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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Children and Families (3)
Safety and Permanence, Chs. DCF 37−59

1. EmR1034 — Rule adopted to create sections DCF
57.485 and 57.49 (1) (am), relating to determination of need
for new group homes.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 14m (b) of 2009 Wisconsin Act 335 provides that

the department is not required to provide evidence that
promulgating a rule under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency.

Section 14m (b) also provides that notwithstanding s.
227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats., an emergency rule promulgated
under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., remains in effect until the

permanent rules promulgated under s. 48.625 (1g), Stats., take
effect.

Publication Date: September 2, 2010
Effective Dates: September 2, 2010 through

the date permanent rules
become effective

Hearing Date: October 21, 2010

2. EmR1050 — Rule adopted to repeal Chapter DCF 38
and revise Chapter DCF 56, relating to foster care.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Children and Families finds that an

emergency exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety,
or welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency
is:

In the Child and Family Services Review of Wisconsin’s
child welfare system this past year, the federal Administration
for Children and Families found that Wisconsin is not
operating in substantial conformity with a number of federal
requirements.  In response to this review, the department has
submitted a program improvement plan that commits the
department to complete implementation of the levels of care
system and the child assessment tool throughout the first
quarter of 2011.  Implementation must begin immediately to
meet this deadline and subsequent dependent deadlines in the
remaining 2 years of the program improvement plan.

Publication Date: January 1, 2011
Effective Dates: January 1, 2011 through

May 30, 2011
Extension Through: August 31, 2011
Hearing Date: February 8, 15, 28, 2011

3. EmR1106 — Rule adopted to revise Chapters DCF 52,
54, and 57, relating to regulation of rates charged by
residential care centers for children and youth, child−placing
agencies, and group homes.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Children and Families finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

2009 Wisconsin Act 28 directed the department to
implement rate regulation effective January 1, 2011.
Implementation was delayed and this rule is phasing−in rate
regulation at the earliest feasible date.

Publication Date: April 18, 2011
Effective Dates: April 18, 2011 through

September 16, 2011
Hearing Date: May 18, 2011
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Government Accountability Board

EmR1049 — Rule adopted to amend section GAB 1.28,
relating to the definition of the term “political purpose.”

Finding of Emergency
The Government Accountability Board amends s. GAB

1.28 (3) (b), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the definition of the
term “political purpose.”  Section GAB 1.28 as a whole
continues to clarify the definition of “political purposes”
found in s. 11.01 (16) (a)1., Stats., but repeals the second
sentence of s. GAB 1.28 (3) (b) which prescribes
communications presumptively susceptible of no reasonable
interpretation other than as an appeal to vote for or against a
specific candidate.

This amendment to s. GAB 1.28 (3) (b) is to the rule that
was published on July 31, 2010 and effective on August 1,
2010, following a lengthy two year period of drafting, internal
review and study, public comment, Legislative review, and
consideration of U.S. Supreme Court decisions.  Within the
context of ch. 11, Stats, s. GAB 1.28 provides direction to
persons intending to engage in activities for political purposes
with respect to triggering registering and reporting
obligations under campaign financing statutes and
regulations.  In addition, the rule provides more information
for the public so that it may have a more complete
understanding as to who is supporting or opposing which
candidate or cause and to what extent, whether directly or
indirectly.

Pursuant to §227.24, Stats., the Government
Accountability Board finds an emergency exists as a result of
pending litigation against the Board and two decisions by the
United States Supreme Court:  Federal Election Commission
(FEC) v. Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc. (WRTL II), 550 U.S. 549
(2007) and Citizens United v. FEC, 558 U.S. ___, (No.
08−205) (January 21, 2010).  Following the effective date of
the August 1, 2010 rule, three lawsuits were filed seeking a
declaration that the rule was unconstitutional and beyond the
Board’s statutory authority: one in the U.S. District Court for
the Western District of Wisconsin, one in the U.S. District
Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin, and one in the
Wisconsin Supreme Court.  On August 13, 2010, the
Wisconsin Supreme Court temporarily enjoined enforcement
of the August 1, 2010 rule, pending further order by the Court.

In the lawsuit in the U.S. District Court for the Western
District of Wisconsin, the parties previously executed a joint
stipulation asking the Court to permanently enjoin application
and enforcement of the second sentence of s. GAB 1.28 (3)
(b).  On October 13, 2010, the Court issued an Opinion and
Order denying that injunction request.  In denying the
injunction, the Court noted that “G.A.B. has within its own
power the ability to refrain from enforcing, or removing
altogether, the offending sentence from a regulation G.A.B.
itself created” and emphasized that “removing the language
— for example, by G.A.B. issuing an emergency rule —
would be far more ‘simple and expeditious’ than asking a
federal court to permanently enjoin enforcement of the
offending regulation.”  Wisconsin Club for Growth, Inc. v.
Myse, No. 10−CV−427, slip op. at 2 (W.D. Wis. Oct. 13,
2010).  The Court further noted that staying the case would
give the Board time to resolve some or all of the pending
issues through further rulemaking.  Id., slip op. at 14.

In addition, the Board, through its litigation counsel, has
represented to the Wisconsin Supreme Court that it does not
intend to defend the validity of the second sentence of s. GAB
1.28 (3) (b) and that it would stipulate to the entry of an order

by that Court permanently enjoining the application or
enforcement of that sentence.

This amendment brings s. GAB 1.28 (3) (b) into
conformity with the above stipulation, with the
representations that have been made to the Wisconsin
Supreme Court, and with the suggestions made in the October
13, 2010, Opinion and Order of the U.S. District Court for the
Western District of Wisconsin.  The Board finds that the
immediate adoption of this amendment will preserve the
public peace and welfare by providing a simple and
expeditious clarification of the meaning of s. GAB 1.28 for
litigants, for the regulated community, and for the general
public and by doing so in advance of the 2011 Spring Election
and any other future elections.

Publication Date: January 7, 2011
Effective Dates: January 7, 2011 through

June 5, 2011
Extension Through: October 3, 2011
Hearing Date: February 16, 2011

Insurance (2)

1. EmR1101 — Rule adopted to revise section Ins 6.07 (4)
and (9), relating to readability and electronic access to
insurance policies and affecting small business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows: the
cost of implementing the Flesch scores and electronic access
to policies significantly exceeded anticipated costs for the
insurance industry; a review of state resources indicates
insufficient staff to timely review the volume of health
insurance policy filings resulting from the flesch score
requirement; and it is anticipated the federal department of
Health and Human Services (“HHS”) will use National
Association of Insurance Commissioners recommendations
for the development of standards for a uniform summary of
benefits and coverage explanation for all potential
policyholders and enrollees.  Repealing these provisions now
before costly system overhauls will save both the industry and
the state significant resources.  Further, although it was
anticipated that the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners was planning to implement a national
readability standard, such movement has stalled negating the
amendment to prior Flesch readability scores.

The changes contained in this emergency rule will restore
prior standards and ease financial constraints for the insurance
industry.

Publication Date: February 9, 2011
Effective Dates: February 9, 2011 through

July 8, 2011
Extension Through: September 6, 2011
Hearing Date: May 3, 2011

2. EmR1108 — Rule to amend sections Ins 17.01 (3) and
17.28 (3) (c), and to repeal and recreate section Ins 17.28 (6),
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to annual injured patients and
families compensation fund fees, medical mediation panel
fees, and provider classifications for the fiscal year beginning
July 1, 2011.
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Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These changes must be in place with an effective date of
July 1, 2011 for the new fiscal year assessments.  The fiscal
year fees were established by the Board of Governors at
meeting on February 16, 2011.  Although the permanent
version is currently under review by the Legislature, it cannot
be published in time to meet the necessary effective date.

Publication Date: June 10, 2011
Effective Dates: June 10, 2011 through

November 6, 2011

Natural Resources (5)
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

1. EmR1036 — Rule adopted to create section NR 40.04 (2)
(g) relating to the identification, classification and control of
invasive species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: September 29, 2010
Effective Dates: September 29, 2010 through

See bold text above
Hearing Date: October 25 to 29, 2010

2. EmR1039 (DNR # IS−49−10(E)) — Rule adopted to
create sections NR 40.02 (7g), (7r), (25m), (28m) and
(46m), 40.04 (3m) and 40.07 (8) relating to the identification,
classification and control of invasive bat species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such

emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: November 3, 2010
Effective Dates: November 3, 2010 through

See bold text above

Hearing Date: November 29, 2010

3. EmR1045 (DNR # IS−07−11(E)) — Rule to repeal
section NR 40.02 (28m); to amend section NR 40.04 (3m),
and to repeal and recreate section NR 40.07 (8), (all as created
by Natural Resource Board emergency order EmR1039, DNR
# IS−49−10(E)), relating to the identification, classification
and control of invasive species.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., authorizes state agencies to

promulgate a rule as an emergency rule without complying
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements under
ch. 227, Stats., if preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare necessitates putting the rule into effect prior
to the time it would take effect if the agency complied with the
procedures.  However, s. 23.22 (2t) (a), Stats., authorizes the
department to promulgate emergency rules to identify,
classify, or control an invasive species without having to
provide evidence that an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare or to
provide a finding of emergency.  In addition, such
emergency rules may remain in effect until whichever of
the following occurs first:  the first day of the 25th month
beginning after the effective date of the emergency rule,
the effective date of the repeal of the emergency rule, or
the date on which the permanent rule identifying,
classifying, or controlling the invasive species,
promulgated under s. 23.22 (2) (b) 6., Stats., takes effect.

Publication Date: December 13, 2010

Effective Dates: December 13, 2010 through
See bold text above

4. EmR1107 — Rule to amend section NR 25.09 (2) (b) 2. a.
and f., and create section NR 25.09 (1) (b) 11., relating to
commercial fishing in outlying waters.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
Commercial trap nets in Lake Michigan pose a hazard to the
safety of recreational fishermen trolling submerged fishing
lines.  The preservation of public safety requires appropriate
measures to assure that recreational boaters can know the
location of trap nets and are able to release themselves from
entanglement with the commercial nets.  Accordingly, this
NRB Order requires that 1) boat operators engaged in trolling
with downriggers carry wire cutters on board capable of
severing fishing line or downrigger cable, 2) the enhanced net
marking requirements on Lake Michigan be applied to trap
nets on Lake Superior, 3) all parts of trap nets set in Zone 3 of
Lake Michigan between June 29 and Labor Day be within
designated areas, and 4) the marking of trap nets in Lake
Michigan be enhanced by the use of reflective tape on buoy
staffs.
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Publication Date: May 23, 2011

Effective Dates: May 23, 2011 through
October 19, 2011

Hearing Date: June 27, 2011

5. EmR1109 — Rule to amend sections NR 10.01 (3) (ed) 1.
a., 10.01 (3) (et) 2., 10.104 (7) (a) 1., and 10.104 (7) (b),
relating to deer hunting seasons and carcass tag use.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The rule is necessary in order to foster
participation by hunters and landowners so they will continue
to hunt and cooperate in CWD control and deer herd
management.  This rule proposal balances pressing social
concerns about the quality of the deer hunt with the need for
effective herd control measures such as additional antlerless
deer harvest in management units that are more than 20% over
population goals or simply over population goals in units that
are part of the CWD Management Zone.  This rule will
increase harvest of bucks in the CWD zone which have a
higher prevalence of CWD and, because of their greater
dispersal distances, have a higher likelihood of spreading
CWD.  However, the rule retains a herd control tool which
requires that antlerless deer be harvested before additional
bucks (beyond the initial one) may be taken.  The federal
government and state legislature have delegated to the
appropriate agencies rule−making authority to control and
regulate hunting of wild animals.  The State of Wisconsin
must provide publications describing the regulations for deer
hunting to more than 630,000 deer hunters prior to the start of
the season.  These regulations must be approved prior to
printing nearly 1 million copies of the regulations publication.

Publication Date: July 2, 2011

Effective Dates: September 17, 2011 through
February 13, 2012

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control,

Chs. NR 400—

EmR1046 (DNR # AM−48−10(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an emergency order to
amend section NR 407.02 (4) (b) (intro.), and Table 3 in
407.05 (5) and to create sections NR 400.02 (74m), 400.03
(3) (om), and (4) (go) and (ki), 405.02 (28m), 405.07 (9),
407.02 (8m) and 407.075, relating to major source permitting
thresholds for sources of greenhouse gas emissions and
affecting small business.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  Preservation of the public welfare
necessitates putting the forgoing rules into effect prior to the
time that it would take if the Department complied with
normal procedures.

On April 1, 2010, the U.S. EPA promulgated the first
emission standard for gases contributing to climate change,
i.e., greenhouse gases or GHG, which will become effective
on January 2, 2011.  While these standards target automobile
emissions, under the Clean Air Act, this action will
unintentionally subject stationary sources across the country
to complex prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) and

Title V permitting and emission control requirements. U.S.
EPA attempted to mitigate this unintended effect by
promulgating additional rules, which became effective on
June 3, 2010, limiting applicability of the permitting
requirements.  However, Wisconsin sources will not be
affected by the new U.S. EPA rules since existing state statute
and administrative code do not contain the same applicability
limiting provisions.  State rules consistent with those at the
federal level must be in effect on January 2, 2011 in order to
provide the relief U.S. EPA intended for Wisconsin sources.
Without these proposed emergency rules, many sources,
including municipal landfills, hospitals, asphalt plants,
wastewater treatment plants, small wood fired boilers and
agricultural digesters, will be considered major emissions
sources of GHG, and therefore subject to the permit and
emission control requirements for GHG.  These permit and
control requirements were never intended or designed to
address the type or size of sources that could now be affected.
Without the proposed changes, the existing rules would have
the potential to overwhelm DNR permitting staff, divert
resources away from significant environmental issues, and
delay issuance of construction permits for critical projects for
expanding businesses.

Therefore, the Department finds that the proposed
emergency rules are necessary and appropriate for the
preservation of the public welfare.

Publication Date: December 15, 2010

Effective Dates: December 15, 2010 through
May 15, 2011

Extension Through: September 11, 2011
Hearing Date: January 21, 2011

Revenue (3)

1. EmR1104 — Rule adopted creating section Tax 2.957,
relating to income and franchise tax credits and deductions for
businesses that relocate to Wisconsin.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that the attached rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to reflect changes in Wisconsin’s tax
laws due to the creation of income and franchise tax credits
and deductions for businesses that relocate to Wisconsin.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order so that these
credits and deductions, created to help bring much needed
jobs to Wisconsin, may be administered in a fair and
consistent manner.

This rule is therefore promulgated as an emergency rule
and shall take effect upon publication in the official state
newspaper.  Certified copies of this rule have been filed with
the Legislative Reference Bureau, as provided in s. 227.24,
Stats.

Publication Date: April 7, 2011

Effective Dates: April 7, 2011 through
September 3, 2011

Hearing Date: June 14, 2011

2. EmR1105 — Rule adopted creating section Tax 3.05,
relating to income and franchise tax deductions for job
creation.
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Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that the attached rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to reflect changes in Wisconsin’s tax
laws due to the creation of income and franchise tax
deductions for job creation.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order so that these
deductions, created to help bring much needed jobs to
Wisconsin, may be administered in a fair and consistent
manner.

This rule is therefore promulgated as an emergency rule
and shall take effect upon publication in the official state
newspaper.  Certified copies of this rule have been filed with
the Legislative Reference Bureau, as provided in s. 227.24,
Stats.

Publication Date: April 7, 2011

Effective Dates: April 7, 2011 through
September 3, 2011

Hearing Date: June 14, 2011

3. EmR1110 — The Wisconsin Department of Revenue
hereby adopts an emergency rule interpreting s. 77.54 (56),
Stats., creating section Tax 11.10 relating to wind, solar, and
certain gas powered products.

The statement of scope for this emergency rule, SS 001−11,
was approved by the governor on June 17, 2011, and
published in Register 667 on July 14, 2011.  This emergency
rule was approved by the governor on June 20, 2011

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that the attached rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to reflect changes in Wisconsin’s tax
laws due to the creation of a sales and use tax exemption for
certain energy−producing wind, solar, and gas powered
products and the electricity or energy they produce.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order so that this
exemption, which is effective July 1, 2011, may be
administered in a fair and consistent manner.

This rule is therefore promulgated as an emergency rule
and shall take effect upon publication in the official state
newspaper. Certified copies of this rule have been filed with
the Legislative Reference Bureau, as provided in s. 227.24,
Stats.

Publication Date: June 29, 2011

Effective Dates: June 29, 2011 through
November 25, 2011

Safety and Professional Services
(Formerly Commerce)

Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,
Chs. Comm 100−149

EmR1041 — Rule adopted creating Chapter Comm 103,
relating to certification of disabled−veteran−owned
businesses, and affecting small businesses.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by SECTION 101 (1) in 2009 Wisconsin

Act 299, exempts the Department from providing evidence
that this emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare; and exempts the
Department from providing a finding of emergency for the
adoption of this rule.

Publication Date: November 14, 2010
Effective Dates: November 14, 2010 through

April 12, 2011
Extension Through: August 10, 2011
Hearing Date: February 15, 2011

Safety and Professional Services (3)
(Formerly Regulation and Licensing)

1. EmR0827 — Rule adopted creating section RL 91.01 (3)
(k), relating to training and proficiency in the use of
automated external defibrillators for certification as a
massage therapist or bodyworker.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Dates: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Date: November 26, 2008
April 13, 2009

2. EmR0828 — Rules adopted to amend section RL 181.01
(2) (c); and to create sections RL 180.02 (1m), (3m) and (11),
181.01 (1) (d), (2) (c) 1. and 2., relating to training and
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators for
licensure as a licensed midwife.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Dates: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Date: November 26, 2008
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3. EmR1102 — Rule adopted creating Chapters RL 200 to
202, relating to governing professional conduct of individuals
licensed as sign language interpreters, and for the treatment of
state resident licensure exemption requests.
Finding of Emergency

2009 Wisconsin Act 360 created laws regulating the
practice of sign language interpreting, and became effective
on December 1, 2010.  Under the act, codified at s. 440.032,
Stats., individuals practicing as sign language interpreters
must now be licensed by the department, and must comply
with a code of professional conduct to be promulgated by the
department.  The new law also provides for exemptions from
the licensure requirement under certain circumstances, and
requires the council to promulgate rules establishing the
criteria and procedures for granting state resident exemptions.
As s. 440.032, Stats., is already in effect, an emergency rule
is necessary to implement the law pending promulgation of a
similar permanent rule.

Publication Date: March 16, 2011
Effective Dates: March 16, 2011 through

August 12, 2011
Hearing Date: May 3, 2011

Safety and Professional Services — 
Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board
EmR1047 — Rule adopted to revise Chapters BC 9 and

11, relating to late renewal and continuing education.
Finding of Emergency

The rule as currently promulgated fails to adequately
protect the public to the extent that several provisions are
underdeveloped, ambiguous or silent.  As a result,
inconsistent interpretations and contradictory information
has led to significant confusion within the profession.  Given
that the rules require licensees to comply by March 31, 2011,
the errors and omissions need to be addressed immediately so
licensees can receive adequate training to provide safe and
competent services to the public, and comply with the
requirements for renewal of a license.

Publication Date: December 23, 2010
Effective Dates: December 23, 2010 through

May 21, 2011
Extension Through: September 18, 2011

Hearing Date: April 4, 2011

Safety and Professional Services — 
Veterinary Examining Board

EmR1103 — Rule adopted to revise sections VE 2.01 (2),
3.03 (intro) and (5), relating to the requirements for the initial
licensure of veterinarians, specifically, the procedures for,
and the types of examinations required.

Finding of Emergency
As currently written, the veterinary examining board rules

regarding licensure candidates’ deadlines for submission of
applications to take the North American Veterinary Licensing
Examination (NAVLE) do not align with the deadlines
established by the National Board of Veterinary Medical
Examiners (NBVME).  The rules thus also conflict with the
deadlines defined in the board’s NBVME NAVLE agreement.
The rules state that a candidate shall file a completed NAVLE
application with the board at least 60 days prior to the date of
the scheduled examination.  However, NAVLE’s deadlines
require submission of applications approximately 115 days
ahead of the examination date.  This inconsistency between
the rules and NAVLE’s deadlines will likely cause significant
confusion for licensure candidates.  At worst, it could
preclude a candidate from taking the particular NAVLE he or
she applies for due to missing the application deadline.  In
addition, recently−passed legislation now allows foreign
veterinary graduates to show evidence of successful
completion of the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary
Education Equivalence (PAVE) as an alternative to the
American Veterinary Medical Association (AMVA)
Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates
Certification (ECFVGC) program.  The board adopts this
emergency rule effecting the necessary changes pending the
promulgation of a similar permanent rule.

Publication Date: March 28, 2011
Effective Dates: March 28, 2011 through

August 24, 2011
Hearing Date: May 25, 2011
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Scope Statements

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
SS 008−11

In accordance with 2011 Wisconsin Act 21 (s. 227.135(2),
Stats.), this scope statement was approved by the Governor on
July 27, 2011 before DATCP took any action in proceeding
with this proposed rule, including submission of this scope
statement for publication.

Subject
Regulation of Wisconsin’s Shellfish Shippers and

Processors.

Administrative Code References
Chapter ATCP 70, Subchapter IV, Wis. Admin. Code

(Existing).

Statutory Authority
DATCP proposes to revise ch. ATCP 70, Wis. Admin.

Code, under authority of ss. 93.07 (1), 97.09, and 97.29 (5),
Stats.

Preliminary Objectives
This proposed rule change would modify DATCP’s food

processing plant rule, as it relates to the processing of shellfish
(e.g., oysters, clams and scallops).  Subchapter IV of chapter
ATCP 70 sets certain standards for food safety practices
specifically for food processing plants that process fish
(which includes shellfish).

Under current rules, food processing plants in Wisconsin
that perform fish processing may receive and process shellfish
from another state for final sale only within the state.  The
proposed rule would allow for Wisconsin food processing
plant businesses to process and repack shellfish for further
shipment to other states.

Policy Analysis
Proposed rule revisions may allow qualifying Wisconsin

food processing businesses to participate with 37 other states
that are members of the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation
Conference (ISSC).  The ISSC is the primary voluntary
national organization of state shellfish regulatory officials; it
provides guidance and counsel on matters for the sanitary
control of shellfish.

The ISSC has entered into a memorandum of
understanding with the United States Food and Drug
Administration (FDA).  Together, FDA and state sanitation
officials through the ISSC have created a federal/state
cooperative program called the National Shellfish Sanitation
Program (NSSP), which promotes and improves the
sanitation of shellfish moving in interstate commerce through
federal/state cooperation and uniformity of state shellfish
programs.

The proposed rule would adopt portions of the National
Shellfish Sanitation Program Guide for the Control of
Molluscan Shellfish (2009), which sets the sanitary control
standards for shellfish for human consumption.  Wisconsin
food processing businesses that met these standards would

then be certified to process and ship shellfish (that originally
were produced outside the state) in interstate commerce.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no federal law related to the transportation and

processing of shellfish.  However, FDA publishes the
National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP), which
contains a model ordinance that states may use to develop
uniform shellfish regulations and allow for interstate
commerce.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Licensed Wisconsin food processing plants and

warehouses.

Policy Alternatives
Do nothing. If DATCP takes no action, there will be no

provision to allow state food processing plants to process and
repackage shellfish (obtained outside the state) for further
processing and shipping into interstate commerce.  Current
rules allow Wisconsin (a shellfish non−producing state) to
receive shellfish and then sell them at retail only within
Wisconsin borders.

Statutory Alternatives
None at this time.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
DATCP estimates it will use the equivalent of .1 FTE staff

to revise this rule.  This anticipates an 18month period for
investigation and analysis, rule drafting, preparing related
documents, coordinating advisory committee meetings,
holding public hearings and communicating with affected
persons and groups.  DATCP will use existing staff to develop
this rule.

DATCP Board Authorization
DATCP may not begin drafting this rule until the Board of

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (Board)
approves this scope statement.  The Board may not approve
this scope statement sooner than 10 days after this scope
statement is published in the Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  Before DATCP holds public hearings on this rule,
the department must prepare an economic impact analysis and
the Board must approve the hearing draft.  The Governor and
the Board must also approve the final draft rule before the rule
can be adopted.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

SS 006−11
(DNR # FR−18−11)

This statement of scope was approved by the governor on
July 14, 2011.

Subject
Revision of Chapter NR 46, Wis. Admin. Code relating to

the administration of the Managed Forest Law (MFL)
Program.
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Objective of the Rule
Revision of NR 46 provisions related to administration of

the MFL program is being requested to (1) streamline
processing of MFL entries, transfers, and withdrawals, (2)
increase efficiencies and reduce staff time, (3) provide greater
flexibility in meeting landowner and program goals, and (4)
meet addition needs and desires of the public.

The Division of Forestry is working through its Strategic
Direction and must find enough efficiency in administering
all of its programs in order to adequately provide service to
Wisconsin’s citizens with reduced budgets and personnel.  A
critical analysis of the administration of the MFL program
may help the Division of Forestry to succeed in providing
forestry service now and into the future.

Policy Analysis
Wisconsin’s Managed Forest Law (MFL) was created in

1986 for the purpose of promoting sound forestry practices on
privately owned woodlands.  Since 1986 the MFL program
has been amended many times to balance the incentive for
private landowners to enroll in MFL program with the public
willingness to support it.  The sum of these changes had made
the MFL program complex and difficult to explain, enter and
enforce.

Recent changes to MFL as a result of 2009 Wisconsin Act
365 have made many improvements to streamlining the
administration of the MFL program.  Additional streamlining
changes are needed to continue reducing customer approval
time and DNR and cooperating foresters’ time in review and
establishment of management practices.  Changes may also
allow for greater flexibility in meeting landowner goals and
program requirements.

Statutory Authority
Statutory authority for creation of this new rule can be

found in ch. 77, Wis. Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There are no existing or proposed federal regulations to

compare with Wisconsin’s Managed Forest Law or Forest
Crop Law programs.

Entities Affected by the Rule
DNR Forestry personnel, cooperating foresters, certified

plan writers, Wisconsin Woodland Owner’s Association,
Wisconsin Wildlife Federation, forest industries and loggers,
Wisconsin Counties Association, Wisconsin Towns
Association, and Wisconsin Treasurers Association are some
of the groups that will be impacted or interested in changes to
NR 46.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
The department estimates that approximately 200 hours of

existing staff time will be needed to develop this rule.  The
time includes meeting with department staff and partners to
collect information on streamlining measures, drafting the
rule, taking the rule to statewide public hearing, preparation

for meetings with the Natural Resources Board, legislative
review, and rule adoption.

Agency Contact
Kathy Nelson
Forest Tax Policy Chief
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 S. Webster Street
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707−7921
Phone: 608−266−3545
Kathryn.Nelson@Wisconsin.gov

Revenue
SS 007−11

This scope statement was approved by the governor on July
25, 2011.

Subject
Chapter Tax 2, relating to income taxation, returns,

records, and gross income.

Objective of the rule
The objective of the proposed rule changes is to administer

the provisions of s. 71.255 (6) (bm), Stats., as created by 2011
Wisconsin Act 32.

Policy analysis
Existing policies are as set forth in the rules.  No new

policies are being proposed, other than to reflect law changes.
If the rules are not changed, they will be incorrect in that they
will not reflect current law or current Department policy.

Statutory Authority
Sections 71.255 (6) (bm) 4., as created by 2011 Wisconsin

Act 32, and 227.24, Stats.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
The department estimates it will take approximately

175 hours to develop the emergency and proposed permanent
rule orders.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Corporations in a combined group having at least one

member with a pre−2009 net business loss carryforward, as
well as persons who prepare franchise and income tax returns
for those corporations.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is

intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rules.

Contact person:
Dale Kleven: (608)266−8253 or

dale.kleven@revenue.wi.gov
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing
Safety and Professional Services —

Dentistry Examining Board
CR 11−033

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board, will hold
a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order adopting permanent rules to amend sections
DE 2.03 (1) (intro.), (a), (2), (3), (5) (a) (intro.), and (b); and
to create sections DE 2.03 (1) (d), (4), (5) (a) 4. and Chapter
DE 13, relating to licensure renewal and continuing education
for dentists and dental hygienists.

Hearing Information

Date: Wednesday, September 7, 2011
Time: 8:30 A.M.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
Room 121A
Madison, WI 53703

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Even if you appear at the hearing in person, you are
urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as
well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be submitted in
writing without a personal appearance by mail addressed to
the Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division
of Board Services, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by the date and
time of the hearing to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Submittal of Written Comments
Comments may be submitted to Kris Anderson, Paralegal,

Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of
Board Services, 1400 E. Washington Ave., Room 151, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email to
Kristine1.Anderson@Wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be
received on or before the date and time of the hearing to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Kris Anderson, Paralegal, Department of Safety and
Professional Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or by email at Kristine1.Anderson@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Safety and
Professional Services

Statutes interpreted

Sections 447.05, 447.055, and 447.056, Stats.

Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 447.02 (1) (f), and
447.055(6) and 447.056 (5), Stats.

Explanation of Statutory Authority
Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., requires that examining

boards shall promulgate rules for their own guidance and for
the guidance of the professions over which they have
jurisdiction.  Section 227.11 (2), Stats., permits an agency to
promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statute
enforced or administered by the agency.  Section 447.02 (1)
(f), Stats., authorizes the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining
Board to promulgate rules regarding compliance with
continuing education requirements under s. 447.056, Stats.
Sections 447.055 (6) and 447.056 (5), Stats. authorizes the
Dentistry Examining Board to require applicants for the
renewal of licenses to practice dentistry and dental hygiene to
submit proof of compliance with continuing education
requirements.
Related rules or statutes

There are no related statutes or rules other than those listed
above.
Plain language analysis

This rule−making proposal implements the continuing
education (CE) requirements for dental hygienists established
by the state legislature in 2005 Wis.  Act 318 and for dentists
in 2007 Wis. Act 31.  The dentistry examining board’s
proposal includes new ch. DE 13, setting forth specific rules
and procedures respecting CE for both professions.  The
board also proposes changes to the licensure renewal rules for
dentists and dental hygienists, found in s. DE 2.03, that are
necessitated by the new continuing education requirements.
Comparison with federal regulations

There are no existing or proposed federal regulations.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
The Illinois statutes require dentists to complete 48 hours

of CE in courses relevant to the practice of dentistry during
each triennial licensure renewal period.  Dental hygienists
must complete 36 hours each triennium.  Licensure renewal
applicants for both professions must submit an affidavit
attesting to their compliance with the appropriate CE
requirement.  225 ILCS 25/16.1.  Under the Illinois
Administrative Code, there is no CE requirement for new
licensees applying for their first renewal.  68 Ill. Admin. Code
1220.440 a) 4).  Persons who are licensed in a dental specialty
need only complete the CE required for their general license.
68 Ill. Admin. Code 1220.440 a) 5).  No more than 50% of the
required CE hours for licensees of both professions may be
acquired through correspondence courses.  To receive credit
for a correspondence course, the course must include a test on
which the licensee achieves a passing grade.  68 Ill. Admin.
Code 1220.440 b) 3).  Licensees may earn credit for teaching
CE programs or courses, but only once for the same program
or course during a triennium.  68 Ill. Admin. Code 1220.440
b) 6).  They may earn no more than 2 of the required credits
for presenting volunteer community oral health education
programs.  68 Ill. Admin. Code 1220.440 b) 7).  Licensees
may seek approval of an individual program or course not
previously approved, including courses sponsored in other
jurisdictions, prior to participation therein by application and
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payment of a $20 fee.  68 Ill. Admin. Code 1220.440 b) 9).
See
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1296
&ChapterID=24,
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/0680
12200D04400R.html, 
See also http://www.idfpr.com/dpr/WHO/dent.asp.

Iowa:
Iowa requires members of both the dentistry and dental

hygiene professions to complete 30 hours of continuing
education during each biennial licensure renewal period,
except for the period of initial licensure.  Section 272C.2,
Iowa Code; Sections 650−14.1 (3), 25.2 (1), Iowa Admin.
Code (IAC).  All of the following rules thus apply to both
professions.  Licensees may earn CE credits for attending or
presenting at a multiday, convention−type meeting held at a
national, state, or regional level (maximum of 6 credits per
biennium); postgraduate work in health sciences (15 credits
per semester); completing Part II of the National Board
Examination for dentists, or the National Board Examination
for dental hygienists, or a recognized specialty examination
(15 credits); self−study activities, including television
viewing, video programs, interactive correspondence
programs that require branching, navigation, participation
and decision−making by the participant (maximum of 12
credits); teaching dental education (credit for same program
only once per biennium, but teaching earns double credit);
publishing scientific articles related to dentistry, dental
hygiene, or dental assisting in a professional journal (5 credits
per article, maximum of 20 per biennium); and other CE
activities as approved by the board.  Section 650−25.3 (4),
IAC.  The only mandatory programming is in child and/or
dependent adult abuse reporting (2 hours every 5 years) and
CPR certification (maximum of 3 credits per biennium).
Sections 650−25.2 (9), (10), IAC.  Licensees must keep
records of courses they attend for 4 years after the end of the
year of attendance.  Section 650−25.2 (5).  There is no
carryover of credits from one biennium to another.  Section
650−25.2 (8).  Licensees may apply for approval of otherwise
unapproved CE activities upon application and payment of a
fee.  Sections 650−25.3 (5), (6).  The board may exempt
licensees from the CE requirements for illness or disability.
Section 650−25.2 (8).  Exemptions will be granted for the
other reasons set forth in s. 650−25.7 (2), including periods
during which the licensee is on active duty in military service,
is practicing in another jurisdiction in which the licensee
meets that jurisdiction’s CE requirements, is in government
service assigned to duty outside the United States, and other
periods as approved by the board.  See
http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ar/iac?f=templ
ates&fn=default.htm,
www.state.ia.us/dentalboard/con_ed.html.  
See also http://www.state.ia.us/dentalboard/con_ed.html.

Michigan:
Michigan dentists must complete 60 hours of CE per

triennial licensure renewal period, twenty of which must be in
programs directly related to clinical issues.  Training for the
required certification in basic or cardiac life support does not
count toward the 60−hour CE requirement.  Dental specialists
must complete 20 hours in their specialty field.  All licensees
must complete one hour of pain and symptom management.
One hour of credit equals 50−60 minutes of instruction.
Licensees must keep records of their CE compliance for four
years after the date of a renewal application.  Sections R

338.11701 (2), (3), Mich. Admin. Code.  Dentists may earn
CE hours by completing courses approved by the Michigan
Board of Dentistry offered for credit in a dental school or
hospital−based specialty program; participating in a
postgraduate dental clinical training program of at least 7
months (maximum of 20 credits per calendar year); attending
CE programs approved by the Academy of General
Dentistry’s Program Approval for Continuing Education
under its 2008 standards; developing and presenting a table
clinical demonstration or a lecture in conjunction with a
board−approved CE program (maximum of 10 hours for one
program, and credit awarded only for the initial presentation);
publishing an article in the journal of a school for
dental−related professions or of a state or state−component
dental−related professional association (12 credits per
article); reading articles, viewing or listening to media other
than on−line programs devoted to the dental professions
(maximum of 10 credits); participating in board−approved
on−line CE activities (maximum of 20 credits); completing an
American board specialty examination (10 credits awarded);
renewing a license in another state that has substantially
equivalent CE requirements (60 credits awarded); attending
a program approved by another state’s dental board; or
attending programs related to certain CE topics approved by
the boards of medicine or osteopathic medicine (maximum of
30 credits).  Section R 338.11703, Mich. Admin. Code.  The
board may waive the CE requirement for a dentist for one of
the following four reasons: temporary disability, military
service, absence from the continental United States, or other
circumstance beyond the licensee’s control that the board
considers good and sufficient.  All licensed dentists are
otherwise subject to the CE requirement.  See
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33811101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=.
See also
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch_dentist_cebroc
_122701_7.pdf.

Dental hygienists in Michigan must complete 36 hours of
CE during each triennial licensure renewal period, 12 of
which must be in programs directly related to clinical issues
such as delivery of care, materials used in delivering care, and
pharmacology.  Training for the required certification in basic
or cardiac life support does not count toward the 36−hour CE
requirement.  All hygienists must complete one hour of pain
and symptom management, which may include, but are not
limited to courses in behavior management, psychology of
pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress
management, clinical applications, and drug interactions.
One hour of credit equals 50−60 minutes of instruction.
Licensees must keep records of their CE compliance for four
years after the date of a renewal application.  Sections R
338.11704 (2), (3), Mich. Admin. Code.  Activities that
qualify for dental hygienists’ CE credit are generally the same
as those that qualify for dentists’ CE.  Where a specific
number of credits is indicated for dentists, the number is
pro−rated for dental hygienists, and hygienists do not have the
options of participating in a postgraduate dental clinical
training program, or completing a dental specialty
examination.  Sections R 338.11704a, Mich. Admin. Code.
The same waiver principles that apply to dentists apply to
dental hygienists, and all dental hygienists are otherwise
subject to the CE requirement.  See
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33811101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh,
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http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch_rdh_rda_cebro
c_122702_7.pdf=.  See also
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch_rdh_rda_cebro
c_122702_7.pdf.

Minnesota:

Minnesota dentists and dental hygienists must satisfy
professional development requirements during their initial
and subsequent licensure renewal periods.  The initial
licensure period varies in the number of months depending on
the date of an individual licensee’s initial licensure;
subsequent periods are for two years, also based on the date
of initial licensure.  Section 3100.5100, Subp. 1., Minn.
Admin. Code.  Dentists must complete 50, and dental
hygienists 25, professional development hours (PDH’s) per
period.  No carryover of PDH’s from one renewal period to
another is allowed.  Licensees are required to maintain a
professional development portfolio for record−keeping.
Sixty percent of the required PDH’s for both professions must
be in fundamental activities directly related to the provision
of clinical dental services: 30 hours for dentists, 15 for dental
hygienists.  A maximum of 40% of a licensee’s required
PDH’s may be in elective activities directly related to, or
supportive of, the practices of dentistry, dental hygiene, or
dental assisting.  The Minnesota Board of Dentistry may grant
a time extension to a licensee for completion of his or her
required PDH’s upon finding sufficient extenuating
circumstances.  Section 3100.5100, Subp. 2., Minn. Admin.
Code.  Qualifying professional development activities
include, but are not limited to continuing education,
community services, publications, and career
accomplishments throughout a licensee’s professional life.
The board categorizes all such activities as either fundamental
or elective.  Fundamental activities include, but are not
limited to clinical subject programs pertaining to basic
sciences or programs on the care and treatment of patients,
core subject programs related to public safety and
professionalism, CPR certification (mandatory for all
licensees at every renewal), and a self−assessment
examination (mandatory for all licensees during each renewal
period).  Core subjects include, but are not limited to infection
control, record−keeping, ethics, patient communications,
medical emergency management, and treatment and
diagnosis.  CPR certification courses must be equivalent to
either the American Heart Association or the American Red
Cross professional rescuer course.  The board must approve
other fundamental activities if any such activities are directly
related to either a clinical or core subject as those terms are
defined in the rules.  Section 3100.5100, Subp. 3. A., Minn.
Admin. Code.  Elective activities include attendance at a
multiday state or national dental convention (maximum three
credits per biennium); volunteerism or community service
directly related to a dental profession practice; self−study of
subjects directly related to a dental profession practice; and
scholarly activities such as teaching a dental profession
course, presenting a table clinic, publishing a dental article in
a recognized publication, participating in test construction for
a state or nationally recognized dental organization, or
participating in an accredited institution’s scientific dental
research or in an evidence−based clinical study.  The board
must approve other elective activities if any such activity is
directly related to, or supportive of, the practice of one of the

dental professions.  Section 3100.5100, Subp. 3. B., Minn.
Admin. Code.  Licensees must keep the records of their
completion of professional development activities for at least
one renewal period past the period in which the PDH’s for
such activities were earned.  Section 3100.5100, Subp. 5.,
Minn. Admin. Code.  See
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=150A,
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=3100, 
See also http://www.dentalboard.state.mn.us/.

Summary of data and analytical methodologies
The Dentistry Examining Board reviewed the statutory

requirements for continuing education for both dentists and
dental hygienists and worked to clarify precisely what is
required for licensees and what qualifies for continuing
education in Wisconsin.  Additionally, the board clarified
renewal requirements with regard to continuing education.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small business

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Small Business Impact
These proposed rules were reviewed by the department’s

Small Business Review Advisory Committee.  It was
determined the rules will not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
John.Murray@Wisconsin.gov, or by calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that the proposed rule will have

no significant fiscal impact.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person
Kris Anderson, Paralegal, Department of Safety and

Professional Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608−261−2385; email at
Kristine1.Anderson@Wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Safety and Professional Services —

Dentistry Examining Board
CR 11−034

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board, will hold
a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order adopting permanent rules to amend sections
DE 1.02 (2), 2.015 (1) (c), (2) (a), (b), (3), (4), and section DE
2.04 (1) (e), and to repeal the Note following section DE 1.02
(2), relating to the active practice of dentistry, specialty
certification, and faculty licenses.
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Hearing Information

Date: Wednesday, September 7, 2011
Time: 8:30 A.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 121A
Madison, WI 53703

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Even if you appear at the hearing in person, you are
urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as
well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be submitted in
writing without a personal appearance by mail addressed to
the Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division
of Board Services, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by the date and
time of the hearing to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Submittal of Written Comments
Comments may be submitted to Kris Anderson,

Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of
Board Services, 1400 E. Washington Ave., Room 151, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email:
Kristine1.Anderson@Wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be
received on or before the date and time of the public hearing
to be included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Kris Anderson, Paralegal, Department of Safety and
Professional Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or by email at Kristine1.Anderson@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Safety and
Professional Services

Statutes interpreted
Sections 447.04 (1) (a) 6., (b) 1., (c), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 447.04 (1) (c) 4., Stats.

Explanation of Statutory Authority
Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., requires that examining

boards shall promulgate rules for their own guidance and for
the guidance of the professions over which they have
jurisdiction.  Section 227.11 (2), Stats., permits an agency to
promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statute
enforced or administered by the agency.  Section 447.04 (1),
Stats., authorizes the Wisconsin dentistry examining board to
grant a license to practice dentistry to any individual who
meets the requirements set forth in that subsection.

Related rules or statutes
There are no other related statutes or rules beyond those

indicated above.

Plain language analysis
The dentistry examining board believes that its existing

rules create barriers to licensing dentists.  Currently, the
board’s active practice rule does not recognize residency
training as a qualifying activity for active practice in
endorsement licensure, but the rule does count hours spent in
private practice and clinical instruction at a dentistry school

accredited by the American Dental Association.  The board
therefore proposes to change the definition of active practice
in s. DE 1.02 (2) to include years spent in postgraduate dental
residency training as qualifying for active practice hours for
licensure by endorsement.

Next, the dentistry examining board proposes to amend s.
DE 2.015 to extend the faculty license opportunities currently
available for prospective faculty members at Marquette
University School of Dentistry to prospective faculty
members at accredited institutions in Wisconsin that teach
dentistry to post−graduate residents.

Lastly, the dentistry examining board will continue to
accept board certification in an accredited specialty to meet
the requirements of licensure by endorsement.  However, the
dentistry examining board proposes to repeal the requirement
in s. DE 2.04 (1) (e) that specialty certification must have been
obtained within the 10 years preceding a licensure
application, as the board has determined it is not necessary to
restrict the time for acquiring the board certification.

Comparison with federal regulations
There are no federal regulations regarding the licensure of

dentists.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Illinois:
Applicants for dentistry licensure by endorsement in

Illinois must have been “lawfully engaged in the practice of
dentistry…for at least 3 of the 5 years immediately preceding
the filing of his or her application….”  For purposes of
endorsement licensure, the practice of dentistry includes the
practice of a licensed dental specialty.  An applicant may also
count time spent practicing dentistry in the military service,
if such service was within the immediately preceding 5 years.
225 ILCS 25/19.  68 Ill. Admin. Code 1120.410 a).

Applicants for licensure in a dental specialty must have
passed an examination for specialty licensure within 3 years
prior to specialty licensure.  68 Ill. Admin. Code 1220.320 e).

Persons with full−time appointments to teach dentistry at
an approved dental school or hospital situated in Illinois may
receive, without examination, a restricted faculty dentistry
license.  225 ILCS 25/11 (d).

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=129
6&ChapterID=24,
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/0680
12200D04100R.html.

Iowa:
The Iowa statutes permit licensure of dentists “by

credentials” for applicants licensed to practice dentistry in
another state, territory, or district of the United States.  Such
applicants must have been engaged in the legal practice of
dentistry in the jurisdiction in which they were licensed for the
three consecutive years immediately preceding their
application for Iowa licensure.  Iowa Code s. 153.21.  The
statutory definition of the “practice of dentistry” does not
preclude practice in the United States military service.  Iowa
Code s. 153.13.

Neither the Iowa statutes, nor its administrative rules make
any reference to certification in a dental specialty in the
context of application for licensure by credentials.

Under s. 153.37, Iowa Code, the Iowa dental board may
issue a permit to practice dentistry within a college of
dentistry and its affiliated teaching facilities to a faculty
member of such college who is not otherwise a licensed Iowa
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dentist.  Section 650−13.2 (1), Iowa Admin. Code, specifies
that “[t]he board may issue a faculty permit entitling the
holder to practice dentistry…as a faculty member within the
University of Iowa College of Dentistry…and affiliated
teaching facilities.”

http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ic?f=templa
tes&fn=default.htm.

Michigan:
Michigan applicants for licensure as a dentist by

endorsement do not have to have been practicing in the
endorsing state for any minimum amount of time.  However,
if the applicant has practiced in the other jurisdiction for less
than 5 years, and had taken a regional or state examination
administered by an entity other than the North East Regional
Board of Dental Examiners (NERB), he or she must arrange
to have the examination taken evaluated by the Michigan
Board of Dentistry for a determination of equivalency to
NERB.  If the dentistry board finds non−equivalency, the
applicant will be required to pass all or part of the NERB
examination for Michigan licensure.  Michigan Admin. Code
R 338.11255 (2) (f).

An applicant for specialty licensure by endorsement must
first obtain a license to practice general dentistry.  Thus, the
foreign−jurisdiction specialty license must meet the
requirements for a general dentistry license in Michigan to be
used as the basis for endorsement licensure.  The new licensee
may then use his or her foreign−jurisdiction specialty
certification to apply for specialty licensure by endorsement
in Michigan.  R 338.11267 (1).

Finally, the Michigan dentistry board “may issue a limited
license…to an individual who is a graduate dentist…and who
is employed by a dental program or a dental auxiliary program
as a faculty member.”  R 338.11247 (3).  There does not appear
to be any limitation on the site of the dental program
employment other than that it should be in Michigan.
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33811101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=.
See also
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,1607,7−154−27417_27529
_27533−−−,00.html.

Minnesota:
An applicant for dentistry licensure by credentials in

Minnesota may become licensed in Minnesota based on his or
her performance record if, among other things, the applicant
has been in active practice at least 2,000 hours within 36
months of the application date.  Section 150A.06, Subd. 4. (a)
(1), Minn. Stats.  The Minnesota administrative rules provide
that the active practice of dentistry in United States
government service may also count toward the hours
requirement for licensure by credential.  Section 3100.1400
A., Minnesota Admin. Rules.

Applicants for general dentistry licensure by credentials
may not count specialty practice hours toward the 2,000
active practice requirement.  However, licensure in a dental
specialty in Minnesota does not require a general dentistry
license first.  Section 150A.06, Subd. 1c., Minn. Stats.  Thus,
an applicant for licensure by credentials as a dental specialist
may count time spent in active dental specialty practice in
another jurisdiction or a postdoctoral specialty education
program or United States government service toward the
hours requirement.  Section 150A.06, Subd. 1c. (b) (3).

To practice dentistry in a school of dentistry, a faculty
member must hold either a “limited faculty license,” or a “full

faculty license.”  Section 150A.06, Subd. 1a. (a), Minn. Stats.
The board of dentistry may issue such licenses to faculty
members of a Minnesota school of dentistry accredited by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association.  Sections 150A.06, Subd. 1a. (a), (b), Minn.
Stats.  https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/.

Summary of data and analytical methodologies
The dentistry examining board seeks to remove some

unnecessary roadblocks to licensure for dentists.  Allowing
residency hours to count as active practice hours for licensure
by endorsement and allowing board certification, regardless
of when obtained, to count in meeting the requirements of
licensure by endorsement will make licensure easier for
endorsement candidates.  Additionally, medical institutions
which teach dentistry in post−graduate residency training
programs have been requesting for years that the faculty
license be extended to other institutions which train dental
residents, beyond the Marquette University School of
Dentistry.  This rule clarifies that faculty licenses may be
issued to individuals with job offers from institutions with
post−graduate residency training programs and clarifies that
the safeguards associated with the faculty license apply to
those institutions as well.  This change will allow more
candidates to obtain a faculty license.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small business

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Small Business Impact
These proposed rules were reviewed by the department’s

Small Business Review Advisory Committee on May 19,
2011.  It was determined the rules will not have a significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses,
as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s
Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at
John.Murray@Wisconsin.gov, or by calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that the proposed rule will have

no significant fiscal impact.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person
For copies of, or questions about this rule−making

proposal, please contact Kris Anderson, Department of Safety
and Professional Services, Division of Board Services, 1400
East Washington Avenue, Room 116, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone: 608−261−2385;
email: Kristine1.Anderson@Wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Safety and Professional Services —

Dentistry Examining Board
CR 11−035

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board, will hold
a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
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consider an order adopting permanent rules to amend sections
DE 2.03 (1) (b), (5) (a) 2., 2.04 (1) (g), (h), (2) (a), (g), (h), 6.02
(4) (c), 7.03 (2), 7.05 (2) (a), and to create section DE 2.03 (1)
(c), (5) (a) 3., relating to CPR training for licensure renewal
for dentists and dental hygienists and related to certification
of dental hygienists to administer local anesthesia, and
unprofessional advertising for dentists.

Hearing Information

Date: Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Time: 8:30 A.M.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
Room 121A
Madison, WI 53703

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Even if you appear at the hearing in person, you are
urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as
well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be submitted in
writing without a personal appearance by mail addressed to
the Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division
of Board Services, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by the date and
time of the hearing to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Submittal of Written Comments

Comments may be submitted to Kris Anderson,
Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of
Board Services, 1400 E. Washington Ave., Room 151, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email to
Kristine1.Anderson@Wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be
received on or before the date and time of the hearing to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Proposed Rule

Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to
Kris Anderson, Paralegal, Department of Safety and
Professional Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or by email at Kristine1.Anderson@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Safety and
Professional Services

Statutes interpreted

Sections 447.05 and 447.07 (3) (m) and (o), Stats.

Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Explanation of Statutory Authority

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., requires that examining
boards shall promulgate rules for their own guidance and for
the guidance of the professions over which they have
jurisdiction.  Section 227.11 (2), Stats., permits an agency to
promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statute
enforced or administered by the agency.

Related rules or statutes

There are no related statutes or rules other than those listed
above.

Plain language analysis
The proposed rules make it clear that individuals renewing

on a timely basis, renewing late, those seeking licensure by
endorsement, or those seeking certification as a dental
hygienist permitted to administer local anesthesia must
provide proof of proficiency in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation from a course provider approved by the
Wisconsin department of health services.  The proposed rule
changes also clarify what is considered a specialty that may
be advertised by dentists.
Comparison with federal regulations

There are no related statutes or rules other than those listed
above.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Dentists in Illinois are not required to have certification in

CPR for licensure.  However, s. 225 ILCS 25/8.1 b) 4)
provides that no dentist may administer general anesthesia,
deep sedation, or conscious sedation without a permit for such
purposes from the Illinois department of professional
regulation.  The Illinois statutes do require dental hygienists
to hold current certification in CPR for licensure.  225 ILCS
25/13 (4).  Dental hygienists may count their CPR
certification training toward their continuing education
requirements for renewal.  225 ILCS 25/16.

The statutes permit dental hygienists to administer local
anesthetics upon successful completion of a training program
approved by the department.  225 ILCS 25/18 a) (vi).
Illinois’s administrative rules specify that applicants for
initial and renewal licensure as a dental hygienist must show
current certification in Basic Life Support for Healthcare
Providers (BLS), or its equivalent, from the American Red
Cross, the American Heart Association or an equivalent
agency unless physically disabled.  68 Ill. Admin. Code
1220.200 (d), 1220.270 a) 2).

To practice as a dental specialist in Illinois, a dentist must
obtain a specialty license in addition to his or her license to
practice general dentistry.  225 ILCS 25/11 (b).  A dentist who
does not hold a license in one of the dental specialties,
endodontics, pediatric dentistry, prosthodontics,
periodontics, oral and maxillofacial radiology or surgery, or
orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics, may not advertise
as a specialist in such areas.  68 Ill. Admin. Code 1220.421 f).
See
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1296
&ChapterID=24,
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/0680
1220sections.html.

All sections of the Illinois Administrative Code can be
accessed at:
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/0680
1220sections.html

Iowa:
Applicants for licensure as either a dentist or dental

hygienist in Iowa must show current certification in CPR in
a nationally recognized course.  Section 153.15A 1. b., Iowa
Code; Sections 650−11.2 (2) i., 11.3 (2) i.  To renew either type
of license, the licensee must have current CPR certification in
a nationally recognized course, and such courses must include
a clinical component.  Section 650—14.1 (4).  Dental
hygienists may only administer local anesthesia as delegated
by, and under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist.
Sections 650−10.3 (1) e., 10.3 (4).
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Per the Iowa Dental Board website, examples of nationally
recognized CPR certification providers are the American
Heart Association and the Red Cross.  The Board has
prohibited CPR certification from online or other homestudy
courses.  Eligible CPR certifications courses must include a
clinical component.
http://www.state.ia.us/dentalboard/da.html

While Iowa does not issue licenses for specialty dentistry,
an individual may represent him or herself as a specialist in the
areas of dental public health, endodontics, oral and
maxillofacial pathology, radiology, or surgery, orthodontics,
pediatric dentistry, periodontics, or prosthodontics if the
requirements for any such specialty, as set forth in ss.
650−28.2 to 28.10, Ill. Admin. Code, are met.  Section
650−28.1, Ill. Admin. Code.  No dentist may state or imply
that he or she is certified as a specialist when that is not the
case.  Nor may a dentist use the terms “specialist,”
specializing in,” or other similar terms in connection with
areas not recognized as specialties under ch. 650−28, Ill.
Admin. Code when representing him or herself to the public.
Section 650−26.4 (2).  See
http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ic?f=templates
&fn=default.htm.

PDFs for all chapters for the Iowa Administrative Code can
be found at:
http://www.legis.state.is.us/aspx/ACODocs/chapterList.apx
?pubDate=01−13−2010&agency=650

Michigan:

Michigan does not require CPR certification for initial
licensure of dentists or dental hygienists.  However,
applicants for renewal of either type of license must hold
current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support
from an agency or organization that grants certification
pursuant to standards substantially equivalent to the standards
adopted elsewhere in the administrative code.  Sections R
338.11701 (2), 11704 (2), Mich. Admin. Code.  The Michigan
Board of Dentistry has adopted by reference the standards for
certification in basic and advanced cardiac life support for
professional providers set forth by the American Heart
Association in its 2005 “Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary
Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care.”  Section
R 338.11705 (5), Mich. Admin. Code. Dental hygienists may
only administer local anesthesia to a patient over 18 years of
age and may only do so if they are under the direct supervision
of a dentist, have successfully completed an approved course,
successfully completed an examination within 18 months of
completion of that course, and hold a current certification in
basic or advanced cardiac life support. Section R 388.11409
(1) (b), Mich. Admin. Code.

Michigan issues specialty licenses in the areas of oral and
maxillofacial surgery, orthodontics or orthodontics and
dentofacial orthopedics, prosthodontics, periodontics,
pediatric dentistry, endodontics, and oral pathology or oral
and maxillofacial pathology. Section R 388.11501 (1) (a−g),
Mich. Admin. Code. A dentist who is not licensed as a
specialist shall not announce or hold himself out to the public
as limiting his practice to, as being specially qualified in, or
giving special attention to, any of the recognized specialties.
Section R 388.11525 (1), Mich. Admin. Code.  See
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33811101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=.

Michigan administrative code can be found at:
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33811101&Dpt=CH&RngHigh=

Minnesota:
Minnesota requires dentists to hold a current CPR

certification for initial licensure only if the dentist wishes to
administer anesthesia, deep sedation, or moderate sedation.
Minn. R. 3100.3600 (2) (a) (4). Dental hygienists are not
required to hold a current CPR certification for initial
licensure. All dentists and hygienists must complete a CPR
certification course equivalent to the American Heart
Association healthcare provider course or the American Red
Cross professional rescuer course, and must hold a current
CPR certificate for renewal of licensure. Minn. R. 3100.5100
(3) (A) (3).  A dental hygienist may administer local
anesthesia without the dentist being present in the dental
office or on the premises if the procedure is performed with
prior knowledge and consent of the dentist.  Before
administering local anesthesia, a dental hygienist must have
successfully completed an accredited didactic and clinical
program. Minn. R. 3100.8700 (1) (J).

Minnesota grants special dentistry licenses in the areas
recognized by the American Dental Association. Minn. Stats.
150A.06 (1c) (a).  Minnesota also recognizes special areas of
dentistry that are suitable for advertising, which are
endodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, oral pathology,
orthodontics, pediatric dentistry, periodontics,
prosthodontics, and public health. Minn. R. 3100.7000 (1).  In
order to advertise as a specialist, a licensed dentist must
comply with the requirements of Minn. R. 3100.7000 (2).  If
those requirements are not met, a dentist may still practice as
a specialist, but may not use the terms “specialist,”
“specialty,” “specializing,” or “limited to” in advertising, and
all advertising must state that the services are being provided
by a general dentist. Minn. R. 3100.7000 (3).

Minnesota statutes may be viewed at:
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=150A.06.

Minnesota Administrative Code may be viewed at:
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=3100&format=pdf.
Summary of data and analytical methodologies

The Dentistry Examining Board considered the
requirements for CPR and seeks to clarify the CPR
requirements for licensing and certification and to rely on the
Wisconsin Department of Health Services to determine
qualified providers of CPR training.  Additionally, the board
considered acceptable advertising for dental specialties and
decided to limit specialty advertising to those approved by a
national organization, the American Dental Association
Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small business

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Small Business Impact
These proposed rules were reviewed by the department’s

Small Business Review Advisory Committee on May 19,
2011.  It was determined the rules will not have a significant



Page 19WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 668Mid−August 2011

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses,
as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s
Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at
John.Murray@Wisconsin.gov, or by calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Division of Enforcement.  The total on−going
salary and fringe costs are estimated at $36,460.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Agency Contact Person
Kris Anderson, Department of Safety and Professional

Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708; telephone 608−261−2385; email at
Kristine1.Anderson@Wisconsin.gov.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Children and Families
Safety and Permanence, Chs. DCF 35−59

CR 11−026
Revises Chapters DCF 52, 54 and 57, relating to rate

regulation of residential care centers for children and youth,
child−placing agencies, and group homes.

This rule is not subject to s. 227.185. The statement of
scope for this rule, published in Register No. 655, on July 14,
2010, was sent to LRB prior to the effective date of 2011 Wis.
Act 21.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.  The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Safety and Professional Services —
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
CR 11−028

Revise Chapter MPSW 3, relating to social work training
certificate.
Effective 10−1−11.
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