9

# Chapter Phar 3

# PHARMACY PERSONNEL

Phar 3.01	Display of certificates	Phar 3.04	Reciprocity
Phar 3.02	Report change of posi-	Phar 3.05	"Pharmacist" synony-
	tion or address		mous with "druggist"
Phar 3.03	Prescribing in code	Phar 3.06	Trainees in pharmacy

Phar 3.01 Display of certificates. Registered pharmacists and assistant pharmacists shall not permit their certificates to be displayed in any place of business except where they are actually employed in their professional capacity.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57.

Phar 3.02 Report change of position or address. (1) Any registered pharmacist or registered assistant pharmacist changing his position or business address must notify the pharmacy board of such changes within 30 days.

(2) The owner of a pharmacy shall report any change of professional personnel—pharmacist, assistant pharmacist, apprentice (intern) within 30 days.

(3) The change of a designated registered "pharmacist in charge" must be reported within 5 days of such change to the board of pharmacy office by the owner of the store. However, immediate coverage by another pharmacist is required or the pharmacy must be closed.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57.

Phar 3.03 Prescribing in code. A pharmacist may not enter into any arrangement with a physician which results in the latter prescribing in code in such a way as to be intelligible only to a pharmacist in a designated pharmacy. The filling of such a prescription shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57.

Phar 3.04 Reciprocity. (1) Applications for reciprocal registration (registration as a pharmacist on the basis of licensure as a pharmacist in another state) shall be filed with the secretary of the board at least 30 days prior to the date said application is to be considered by the board.

(2) Applicants for reciprocal registration, in addition to satisfying the conditions of section 151.02 (6), Wis. Stats., shall have been licensed as a pharmacist for at least one year. (The one-year requirement may be waived for an applicant from a state having reciprocal relations with Wisconsin when said state does not require same of Wisconsin applicants for reciprocal registration.)

(3) Applicants for reciprocal registration who have not been actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy within the year preceding the submission of their application shall be required to show their proficiency in the compounding and dispensing of medication.

(4) Applicants for reciprocal registration shall be required to display their familiarity with the laws regulating the practice of phar-

Register, March, 1964, No. 99

macy in Wisconsin by submitting to a written and oral examination on the Wisconsin laws and regulations and the federal laws and regulations governing the practice of pharmacy.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57; am. Register, March, 1963, No. 87, eff. 4-1-63.

Phar 3.05 "Pharmacist" synonymous with "druggist". The board construes the word "pharmacist" as used in the Wisconsin statutes to include and to be synonymous with the word "druggist."

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57.

Phar 3.06 Trainees in pharmacy. Any person who has successfully completed the sophomore year in an accredited college of pharmacy may apply for registration as a trainee in pharmacy for practical experience training. Application forms are to be secured from the office of the state board of pharmacy. The following conditions should be understood by the employer, preceptor and the trainee:

(1) PRACTICE AND EXPERIENCE. Candidates for entrance to examination for registration as a pharmacist shall file with the state board of pharmacy satisfactory proof of having had at least 2000 hours of legal practice and experience in a registered pharmacy under the personal supervision of a registered pharmacist who has been certified as a preceptor, said practice and experience to be predominately work directly related to the preparing, compounding and dispensing of pharmaceutical preparations and physician's prescriptions, the selling of drugs and drug containing preparations, and the keeping of records and filing of reports required under state and federal statutes and regulations. The practice and experience shall include an aggregate of not less than 12 calendar months, commencing not earlier than the completion of the sophomore (first professional) college year, of which not less than 6 calendar months of said practice and experience shall be obtained subsequent to graduation. Credit for such periods of practice and experience shall be allowed in the discretion of the board in accordance with such regulations as it may from time to time adopt. There shall be a fee of \$1 for registration of trainees.

(a) The required 2000 hours may be accumulated in not less than a calendar year. A minimum of 35 hours per week constitutes full time training; 40 hours shall be the maximum number of credit hours allowed in any week.

*Note.* Employment and training hours are not to be interpreted as being the same. A trainee may work in excess of his training hours.

(b) No credit will be given for training received prior to the completion of the sophomore (first professional) year in an accredited college of pharmacy.

(c) At least 6 calendar months of the required practice and experience shall be obtained subsequent to graduation from an accredited college of pharmacy.

(d) The training must be on a full-time employment basis not concurrent with school registration.

(2) THE TRAINEE IN PHARMACY. (a) The trainee in pharmacy who has not graduated from an accredited college of pharmacy and/or has completed less than 6 months of the training provided for in this rule shall be known as a "pharmacy extern".

Register, March, 1964, No. 99

(b) The trainee in pharmacy who has graduated from an accredited college of pharmacy and completed 6 months of the training required by this rule shall be known as a "pharmacy intern".

(3) REGISTRATION AS A TRAINEE IN PHARMACY. (a) There shall be filed with the state board of pharmacy an application for registration as a trainee in pharmacy.

1. The application is to be accompanied by a fee of \$1.

2. No credit will be given for practice and experience until the application for registration has been approved by the state board of pharmacy and the notice of approval received by the applicant.

3. When the application for registration is approved, a pocket card bearing a serial number will be issued and mailed to the applicant. This card is to be carried by the trainee and shown on the request of representatives of the state board of pharmacy.

(b) When a trainee changes employment before the required year of training has been completed, his registration as a trainee in pharmacy is to be considered suspended the day he leaves his employment and no credit for past or future training will be given toward fulfilling the practical experience requirement until:

1. An application for reregistration as a trainee in pharmacy has been approved by the state board of pharmacy and the notice of approval received by the trainee.

2. All record books relative to previous training have been filed at the office of the state board of pharmacy.

(4) RULES FOR THE TRAINEE. (a) No more than one trainee shall be trained by a preceptor at one time.

(b) The trainee shall perform such duties in the pharmacy as required by the preceptor.

(c) The trainee shall engage in the compounding and dispensing of pharmaceutical preparations and the sale of drugs and drug containing preparations only while under the direct and personal supervision of a registered pharmacist who has been certified as a preceptor.

(d) The trainee shall attempt to acquaint himself with the operation of the pharmacy in areas other than the prescription department.

(e) The trainee shall submit to the director of the training program, within 30 days after beginning a quarterly training period, an outline of the physical arrangement of the training pharmacy (diagram of the floor plan of the store with measurements), said outline to be in ink on unruled white bond paper,  $8\frac{1}{2} \times 11^{"}$ , labeled with the name of the trainee, his registration number, the name of the preceptor and the name and address of the training pharmacy. Only one such outline of each training pharmacy need be submitted during the training year. Additional outlines are to be submitted only if the training pharmacy is remodeled or training location changed in which case said outline is to be submitted within 30 days of such event.

(f) The trainee shall submit to the director of the training program within ten days of the completion of the first quarter training period either in ink or typewritten, on  $8\frac{1}{2} \times 11^{"}$  bond paper, the following:

1. A comprehensive discussion of the operation of the pharmacy (prescription department) particularly referring to:

a. Methods of purchasing merchandise.

b. Inventory control.

Register, March, 1964, No. 99

c. Methods of determining the selling price of merchandise.

d. Methods of maintaining records.

e. Patron and physician consultations.

2. A brief resume of the operation of departments other than the prescription department, if the training pharmacy has such departments, utilizing the outline of part 1 as a guide.

3. A discussion of the planning and installation of both professional and commercial displays in the windows and inside the pharmacy.

4. A discussion of the Wisconsin pharmacy laws with particular reference being made to the requirements for the licensure of pharmacists, trainees, pharmacies, rural permit stores, dangerous drug wholesalers, and manufacturers of drug products.

5. A discussion of the various licenses (permits) needed for the operation of the training pharmacy in addition to those mentioned in 4.

(g) The trainee shall submit to the director of the training program within 10 days of completing the second quarter training period, a training record book which shall contain in addition to the material set forth in section (5), a detailed write-up of one prescription filled each day by the trainee which is to include:

1. A copy of the prescription as filed in the pharmacy.

2. A copy of the prescription label placed on the container of the dispensed medication.

3. A copy of any additional labeling placed on the container.

4. A statement as to the type of preparation.

5. The therapeutic indications and contra-indications as reported in the literature.

6. The citation of any applicable sections of the state and federal laws pertaining to the prescriptions as dispensed;

in addition to which shall be added, if the prescription is compounded, of which there shall be at least 3 per week during this quarter:

7. A complete description of the pharmaceutical operations involved in compounding the prescription, including a statement of any chemical reactions and/or incompatibilities encountered and a statement of the name and amounts of inert materials such as emulsifiers, wetting agents, solvents or like items added for the purpose of providing the proper pharmaceutical technique and,

8. An identification of the ingredients of the compounded prescription as to official status.

(h) The trainee shall submit to the director of the training program within 10 days of completing the third quarter training period a training record book which shall contain, in addition to the material set forth in section (5):

1. A detailed write-up of 36 prescriptions compounded by the trainee during the quarter, in accordance with the requirements set forth in part (g) and a detailed write-up of 24 drug products introduced within the preceding 12 months describing the product as to type of preparation, therapeutic indications, etc.

2. A brief summary of methods utilized by the preceptor in presenting information on new drug products to the physician.

Register, March, 1964, No. 99

3. A detailed discussion of the procedure to follow in the sale of exempt narcotic preparations and poisons.

(i) The trainee shall submit to the director of the training program not later than 30 days prior to the completion of the fourth quarter training period, either in ink or typewritten, on  $8\frac{1}{2} \ge 11^{"}$  bond paper, the following:

1. Abstracts of 34 articles read during the third and fourth quarter training periods citing the source of the articles read; 4 of such articles shall be from each of the following: The Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association, The Wisconsin Pharmacist, Drug Topics and American Druggist.

2. A report on the following, which event shall have taken place during the training period:

a. Attendance at a meeting of a local and/or the state pharmaceutical association.

b. A visit with a practicing physician, a practicing dentist, a hospital staff nurse, and a hospital administrator.

3. A brief discussion of the contribution of pharmacy to the community and specifically of the services contributed by the various types of pharmacies.

4. A comprehensive discussion of the federal and state statutes and regulations pertaining to dangerous drugs, narcotics, poisons, alcohol, etc., which govern the actions of a pharmacist.

(j) The trainee shall have the preceptor approve all material prior to submitting same to the director of the training program.

(k) When a trainee desires to obtain credit for training received in a state other than Wisconsin, he shall abide by all the provisions of this rule where practicable. Where a possible conflict may exist between the provisions of this rule and the conditions as they exist in the state in which the trainee intends to train, the trainee should contact the director of the training program, in writing, and present the problem. Trainees who are allowed to train in a state other than Wisconsin, are required, in addition to the other requirements set forth in this rule to submit, at least 30 days before completion of the final quarter of training, a written report citing the distinctions between the pharmacy laws of the state in which he is training or has trained and the laws which pertain to the practice of pharmacy in Wisconsin.

(1) Any candidate for entrance to reexamination for registration as a pharmacist must submit proof of having complied with the provisions of this rule (with the exception of submitting the written material to the director) for a period of 3 months immediately following each notification of having been unsuccessful in the examination for registration as a pharmacist. The candidate shall obtain the training as required in this rule only from a preceptor specifically designated for such training by the director of the training program.

(m) Non-conformance with this rule may result in the trainee repeating the training period in which the non-conforming activity occurs.

(5) TRAINING RECORD BOOKS. (a) Training record books must be maintained as required by section (4).

(b) All training record books shall be bound paper back notebooks, approximately  $8 \ge 10''$  in size containing wide-lined pages, no loose

Register, March, 1964, No. 99

14

leaf or spiral notebooks or books with narrow-lined pages being acceptable; training record books may be obtained from the board of pharmacy. The charge for said books, to be paid at the time of registration, shall be at least sufficient to cover the cost of the book and postage necessary to forward said book to the trainee.

(c) The cover of each training record book shall be labeled with the name of the trainee, his registration number, identification of the training period covered by said record book and an indication of which volume said book occupies in the series of volumes being submitted for the particular quarter.

(d) Each training record book shall contain on the first page of such book the name and permanent address of the trainee; the trainee's temporary address, if different than the permanent address; the name and registration number of the training pharmacy; the name and registration number of the preceptor; the name of the store owner or manager if other than the preceptor; and a statement (schedule) of hours the trainee plans to be in the pharmacy listing the exact hours for each of the alternating weeks if hours are to be staggered.

(e) The training record book shall be in the form of a professional diary, the following entries being made on a daily basis, beginning a new page each day:

1. A tabulation of the total number of prescriptions filled and refilled each day in the pharmacy.

(a) A recapitulation of this information shall be entered on the last page of the last volume of the record book submitted for the training period.

2. A tabulation of the total number of prescriptions filled and refilled each day by the trainee, indicating how many of each are for legend items and non-legend items and how many are prefabricated or compounded, listing the type of preparation for each.

(f) Each volume of the training record book must be signed on the last page by the preceptor and the signature will be considered verification of the material contained therein.

(g) A preceptor may not sign the training record book for more than one trainee during any one period.

(h) Training record books must be submitted to the director of the training program as set forth in section (4) or within 5 days of the:

1. Changing of preceptor and/or training pharmacy.

2. Termination of any training period of any length during the second and third quarter for any reason.

(6) AFFIDAVITS OF TRAINING. (a) Affidavit forms will be mailed only to the preceptor.

(b) No affidavit will be credited unless certified to by the preceptor on the form provided by the board of pharmacy.

(c) A preceptor may not sign an affidavit of training for more than one trainee during any one period.

(d) Affidavit forms will be submitted to registered pharmacists in states other than Wisconsin for attestation to the training of Wisconsin trainees in pharmacy only if:

1. The Wisconsin state board of pharmacy was notified of the intent to obtain training outside of the state of Wisconsin and,

Register, March, 1964, No. 99

2. Registration as a trainee in the foreign state was approved by the Wisconsin state board of pharmacy prior to commencing the training.

(7) THE PRECEPTOR. The preceptor shall be charged with the responsibility of supervising the activities of a trainee in pharmacy so as to provide the trainee with experience which will make him proficient in the compounding and dispensing of pharmaceutical preparations and physicians' prescriptions, in the selling of drugs, drug containing preparations and related items and which will provide the trainee with a reasonable familiarity with the operation of a pharmacy. Any registered pharmacist in the state of Wisconsin may make application for certification as a preceptor by filing said application with the state board of pharmacy. Applications may be obtained from the secretary of the board. Certification, must be renewed annually on or before December 31. No charge will be made for the original certification or renewals thereof.

(a) Preceptor's certificate. A certificate attesting to the certification of the preceptor will be issued by the board of pharmacy and annual renewal cards will be issued. The certificate shall be framed and displayed conspicuously to the public view with the preceptor's certificate of registration as a pharmacist. Yearly renewal cards shall be placed in the lower left hand corner of the certificate and shall be posted when received. Only current renewal cards may be posted.

(b) Requirements for certification (and re-certification) as a preceptor.

1. Completion of 36 months practice as a registered pharmacist engaged in the compounding and dispensing of pharmaceutical preparations and physicians' prescriptions and the supplying of drugs and drug containing preparations in a registered pharmacy in the state of Wisconsin.

2. Current full time practice as a registered pharmacist in a licensed pharmacy in the state of Wisconsin in which no less than 6000 prescriptions are filled annually and which is operated in a professional manner and in the library of which there is, in addition to other required texts and materials, a copy of a recent edition of the United States Dispensatory.

3. Membership in the Wisconsin Pharmaceutical Association or the Wisconsin Society of Hospital Pharmacists.

4. Attendance at an annual meeting of a professional pharmaceutical organization within the three years immediately preceding the date of application for certification as a preceptor.

5. Attendance at a preceptor training conference within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application for certification as a preceptor.

6. Attendance at a seminar on pharmacy of at least one day's duration during the 3 years prior to the date of application for certification as a preceptor.

7. Compliance with all the provisions of this rule.

Note: (1) If the applicant for certification as a preceptor is not the owner of the pharmacy in which he will be supervising the trainee, the owners of the pharmacy, if not an eleemosynary corporation, must be a member of the Wisconsin Pharmaceutical Association. (2) There may be no more than one preceptor certified for each 6000 prescriptions filled in the pharmacy in which the applicants are prac-ticing at the time of the filing of the application for certification as a

preceptor.

Register, March, 1964, No. 99

(c) Rules for the preceptors.

1. A pharmacy preceptor may supervise only one trainee at a time. 2. A pharmacy preceptor must supervise the compounding and dispensing of all physicians' prescriptions and the sale of all drugs and drug containing preparations.

3. Each preceptor must sign the trainee's application for registration as a trainee in pharmacy.

4. A preceptor must return affidavits, either signed or disapproved, to the office of the board of pharmacy within one week of receipt.

5. A preceptor may not sign the training record book, reports or affidavits of training for more than one trainee during any one period.

6. Each preceptor must notify the board of pharmacy when he changes his place of employment; change of employment by a pre-ceptor shall serve to suspend the preceptor's certification until such time as a determination of the fulfillment of the requirements at the new place of employment is established.

**History:** Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57; am. Register, July, 1959, No. 43, eff. 8-1-59; r. (3) (a); renum. (3) (b) to be (3) (a); renum. (3) (c) to be (3) (b); am. (7) (b) 2; am. (7) (b) 5, Register, September, 1962, No. 81, eff. 10-1-62.