1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

2005 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 79

April 24, 2006 - Introduced by Senators Risser, Roessler, A. Lasee, Miller, Erpenbach, Lazich and Olsen, cosponsored by Representatives Black, Petrowski, Molepske, Jeskewitz, Boyle, Sheridan, Pocan, Turner, Kerkman, Vos, Berceau, Hebl and Vruwink. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: commending the UW men's cross country team.

Whereas, the 2005–06 University of Wisconsin men's cross country team claimed the 2005 NCAA Division I Men's Cross Country National Championship on Monday, November 21, 2005; and

Whereas, the UW men's cross country team finished its remarkable season as the top-ranked team in the country, making the team's 34th consecutive NCAA appearance, and bringing home the 4th NCAA Championship to continue the UW men's cross country program's long tradition of success and excellence; and

Whereas, the UW men's cross country team was recognized with a number of team and individual achievements, including 6 all-Americans, Big Ten Freshman of the Year (Matt Withrow), and U.S. Track Coaches Association National Athlete of the Year (Simon Bairu); and

Whereas, UW Head Coach Jerry Schumacher was named Coach of the Year by the U.S. Track Coaches Association in recognition of his team's tremendous achievements; now, therefore, be it 1

2

3

4

5

6

7

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin state legislature commend and congratulate the UW men's cross country team for its hard work and great achievement in winning the 2005 NCAA Men's Cross Country Championship; and

Be it further resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this resolution to Head Coach Jerry Schumacher and to each member of the team.

(END)