

2009 Senate Joint Resolution 2

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending Jim Miller on his retirement as president of the Wisconsin Policy Research Institute.

Whereas, Jim Miller has retired after 21 years at the helm of Wisconsin's leading free market think tank, the Wisconsin Policy Research Institute (WPRI); and

Whereas, WPRI research performed under Jim Miller's watch was instrumental in initiating landmark Wisconsin legislation like school choice and welfare reform; and

Whereas, during a 17 period, WPRI has published more than 164 academic studies on state and local issues, including projects authored by leading academics from prestigious institutions such as Harvard, Brookings, Princeton, and Stanford; and

Whereas, Jim Miller attended Fordham University on a Presidential Scholarship, did graduate work at Trinity College in Dublin, and served as a deputy commissioner for the state of New York, an associate professor of urban affairs at the City University of New York, and director of poverty research for the U.S. Catholic Conference; and

Whereas, Jim Miller has an extensive list of political campaigns on which he has served as a consultant, including presidential, gubernatorial, senate, and congressional campaigns, and his independent research activities have included clients ranging from the Ford Foundation, the Manhattan Institute, the U.S. Catholic Conference, the American Jewish Committee, the U.S. Office of Economic Opportunity, the New York City Economic Development Corporation, and numerous political campaigns; and

Whereas, Jim Miller will continue at WPRI as a senior fellow, which ensures he will continue to be an influential voice shaping public policy and engaging Wisconsinites on the important issues of the day; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend Jim Miller on the occasion of his retirement as president of the Wisconsin Policy Research Institute.

Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate
Date	Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk