Chapter RL 81

APPLICATION

RL 81.01	Applications for certified and li-		Temporary registration
	censed appraisers	RL 81.04	Scope of appraisal practice
RL 81.02	Transitional license		

RL 81.01 Applications for certified and licensed appraisers. An applicant for certification or licensure shall apply on a form provided by the department. Any applicant who files an application for certification or licensure, but does not comply with a request for information related to the application or meet all requirements within one year from the date of filing, shall file a new application and fee if certification or licensure is sought at a later date. The complete application shall include:

(1) A fee as established by the department plus the annual registry fees established by s. 458.21, Stats.;

(2) A statement of arrest or conviction subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats. An applicant who has a pending criminal charge or has a conviction record shall provide the department with all related information necessary for the department to determine whether the circumstances of the arrest or conviction substantially relate to the practice of appraisal;

(3) A transcript or proof of 75, 105, 120 or 165 hours of instruction as provided for in ss. RL 84.02, 84.03 and 84.04;

(4) Evidence of successful completion of 15 hours of instruction in professional standards and code of ethics as required in s. 458.06 (2) (d), Stats.;

(5) Evidence of successful completion of a written examination on the professional standards, code of ethics and state law approved or conducted by the department;

(6) An affidavit verifying the required appraisal experience as required in s. RL 83.01 (4) (a);

 $\left(7\right)$ A roster of appraisal experience as required in s. RL 83.01 (4) (b); and

(8) A chronological resume of employment as required in s. RL 83.01 (4) (c).

Note: Applications for certification or licensure are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Bureau of Business and Design Professions, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1991, No. 429, eff. 10-1-91; emerg. am. intro., (3), (6) and (7), eff. 10-1-91; am. (intro.), (3), (6), (7), Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6-1-92; am. (intro.), (2) to (4), (6) and (7), cr. (8), Register, April, 1994, No. 460, eff. 5-1-94.

RL 81.02 Transitional license. (1) An individual seeking a transitional license shall submit the following:

(a) Except as provided in par. (b), a complete application which satisfies the requirements for licensure set forth in s. RL 81.01, and

Register, April, 1994, No. 460

162 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

(b) Documentation of 500 hours of appraisal experience as required in s. RL 83.01 (2) and (3), or a transcript or other proof of successful completion of 75 hours of instruction as required in s. RL 84.04.

(2) An appraiser who holds a transitional license granted under s. 458.08 (5), Stats., may obtain a license under s. RL 81.01 by submitting a new application, the applicable fee and satisfactory evidence of completion of the experience or educational coursework required under s. RL 83.01 (2) and (3) or 84.04, as appropriate.

Note: A transitional license granted under s. 458.08(5)(a), Stats., is valid for 2 years from the date of issuance or until January 1, 1996, whichever occurs first, and may not be renewed. A transitional license granted under s. 458.08(5)(b), Stats., is valid for 2 years less the time period during which the appraiser held the license under s. 458.08(3)(b) 2 or (3)(c) 2, Stats., 1991 Stats., or until January 1, 1996, whichever occurs first.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1994, No. 460, eff. 5-1-94.

RL 81.03 Temporary registration (1) REQUIREMENTS. An appraiser who holds a current appraiser certificate in another state may use the titles described under s. 458.055, Stats., when performing an appraisal in this state, if all of the following apply:

(a) The appraisal is performed in a federally related transaction.

(b) The appraiser's practice in this state is practice of a temporary nature.

(c) The appraiser completes the application and pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6), Stats.

(2) APPLICATION. An appraiser seeking a temporary registration shall apply on a form provided by the department. An applicant who fails to comply with a request for information related to the application or to meet all requirements for registration within one year from the date of filing, shall submit a new application and fee if registration is sought at a later date. The complete application shall include:

(a) The fee specified in s. 440.05 (6), Stats.;

(b) Written verification of current appraiser licensure or certification submitted by an authorized state official for each state wherein the applicant holds an appraiser license or certification;

(c) A description of the appraisal assignment in this state including, but not limited to, information pertaining to the type of property being appraised, the location and approximate size of the property, the anticipated completion date and the name and address of the lender requesting the appraisal; and

(d) A statement of arrest or conviction subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats. An applicant who has a pending criminal charge or has a conviction record shall provide the department with all related information necessary for the department to determine whether the circumstances of the arrest or conviction substantially relate to the practice of appraisal.

Note: Applications for temporary registration are available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Bureau of Business and Design Professions, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1994, No. 460, eff. 5-1-94. Register, April, 1994, No. 460 **RL 81.04 Scope of appraisal practice.** Except as permitted by state or federal law, licensed and certified appraisers are authorized to conduct appraisals as follows:

(1) CERTIFIED GENERAL APPRAISER. A certified general appraiser may conduct appraisals of residential real estate and commercial real estate without regard to transaction value.

(2) CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER. A certified residential appraiser may conduct appraisals of residential real estate without regard to transaction value and of commercial real estate having a transaction value of not more than \$250,000.

(3) LICENSED APPRAISER. A licensed appraiser may conduct appraisals of complex 1-to-4 family residential property having a transaction value of not more than \$250,000; 1-to-4 family residential real estate, having a transaction value of not more than one million dollars, and commercial real estate having a transaction value of not more than \$250,000.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1994, No. 460, eff. 5-1-94.