No. 32, S.]

[Published April 29, 1943.

## CHAPTER 79.

AN ACT to amend 3.05, parts of 4.01 and the eighth paragraph of 4.02 of the statutes, for the purpose of correcting the names of municipalities in certain congressional, assembly and senate districts.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. 3.05 is amended to read:

3.05 FOURTH DISTRICT. The third, fourth, fifth, eighth, eleventh, twelfth, fourteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth, twenty-third, twenty-fourth and twenty-seventh wards of the city of Milwaukee; the cities of Cudahy, South Milwaukee, Wauwatosa and West Allis; the villages of *Greendale and* West Milwaukee; and the towns of Franklin, Greenfield, Lake, Oak Creek and Wauwatosa, all in Milwaukee county, constitute the fourth district.

Section 2. The paragraphs of 4.01 specifying Dane County, the second district of Dodge county, the first district of Grant county, the second district of Kenosha county, the second district of Manitowoe county, the first district of Marathon county, the third district of Milwaukee county, the third district of Racine county, and the second district of Waukesha county, are amended to read:

(4.01) (Dane county) The city of Madison shall constitute the first district.

The towns of Albion, Blooming Grove, Bristol, Burke, Christiana, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunkirk, Dunn, Medina, Pleasant Springs, Rutland, Sun Prairie, Windsor and York; the villages of Cambridge, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, DeForest, McFarland, Marshall, Monona, Rockdale and Sun Prairie; and the city of Stoughton shall constitute the second district.

The towns of Black Earth, Berry, Blue Mounds, Cross Plains, Dane, Fitchburg, Madison, Mazomanie, Middleton, Montrose, Oregon, Perry, Primrose, Roxbury, Springdale, Springfield, Vermont, Verona, Vienna and Westport; and the villages of Belleville, Black Earth, Blue Mounds, that part of the village of Brooklyn in Dane County, and the villages of Cross Plains, Dane, Maple Bluff, Mazomanie, Middleton, Mt. Horeb, Oregon, Shorewood

Hills, Verona and Waunakee shall constitute the third district. (Dodge county, second district) The towns of Beaver Dam, Burnett, Calamus, Chester, Elba, Fox Lake, Lowell, Oak Grove, Portland, Trenton, and Westford; the villages of \* \* \* Lowell, Reeseville and east ward of Randolph; the cities of Fox Lake, Juneau and Beaver Dam and the first, second, third and fourth wards of the city of Waupun shall constitute the second district.

(Grant county, first district) The towns of Beetown, Cassville, Clifton, Ellenboro, Glen Haven, Harrison, Hazel Green, Jamestown, Lima, Paris, Platteville, Potosi, Smelser and Waterloo; the villages of Cassville, Hazel Green, Livingston, \* \* \* Potosi and Tennyson; and the cities of Platteville and Cuba City shall constitute the first district.

(Kenosha county, second district) The towns of Brighton, Bristol, Paris, Pleasant Prairie, Randall, Salem, Somers and Wheatland; the villages of Silver Lake and Twin Lakes; and the first, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eleventh wards of the city of Kenosha shall constitute the second district.

(Manitowoc county, second district) The towns of Cato, Cooperstown, Eaton, Franklin, Gibson, Koesuth, Maple Grove, Mishicot, Rockland, Schleswig, Two Creeks, and Two Rivers; the villages of Reedsville and Valders; and \* \* \* that part of the city of Kiel in Manitowoc county and the city of Two Rivers shall constitute the second district.

(Marathon county, first district) The towns of Bergen, Berlin, Bern, Bevent, Brighton, Cassel, Cleveland, Day, Eau Pleine, \* Elderon, Emmet, Frankfort, Franzen, Green Valley, Guenther, Halsey, Hamburg, Holton, Hull, Johnson, Knowlton, Kronenwetter, McMillan, Maine, Marathon, Mosinee, Reid, Rib Falls, Rib Mountain, Rietbrock, Spencer, Stettin and Wein; that part of Abbotsford village in Marathon county and the villages Athens, Edgar, Elderon, Fenwood, \* \* \* Marathon, Spencer, Stratford and that part of Unity village in Marathon county; \* \* \* that part of the city of Colby in Marathon county and the city of Mosinee shall constitute the first district.

(Milwaukee county, third district) The city of West Allis; the villages of *Greendale and* West Milwaukee; and the towns of Franklin and Greenfield shall constitute the third district.

(Racine county, third district) The towns of Burlington, Caledonia, Dover, Mt. Pleasant, Norway, Raymond, Rochester, Waterford and Yorkville; the villages of \* \* \* Rochester, Sturtevant, Union Grove and Waterford; the city of Burlington and the ninth ward of the city of Racine shall constitute the third district.

(Waukesha county, second district) The towns of Brookfield, Delafield, Lisbon, Menomonee, Merton, Oconomowoc, Pewaukee and Summit; the villages of *Butler*, Chenequa, Hartland, Lannon, Lac La Belle, Menomonee Falls \* \* \* Merton, Sussex and Pewaukee; and the city of Oconomowoc shall constitute the second district.

Section 3. The eighth paragraph of 4.02, specifying the eighth senatorial district of the state, is amended to read:

(4.02) (eighth paragraph) The sixteenth and twenty-third wards of the city of Milwaukee, the cities of West Allis and Wauwatosa, the villages of *Greendale and* West Milwaukee, and the towns of Franklin, Greenfield, Granville and Wauwatosa shall constitute the eighth district.

Approved April 28, 1943.

No. 61, S.]

[Published April 29, 1943.

## CHAPTER 80.

AN ACT to create 40.04 (5a) of the statutes, relating to the powers of the annual common school district meeting.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

40.04 (5a) of the statutes is created to read:

40.04 (5a) Tax for Transportation Vehicles. To vote a tax to purchase, operate and maintain transportation vehicles and finance contracts for the use and services of such transportation vehicles and to purchase liability insurance for the same.

Approved April 28, 1943.