

State of Misconsin 2011 - 2012 LEGISLATURE



## **2011 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 109**

1	Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin Badgers football team on an
2	outstanding 2011 season.
3	Whereas, the 2011 Wisconsin Badgers solidified their record as a college
4	football powerhouse with an impressive 11 and 2 regular season, achieved a
5	double-digit win total in three consecutive seasons for the first time in program
6	history, and won the inaugural Big Ten Championship game, thus earning their
7	second consecutive bid to the Rose Bowl as Big Ten champions; and
8	Whereas, Wisconsin finished the season as a top ten team in the Associated
9	Press poll and ranked fourth nationally in scoring offense and sixth nationally in
10	scoring defense at the end of the regular season; and
11	Whereas, Head Coach Bret Bielema has provided tremendous leadership and
12	was selected as a finalist for the prestigious 2011 Paul "Bear" Bryant award for
13	college football's top coach, the third time in his first six years where he has attained
14	finalist or semi-finalist recognition, with an overall record of 60 and 19 during his
15	tenure; and

February 14, 2012 – Introduced by Representatives JACQUE, WEININGER, BALLWEG, BERNIER, BIES, BROOKS, E. COGGS, HEBL, HINTZ, JORGENSEN, KERKMAN, KUGLITSCH, MARKLEIN, MASON, MURTHA, A. OTT, PETRYK, POCAN, SINICKI, SPANBAUER, STEINEKE, TAUCHEN, C. TAYLOR, TRANEL and WILLIAMS, cosponsored by Senators Galloway, Harsdorf, Lazich, Miller, Olsen, Risser, Schultz and TAYLOR. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Whereas, running back Montee Ball tied Barry Sanders' record for most
2	touchdowns scored in a single season, with 39, was selected as one of five Heisman
3	Trophy finalists for college football's top individual honor, finishing fourth, and was
4	named a first team All-American by countless organizations; and
5	Whereas, senior quarterback Russell Wilson, in just his first season with the
6	team, put forward a commanding season-long performance and was named a
7	consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection and the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the
8	Year in the Big Ten, setting the NCAA single-season record for pass efficiency and
9	establishing new school records for passing yards, touchdown passes, completions,
10	and yards of total offense on the way to becoming a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm
11	Award finalist and top ten finisher in Heisman Trophy balloting; and
12	Whereas, the Wisconsin Badgers had a total of six players earn All-American
13	recognition this season, including first team offensive linemen Peter Konz and Kevin
14	Zeitler, a school-record six players chosen for the Senior Bowl, and a record nine
15	Badgers named to the All–Big Ten First Team; now, therefore, be it
16	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the legislature
17	commends the student-athletes, coaches, and administrators of the University of
18	Wisconsin Badgers football team, and the entire student body, for their remarkable
19	season, Big Ten Championship, and a thrilling Rose Bowl appearance.
20	(END)

- 2 -