1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

 $\begin{array}{c} LRB\text{--}5657/1\\ RAC\text{:}emw \end{array}$ 

## 2017 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 118

March 22, 2018 - Introduced by Representatives Zamarripa, C. Taylor, Anderson, Barca, Berceau, Brostoff, Considine, Crowley, Fields, Hebl, Hesselbein, Kolste, Meyers, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Petryk, Riemer, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Subeck, Vruwink, Zepnick and Wachs, cosponsored by Senators Schachtner, L. Taylor, Bewley, Carpenter, Ringhand, Risser and Vinehout. Referred to Committee on Rules.

**Relating to:** proclaiming March 2018 as women's history month.

Whereas, American women of every race, class, and ethnic background have made historic contributions to the growth and strength of our nation in countless recorded and unrecorded ways; and

Whereas, American women have played, and continue to play, a critical economic, cultural, and social role in every sphere of life and constitute a significant portion of the labor force working inside and outside the home; and

Whereas, American women have played a unique role throughout the history of the nation by providing the majority of the volunteer labor force; and

Whereas, American women were particularly important in the establishment of early philanthropic and cultural institutions in our nation; and

Whereas, American women have been leaders, not only in securing their own rights of suffrage and equal opportunity, but also in the abolitionist movement, the emancipation movement, the industrial labor movement, the civil rights movement,

1	and the peace movement, all of which have created a fairer and more just society for
2	all; and
3	Whereas, in 1925 not one but three women were the first female assemblymen
4	to be elected to the Wisconsin legislature; and
5	Whereas, Assemblyman Mildred Barber, a Republican teacher, Assemblyman
6	Helen Brooks, a Republican teacher, and Assemblyman Helen Thompson, a
7	Republican teacher and hotel keeper, paved the way for other female leaders to hold
8	legislative positions in Wisconsin; and
9	Whereas, Democrat Marcia P. Coggs was elected to the state assembly in 1977,
10	becoming the first African American woman to serve in the assembly; and
11	Whereas, Democrat Gwen Moore, elected in 1992, became the first African
12	American woman elected to the state senate; and
13	Whereas, in 2014 Representative Pat Strachota became the first woman to
14	serve as assembly majority leader; and
15	Whereas, in 1985 Senator Susan Engeleiter became the first Republican
16	woman to be senate minority leader, and she was the youngest woman ever elected
17	to the Wisconsin legislature; and
18	Whereas, in 2003 Senator Mary Panzer became the first Republican woman to
19	be senate majority leader, and in 2005 Senator Judith Robson became the first
20	Democratic woman to be senate minority leader and in 2007 became the first
21	Democratic woman to be senate majority leader, making them the highest ranking
22	women legislators; and
23	Whereas, Margaret Farrow was the first Republican woman to be lieutenant
24	governor and Barbara Lawton was the first Democratic woman to be lieutenant
25	governor in Wisconsin's history; and

1	Whereas, in 1996 Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson became the first woman to
2	serve as chief justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court; and
3	Whereas, Tammy Baldwin became the first woman in the history of Wisconsin
4	to be elected to the United States Senate and the first openly LGBTQ person to serve
5	in the United States Senate; and
6	Whereas, the role of American women continues to evolve and their positive
7	contributions to our culture, society, and government continue to grow and inspire
8	future generations; now, therefore, be it
9	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the month of March
10	2018 shall be designated as "Women's History Month."
11	(END)