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2003 Wisconsin Act 270 makes a number of changes in the statutes that relate to regulation of 

hearing instrument specialists, speech-language pathologists, and audiologists.  Those changes are as 

follows: 

 Prior to the Act, the Hearing and Speech Examining Board consisted of three hearing 

instrument specialists, one otolaryngologist, one audiologist, one speech-language 

pathologist, and two public members (one of whom must be a hearing aid user).  The Act 

adds one more audiologist and one more speech-language pathologist to the board. 

 Under prior law, a hearing aid may not be fitted for or sold to a person who is 16 years of age 

or younger unless the person has been examined by a physician within the previous 90 days 

to determine whether he or she has any physical deficiencies that would prohibit the effective 

use of a hearing aid.  The Act changes this provision to apply to persons who are 17 years of 

age or younger. 

 Under prior law, a person holding a training permit to fit hearing aids must be directly 

supervised and trained by a person who is a licensed hearing instrument specialist.  The Act 

also allows the person acting under the training permit to be supervised and trained by a 

licensed audiologist. 

 The statutes require a person who is licensed as a hearing instrument specialist, an 

audiologist, or a speech-language pathologist to complete 20 hours of continuing education 

every two years in order to renew his or her license.  The Act states that this requirement 

does not apply the first time a licensee applies to renew a license after it is initially granted. 

 Under prior law, a hearing instrument specialist or an audiologist must conduct a direct 

observation of the ear canal of a purchaser of a hearing aid.  The Act modifies this to require 
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the observation of the ear canal of a person for whom a hearing aid is purchased.  In addition, 

the Act modifies the law that specifies that a hearing aid may not be sold to a person who is 

not given tests using appropriate procedures and instruments or without proper measurement 

of the functional intensity and range of the person’s hearing; this statute is modified to 

specify that the tests must be given by a hearing instrument specialist or an audiologist 

licensed in Wisconsin or in another state. 

 Under prior law, an individual was not required to be licensed by the examining board in 

order to engage in the practice of speech-language pathology or audiology in a position for 

which the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) requires DPI licensure as a speech and 

language pathologist.  The Act modifies this to add a reference to a position that requires DPI 

licensure as an audiologist.  The Act also states that this exception to the requirement for 

examining board licensure does not apply to persons engaging in the practice of fitting and 

dealing in hearing aids.  Also, the Act states that the exemption from examining board 

licensure for speech-language pathologists or audiologists applies if the individual’s entire 

practice, other than engaging in the practice of fitting and dealing in hearing aids, is limited 

to the duties of the position for which DPI provides licensure. 

 Under prior law, an applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist must have 

completed a postgraduate clinical fellowship in speech-language pathology approved by the 

examining board.  The Act requires that the applicant must have completed such a fellowship 

or must have completed education or training that the examining board determines is 

substantially equivalent to the completion of such a fellowship. 

 Under prior law, a temporary license to practice speech-language pathology or audiology was 

valid for not more than nine months.  The Act eliminates this time limit and states that a 

temporary license is valid for a period designated by the examining board by rule.  The rules 

may designate a period that terminates if an applicant fails to take the next available 

examination for reasons other than inaction by the examining board or hardship. 

 The Act allows the examining board to discipline a speech-language pathologist or 

audiologist who engages in unprofessional conduct as defined by rule by the examining 

board.  (The statutes already allowed the examining board to discipline hearing instrument 

specialists for unprofessional conduct.) 

 The Act eliminates statutory provisions that relate to registration and issuance of certificates 

of registration for speech-language pathologists and audiologists.  Those provisions have not 

applied since 1993.  Speech-language pathologists and audiologists are currently licensed, 

rather than registered or certified.  In addition, the Act eliminates a statutory provision that 

required completion of a one-time report in 1993. 

Effective Date:  The Act takes effect on May 1, 2004. 

Prepared by:  Richard Sweet, Senior Staff Attorney May 4, 2004 
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