to distribute $5,000,000 all funds in state fiscal
year 2011, composed of $1,930,000 general purpose revenue (GPR) and $3,070,000 federal funds (FED).

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative Rules met in Executive Session on March 1, 2011 and adopted
the following motion:

Copies of Proposed Change

A copy of the proposed change may be obtained free of charge at your local county agency or by calling or writing as
follows:

Regular Mail
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 537001−0309

State Contact
Krista Willing, Section Chief
Hospital Rate Setting
(608) 266−2469 (phone)
(608)266−1096 (fax)
KristaE.Willing@wisconsin.gov

A copy of the proposed change is available for review at the main office of any county department of social services
or human services.

Written Comments

Written comments are welcome. Written comments on the proposed change may be sent by FAX, email, or regular mail
to the Division of Health Care Access and Accountability.  The FAX number is (608) 266−1096.  The email address is
kristae.willing@wisconsin.gov.  Regular mail can be sent to the above address.  All written comments will be reviewed
and considered.

All written comments received will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. daily
in Room 350 of State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin.  Revisions may be made in the
proposed changed pay for performance measures based on comments received.

Health Services
Medicaid Reimbursement for Health Homes

The State of Wisconsin reimburses providers for services provided to Medical Assistance recipients under the
authority of Title XIX of the Social Security Act and ss. 49.43 to 49.47, Wisconsin Statutes.  This program, administered
by the State’s Department of Health Services, is called Medical Assistance (MA) or Medicaid.  Federal statutes and
regulations require that a state plan be developed that provides the methods and standards for reimbursement of covered
services.  A plan that describes the reimbursement system for the services (methods and standards for reimbursement)
is currently in effect.

The State of Wisconsin intends to create state plan language that provides for health home services.  A proposed
amendment will be submitted to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services with a proposed effective date
of April 1, 2011, or possibly a later date.
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A recent change to federal law provided that a State may at its option submit a state plan amendment under which the
State provides a designated provider, a team of health care professionals operating with such a provider, or a health team
with payments for the provision of health home services to each eligible individual with certain chronic conditions that
selects such provider, team of health care professionals, or health team as the individual’s health home.  Payments for
such services are  treated as medical assistance for purposes of section 1903 (a) of the Social Security Act, which provides
for reimbursement to the states for the federal share of expenditures under the Medicaid program.

Payment for these services must  be consistent with §1902 (a) (30) (A) of the Social Security Act.  Payment may be
tiered according to severity and intensity of need as allowed under §1945 (c) (2) (A) of the Social Security Act.

This proposal is estimated to increase Wisconsin Medicaid expenditures by $2 million, all funds, in each of State Fiscal
Years 2011 and 2012.  This amount is composed of 90% federal match and 10% general purpose revenue, or GPR, during
the first 8 fiscal year quarters the home health state plan amendment is in effect.  The federal match rate will decrease
to the match rate applicable to Medicaid services generally (currently, approximately 59%) thereafter.

Copies of the Proposed Change:

A copy of the proposed change may be obtained free of charge at your local county agency or by calling or writing as
follows:

Regular Mail
Alfred Matano

    Division of Health Care Access and Accountability
PO Box 309
Madison, WI 53701−0309

Phone
Alfred Matano
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability
(608) 267−6848

FAX
(608) 261−7792
Attention: Al Matano

E−Mail
alfred.matano@dhs.wisconsin.gov

A copy of the proposed change is available for review at the main office of any county department of social services
or human services.

Written Comments:

Written comments are welcome.  Written comments on the proposed change may be sent by FAX, e−mail, or regular
mail to the Division of Health Care Access and Accountability.  The FAX number is (608) 261−7792.  The e−mail address
is alfred.matano@dhs.wisconsin.gov.  Regular mail can be sent to the above address.  All written comments will be
reviewed and considered.

All written comments received will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. daily
in Room 472 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin.  Revisions may be made based on
comments received.
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