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PREFACE

Wisconein law defines day care and requires those wishing to operate a day care center to
firpt be licensed, The legislative history of a. 48.65, Stata., clearly indicates that it not only
includes the expected family and group day care centers but also day camps which provide,
for compensation, care and supervision for four or more children under 7 years of age for less
than 24 hours a day. Therefors, the department has developed rules, some of which apply to
all day care centers including day camps, while others recognize and mske provision for
cortain unique differences in the environmental and the programatic aspects of each type of
care. . ’

‘The law alao requires that the department establish rules which must be met in order to
qualify for a license and which protect and promote the health, safety and welfare of the
children in a day care center. HSS 56 was developed in compliance with the law and repre-
sents the minimum level of acceptable care that a licensee may provide to children in a day
care center in Wisconsin. These rules should not be confused with accraditation by profea-
sional organizations which is based upon conformity with ideal rather than minimum stan-
darde, or with certification of day care providers for purchase of services with public funds,
Day cars centers will have to satisfy certain additional requirements if, for exnmpla, they
expect to quahfy for reimbursement under Title XX, ,

Clea.rly, the fact that a day carp center ia licensed in no way diminishes the .responslblilty of
parenta for vigilance in seeing that their children are recelving care which protects their
physical well-being as well as encouragea healthy intellectual and emotional development.

. SUBCHAPTER I—General Provisions
HSS 55.01 Scope. Sections HSS 55.01 through 55. 08 apply to all day
care centers for children.
Hlltory. Cr. Register, May, 1880, No. 293, eff. 8-1-80,
HSS 55.02 Title, intent and construction of chapter. (1) TITLE.

This chapter may be cited as “Rules for Day Care Centers for Children™.

Register, May, 1080, No. 293
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(2} InTENT. The intent of these rules is to protect the health, safety
and welfare of children in day care centers in Wisconsin.

(3) ConsTrucTiON. This chapter is to be liberally construed to effect
the objectives in sub. (2). .

Hintory: Cr, Regiater, May, 1980, No, 203, eff. 8-1-80.

HSS 55.03 Rules. (1) StaTurory auTHORITY, HSS 56 is promulgated
under 3, 48.67, Stats., which gives the department authority to regulate
day care centers, These rules have the full effect and force of law as pro-
vide in ch. 227, Stats.

(2) ExceprioN 10 RULES. The department may make an exceptiontoa
rule for licensing day care cehters when it is assured that granting of the
exception is not detrimental to the health, safety and welfare of children
served. Exception requests shall be in writing and include an explana-
tion of the alternative provisions planned to cover the intent of the rule.

Hiatory: Cr. Register, May, 1980, No. 283, eff. 8-1-80, .

HSS 55.04 Day care centers defined. (1) STATUTORY DEFINITION,
Day care centers are defined in s. 48.65, Stats.

(2) ADMINISTRATIVE INTERPRETATION. For the purposes of licensing,
the following administrative interpretations apply:

{a) Day care centers include day camps which provide an experience
in cooperative living for periods of less than 24 hours a day in a seasonal
pr(‘)fram orientated to the out-of-doors and serve 4 or more chilren
under the age of 7 at any one time.

{b} Day care centers exclude:

1. Care and supervision of a short duration, usually occurring on a

weekend or after school; including, but not limited to, social organiza-

_ tions, clubs, religious classes, Sunday schools and skill classes such as
music, dance and art classes.

2 Care and supervision of 4 or more children in a rare or emergency
situation.

3. Facilities offering care and supervision to individual children on an
irregular and infrequent basis while the parents are engaged in non-
wotk activities on the premises including, but not limited to, recreation
and shopping,

History: Cr. Regiater, May, 1080, No. 283, off, 8-1-80.

HSS 55.08 Definitions, For the purposes of this chapter, except as
otherwise expressly noted:

(1) “Base camp” means the permanent site, public or private;, on
which the day camp is operated.

{2) “Camp director” means the individual on the campsite who has
primary responsibility for the administration of program operations and
supportive services (business, food service, health service). .

Regleter, May, 1980, No. 203
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2. The vehicle used for transporting children shall be in safe operating
condition, At 6 month intervals, the licensee shall provide evidence of
safe operating condition on forms provided by the department.

3. The vehicle shall be equipped with a first aid kit.

4, The vehicle shall be cleaned, uncluttered, and free of obstructions
on the floors, aisles and seats of vehicles.

5. Any vehicle used to transport children shall be enclosed. Chlidren
may not be transported in a truck, except in the cab. ,

d 6. When seat or safety belts are available, they shall be worn by chil-
reh.

7. Doors shall be locked at all times that the vehicle is moving.

8. In every accident involving a motor vehicle which is transporting
children, a copy of the insurance accident report shall be submitted to
the department within § days after the occurrence.

{e)} Vehicle capacity and supervision, 1. Children may not be left un-
attended in the vehicle.

2. There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the driver
when there are more than 10 children in the vehicle.

3. There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the driver
whenever children under 24 months of age or handicapped children are
passengers of the vehicle.

4, The driver shall wait until the child enters the home or is into the
hands of a designated authorized adult.

5. Handicapped children and children under 2 years of age shall be
given assistance as indicated by their abilities, including leading or car-
rying them to and from the seat of the vehicle.

6. A seat shall be provided for each child. Allowable rump width in
dgttirmining seating capacity is 13 inches per child and 20 inches per
- adult.

7. The driver or adult rider shall be responsible for seeing that chil-
dren remain seated while the vehicle is in motion.

8. No more than 3 persons including the driver may occupy the front
seat of the vehicle.

9. The driver shall conduct an evacuation drill of the vehicle during
the first week of each camp session, The evacuations are to be super-
vised and verified in writing by a staff person.

{13) Day TrIPS. (a} Day trips away from the base camp shall meet the
following conditions:

1. Staff shall carry signed parental permission for the emergency med-
ical care of children for all children who go on day trips,

2. The counselor child rates shall be maintained on day trips except
that the number of adults accompanying children away from the base
camp may be no less than 2,

Register, May, 1980, No. 293
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3. A planned source of emergency medical care in the area to be visited
shall be known to staff. ’

4. A list of children participating in the day trip shall be maintained
by a counselor accompanying the children,

(b} Day camps which operate without a base camp and whose pro-
gram consists primarily of day trips shall submit a proposed itinerary of
day trips to the department,

History: Cr. Register, May, 1680, No. 283, off, 8-1-80,
HSS 55.45-H88 56.49 (RESERVED)
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