

State of Misconsin 2001 - 2002 LEGISLATURE

## **2001 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 12**

January 26, 2001 – Introduced by Senators Risser, Plache, Erpenbach, Grobschmidt, Roessler, Chvala, S. Fitzgerald, Burke, Moen, Wirch, Huelsman, Baumgart, Lazich, Darling, Schultz, Hansen, George, Farrow and Panzer, cosponsored by Representatives Black, Young, Gunderson, Sherman, Hebl, Rhoades, Ryba, Boyle, Ladwig, Starzyk, Richards, Hundertmark, Wood, Pocan, Skindrud, Hoven, Berceau, Townsend, J. Lehman, Miller, Olsen, Ward, Jeskewitz, Johnsrud, Albers, Owens, Coggs, Sykora, Kreuser, Lippert, Seratti, Vrakas, Turner, Williams, Nass, Lassa, Travis, Petrowski, Huber, Underheim and Ott. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: commending the student athletes, coaches, and staff of the University
<b>2</b>	of Wisconsin-Madison Volleyball Team for their achievements.
3	Whereas, the 2000 Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers have completed their most
4	successful season ever, with a record of 33 wins and 4 losses; and
<b>5</b>	Whereas, the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers are the 2000 Big Ten Champions,
6	with a conference record of 18 wins and 2 losses; and
7	Whereas, the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers swept through the NCAA
8	Volleyball Championships to play for the national title versus a perennial volleyball
9	powerhouse; and
10	Whereas, the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers' tremendous effort to end the 2000
11	season with a national runner-up finish made us all extremely proud; and
12	Whereas, out of all of the collegiate volleyball teams in America, only one team
13	would not trade places with our Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers; and
14	Whereas, Head Coach Pete Waite and his coaching staff led this group of
15	exceptional young women to its unprecedented success; and

1 Whereas, the citizens of Wisconsin and Badger alumni everywhere proudly 2 share in the national recognition that the volleyball team has brought our great 3 university and our great state; now, therefore, be it

- 2 -

*Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That* the Wisconsin
legislature commends the student athletes, coaches, and staff of the University of
Wisconsin-Madison Volleyball Team for their achievements; and, be it further

*Resolved, That* the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint
resolution to the members of the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers: Meggan Kohnen,
Jamie Gardner, Jenny Maastricht, Claudia Rodriguez, Lizzy Fitzgerald, Lisa
Zukowski, Marie Meyer, Korie Gardner, Lori Rittenhouse, Erin Byrd, Sara Urbanek,
Morgan Shields, Angie Sanger, Anya Carlson–Van Dort, Sherisa Livingston, Jill
Maier, Head Coach Pete Waite, Assistant Coach Christy Johnson, Assistant Coach
Robert Pulliza, and University of Wisconsin Athletic Director Pat Richter.

14

(END)