

2009 Senate Joint Resolution 28

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** proclaiming April 22, 2009, as Undergraduate Research Day and commending University of Wisconsin System students, faculty, and staff.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin (UW) System is one of the nation's foremost public university systems with 26 campuses, a statewide UW–Extension, and more than 175,000 students and 30,000 employees; and

Whereas, at each of the UW System campuses, undergraduate researchers are advancing the tradition of the Wisconsin Idea as they join with faculty mentors in discovering and applying new ideas to improve the quality of life in our state; and

Whereas, during a time of economic uncertainty, the research being conducted at UW institutions exemplifies the innovation and entrepreneurial spirit necessary for the recovery and growth of our communities, state, and nation; and

Whereas, UW–La Crosse recently hosted thousands of undergraduate researchers from across the country at the 23rd National Conference on Undergraduate Research from April 16 to 18, 2009; and

Whereas, on Wednesday, April 22, the UW System will host "Posters in the Rotunda: A Celebration of Undergraduate Research" at the Wisconsin state capitol, featuring research projects presented by undergraduate students from across the system; and

Whereas, the posters represent a wide array of academic disciplines and illustrate the remarkable contributions made by our undergraduate students to address issues of critical importance to Wisconsin and to our nation; and

Whereas, Undergraduate Research Day 2009 coincides with the observance of Earth Day, reminding us of the importance of research and development to the creation of a healthy, sustainable environment; now, therefore, be it

*Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That* the Wisconsin legislature proclaims April 22, 2009, as Undergraduate Research Day and commends the UW students, faculty, and staff for their undergraduate research efforts.

Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk