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Time Limits for Commencing 
Prosecution of Crimes 

 

Generally, under current law, prosecution of a felony must be commenced within six years of 

the offense and prosecution of a misdemeanor must be commenced within three years.  There are three 

exceptions to this general rule.  First, some crimes have longer time limits.  Second, there is no time 

limit for certain homicides and child sexual assaults.  Third, if the state collects deoxyribonucleic acid 

(DNA) evidence in connection with certain sexual assaults or certain sexual assaults of a child before the 

applicable time period for commencing prosecution of the assault expires but a probable match cannot 

be made until after the time limit expires, the time limit is extended. 

2009 Wisconsin Act 203 makes the following changes to this third exception where DNA 

evidence is collected:  

Prosecution Time Limits for First-Degree Sexual Assault 

Last session, 2005 Wisconsin Acts 60 and 276 were enacted, both addressing time limits for 

prosecution of first- and second-degree sexual assault when DNA evidence is collected.  However, these 

Acts are irreconcilable.  As a result, it is unclear how to apply the time limit exception for prosecution of 

first- and second-degree sexual assault when DNA is collected. 

2009 Wisconsin Act 203 clarifies the ambiguity on how to apply the time limit exception for 

prosecution of first- and second-degree sexual assault.  For first-degree sexual assault, if the state 

collects and identifies DNA evidence and compares the DNA to profiles of known persons before the 

time limit of prosecution expires, the state may commence prosecution either:  (1) at any time; or (2) 

within the applicable time limit, whichever is later.  The exception to the time limit for commencing 

prosecution of second-degree sexual assault is described in the following section. 
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2009 Wisconsin Act 203 also clarifies that for crimes related to a first-degree sexual assault, 

prosecution may be commenced either:  (1) within 12 months after the DNA comparison results in a 

probable identification; or (2) within the applicable time limit, whichever is latest. 

Prosecution Time Limits for Second-Degree Sexual Assault and Any Felony Listed in Ch. 940 or 948 

(Other Than a Violation of s. 940.225 (1), Stats., or a Felony with a Time Limit) 

 2009 Wisconsin Act 203 also extends the time limitation for commencing prosecution in cases 

of:  (1) a second-degree sexual assault; (2) a felony crime against life or bodily security (other than first-

degree sexual assault or a felony with a time limit; or (3) a felony crime against children.  For these 

crimes, if the state collects and identifies DNA and compares the DNA to profiles of known persons 

before the applicable time limit expires, prosecution may be commenced within either:  (1) 12 months 

after the comparison results in a probable identification; or (2) the applicable time limit, whichever is 

latest. 

Prosecution Time Limits for a Crime Related to Certain Homicides and Child Sexual Assaults 

Under 2009 Wisconsin Act 203, the time limitation is also extended in cases of a crime that is 

related to:  (1) first-degree intentional homicide; (2) first-degree reckless homicide; (3) second-degree 

intentional homicide; (4) felony murder; (5) first degree child sexual assault; and (6) a Class A or B 

repeated sexual assault of a child is also extended.  If, within six years after the commission of one of 

these crimes listed, the state collects and identifies DNA and compares the DNA to profiles of known 

persons, the state may commence prosecution for the crime related to the homicide or child sexual 

assault within 12 months after the comparison results in a probable identification. 

Effective date:  2009 Wisconsin Act 203 takes effect on May 6, 2010. 

Prepared by:  Melissa Schmidt, Staff Attorney May 5, 2010 
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