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2003 Wisconsin Act 74 increases the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident involving a 

death or injury. 

BACKGROUND 

Under current law, the operator of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury or death 

of any person must immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to the scene as 

possible and remain at the scene of the accident until he or she has done the following: 

a. Given his or her name, address, and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is 

driving to the person struck or to the operator or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided 

with. 

b. Upon request and if available, exhibited his or her driver’s license to the person struck or to 

the operator or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with. 

c. Rendered reasonable assistance to any person injured, including carrying, or making 

arrangements for carrying, the person to a physician or hospital for medical treatment if it is apparent 

that treatment is necessary or if the injured person requests to be taken to a physician or hospital. 

WISCONSIN ACT 74 

Wisconsin Act 74 modifies the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident if the accident 

involved death or injury to a person.  Under the Act, if the accident involved death to a person, the 

penalty is increased from a Class H felony to a Class D felony.  A Class D felony is punishable by 

imprisonment not to exceed 25 years and a fine not to exceed $100,000.  If the accident involved injury 

to a person and the person suffered great bodily harm, the penalty is increased from a Class I felony to a 
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Class E felony.  A Class E felony is punishable by imprisonment not to exceed 15 years and a fine not to 

exceed $50,000. 

Effective Date:  The Act takes effect November 27, 2003. 

Prepared by:  Anne Sappenfield, Senior Staff Attorney November 18, 2003 
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