Chapter REB 16

EDUCATION

REB 16.01	Definitions		and who has completed the
REB 16.02	Educational requirements of		30-hours requirement of sec-
	applicant for an original real		tion 452.05 (2m), Wis. Stats.
	estate broker's license	REB 16.05	Continuing educational re-
REB 16.03	Educational requirements of		quirements for brokers and
	applicant for an original or		salespersons
	renewal real estate sales-	REB 16.06	Approval of educational pro-
	person's license	101117 10100	grams and training sessions
REB 16.04	Educational requirements of		
	broker applicant who is a li-	REB 16.07	Certificate of attendance
		REB 16.08	Investigation and review
	censed real estate salesperson	1122 10100	2347 COS-BUSTON CENTE ID 13011

REB 16.01 Definitions. As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise specifically requires:

- (1) The term "board" means the Wisconsin real estate examining board.
- (2) The term "hour" means a period of 50 minutes of actual classroom instruction and shall not include time spent in writing tests or examinations given by the school.

History; Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

REB 16.02 Educational requirements of applicant for an original real estate broker's license. (1) Each applicant for an original real estate broker's license shall present with the application for a license a certificate of attendance showing that applicant has attended 60 classroom hours of an educational program approved by the board, in accordance with the requirements of section 452.04 (lm), Wis. Stats., and within the meaning of these rules.

- (2) Minimum educational requirements shall not apply to:
- (a) An applicant producing evidence that applicant has received 20 academic credits in real estate or law at an accredited institution of higher education within 5 years preceding application for licensure.
- (b) Attorneys at law admitted to the practice in the state of Wisconsin.
- (3) The 60 classroom hours of educational programs for applicants for an original real estate broker's license to meet the requirements of section 452.05 (1m), Wis. Stats., shall include:
 - (a) Real property law (30 hours)
 - 1. Real estate licensing and the licensing law
 - 2. Legal environment, law of agency and civil rights and securities
 - 3. Contractual aspects of listings
 - 4. Law of contracts as they relate to selling
 - 5. Offer, acceptance, and closing
 - 6. Descriptions of real estate

WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

- 7. The land contract
- 8. Deeds

44

ţ

- 9. Mortgage
- 10. Analysis of seller's property rights
- 11. Leases, and landlord-tenant law
- 12. Real estate trust funds
- 13. The law against discrimination in housing
- 14. Financing
- 15. Consumer protection
- 16. Code of ethics
- 17. Organized real estate business
- 18. Recent changes in real property law
- (b) Real estate appraising and financing (15 hours)
- 1. Land use principles
- 2. Construction
- 3. Estimating a listing price
- 4. Mortgage financing
- 5. Real property management
- ' (c) Marketing real estate (15 hours)
 - 1. Real estate office procedures
 - 2. Listing procedures
 - 3. Advertising property for sale
 - 4. Service and responsibility to clients
 - 5. Providing property information and disclosure
 - 6. Applied aspects of listing contract
 - 7. Applied aspects of offer to purchase

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

REB 16.03 Educational requirements of applicant for an original or renewal real estate salesperson's license. (1) There are no educational requirements to write the salesperson's examination.

- (2) Within the 24-month period commencing with the first day of September following the granting of applicant's original real estate salesperson's license, each licensed real estate salesperson shall submit to the board a certificate of attendance showing that salesperson has attended 30 classroom hours of educational programs as set forth in REB 16.02(3) (b) and (c).
- (a) The board may give credit toward the completion of this requirement for approved educational programs attended by the

licensee up to 3 years before the commencement of the 24-month period.

(b) The salesperson's license shall not be renewed if the licensee does not meet the educational requirement within the 24-month period.

History; Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

- REB 16.04 Educational requirements of broker applicant who is a licensed real estate salesperson and who has completed the 30-hours requirement of section 452.05(2m), Wis. Stats. (1) An applicant for a broker's license who has been a licensed real estate salesperson and who has completed the 30-hour educational requirement for renewal of the salesperson's license shall be permitted to apply those 30 hours toward the 60-hour educational requirement of section 452.05(1m), Wis. Stats.
- (2) The applicant shall submit to the board a certificate of attendance showing that applicant has completed the additional 30 hours needed to meet the 60-hour requirement. Said 30 hours shall consist of the educational programs as set forth in REB 16.02(3) (a).

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

- REB 16.05 Continuing educational requirements for brokers and salespersons. (1) Effective May 20, 1978, to establish an applicant's satisfactory completion of the educational requirement in section 452.08 (5) (c), Wis. Stats., every licensee shall submit to the board a certificate of attendance showing that applicant has attended a minimum of 10 classroom hours of approved educational programs or training sessions every 2 years. The 2-year period shall be measured as of August 31 of each year.
- (2) A licensee who is also licensed to practice law in the state of Wisconsin shall be granted credit for attendance at continuing legal education programs which the board determines to be related to real estate matters.
- (3) If, upon application for renewal, the licensee has not submitted proof of having met this continuing education requirement in the preceding 2 years, the board shall withhold issuance of the renewal license until such proof is submitted.
- (4) The 10 classroom hours of continuing education or training sessions to qualify a broker or salesperson for license renewal shall be educational programs and training sessions approved by the board.
- (5) The 10 classroom hours of training sessions for salespersons and brokers making applications for license renewals to meet the requirements of section 452.08(5)(c), Wis. Stats., shall be selected from: (a) Real property law
 - (b) Real estate appraising
 - (c) Real estate financing and marketing
 - (d) Real property management
 - (e) Real estate counseling

(f) Other real estate related subjects

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

- REB 16.06 Approval of educational programs and training sessions. (1) A school seeking approval from the board of real estate educational programs and training sessions pursuant to the requirements of section 452.04 (1m), Wis. Stats., shall submit its application on the forms provided therefor within 60 days prior to commencement of said educational program or training session. Approvals of educational programs and training sessions shall be valid for a maximum of one year. All educational programs and training sessions being offered must be submitted prior to the expiration of current approval.
- (a) Qualifications of instructors. Educational programs and training sessions shall be taught by instructors who are experienced in the subject which they are teaching and possess at least one of the following minimum qualifications:
- 1. An instructor of real estate courses who is or has been engaged in the practice of teaching at an accredited institution of higher education.
- 2. Properly licensed or certificated person who is engaged in the real estate aspects of appraising, financing, marketing, real property management, real estate counseling, real property law, or other related real estate subjects and has been for at least the past 5 years continuously engaged in such practice.
- 3. Member of the state bar of Wisconsin who is engaged in the practice of law.
- 4. A person who, in the judgement of the board, is qualified by experience or education, or both, to supervise a course of study within the legislative intent of this section.
- (b) Information required. In order to initially qualify and thereafter to maintain good standing, all schools seeking board approval shall furnish to the board:
- 1. The name of each instructor and a detailed copy of each course curriculum, including allocation of hours of classroom instruction to each topic.
- 2. Tuition, dates, time, and location of educational programs and training sessions offered.
- 3. Date of beginning and completion of such educational programs and training sessions. a. In the event of any change or modification from the initially approved program, the information required in REB 16.06 (1) (b) 1, 2, and 3 shall be furnished within 10 days following the date of said change or modification.
- 4. A notarized list of those persons satisfactorily completing educational programs or training sessions, also certifying that the named students personally attended the minimum required statutory classroom instruction. Schools must maintain records sufficient to establish the attendance record submitted.

a. The notarized list shall be furnished within 10 days following the date of completion of educational program (s) or training session (s).

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

- REB 16.07 Certificate of attendance. (1) All schools shall provide an individual certificate of attendance to all students upon completion of statutory educational programs or training sessions and attendance requirements.
- (a) No certificate of attendance shall be issued to a student who is absent for more than 10% of the mandatory classroom hours. A student who is absent from up to 10% shall make up the hours by attendance at make-up classes to be given by the school.
- (2) Certificates of attendance shall be attached by applicants to their initial or renewal application and submitted to the board.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

- REB 16.08 Investigation and review. (1) Periodic review. The board, or its duly authorized representative, shall investigate and review all approved educational programs and training sessions. The method of review shall be determined by the board in each case and will generally consist of the following:
- (a) Consideration of information available from federal, state, or local agencies, private organizations or agencies, or interested persons.
- (b) Conferences with officials or representatives of the school involved or with former students of the school.
- (c) Public hearing respecting the educational program or training session involved, with adequate written notice to the school.
 - (d) Investigation by visitation to the school.
- (2) UPON COMPLAINT. In addition to investigation upon its own initiation, the board may investigate any school upon receipt of a complaint from an interested person.
- (3) DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF APPROVAL. If, after investigation, the board denies or deems it proper to withdraw its approval of any educational program or training session, written notification must be given in writing with reasons for such action. The school may request a hearing before the board. Effective May 20, 1977.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.