## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** commending the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys' varsity basketball team for winning the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Division I State Championship title.

Whereas, the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys' basketball team defeated Germantown High School 67–51 in the Championship game, winning their first state title since 1994 and ending Germantown's string of 3 consecutive championships; and

Whereas, the Panthers set a state tournament record by scoring 11 three-pointers in the semifinal game versus West Allis Central High School; and

Whereas, the Panthers finished the season with a 27–1 record, including a 12–0 record in the Wisconsin Valley Conference; and

Whereas, the team has been directed by a dedicated and talented coaching staff, led by head coach Scott Anderson, who was named Wisconsin Valley Coach of the Year and Associated Press Coach of the Year for Wisconsin; and

Whereas, on the court the team was led by junior guard Trevor Anderson and junior forward Sam Hauser, who were both named Channel 7 All Stars, Wisconsin Valley Conference Players of the Year, and First–Team All–State; and

Whereas, in the Championship game, Anderson and Hauser each scored 25 points, helping the Panthers shoot 58 percent overall and 44 percent from 3–point range; and

Whereas, Anderson and Hauser were joined by senior center Andrew Ruzek and freshman forward Joey Hauser in receiving All-Conference honors; and

Whereas, the Panthers have demonstrated strong commitment to their education by holding a 3.55 cumulative team GPA; and

Whereas, the Panthers team, which is comprised of sophomore Beau Rosenthal, junior Ted Kearney, senior TJ Schrank, junior Jamison Kryshak, senior Jake Erler, junior Sam Hauser, junior Jake Hofmeister, junior Trevor Anderson, junior Mack Journell, junior Evan Mallek, sophomore Keon'te Williams, freshman Joey Hauser, and senior Andrew Ruzek, and is coached by Scott Anderson, Kraig Terpstra, Dave Hauser, Jon Krull, Travis Kornowski, Bruce Weinkauf, Brandon DeSmet, and Phil Jagielo, has personified what a team should be and has made the high school, the community, and the state proud; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the Panthers, their coaching staff, and their student athletes on winning the 2015 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Division I State Championship title and wish them great success in all their future endeavors.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate
Date	Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk