ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: congratulating the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association on its 75th Anniversary.

Whereas, the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association was founded on May 21, 1940, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin as a nonprofit trade association representing the interests of truck and motor coach owners within the state of Wisconsin; and

Whereas, in addition to the general association, the WMCA includes the Wisconsin Milk Haulers Association, Wisconsin Motor Coach Association, Wisconsin Movers Association, Wisconsin Towing Association, and the Wisconsin Warehouse Association; and

Whereas, the WMCA has nearly 1,100 members, ranging from independent contractors with one truck to companies with thousands of trucks; and

Whereas, the WMCA has a dedicated commitment to highway safety through its Council of Safety Supervisors, which meets regularly to discuss and establish numerous safe driving programs, including the President's Safe Driver Club which honors more than 1,000 drivers each year; and

Whereas, the WMCA established the nation's first state Road Team in 1988, comprised of professional truck drivers with outstanding safety records who make public appearances in Wisconsin high schools to provide a trucker's view of highway safety and discuss the importance of the trucking industry to the state's economy; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin trucking industry provides more than 150,000 good—paying jobs, with trucks transporting about 90 percent of total manufactured tonnage in the state, and more than 77 percent of Wisconsin communities depend exclusively on trucks to move their goods; and

Whereas, the members of the WMCA are committed to providing safe, reliable, and affordable transportation options to their customers in order to keep Wisconsin's economy moving forward; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature hereby congratulates the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association on its 75th Anniversary and wishes the members and officers continued success and prosperity in the trucking industry.

Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk