CHAPTER 550

No. 668, S.]

[Published August 4, 1953.

## CHAPTER 550

AN ACT to amend 4.01 (paragraphs headed BROWN COUNTY, DANE COUNTY, DODGE COUNTY, EAU CLAIRE COUNTY, MARATHON COUNTY and MIL-WAUKEE COUNTY) of the statutes, as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951 and as reenacted by chapter 242, laws of 1953, relating to the correction of errors in the apportionment of assemblymen.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

4.01 (paragraphs headed BROWN COUNTY, DANE COUNTY, DODGE COUNTY, EAU CLAIRE COUNTY, MARATHON COUNTY and MILWAUKEE COUNTY) of the statutes, as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951 and as reenacted by chapter 242, laws of 1953, are amended to read:

4.01 BROWN COUNTY.—The first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh and twelfth \* \* \* wards of the city of Green Bay and the town

of Preble shall constitute the first assembly district.

The \* \* \* thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth, nineteenth, twentieth, twenty-first, twenty-second, twenty-third and twenty-fourth wards of the city of Green Bay \* \* \*, the \* \* \* town of Ashwaubenon and the third and fourth wards of the city of DePere shall constitute the second assembly district.

The first and second wards of the city of DePere and all the towns \* \* \* and villages in the county, except \* \* \* the towns of \* \* \* Ashwaubenon and Preble,

shall constitute the third district.

DANE COUNTY.—The sixth, seventh, twelfth, fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth wards of the city of Madison shall constitute the first district.

The first, second, third, fourth, \* \* \* eighth \* \* \*, ninth and fourteenth wards

of the city of Madison shall constitute the second district.

The fifth, tenth, eleventh, \* \* thirteenth, \* \* \* wards of the city of Madison shall constitute the third district. nineteenth and twentieth

The towns of Albion, Blooming Grove, Bristol, Burke, Christiana, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunkirk, Dunn, Medina, Pleasant Springs, Rutland, Sun Prairie, Windsor and York; the villages of Cambridge, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, DeForest, \* \* \* McFarland, Marshall, Monona, Rockdale and Sun Prairie; and the city of Stoughton shall constitute the fourth district.

The towns of Black Earth, Berry, Blue Mounds, Cross Plains, Dane, Fitchburg, Madison, Mazomanie, Middleton, Montrose, Oregon, Perry, Primrose, Roxbury, Springdale, Springfield, Vermont, Verona, Vienna and Westport; and the villages of Belleville, Black Earth, Blue Mounds, that part of the village of Brooklyn in Dane county, and the villages of Cross Plains, Dane, Maple Bluff, Mazomanie, Middleton, Mt. Horeb, Oregon, Shorewood Hills, Verona and Waunakee shall constitute the fifth district.

DODGE COUNTY.—The towns of Ashippun, Clyman, \* \* \* Emmet, Herman, Hubbard, Hustisford, Lebanon, Leroy, Lomira, Rubicon, Shields, Theresa and Williamstown; the villages of Clyman, Hustisford, Lomira, Neosho, Iron Ridge and Theresa; and the cities of Horicon and Mayville, and the fifth, sixth, thirteenth and fourteenth wards of the city of Watertown shall constitute the first district.

The towns of Beaver Dam, Burnett, Calamus, Chester, Elba, Fox Lake, Lowell, Oak Grove, Portland, Trenton and Westford; the villages of Lowell, Reeseville and east ward of Randolph; the cities of Fox Lake, Juneau and Beaver Dam and the first, second, third and fourth wards of the city of Waupun shall constitute the second district.

EAU CLAIRE COUNTY.-The first, second, third, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, \* \* tenth, eleventh, twelfth and the thirteenth wards of the city of Eau Claire shall constitute the first district.

All the towns, villages and cities of the county, except the city of Eau Claire; and the ninth, fourteenth and fifteenth wards of the city of Eau Claire, shall constitute the second district.

MARATHON COUNTY .- The towns of Bergen, Berlin, Bern, Bevent, Brighton, Cassel, Cleveland, Day, Easton, Eau Pleine, Elderon, Emmet, Frankfort, Franzen, Green Valley, Guenther, Halsey, Hamburg, Harrison, Hewitt, Holton, Hull, Johnson, Knowlton, Kronenwetter, McMillan, Marathon, Mosinee, Norrie, Plover, Reid, Rib Falls, Rib Mountain, Rietbrock, Spencer, Stettin and Wein; that part of Abbotsford village in Marathon county and the villages of Athens, \* \* Edgar, Elderon, Fenwood, Hatley, Marathon, Spencer, Stratford and that part of Unity village in Marathon county; that part of

the city of Colby in Marathon county and the city of Mosinee shall constitute the first district.

The towns of Maine, Ringle, Texas, Wausau and Weston; the villages of *Brokaw*, Rothschild, and Schofield and the city of Wausau shall constitute the second district.

MILWAUKEE COUNTY.—(paragraphs relating to the nineteenth to the twenty-fourth districts)

"The \* \* \* town of Milwaukee and the villages of River Hills, Whitefish Bay, Shorewood, and Fox Point and the city of Glendale shall constitute the nineteenth district.

The first, second, third, fourth and fifth wards of the city of Wauwatosa, as designated on December 31, 1952, shall constitute the twentieth district.

on December 31, 1952, shall constitute the twentieth district.

The \* \* \* towns of Granville and Wauwatosa and the \* \* \* remaining wards of the city of Wauwatosa shall constitute the twenty-first district.

of the city of Wauwatosa shall constitute the twenty-first district.

The \* \* \* city of West Allis and the village of West Milwaukee shall constitute the twenty-second district.

The towns of Oak Creek, Franklin and Greenfield and the \* \* villages of Greendale and Hales Corners shall constitute the twenty-third district.

The town of Lake and the cities of Cudahy, St. Francis and South Milwaukee shall constitute the twenty-fourth district.

Approved July 14, 1953.