

State of Misconsin 2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE

LRB-0785/P1 EHS:cdc&kjf

DOA:.....Rice, BB0072 - Subsidy rates under Wisconsin Shares

FOR 2019-2021 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

WISCONSIN WORKS

1. Wisconsin Shares maximum reimbursement rate

Under current law, Wisconsin Shares is a part of the Wisconsin Works (W-2) program, which DCF administers. The W-2 program provides work experience and benefits for low-income custodial parents who are at least 18 years old. Under current law, an individual who is the parent of a child under the age of 13 or, if the child is disabled, under the age of 19 who needs child care services to participate in various education or work activities, and who satisfies other eligibility criteria, may receive a child care subsidy for child care services under Wisconsin Shares.

DCF determines the maximum reimbursement rates for licensed child care services that are provided under Wisconsin Shares. DCF also determines the maximum reimbursement rates for services provided by certified family child care providers, but may set the rate for Level I certified family child care providers at no more than 75 percent of the licensed child care rate and for Level II certified family child care rate. Under this bill, the maximum rate for Level I or Level II certified family child care providers may not exceed the licensed child care rate.

For further information see the *state* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

- 2 -

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 49.155 (6) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (6) (b) The department shall set maximum payment rates for Level I certified family child care providers certified under s. 48.651 (1) (a) for services provided to eligible individuals under this section. The maximum rates set under this paragraph may not exceed 75 percent of the rates established under par. (a).

SECTION 2. 49.155 (6) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (6) (c) The department shall set maximum payment rates for Level II certified family child care providers for services provided to eligible individuals under this section. The maximum rates set under this paragraph may not exceed 50 percent of the rates established under par. (a).

(END)