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2003 Wisconsin Act 53 addresses penalty levels when a registered sex offender fails to provide 

required information and when a registered sex offender establishes a residence or changes a residence 

without complying with applicable information requirements. 

A registered sex offender is required to provide specified information to the Department of 

Corrections (DOC) when the offender initially registers; annually; and within a specified period if 

certain information changes.  (s. 301.45 (2) to (4), Stats.)  Under prior law, a knowing violation of 

information requirement was punishable, on first offense, as a misdemeanor ($10,000 maximum fine, 

nine months maximum imprisonment, or both) and for a second or subsequent offense, a Class H felony 

($10,000 maximum fine, six years maximum imprisonment, or both). 

Act 53, with one exception, makes first offense violations of the information requirements a 

Class H felony.  Under the exception, the current misdemeanor penalty continues to apply for a first 

violation under some situations if the person was ordered to register as a sex offender based on 

committing a misdemeanor.

 

                                                 

 A court has discretion to require a person who has violated certain statutes to register as a sex offender if the court finds the 

underlying conduct was sexually motivated and it is in the interest of public safety to require registration.  Sections 51.20 

(13) (ct) 1m., 938.34 (15m) (am), 938.345 (3), 971.17 (1m) (b) 1m., and 973.048 (1m), Stats.  This discretionary authority 

applies to violations of chs. 940 (crimes against life and bodily security), 944 (crimes against sexual morality), and 948 

(crimes against children), and ss. 943.01 to 943.15 (certain crimes against property). 

Under the Act, if a court exercising this discretionary authority orders a person to register as a sex offender where the 

underlying violation was a misdemeanor, a first violation of the Act’s prohibitions is a misdemeanor.  There may be 

additional situations, not addressed by the Act, where a sex offender is required to register in connection with the commission 

of an underlying misdemeanor, e.g., an offender registered in another state who moves into this state or who has committed a 

sex offense comparable to a “sex offense” under Wisconsin law (although note that all the latter are felonies under Wisconsin 

law). 
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A registered sex offender who is on parole or extended supervision may not establish a residence 

or change his or her residence unless the offender has complied with applicable information 

requirements relating to the establishment or change of residence.  (s. 301.45 (4r), Stats.)  Under prior 

law, an intentional violation of the prohibition was punishable by a maximum fine of $10,000, 

maximum imprisonment of nine months, or both (a misdemeanor).  Under Act 60, a violation of the 

prohibition is generally a Class H felony.  The current misdemeanor penalty is retained for a first 

violation in certain situations where the person has been ordered to register as a sex offender in 

connection with commission of a misdemeanor.
*
 

Effective Date:  Act 53 takes effect on September 5, 2003. 

Prepared by:  Don Dyke, Senior Staff Attorney September 3, 2003 

 


