LRB-4924/1 SRM:lmk:rs

2005 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 76

April 20, 2006 – Introduced by Senators Risser, Miller, Erpenbach, Roessler, Olsen, A. Lasee, Darling, Hansen, Schultz, Lazich, Kedzie, Cowles and Taylor, cosponsored by Representatives Black, Pocan, M. Williams, Mursau, Sheridan, Hebl, Cullen, Jeskewitz, Travis, Meyer, Pope-Roberts, Turner, Vruwink, Hubler, Davis, McCormick, Berceau, Lehman, Krawczyk, Molepske, Boyle, Pridemore, Ott, Nass, Hundertmark and Van Akkeren. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin women's hockey team.

Whereas, the 2005–06 University of Wisconsin women's hockey team won its first NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship with a 3–0 win over 2–time defending champion and arch rival Minnesota on March 26, 2006; and Whereas, the UW women's hockey team completed its first championship season with a remarkable 36–4–1 record, winning both the WCHA regular season and playoff championships, and finishing the year on a 12–game winning streak; and Whereas, the UW women's hockey team was recognized with a number of team and individual achievements, including 5–all WCHA selections (including player of the year, defensive player of the year, and coach of the year), 10 all–WCHA academic selections, 2 named all–Americans, 3 NCAA all–tournament selections, including Jessie Vetter who was named the tournament's most outstanding player and Sara Bauer, winner of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, given to the most outstanding

player in collegiate women's hockey; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

Whereas, UW Head Coach Mark Johnson was named by his peers as the ACHA women's Division I coach of the year for 2005–06 in recognition of the team's numerous achievements this season; and

Whereas, the UW women's hockey team began as a club team in 1973 and has developed into the finest collegiate women's hockey team in the nation, fueling the dreams of many young women hockey players and the pride of all citizens of the state of Wisconsin; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the UW women's hockey team for its hard work and great achievement in winning the 2005–06 NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey Championship, and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Mark Johnson and to each member of the team.

14 (END)