

2009 Senate Joint Resolution 77

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending student-athletes, coaches, and administrators at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Whereas, student-athletes from the University of Wisconsin (UW)-Madison enjoyed numerous successes in many sports during the 2009-2010 academic year; and

Whereas, the Badger football team under the direction of Bret Bielema finished the regular season with a 9–3 record capped off by a Champs Sport Bowl victory against the University of Miami. The season was also highlighted with the naming of Racine–native sophomore running back John Clay as the consensus 2010 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year; and

Whereas, the men's basketball team coached by Bo Ryan finished the regular season with a record of 23–8 and made the NCAA tournament for the 12th straight year; and

Whereas, the women's basketball team led by head coach Lisa Stone finished the regular season with a record of 20–9, marking only the eighth 20–win season in UW women's basketball history. Stone guided the team to its first NCAA tournament appearance since 2002; and

Whereas, women's hockey coach Mark Johnson led the U.S. Women's National Team at the Vancouver Winter Olympics to a silver medal. The team included seven current or former Badgers, including Jessie Vetter, the Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, native who won the 2009 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award; and

Whereas, the men's hockey team led by head coach Mike Eaves finished off a phenomenal regular season with a record of 22–9–4 that propelled the team to the NCAA Frozen Four and the National Championship game and the first–ever Badger hockey student athlete Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner Blake Geoffrion; and

Whereas, Badger wrestling head coach Barry Davis led the team to one of the most successful seasons in team history. Davis was named the 2010 National Coach of the Year and the Badgers placed fourth at the NCAA Championships with 70.5 points, tying for the best finish in school history. The team featured four all–Americans including sophomore Andrew Howe who won a national title in his weight class; and

Whereas, the women's lightweight rowing team, led by head coach Erik Miller, in 2009 won their second consecutive Intercollegiate Rowing Association national championship marking the fifth time in six years the women Badgers crew team has taken top national honors; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature honors all of the University of Wisconsin student–athletes, coaches, and administrators for all of the hard work and dedication that went into the athletic successes this season.

Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk

Date