

14

2007 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 33

April 13, 2007 – Introduced by Senators Risser, Erpenbach, Lazich, Lehman, Breske, Roessler and Miller, cosponsored by Representatives Black, Toles, Boyle, Bies, Hebl, Travis, Kerkman, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Pocan, Jeskewitz, Turner and Nygren. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: honoring the University of Wisconsin-Madison men's track and field 1 2 team. 3 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison men's track and field team won the 2007 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Indoor Championship on 4 5 March 10, 2007, in Fayetteville, Arkansas; and 6 Whereas, the Badgers scored 40 points to win its first NCAA title in track and 7 field and the first ever national championship in track and field for a Big Ten 8 Conference school; and 9 Whereas, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association 10 named Head Coach Ed Nuttycombe the Division I Indoor Men's Coach of the Year, 11 after he led the Badgers to the national title and their seventh-consecutive Big Ten 12 championship; and Whereas, senior Chris Solinsky from Stevens Point, Wisconsin, who scored 18 13

of the Badgers' 40 points, broke the school record in the 3,000 meter event and was

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

later named the Division I Men's Track Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association; and

Whereas, senior Joe Detmer, Lodi, Wisconsin native, broke his own record for total points in the heptathlon and a world record in the 1,000 meter event; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature honor the University of Wisconsin–Madison men's track and field team, Head Coach Ed Nuttycombe, assistant coaches, athletic department staff, and the student–athletes for a record–breaking season and a well–deserved national championship.

11 (END)