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AN ACT to amend 422.202 (2m) (a), 422.203 (1) and 422.415 (2) (intro.); and #o

create 421.109 of the statutes; relating to: penalties for late or delinquent

payments under the Wisconsin Consumer Act.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill prohibits, under certain circumstances, a merchant from imposing a
late payment penalty on a customer in a transaction subject to the Wisconsin
Consumer Act (WCA). Under current law, the WCA applies, with certain exceptions,
to transactions for real or personal property, services, money, or credit that are
entered into for personal, family, or household purposes. In addition, for the WCA
to apply to a transaction, the cash price or amount financed must be $25,000 or less.
Except for certain credit transactions, the WCA does not impose restrictions on
penalties for late or delinquent payments.

Under this bill, if a customer’s payment to a merchant of an amount owed for
a transaction subject to the WCA is received by the merchant no later than 28 days
after the date that the merchant sends the customer a bill for the amount, the
merchant may not impose any charge, fee, penalty, or interest for late or delinquent
payment. In addition, the merchant may not report the customer’s payment as a late
or delinquent payment to any credit reporting agency.

The bill applies to any transaction that is subject to the WCA, including a credit
transaction. Under current law, for certain types of credit transactions, a merchant
is allowed to impose a delinquency charge only if a customer’s payment is not made
on or before the tenth day after its scheduled due date or, if the merchant and
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customer have agreed to defer the amount due, on or before the tenth day after the
deferred due date. Under the bill, a merchant involved in such a credit transaction
may impose a delinquency charge for a payment that is not made on or before the
tenth day after its scheduled due date, but only if the merchant is otherwise allowed
to impose a delinquency charge under the bill as described above. If the merchant
and customer have agreed to defer the amount due, current law, rather than the bill,
applies to the delinquency charge.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 421.109 of the statutes is created to read:

421.109 Late payments. (1) In this section:

(a) “Credit report” means means any written, oral, or other communication of
any information by a credit reporting agency bearing on an individual’s
creditworthiness, credit standing, or credit capacity, which is used or is expected to
be used, or collected in whole or in part, for a purpose specified in 15 USC 1681b or
for the purpose of serving as a factor in establishing the individual’s eligibility for any
credit to be used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes.

(b) “Credit reporting agency” means any person who, for fees, dues, or other
compensation, or on a cooperative nonprofit basis, regularly engages in whole or in
part in the business of assembling or evaluating credit or other information on
individuals for the purpose of preparing credit reports that the credit reporting
agency furnishes to 3rd parties, but does not include any governmental agency whose
records are maintained primarily for traffic safety, law enforcement, or licensing
purposes.

(¢) “Send” means to deposit in the mail, deposit for delivery by a service other

than the United States postal service, or transmit by an electronic mail service.
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(2) If a customer’s payment to a merchant of an amount owed for a consumer
transaction is received by the merchant no later than 28 days after the date that the
merchant sends the customer a bill for the amount, the merchant may not do any of
the following:

(a) Impose any charge, fee, penalty, or interest for late or delinquent payment
of the amount.

(b) Report the customer’s payment as a late or delinquent payment to any credit
reporting agency.

SECTION 2. 422.202 (2m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

422.202 (2m) (a) A creditor may charge, collect and receive other fees and
charges, in addition to the finance charge authorized under s. 422.201, that are
agreed upon by the creditor and the customer. These other fees and charges may
include periodic membership fees, cash advance fees, charges for exceeding a
designated credit limit, charges for late payments; charges for providing copies of
documents and, charges for the return of a dishonored check or other payment

instrument, and, except as provided in s. 421.109, charges for late payments.

SECTION 3. 422.203 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
422.203 (1) With respect to a consumer credit transaction other than one

pursuant to an open-end credit plan, the parties may, subject to s. 421.109, agree to

a delinquency charge on any installment not paid in full on or before its scheduled

due date, except that if a deferral is made under s. 422.204, the parties may agree

to a delinquency charge on any installment not paid in full on or before the 10th day
after its scheduled-or deferred due date in-an-amountnotte. A delinquency charge

under this subsection may not exceed $10 or 5% of the unpaid amount of the

installment, whichever is less.
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SECTION 4. 422.415 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
422.415 (2) (intro.) A change that is adverse to the interests of the customer
with respect to outstanding balances or that imposes or alters a charge permitted

under s. 422.202 (2m), except for a charge for later payment, may be made if any of

the following conditions is met:

SECTION 5. Initial applicability.

(1) This act first applies to consumer transactions that are entered into,
extended, modified, or renewed on the effective date of this subsection.

(END)



