

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team.

Whereas, the 2005–06 University of Wisconsin men's hockey team claimed the 2005–06 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey National Championship with a 2–1 win over Boston College on Saturday, April 8, 2006; and

Whereas, the UW men's hockey team finished its remarkable season with an impressive 30–10–3 record, was the only team in the nation to reach 30 victories in the 2005–06 season, and was awarded the number one overall seed in the NCAA tournament; and

Whereas, the UW men's hockey team was recognized with a number of team and individual achievements, including 3 all–WCHA selections, 5 all–WCHA academic selections, 3 named all–Americans, and 4 NCAA all–tournament selections, including Robbie Earl who was named the tournament's most outstanding player and Brian Elliot who was named WCHA defensive player of the year and a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award, college hockey's most prestigious individual award; and

Whereas, UW Head Coach Mike Eaves is a finalist for the 2005–06 Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the top NCAA Division I men's ice hockey coach, after guiding this season's UW men's hockey team to the school's 7th 30–win season, 22nd NCAA appearance, and 6th NCAA Championship; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the UW men's hockey team for its hard work and great achievement in winning the 2005–06 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship, and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Mike Eaves and to each member of the team.

Representative John G. Gard Speaker of the Assembly

Senator Alan J. Lasee President of the Senate