CHAPTER 687

No. 875, A.]

[Published December 5, 1953.

CHAPTER 687

AN ACT to repeal chapter 242, laws of 1953; and to amend 4.01 (paragraph headed Milwaukee county, relating to paragraphs defining the nineteenth to the twenty-fourth assembly districts), as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951, and chapter 550, laws of 1953, 4.02 (paragraphs relating to the third to the eleventh senatorial districts), as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951, and 4,04 (1M) of the statutes, relating to apportioning and districting anew certain members of the assembly in Milwaukee county and the senators in the third to the eleventh senatorial districts and to the wards in the City of Milwaukee.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. Chapter 242, laws of 1953, is repealed.

Section 2. 4.01 (paragraph headed Milwaukee county, relating to paragraphs defining the nineteenth to the twenty-fourth districts) of the statutes, as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951, and chapter 550, laws of 1953, is amended to read:

4.01 MILWAUKEE COUNTY.—(paragraphs relating to the nineteenth to the

twenty-fourth districts)

The town of Milwaukee and the villages of River Hills, Whitefish Bay, Shorewood, Bayside and Fox Point and the city of Glendale shall constitute the nineteenth district.

The first, second, third, fourth and fifth wards of the city of Wauwatosa,

shall constitute the twentieth district.

The towns of Granville and Wauwatosa and the remaining wards of the city of Wauwatosa shall constitute the twenty-first district.

The city of West Allis and the village of West Milwaukee shall constitute the twentysecond district.

The towns of Oak Creek, Franklin and Greenfield and the villages of Greendale and Hales Corners shall constitute the twenty-third district.

The town of Lake and the cities of Cudahy, St. Francis and South Milwaukee shall constitute the twenty-fourth district.

Section 3. 4.02 (paragraphs relating to the third to the eleventh senatorial districts) of the statutes, as amended by chapter 728, laws of 1951, is amended to read:

4.02 (paragraphs relating to the third to the eleventh senatorial districts)

eleventh, twelfth and fourteenth assembly districts of Milwaukee county, shall constitute the third district.

first, eighteenth and nineteenth assembly districts of Milwaukee The county, shall constitute the fourth district.

The * fifth, ninth and fifteenth assembly districts of Milwaukee county, shall constitute the fifth district.

The * * seventh, tenth and thirteenth assembly districts of Milwaukee county, shall constitute the sixth district.

The * * * seventeenth, twenty-third and twenty-fourth assembly districts of Milwaukee * * * county, shall constitute the seventh district.

The * * * twentieth, twenty-first and twenty-second assembly districts of Milwaukee county, shall constitute the eighth district.

* second, third and sixth assembly districts of Milwaukee county, shall constitute the ninth district.

The counties of Buffalo, Dunn, Pepin, Pierce and St. Croix shall constitute the tenth district.

The * * * fourth, eighth and sixteenth assembly districts of Milwaukee county, shall constitute the eleventh district.

Section 4. 4.04 (1m) of the statutes is amended to read:

4.04 (1m) Within 90 days after January 1, 1954, the common council of the city of Milwaukee shall recreate the said wards of the said city with the same numbers and same boundaries except exterior boundaries of exterior wards as affected by annexations to the said city, as provided in the ordinance adopted by the common council of said city November 24, 1950, which are the same wards with the same boundaries used by the legislature in the enactment of chapter 728, laws of 1951; and thereafter within 90 days after the result of each national census is known, the common council of any city of the first class shall, by a three-fifths vote of all its members redistrict, readjust and change the boundaries of wards in each such city so that they shall be as nearly equal in population and compact in area as possible, and to that end such council may, by like vote, from time to time determine the number of wards, create new wards, consolidate old wards,

Section 5. This act shall take effect January 1, 1954.

Approved December 1, 1953.