

2009 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 47

September 30, 2009 – Introduced by Senators Jauch, Miller, Holperin, Hansen, Schultz, Risser and Darling, cosponsored by Representatives Barca, POPE-ROBERTS, PASCH, BERCEAU, ROYS, Hilgenberg, Clark, Jorgensen, Sinicki, Turner, Vos, Pocan, Toles, Zepnick and Ballweg. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: the second anniversary of WisconsinEye's commencement of broadcast
operations.
Whereas, the WisconsinEye network was initiated through joint legislative
study and leadership, incorporated as a private, nonprofit organization and now,
under a seven-year contract with the Wisconsin legislature, serves as a
public-private partnership dedicated to enhancing civic life and citizen access to the
critical workings of state government; and

8 Whereas, the WisconsinEye network offers gavel-to-gavel coverage of all 9 senate and assembly floor sessions, many legislative committee meetings, all 10 supreme court oral arguments and executive branch events through 70 digital 11 camera locations inside the state capitol as well as high-quality public affairs and 12 educational programming from events statewide; and

13 Whereas, the WisconsinEye network during its start-up period provided this 14 award-winning digital content in the form of 40 hours of new, first-run 15 programming weekly streamed live via the Web and broadcast through Charter Cable Channel 995, Time Warner Cable Channel 163, and Wisconsin's BadgerNet
 Converged Network; and

- 2 -

Whereas, the WisconsinEye network is the only state network that receives no direct or indirect state funding and earns its support from a bipartisan donor community including private foundations, commercial distributors, corporations, groups, associations, and individuals to ensure its editorial independence; and

Whereas, the WisconsinEye network has entered its third full year of broadcast
operations and is celebrating groundbreaking coverage of the 2009–2011 state
budget process that marks the first time a complete and verbatim record of the
proceedings has ever been available to the public; now, therefore, be it

11 **Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the 12 Wisconsin legislature commend WisconsinEye, its esteemed board of directors, and 13 its dedicated staff for their devoted efforts to promote and sustain greater citizen 14 engagement in public life; and

Be it further resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide a copy of this
joint resolution to WisconsinEye President and Chief Executive Chris Long and
WisconsinEye Board Members Margaret Farrow, Tim Cullen, Diane Hendricks,
John Laabs, Michael Ley, Jim Riordan, David Sanks, and Dick Vander Woude.

19

(END)