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1 SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES SPS 168.02

Chapter SPS 168

CONTINUING EDUCATION

SPS 168.01 Continuing education requirements.
SPS 168.02 Approved continuing education.

SPS 168.03 Postponement or waiver.

Note:   Chapter SPS 168 was repealed and recreated by Wis. Act 262 effective 5-
1-18, Register April 2018 No. 748.

SPS 168.01 Continuing education requirements.  
(1) Unless granted a postponement or waiver of the continuing 
education requirements under s. SPS 168.03, a substance abuse 
counselor or prevention specialist shall complete 30 continuing 
education credit hours in approved continuing education pro-
grams during each 2-year credential period and shall certify on 
the renewal application that all required continuing education 
was completed.

(2) A minimum of 4 continuing education credit hours of the 
required 30 credit hours shall be in the area of professional ethics 
and boundaries.

(3) A credential holder who also holds an active license 
granted under s. 457.08 (4), 457.10, 457.11, 457.12, 457.13, or 
457.14 (1) (d) to (f), Stats., may satisfy the continuing education 
requirements by meeting the continuing education requirements 
under s. 457.22, Stats.

(4) A clinical supervisor shall complete 4 hours of continuing 
education each 2-year credential period related to the supervision 
of substance abuse counselors.  The 4 hours completed under this 
subsection may count toward the continuing education required 
for renewal of a clinical substance abuse counselor certification.

(5) A new credential holder is not required to satisfy continu-
ing education requirements during the time between initial cre-
dentialing and commencement of a full 2-year credential period.

(6) Continuing education credit hours shall apply only to the 
2-year credential period during which the credit hours are com-
pleted.  If a credential holder fails to satisfy the continuing educa-
tion requirements during a 2-year credential period, any addi-
tional continuing education credit hours completed on or after the 
renewal date to satisfy the requirement of the preceding period 
will not apply to the period during which they are earned.

History:  2017 Wis. Act 262: cr. Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18.

SPS 168.02 Approved continuing education.  (1) A 
continuing education program is approved if it is relevant to the 
practice of substance abuse counseling and any of the following 
applies:

(a)  The program is approved, sponsored, provided, endorsed, 
or authorized by any of the following:

1.  The National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Counseling or one of its affiliated divisions.

2.  The International Certification & Reciprocity 
Consortium.

3.  The American Association for Marriage and Family Ther-
apy or one of its affiliated divisions.

4.  The Wisconsin Association for Marriage and Family 
Therapy.

5.  The National Rehabilitation Counseling Association.
6.  The American Rehabilitation Counseling Association.
7.  The Wisconsin Rehabilitation Counseling Association.

8.  The National Board for Certified Counselors.
9.  The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification.
10.  The Association of Social Work Boards.
11.  The National Association of Social Workers or one of its 

affiliated chapters.
12.  The Association of Baccalaureate Program Directors.
13.  The Council on Social Work Education.

(b)  The program or course is offered by a training program ac-
credited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and 
Family Therapy Education.

(c)  The program is approved, sponsored, or co-sponsored by a 
presenter approved by the Committee for the Approval of Contin-
uing Education Sponsors of the American Psychological 
Association.

(d)  The program or course is offered by an accredited college 
or university.  A credential holder shall receive 15 continuing ed-
ucation credit hours for completing a semester course approved 
under this paragraph.

(e)  The program is an employee sponsored inservice training 
and development program.  No more than 15 continuing educa-
tion credit hours earned through employee sponsored in-service 
training and development programs that are not approved under 
par. (a), (b), (c), or (d) may count toward satisfying continuing ed-
ucation requirements.

(2) (a)  A person may earn continuing education credit hours 
for engaging in any of the following activities, if the activity is 
relevant to the practice of substance abuse counseling:

1.  Presenting professional material.  One continuing educa-
tion credit hour is earned under this subdivision for each hour of 
a continuing education presentation, except that 15 credit hours 
are earned for presenting a semester-long educational course.  No 
continuing education credit hours are earned by a person for re-
peating a presentation for which the person has previously earned 
continuing education.  A person who presents for any of the fol-
lowing may earn continuing education credit hours under this 
subdivision:

a.  A seminar, workshop, program, or institution that is ap-
proved under sub. (1).

b.  A university, college, or vocational technical adult educa-
tion course.

2.  Developing professional material.  One continuing educa-
tion credit hour is earned under this subdivision for each hour 
spent developing continuing education professional material.

3.  Authoring a published textbook or professional resource 
book.  Fifteen continuing education credit hours are earned for 
authoring a book under this subdivision.

4.  Authoring a professional journal article or a chapter pub-
lished in a textbook or professional resource book.  Eight contin-
uing education credit hours are earned for authoring an article or 
chapter under this subdivision.

(b)  A person may earn up to 15 continuing education credit 
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hours that count toward satisfying continuing education require-
ments by completing continuing education that is approved under 
par. (a).

History:  2017 Wis. Act 262: cr. Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18.

SPS 168.03 Postponement or waiver.  A holder of a 

credential under s. 440.88, Stats., may apply to the department 
for a postponement or waiver of the requirements under this 
chapter on grounds of prolonged illness, disability, or other 
grounds constituting extreme hardship.  The department shall 
consider each application individually on its merits.

History:  2017 Wis. Act 262: cr. Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18.
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