

2009 Senate Joint Resolution 11

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

To renumber section 23a of article IV; and *to create* section 23a (2) of article IV of the constitution; relating to: veto power of county executive over appropriations (first consideration).

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That:

SECTION 1. Section 23a of article IV of the constitution is renumbered 23a (1) of article IV of the constitution.

SECTION 2. Section 23a (2) of article IV of the constitution is created to read:

[Article IV] Section 23a (2) In approving an appropriation in part under sub. (1), the chief executive may not create a new word by rejecting individual letters in the words of the resolution or ordinance and may not create a new sentence by combining parts of 2 or more sentences of the resolution or ordinance.

SECTION 3. Numbering of new provisions. The new subsection (2) of section 23a of article IV of the constitution created in this joint resolution shall be designated by the next higher open whole subsection number in that section in that article if, before the ratification by the people of the amendment proposed in this joint resolution, any other ratified amendment has created a subsection (2) of section 23a of article IV of the constitution of this state. If one or more joint resolutions create a subsection (2) of section 23a of article IV simultaneously with the ratification by the people of the amendment proposed in this joint resolution, the subsections created shall be numbered and placed in a sequence so that the subsections created by the joint resolution having the lowest enrolled joint resolution number have the numbers designated in that joint resolution and the subsections created by the other joint resolutions have numbers that are in the same ascending order as are the numbers of the enrolled joint resolutions.

Be it further resolved, That this proposed amendment be referred to the legislature to be chosen at the next general election and that it be published for 3 months previous to the time of holding such election.

Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate

Date

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk