ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

To amend section 4 (1), (3) and (5) of article VI of the constitution; **relating to:** 4-year terms of office for, appointment of, vacancies in the office of, and the restriction on holding any other office by, sheriffs (first consideration).

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That:

SECTION 1. Section 4 (1), (3) and (5) of article VI of the constitution are amended to read:

[Article VI] Section 4 (1) Sheriffs Except as provided in sub. (2), coroners, registers of deeds, district attorneys, and all other elected county officers except judicial officers, sheriffs and chief executive officers, shall be chosen by the electors of the respective counties once in every 2 years.

- (3) (a) Sheriffs shall may not hold no any other partisan office.
- (b) Sheriffs may be required by law to renew their security from time to time, and in default of giving such new security their office shall be deemed vacant.
- (c) Beginning with the first general election at which the governor is elected which occurs after the ratification of this paragraph, sheriffs shall be chosen by the electors of the respective counties once in every 4 years.
- (5) All vacancies in the offices of sheriff, coroner, register of deeds or district attorney shall be filled by appointment. The person appointed to fill a vacancy shall hold office only for the unexpired portion of the term to which appointed and until a successor shall be elected and qualified.

Section 2. Section 4 (6) of article VI of the constitution is created to read:

[Article VI] Section 4 (6) When a vacancy occurs in the office of sheriff, the vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the governor, and the person appointed shall serve until his or her successor is elected and qualified.

Be it further resolved, That this proposed amendment be referred to the legislature to be chosen at the next general election and that it be published for 3 months previous to the time of holding such election.

Senator Brian D. Rude President of the Senate	Representative David T. Prosser, Jr. Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Charles R. Sanders Assembly Chief Clerk