

2021 Senate Joint Resolution 32

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

To renumber and amend section 1 of article III; and **to create** section 1 (1) of article III of the constitution; **relating to:** eligibility to vote in Wisconsin (first consideration).

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That:

SECTION 1. Section 1 of article III of the constitution is renumbered section 1 (2) of article III and amended to read:

[Article III] Section 1 (2) Every Only a United States citizen age 18 or older who is a resident of an election district in this state is a qualified elector of that district who may vote in an election for national, state, or local office or at a statewide or local referendum.

SECTION 2. Section 1 (1) of article III of the constitution is created to read:

[Article III] Section 1 (1) In this section:

- (a) "Local office" means any elective office other than a state or national office.
- (b) "National office" means the offices of president and vice president of the United States, U.S. senator, and representative in congress.
- (c) "Referendum" means an election at which an advisory, validating, or ratifying question is submitted to the electorate.
- (d) "State office" means the offices of governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state treasurer, attorney general, state superintendent of public instruction, justice of the supreme court, court of appeals judge, circuit court judge, state senator, state representative to the assembly, and district attorney.
- **SECTION 3. Numbering of new provision.** If another constitutional amendment ratified by the people creates the number of any provision created in this joint resolution, the chief of the legislative reference bureau shall determine the sequencing and the numbering of the provisions whose numbers conflict

Be it further resolved, That this proposed amendment be referred to the legislature to be chosen at the next general election and that it be published for three months previous to the time of holding such election.

Senator Chris Kapenga President of the Senate
President of the Senate
Michael J. Queensland Senate Chief Clerk