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Trans 129.01 Purpose and scope. As authorized by ss..
85,16 (1), 227 .11, 343 .06 (1) (c), 343• .07 (4) (b), and 343,.16 (1)
(a), Stats, the purpose of this chapter is to establish the depart-
ment's administrative interpretation of' s.. 343 .16 (2) (cm), Stats ..
relating to the waiver of the motorc,ycle skills test, and ss .. .343..06
(1) (c), 343 .:07 (4) (b) and 34316 (1) (a), Stats .., relating to r'equir ed
attendance of motorc,ycle rider courses and motorcycle instruc-
tion permit issuance ..

History : Cr. Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff . 6-1-92 ; am,: Register, March,
1994, No . 459, eff.. 4-1-94 .

Trans 129.02 Definitions . (1) The words and phrases de-
fined in ss.. 340.01 and 343 .01, Stats .., have the same meaning in
this chapter unless a different definition is specifically provided„

(2) In this chapter :
(a) `Basic rider course" means a beginning course in motor-

cycle safety meeting the requirements of s .. Trans 129.035 (1) that
is conducted in the state of Wisconsin or within 50 miles of the
state boundaries and that has been approved by the de,partment .

(b) "Experienced rider course" means an advanced course in
motorcycle safety meeting the requirements of s ., Trans 129.035
(2) that,is conducted in the state of Wisconsin or within 50 miles
of the state boundaries and that has been approved by the depatt-
ment ,

(c) "Skills test" means a driving test of a per•son's ability to op-
erate class "M ." vehicles .

History : Cr. Register, May, 1992, No. 437, cff 6-1-92; renum to be (1), Cr.. (2),
Register, March, 1994, No . 459, cff 4-1-9 4

Trans 129 .03 Requirements for certification . (1)
SKIIas TEST wAIVER , A school or organization seeking authotiza-
tion to participate in the waiverof; skills test program shall com-
pleteand file an application with the department, . To be authorized
to, certify students for a motorcycle skillstest waiver, a school or
organization shall:

(a) Offer a basic rider cours e

(b) Require students to be present for all sessions of the course, .

(c) ; File an activity report at least annually, no later than De-
cember 31 of each year, The report shall include the names of all
students registered for courses during the report period and con-
tain all of the following'

1 .. Each student's full name .,
2:: Each student's social security number unless thestudent

certifies his or her seriously-held religious conviction as a basis
for' not providing a social security number ,

Note: Form MV 3415 ; Request for Religious Conviction Exemption may be ob-
tained from any motor vehicle service center,

3 .. -Coursecompletion date,.
4:. The reason why any student did not complete the course,
5 .. Each student's skills test waiver numbei.

(2) DEMERIT POINT REDUCTION A school or or'ganization seek-
ing authorization to participate in the demerit point reduction pro-

gram shall complete and file an application with the department ..
To be authorized to certify students for a motorcycle demerit point

reduction, a school or organization shall :

(a) Offer a basic rider course or experienced rider course, or
both .. _

(b) Require students to be present for all sessions of the course .

(c) File an activity report for the preceding year, no later than
January 31 of each ,year :. The report shall include the names ofall
students registered for courses during the report period and con-
tain all of the following :

1 .. Each student's full name

2. Each student's social security number unless the student
certifies his or her seriousl,y-held religious conviction as a basis
for not providing a social security number.

Note: Form MV 3415, Request for Religious Conviction Exemption may be ob-
tained from any motor vehicle service center

3 . Course completion date..
4. The reason why any student did not complete the course ..

(3) The authorization assigned by the department shall be val-
id for a period of 3 years from date of issuance unless cancelled .
The department will provide applications for renewal of autho-
rization60 days prior, to expiration of :' authorization .,

History : Cr.. Register, May, 1992, No. 43 7, eff, 6-1-92 ; r. (1), renum ; (intro. ), (2)
to (4) to be (1), (1) (b), (c) and (3) and am . (1) (intro .) and (c) 2.., cr.(1)(a) and (2),
Register, March, 1994, No 459, eff . 4-1-94 ,

Trans 129.035 Rider course requirements. (1) BASIc
RIDER COURSE REQotxEMENTS . A basic iidet• course shall meet all
of the following criteria :

(a) Thecourse shall consist of at least 15 hours of instruction
which includes both ° classroom and range instruction. At least
50% of the total hours of instruction shall consist of range instruc
tion .

(b) The course shall be conducted on at least 3 separate days ..

(e) All 15 hours of instruction shall be completed within a
60-day time perio d

(d) No more than 8 hours of instruction in a single :day.
(e) At a minimum, instruction shall be provided in 6 maneu-

vers, including the following :
1 :. Straight line riding,

2 .Turning.
3 .. Shifting ,
4 ., Straight line br'aking:

5 . Braking in a curve ..

6 . Evasive maneuvers ..
(f) Class size may not exceed 30 students in the classroomor

15 students on the range,, The department may .make approval of
a course contingent on range class sizes of less than 15 students
if the physical layout of the range could not safely accommodate
a 15 student class or if the physical layout of the range would not
be conducive to the education of' a group as large as,15 students „

(g) A written test and a skills test, which shall be given prior
approval by the,department, shall be conducted at the end of the
course ;

(2) EXPERIENCED RIDER COURSE REQUIREMENTS . An expeii-
enced rider course shall meet all of the following criteria :
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(a) The course shall consist of at least 8 hours of instruction
which includes both classroom and range instruction .. At least
40% of the total hours of instruction shall consist of'range instruc-
tion..

(b) All 8 hours of instruction shall be completed within a
30-day time period .

(c) No more than 9 hours of instruction in a single day..
(d) At a minimum, instruction shall be provided in all of the

following maneuvers : : .

1• Straight line braking, .
2, Braking on a curve ..
3 :Cornering .

4.: Swerving techniques .
(e) Class size may not exceed 24 students in the classroom or

12 students on the range .. The department may make approval of
a course contingent on range class sizes of less than 12 students
if the physical layout of'the range could not safely accommodate
a 12 student class or if the physical layout of the range would not
be conducive to the education of a group as large as 12 students .

(f) A written test and a skills test, which shall be given prior
approval by the department, shall be conducted at the end of the
course `

Histocy: Cr Register, March, 1994, No' 459, eff . 4-1-94,

Trans 129 .04 Requirements for instructors . (1)
Instructors seeking authorization to participate in the waiver of
skills test program shall complete an application .,

(2) To be authorized to instruct students iacoucses for motor-
c,ycleskills test waiver; the instructor shall :

(a) Have completed a department-approved instructor prepa-
ration course in this state or a substantially similar course ap-
proved by another,jutisdiction

(b) Be approved by the department•.
(c) Teach a minimum of 3 courses within each 3-,year autho-

rization period.
(d) Attend a minimum of one department instructor in-service

program within each 3-year authorization petiod ..
(3) To be authorized to instruct students in basic rider educa-

tion courses for the motorcycle skills test waiver, the instructor
shall maintain a satisfactory driving record.. Apetson's driving re-
cord shall not be considered satisfactory in this subsection if that
person:

(a) Has accumulated more than, demerit points under s ..
343 ::32 (2), Stats., during a one-year peiiod, as specified in this
paragraph and sub .. (4). The one-year, period under this paragraph
shall commence from the date of the firstviolation which contrib-
uted to the accumulation of more than 6 demerit points :,

(b) Has been involved in 2 or more accidents in a one-year•pe-
riod where the accident report indicates that such person may have
been causally negligent.

(c) Has had his or her operator's license revoked, suspended
or cancelled for a traffic violation other than a parlting violation,
at any time during the past 4 years

(4) (b) If the instluctor authorized under this section accumu-
lates more than 6 demerit points in a one-year period as provided
under sub . (3) (a), the department shall cancel the instructor's au-
thorization for a period of' one yeai. The period of' cancellation
shall commence on the date that the department receives notice of'
the most recent'conviction that resulted in the person's accumula-
tion of more than 6 demetitpoints .

(c) An applicant for authorization under this section, or an
instructot currently authorized under thissection may utilize de-
merit point reduction pursuant to s .. Trans 101 :A7 .. If'sufficient
point reduction to bring the demerit point total below 7 points is
thereby achieved, the applicant or, instructor may reapply for au-
thorization immediately..
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(5) Instfuctors authorized to participate in the waiver of skills
test program shall be assigned an authorization number by the de-
pattment :

(6) The authorization assigned by the department shall be val-
id for a period of 3 years from date of issuance unless cancelled, .

(7) The department shall provide applications for, the renewal
of authorization 60 days prior to the expiration of authorization .:

History: Cr',, Register, May, 1992, No., 437, eff, 6-1-92.

Trans 129.05 Course evaluation . Evaluation of'basic tid-
er education courses shall be completed by the department and
shall include one or more of the following :

(1) At least biennially, an on-site inspection by a chief'instruc-
tor authorized by the department of all aspects of every basic rider
education course .

(2) At least annually, limited monitoring ofevery basic rider
education course by authorized department personnel to, deter-
mine compliance with s .. Trans 129A6 (1) (a), (b) and (g).,

(3) A review of the pass/fail ratio, including reasons for stu-
dent noncompletion of the course .

History: Cr,Register, May, 1992, No . 437, eff. 6-1-92

Trans 129.06 Cancellation of department approval.,
(1) Authorization of schools or instructors to certify students for
motorcycle skill test waiver• shall be cancelled for any of the ;fol-
lowing reasons :

(a) False or misleading advertising .
(b) Fraud .,
(c) . Failure to meet standards set in this chapter ..
(d) Failureto follow department-approved curxiculum ..
(e) Unsafe training f'acility.;
(f) Unsafe motorcycles ..
(g) Guaranteeing the issuance of a license upon completion of

the course..
(2) A school or instcuctormay be reauthorized after cancella-

tion when'all the following conditions have been met:
(a) Any period of cancellation as set by the department has

been completed..
(b) A school or instructor submits an application foi- reautho-

rizafion .
(c) The department is satisfied that the conditions which led to

the cancellation have been corrected or no longer exist
(3) A person adversely affected by a cancellation made under

sub.. (1) may request a hearing before the`depar•tment to review the
cancellation:. A request for hearing shallbemade in writing and
shall be filed with the department within 30 days after receiving
a notice of cancellation.. If the department receives a requestfor
heating which satisfies the requirements of this subsection, the de-
partment shall conduct a prompt informal hearing within 15 days
after receiving the xequest . If the matter is not resolved after an in-
formal hearing iscompleted, the peisonadvetsely affected by the
cancellation may request a full evidentiary hearing befoxe the de-
partment, pursuant to ch. 227, Stats A request for hearing shall be
in writing and shall be filed with the department within 30 days
after the completion of'the inforrnalhearing:. A request for an in-
foimalor a full evidenriaty hearing does not stay the eff0ctof a
cancellation, unless a cancellation is expiessl,y stayed in writing
by the department.

History: Cr Register,lVlay;1992 ; No. 437, eff. 6-1-92

Trans 129.07 Waiver authorization form . (1) Waiver
authorization shall be on a form provided by the depaxtment, : The
form shall contain all of the following :

(a) Student's full name
(b) Student's date of buth• .
(c) Student's social security number ..
(d) Student's operator's license number
(e) A physical description oftthe student.
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(f) Date of completion of' course ..
(g) Student's skills test waiver number .
(h) Instructor's waiver authorization number .

(i) Instructor's signature, .
(2) A waiver foim shall be completed by the authorized

instructor upon successful completion of a basic rider education
course ..

(3) A waiver authorization expires one year from the date of
completion of the basic rider education course..

History: CrRegister, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6-1-92; am., (2), Register, March,
1994, No. 459, eff. 4-1-94 .

Trans 129.08 Student requirements. (1) As a require-
ment of participating in a basic rider education course, a student
shall hold one of the following:

(a) A valid operator's license,
(b) A valid instruction permit ..
(2) As a requirement for a waiver of skills test, an applicant

shall have held a motorcycle instruction permit for at least 7 days
immediately preceding application for waiver .

(3) A person who attempts the motorcycle skills test after com-
pleting a basic rider education coutse shall not be eligible for the
motorcycle skills test waiver .

History : Cr, Register, May, 1992, No„ 437, eff. 6-1-92 .

Trans 129.09 Persons less than 18 years old . A person
less than 18 years old who has not failed 2 or more skills tests is
not required to complete a basic rider course prior to obtaining an
operator's license authorizing the operation of class "M" vehicles,
other• than an instruction permit, if the person meets any of the fol-
lowing criteria:

Trans 129.1 1

(1) The person holds a valid license from another,jurisdiction
that authorizes the operation of class "M" vehicles

,(2) The person does not reside within 50 miles of a basic rider
course site.

(3) The person was born on or before December 31, 1977 ,,
History : Cr . Register, May, 1992, No . 437, eff., 6-1-92; r . and recr. Register,

March, 1994, No . 459, eff . 4-1-94..

Trans 129.10 Motorcycle instruction permits . The de-
partment may issue an instruction permit authorizing the opera-
tion of' class "M" vehicles to a person who is required to complete
a basic xider course by s.. 343..06 (1) (c), 343.07 (4) (b) or 343..16

(1) (a), Stats ., if the person meets all of the following criteria :

(1) The person has passed all examinations required under s ..
Trans 104..03 ..

(2) The person is enrolled in a basic rider course or is exempt
from the requirement of attending a basic rider course under s ..
Trans 129..09.

History : Cr. Register, March, 1994, No . 459, eff 4-1-94.

Trans 129.11 Interim provisions on counting instruc-
tion permits and skills tests . (1) From .Januacy 1, 1994 to
December 31, 1994, the department may issue instruction permits
authorizing the operation of class "M" vehicles regardless of the
number of permits the person has previously held ..

(2) For purposes of counting prior• skills tests under s . 343 ..16
(1) (a), Stats.., fromJanuary 1, 1994 to December 31, 1994, the de-
partment shall consider• only skills tests administered on or after
.January 1, 1994..

History : Cr. Register, March, 1994, No 459, eff . 4-1-94.,
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