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NOTICE TO SUBSCRIBERS

What is the Single Most Important Thing the Average Subscriber to the
Printed Administrative Code Will Need to do When Printing Ends?

Quite Possibly, NOTHING

If  you subscribe to the Administrative Code and Register for the sole purpose of having the cur-
rent Administrative Code always available and you have access to the Internet, you will not need
to do anything in order to be ready for the conversion of the Administrative Code to Internet−
only publication.

As is already the case, the rules contained in the Administrative Code published on the Internet
are always current.  Changes to the Administrative Code take effect on the first day of the month
and the new and changed code chapters on the Internet are automatically updated in the early
morning hours of the first day of each month in order to be available for users.

All  chapters can be accessed from the Wisconsin Administrative Code table of contents at
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/prefaces/toc.  If you only subscribe to a specific agency’s
code, you may wish to bookmark the specific agency table of contents or even specific chapters,
as the Internet addresses are permanent.

All  chapters are published in both HTML and PDF formats.  HTML files are best for searching
and search results on the Administrative code site are to the HTML files.  Currently, PDF files
exactly reproduce the printed pages.  Upon elimination of the print versions the PDF files will
continue to be produced in exactly the same format as were the printed pages, and pagination
will continue unchanged.

If you wish to maintain a printed copy of the administrative rules that you currently subscribe
to you will want to print the PDF files as they are updated, it is important for you to know when
changes to the Administrative Code are made, or if you are a user of the Notice section of the
Register and follow proposed changes to the Administrative Code, please see Electronic Notifi-
cation of Administrative Code and Register Publication at http://legis.wisconsin.gov/rsb/elec-
tronic_noti.pdf or in past printed editions of the Wisconsin Administrative Register.

Direct questions to Bruce Hoesly (608) 266−7590, bruce.hoesly@legis.wi.gov.
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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will  contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Agriculture,  Trade and Consumer Protection (2)

1. EmR1413 (ATCP DOCKET # 14−R−09) — The
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection adopts the following emergency rule to amend
chapter ATCP 127, subchapter V (Title) and section
127.82 (2); to repeal sections ATCP 127.81 (3) (c), (d), (e)
and (Note) and 127.82 (3), (4), (5), (6), and (7); to repeal and
recreate sections ATCP 127.80 (5), 127.81 (2) (j), 127.82
(Title)  and (1) and 127.82 (8); and to create section ATCP
127.80 (6r), relating to telephone solicitations and the state
do−not−call registry.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on July
29, 2014.

The scope for this rule, SS 049−14, was approved by the
Governor on May, 14, 2014, published in register No. 701 on
May 31, 2014, and approved by the Board of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection on June 12, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  In Wisconsin, businesses wishing to solicit consumers

by telephone must register with the department and pay an
annual registration fee.

(2)  A recent statutory change eliminated Wisconsin’s
separate no−call list and requires telephone solicitors to use
the Wisconsin portion of the national do−not−call registry.

(3) The law also requires the department to create
telephone solicitor registration requirements by rule that will
show proof that the businesses have registered with the
federal trade commission’s do−not−call registry to obtain and
use the Wisconsin portion of the national do−no−call registry.

(4) The statutory change takes effect August 1, 2014.
However, the permanent rule−making establishing these
registration requirements will not be effective until
mid−2015.

(5)  The department must adopt registration requirements
by emergency rule by August 1, 2014 so telephone solicitors
can register with the department and comply with the law
before the permanent rule is completed.

(6)  This temporary emergency rule is necessary to protect
the welfare of businesses that wish to register as telephone
solicitors in Wisconsin.  Without this emergency rule,
telephone solicitors would not be able to register with the
department and would not be able to comply with the no−call
law.

Filed with LRB: July 29, 2014

Publication Date: August 1, 2014
Effective Dates: August 1, 2014 through

December 28, 2014

2. EmR1424 — The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection adopts the following
emergency rule to amend section ATCP 21.17 (1) (b) and to
create section ATCP 21.17 (1) (c), relating to the quarantine
of Columbia, Door, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, Monroe,
and Richland Counties for the emerald ash borer beetle.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
September 11, 2014.

The blanket scope for this rule, SS 141−13, was approved
by the Governor on October 30, 2013, published in register
No. 695 on November 14, 2013, and approved by the Board
of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection on December
10, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The United States Department of Agriculture —

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (“APHIS”)
positively identified Emerald Ash Borer (“EAB”) in the
village of Fish Creek, Door County on June 10, 2014.  EAB
was also identified in the city of Sturgeon Bay on June 19,
2014.  APHIS subsequently identified EAB in Nelson Dewey
State Park, Grant County, and in the Village of Oakdale,
Monroe County, on July 11, 2014.  On July 17, 2014, APHIS
identified EAB in the Town of Lodi, Columbia County.  While
EAB has not yet been positively identified in the southwestern
contiguous counties of Richland, Iowa, Lafayette, and Green,
these four counties are now completely surrounded by the
state and federal EAB quarantine.  It is very likely that these
counties already contain some level of EAB infestation, and
there is little economic or ecological benefit to keeping them
out of the quarantine.  EAB is an exotic, invasive pest that
poses a dire risk to the ash forest.  When APHIS declares
quarantine, DATCP has regulatory authority for import
controls and quarantine for EAB under s. ATCP 21.17.  It is
anticipated that APHIS will declare a quarantine for
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Columbia, Door, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, Monroe, and
Richland Counties but that it will take six to eight weeks for
APHIS to act.  An eight−week delay until enactment of the
federal quarantines leaves too much time for businesses or
individuals to move potentially EAB infested material out of
this county to areas of Wisconsin or other states that are not
infested with EAB.

(2)  DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Filed with LRB: September 25, 2014

Publication Date: September 26, 2014

Effective Dates: September 26, 2014 through
February 22, 2015

Hearing Date: October 27, 2014

Children and Families
Safety and Permanence, Chs. DCF 35—59

EmR1414 — The Wisconsin Department of Children and
Families orders the renumbering of sections DCF 50.06 (2),
57.515 (1), and 58.04 (4) (a) and (b); the renumbering and
amendment of section DCF 57.515; the amendment of
sections DCF 50.06 (3) (b) 1., 52.02 (2) (a) and (note), 52.03
(23), 52.12 (8) (b) and (9) (c) (intro.) and 1., 52.21 (3) (d) 2.
a. and (9), 52.22 (1) (d), 52.41 (1) (a) 3., 52.48 (1) (b), 52.56
(24) (a), 52.58 (4) (b) 1. and 2., 52.61 (7) (a) 2. c. to e., 52.62
(4) (b) 4., and (7) (a) (intro.) and 2. to 5., 55.10 (4) (a)
(intro.),1., and 2. a., 56.03 (12), (13), (34p), and (38), 57.02
(2) and (note), 57.05 (1) (c) (note), 57.13 (1) (j), 57.14 (2)
and (4) (a) 1., 57.16 (4), 57.17 (2) (h), 57.23 (2) (a) (intro.),
57.25 (6) (b) and (c), 57.33 (2), 57.38 (2), and 58.03 (12) and
(15); the repeal and recreation of sections DCF 52.03 (22),
52.21 (3) (d) (title), 1., and 2.c., 52.62 (4) (b) 5., 54.01 (4) (b),
56.03 (5), 57.04 (6) and (34), 57.19 (6), 58.03 (3), and 58.04
(4) (title); and the creation of Chapter DCF 21 and sections
DCF 50.06 (2) (a) (title) and 11., (2) (b), and (3) (b) 1. c.,
52.03 (27m), 52.21 (3) (d) (note), 52.62 (4) (d) and (note),
55.10 (4) (a) 3. and (am), 56.04 (39), 56.09 (1m) (cm), 57.14
(2) (c), 57.23 (2) (a) 13., 57.515 (2) and (note), 58.03 (20),
and 58.04 (4) (b), relating to the extension of out−of−home
care to children and youth 18 years of age or over, but under 21
years of age, and affecting small businesses.

This emergency rule was approved by the governor on July
25, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 045−14, was
approved by the governor on May 8, 2014, published in
Register 701, on May 31, 2014, and approved by Secretary
Eloise Anderson on June 20, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
Section 118 (1) (b) of 2013 Wisconsin Act 334 allows the

department to promulgate an emergency rule to implement
the extension of out−of−home care to children and youth 18
years of age or over, but under 21 years of age, under ss.
48.366 and 938.366, Stats., as an emergency rule without a
finding of emergency.

Filed with LRB: July 29, 2014

Publication Date: August 1, 2014

Effective Dates: August 1, 2014 through
December 28, 2014

Hearing Date: October 16, 2014

Health Services
Health, Chs. DHS 110—

EmR1410 — The Wisconsin Department of Health
Services hereby adopts emergency rules to renumber and
amend section DHS 115.05 (3); to amend sections 115.01,
115.02, and 115.04 (intr o.); and to create section 115.04 (15)
and (16), relating to screening newborns for congenital and
metabolic disorders.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
June 27, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 057−14, was
approved by the Governor on June 5, 2014, published in
Register 702, on June 14, 2014, and approved by Secretary
Rhoades on June 25, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health Services finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows: 

1.  Section 253.13 (1), Stats., requires attending physicians
and nurses licensed under s. 441.15, Stats., to cause every
infant born in each hospital or maternity home, prior to the
infant’s discharge to be subjected to tests for congenital and
metabolic disorders, as specified in rules promulgated by the
department.  If the infant is born elsewhere than in a hospital
or maternity home, the attending physician, nurse licensed
under s. 441.15, Stats., or birth attendant who attended the
birth shall cause the infant, within one week of birth, to be
subjected to these tests.

2.  Section DHS 115.04 lists the disorders for which
newborns must be tested under s. 253.13 (1), Stats.

3.  Critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) is described
as those congenital cardiac malformations in which surgical
or catheter−based therapy is necessary within the first months
of life.  There are 12 lesions commonly considered as CCHD.
In some circumstances, infants with CCHD may be
asymptomatic and have a normal physical examination prior
to routine hospital discharge or completion of home birth care.
Unrecognized CCHD can result in death or disability shortly
after hospital discharge.

4.  Death due to unrecognized CCHD from 2002 to 2006
occurred in 1:38,397 Wisconsin births and death or
re−hospitalization occurred in 1:24,684 Wisconsin births
before two weeks of age.  The median age at death due to
unrecognized CCHD was 4.5 days.

5.  Pulse oximetry, a point of care testing, is the recognized
screening method for CCHD.

6.  Prior to 2013 Wisconsin Act 135, adding pulse oximetry
screening for CCHD to the mandatory panel was not
permitted because testing for congenital and metabolic
disorders under s. 235.13 (1), Stats. (2011−12), was explicitly
limited to blood testing.  Section 253.13 (1), Stats., as
amended by 2013 Wisconsin Act 135, now allows testing for
congenital and metabolic disorders using other screening
methods including blood testing.

7.  The Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene (WSLH)
tests newborns for organic acidemias (OA), a group of
inherited disorders that lead to an abnormal buildup of
particular acids, known as organic acids, in the body.

8.  Abnormal levels of organic acids in the blood (organic
acidemia), urine (organic aciduria), and tissues can be toxic
and can cause serious health problems.  A baby affected with
an OA is usually well at birth and for the first few days of life.
The usual clinical presentation is that of toxic encephalopathy
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and includes vomiting, poor feeding, neurologic symptoms
such as seizures and abnormal tone, and lethargy progressing
to coma.  Outcome is improved by diagnosis and treatment in
the first ten days of life.

9.  Propionic acidemia and methylmalonic acidemia are
two types of organic acidemias. In propionic academia and
methylmalonic acidemia, the body is unable to process certain
parts of proteins and lipids (fats) properly. In most cases, the
features of propionic acidemia become apparent within a few
days after birth. Propionic acidemia affects about 1 in 100,000
people in the United States. The effects of methylmalonic
acidemia, which usually appear in early infancy, vary from
mild to life−threatening. Without treatment, this disorder can
lead to coma and death in some cases. This condition occurs
in an estimated 1 in 50,000 to 100,000 people.

10.  Though OA was determined to have met the criteria
under s. DHS 115.06 for being added to the list of congenital
and metabolic disorders for which WSLH must test the blood
samples of newborns, the conditions were inadvertently
omitted from the list of conditions in s. DHS 115.04 during
subsequent revisions.

11.  The process for promulgating permanent rules may
take 24 months to complete, or longer if the department is
unable to submit the permanent rules to the legislature prior
to its last general business floor period in 2016.

Filed with LRB: June 27, 2014

Publication Date: July 3, 2014
Effective Dates: July 3, 2014 through

November 29, 2014
Hearing Date: August 15, 2014

Insurance
EmR1408 — The Commissioner of Insurance proposes an

order to amend section Ins 17.01 (3); and to repeal and
recreate section. Ins 17.28 (6), Wis. Admin. Code, relating to
the Injured Patients and Families Compensation Fund Annual
Fund and mediation panel fees, for the fiscal year beginning
July 1, 2014 and affecting small business.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
June 12, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 147−13, was
approved by the Governor on November 18, 2013, published
in Register No. 695, on November 30, 2013, and approved by
the Commissioner on May 8, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These changes must be in place with an effective date prior
to July 1, 2014 in order for the new fiscal year assessments to
be issued in accordance with s. 655.27 (3), Wis. Stats.  The
permanent rule−making process cannot be completed prior to
the effective date of the new fee schedule.  The fiscal year fund
fees were established by the Board of Governors at the
meeting held on December 18, 2013 and the mediation panel
fees established by the Board of Governors at the meeting
held on March 19, 2014.

Filed with LRB: June 13, 2014

Publication Date: June 18, 2014
Effective Dates: June 18, 2014 through

November 14, 2014
Hearing Date: August 12, 2014

Natural  Resources (10)
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

1. EmR1210 (DNR # WM−09−12(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend sections
NR 10.001 (25c), 10.02 (1), 10.06 (5) and (8) (intro.), 10.07
(2) (b) 2., 10.07 (2m) (intro.) and (e) (intro.), 10.07 (2m) (f)
(intro.),  10.09 (1), 10.13 (1) (b) 9., 10.13 (1) (b) 15., 10.13 (1)
(b) 16., 10.145 (intro), 10.145 (3) to (8), 12.10 (intro.), 12.10
(1) (a) 4., 12.10 (1) (b) 2., 12.15 (13) and 19.25 and to create
sections NR 10.001 (22q), 10.001 (23a), 10.001 (23am),
10.001 (23b), 10.001 (26g), 10.001 (33), 10.01 (3) (j), 10.07
(1) (m), 10.07 (2m) (em), 10.07 (2m) (g) 3., NR 10.07 (4),
10.13 (1) (b) 15m., 10.13 (1) (b) 18., 10.145 (1m), (1u) and
Note, sections NR 10.16 (5), 10.295, 12.15 (11) (e), 12.60 to
12.63, 12.64 (1) (a) and (b) (intro.) 1., 12.64 (1) (b) 2. and 3.,
12.64 (1) (b) 4. and 5., 12.64 (2) (a) to (c), 12.64 (2) (d), 12.64
(3) and 12.65, relating to the wolf hunting and trapping
season and regulations and a depredation program.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
August 10, 2010.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 023−12, was
approved by the Governor on April 12, 2012, published in
Register No. 676, on April 30, 2012, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on May 23, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
A non−statutory provision, SECTION 21, of 2011 ACT 169

requires the department to submit rules necessary for
implementation or interpretation and establishes that the
department is not required to make a finding of emergency.

Filed with LRB: August 15, 2012

Publication Date: August 18, 2012
Effective Dates: August 18, 2012 through the 

date on which the permanent rules take effect, as provided
in 2011 Wisconsin Act 169, section 21.

2. EmR1215 (DNR # WM−16−12(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal and
recreate section NR 10.01 (3) (h) 1., relating to the coyote
hunting season.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
August 30, 2012.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 038−12, was
approved by the Governor on May 29, 2012, published in
Register No. 678, on June 14, 2012, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on June 27, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
A non−statutory provision, Section 21, of 2011 ACT 169

requires the department to submit rules necessary for
implementation or interpretation and establishes that the
department is not required to make a finding of emergency.

Filed with LRB: September 14, 2012
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Publication Date: October 1, 2012

Effective Dates: October 1, 2012 through the
date on which the permanent rules take effect, as provided
in 2011 Wisconsin Act 169, section 21.

3. EmR1320 (DNR # FH−27−13(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to create Chapter
NR 85, relating to development of a competitive grant
program for cities, villages, towns, counties, federally
recognized Indian tribes or bands located in this state, and fish
farms in order to increase the capacity to raise walleye for
stocking in Wisconsin waters.

This rule was approved by the Governor on November 8,
2013.

The statement of scope for this emergency rule, SS 104−13,
was approved by the Governor on August 12, 2013, published
in Register No. 692 on September 1, 2013 (August 31, 2013),
and approved by the Natural Resources Board on September
25, 2013.

Finding of Emergency — Exemption
2013 Wisconsin Act 20, the 2013−15 state budget, included

the following nonstatutory language: The department of
natural resources may promulgate emergency rules under
section 227.24 of the statutes implementing sections 29.739
and 29.740 of the statutes, as created by this act.
Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes,
emergency rules promulgated for walleye population
maintenance and enhancement grants remain in effect until
June 30, 2016, or the date on which permanent rules take
effect, whichever is sooner. Notwithstanding section 227.24
(1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department is not required
to provide evidence that promulgating this rule as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.

Filed with LRB: November 14, 2013

Publication Date: November 21, 2013

Effective Dates: November 21, 2013 through
June 30, 2016, or the date on which permanent rules take
effect, whichever is sooner.

Hearing Date: December 12, 2013 and
December 19, 2013

4. EmR1405 (DNR # WM−24−13(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal sections
NR 10.01 (3) (ed), (es) 3., and (et), 10.07 (3), 10.09 (2), 10.28
(3), and 45.09 (9), to amend sections NR 1.15 (1) (a), (b), and
(c) 1., (2) (a) (intro.) and (at), and (3), 10.001 (2e), (6p), and
(19e), 10.01 (3) (es) 1. and 2. and (3) (ev), 10.02 (3), 10.06 (8)
(b) and (note), 10.07 (2m) (b) 1., 10.102 (1) (e) 4., 10.105 (1),
(2), (4,) and (7), 10.106 (intro.) and (1), 12.06 (1), (2), and
(4), 12.16 (4), 13.38 (2) (b) and (Note), and 19.60 (2) (b) 1.,
to repeal and recreate sections NR 1.15 (2) (a) 8., 10.01 (3) (e)
and (em), 10.104, 10.106 (2), 10.28 (1) and (2), 10.28 (4),
and 10.41, and to create Chapter NR 10 (Title.) and sections
NR 10.001(1k) and (23a) and (b), 10.01 (2) (b) (Note) and
(4) (dm) (Note), and Subchapter II, relating to deer
management, hunting, and implementation of the 2012
White−tailed Deer Trustee Report.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
February 10, 2014

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 098−13, was
approved by the Governor on July 23, 2013, published in

Register No. 692, on August 14, 2013, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on September 25, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
A non−statutory provision, SECTION 9132 of 2013 Act

20, establishes that the department may promulgate rules to
implement the 2012 final deer management report and that the
department is not required to make a finding of emergency.

Filed with LRB: February 25, 2014

Publication Date: Mar ch 7, 2014
Effective Dates: Mar ch 7, 2014 through

June 30, 2015

5. EmR1409 (DNR # FH−03−14(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend sections
NR 20.36 (2) and 23.055 (2), relating to modifications in
daily bag limits and minimum size limits in response to tribal
harvest.

This emergency rule was approved by the Natural
Resources Board on May 28, 2014, and by the governor on
June 6, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule was approved by the
governor on February 14, 2014, published in Register No. 698
on February 28, 2014, and approved by the Natural Resources
Board on March 19, 2014.

Statement of Emergency
This emergency rule is needed to promote the preservation

and protection of public peace, health, safety, and welfare in
the Ceded Territory of Wisconsin by minimizing regional
social and economic disruption known to be associated with
reductions in walleye bag limits on off−reservation waters.

Filed with LRB: June 16, 2014

Publication Date: June 14, 2014
Effective Dates: June 14, 2014 through

November 10, 2014
Hearing Date: July 14, 2014 and

July 16, 2014

6. EmR1412 (DNR # ER−31−13(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to create sections
NR 10.02 (11), 16.12 (3) (b) 12., 19.275 (4) (bm), 21.13 (4)
(bm), and 22.13 (4) (bm), relating to the addition of the
Blanding’s turtle to the State’s Protected Wild Animal list,
possession exemptions, and turtle seasons and limits.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
June 25, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 124−13, was
approved by the governor on September 20, 2013, published
in Register No. 694, on October 14, 2013, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on December 11, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified to preserve the public welfare
and interest in ensuring a sustainable population of Blanding’s
turtles.   The Blanding’s turtle is proposed for delisting from
the State’s Threatened Species list per administrative rule
ER−27−11, which is expected to take effect as early as
December 2013.   Although the Blanding’s turtle no longer
meets the scientific criteria for listing, the Department feels
that the population is nonetheless too vulnerable to survive the
threat of harvest and collection, and believes emergency rules
are needed to ensure a proper recovery before these activities
are permitted.

All  turtles not listed as threatened or endangered in ch. NR
27 or as otherwise specified have a 135−day open season (July
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15−November 30) during which members of the public may
capture and possess up to 5 individuals [s. NR 19.275 (4),
21.13 (4) and 22.13 (4)] per day.   Permanent rule−making to
protect Blanding’s turtles from this harvest will not go into
effect until after the 2014 open season for turtles is already
underway.   An emergency rule is therefore necessary to
prevent the harvest and possession of Blanding’s turtles
during the 2014 open season until the permanent rule goes
into effect.

The anticipated impact of collection and harvest to
Blanding’s turtle conservation and recovery in the state
necessitates putting the emergency rule into effect during the
2014 open season for turtles while the agency complies with
the permanent rule−making procedures.

Filed with LRB: July 10, 2014

Publication Date: July 13, 2014

Effective Dates: July 13, 2014 through
December 9, 2014

Hearing Date: August 27, 2014

7. EmR1418 (DNR # WM−11−14(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend sections
NR 10.01 (b) and 10.06 (5) and to create sections NR 10.01
(1) (a) and 10.06 (5) (a), related to establishing an early duck
season for teal−only and the hunting regulations for teal and
mourning doves.

The rule was adopted by the Natural Resources Board on
June 25, 2014, approved by the Governor on August 27, 2014,
and signed by Policy Director Michael L. Bruhn for Secretary
Cathy Stepp, also on August 27, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 020−14, was
approved by the Governor on March 10, 2014, published in
Register No. 699, on March 31, 2014, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on May 27, 2014.

Statement of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies
rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds.  The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions.  Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until late July of each year.  This order
is designed to bring the state hunting regulations into
conformity with the federal regulations.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Filed with LRB: August 28, 2014

Publication Date: September 1, 2014

Effective Dates: September 1, 2014 through
January 28, 2015

Hearing Date: October 29, 2014

8. EmR1419 (DNR # WM−04−14(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend section
NR 10.01 (1) (b) and (1) (g) 1. d. and to create section NR
10.01 (1) (g) 1. dm., related to migratory bird hunting
regulations.

This rule was approved by the Governor on August 27,
2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 020−14, was
approved by the Governor on March 10, 2014, published in
Register No. 699, on March 31, 2014, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on May 27, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies
rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds.  The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions.  Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until late July of each year. This order
is designed to bring the state hunting regulations into
conformity with the federal regulations.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Filed with LRB: September 8, 2014

Publication Date: September 11, 2014
Effective Dates: September 11, 2014 through

February 7, 2015
Hearing Date: October 29, 2014

9. EmR1420 (DNR # WM−05−14(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal section
NR 10.001 (2e), 10.09 (1) (c) 1. e. and (Note); to amend
sections NR 10.06 (5), 10.06 (8) (a) and (b), 10.07 (1) (b) 3.,
10.07 (2m) (g) 2., 10.09 (1) (c), 10.09 (3), 10.10 (2), 10.11 (5)
(a), 10.103 (1), 10.104 (7), 10.104 (9r), 10.15 (1) (a), 10.15
(6), 10.16 (Intro.), 10.16 (2), 10.22 (1), 10.23 (2) (a), 10.24
(2), 10.25 (4) (a), 11.042 (intro.), 11.043 (intro.), 11.11
(intro.),  12.16 (4), 15.01 (intro.), 15.015 (intro.), 15.10 (1)
(intro.)  and 15.12 (intro.), 45.09 (1), and 45.13 (18), (21),
and (24); and to create sections NR 10.01 (3) (em) (Note)
and (3) (ep), 10.104 (7) (c), 10.15 (3m), and 10.16 (2m),
related to establishing a season for hunting deer with
crossbows−only.

This rule was approved by the governor on September 8,
2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 018−14, was
approved by the Governor on March 10, 2014, published in
Register No. 699, on March 31, 2014, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on May 27, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
The department is not required to make a finding of

emergency before promulgating these rules.  The department
is directed to promulgate these rules in 2013 Act 61 and is
exempted from making a finding of emergency under
non−statutory provisions of the ACT.

Filed with LRB: September 9, 2014

Publication Date: September 12, 2014
Effective Dates: September 12, 2014 through

February 8, 2015
Hearing Date: October 29, 2014

10. EmR1422 (DNR # WM−08−14(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend section
NR 10.104 (8) (a) and to create sections NR 10.001 (7p) and
(7w), 10.104 (9m) (a) and (b), 10.104 (5) (b) 8. and 10.104
(5) (c), related to implementation of the Deer Management
Assistance Program and County Deer Management Advisory
Committee.
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This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
September 10, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 056−14, was
published in Register No. 702, on June 14, 2014 and approved
by the Natural Resources Board at its June 25, 2014 meeting.

Finding of Emergency
The department is not required to make a finding of

emergency before promulgating these rules.  The department
is directed to promulgate these rules in s. 29.040 Stats.,
established by 2013 ACT 20 and is exempted from making a
finding of emergency under non−statutory provisions in
Section 9132 of the  ACT.

Filed with LRB: September 15, 2014

Publication Date: September 19, 2014

Effective Dates: September 19, 2014 through
February 15, 2015

Hearing Date: October 29, 2014

Natural  Resources
Environmental Protection — General, Chs. NR 100—

EmR1417 (DNR # OE−10−14(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal sections
NR 150.10 (1m) (b) and 150.20 (3) (a) 4. and 5.; to amend
sections NR 150.03 (1), (15) (intro.), (19), (25), and (26),
150.10 (1) and (1m) ( a), (c) (intro.), and (2) (a), 150.20 (1),
(1m) (j), (k), and (L), (2) (a) (intro.), 4., 10., 11., and 16., (3)
(a) (intr o.), and (4) (b) (intro.), and 150.35; and to create
section NR 150.20 (1) (Note), (1m) (k) (Note), (m) to (y),
and (2) (a) 20. to 27., relating to the department’s
environmental analysis and review procedures under the
Wisconsin Environmental Policy Act.

The emergency rule was adopted by the Natural Resources
Board On August 13, 2014, approved by the Governor on
August 27, 2014 and signed by Policy Director Michael L.
Bruhn for Secretary Cathy Stepp, also on August 27, 2014.

The scope statement number is SS 051−14.  The governor
approved the scope statement on May 15, 2014, and the scope
statement was published in register No. 701 on May 31, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
Significant revisions to ch. NR 150 became effective on

April  1, 2014.  The changes proposed are needed to clarify
procedures for the review and analysis of new administrative
rules and other actions and policies to assure that the intent of
the recent revisions to ch. NR 150 is being met and potential
procedural questions do not invalidate years of work and
public engagement.  Additionally, the changes will clarify the
intent of the April 1, 2014 revisions for procedures for WEPA
compliance determinations, publication requirements, and
plan approvals for various actions and policies, to prevent any
misunderstandings or resulting challenge or delay regarding
that intent.

The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,
Stats., is necessary to allow timely processing and
implementation of department rule proposals, actions, and
policies.  Preservation of the public welfare necessitates
putting the forgoing rule into effect prior to the time that it
would take if the Department complied with normal rule
promulgation procedures.

Filed with LRB: August 28, 2014

Publication Date: August 31, 2014
Effective Dates: August 31, 2014 through

January 27, 2015
Hearing Date: September 26, 2014

Public Instruction
EmR1411 — The State Superintendent of Public

Instruction hereby creates Chapter PI 80, relating to
community programs and services.

Per the Dane County Circuit Court order issued in Coyne,
et al. v. Walker, et al., Case No. 11−CV−4573, the Department
of Public Instruction is not required to obtain the Governor’s
approval for the statement of scope or this rule.

The scope statement for this rule, SS 043−14, was
published in Register No. 701, on May 14, 2014, and
approved by State Superintendent Tony Evers, on May 27,
2014.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the emergency
is:

Unless an emergency rule is promulgated, school districts
will  not know which activities would be considered ineligible
costs for the Community Programs and Services Fund for the
2014−15 school year.  Not having this information could
result in school districts unintentionally making expenditures
from the Community Programs and Services Fund in
2014−15 that are deemed “ineligible costs” after the school
board has made budget decisions and set a tax levy for the
2014−15 school fiscal year. Such a finding would then result
in a negative adjustment to the district’s revenue limit
authority for the following 2015−16 school year, per s. 121.91
(4) (r), Stats., as created by 2013 Wisconsin Act 306.  A
district’s revenue limit authority controls the amount of
combined State General Aid and local property taxes
revenues for a district. Thus, a district’s revenue limit
authority for the 2015−16 school year could be negatively
impacted based on a definition of “ineligible costs” that was
not in place at the time the district made its 2014−15 budget
decisions and set the 2014−15 tax levy (by November 2014)
for the Community Programs and Services Fund.

Filed with LRB: June 27, 2014

Publication Date: July 1, 2014
Effective Dates: July 1, 2014 through

November 27, 2014
Hearing Date: September 4, 2014

Safety and Professional Services
General Part I, Chs. 301—319

EmR1415 — An order of the Department of Safety and
Professional Services to amend section SPS 305.40 (2) (b),
(3) (b), (4) (a) 1., (b), (c), and (d) 1., and (5) and to create
sections SPS Table 305.02 Row 24r, Table 305.06 Row 19r,
305.40 (1) (bm), and 305.437, relating to credentials for
electricians.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on July
29, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 041–14, was
approved by the Governor on April 30, 2014, published in
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Register No. 701 on May 14, 2014, and approved by the
Department on May 27, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Safety and Professional Services finds

that an emergency exists and that this rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is as
follows.

SECTION 15 of 2013 Wisconsin Act 143 exempts any
electrician who was born on or before January 1, 1956, and
who has at least 15 years of experience in installing, repairing,
or maintaining electrical wiring, from the electrical licensure
and supervision requirements in sections 101.862 (2) and (3)
of the Statutes.  SECTION 15 also requires the Department to
promulgate rules establishing criteria and procedures for
issuing a corresponding credential to these grandfathered
electricians.

Because of Act 143, the statutory requirements are now out
of step with the Department’s administrative rules – and the
stakeholders who are affected by these statutory changes are
confused by the differences.  For example, there has been
substantial confusion on what these grandfathered
electricians can or need to do and how local governmental
units should treat them.  Promulgating revisions to the rules
through the emergency rule process is needed in order to
minimize the confusion and any hardship as soon as possible.

Filed with LRB: August 1, 2014

Publication Date: August 6, 2014

Effective Dates: August 6, 2014 through
January 2, 2015

Hearing Date: September 12, 2014

Safety and Professional Services
Plumbing, Chs. SPS 381—387

EmR1423 — An order of the Department of Safety and
Professional Services to renumber Chapter SPS 384 Table
384.10 rows 1 to 5, to renumber and amend Chapter SPS 384
Table 384.10 row 6, and to create Chapter SPS 384 Table
384.10 rows 1 and 9 and (Note), relating to water−treatment
devices.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
September 12, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 037–14, was
approved by the Governor on April 17, 2014, published in
Register 701 on May 14, 2014, and approved by the
Department on May 29, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Safety and Professional Services finds

that an emergency exists and that this rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is as
follows.

Under current rules, water treatment devices — including
water softeners — may need two separate approvals before
being used in Wisconsin.  The first approval is typically from
a third party, such as NSF International, and is based on an
industry standard.  The second approval is under SPS chapter
384, which addresses situations where a plumbing product
must receive approval from the Department.  Due to
prolonged extreme weather conditions this past winter,
spring, and summer, more private well owners than usual have

chosen to upgrade their water supply systems this year.  The
Department has reason to believe that its secondary review is
delaying some of these well owners from accessing plumbing
products which would improve the safety of their drinking
water.  These products have been approved under industry
standards and are available to consumers in other states but
have not yet received approval from the Department.
Promulgating revisions through the emergency rule process
is needed to avoid further delays in using these products.

Filed with LRB: September 25, 2014
Publication Date: September 27, 2014
Effective Dates: September 27, 2014 through

February 23, 2015
Hearing Date: October 27, 2014, 2014

Transportation  (2)

1. EmR1421 — The Wisconsin Department of
Transportation proposes an order to amend Chapter Trans
102, relating to operator’s licenses and Identification cards.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
September 11, 2014.

The scope statement for this rule, SS 080−14, was
approved by the Governor on August 19, 2014, and published
in Wisconsin Administrative Register No. 704, on August 31,
2014 and approved by the Secretary of Transportation on
September 10, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
On July 31, 2014, the Wisconsin Supreme Court upheld

2011 Wisconsin Act 23, which requires certain identification
in order to vote at a polling place or obtain an absentee ballot.
NACCP v. Walker, 2014 WI 98.

The Department of Transportation’s Division of Motor
Vehicles (“DMV”) is required by 2011 Wisconsin Act 23 to
issue an identification (“ID”) card free of charge to any U.S.
citizen who will be at least 18 years of age on the date of the
next election and who requests the ID card free of charge for
voting purposes, provided they meet statutory requirements.

This emergency rule may be necessary to preserve public
welfare by ensuring that DMV will implement the
requirements of 2011 Wisconsin Act 23 in a manner
consistent with the requirements of NAACP v Walker, should
the federal injunction against that act be lifted.

Filed with LRB: September 15, 2014
Publication Date: September 17, 2014
Effective Dates: September 17, 2014 through

February 13, 2015

2. EmR1425 — The Wisconsin Department of
Transportation proposes an order to create Chapter Trans
319, relating to towing of vehicles.

This Emergency Rule was approved by the Governor on
September 26, 2014.

The Statement of Scope for this Emergency Rule, SS
064−14, was approved by the Governor on July 1, 2014,
published in Register No. 703 on July 14, 2014, and approved
by Secretary of the State of Wisconsin Department of
Transportation Mark Gottlieb, P.E., as required by s.
227.135(2), Stats, on July 28, 2014.
Exemption from Finding of Emergency

The Legislature by 2013 Wisconsin Act 76 s. 59 (2)
provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.



Page 12 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 706 October 31, 2014

Filed with LRB: October 1, 2014

Publication Date: October 2, 2014
Effective Dates: October 2, 2014 through

February 28, 2015
Hearing Date: November 11, 2014

Veterans Affairs

EmR1416 — The Department of Veterans Affairs hereby
adopts an order to create section VA 2.07, relating to grants to
non−profit organizations.

This emergency rule was reviewed by the Board of
Veterans Affairs on July 15, 2014 and approved by the
Governor on August 20, 2014.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 038−14, was
approved by the Governor on April 21, 2014, published in
Register No. 701 on May 14, 2014, and approved by Secretary
John A. Scocos on May 27, 2014.

Finding of Emergency
The Legislature by Section 9 of 2013 Act 190 provides an

exemption from a finding of emergency for the adoption of
this rule.

Filed with LRB: August 28, 2014

Publication Date: August 29, 2014
Effective Dates: August 29, 2014 through

January 25, 2015
Hearing Date: November 12, 2014

Workforce Development
Apprenticeship, Chs. DWD 295−296

EmR1406 — The Wisconsin Department of Workforce
Development hereby adopts the following emergency rule to
create section DWD 295.25, relating to apprenticeship
completion awards.

The emergency rule was approved by the governor on
March 21, 2014.

The statement of scope for this emergency rule was
approved by the Governor on February 13, 2014, published in
Register No. 698 on February 28, 2014, and approved by the

Secretary of the Department of Workforce Development on
March 11, 2014.

Finding of Emergency

The department of workforce development finds that an
emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public welfare.  Statements of
facts constituting an emergency include:

(1)  Wisconsin currently has more than 2,100 employers
participating in, and training individuals, under the
apprenticeship program.

(2)  During 2013, Wisconsin had 9,723 valid
apprenticeship contracts.

(3)  Over the past ten years, the completion rate of the
apprenticeship program averaged between 55−60%.

(4)  2013 Wisconsin Act 57 creates an apprenticeship
completion award program to be administered by the
department of workforce development to partially reimburse
tuition costs incurred by an apprentice who has successfully
completed part or all of the requirements of their
apprenticeship contract, and is employed in the trade,
occupation, or business under the apprenticeship contract, or
the sponsor of the apprentice.

(5)  The department of workforce development has
received general purpose revenue (GPR) funds of $225,000
in fiscal year 2013−14 and 2014−15, to distribute up to 25%,
or $1,000, whichever is less, of the tuition costs incurred by
the apprentice and sponsor of the apprentice.  The amount of
the first payment upon successful completion by the
apprentice of the first year of the contract may not exceed
$250.

(6)  The department of workforce development is adopting
this emergency rule to prevent a potential hardship to
Wisconsin’s apprenticeship program participants.  Adoption
of this emergency rule will ensure those participating in an
eligible apprenticeship contract may begin receiving
apprenticeship completion awards as soon as possible. 
Because a permanent rule cannot be adopted in time, GPR
funds for fiscal year 2013−14 would be lost if the emergency
rule is not adopted.

Filed with LRB: Mar ch 26, 2014

Publication Date: Mar ch 27, 2014

Effective Dates: Mar ch 27, 2014 through
August 23, 2014

Hearing Date: May 15, 2014
Extension Through: October 22, 2014
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Scope Statements

Agriculture,  Trade and Consumer Protection

SS 111−14

The statement of scope was approved by the governor on
October 8, 2014.

Rule No.

Chapters ATCP 10 and 12 (revise).

Relating to
Animal disease and movement; animal markets, dealers,

and truckers.

Rule Type
Permanent.

1.  Description of the Objective of the Rule
The current rules will be reviewed to ensure provisions are

clearly written and consistently stated throughout chs. ATCP
10 and 12, Wis. Admin. Code.  The department will make
minor modifications resulting from that review.

2.  Description of Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule
and of New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule
and an Analysis of Policy Alternatives; the History,
Background and Justification for the Proposed Rule

Division of Animal Health staff have concluded that
certain provisions in chs. ATCP 10 and 12 are unclear, or
inconsistent with other rule provisions, with related statute
provisions, or with federal regulations.  Those issues have
arisen:  while implementing programs with requirements
specified in chs. ATCP 10 and 12; in contacts with individuals
licensed through the division; or, in contacts with
veterinarians and industries regulated by the division and the
United States Department of Agriculture.  The division has
also received requests from individuals and industries to
modify certain program requirements through amendments to
ch. ATCP 10 or 12.

The following subjects in chs. ATCP 10 and 12, Wis.
Admin. Code, will be reviewed to address these issues, and
may be modified as a result.  The statutory authority to
promulgate rules is identified for each subject area.

� Import requirements (see ss. 93.07 (1), (2), and (10),
95.20, 95.45 (3), 95.55 (6), 95.60 (4s), 95.68 (8), 95.69
(8), 95.71 (8), and 95.715 (2) (d), Wis. Stats.).

� Disease testing requirements of animals (see ss. 93.07
(1) and (10), 95.20, 95.22 (1) and (2), 95.42, 95.43,
95.45 (3), 95.55 (6), and 95.60 (4s), Wis. Stats.).

� Disease reporting requirements (see ss. 93.07 (1) and
(10), 93.15, 95.20, 95.22 (1) and (2), 95.38, 95.43,
95.55 (6), 95.60 (4s), 95.68 (8), 95.69 (8), 95.71 (8)
and 95.715 (2) (d), Wis. Stats.).

� Federal/state requirements for the training and
certification of veterinarians in Wisconsin (see ss.
93.07 (1) and (2), 93.15, 95.22 (1) and (2), 95.38,
95.42, 95.43, and 95.60 (4s), Wis. Stats.).

� Requirements for approval by the department for
persons collecting test samples, laboratories,
out−of−state forms, etc. (see ss. 93.07 (1), (2), and
(10), 93.15, 95.20, 95.38, 95.42, 95.43, 95.45 (4) (c),
95.55 (6), and 95.60 (4s), Wis. Stats.).

� Recordkeeping requirements by licensees, including
acceptability of electronic storage of records (see ss.
93.07 (1), (2), and (10), 93.15, 95.20, 95.22 (1) and (2),
95.38, 95.42, 95.43, 95.45 (3), 95.55 (6), 95.60 (4s),
95.68 (8), 95.69 (8), 95.71 (8), and 95.715 (2) (d), Wis.
Stats.).

� Application requirements and exemptions from
licensing (see ss. 93.07 (1) and (2), 95.55 (6), 95.68
(2m) (b), 95.69 (2m) and 95.71 (8), Wis. Stats.).

As of this date, there are no existing policies and no new
policies that will be incorporated into the proposed rule.

If  the department does not modify current rule provisions,
identified as unclear or inconsistent, it may cause difficulties
for individuals or entities in Wisconsin attempting to follow
rule requirements.

3.  Statutory Authority for the Rule (Including the
Statutory Citation and Language)

93.07 Department duties. It shall be the duty of the
department:

(1) REGULATIONS. To make and enforce such
regulations, not inconsistent with law, as it may deem
necessary for the exercise and discharge of all the powers and
duties of the department, and to adopt such measures and
make such regulations as are necessary and proper for the
enforcement by the state of chs. 93 to 100, which regulations
shall have the force of law.

(2)  FORMS.  To prescribe forms for all applications,
notices and reports required to be made to the department or
which are necessary in its work.

*  *  *
(10)  ANIMAL HEALTH; QUARANTINE.  To protect the

health of animals located in this state and of humans residing
in this state and to determine and employ the most efficient
and practical means for the prevention, suppression, control,
and eradication of communicable diseases among animals.
For these purposes, the department may establish, maintain,
enforce, and regulate such quarantine and such other
measures relating to the importation, movement, and care of
animals and their products, the disinfection of suspected
localities and articles, and the disposition of animals, as the
department determines are necessary.  The definition of
“communicable disease” in s. 990.01 (5g) does not apply to
this subsection.

93.15  Reports to department; inspections.
(1)  The department may, by general or special order,

require persons engaged in business to file with the
department, at such time and in such manner as the
department may direct, sworn or unsworn reports or sworn or
unsworn answers in writing to specific questions, as to any
matter which the department may investigate.

(2)  The department or any of its authorized agents may
have access to and may copy any document, or any part
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thereof, which is in the possession or under the control of any
person engaged in business, if such document, or such part
thereof, is relevant to any matter which the department may
investigate.

(3)  No person shall refuse or fail to render any report or
answer required under this section at such time and in such
manner as the department may prescribe. No person shall
refuse, neglect or fail to submit, for the purpose of inspection
or copying, any document demanded under this section. No
person shall willfully make any false entry or statement in any
report or answer required or document demanded under this
section. No person shall willfully fail to make full and true
entries and statements in any report or answer required or
document demanded under this section. No person shall, for
the purpose of embarrassing the department in the conduct of
any investigation, hearing or proceeding, remove out of the
state or mutilate or alter any document. No person shall,
except through judicial process, resist or obstruct any official
or subordinate of the department in the exercise of the
official’s or subordinate’s lawful authority.

95.20  Import and movement of animals.  The
department may prohibit or regulate the importing of animals
into this state or the movement of animals within this state if
the department has reasonable grounds to believe that
regulation or prohibition is necessary to prevent the
introduction or spread of a disease in this state that threatens
the health of animals or of humans.

95.22  Reporting animal diseases.
(1)  A veterinarian and the department of natural resources

shall report to the department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection any disease specified in the rules
promulgated under sub. (2) (a) each time a veterinarian or the
department of natural resources discovers that such a disease
is present in any animal in this state.

(2)  The department shall promulgate rules that specify all
of the following:

(a)  The diseases that a veterinarian or the department of
natural resources must report under this section.

(b)  For each disease specified in par. (a), the deadline for
reporting the disease after the date of its discovery.

(c)  The information that a veterinarian or the department
of natural resources must include in his or her report.

(d)  Procedures to be used in preparing and submitting the
report.

*   *  *
95.38  Altering records; tampering with ear tags.
*  *  *
(3) The department may adopt rules that are necessary to

administer this section.
95.42  Revocation of permit to test. Only veterinarians

approved by the department may apply the tuberculin test to
cattle and farm−raised deer, and no veterinarian applying the
test may tag or brand reactors except as specifically
authorized or directed by the department.  Any veterinarian
who fails to comply with this section and the rules and
instructions furnished by the department shall forfeit all right
to apply the tuberculin test.

95.43  Application of brucellosis test.
(1)  The brucellosis test shall be applied only by approved

veterinarians.  Any veterinarian who fails to comply with the
laws or regulations of the department relating to disease
control may be denied such approval.

(2)  Every veterinarian who applies the brucellosis test
shall promptly reactor tag and permanently mark all reactors
in conformity with the law and the regulations of the
department, and shall promptly report the result of each test
to the department. No person shall interfere in any way with
the identification of reactors as required herein.

95.45  Certificates of veterinary inspection; tests for
interstate shipment.

*  *  *
(4) (c)  The department may promulgate rules to impose

requirements on the form, issuance, and filing of certificates
of veterinary inspection.

*  *  *
95.55  Farm−raised deer.
*  *  *
(6) RULES.  (a)  The department shall promulgate rules to

regulate persons who keep farm−raised deer. The rules shall
establish disease testing requirements for bovine tuberculosis
and chronic wasting disease and may establish testing
requirements for other diseases.

(b)  The rules promulgated under this subsection may
include any of the following:

1.  Standards to be followed by persons keeping farm−
raised deer to prevent the spread of disease.

2.  Provisions requiring that registration under this section
be on an annual basis.

3.  Exemptions from any annual registration requirements
established under subd. 2.

95.60  Importing fish; fish farms.
*  *  *
(4s) The department shall do all of the following:
(a) In consultation with the department of natural

resources, promulgate rules specifying requirements for the
labeling and identification, in commerce, of fish reared in fish
farms.

(b) In consultation with the department of natural
resources, promulgate rules specifying fish health standards
and requirements for certifying that fish meet those standards
for the purpose of s. 29.736.

(c)  Promulgate rules specifying the qualifications that a
person who is not a veterinarian must satisfy in order to
provide evidence of fish health.

(d) In consultation with the department of natural
resources, promulgate rules specifying diseases and
requirements for certifying that fish are free of those diseases
for the purposes of sub. (2) (b).

(e) Promulgate rules establishing the period for which a
record required under sub. (4) (c) must be retained.

*  *  *
95.68  Animal markets.
*  *  *
(2m)  EXEMPTIONS.
(a)  A person is not required to obtain a license under sub.

(2) to operate an occasional auction sale sponsored by a
livestock breeder association or a youth agricultural
organization if records of the transactions at the sale are
maintained by an auctioneer registered under ch. 480 or by an
animal dealer licensed under s. 95.69.

(b)  The department may promulgate rules to exempt
groups of persons from the licensing requirement under sub.
(2) or the registration requirement under sub. (7) or both.

*  *  *
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(8) RULES.  The department may promulgate rules to
regulate the operation of animal markets, including rules
related to market operator qualifications, market construction
and maintenance, construction and maintenance of animal
transport vehicles, identification of animal transport vehicles,
disease sanitation, humane treatment of animals,
identification of animals, record keeping, reports to the
department and compliance with applicable financial security
requirements under state or federal law.

*  *  *
95.69  Animal dealers.
*  *  *
(2m) EXEMPTION.  The department may promulgate

rules to exempt groups of persons from the licensing
requirement under sub. (2) or the registration requirement
under sub. (7) or both.

*  *  *
(8) RULES.  The department may promulgate rules to

regulate animal dealers, including rules related to animal
dealer qualifications, construction and maintenance of animal
transport vehicles, identification of animal transport vehicles,
disease sanitation, humane treatment of animals,
identification of animals, record keeping, reports to the
department and compliance with applicable financial security
requirements under state or federal law.

*  *  *
95.71  Animal truckers.
*  *  *
(8) RULES.  The department may promulgate rules to

regulate animal truckers, including rules related to animal
trucker qualifications, construction and maintenance of
animal transport vehicles, identification of animal transport
vehicles, disease sanitation, humane treatment of animals,
identification of animals, record keeping, reports to the
department and compliance with applicable financial security
requirements under state or federal law.

*  *  *
95.715  Feed lots and veal lots.
*  *  *
(2) APPROVED FEED LOT.
*  *  *
(d) The department may promulgate rules to specify permit

fees under par. (a) and to regulate feed lots.  The rules may
include requirements related to the construction and
maintenance of approved feed lots, the segregation of
imported feeder cattle and record−keeping requirements
related to feeder cattle.

*  *  *

4.  Estimate of the Amount of Time that State
Employees Will Spend to Develop the Rule and of Other
Resources Necessary to Develop the Rule

DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 0.80 FTE
staff to develop this rule.  That includes time required for
investigation and analysis, rule drafting, preparing related
documents, coordinating advisory committee meetings,
holding public hearings and communicating with affected
persons and groups.  DATCP will use existing staff to develop
this rule.

5.  Description of all Entities that may be Impacted by
the Rule

The rule will make minor modifications in order to provide
consistency and clarity to chs. ATCP 10 and 12 and will
provide important health protection for the Wisconsin
livestock industry.  This rule will have a direct impact on
animal markets, animal dealers, animal truckers,
veterinarians, livestock operators, and other persons licensed
by the department.

6.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison of Any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Rule

Existing federal accreditation standards for veterinarians
and animal traceability requirements will require changes in
Wisconsin Administrative Rule requirements for accredited
and state certified veterinarians.

Also, to comply with existing federal traceability
requirements, Wisconsin administrative rules must be
updated to allow only the acceptance of official, individual
identification of cattle when dealing with vaccination or
official disease testing.

7.  Anticipated Economic Impact
DATCP expects the rule to have minimal to no economic

impact statewide and locally.

Contact Person
Darlene Konkle, DVM, Assistant State Veterinarian,

DATCP; Phone (608) 224−4902.

Health Services

Community Services, Chs. 30—
SS 109−14

The statement of scope was approved by the governor on
September 12, 2014.

Rule No.

Chapter DHS 62 (revise).

Relating to
Federally recognized American Indian tribes or bands

participating in the intoxicated driver program.

Rule Type
Permanent.

Type of Statement of Scope
Original

1.  Finding/Nature of Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only)

Not applicable.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

The objective of the rulemaking is to conform ch. DHS 62
to ch. 51, Stats., and s. 343.30 (1q), Stats., as amended by 2013
Wisconsin Act 246, relating to federally recognized
American Indian tribes or bands participating in the
intoxicated driver program.
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3.  Description of the Existing Policies Relevant to the
Rule, New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule,
and an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

Chapter DHS 62 establishes, under ss. 343.30 (1q) (c) 2.
and 343.305 (10) (c) 2., Stats., the standards for assessment
procedures, driver safety plan programs, and conflict of
interest guidelines for approved public and private
intoxicated driver assessment facilities designated by a
county board to conduct intoxicated driver assessments.  The
conflict of interest provisions prohibit an assessment facility
from also being a person’s driver safety plan provider unless
specified conditions apply.

The legislature by 2013 Wisconsin Act 246 amended or
created provisions in chs. 20, 46, 51, 343, 345, and 346, Stats.,
making it possible for approved tribal treatment facilities, as
defined in s. 51.01 (2c), Stats., to operate an intoxicated driver
program, which includes conducting intoxicated driver
assessments and developing driver safety plans.  If the person
who is court−ordered to submit to and comply with an
intoxicated driver assessment is a member or relative of a
member of a federally−recognized American Indian tribe or
band, the approved tribal treatment facility may conduct an
assessment for that person.  The department’s conflict of
interest guidelines may not preclude an approved tribal
treatment facility from conducting assessments and providing
treatment under s. 343.30 (1q), Stats., as amended by 2013
Wisconsin Act 246.

To conform ch. DHS 62 to ch. 51, Stats., and s. 343.30 (1q),
Stats., as amended by 2013 Wisconsin Act 246, the
department proposes to revise ch. DHS 62 to reflect that
approved tribal treatment agencies as defined in s. 51.01 (2c),
Stats., are subject to ch. DHS 62, and to ensure that the conflict
of interest guidelines established in ch. DHS 62 do not
preclude approved tribal treatment agencies, as defined in s.
51.01 (2c), Stats., from meeting their responsibilities under s.
343.30 (1) (q), Stats.

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., reads: Rule−making
authority is expressly conferred on an agency as follows:

(a) Each agency may promulgate rules interpreting the
provisions of any statute enforced or administered by the
agency, if the agency considers it necessary to effectuate the
purpose of the statute, but a rule is not valid if the rule exceeds
the bounds of correct interpretation. All of the following
apply to the promulgation of a rule interpreting the provisions
of a statute enforced or administered by an agency:

1. A statutory or nonstatutory provision containing a
statement or declaration of legislative intent, purpose,
findings, or policy does not confer rule−making authority on
the agency or augment the agency’s rule−making authority
beyond the rule−making authority that is explicitly conferred
on the agency by the legislature.

2. A statutory provision describing the agency’s general
powers or duties does not confer rule−making authority on the
agency or augment the agency’s rule−making authority
beyond the rule−making authority that is explicitly conferred
on the agency by the legislature.

3. A statutory provision containing a specific standard,
requirement, or threshold does not confer on the agency the
authority to promulgate, enforce, or administer a rule that
contains a standard, requirement, or threshold that is more

restrictive than the standard, requirement, or threshold
contained in the statutory provision.

Section 343.30 (1q) (c) 2., Stats., reads: The department of
health services shall establish standards for assessment
procedures and the driver safety plan programs by rule. The
department of health services shall establish by rule conflict
of interest guidelines for providers. The conflict of interest
guidelines may not preclude an approved tribal treatment
facility, as defined in s. 51.01 (2c), from conducting
assessments and providing treatment under this subsection.

Section 343.305 (10) (c) 2., Stats, reads: The department of
health services shall establish standards for assessment
procedures and the driver safety plan programs by rule. The
department of health services shall establish by rule conflict
of interest guidelines for providers.

5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
Will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

Department staff may spend 80 hours promulgating the
rule.  No other resources are necessary to develop the rule.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

Federally recognized American Indian tribes or bands and
approved tribal treatment agencies, as defined under s. 51.01
(2c), Stats.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison with any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

There appear to be no existing or proposed federal
regulations that address the activities to be regulated by the
proposed rule.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule

The department anticipates little to no economic impact
from the proposed revisions to ch. DHS 62.

Contact Person
LeeAnn Cooper, IDP Coordinator
Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Bureau of Prevention Treatment and Recovery
608−266−2453
Leeann.cooper@wi.gov.

Safety and Professional Services —

Medical Examining Board

SS 110−14

The statement of scope was approved by the governor on
October 2, 2014.

Rule No.

Chapter Med 1 (revise).

Relating to
Entrance to exams.

Rule Type
Permanent.
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1.  Finding/Nature of Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only)

None.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

The purpose of the proposed rule is to bring current
Wisconsin Administrative Code in line with recent
legislation, specifically 2013 Wisconsin Act 114.

3.  Description of the Existing Policies Relevant to the
Rule, New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule,
and an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

Pursuant to the enactment of 2013 Wisconsin Act 114, the
Department of Safety and Professional Services and its
attached boards may no longer require any person applying
for professional licensure to complete their postsecondary
education prior to being eligible to take an examination for a
credential.  In accordance with this legislation, the Wisconsin
Medical Examining Board must allow applicants for
physician licensure to take their credentialing exam before
completing their postsecondary education.  The proposed rule
will  implement this change by amending Wis. Admin. Code
ch. Med 1.

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides examining boards,
“shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the
guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains. . .”
The proposed rule seeks to provide guidance on eligibility for
licensure examination.

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., discusses the parameters of
an agency’s rule−making authority by stating that an agency,
“may promulgate rules interpreting provisions of any statute
enforced or administered by the agency. . . .but a rule is not
valid if it exceeds the bounds of correct interpretation. . .”
This section allows an agency to promulgate administrative
rules which interpret the statutes it enforces or administers as
long as the proposed rule does not exceed proper
interpretation of the statute.

Section 440.071 (1), Stats., provides that, “the department
or a credentialing board or other board in the department may
not require a person to complete any postsecondary education
or other program before the person is eligible to take an
examination for a credential the department or credentialing
board or other board in the department grants or issues.”

5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
Will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

State employees will spend approximately 50 hours
developing the proposed rule.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

The proposed rule will affect applicants for physician
licensure.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison with any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

None.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule (Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

The proposed rule is likely to have minimal or no economic
impact on small businesses.

Contact Person
Shawn Leatherwood
608−261−4438
Shancethea.Leatherwood@wisconsin.gov.

Transportation

SS 112−14

The statement of scope was approved by the governor on
October 16, 2014.

Rule No.

Chapter Trans 327 (revise).

Relating to
Motor carrier safety.

Rule Type
Emergency.

Finding/Natur e of Emergency (Emergency Rules Only)
The welfare of commercial motor vehicle drivers who hold

a commercial driver license (“CDL”) issued by the State of
Wisconsin who operate commercial motor vehicles outside
this state, and the welfare of Wisconsin shippers who engage
those driving services, will be harmed if they cannot
demonstrate compliance with recent federal regulations
because other states will view them as unlicensed drivers and
will  delay transport of those loads.  Federal regulations
require CDL holders to have certified to their state of
licensure the type of commercial driving operations in which
they engage and, if required, to have filed with the state of
licensure proof of medical fitness to drive, and to have their
electronic driving records updated by the state of licensure to
show they have completed these actions, before driving a
commercial motor vehicle.  The Department published the
scope statement for permanent rulemaking in September 2011
to implement these federal requirements.  The permanent
rulemaking effort is ongoing but cannot take effect before the
Wisconsin Legislature reconvenes in January 2015.

Description of the Objective of the Rule
The federal regulations at 49 CFR 383 and 391 were

revised by ”Medical Certification Requirements as Part of the
CDL”, 73 FR 73096 (Dec. 1, 2008; RIN 2126−AA10).  These
federal regulations require, no later than January 30, 2014, all
commercial driver license (“CDL”) holders to provide
information to their state driver licensing agency (“SDLA”)
regarding the type of commercial motor vehicle operation
they drive in or expect to drive in with their CDL. Drivers
operating in certain types of commerce will be required to
submit a current medical examiner’s certificate to their SDLA
to obtain a “certified” medical status as part of their driving
record.  Federal regulations require states to downgrade the
CDL privileges of any CDL holder required to have a
“certified” medical status who fails to provide and keep
up−to−date their medical examiner’s certificate with their
SDLA.  The revisions to the regulations did not change the
requirement to obtain medical certifications.
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This rule implements the federal requirements for
commercial drivers obtaining and submitting medical
certificates in conformity with those federal regulations.
Section 343.065 (3) of the Wisconsin statutes, created by 2011
Wisconsin Act 32, authorizes the Department to downgrade
commercial drivers licenses of drivers who fail to provide
federally mandated medical certifications, and to promulgate
rules defining this downgrade process.

This rulemaking will allow the Department to:

� Define the procedures for drivers to certify their
driving type (Tier) to the Department;

� Define the procedures for submitting federally
required medical certifications to the Department, and
for the Department to enter that certification on the
driving record;

� Create the process for downgrading a CDL and
reinstating a CDL after the downgrade has occurred;
and

� Describe the types of notifications drivers and
employers will receive prior to the federal medical
card expiration; when the driver is downgraded; and
when the driver is reinstated.

Description of the Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule,
New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule, and
an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

Since January 2012, federal law requires all original and
renewal applicants for a commercial driver’s license to certify
their driving type (Tier). Drivers operating in interstate
commerce who are not subject to the exceptions identified
(Tier 1) must furnish and maintain a current, valid copy of
their federal medical certificate (sometimes called a ”Fed
Med card”) to the Department. The Department must
electronically capture the information on the federal medical
certificate, and retain a copy of the federal medical certificate
on file.

In January 2014, all persons in Wisconsin who hold a
commercial driver’s license (CDL) will be required to comply
with these requirements. The Department will downgrade
drivers who fail to comply with these requirements in
accordance with the procedures defined below. The
Department has already downgraded any driver who has not
complied with these requirements, and the Department
believes that all drivers have either complied or have already
been downgraded.

These federal regulations require, and s. 343.065 (3), Wis.
Stats., authorizes, the Department to downgrade a driver’s
commercial driving privileges if the driver does not certify a
tier� or if the driver is operating in non−excepted interstate
commerce (Tier 1) and fails to submit a federal medical
certificate or to keep his or her federal medical certificate
up−to−date.

Several alternatives exist to implementing these new
regulations for allowing drivers to certify their driving type as
well as the downgrade process.

Alternatives for Commercial Drivers to Certify Driving
Type

1.  Do nothing.  Ignoring the federal regulations will result
in drivers who hold Wisconsin CDL’s being treated as
unlicensed drivers when traveling out of state.  This will delay
transport of loads, harming shippers and buyers.  In addition,
Wisconsin would lose approximately $4.7 million dollars in
motor carrier safety assistance program (MCSAP) and

highway funds annually.  The Department believes taking no
action is impractical.

2. Require all CDL holders to visit a DMV field service
station to certify their Tier of driving and provide proof of
their federal medical certificate�

This approach is burdensome, and is not feasible for
Wisconsin drivers who are currently out of state�

3. Require all CDL holders to use an electronic or online
process to certify their driving type and provide federal
medical certificate information to DMV.

This approach is not feasible for drivers with limited access
to computers and the Internet.

4. Create a hybrid system that allows drivers to choose to
certify and provide federal medical documentation
electronically, or to certify and present the federal medical
certificate in person at a DMV field station.

This approach will allow drivers and their employers’
flexibility  in how they provide this information.  As such, the
Department will pursue this approach.

Alternatives for Downgrade Process
The federal regulations offer several alternatives for

downgrading a CDL for drivers that are operating in
interstate, non−excepted commerce (Tier 1).  Note:  The
following downgrade process does not apply to drivers who
will  not operate in interstate, non−excepted commerce.  Those
drivers are not required to keep updated federal medical
information on file with the Department�

1. Do nothing. Ignoring the federal regulations will result
in drivers who hold Wisconsin CDL’s being treated as
unlicensed drivers when traveling out of state.  In addition,
Wisconsin would lose approximately $4.7 million dollars in
motor carrier safety assistance program (MCSAP) and
highway funds annually.  The Department believes taking no
action is impractical.

2. Change the Tier 1 driver’s certification of their driving
type to operating exclusively in intrastate commerce (Tier 3)�

Drivers operating solely in intrastate commerce must have
restrictions added to their CDL.  As such, to implement this
alternative� the Department would have to re−issue the CDL
document every time a Tier 1 driver was downgraded to
ensure the physical license matched the electronic record. To
remove the downgrade, drivers would be required to visit a
DMV field station, provide their federal medical certificate,
and pay a fee for a duplicate license.  This would be
burdensome and impractical for Wisconsin CDL drivers who
are currently out of state.  This approach would require
considerable staff resources and potential delays for drivers,
since DMV field stations are not open seven days a week.

3. Remove the CDL privileges from the driver’s license.
The CDL privileges will be removed from the driver’s

license using a ”Voluntary Temporary Surrender” (VTS),
which will appear on the electronic record only. The driver’s
commercial classes & endorsements will remain printed on
the license document, but drivers will not be able to legally
operate in interstate commerce until a copy of an updated
federal medical certificate is provided to the Department�

While this alternative may seem unduly burdensome, it is
actually much easier for the drivers to get their privileges
back.  They (or their employer) can submit their federal
medical certificate to the Department either in person or
electronically via the Department’s secure web system.  Once
the new federal medical certificate is recorded on the driver’s
record, the driver’s commercial privileges are restored.
Drivers can easily comply, even from out of state.
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In addition, the drivers can retain their current physical
driver licenses, and will not be required to pay a fee to regain
their commercial operating privileges. The Department will
pursue this approach for downgrading.

Other Policy Items
The Department plans to use the VTS process for

commercial drivers who may be revoked, suspended, or
disqualified for other reasons. The VTS allows the
Department to track the federal medical requirements as well
as the underlying reason for the suspension, revocation, or
disqualification.

In accordance with federal regulations, the Department
will  notify Tier 1 commercial drivers 60 days prior to the
expiration of their federal medical certificate. If the
Department does not receive an updated federal medical
certificate, the driver will be downgraded ten days after the
expiration of the current federal medical certificate, using the
VTS process described above. The driver will receive
notification of this action.

The Department also plans to use its Employer Notification
system to provide up−to−date information to employers about
each of their drivers’ certified Tier of operation and current
status of their federal medical certificates.

This rule−making defines federal medical certificates as
part of the driver application.  This allows the Department to
take appropriate action when receiving a fraudulent federal
medical certificate.

Statutory Authority for the Rule (Including the
Statutory Citation and Language)

2011 Wisconsin Act 32 (the biennial budget bill) created s.
343.065 (a), Stats.� which gives the Department authority to
downgrade a commercial driver license if a federal medical
certificate is not on file.  Section 343.065 (3) (b), Stats.,
requires the Department to:

1. Promulgate rules to define ”downgrade” in
accordance with federal law and regulations or
guidance from the applicable federal agency.

2. Establish the process for downgrading a commercial
driver license and whether a new commercial driver
license document will be issued after a commercial
driver license is downgraded�

3. Establish the process for reinstating a downgraded
commercial driver license after the Department
receives from the licensee a valid medical certification
or other appropriate certification of physical
qualifications.

Section 343.06 (3), Stats., requires the Department to
ensure that CDL holders meet federal physical qualifications
for drivers contained in 49 CFR 391.

Estimate of the Amount of Time that State Employees
Will Spend to Develop the Rule And of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

It is estimated this emergency rule will take approximately
10 hours to develop.  The Department is currently drafting a
permanent rule on the same subject to comply with existing
federal requirements, but the permanent rule cannot take

effect before the Wisconsin Legislature reconvenes in
January 2015.  Other resources necessary to successfully
implement the emergency rule include computer
programming resources� and an outreach campaign to
affected commercial drivers and other interested
stakeholders, which would otherwise be done for the
permanent rule.

Description of all Entities that may be Impacted by the
Rule

This emergency rule will affect all Wisconsin drivers who
currently hold a Commercial Driver License (CDL). As of
December 2010, when the permanent rule�making
commenced, there were 289,596 persons holding commercial
drivers licenses, of which 224,860 were valid (not withdrawn
or expired).  It will also indirectly impact motor carrier
companies, employers of commercial drivers, law
enforcement, other state driver licensing agencies, and the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

Summary and Preliminary Comparison of any Existing
or Proposed Federal Regulation That is Intended to
Addr ess the Activities to be Regulated by the Rule

This emergency rule−making is intended to ensure
Wisconsin’s compliance with new federal regulations in 49
CFR Parts 383 and 391, requiring drivers of commercial
motor vehicles to certify their type of driving to the
Department� and to submit a copy of their federal medical
certificate to the Department�

All  states are required to comply with these new federal
regulations.

Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the Rule
(Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

Comments to the proposed federal regulations identified
the following potential burdens on drivers: 1) Requiring
drivers to travel to the DMV to make the certification or
provide medical certifications; 2) The extra cost for drivers to
obtain new CDLs or medical certifications; 3) The extra cost
to drivers of corresponding more frequently with the SDLA;
4) Requiring drivers to maintain proof of medical fitness
during extended periods of absence from driving. The
Department intends to minimize these impacts on drivers, as
those actions carry proportionate cost increases to the
Department.

Comments to the proposed federal regulations noted that
prior to the federal rule−making; drivers provided the proof of
medical certification directly to the employer. Under the new
federal regulation, the employer must now verify the driving
record by inquiry to the SDLA.

Currently, employers are required to verify the driver is
legal to drive at the time of employment, and requiring
employers to query the Department for this status seems
insignificant.

The Department anticipates no significant economic
impact on parties affected by this rule.

Contact Person
Alison Lebwohl, (608) 266−0054.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to Legislative
 Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Veterans Affairs
CR 14−058

On October 9, 2014, the Department of Veterans Affairs
submitted a proposed rule order to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 038−14, was
approved by the Governor on April 21, 2014, published
in Register No. 701 on May 14, 2014, and approved by
Secretary John A. Scocos on May 27, 2014.

A related emergency rule, EmR1416, affecting the same
rules contained in this proposed rule and relating to the same
purpose has been published and is in effect.

Analysis
The proposed rule order affects Chapter VA 2, relating to

the implementation and administration of grants to nonprofit
organizations that provide financial assistance or other
services to Wisconsin veterans and their dependents.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held in Madison.
The organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of

the proposed rules is Department of Veterans Affairs.
Contact Person

Kathy Marschman
Telephone: (608) 266−2256
Email: kathy.marschman@dva.wisconsin.gov.
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearings

Transportation
EmR1425

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that, pursuant to ss. 227.17
and 227.24 (4), Stats., the State of Wisconsin Department of
Transportation (“WisDOT”) will hold a public hearing on
EmR1425, an Emergency Rule that created Wis. Admin.
Code Chapter Trans 319, relating to towing of vehicles.  This
emergency rule, EmR1425, was published and effective on
October 2, 2014.  WisDOT will hold the public hearing as
follows:

Hearing Information

Date: Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Time: 1:30 p.m.
Location: Hill Farms State Transportation Building

4802 Sheboygan Avenue
Room 144B
Madison, WI 53707−7910

Appearances at the Hearing, Submission of Written
Comments, and Copies of the Rule

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
will  be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions.  As noted below, WisDOT will accept
written comments until November 14, 2014 at 4:30 p.m.
Written comments, including those relating to small
businesses, may be sent to Laura Vande Hey, WisDOT
Division of State Patrol, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 551,
Madison, Wisconsin 53705, (608) 267−5136,
laura.vandehey@dot.wi.gov.  Copies of the Fiscal Estimate
may be obtained at no charge from Laura Vande Hey as well.
The Emergency Rule, Fiscal Estimate, Certification, and
Letter to the Legislative Reference Bureau may be viewed at
https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Home.Written
comments may also be submitted at this internet address.  The
deadline for submitting comments and this notice of public
hearing will  be posted on the Wisconsin Administrative Rules
Website at http://adminrules. wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted

Section 349.13 (3m), Stats.

Statutory authority

Section 349.13 (3m) (e), Stats., and 2013 Wisconsin Act 76
s. 59 (2).

Explanation of agency authority

2013 Wisconsin Act 76 and s. 349.13 (3m) (e), Stats., in
relevant part, provide that if a vehicle is illegally parked in a
“properly posted” area, it is unnecessary for law enforcement
to issue a citation prior to removal of the vehicle.  2013
Wisconsin Act 76 and s. 349.13 (3m) (e), Stats., provide that
the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation shall
promulgate rules establishing all of the following:

1. Reasonable charges for removal and storage of
vehicles under this subsection.

2. The form and manner of display of notice necessary to
qualify as “properly posted” under par. (a) 2.

3. Guidelines for towing services to notify law
enforcement under par. (d) upon removal of a vehicle.

2013 Wisconsin Act 76 provides that, using the emergency
rules procedure established under s. 227.24, Stats., the State
of Wisconsin Department of Transportation shall promulgate
the rules required under s. 349.13 (3m) (e), Stats.

Related statute or rule
Section 349.13 (3m), Stats.

Brief summary of the rule
2013 Wisconsin Act 76 and s. 349.13 (3m) (e), Stats.,

create an exception to a provision under prior law relating to
the towing of vehicles parked on private property without
permission.  Under prior law, vehicles generally could not be
removed without the permission of the vehicle owner unless
a traffic or police officer issued a citation for illegal parking.
The exception created in 2013 Wisconsin Act 76 applies when
notice has been “properly posted” stating that unauthorized
vehicles may be removed from the property.  When the
exception applies, an unauthorized vehicle may be towed
immediately, regardless of whether a parking citation has
been issued, at the request of the property owner or certain
other parties specified in 2013 Wisconsin Act 76, subject to
certain procedural requirements in 2013 Wisconsin Act 76.
2013 Wisconsin Act 76 requires the State of Wisconsin
Department of Transportation to promulgate rules
establishing reasonable charges for removal and storage of
vehicles; the form, manner of display, of the notice necessary
to qualify as “properly posted” under the provisions described
above; and guidelines for towing services to notify law
enforcement of the removal of a vehicle.

Through this rulemaking, the State of Wisconsin
Department of Transportation proposes to execute its
obligation in the following manner.  First, this rulemaking
announces that its purpose is to establish reasonable charges
for removal and storage of vehicles pa0[qrked on private
property that are not authorized to be parked there, to establish
the form and manner of notice of display necessary to qualify
as “properly posted” under s. 349.13 (3m) (a) 2., Stats., and
guidelines for towing services to notify law enforcement
under s. 349.13 (3m) (d), Stats., upon removal of a vehicle.
Second, this rulemaking establishes various definitions that
apply in Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 319, including, among
others, those contained within ss. 340.01 and 349.13 (3m) (a),
Stats.  Third, this rulemaking establishes a schedule of
charges for removal and storage of vehicles.  Fourth, this
rulemaking establishes that in order to qualify as “properly
posted” under s. 349.13 (3m) (a) 2., Stats., a conspicuous
notice must be displayed and must contain the words “private
property” and “tow−away zone.”  Fifth, this rulemaking
establishes that prior to removal of a vehicle, a towing service
must contact the law enforcement agency with primary
jurisdiction over the area where the vehicle is parked and
provide descriptive information about the vehicle, as well as
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location and contact information for the location to which the
car will be towed.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal statutes and regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation
addressing towing vehicles parked on private property that
are not authorized to be parked there.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:

Generally, in Illinois, the owner or lessor of privately
owned real property or any person authorized by such owner
may cause any motor vehicle abandoned or left unattended
upon such property without permission to be removed by a
towing service without liability for the costs of removal,
transportation, or storage or damage caused by such removal,
transportation, or storage.  The towing or removal of any
vehicle from private property without the consent of the
registered owner or other legally authorized person in control
of the vehicle is subject to compliance with the following
conditions and restrictions:

� Any towed or removed vehicle must be stored at the
site of the towing service’s place of business.  This site
must be open during business hours, and for the
purpose of redeeming vehicles, during the time that
the person or firm towing such vehicle is open for
towing purposes.

� The towing service must, within 30 minutes of
completion of such towing or removal, notify the law
enforcement agency having jurisdiction of such
towing or removal, and the make, model, color and
license plate number of the vehicle, and shall obtain
and record the name of the person at the law
enforcement agency to whom such information was
reported.

� If  the registered owner or legally authorized person
entitled to possession of the vehicle arrives at the scene
prior to actual removal or towing of the vehicle, the
vehicle must be disconnected from the tow truck and
that person shall be allowed to remove the vehicle
without interference, upon the payment of a
reasonable service fee of not more than one half the
posted rate of the towing service, as provided in the
law, for which receipt must be given.

� The rebate of payment or payment of money or any
other valuable consideration from the towing service
or its owners, manager, or employees to the owners or
operators of the premises from which the vehicles are
towed or removed, for the privilege of removing or
towing those vehicles, is prohibited.  Any person who
violates this requirement is guilty of a Class A
misdemeanor.

� Except for property appurtenant to and obviously a
part of a single family residence, and except for
instances where notice is personally given to the
owner or other legally authorized person in control of
the vehicle that the area in which the vehicle is parked
is reserved or otherwise unavailable to unauthorized
vehicles and they are subject to being removed at the
owner or operator’s expense, any property owner or
lessor, prior to towing or removing any vehicle from
the private property without the consent of the owner
or other legally authorized person in control of that
vehicle, must post a notice meeting the following
requirements:

� Generally, the notice must be prominently placed
at each driveway access or curb cut allowing
vehicular access to the property within 5 feet from
the public right−of−way line.  If there are no curbs
or access barriers, the sign must be posted not less
than one sign each 100 feet of lot frontage.
Alternatively, in a municipality with a population
of less than 250,000, the notice for a parking lot
contained within property used solely for a
2−family, 3−family, 4−family residence may be
prominently placed at the perimeter of the parking
lot, in a position where the notice is visible to the
occupants of the vehicles entering the lot.

� The notice must indicate clearly, in not less than 2
inch high light−reflective letters on a contrasting
background, that unauthorized vehicles will be
towed away at the owner’s expense.

� The notice must also provide the name and current
telephone number of the towing service towing or
removing the vehicle.

� The sign structure containing the required notices
must be permanently installed with the bottom of
the sign not less than 4 feet above ground level, and
must be continuously maintained on the property
for not less than 24 hours prior to the towing or
removing of any vehicle.

� Any towing service that tows or removes vehicles and
proposes to require the owner, operator, or person in
control of the vehicle to pay the costs of towing and
storage prior to redemption of the vehicle must file and
keep on record with the local law enforcement agency
a complete copy of the current rates to be charged for
such services, and post at the storage site an identical
rate schedule and any written contracts with property
owners, lessor, or persons in control of property which
authorize them to remove vehicles as provided in this
section.  There is a cap, however, set by the Illinois
Commerce Commission.

� No person shall engage in the removal of vehicles
from private property without filing a notice of intent
in each community where he intends to do such
removal, and such notice shall be filed at least 7 days
before commencing such towing.

� No removal of a vehicle from private property shall be
done except upon express written instructions of the
owners or persons in charge of the private property
upon which the vehicle is said to be trespassing.

� Vehicle entry for the purpose of removal shall be
allowed with reasonable care on the part of the person
or firm towing the vehicle.  Such person or firm shall
be liable for any damages occasioned to the vehicle if
such entry is not in accordance with the standards of
reasonable care.

� A vehicle towed must be released to its owners or
custodian within one half hour after requested, if such
request is made within business hours.  Any vehicle
owner or custodian or agent shall have the right to
inspect the vehicle before accepting its return, and no
release or waiver of any kind which would release the
towing service from liability for damages incurred
during the towing and storage may be required from
any vehicle owner or other legally authorized person
as a condition of release of that vehicle.  A detailed,
signed receipt showing the legal name of the towing
service must be given to the person paying towing or
storage charges at the time of payment, whether
requested or not.  Payment may be made using any
major credit card, in addition to cash.
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� Any person who fails to comply with these conditions
and restrictions is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and
shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500.

Iowa:

In Iowa, the definition of “abandoned vehicle” includes a
vehicle that has been unlawfully parked on private property
or has been placed on private property without the consent of
the owner or person in control of the property for more than
twenty−four hours.  A police authority, upon the authority’s
own initiative or upon the request of any other authority
having the duties of control of highways or traffic, may take
into custody an abandoned vehicle on private property.  The
police authority may employ its own personnel, equipment,
and facilities or hire a private entity, equipment, and facilities
for the purpose of removing, preserving, storing, or disposing
of abandoned vehicles.  A property owner or other person in
control of private property may employ a private entity who
is a garagekeeper to dispose of an abandoned vehicle, and the
private entity may take into custody the abandoned vehicle
without a police authority’s initiative.  If a police authority
employs a private entity to dispose of abandoned vehicles, the
police authority shall provide the private entity with the
names and addresses of the registered owners, all lienholders
of record, and any other known claimant to the vehicle or the
personal property found in the vehicle.

A police authority or private entity that takes into custody
an abandoned vehicle shall notify, within twenty days, by
certified mail, the last known registered owner of the vehicle,
all lienholders of record, and any other known claimant to the
vehicle or to personal property found in the vehicle, addressed
to the parties’ last known addresses of record, that the
abandoned vehicle has been taken into custody.  Notice shall
be deemed given when mailed.  The notice shall describe the
year, make, model, and vehicle identification number of the
vehicle, describe the personal property found in the vehicle,
set forth the location of the facility where the vehicle is being
held, and inform the persons receiving the notice of their right
to reclaim the vehicle and personal property within ten days
after the effective date of the notice upon payment of all
towing, preservation, and storage charges resulting from
placing the vehicle in custody and upon payment of the costs
of notice required pursuant to this subsection.  The notice shall
also state that the failure of the owner, lienholders, or
claimants to exercise their right to reclaim the vehicle or
personal property within the time provided shall be deemed
a waiver by the owner, lienholders, and claimants of all right,
title, claim, and interest in the vehicle or personal property and
that failure to reclaim the vehicle or personal property is
deemed consent to the sale of the vehicle at a public auction
or disposal of the vehicle to a demolisher and to disposal of the
personal property by sale or destruction.

If  the abandoned vehicle was taken into custody by a
private entity without a police authority’s initiative, the notice
shall state that the private entity may claim a garagekeeper’s
lien and may proceed to sell or dispose of the vehicle.  If the
abandoned vehicle was taken into custody by a police
authority or by a private entity hired by a police authority, the
notice shall state that any person claiming rightful possession
of the vehicle or personal property who disputes the planned
disposition of the vehicle or property by the police authority
or private entity or of the assessment of fees and charges may
ask for an evidentiary hearing before the police authority to
contest those matters.  If the persons receiving notice do not
ask for a hearing or exercise their right to reclaim the vehicle

or personal property within the ten−day reclaiming period, the
owner, lienholders, or claimants shall no longer have any
right, title, claim, or interest in or to the vehicle or the personal
property.  A court in any case in law or equity shall not
recognize any right, title, claim, or interest of the owner,
lienholders, or claimants after the expiration of the ten−day
reclaiming period.

If  it is impossible to determine with reasonable certainty
the identity and addresses of the last registered owner and all
lienholders, notice by one publication in one newspaper of
general circulation in the area where the vehicle was
abandoned shall be sufficient to meet all requirements of
notice.  The published notice may contain multiple listings of
abandoned vehicles and personal property but shall be
published within the same time requirements and contain the
same information as prescribed for mailed notice.

If  an abandoned vehicle has not been reclaimed as provided
for, the police authority or private entity shall make a
determination as to whether or not the vehicle shall be sold for
use upon the highways.  If the vehicle is not sold for use upon
the highways, it shall be sold for junk, or demolished and sold
as scrap.  The police authority or private entity shall sell the
vehicle at public auction.  A police authority or private entity
may dispose of the vehicle to a demolisher for junk without
public auction after complying with the notification
procedures.  The purchaser of the vehicle takes title free and
clear of all liens and claims of ownership, shall receive a sales
receipt from the police authority or private entity, and is
entitled to register the vehicle and receive a certificate of title
if  sold for use upon the highways.  If the vehicle is sold or
disposed of to a demolisher for junk, the demolisher shall
make application for a junking certificate to the county
treasurer within thirty days of purchase and shall surrender the
sales receipt in lieu of the certificate of title.

From the proceeds of the sale of an abandoned vehicle the
police authority, if the police authority did not hire a private
entity, shall reimburse itself for the expenses of the auction,
the costs of towing, preserving, and storing which resulted
from placing the abandoned vehicle in custody, all notice and
publication costs incurred, the cost of inspection, and any
other costs incurred except costs of bookkeeping and other
administrative costs.  Any remainder from the proceeds of a
sale shall be held for the owner of the vehicle or entitled
lienholder for ninety days, and shall then be deposited in the
road use tax fund.  The costs to police authorities of auction,
towing, preserving, storage, and all notice and publication
costs, and all other costs which result from placing abandoned
vehicles in custody, whenever the proceeds from a sale of the
abandoned vehicles are insufficient to meet these expenses
and costs, shall be paid from the road use tax fund and are the
obligation of the last owner or owners, jointly and severally.

If  a private entity has been hired by a police authority, the
police authority shall file a claim with the State of Iowa
Department of Transportation for reimbursement of towing
fees which shall be paid from the road use tax fund.
Reimbursement shall be limited to $50 per vehicle for towing
services, actual postage or publication costs for notice
services, $5 per day per vehicle, not to exceed 45 days, for
storage services, 10% of the vehicle’s sale price or $10,
whichever is less, for auction fees.

Michigan:
In Michigan, like in Iowa, the definition of “abandoned

vehicle” includes a vehicle that has remained on private
property without the consent of the owner.  If a vehicle has
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remained on private property without the consent of the
property owner, the owner of the private property may have
the vehicle taken into custody as an abandoned vehicle by
contacting a local towing agency.  A local towing agency is
considered a towing agency whose storage lot is located
within 15 miles from the border of the local unit of
government having jurisdiction over the abandoned vehicle.
Before removing the vehicle from private property, the
towing agency must provide reasonable notice by telephone,
or otherwise, to a police agency having jurisdiction over the
vehicle that the vehicle is being removed.  The police agency
shall determine if the vehicle has been reported stolen and
enter the vehicle into the law enforcement information
network as an abandoned vehicle.

Within 24 hours after taking the abandoned vehicle into
custody, the police agency shall notify the secretary of state
through the law enforcement information network that the
vehicle has been taken into custody as abandoned.  Each
notification shall contain the following information:

� The year, make, and vehicle identification number of
the vehicle if available.

� The address or approximate location from which the
vehicle was taken into custody.

� The date on which the vehicle was taken into custody.
� The name and address of the police agency that had the

vehicle taken into custody.
� The name and business address of the custodian of the

vehicle.
� The name of the court that has jurisdiction over the

case.
Within 7 days after being notified, the secretary of state

must do both of the following:
� Send to the owner and secured party, as shown by the

records of the secretary of state, by first−class mail or
personal service, notice that the vehicle is considered
abandoned.  The form for the notice shall be furnished
by the secretary of state. Each notice form must
contain the following information:
� The year, make, and vehicle identification number

of the vehicle if available.
� The location from which the vehicle was taken into

custody.
� The date on which the vehicle was taken into

custody.
� The name of the towing agency that had the vehicle

taken into custody.
� The business address of the custodian of the

vehicle.
� The procedure to redeem the vehicle.
� The procedure to contest the fact that the vehicle

is considered abandoned or the reasonableness of
the towing fees and daily storage fees.

� A form petition that the owner may file in person
or by mail with the specified court that requests a
hearing on the custodian’s action.

� A warning that the failure to redeem the vehicle or
to request a hearing within 20 days after the date of
the notice may result in the sale of the vehicle and
the termination of all rights of the owner and the
secured party to the vehicle or the proceeds of the
sale.

� Enter this information described on a website
maintained by the department for public use in

locating vehicles that are removed under this section
as abandoned.

The owner may contest the fact that the vehicle is
abandoned or, unless the towing fees and daily storage fees are
established by contract with the local governmental unit or
local law enforcement agency, the reasonableness of the
towing fees and daily storage fees by requesting a hearing.  A
request for a hearing must be made by filing a petition with the
court specified in the notice within 20 days after the date of the
notice.  If the owner requests a hearing, the matter shall be
resolved after a hearing.  An owner who requests a hearing
may obtain release of the vehicle by posting with the court a
towing and storage bond in an amount equal to $40.00 plus the
accrued towing and storage fees.  The owner of a vehicle who
requests a hearing may obtain release of the vehicle by paying
a fee of $40.00 to the court plus the towing and storage fees
instead of posting the towing and storage bond.  An owner
requesting a hearing but not taking possession of the vehicle
shall post with the court a towing and storage bond in an
amount equal to $40.00 plus the accrued towing and storage
fees.

If  the owner does not request a hearing, he or she may
obtain the release of the vehicle by paying a fee of $40.00 plus
the accrued charges to the custodian of the vehicle.  The
custodian must forward $25.00 of the fee collected to the
secretary of state within 30 days after receipt in a manner
prescribed by the secretary of state, who must deposit the fee
into the abandoned vehicle fund.  If the owner does not
redeem the vehicle or request a hearing within 20 days after
the date of the notice, the secured party may obtain the release
of the vehicle by paying a fee of $40.00 and the accrued
towing and storage fees to the custodian of the vehicle.  The
custodian must forward $25.00 of the fee collected under this
subsection to the secretary of state within 30 days after receipt
in a manner prescribed by the secretary of state, who shall
deposit the fee into the abandoned vehicle fund.

Not less than 20 days after the disposition of the hearing or,
if  a hearing is not requested, not less than 20 days after the date
of the notice, the custodian of the vehicle must offer the
vehicle for sale at a public sale.  If the ownership of a vehicle
that is considered abandoned cannot be determined either
because of the condition of the vehicle identification numbers
or because a check with the records of the secretary of state
does not reveal ownership, the police agency may sell the
vehicle at public sale not less than 30 days after public notice
of the sale has been published.  The secretary of state must
release a vehicle for disposition within 45 days after the
vehicle is entered into the law enforcement information
network as an abandoned vehicle.

Minnesota:
In Minnesota, the definition of “abandoned vehicle”

includes a motor vehicle that has remained illegally on private
property for a period of time without the consent of the person
in control of the property; and lacks vital component parts or
is in an inoperable condition such that it has no substantial
potential for further use consistent with its usual functions,
unless it is kept in an enclosed garage or storage building.
Further, an “unauthorized vehicle” subject to impoundment
by units of government and peace officers is a vehicle that,
while not an abandoned vehicle, has been on private property:
(i) that is single−family or duplex residential property,
immediately; (ii) that is private, nonresidential property,
properly posted, immediately; (iii) that is private,
nonresidential property, not posted, 24 hours; (iv) that is
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private, nonresidential property of an operator of an
establishment for the servicing, repair, or maintenance of
motor vehicles, five business days after notifying the vehicle
owner by certified mail, return receipt requested, of the
property owner’s intention to have the vehicle removed from
the property; or (v) that is any residential property, properly
posted, immediately.  Such an unauthorized vehicle may also
be towed.  These provisions applicable to units of government
and peace officers do not restrict the authority of the owner of
private property to authorize the towing of a motor vehicle
unlawfully parked on the private property.  Indeed, private
property owners seeking to have unauthorized vehicles
removed from their property must make their own
arrangements with a private towing service.

A person who tows and stores a motor vehicle at the request
of a law enforcement officer shall have a lien on the motor
vehicle for the value of the storage and towing and the right
to retain possession of the motor vehicle until the lien is
lawfully discharged.  An impounded vehicle is eligible for
disposal or sale 15 days after notice to the owner, if the vehicle
is determined to be an abandoned vehicle. An unauthorized
vehicle impounded by the city of Minneapolis or by the city
of St. Paul is eligible for disposal or sale 15 days after notice
is sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
registered owner, if any, of the unauthorized vehicle and to all
readily identifiable lienholders of record.  If, before the
expiration of the 15−day period following notice of taking, the
registered owner or lienholder of record delivers to the
impound lot operator a written statement of intent to reclaim
the vehicle, the vehicle is not eligible for disposal or sale until
45 days after the notice of taking, if the owner or lienholder
has not reclaimed.  If an unauthorized vehicle is impounded,
other than by the city of Minneapolis or the city of St. Paul,
the impounded vehicle is eligible for disposal or sale the
earlier of 45 days after notice to the owner; or the date of a
voluntary written title transfer by the registered owner to the
impound lot operator.  A voluntary written title transfer
constitutes a waiver by the registered owner of any right, title,
and interest in the vehicle.

For vehicles impounded by units of government and peace
officers, the entity taking the vehicle into custody must give
written notice of the taking within five days, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays, to the registered
vehicle owner and any lienholders.  The notice must:

� Set forth the date and place of the taking;

� Provide the year, make, model, and serial number of
the impounded motor vehicle, if such information can
be reasonably obtained, and the place where the
vehicle is being held;

� Inform the owner and any lienholders of their right to
reclaim the vehicle

� State that failure of the owner or lienholders to:

� Exercise their right to reclaim the vehicle within
the appropriate time allowed under and under the
appropriate conditions constitutes a waiver by
them of all right, title, and interest in the vehicle
and a consent to the transfer of title to and disposal
or sale of the vehicle

� Exercise their right to reclaim the contents of the
vehicle within the appropriate time allowed and
under the appropriate conditions, constitutes a
waiver by them of all right, title, and interest in the
contents and consent to sell or dispose of the; and

� State that a vehicle owner who provides to the
impound lot operator documentation from a
government or nonprofit agency or legal aid office that
the owner is homeless, receives relief based on need,
or is eligible for legal aid services, has the
unencumbered right to retrieve any and all contents
without charge.

The notice shall be sent by mail to the registered owner, if
any, of an impounded vehicle and to all readily identifiable
lienholders of record.  This information must be made
available to impound lot operators for notification purposes.
If it is impossible to determine with reasonable certainty the
identity and address of the registered owner and all
lienholders, the notice shall be published once in a newspaper
of general circulation in the area where the motor vehicle was
towed from or abandoned.  Published notices may be grouped
together for convenience and economy.  If an unauthorized
vehicle remains unclaimed after 30 days from the date the
notice was sent, a second notice must be sent by certified mail,
return receipt requested, to the registered owner, if any, of the
unauthorized vehicle and to all readily identifiable
lienholders of record.

The owner or any lienholder of an impounded vehicle shall
have a right to reclaim such vehicle from the unit of
government or impound lot operator taking it into custody
upon payment of all towing and storage charges resulting
from taking the vehicle into custody within 15 or 45 days,
after the date of the notice.  Nothing impairs any lien of a
garagekeeper, or the right of a lienholder to foreclose.
Summary of the factual data and analytical methodologies
that the agency used in support of the proposed rule and how
any related findings support the regulatory approach
chosen for the rule

The proposed rule was drafted with input from towing
services, governmental entities, and the Wisconsin Housing
Alliance.  The schedule of charges was based on a
recommendation from the City of Milwaukee’s tow lot
management.  The schedule was the result of a survey of
municipalities throughout the state and nation.  The average
total charge for tow and storage among the surveyed
municipalities was $125 and the goal was to establish a
schedule that would be in keeping with that average.  The
design and display of the required notice was largely based on
existing design standards for other signage (e.g. handicapped
parking signs as defined in Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 200),
as well as standards in other states.  The guidelines for tow
services to provide notice to law enforcement were based on
input from law enforcement.
Analysis regarding rule’s effect on small businesses

There are many towing services throughout the state and it
seems likely that some would qualify as a small business
under s. 227.114, Stats.  It is unknown what the impact to those
businesses would be.  While, this rulemaking seeks to
establish a schedule of reasonable charges for removal and
storage of vehicles, as detailed in the previous section, it is
possible that the established charges will be more or less than
the charges some small businesses currently assess.

Summary of Fiscal Estimate
The Fiscal Estimate for EmR1425 may be summarized as

follows.  This rule establishes: (1) reasonable charges for
removal and storage of vehicles; (2) the form and manner of
display of notice necessary to qualify as “properly posted”;
and (3) guidelines for towing services to notify law
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enforcement of removal.  No fund source or ch. 20, Stats.,
appropriations will be affected.  Thus, implementing
EmR1425 will have no fiscal effect on state government.
EmR1425 will impact local governments, towing services,
private property owners, traffic officers, parking enforcers,
and law enforcement agencies, some of which may be small
businesses.  However, it is unknown what the impact on small
businesses will be.  While the goal of the rule is to standardize
practice and rates statewide, it is possible that some small
businesses may charge more or less than what is established
in this rule.  EmR1425 was drafted with input from towing
services, governmental entities, and the Wisconsin Housing
Alliance.  The schedule of rates is based on a survey of
municipalities throughout the state and nation, where $125
was the average rate.  The design and display of the required
notice is based on signage requirements in other arenas, such
as handicapped parking in ch. Trans 220, Admin. Code.  The
law enforcement call−in procedures are based on input from
law enforcement agencies.  Copies of the Fiscal Estimate may
be obtained at no charge from the agency contact person listed
above or at
https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Home.

Small Business Matters
As noted above, there are many towing services throughout

the state and it seems likely that some would qualify as a small
business under s. 227.114, Stats.  It is unknown what the
impact to those businesses would be.  While this rulemaking
seeks to establish a schedule of reasonable charges for
removal and storage of vehicles, as detailed in the previous
section, it is possible that the established charges will be more
or less than the charges some small businesses currently
assess.  Reporting and compliance requirements of EmR1425
include: (1) private property owners posting a conspicuous
notice that contains the words “private property” and
“tow−away zone”; and (2) towing services contacting the law
enforcement agency with primary jurisdiction over the area
where a vehicle is improperly parked and provide descriptive
information about the vehicle, as well as location and contact
information for the location to which the car will be towed.
The agency contact person listed above is also the small
business regulatory coordinator for EmR1425.  As noted
above, the Emergency Rule, Fiscal Estimate, Certification,
and Letter to the Legislative Reference Bureau may be viewed
at https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Home.
Written comments may also be submitted at this internet
address.

Agency Contact Person
Laura Vande Hey
State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Division of State Patrol
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 551
Madison, Wisconsin 53705
(608) 267−5136
laura.vandehey@dot.wi.gov.

Notice of Hearings

Veterans Affairs
CR 14−058, EmR1416

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Department of Veterans Affairs in section 45.46

of the Wisconsin Statutes, the Department will hold a public
hearing at the time and place shown below to consider an
order to create section VA 2.07, relating to grants to
non−profit organizations.  As provided in s. 227.24 (4) of the
Statutes, this hearing will also be for emergency rules that
identically address this chapter VA 2.07 criteria.

Hearing Information
Date: Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 201 W. Washington Avenue

Room 324
Madison, WI 53703

Hearing impaired persons may request and interpreter for
this hearing. Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by November 5, 2014, by writing to Kathy
Marschman, Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs, 201
W. Washington Ave., P.O. Box 7843, Madison, WI 53703; or
by emailing kathy.marschman@dva.wisconsin.gov; or by
telephone at (608) 266−2256.  This hearing facility is
handicap accessible.

Copies of Proposed Rule, Fiscal Estimate, and
Economic Impact Analysis

You may obtain a free copy of this hearing draft rule and
related documents including the economic impact analysis by
contacting the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs,
201 W. Washington Ave., P.O. Box 7843, Madison, WI
53703. You may also obtain a copy by calling (608) 266−2256
or by emailing kathy.marschman@dva.wisconsin.gov.
Copies will be available at the hearing. To view the hearing
draft rule online, go to: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.

Place Where Comments are to be Submitted and
Deadline for Submission

Following the public hearing, the hearing record will
remain open until 4:00 p.m. on November 19, 2014 for
additional written comments. Comments may be sent to the
Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs at the address
above or to Kathy Marschman,
kathy.marschman@dva.wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Veterans
Affairs
Statute interpreted

Section 45.46, Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 227.10 (1), 227.11 (2) (a), and 45.03 (2).
Explanation of agency authority

Section 227.10 (1), Stats., requires each department to
promulgate as a rule each statement of general policy and each
interpretation of a statute which it specifically adopts to
govern its enforcement or administration of that statute.
Further, (2m) requires rule promulgation before a department
may implement or enforce any standard, requirement, or
threshold.

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., authorizes the department to
promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statute
enforced or administered by the department, if the department
considers it necessary to effectuate the purpose of the statute.

Section 45.03 (2), Stats., authorizes the Secretary to
promulgate rules necessary to carry out the purposes of
Chapter 45 and the powers and duties conferred upon it.
Related statute or rule

This rule administers a one−time competitive grant
program for the award of grants to nonprofit organizations
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that provide assistance to veterans or their families.  Although
the Department administers various grant programs to
organizations and individuals, the existing rules are
insufficient and inappropriate for the new grant authority.
Grants provided under existing sections of Chapter VA 2 are
not competitive grants as is created by this rule.  The existing
grants in Chapter VA 2 are awarded to individuals based on
financial need and the satisfaction of certain established
criteria.  Grants under Chapter VA 7 are awarded in
compliance with s. 45.41, Stats., which establishes eligibility
criteria and specific award levels for veterans organizations
that engage in veterans claims service.  Grants under Chapter
VA 8 are awarded in compliance with s. 45.82, Stats., which
establishes a sliding−scale grant level to counties for
improvement of service to veterans based on county
population.  Grants under Chapter VA 15 are awarded in
compliance with s. 45.82, Stats., which establishes criteria
and a sum−certain that is equally divided between qualifying
tribes or bands that apply for the grant for improvement of
service to veterans.  Grants under Chapter VA 16 are awarded
in compliance with s. 45.83, Stats., to counties that provide
transportation to veterans; eligible counties receive a
proportion of the total appropriation based on the number of
miles veterans were transported during a specified 12−month
period.

 Plain language analysis
This rule establishes the general criteria, procedures,

requirements and conditions for the award of grants to
nonprofits.  It allows for grant applications from any nonprofit
as defined in s.108.02 (19), to provide financial assistance or
other services to veterans and their dependents.

The rule provides for solicitation of applications for grants
in the form of public notice.  Each grant applicant will be
asked to provide: (1) proof of nonprofit status; (2) information
about itself; (3) description of the financial assistance or other
services it provides to veterans and their dependents; and (4)
description of the need for the requested funds.

Summary of and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

Research revealed no completely analogous grant program
within the federal government, although the federal
government offers grants to nonprofit organizations that
provide certain specified services to veterans or their families,
or provide services to a specific segment of the veterans’

community, e.g., homeless veterans.  An example is the US
Department of Veterans Affairs Supportive Services for
Veteran Families Program that provides grants to private
nonprofit organizations and consumer cooperatives who
coordinate or provide support services to very low income
veteran families who meet certain criteria related to housing.
Program grantees are responsible for providing outreach, case
management, linkages to VA benefits, and linkages to other
public benefits.  This federal grant program is the mechanism
for delivering the USDVA’s programmatic services via
third−party organizations.

Conversely, the state grant program administered by this
rule is intended to complement the WDVA’s services by
providing financial assistance to nonprofit organizations that
provide services to veterans not offered by the WDVA.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
In reviewing the statutes, rules and websites of the veterans

departments of adjacent states revealed no similar grant
program.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The department analyzed the grant processes of

organizations experienced in the administration of
competitive grants and used those processes as a foundation
for the rule and application procedures.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report

There is no effect on small business.  This is a voluntary
grant program available only to certain nonprofit
organizations.

Fiscal Estimate
The proposed rule changes will have no additional fiscal

impact.

Effect on Small Business
The proposed rule changes will have no impact upon small

businesses.

Agency Contact Person
Kathy Marschman
kathy.marschman@dva.wisconsin.gov
(608) 266−2256.

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DOA−2049 (R03/2012)

DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE
101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR

P.O. BOX 7864
MADISON, WI  53707−7864

FAX: (608) 267−0372

ADMINISTRATIVE  RULES
Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

1. Type of Estimate and Analysis

X Original � Updated � Corrected

2. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number

VA2 − Emergency, correspondence and part−time study, retraining and tuition and fee reimbursement grants.

3. Subject

Grants to Nonprofit organizations.
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4. Fund Sources Affected 5. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected

� GPR � FED � PRO � PRS X SEG � SEG−S 20.485 (2) (tf).

6. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule

X No Fiscal Effect
� Indeterminate

� Increase Existing Revenues
� Decrease Existing Revenues

� Increase Costs
� Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget
� Decrease Cost

7. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)

� State’s Economy
� Local Government Units

X Specific Businesses/Sectors
� Public Utility Rate Payers
� Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)

8. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million?
� Yes X No
9. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule

Allows Nonprofits serving Veterans to apply for grant funding through WDVA

10. Summary of the  businesses, business sectors, associations representing business, local governmental units, and individuals that may be
affected by the proposed rule that were contacted for comments.

N/A

11. Identify the local governmental units that participated in the development of this EIA.

N/A

12. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local Governmental
Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

There should be no fiscal impact on the Business sector, Public Utility Rate Payers, local governments or the State’s economy.

13. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule

Provide a benefit to nonprofit organizations that are already serving Wisconsin veterans without assistance and encourage other non-
profits to provide benefit options for Wisconsin veterans.

14. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule

N/A

15. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government

N/A

16. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota)

N/A

17. Contact Name 18. Contact Phone Number
Jim Parker 608−266−1843

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.

ATTACHMENT  A

1.  Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Small Businesses (Separately for each Small Business Sector, Include Implementation and
Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

Nonprofit businesses will apply for grant funds from WDVA to help offset costs of providing services to Wisconsin veterans.

2. Summary of the data sources used to measure the Rule’s impact on Small Businesses

N/A
3. Did the agency consider the following methods to reduce the impact of the Rule on Small Businesses?
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� Less Stringent Compliance or Reporting Requirements
� Less Stringent Schedules or Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting
� Consolidation or Simplification of Reporting Requirements
X Establishment of performance standards in lieu of Design or Operational Standards
� Exemption of Small Businesses from some or all requirements
� Other, describe:
 
4. Describe the methods incorporated into the Rule that will reduce its impact on Small Businesses

Minimum reporting standards are required without involvement in the nonprofit business operations.

5. Describe the Rule’s Enforcement Provisions

The WDVA has authority to audit all grantees, see s.45.47, record−keeping and audit requirements for grant programs administered
by the department.

6. Did the Agency prepare a Cost Benefit Analysis (if Yes, attach to form)

� Yes     X No
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Public Instruction
CR 14−045

On October 17, 2014, the Department of Public Instruction
submitted proposed rules to the Chief Clerks of the Senate and
Assembly for review by the Legislature under s. 227.19, Stats.
The rules create Chapter PI 80, relating to community

programs and services.

Per the Dane County Circuit Court order issued in Coyne,
et al. v. Walker, et al., Case No. 11−CV−4573, the Department
of Public Instruction is not required to obtain the Governor’s
approval of this proposed rule under s. 227.185, Stats.
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Rules Published with this Register and Final Regulatory
Flexibility Analyses and

Repeals and Modifications of Rules by Legislative Acts

The following administrative rule orders and legislative acts that repeal or modify rule have been adopted or enacted and the
changes, additions, and deletions to the Wisconsin Administrative Code contained in these rules and acts have been incorporated
into the affected chapters of the Administrative Code.  The affected chapters are published in this edition of the Wisconsin
Administrative Register.  (see sections 35.93 and 227.265, Wis. Stats.)

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358. (Paper publication of and subscriptions to the
Wisconsin Administrative Code and the subscription service will cease January 1, 2015.  The administrative code will be
published on the Internet at http://legis.wisconsin.gov/rsb/code.htm. See that site or http://legis.wisconsin.gov/rsb/codenews.pdf
for details.)

Administrative  Rules Published
Military  Affairs

CR 10−111

The Department of Military Affairs has proposed an order
to create Chapter DMA 1, relating to payments of military
family financial aid as required under s. 321.45, Stats.

Effective 11−1−14.

Effect on Small Business
None.

Legislative Comments
No comments were reported.
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Administrative  Code Sections Affected by Rule Revisions,
Legislative Acts, and Corrections

The following administrative code provisions were revised by rule orders, modified or repealed by legislative act, or corrected
by the Legislative Reference Bureau in October 2014. Revised, modified, and corrected administrative code chapters are
published in this Register.  Repealed chapters of the administrative code are removed from the code on the first day of the first
month following publication of this Register.  For additional information, contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at
(608) 266−3651.

Revisions by Rule Order

Controlled Substances Board
Ch. CSB 2
CSB 2.37
CSB 2.38

Military  Affairs
Ch. DMA 1
Entire Chapter (Created)

Repeals and Modifications of Rules by Legislative Act
Repeals and modifications by legislative act under authority of s. 227.265, Stats.

Editorial  Corrections
Corrections by the Legislative Reference Bureau under the authority of s. 13.92 (4) (b) or 35.17 (2), Stats.
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Executive Orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 141.Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff as a Mark of Respect for the Firefighters of this State Who Have Given Their Lives
in the Line of Duty.  (October 3, 2014)
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Public Notices

STATE OF WISCONSIN
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES BOARD

−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−
IN THE MATTER OF RULE−MAKING :             AFFIRMATIVE ACTION
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE :                     ORDER OF THE
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES BOARD :   CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES BOARD
−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−

FINDINGS

1.  On August 22, 2014, the United States Food and Drug Administration, Drug Enforcement
Administration published its final rule in the Federal Register rescheduling hydrocodone
combination products from Schedule III to Schedule II of the federal Controlled Substances
Act. The scheduling action is effective October 6, 2014.

2.  The Controlled Substances Board did not receive an objection to similarly treating
hydrocodone combination products as a schedule II under ch. 961, Stats. within 30 days of the
date of publication in the federal register of the final order rescheduling hydrocodone
combination products.

3.  The Controlled Substances Board will promulgate a final rule, without making the
determinations or findings required by ss. 961.11(1), (1m), (1r) and (2) or s. 961.15 and omitting
the notice of proposed rule making, rescheduling hydrocodone combination products as
schedule II controlled substances.

ORDER

Pursuant to s. 961.11(4), Stats., the Controlled Substances Board by affirmative action
similarly treats hydrocodone combination products under chapter 961, Stats. by creating the
following:

CSB 2.37 Rescheduling of hydrocodone combination products. 

Sections 961.18(5)(c) and (d), Stats., are repealed.

This order shall take effect on November 1, 2014 to allow for publication in the
Administrative Register.  The order expires upon promulgation of a final rule.

Dated 10−7−14         /s/                                
      Doug Englebert, Chair
  Controlled Substances Board
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STATE OF WISCONSIN
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES BOARD

−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−
IN THE MATTER OF RULE−MAKING :             AFFIRMATIVE ACTION
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE :                     ORDER OF THE
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES BOARD :   CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES BOARD
−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−

FINDINGS

1.  On August 28, 2014, the United States Food and Drug Administration, Drug Enforcement
Administration published its final rule in the Federal Register placing Suvorexant into schedule
IV of the federal Controlled Substances Act. The scheduling action is effective September 29,
2014.

2.  The Controlled Substances Board did not receive an objection to similarly treating
Suvorexant as a schedule IV under ch. 961, Stats. within 30 days of the date of publication in
the federal register of the final order designating Suvorexant as a controlled substance.

3.  The Controlled Substances Board will promulgate a final rule, without making the
determinations or findings required by ss. 961.11(1), (1m), (1r) and (2) or s. 961.19 and omitting
the notice of proposed rule making, designating Suvorexant as a schedule IV controlled
substance.

ORDER

Pursuant to s. 961.11(4), Stats., the Controlled Substances Board by affirmative action
similarly treats Suvorexant under chapter 961, Stats. by creating the following:

CSB 2.38 Addition of suvorexant to schedule IV.  Section 961.20(2)(mr), Stats., is
created to read:

961.20(2)(mr)  Suvorexant

This order shall take effect on November 1, 2014 to allow for publication in the
Administrative Register.  The order expires upon promulgation of a final rule.

Dated 10/8/14         /s/                                
      Doug Englebert, Chair
  Controlled Substances Board
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