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Trespass and Damage to Property 
Owned or Used by an Energy 

Provider 

 
2015 Wisconsin Act 158 provides criminal penalties for intentionally damaging or 

unlawfully entering certain property of an energy provider, which the Act defines as: 

 A public utility that is engaged in the production, transmission, delivery, or 
furnishing of heat, power, or light, or the transmission or delivery of natural gas. 

 An electric transmission company. 

 A cooperative association organized for the purpose of producing or furnishing heat, 
light, or power for its members. 

 A wholesale merchant plant. 

 A decommissioned nuclear power plant. 

INTENTIONALLY DAMAGING PROPERTY 

Wisconsin law provides that, whoever intentionally damages any physical property of 
another without the person’s consent is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable 
with a fine of no more than $10,000 or imprisonment for no longer than nine months, or both. If 
the property damaged belongs to a public utility or a common carrier and the damage is of a 
kind which is likely to impair the services of the public utility or common carrier, the person is 
guilty of a Class I felony. A Class I felony is punishable with a fine of no more than $10,000 or 
imprisonment for no longer than three years and six months, or both. 

The Act provides that whoever intentionally damages any physical property of another 
without the person’s consent is guilty of a Class H felony if: (1) the damaged property is owned, 
leased, or operated by an energy provider; and (2) the actor intended to, or did, cause a 
substantial interruption of the energy provider’s goods or services.  
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Under Wisconsin law, a Class H felony is punishable with a fine of no more than $10,000 
or imprisonment for no longer than six years, or both. 

UNLAWFULLY ENTERING PROPERTY 

Wisconsin law provides that whoever enters any land of another without the person’s 
consent is generally subject to a Class B forfeiture, for which the penalty is a forfeiture of no 
more than $1,000. 

The Act provides that whoever intentionally enters certain property of an energy 
provider without lawful authority and without the energy provider’s consent is guilty of a Class 
H felony if: (1) the property is owned, leased, or operated by an energy provider; and (2) the 
property is part of an electric generation, distribution, or transmission system or is part of a 
natural gas distribution system. 

Effective date:  March 2, 2016 

Prepared by:  Zach Ramirez, Staff Attorney April 26, 2016 
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