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ORDER 

 
An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to repeal DE 2.01(1m) (c) and create DE 

2.01(1m) (d) relating to foreign trained dentists. 
 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------- 
ANALYSIS 

 
Statutes interpreted:  s. 447.04, Wis. Stats. 
 

Statutory authority:   ss. 15.08(5) (b) and 447.04 (1) (b) 1., Wis. Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The Board shall promulgate rules for the guidance of the profession not inconsistent with 

the law relating to the profession.  The Board shall establish requirements for licensure 
established by rule for granting a license to an applicant licensed in another state, 

territory or country. 
 
Related statute or rule:   

 

None 

 
Plain language analysis: 

 

The current rule requires an applicant who is a graduate of a foreign dental school to 
provide evidence that they have completed a postgraduate program or a residency 

program.  The proposed rule eliminates this requirement.  To bring Wisconsin’s 
requirements in line with other states, the proposed rule requires a foreign trained dentist 



to provide verification of being awarded a DDS or DMD degree from an accredited 
dental school or a dental diploma, degree, or certificate from a dental education program 

lasting at least two years at an accredited dental school which is equivalent to the didactic 
and clinical education at the level of a DDS or DMD degree.   

 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:   

 

None 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 
 
Illinois:  Illinois requires graduates of programs outside of the United States or Canada to 

provide certification of completion of a minimum of 2 years of clinical training from an 
approved dental college in the United States or Canada in which the applicant met the 

same level of scientific knowledge and clinical competence as all graduates from that 
school or certification of completion of no less than 2 academic years of advanced dental 
education program. 

 
Iowa:  Iowa requires foreign trained applicants to receive a dental diploma, degree or 

certificate from a full-time, undergraduate supplemental dental education program of at 
least 2 academic years at an accredited dental college.  The program must provide 
didactic and clinical education to the level of a DDS or DMD graduate. 

 
Michigan:  Michigan requires foreign trained applicants to complete a minimum 2 year 

program in dentistry in an approved school that leads to the awarding of a DDS or DMD 
or a minimum 2 year master’s degree or certificate program in an approved dental school 
that leads to the awarding of a degree or certificate from a dental specialty program. 

 
Minnesota:  Minnesota requires foreign trained applicants to have an evaluation of the 

foreign dental school done by the International Credentialing Associates that the foreign 
dental school’s education is equivalent to a dental school accredited by the Commission 
on Dental Accreditation. 

 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The Board reviewed the requirements of the surrounding states. 
 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

 
The rule was posted for public comment on the economic impact of the proposed rule, 
including how this proposed rule may affect businesses, local government units, and 

individuals, for a period of 14 days and received no comment. 
 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 



The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 
 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 
contacted by email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 

 

Agency contact person: 

 
Kathleen Vieira, Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy 
Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 

Wisconsin 53708; telephone (608) 261-4472; email at Kathleen.Vieira@wisconsin.gov. 
 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION  1.  DE 2.01 (1m) (c) is repealed. 
 

SECTION  2.  DE 2.01 (1m) (d) is created to read: 
 

DE 2.01 (1m) (d) Evidence of one of the following: 

 
1.  Verification of having been awarded a DDS or DMD degree from an 

accredited dental school. 
 
2.  Verification of having received a dental diploma, degree or certificate from a 

full time, undergraduate supplemental dental education program of at least two academic 
years at an accredited dental school.  The program must provide didactic and clinical 

education to the level of a DDS or DMD graduate. 
 

SECTION  3. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on 
the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, 
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  


