

State of Misconsin 1997 - 1998 LEGISLATURE

1997 ASSEMBLY BILL 414

June 10, 1997 – Introduced by Representatives MEYER, PLOUFF, MUSSER, LA FAVE, J. LEHMAN, POWERS, ROBSON, GRONEMUS and VRAKAS, cosponsored by Senators RUDE and GROBSCHMIDT. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

1 AN ACT to amend 758.13 (1) of the statutes; relating to: membership of the

judicial council.

 $\mathbf{2}$

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill adds a municipal court judge to the membership of the judicial council. Currently, the judicial council has 21 members, including a supreme court justice, a court of appeals judge, 4 circuit court judges, the law school deans from both Wisconsin law schools, the chairpersons of the assembly and senate committees dealing with judicial affairs and members of the state bar. The council's duties include reviewing the rules regarding court practices and procedures and advising the supreme court on how to simplify those rules, reviewing the administration and operation of the judicial system and recommending changes to the supreme court, legislature and governor regarding the judicial system.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

- 3 SECTION 1. 758.13 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
 4 758.13 (1) MEMBERSHIP; APPOINTMENT; TERMS. There is created a judicial council
- 5 of 21 <u>22</u> members as follows: a supreme court justice designated by the supreme
- 6 court; a court of appeals judge designated by the court of appeals; the director of state

1997 – 1998 Legislature

ASSEMBLY BILL 414

courts or his or her designee; 4 circuit judges designated by the judicial conference; 1 $\mathbf{2}$ a municipal court judge designated by the Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association: 3 the chairpersons of the senate and the assembly committees dealing with judicial 4 affairs or a member of each such committee designated by the respective $\mathbf{5}$ chairperson; the attorney general or his or her designee; the revisor of statutes or an 6 assistant designated by the revisor; the deans of the law schools of the university of 7 Wisconsin and Marguette university or a member of the respective law school 8 faculties designated by the deans; the state public defender or his or her designee; 9 the president-elect of the state bar of Wisconsin or a member of the board of 10 governors of the state bar designated by the president-elect and 3 additional 11 members thereof selected by the state bar to serve 3-year terms; one district attorney 12appointed by the governor; and 2 citizens at large appointed by the governor to serve 133-year terms. The names of the members shall be certified to the secretary of state by the executive secretary of the judicial commission. Members shall hold office until 14their successors have been selected. Members shall receive no compensation, but 1516 shall be reimbursed from the appropriation made by s. 20.665 (1) for expenses 17necessarily incurred by them in attending council meetings.

18

(END)