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Current law requires a motor vehicle dealer, motor vehicle salesperson, and motor vehicle sales 

finance company to have a license issued by the Department of Transportation (DOT) in order to conduct 

business.  A motor vehicle dealer is responsible for ensuring that each motor vehicle salesperson in his or her 

employment has a valid license.  Failure to comply with these licensing requirements may result in a fine of 

not less than $500 nor more than $5,000. 

2003 Wisconsin Act 216 defines a motor vehicle buyer as a person who is employed by one or 

more motor vehicle dealers to bid on or purchase a motor vehicle from a motor vehicle dealer or a motor 

vehicle auction and requires a motor vehicle buyer and a motor vehicle wholesaler to be licensed.  A motor 

vehicle buyer must obtain a separate license for each motor vehicle dealer on whose behalf the buyer 

operates and each motor vehicle dealer is responsible for ensuring that each motor vehicle buyer in his or her 

employment has a valid license. 

Under current law, motor vehicles sold at a motor vehicle auction may only be sold to licensed 

motor vehicle dealers.  Under 2003 Wisconsin Act 216, motor vehicles sold at a motor vehicle auction may 

be sold to licensed motor vehicle dealers, licensed motor vehicle wholesalers, and licensed motor vehicle 

buyers.  The licensed dealer, wholesaler, or buyer must display his or her valid license and include his or her 

license number on each sheet of any bid submitted to a motor vehicle auction and on any document 

evidencing the purchase of a motor vehicle from the auction.  Prior to accepting a bid, the motor vehicle 

auction must verify that the license number displayed on the buyer or bidder’s license and the number 

included on the bid or other documents are identical.  After a motor vehicle is sold at an auction, the motor 

vehicle auction must include information, to be determined by DOT, to indicate that ownership of the vehicle 

was transferred by a motor vehicle auction. 

2003 Wisconsin Act 216 provides the Division of Motor Vehicles with a one-time appropriation 

increase of $44,000 for fiscal year 2004-05 from the Transportation Fund to increase funding for 

administering the buyer license card. 

Effective Date:  The effective date of 2003 Wisconsin Act 216 is December 1, 2004. 

Prepared by:  Philip G. Cardis, Staff Attorney April 16, 2004 
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