

2009 Senate Joint Resolution 22

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin women's hockey team on winning the NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship.

Whereas, the 2008–09 University of Wisconsin women's hockey team won the NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship with a 5–0 victory over Mercyhurst on March 22, 2009, their third national championship in four years; and

Whereas, the UW Women's hockey team is the only team to reach the NCAA title game in four straight seasons; and

Whereas, the UW women's hockey team finished its championship season with a remarkable 33–2–5 record and ending the season with a nine–game winning streak and a twelve–game unbeaten streak; and

Whereas, the Badger women's hockey team finished just its tenth season as a varsity program with a winning record every season, including eight 20–win seasons, three 30–win seasons, and three NCAA championships; and

Whereas, Badger senior Jessie Vetter was named the 2009 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winner and was tapped as the Frozen Four Most Outstanding Player for the second time. In the championship game, Vetter made 37 saves, the most stops in a shutout in UW history, and finished her collegiate career with an NCAA best 39 career shutouts and 91 victories; and

Whereas, UW Head Coach Mark Johnson, the son of former Badger men's coach Bob Johnson and a gold medalist on the 1980 Olympic hockey team, now has seven Frozen Four wins, the second-most all time by a head coach and is only the second coach ever to win three NCAA championships; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the UW women's hockey team for its hard work and great achievement in winning the 2008–09 NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey Championship; and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Mark Johnson and to each member of the team.

Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk