1

3

1995 SENATE BILL 511

January 30, 1996 - Introduced by Senators Moen, Zien, Rude, Burke, George, Breske, Darling and Schultz, cosponsored by Representatives Kreibich, Plombon, Gronemus, Musser and F. Lasee, by request of the Eau Claire County Board. Referred to Committee on Transportation, Agriculture and Local Affairs.

- AN ACT to amend 114.14 (2) of the statutes; relating to: increasing the number
- of commissioners who may serve on an airport commission.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Under current law, the governing body of a city, village, town or county (political subdivision) may vest jurisdiction for the construction, improvement, maintenance and operation of an airport that is owned by the political subdivision in an airport commission that initially consists of 3 or 5 commissioners. A commission may be expanded from 3 to 5 members, and may be reduced from 5 to 3 members. Commissioners serve 6-year terms. If an airport is owned by a county, commissioners are appointed by the chairperson of the county board, subject to county board approval. If an airport is owned by a city, village or town, commissioners are appointed by the mayor or city manager of the city, by the village president of a village or by the town chairperson of a town.

Under this bill, the commission membership may be initially set at 7 members, or may be expanded from 3 or 5 to 7 members, and may reduced from 7 members to 3 or 5 members. The initial terms of the 2 new commissioners who may be appointed as provided in this bill are 3 years and 5 years and the initial terms of the 4 members who may be appointed are 1, 3, 3 and 5 years.

For further information see the ${\it local}$ fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

- **Section 1.** 114.14 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
- 4 114.14 (2) The governing body of a city, village, town or county which has established an airport may vest jurisdiction for the construction, improvement,

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

equipment, maintenance and operation thereof in an airport commission of 3 or, 5 or 7 commissioners. In the case of a county, the commissioners shall be appointed by the chairperson of the county board, subject to the approval of the county board; in the case of cities, villages and towns by the mayors or city managers, village presidents and town chairpersons, respectively. The terms of the commissioners shall be 6 years. On the first appointment of a 3-member commission, commissioners shall be appointed for terms of 2, 4 and 6 years, respectively. On the first appointment of a 5-member commission, commissioners shall be appointed for terms of 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 years, respectively. On the first appointment of a 7-member commission, commissioners shall be appointed for terms of 1, 2, 3, 3, 4, 5 and 6 years, respectively. If the number of members on a commission is expanded from 3 to 5 or 7, the commissioners on the 3-member commission shall serve on the 5-member \underline{or} 7-member commission until the expiration of the terms for which they were appointed and the 2 or 4 new commissioners shall be appointed for the remaining terms. The number of commissioners shall be reduced from 7 or 5 to 3 by not appointing members to fill the next 2 or 4 vacancies occurring on the commission. If the number of members on a commission is expanded from 5 to 7, the commissioners on the 5-member commission shall serve on the 7-member commission until the expiration of the terms for which they were appointed and the 2 new commissioners shall be appointed for the remaining terms. The number of commissioners shall be reduced from 7 to 5 by not appointing members to fill the next 2 vacancies occurring on the commission. Their compensation and allowance for expenses shall be as fixed by the governing body. The commissioners shall be persons especially interested in aeronautics. The airport commission shall elect one member chairperson and one secretary who shall keep an accurate record of all its

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

proceedings and transactions and report such to the governing body. The commission shall have complete and exclusive control and management over the airport for which it has been appointed. All moneys appropriated for the construction, improvement, equipment, maintenance or operation of an airport, managed as provided by this subsection, or earned by the airport or made available for its construction, improvement, equipment, maintenance or operation in any manner whatsoever, shall be deposited with the treasurer of the city, village, town or county where it shall be kept in a special fund and paid out only on order of the airport commission, drawn and signed by the secretary and countersigned by the chairperson. In case of union airports owned by 2 or more governmental units, each governmental unit shall appoint an equal number of commissioners to serve for terms of 6 years. The remaining number of commissioners shall be appointed alternately from each governmental unit for terms of 6 years starting with the governmental unit whose name comes first in the alphabet. The moneys available for union airports shall be kept in the manner provided in this subsection in the treasury of one of the governmental units selected by the commission, and paid out in like manner.

18 (END)