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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Chiropractic Examining Board

Rules adopted revising ch. Chir 2, relating to passing and
retaking the practical examination.

Finding of emergency
The Chiropractic Examining Board finds that preservation

of the public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates
putting the rule amendments described into effect prior to the
time the amendments would take effect if the agency
complied with the notice, hearing and publication
requirements established for rule−making in ch. 227, Stats.
The facts warranting adoption of these rule amendments
under s. 227.24, Stats., are as follows:

On December 19, 2002, the Chiropractic Examining Board
adopted the national practical examination conducted by the
National Board of Chiropractic Examiners as the board’s
practical examination for determining clinical competence in
Wisconsin.  The board has determined that the national
practical examination is a better measure of competence than
was the state examination previously administered by the
board and that the public health, safety and welfare warrant
that the national practical examination be instituted
immediately.  The rule changes herein conform the
terminology used in the board’s rule with the textual
description of the national practical examination and resolve
doubts about the examination grades issued to applicants who
complete the national practical examination.

The national practical examination describes the
examination parts in different terms than are used in s. Chir

3.02, although the national practical examination covers the
practice areas described in the existing rule.  The rule
amendments to s. Chir 2.03 (2) (intro.) resolve this difference.

This order deletes the reference in the board’s current rule
to passing “each part” of the examination.  The national
practical examination has one part and an applicant receives
one grade for the part.  In utilizing the national examination,
the board approves the grading and grading procedures of the
National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.  Grade review
procedures in s. Chir 2.09 are superfluous and the rule is
repealed.  The rule requiring reexamination is modified to
avoid confusion over examination parts.  The board is
proceeding with promulgating these rule changes through a
proposed permanent rule−making order.

Publication Date: June 28, 2003
Effective Date: June 28, 2003
Expiration Date: November 25, 2003
Hearing Date: October 16, 2003
Extension Through: January 23, 2004

Employment Relations Commission

Rules adopted amending ss. ERC 1.06 (1) to (3), 10.21 (1)
to (5) and 20.21 (1) to (4), relating to increased filing fees.
Finding of emergency

The Employment Relations Commission finds that an
emergency exists and that rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the emergency
is as follows:

1. The Employment Relations Commission has a statutory
responsibility in the private, municipal and state sectors for
timely and peaceful resolution of collective bargaining
disputes and for serving as an expeditious and impartial labor
relations tribunal.

2. Effective July 26, 2003, 2003 Wisconsin Act 33 reduced
the Employment Relations Commission’s annual budget by
$400,000 in General Program Revenue (GPR) and eliminated
4.0 GPR supported positions.  These reductions lowered the
Employment Relations Commission’s annual base GPR
funding level and the number of GPR supported positions by
more than 16%.

Act 33 also abolished the Personnel Commission and
transferred certain of the Personnel Commission’s dispute
resolution responsibilities to the Employment Relations
Commission.

3. 2003 Wisconsin Act 33 increased the Employment
Relations Commission’s Program Revenue (PR) funding and
positions by $237,800 and 2.0 PR positions respectively.  The
revenue to support these increases will be provided by
increasing existing filing fees for certain dispute resolution
services.

4. Unless the emergency rule making procedures of s.
227.24, Stats., are utilized by the Employment Relations
Commission to provide the increased filing fee revenue
needed to support the  2.0 PR positions, the Commission’s
ability to provide timely and expeditious dispute resolution
services will be significantly harmed.
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The emergency rules increase existing filing fees for
Commission dispute resolution services in amounts necessary
to fund 2.0 Program Revenue positions as authorized by 2003
Wisconsin Act 33.

Sections 111.09, 111.71, 111.94, 227.11 and 227.24.,
Stats., authorize promulgation of these emergency rules.

Publication Date: August 25, 2003
Effective Date: September 15, 2003
Expiration Date: January 22, 2004
Hearing Date: November 20, 2003

Health and Family Services
(Management, Technology, Chs. HFS 1—)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 15, relating to assessments
on occupied, licensed beds in nursing homes and intermediate
care facilities for the mentally retarded (ICF−MR).

Exemption from finding of emergency
The legislature by section 9124 (3) (b) of 2003 Wisconsin

Act 33 provides an exemption from a finding of emergency
for the adoption of the rule.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

2003 Wisconsin Act 33 modified section 50.14 of the
Wisconsin Statutes, relating to assessments on occupied,
licensed beds in nursing homes and intermediate care
facilities for the mentally retarded (ICF−MR.)

Under section 50.14 of the Wisconsin Statutes, nursing
facilities (nursing homes and ICF−MRs) are assessed a
monthly fee for each occupied bed.  Facilities owned or
operated by the state, federal government, or located out of
state are exempt from the assessment.  Beds occupied by a
resident whose nursing home costs are paid by Medicare are
also exempt.  The rate, specified in section 50.14 (2) of the
statutes, was $32 per month per occupied bed for nursing
homes and $100 per month per occupied bed for ICF−MRs.

2003 Wisconsin Act 33 made the following changes to
section 50.14:

1. It broadened the scope of which types of long−term care
facilities must pay a monetary assessment to the Department
by:

− eliminating exemptions from being subject to the
assessments of facilities owned or operated by the state or
federal government, and beds occupied by residents whose
care is reimbursed in whole or in part by medicare under 42
USC 1395 to 1395ccc; and

− eliminating the exclusion of unoccupied facility beds
from facility bed count calculations.

2. It increased the per bed fee limit the Department may
charge subject ICF−MRs, from $100 per bed to $435 per bed
in fiscal year 2003−04 and $445 per bed in fiscal year
2004−05.

3. It increased the per bed fee limit the Department may
charge subject nursing homes, from $32 per bed to $75 per
bed.

4. It establishes the requirement that amounts collected in
excess of $14.3 million in fiscal year 2003−04, $13.8 million
in fiscal year 2004−05, and, beginning July 1, 2005, amounts
in excess of 45% of the amount collected be deposited in the
Medical Assistance Trust Fund.

5. It specifies that facility beds that have been delicensed
under section 49.45 (6m) (ap) 1. of the statutes, but not
deducted from the nursing home’s licensed bed capacity
under section 49.45 (6m) (ap) 4. a., are to be included in the
number of beds subject to the assessment.

In response to these statutory changes, by this order, the
Department is modifying chapter HFS 15 accordingly.

The Department is also proceeding with promulgating
these rule changes on a permanent basis through a proposed
permanent rulemaking order.

Publication Date: July 28, 2003
Effective Date: July 28, 2003
Expiration Date: December 25, 2003
Hearing Date: October 15, 2003

Health and Family Services 
(Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 100—)

Rules adopted revising chs. HFS 101 to 107, relating to the
Medicaid Family Planning Demonstration Project.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that
an emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

On June 25, 1999, the Department submitted a request for
a waiver of federal law to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS), the agency within the United
States Department of Health and Human Services that
controls states’ use of Medicaid funds.  On June 14, 2002, the
Centers for Medicaid and Medicare granted the waiver,
effective January 1, 2003.  The waiver allows the state to
expand Medicaid services by providing coverage of family
planning services for females of child−bearing age who
would not otherwise be eligible for Medicaid coverage.
Under the waiver, a woman of child−bearing age whose
income does not exceed 185% of the federal poverty line will
be eligible for most of the family planning services currently
available under Medicaid, as described in s. HFS 107.21.
Through this expansion of coverage, the Department hopes to
reduce the number of unwanted pregnancies in Wisconsin.

Department rules for the operation of the Family Planning
Demonstration Project must be in effect before the program
begins.  The program statute, s. 49.45 (24r) of the statutes,
became effective on October 14, 1997.  It directed the
Department to request a federal waiver of certain
requirements of the federal Medicaid Program to permit the
Department to implement the Family Planning
Demonstration Project not later than July 1, 1998, or the
effective date of the waiver, whichever date was later.  After
CMS granted the waiver, the Department determined that the
Family Planning Demonstration Project could not be
implemented prior to January 1, 2003, and CMS approved this
starting date.  Upon approval of the waiver, the Department
began developing policies for the project and subsequently
the rules, which are in this order.  The Department is
publishing the rules by emergency order so the rules take
effect in February 2003, rather than at the later date required
by promulgating permanent rules.  In so doing, the
Department can provide health care coverage already
authorized by CMS as quickly as possible to women currently
not receiving family planning services and unable to pay for
them.  The Department is also proceeding with promulgating
these rule changes on a permanent basis through a proposed
permanent rulemaking order.
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Publication Date: January 31, 2003
Effective Date: January 31, 2003*
Expiration Date: June 30, 2003
Hearing Dates: April 25 & 28, 2003

*  The Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules
suspended this emergency rule on April 30, 2003

Health and Family Services
(Health, Chs. HFS 110—)

Rules were adopted revising ch. HFS 144, relating to
immunization of students.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that
an emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The Department has a rulemaking order (CR03−033)
containing a variety of relatively minor changes to over a
dozen chapters of administrative rules administered by the
Department.  The Department had anticipated that CR03−033
would be in effect on or before September 1, 2003.  One of the
proposed changes in CR03−033 is a provision that changes
school immunization standards.  Clearinghouse Rule 03−033
has been delayed for reasons unrelated to the provisions in this
order.  Consequently, the identical provisions in CR03−033
will not be in effect on September 1, 2003.  For reasons stated
subsequently in this analysis, unless these changes to the
minimum immunization requirements in chapter HFS 144,
Immunization of Students, are in effect September 1, 2003,
needless confusion and unintended effects will result.

In 2002, the Department’s Wisconsin Immunization
Program requested minor language changes to chapter HFS
144 as part of a planned “omnibus” rulemaking order
containing a variety of proposed relatively minor changes.
The HFS 144 proposed rule changes affect time sensitive
vaccine requirements and were made so the Department’s
immunization requirements adhere to new vaccine
recommendations made by the federal Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices (ACIP.)  For example, the current
requirement for Measles−Mumps−Rubella vaccine (MMR) is
two doses with the first dose received on or after the first
birthday.  New ACIP recommendations allow a 4−day grace
period so children receiving doses four days before their first
birthday would be compliant.  The current requirements in
chapter HFS 144 do not accept as valid a dose of MMR that
was given even one day prior to the first birthday.  Similar time
sensitive changes impact the vaccine requirement for a dose
of DTaP vaccine after the fourth birthday and a dose of Hib
vaccine after the first birthday.

These changes need to be in place before the start of the
new 2003−04 school year.  Although the changes are minor in
nature, they have a significant effect on the law’s enforcement
at the day care and school level.  Again, using MMR as an
example, without the change, the school will count the child
that received the MMR one day before the first birthday as
non−compliant.  Non−compliance can, pursuant to s. 252.04
(5), Stats., result in exclusion from school or, pursuant to s.
252.04 (6), Stats., the name of the non−complaint student
being turned over to the local district attorney’s office for
possible court action against the parents.  Therefore, the child
will either need to be re−immunized or the parent will need to

sign a waiver, pursuant to s. 252.04 (3), Stats.  The
re−immunization requirement puts the school at odds with the
health care provider that is currently acting in accordance with
the revised ACIP recommendations.  The signing of a waiver
is not a desirable option as the school reporting process to the
Department counts that child as waiving all vaccine
requirements and will yield misleading information as to the
Immunization Law compliance level of Wisconsin day care
and student populations.  The Department’s Immunization
Program sends Immunization Law packets to the schools in
mid−August.  These packets include the information the
schools need for enforcement of the law when school starts in
September.  It is imperative that the Department have the rule
changes in place before the start of the school year and include
the information in the school packets.  Therefore, the
Department is issuing this emergency order to allow school
districts and health professionals to act in a timely manner.

Publication Date: August 15, 2003
Effective Date: August 15, 2003
Expiration Date: January 12, 2004
Hearing Date: September 12, 2003

Insurance

Rules adopted creating s. Ins 8.49, relating to Small
Employer Uniform Employee Application.
Finding of emergency

The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency
exists and that the rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The rule and the uniform small employer application are
required by statute to be available by August 1, 2003.  Due to
implementation of 45 CFR 164 of HIPAA privacy provisions
for covered entities, including health plans, and the
commissioner’s efforts to obtain clarification regarding
authorization for release of personally identifiable health
information provisions from the Office of Civil Rights a
Division of Centers Medicare & Medicaid Services charged
with enforcement of the privacy portions of HIPAA, it is not
possible to complete the permanent rule process in time to
meet the statutory requirement.

The commissioner intends to file the permanent rule
corresponding to this emergency rule, clearinghouse No.
03−055, with the secretary of state within the next 150 days.
Because the uniform application form is required to be
available by August 1, 2003, it is necessary to promulgate the
rule on an emergency basis.  A hearing on the permanent rule
was held on July 11, 2003, in accordance with s. 227.17, Wis.
Stat., and the commissioner has had benefit of reviewing
public comments and the clearinghouse report prior to issuing
this emergency rule.

Publication Date: August 1, 2003
Effective Date: August 1, 2003
Expiration Date: December 29, 2003

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)

Rules were adopted revising ch. NR 10, relating to Chronic
Wasting Disease (CWD) in Wisconsin.
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Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The state legislature has
delegated to the department rule − making authority in 2001
Wisconsin Act 108 to control the spread of Chronic Wasting
Disease (CWD) in Wisconsin. CWD, bovine tuberculosis and
other forms of transmissible diseases pose a risk to the health
of the state’s deer herd and citizens and is a threat to the
economic infrastructure of the department, the state, it’s
citizens and businesses. These restrictions on deer baiting and
feeding need to be implemented through the emergency rule
procedure to help control and prevent the spread of CWD,
bovine tuberculosis and other forms of transmissible diseases
in Wisconsin’s deer herd.

Publication Date: September 11, 2003
Effective Date: September 11, 2003
Expiration Date: February 8, 2004
Hearing Date: October 13, 2003

Revenue

Rule adopted revising s. Tax 18.07, relating to the 2004
assessment of agricultural land.
Finding of emergency

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

Pursuant to s. 70.32 (2r) (c), Stats., the assessment of
agricultural land is assessed according to the income that
could be generated from its rental for agricultural use.
Wisconsin Chapter Tax 18 specifies the formula that is used
to estimate the net rental income per acre.  The formula
estimates the net income per acre of land in corn production
based on a 5−year average corn price per bushel, cost of corn
production per bushel and corn yield per acre.  The net income
is divided by a capitalization rate that is based on a 5−year
average interest rate for a medium−sized, 1−year adjustable
rate mortgage and net tax rate for the property tax levy two
years prior to the assessment year.

For reasons of data availability, there is a three−year lag in
determining the 5−year average.  Thus, the 2003 use value is
based on the 5−year average corn price, cost and yield for the
1996−2000 period, and the capitalization rate is based on the
5−year average interest rate for the 1998−2002 period.  The
2004 use value is to be based on the 5−year average corn price,
cost and yield for the 1997−2001 period, and the
capitalization rate is to be based on the 1999−2003 period.

The data for the 1997−2001 period yields negative net
income per acre due to declining corn prices and increasing
costs of corn production.  As a result, reliance on data for the
1997−2001 period will result in negative use values.

The department is issuing this emergency rule in order to
ensure positive and stable assessments of agricultural land for
2004.

Publication Date: October 3, 2003
Effective Date: October 3, 2003
Expiration Date: March 1, 2004
Hearing Date: December 16, 2003

Workforce Development
(Workforce Solutions, Chs. DWD 11—59)

Rules adopted revising ch. DWD 59, relating to the child
care local pass−through program.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

2003 Wisconsin Act 33 allocated federal child care funds
in a manner that assumes an increase in the match rate paid by
local governments and tribes receiving grants under the child
care local pass−through program. Budget documents
prepared by the Legislative Fiscal Bureau specify that the
budget option chosen requires that local governments and
tribes contribute matching funds at a rate of 52% in
2003−2004, and slightly higher in 2004−2005. Chapter DWD
59 currently requires a minimum match rate of the state’s
federal medical assistance percentage rate, which is
approximately 42%. The match rate for the pass−through
program must be increased immediately so Wisconsin does
not lose valuable federal child care dollars. These dollars help
preserve the welfare of the state by ensuring that low−income
families have access to quality affordable child care.

2003 Wisconsin Act 33 also reduced funding to the child
care local pass−through program by 86%. Chapter DWD 59
requires a 2−step grant process wherein current grantees
receive up to 75% of the funds under a noncompetitive
process for 2 years following the receipt of the initial grant,
and can apply, along with any eligible jurisdiction in the state,
for the remaining 25% as initial grantees. The dramatically
reduced funding for the pass−through program renders the
current Chapter DWD 59 requirement to fund continuing
grants while reserving funds for a new statewide request for
proposals unwieldy, wasteful, and obsolescent. If the current
process remains in place, it would not only waste state and
local staff resources on extremely low−value administrative
processes, it would waste public funds at a time when they are
in short supply. This could further undermine state and local
efforts to ensure a reasonable supply of reliable and quality
child care for families who depend on this service in order to
work. This emergency rule allows all available dollars to be
used for continuing grants if there is insufficient funding to
provide continuing grants of at least 50% of the eligible
grantees’ initial grant levels from the previous 2 grant cycles.

These changes are ordered as an emergency rule so they are
effective before the new grant cycle begins on October 1,
2003. Delaying the next grant cycle until the permanent rule
is effective is not a viable option because local governments
need to know whether they will receive continued funding or
will be forced to dismantle ongoing programs and lay−off
staff when the current grant cycle ends on September 30. Also,
federal law requires that the federal funds be matched and
spent within the federal fiscal year of October 1 to September
30.

Publication Date: October 7, 2003
Effective Date: October 7, 2003
Expiration Date: March 5, 2004
Hearing Date: November 12, 2003
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Workforce Development
(Civil Rights, Chs. DWD 218−225)

Rules adopted repealing chs. PC 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7 and
revising chs. DWD 218 and 225 and creating ch. DWD 224,
relating to the transfer of personnel commission
responsibilities to the equal rights division.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

2003 Wisconsin Act 33 transfers the responsibility for
processing certain employment−related complaints against
state respondents from the Personnel Commission (PC) to the
Equal Rights Division (ERD) effective upon publication of
2003 Wisconsin Act 33. The ERD needs rules governing the
procedures for processing these complaints effective
immediately to ensure that service is not seriously delayed by
this administrative change. The PC expects to transfer
approximately 200 pending cases to ERD immediately.

2003 Wisconsin Act 33 transfers responsibility from the
PC to ERD for 9 different types of employment−related
complaints against state respondents. The ERD has had
responsibility for processing complaints against nonstate

respondents for 8 of the 9 types of complaints. This order
makes minor amendments to existing rules to include state
respondents and creates a new rule chapter on whistleblower
protection for state employees, which is the one issue that
ERD has not previously handled because the law does not
apply to nonstate respondents. The newly−created
whistleblower rules are similar to the existing fair
employment rules.

A nonstatutory provision of 2003 Wisconsin Act 33
transfers existing PC rules to ERD. This order repeals those
rules. Adopting the PC rules would result in different
procedures for cases against state respondents and nonstate
respondents for no logical reason. The dual system would be
difficult to administer and confusing to complainants, many
of whom are pro se. Even if ERD adopted the PC rules, an
emergency rule would be necessary to remove confusing
irrelevant and obsolete information.

This order repeals the PC rules and revises ERD rules by
emergency rule to ensure that a clear, logical, and fair process
is in place for handling the newly−transferred responsibilities
for protecting Wisconsin’s workforce from discrimination
and retaliation.

Publication Date: August 5, 2003
Effective Date: August 5, 2003
Expiration Date: January 2, 2004
Hearing Date: October 27, 2003
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Scope statements

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject
The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer

Protection gives notice, pursuant to s. 227.135, Stats., that it
proposes to modify an administrative rule as follows:
Pesticide Product Restrictions; Atrazine Pesticides.

Objective of the rule.  Regulate the use of atrazine
pesticides to protect groundwater and assure compliance with
Wisconsin’s Groundwater Law.  Update current rule to reflect
groundwater−sampling results obtained during the past year.
Renumber and reorganize the current rule, as necessary.
Policy analysis

DATCP must regulate the use of pesticides to assure
compliance with groundwater standards under ch. 160, Stats.
Groundwater standards are established by the Department of
Natural Resources under ch. NR 140, Wis. Adm. Code.  DNR
has established a groundwater enforcement standard of 3
µg/liter for atrazine and its chlorinated metabolites.

DATCP must prohibit atrazine uses that result in
groundwater contamination levels that exceed the DNR
enforcement standard under s. 160.25, Stats.  DATCP must
prohibit atrazine use in the area where the groundwater
contamination has occurred unless DATCP determines to a
reasonable certainty, based on the greater weight of credible
evidence, that alternative measures will achieve compliance
with the DNR enforcement standard.

Currently, under ch. ATCP 30, Wis. Adm. Code, the use of
atrazine is prohibited in 102 designated areas (approximately
1,200,000 acres), including large portions of the Lower
Wisconsin River Valley, Dane County and Columbia County.
The current rules also restrict atrazine use rates and handling
practices, including the timing of applications on a statewide
basis.  The statewide restrictions are designed to minimize the
potential for groundwater contamination, as required under s.
160.25, Stats.

Over the next year, DATCP may identify additional wells
containing atrazine and its chlorinated metabolites at and
above the current DNR enforcement standard.  In order to
comply with ch. 160, Stats., DATCP must take further action
to prohibit or regulate atrazine use in the areas where these
wells are located.  DATCP proposes to amend ch. ATCP 30,
Wis. Adm. Code to add or remove prohibition areas or take
other appropriate regulatory action in response to any new
groundwater findings.
Policy alternatives

No Change.  If DATCP takes no action, current rules will
remain in effect.  However, DATCP would take no new
regulatory action in response to new groundwater findings
obtained this year. This would not adequately protect
groundwater in the newly discovered contaminated areas, nor
would it meet DATCP’s statutory obligations.  Conversely,
DATCP would be unable to repeal the current restrictions on
atrazine use where indicated by groundwater findings.

Statutory authority
DATCP proposes to revise ch. ATCP 30, Wis. Adm. Code,

under authority of ss. 93.07, 94.69, and 160.19 through
160.25, Stats.
Staff time required

DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 0.6 FTE
staff to develop this rule.  This includes investigation,
drafting, preparing related documents, coordinating advisory
committee meetings, holding public hearings and
communicating with affected persons and groups.  DATCP
will use existing staff to develop this rule.

Financial Institutions − Banking

Subject
Chapter DFI—Bkg 17 relating to the process for the

organization of interim banks under ch. 221, Stats.
Policy analysis

The objective of the rule is to create ch. DFI—Bkg 17.  The
purpose of the rule is to set forth the process for the
organization of interim banks under ch. 221, Stats.  The rule
establishes documentation to be submitted to and issued by
the division, and requirements regarding dissenters rights,
capital structure and shareholders notices.
Statutory authority

Sections 221.0704 and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Staff time required

80 hours.

Natural Resources

Subject
Revisions to ch. NR 326, relating to piers, boat shelters and

swim rafts in navigable waterways.
Policy analysis

The Department proposes to revise the Pier Standards of
NR 326, to codify common law and existing guidelines
regarding pier width and number of boats allowed.   The
Department also proposes to develop standards and
definitions for public marinas and municipalities, in order to
provide flexibility on pier dimensions and density for those
facilities that serve a public purpose and/or provide public
access.

The legislature has expressed interest in this issue in recent
years, and proposed legislation to grandfather existing piers
and require the Department to do rulemaking.  Groups
impacted will include waterfront property owners and
developers, pier manufacturers and dealers, municipalities
with waterfront development, marina operations, and citizens
who use public waters for navigation, hunting and fishing.

Section 30.13, Stats. provides that a riparian proprietor
may place a pier without a permit, as long as the pier does not
interfere with public rights or those of other riparians, does not
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extend beyond a pierhead line or violate a local ordinance, and
does not obstruct free movement of water.  NR 326, Adm.
Code contains standards for determining whether a pier will
meet the 30.13 requirements, including pier length.  A
waterfront property owner’s shoreline development is also
limited by the common law concept of “reasonable use”.
Since NR 326 was adopted in 1981, the Bureau has issued
Program Guidance to assist staff in evaluating whether a pier
may interfere with public rights, and whether it constitutes a
“reasonable use” of public waters.  Guidelines for reasonable
use were developed for pier width and allowable number of
moored boats, and these guidelines have been in regular use
for 12 years.

We propose to put these guidelines into NR326 as
standards, in order to codify our continuing practice, simplify
program implementation and enforcement, and provide
fairness and clarity to waterfront owners who wish to place
piers in public waters.  As part of this effort, we will need to
develop a mechanism to address existing structures, and
create separate standards for public marinas and
municipalities to allow some flexibility for facilities that
provide public access.
Statutory authority

Sections 30.12 and 30.13, Stats.
Staff time required

Department staff will need approximately 180 hours for
this rule revision, not including time and travel for 6 proposed
public hearings.

Natural Resources

Subject
Chapter NR 542 pertaining to the Recycling Grants to

Responsible Units.
Policy analysis

The revisions to ch. NR 542, Recycling Grants to
Responsible Units, will make the rule consistent with changes
in Section 287.23, Wis. Stats.  Chapter NR 542 contains rules
for administering recycling grants to Responsible Units.
Responsible Units are comprised of one or more local units of
government and can receive grants to offset eligible costs
associated with the administration and operation of their
approved recycling programs.

As now envisioned, ch. NR 542 revisions will update the
following rule sections: applicability; distribution of grant
assistance; grant assistance application; grant payments; and
dispute resolution and arbitration.
Statutory Authority

s. 287.23, Stats.
Staff time required

350 hours.

Psychology Examining Board

Subject
Objective of the rule. To clarify existing interpretations of

rules and to provide more information to the profession in rule
form.  Because the Department of Regulation and Licensing
is adopting a system of periodic rule submissions, this Scope
Statement will serve as an umbrella for other relatively minor
rule changes that may be identified and appropriately
included for administrative efficiency.

Policy analysis
No important or controversial policies would be affected

by these rule changes.  At the time this Scope Statement is
drafted, the topics include a note regarding the length of time
to retain records, a clarification of the purposes for which a
student should be considered a ”client”, a clarification of the
residency requirement for an educational program, and the
removal of confusing language regarding continuing
education courses.
Statutory Authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 455.065 and 455.08,
Stats.
Staff time required

Rule development: 12 hours of staff time and 8 hours of
section member time.

Changes to application forms and procedures: 4 hours of
staff time.

Communication to the profession through publications and
web page information:

8 hours of staff time.
Communication to the profession via responses to phone

calls and e−mails:
12 hours of staff time.
Total: 44 hours.

Regulation and Licensing

Subject
Uniform reexamination restrictions and other penalties for

applicants who cheat on examinations.
Objective of the rule. This rule creates uniform policies and

procedures concerning cheating on credentialing
examinations, and clarifies offenses and penalties for
cheating.  This uniform rule would apply to all applicants
seeking a credential from the department, and examining
board or an affiliated credentialing board.
Policy analysis

Cheating on credentialing examinations is an ongoing and
significant problem.  There are a growing number of new and
alternative ways to cheat available to applicants through new
technology.  Current rules vary in specificity and are not
updated to deal with current technology.  In order to provide
better monitoring of individuals who are required to take
credentialing examinations and to avoid confusion in testing
and reexamination procedures, the Department of Regulation
and Licensing finds it necessary to create a uniform standard
for testing.  Promulgation of a single rule would combine best
practices into one regulation and would, in addition, avoid the
need to update and promulgate separate identical rules for
each credentialing authority.
Statutory Authority

Sections 227.11 (2), 440.06 and 440.07, Stats.
Staff time required

100 hours.

Workforce Development

Subject
The adjustment of thresholds for application of prevailing

wage rates and payment and performance assurance
requirements.
Policy analysis

When a state agency or local governmental unit constructs
a public works project, it must obtain a prevailing wage rate
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determination from the Department of Workforce
Development and require that the contractors and
subcontractors on the project pay their employees in
accordance with those wage rates. Sections 66.0903 (5) and
103.49, Stats., set initial estimated project cost thresholds for
application of prevailing wage rates and require that DWD
adjust the thresholds each year in proportion to any change in
construction costs since the thresholds were last determined.
Pursuant to s. DWD 290.15, the threshold adjustment is based
on changes in the construction cost index published in the
Engineering News−Record, a construction trade publication.
The thresholds for application of the prevailing wage rate
laws will be adjusted based on a 3.3% increase in the
construction cost index since the thresholds were last
adjusted.

Section 779.14, Stats., sets payment and performance
assurance requirements that apply to contracts for the

performance of labor or furnishing materials for a public
improvement or public work. Section 779.14 (1s), Stats.,
requires the department to adjust the thresholds for
application of various requirements in proportion to any
change in construction costs since the last adjustment. These
threshold adjustments will also be based on changes in the
construction cost index published in the Engineering
News−Record. The thresholds for the performance assurance
requirements in s. 779.14, Stats., will be adjusted based on a
6.13% increase in the construction cost index since the
thresholds were last adjusted.
Statutory authority

Sections 66.0903 (5), 103.49 (3g), 779.14 (1s), and 227.11,
Stats.
Staff time required

Less than 20 hours.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Rule Submittal Date
On December 11, 2003, the Department of

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection submitted
a proposed rule to the Wisconsin Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends chs. ATCP 10, 11 and 12,

relating to captive wildlife.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings on the proposed rule will be held on

January 29, February 3 and 5, 2003.

Contact
Melissa Mace
Animal Health Division
608−224−4883

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Rule Submittal Date
On December 11, 2003, the Department of

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection submitted
a proposed rule to the Wisconsin Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends ch. ATCP 35, relating to the

Agricultural Chemical Cleanup Program.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings on the proposed rule will be held on

January 22, 2004.

Contact
Duane Klein
Agricultural Resource Division
608−224−4519

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Rule Submittal Date
On December 11, 2003, the Department of

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection submitted
a proposed rule to the Wisconsin Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends ch. ATCP 40, relating to

fertilizer tonnage fees − agricultural chemical cleanup
surcharge.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings on the proposed rule will be held on

January 22, 2004.

Contact
Duane Klein
Agricultural Resource Division
608−224−4519

Corrections

Rule Submittal Date
On December 12, 2003, the Department of

Corrections submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends ch. DOC 346, relating to

juvenile detention facilities in juvenile portions of county
jails.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearing is required under s. 227.16 (1), Stats.,

and will be scheduled at a later date.
The organizational unit that is primarily responsible

for promulgation of the rules is Office of Detention
Facilities, Office of the Secretary.

Contact
Kathryn Anderson
Assistant Legal Counsel
608 240−5049

Natural Resources

Rule Submittal Date
On December 5, 2003, the Department of Natural

Resources submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends chs. NR 405, 408 and 484,

relating to incorporation of federal changes to the air
permitting program.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings on the proposed rule are required and

will be held January 22, 23, 28 and 29, 2004.

Contact
Jeff Hanson
Bureau of Air Management
608−266−6876
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Transportation

Rule Submittal Date
On December 12, 2003, the Department of

Transportation submitted a proposed rule to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends chs. Trans 149 and 305,

relating to titling and registration of homemade
reconstructed or repaired salvage vehicles.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is not required.
The Division of State Patrol is the organizational unit

responsible for promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact
Julie Johnson
Paralegal
608−266−8810

Transportation

Rule Submittal Date
On December 12, 2003, the Department of

Transportation submitted a proposed rule to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends ch. Trans 276, relating to

allowing the operation of double bottoms and certain
other vehicles on specified highways.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and schedule for January

20, 2004.
The Division of Transportation Infrastructure

Development, Bureau of Highway Operations is the
organizational unit responsible for promulgation of the
proposed rule.

Contact
Julie Johnson
Paralegal
608−266−8810

Workforce Development

Rule Submittal Date
On December 15, 2003, the Department of Workforce

Development submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends ch. DWD 80, relating to

worker’s compensation.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on
January 16, 2004.

The DWD’s Worker’s Compensation Division is the
organizational unit responsible for promulgation of the
proposed rule.

Contact
Elaine Pridgen
608−267−9403
Email:  elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 03− 121]
The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection announces that it will hold public
hearings on a proposed rule related to captive wildlife and
animal health.  The department will hold three hearings at the
time and places shown below.  The department invites the
public to attend the hearings and comment on the proposed
rule.  Following the public hearing, the hearing record will
remain open until February 13, 2004, for additional written
comments.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Animal Health, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708, or by calling (608)
224−4883.  Copies will also be available at the hearings.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by January 20, 2004, by writing to Melissa Mace,
Division of Animal Health, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4883.  Alternatively, you
may contact the Department TDD at (608) 224−5058.
Handicap access is available at the hearings.

Hearings are scheduled:
Thursday, January 29, 2004, 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
WDATCP Regional Office
3610 Oakwood Hills Parkway
Eau Claire, WI  54701−7754
Handicapped accessible 

Tuesday, February 3, 2004, 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Second Floor Conference Room 266
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI  53718
Handicapped accessible

Thursday, February 5, 2004, 2:00 p.m. until 4:00 p.m.
Green Bay State Office Building
200 North Jefferson Street
Room152−B
Green Bay, WI  54301
Handicapped accessible

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07 (1), 93.07 (10) and (10m),
95.20, 95.22 (2), 95.45 (4) (c) and (5), 95.55 (5) (a) and (6),
95.57, 100.20 (2) and 169.01 (7), Stats.

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 93.06 (1m) and (1p), 93.07 (10),
93.07 (10m), 95.22, 95.45, 95.55, 95.57, 100.20 and 169.01
(7), Stats.

This rule does all the following:

• Implements Wisconsin’s Captive Wildlife Law (2001
Wis. Act 56), which took effect on January 1, 2003.

•  Modifies related animal health rules administered by the
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(DATCP).

• Coordinates animal disease control activities of DATCP
and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR).

Background
The Captive Wildlife Law (2001 Wis. Act 56) strengthens

and clarifies DNR regulation of captive wildlife operations.
It also harmonizes DNR regulations with general animal
health laws administered by DATCP.  DNR’s authority under
the Captive Wildlife Law does not extend to “domestic
animals” identified by DATCP rule.

DATCP administers Wisconsin animal health and disease
control laws under chs. 93 and 95, Stats.  DATCP also
administers food safety laws under ch. 97, Stats., including
dairy farm license requirements under s. 97.22.  DATCP
regulates to protect the health of humans, domestic animals
and wild animals.  DATCP currently does the following
things, among others:

• Regulates animal imports and movement.  DATCP may
regulate animal imports and movement by rule, or by serving
quarantine orders on the owners or custodians of affected
animals.  The Captive Wildlife Law clarifies that DATCP may
regulate animal imports and movement to protect the health
of humans, domestic animals or wild animals (not just
domestic livestock).

• Licenses and inspects animal operations.  DATCP
licenses animal markets, animal dealers, animal truckers,
dairy farms (food safety), fish farms and deer farms.  Under
the Captive Wildlife Law:

• DATCP now registers all deer farms, including
approximately 600 captive white−tail herds previously
licensed by DNR.  Captive white−tail deer, like other captive
deer and elk, are now classified as “farm−raised deer.”
DATCP is responsible for regulating deer farms.  But DNR
retains its authority to prescribe and enforce fencing
requirements for captive white−tail deer herds.

• DATCP now licenses all animal dealers (not just
livestock dealers), all animal markets (not just livestock
markets) and all animal truckers (not just livestock truckers).
Licensing is required for entities that handle livestock or wild
animals.

• DATCP may regulate operators of game−bird farms.
• DATCP may regulate deer hunting preserves.  Only deer

farms registered by DATCP may operate hunting preserves.
Hunting preserves must cover at least 80 acres.

• Performs animal health inspections and tests.  DATCP
may inspect and test animals, including but not limited to
domestic livestock.  This authority pre−dates the Captive
Wildlife Law, and is not altered by that law.

• Examines animal health documentation.  DATCP is
Wisconsin’s central clearinghouse for all interstate health
certificates (certificates of veterinary inspection).  DATCP
rules require health certificates for animal imports and, in
some cases, for movement of animals within Wisconsin.
DATCP may require certificates for captive wild animals as
well as domestic animals.  Veterinarians issuing health



Page 15December 31, 2003 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 576

certificates must file copies with DATCP.  Under the Captive
Wildlife Law, DNR may also require health certificates for
wild animal imports.  But the veterinarians who issue those
certificates must file copies with DATCP (not DNR).  DATCP
then provides copies to DNR.

• Receives disease reports.  Veterinarians and diagnostic
laboratories that find evidence of certain animal diseases must
report those findings to DATCP.  DATCP rules currently
specify the diseases that are reportable.  DNR may ask
DATCP to add wildlife diseases to the reportable disease list.
Under the Captive Wildlife Law, DATCP will continue to
receive all domestic and wild animal disease reports
(veterinarians need not file duplicate reports with DNR).  But
DATCP must notify DNR of disease reports that may affect
wild animals.  DNR must notify DATCP whenever DNR finds
evidence of a reportable disease.

• Condemns diseased animals.  DATCP may condemn
exposed or infected animals (including captive wild animals,
as well as domestic animals) to control the spread of diseases.
The Captive Wildlife Law clarifies that DATCP may
condemn animals to control diseases that affect domestic
animals, wild animals or humans (not just diseases affecting
domestic animals).  A separate legislative enactment (2001
Act 108) authorizes DATCP to order the killing of
farm−raised deer for chronic wasting disease testing, if
DATCP has reason to believe that the deer have been exposed
to the disease (there is no valid live test at this time).

• Pays indemnities for condemned livestock.  DATCP is
currently authorized to pay indemnities for condemned
livestock.  The Captive Wildlife Law does not change this
indemnity authority (which is generally limited to livestock or
food animals, including farm−raised deer).  But by expanding
the current definition of “farm−raised deer” to include captive
white−tails, it permits indemnity payments for condemned
captive white−tails.  A separate legislative enactment (2001
Act 108) also authorizes DATCP to pay indemnities for
captive deer killed for chronic wasting disease testing.

Rule Contents
Official Individual Identification
Under current rules, certain animals must be identified

with official individual identification.  Official individual
identification is often required for health certificates, disease
testing and animal movement.  Current rules specify
acceptable forms of official individual identification.  This
rule authorizes the following additional forms:

• A microchip containing a unique individual
identification number (the animal custodian must have a
microchip reader).

• A livestock premises identification issued by DATCP,
provided that the animal also bears a unique individual
identification number assigned by the premises owner.

Health Certificates; Identification of Animals
Under current rules, a health certificate (certificate of

veterinary inspection) is often required for the import or
movement of animals.  The veterinarian who issues the health
certificate must identify the animals covered by the
certificate.  If a veterinarian issues a health certificate for
bovine animals, swine, equine animals, sheep at least 6
months old, goats, ratites or cervids, the veterinarian must
identify the animals by means of their official individual
identification numbers (see above).

Under this rule, health certificates for alpacas, llamas and
sheep under 6 months old must also include official individual
identification numbers.  Health certificates for other animals
do not require official individual identification, but must

identify the shipment source, the shipment destination, and
the number and types of animals included in the shipment.

Disease Reporting
DATCP rules currently list a number of serious

“reportable” diseases.  Under current rules, a veterinarian or
diagnostic laboratory that finds evidence of a “reportable”
disease must report that disease to DATCP.  This rule also
requires government agencies, such as DNR, to report.  Under
this rule, DATCP must notify DNR if DATCP finds that a
reported disease may threaten wildlife in this state, or may
threaten fish in waters of the state.

Domestic Animals
DNR’s authority to regulate captive wildlife does not

ordinarily extend to “domestic animals” that DATCP
identifies by rule.  This rule defines “domestic animal” to
include all of the following:

• Livestock (farm animals including bovine animals,
sheep, goats, swine, farm−raised deer and equine animals).

•  Farm−raised game birds, except birds that have been
released to the wild.

• Farm−raised fish, except fish that have been released to
waters of the state.

• Foxes, fitch, nutria, marten, fisher, mink, chinchilla,
rabbit or caracul that are raised in captivity.

• Animal species (including pet species) that have been
domesticated by humans.

• Pet birds.
Releasing Diseased Wild Animals
Under the Captive Wildlife Law, no person may release a

temporarily possessed wild animal that has been infected with
or exposed to a contagious or infectious disease unless a
veterinarian first certifies to DATCP that the animal is free of
the disease.  This rule prohibits any person from releasing any
captive wild animal that has been infected with or exposed to
a contagious or infectious disease unless a veterinarian first
certifies to DATCP that the animal is free of the disease.

Poultry and Farm−Raised Game Birds
• Under current DATCP rules, no poultry or poultry eggs

may be sold or used for breeding or hatching purposes unless
they meet certain requirements (among other things, the flock
of origin must be classified as “U.S. pullorum−typhoid clean”
under the National Poultry Improvement Plan).  This rule
applies the same requirements to farm−raised game birds and
their eggs.

• Current rules spell out DATCP test procedures for
determining the disease status of a poultry flock.  This rule
applies the same procedures to farm−raised game bird flocks.

• Under current DATCP rules, persons who keep or test
poultry must report to DATCP whenever they find evidence
of pullorum, fowl typhoid or other serotypes of Salmonella.
This rule extends the same reporting requirement to persons
who keep or test farm−raised game birds.  DATCP may
investigate the report.

• Under current rules, DATCP must quarantine every
poultry flock that is classified as a reactor flock, infected flock
or suspect flock under the National Poultry Improvement
Plan.  This rule extends the same quarantine requirement to
flocks of farm−raised game birds.

• Current DATCP rules restrict the commingling of poultry
species.  This rule expands the restrictions to include
farm−raised game birds.

• Under current DATCP rules, imported poultry and eggs
must originate from flocks that are classified as “U.S.
pullorum−typhoid clean.” This rule applies the same
requirement to farm−raised game birds and their eggs.
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• Under current DATCP rules, imported poultry and
hatching eggs must originate from flocks that comply with the
National Poultry Improvement Plan (there is an exemption for
poultry imported directly to slaughter).  This rule applies the
same requirements to farm−raised game birds and eggs.

• Under current DATCP rules, poultry exhibited at fairs
and public exhibitions must originate from flocks that are
“U.S. pullorum−typhoid clean,” or must test negative for
pullorum−typhoid.  This rule applies the same requirements
to farm−raised game birds and swap meets.

National Poultry Improvement Plan; Flock Enrollment
This rule establishes standards for enrolling flocks of

poultry and farm−raised game birds in the National Poultry
Improvement Plan.  Enrollment is voluntary, but rules limit
the sale and movement of birds from flocks that are not
enrolled.  Enrollment facilitates sales and movement within
the state, and between states.

Under this rule, a flock owner may annually enroll a flock
in the National Poultry Improvement Plan.  Enrollment
expires on June 30 of each year.  The flock owner must
complete an annual enrollment application that includes all
the following:

• Proof that the flock has been tested for salmonella
pullorum−typhoid, according to test standards set forth in the
National Poultry Improvement Plan.  DATCP will request
permission from the Attorney General and the Revisor of
Statutes to incorporate these test standards by reference in this
rule.

• An annual enrollment fee.  A flock owner must pay the
following applicable fee:

− Fanciers.  $20 if the flock consists solely of specialty
breeds other than meat−type or egg−type birds, and are raised
primarily for show or exhibition.

− Non−Breeders; No Game Birds.  $20 if the flock owner
does not handle farm−raised game birds, does not hatch or
collect eggs, and buys all poultry stock from National Poultry
Improvement Plan sources.

− Non−Breeders With Game Birds.  $30 if the flock owner
handles farm−raised game birds (with or without poultry),
does not hatch or collect eggs, and buys all stock from
National Poultry Improvement Plan sources.

− Breeders (With or Without Game Birds).  The following
applicable fee for a breeder flock (poultry or farm−raised
game birds):

*  $40 fee for 1 to 1,000 breeders.
*  $50 fee for 1,001 to 5,000 breeders.
*  $100 fee for 5,001 to 10,000 breeders.
*  $200 fee for more than 10,000 breeders.
Deer Farm Registration Certificate
Under current law, a deer farm operator must hold an

annual deer farm registration certificate from DATCP.  Under
this rule, a deer farm operator must obtain a separate
certificate from DATCP to operate a hunting preserve at the
registered premises (see below).  This rule also clarifies that
a registered deer farm operator may not operate as an animal
dealer without an animal dealer license.

Deer Farms; Chronic Wasting Disease Testing
This rule clarifies current chronic wasting disease testing

requirements for farm−raised deer.  Under this rule, a deer
farm operator must have a chronic wasting disease test
performed on each of the following farm−raised deer that is
at least 16 months old:

• A farm−raised deer that dies or is killed while kept by that
person.

• A farm−raised deer that the person ships to slaughter.
Under current rules and this rule, the person who collects

a test sample for a required chronic wasting disease test must
be a certified veterinarian, a DATCP or federal employee, or
a person that DATCP pre−approves in writing.  The person
must also complete training approved by DATCP.  The person
must collect the sample from the brain of the dead animal,
according to standard veterinary procedures, and must submit
the sample to a testing laboratory approved by DATCP and the
United States department of agriculture (USDA−APHIS).

The person must normally collect the test sample before
any part of the farm−raised deer carcass leaves the premises
where the farm−raised deer died, or was killed or slaughtered.
But a deer farm operator may separate the head from the
carcass, and may ship the head to the person who collects the
test sample from the brain, if the deer farm operator first
identifies both the head and the carcass with official
individual identification or a “dead tag” (see below).

Farm−Raised Deer; Carcass Identification
Under this rule, no person may remove any farm−raised

deer carcass from a deer farm unless that carcass is identified
with official individual identification, or with a “dead tag”
issued by DATCP. A registered deer farm operator may
purchase “dead tags” from DATCP at cost.

Under this rule, no part of a carcass may leave the premises
unless every part of the carcass bears official individual
identification or a dead tag, and the farm−raised deer keeper
records and correlates all of the official individual
identification and dead tag numbers assigned to that animal.

Deer Farm Records
This rule expands current record keeping requirements for

deer farm operators.  Under this rule:
• A deer farm operator must keep the following records

related to each live farm−raised deer that leaves the herd other
than for slaughter, or that enters the herd from another herd:

− The official individual identification of the farm−raised
deer.

− The species, age and sex of the farm−raised deer.
− The date on which the farm−raised deer entered or left the

herd.
− The name and address of the person from whom the

person received, or to whom the person shipped, the
farm−raised deer.  The record shall also identify the person
who had custody of the farm−raised deer during shipment.

− The address of the herd from which the farm−raised deer
originated, or to which it was shipped.

− A copy of any certificate of veterinary inspection that
accompanied the farm−raised deer.

• A deer farm operator must keep the following records
related to each farm−raised deer that the operator ships live to
slaughter:

− The official individual identification of the farm−raised
deer.

− The species, age and sex of the farm−raised deer.
− The date on which the operator shipped the farm−raised

deer to slaughter.
− The name and address of the slaughter facility.
− The name and address of the person who transported the

farm−raised deer to slaughter.
− A copy of the slaughter movement document required

under current rules (form VS−127 or equivalent).
− Chronic wasting disease test results if required (testing is

currently required, unless the animal is less than 16 months
old).
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• A deer farm operator must keep the following records
related to every farm−raised deer that dies, or is killed or
slaughtered, on the deer farm premises:

− The species, age and sex of the farm−raised deer.

− Any identification attached to the farm−raised deer.

− The date on which the farm−raised deer died or was
killed.  If the farm−raised deer was found dead on the
premises, the operator must record the date on which the
farm−raised deer was found dead.

− The disposition of the carcass, regardless of whether the
carcass leaves the premises.  If the carcass leaves the herd
premises, the operator must record the official individual
identification or “dead tag” number, the disposition date, and
the name and address of the carcass recipient.

− Chronic wasting disease test results if testing is required
under current rules (testing is currently required, unless the
animal is less than 16 months old).

• A deer farm operator must retain these records for at least
5 years, and must make the records available to DATCP for
inspection and copying upon request.

Deer Imports and Movement; Tuberculosis Status
Current rules regulate imports of cervids (including

farm−raised deer) to this state.  This rule strengthens current
import restrictions related to tuberculosis.  Under this rule, no
person may import a cervid except from a “tuberculosis free”
or “tuberculosis qualified” herd (there are limited
exemptions).  Under current rules and this rule, cervids
imported from “tuberculosis modified accredited states” must
also be confined for tuberculosis testing following import.

Current rules also regulate the movement of farm−raised
deer from deer farms in this state.   This rule makes minor
adjustments to current rules (timing of tuberculosis tests to
determine source herd status), and exempts movements
between locations that are part of the same registered deer
farm.

Hunting Preserves; General
Under this rule, no person may sell or offer the opportunity

to hunt farm−raised deer on any premises unless all of the
following apply:

• The person holds, for those premises, both a deer farm
registration certificate (see above) and a hunting preserve
certificate (see below) from DATCP.

• Farm−raised deer, when hunted, have unimpeded access
to at least 80 acres of land.

• The person complies with applicable requirements under
this rule.

Hunting Preserve Certificate
Under this rule, DATCP may issue a hunting preserve

certificate for a registered deer farm.  A hunting preserve
certificate expires 10 years after it is issued (the deer farm
registration must be renewed annually).  A hunting preserve
certificate is not transferable between persons or premises.  A
hunting preserve certificate is not valid unless the holder also
holds a current annual deer farm registration certificate.

A person must apply for a hunting preserve certificate on
a form provided DATCP.  The application must include all of
the following:

• The applicant’s name, address, and deer farm registration
number.

• The address of the deer farm premises for which the
applicant seeks a hunting preserve certificate.

• Documentation showing that farm−raised deer hunted on
the premises will have unimpeded access to at least 80 acres
of land.

• A nonrefundable fee of $150.
DATCP must grant or deny an application within 90

business days after DATCP receives a complete application.
DATCP must inspect the premises before issuing a hunting
preserve certificate, and may inspect relevant records as
necessary.

Hunting Preserves; Chronic Wasting Disease Testing
Under this rule, a hunting preserve operator must have a

chronic wasting disease test performed on every farm−raised
deer at least 16 months old that is killed on the hunting
preserve (see deer farm testing requirements above).  The
hunting preserve operator must inform the hunter of the test
results.

Hunting Preserves; Animal Identification
Hunting preserves, like other deer farms, must comply with

animal identification requirements (see above).  Current rules
prohibit any person from removing, altering or tampering
with an animal’s official individual identification.  Under this
rule, no portion of a farm−raised deer carcass may leave a
hunting preserve unless it bears official individual
identification or a “dead tag” issued by DATCP (see above).

Hunting Preserves; Recordkeeping
This rule requires a hunting preserve operator to do all the

following:
• Keep records required of other deer farm operators.
• Keep the following records related to each farm−raised

deer that is killed on the hunting preserve:
− The name and address of the person who killed the

farm−raised deer.
− The date and time when the farm−raised deer was killed,

and the location of the premises where it was killed.
− The name and address of the person who collected the

chronic wasting disease test sample from the farm−raised deer
carcass.

− The laboratory test reports from the chronic wasting
disease test.

− The disposition of the carcass.
− The official individual identification or “dead tag”

number attached to the carcass.  If the carcass has both an
official individual identification and a “dead tag,” the record
must include both numbers.

• Keep copies of all advertising and promotional materials
used to promote the hunting preserve.

• Record the name and address of every person who pays
for the opportunity to hunt farm−raised deer at the hunting
preserve.

• Retain the required records for at least 5 years, and make
them available to DATCP for inspection and copying upon
request.

Hunting Preserves; Prohibited Conduct
Under this rule, no person operating a farm−raised deer

hunting preserve may do any of the following:
• Violate or allow others to violate laws prohibiting

“shining” of animals.
• Violate or assist any violation of DATCP animal health

rules.
• Make any false, deceptive or misleading representation

to a customer or potential customer.
• Misrepresent that DATCP or any other person has

approved, endorsed or recommended a hunting preserve.
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• Misrepresent the weight of a killed farm−raised deer.
• Misrepresent, to a hunter, that any portion of a carcass

delivered to the hunter is that of the farm−raised deer killed by
the hunter.

Animal Disease Quarantines
Under current rules, DATCP may quarantine animals to

prevent or control diseases that may affect domestic or exotic
animals.  Under this rule, DATCP may quarantine animals to
prevent or control diseases that may affect any animals (not
just domestic or exotic animals), or to prevent or control
diseases that may be transmitted from animals to humans.

Animal Imports; Health Certificate
Current rules prohibit a person from importing any of the

following animals without a health certificate (certificate of
veterinary inspection):

• Bovine animals (there are limited exemptions).
• Swine (there are limited exemptions).
• Equine animals (there are limited exemptions).
• Poultry.
• Sheep (except sheep imported to slaughter).
• Goats.
• Dogs or domestic cats.
• Circus, rodeo, racing or menagerie animals.
• Exotic ruminants and South American camelids (alpacas

and llamas).
• Cervids (including deer and elk).
• Ratites (except ratites imported from a federal quarantine

facility).
This rule extends the current health certificate requirement

to animal species that are not covered by current rules.  This
rule prohibits a person from importing any animal without a
health certificate.  This rule continues current limited
exemptions for domestic livestock, including exemptions for
livestock imported directly to slaughter (farm−raised deer
imported directly to slaughter must be tested for chronic
wasting disease if they are at least 16 months old).  This rule
also exempts invertebrates that are imported in compliance
with DATCP pest control rules.

Alpacas and Llamas; Imports
Under current rules, a person must obtain a DATCP permit

before importing an alpaca or llama.  The person must have
the animal tested for tuberculosis and brucellosis.  A health
certificate (certificate of veterinary inspection) must
accompany the imported animal.  This rule eliminates the
permit, tuberculosis testing and brucellosis testing
requirements, but retains the health certificate requirement.

Wild Animal Imports
This rule prohibits a person from importing a wild animal

to this state unless all of the following apply:
• DATCP issues an import permit for that import. DATCP

may not issue an import permit for an animal that DNR has
designated as a “harmful wild animal” unless DNR also
approves the import.

• A valid health certificate (certificate of veterinary
inspection) accompanies the imported animal.

These wild animal import requirements to not apply to
invertebrates imported in compliance with DATCP pest
control laws.  Nor do they apply to domestic animals (see list
above).  However, domestic animals are subject to other
import regulations under current rules and this rule.

This rule prohibits imports of prairie dogs and certain
African rodents that have been implicated in the spread of

“monkey pox.”  However, DATCP may issue an import
permit if one of the following applies:

• The animal is imported directly to an accredited zoo.
• The animal is imported directly to a bona fide research

facility.
• The animal is imported directly to a veterinary facility for

treatment, or is returning directly from treatment at a
veterinary facility.

Animal Dealers
Before the Captive Wildlife Law was enacted, DATCP

licensed “livestock dealers” (“livestock” includes bovine
animals, sheep, goats, swine, farm−raised deer, equines and
other farm animals).  The Captive Wildlife Law changed the
“livestock dealer” license to an “animal dealer” license.

DATCP now licenses “animal dealers” who deal in
livestock or wild animals.  Captive white−tail deer are now
considered “livestock” (farm−raised deer).  This rule
modifies current rules to reflect this expanded coverage.  This
rule also clarifies and reorganizes current licensing
requirements.  Under this rule:

• A person must be annually licensed by DATCP, as an
animal dealer, if the person does any of the following (see
exemptions below):

− Engages in the business of buying livestock or wild
animals for resale, slaughter or exchange.

− Engages in the business of selling or exchanging
livestock or wild animals.

− Engages in the business of leasing out livestock or wild
animals to others.

• The following persons are exempt from licensing as
animal dealers:

− An employee of a licensed animal dealer who acts solely
on behalf of that licensed animal dealer.

− A farm operator who buys or exchanges livestock solely
for dairy, breeding or feeding operations on that farm, or who
sells only livestock produced on that farm.

− An animal market operator licensed by DATCP.
− The operator of a licensed meat establishment who buys

livestock solely for slaughter at that meat establishment.
− The holder of a DNR captive wildlife license who buys,

sells or exchanges wild animals pursuant to the license, solely
for purposes of the licensed operation.

• A person must do all the following to obtain an animal
dealer license (no change from current rules):

− Submit a complete license application.
− Pay an annual license fee of $115 (no change from current

rules).
− Obtain an animal trucker license, if the person also

operates as an animal trucker (see below).
− Register all vehicles that the person uses to transport

animals.
− Pass a test administered by DATCP.  No test is required

for the renewal of an existing license.
• DATCP must grant or deny a license application within

30 business days after the applicant submits a complete
application and takes any required test (no change from
current rules).

• DATCP may deny, suspend or revoke a license, including
violation of animal health or humane laws (no change from
current rules).

• An animal dealer must do all of the following (this rule
reorganizes, but does not change, current rules):

− Maintain the animal dealer premises in a clean and
sanitary condition.
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− Provide adequate food, water, shelter, bedding and pen
space for all animals held more than 12 hours.

− Properly identify animals.
− Keep proper records.
− Handle animals in a humane manner.
− Comply with applicable requirements related to animal

transport vehicles (see below).
− Refrain from commingling animals of different species

within the same vehicle or enclosure.
• This rule prohibits an animal dealer from accepting

delivery of animals from an unlicensed animal trucker, or
shipping animals via an unlicensed animal trucker.

Animal Market Operators
Before the Captive Wildlife Law was enacted, DATCP

licensed “livestock market operators” (“livestock” includes
bovine animals, sheep, goats, swine, farm−raised deer,
equines and other farm animals).  The Captive Wildlife Law
changed the “livestock market operator” license to an “animal
market operator” license.

DATCP now licenses “animal market operators” who
operate market facilities that are open to the public for the
purpose of trading in livestock or wild animals.  Captive
white−tail deer are now considered “livestock” (farm−raised
deer).  This rule modifies current rules to reflect this expanded
coverage.  This rule also clarifies and reorganizes current
licensing requirements.  Under this rule:

• No person may operate an animal market without an
annual license from DATCP.  A separate license is required for
each animal market (no change from current rules).

• An animal market operator may apply for a Class A, Class
B or Class E animal market license (no change from current
rules):

− At a class A animal market, an operator may conduct
livestock and wild animal sales on any number of days during
the license year.

− At a class B animal market, an operator may conduct
livestock sales on no more than 4 days during the license year.
An operator may not conduct wildlife sales at a class B animal
market.

− At a class E animal market, an operator may conduct
sales of equine animals on any number of days during the
license year.  An operator may not conduct sales of any other
livestock or any wild animals at a class E animal market.

• A person must do all the following to obtain an animal
market license (no change from current rules):

− Submit a complete license application.
− Pay an annual license fee.  The fee is $225 for a class A

market, $115 for a class B market, and $150 for a class E
market (no change from current rules).

− Obtain an animal trucker license, if the person also
operates as an animal trucker (see below).

− Register all vehicles that the person uses to transport
animals.

− Pass a test administered by DATCP.  No test is required
for the renewal of an existing license.

• DATCP must act on a license application within 30
business days after the applicant submits a complete
application and takes any required test (no change from
current rules).  DATCP must inspect a class A market before
licensing that market for the first time.  If an inspection is
required, DATCP has an additional 60 days to act on the
license application.

− DATCP may deny, suspend or revoke a license for cause,
including violation of animal health or humane laws (no
change from current rules).

• An animal market operator must do all the following (this
rule reorganizes, but does not change, current rules):

− Comply with animal market construction standards.
− Keep the animal market in a clean and sanitary condition.
− Provide adequate food, water, shelter, bedding and pen

space for all animals held more than 12 hours.
− Properly identify animals.
− Keep proper records.
− Handle animals in a humane manner.
− Remove animals from the animal market premises within

4 days after they enter the market (some special provisions
apply).

− Comply with applicable requirements related to animal
transport vehicles (see below).

− Refrain from commingling animals of different species
in the same enclosure.

• This rule prohibits an animal dealer from accepting
delivery of animals from an unlicensed animal trucker, or
shipping animals via an unlicensed animal trucker.

Animal Truckers
Before the Captive Wildlife Law was enacted, DATCP

licensed “livestock truckers” (“livestock” included bovine
animals, sheep, goats, swine, farm−raised deer, equines and
other farm animals).  The Captive Wildlife Law changed the
“livestock trucker” license to an “animal trucker” license.

DATCP now licenses “animal truckers” who transport
livestock or wild animals for hire.

Captive white−tail deer are now considered “livestock”
(farm−raised deer).  This rule modifies current rules to reflect
this expanded coverage.  This rule also clarifies and
reorganizes current license requirements.  Under this rule:

• A person must be annually licensed by DATCP, as an
animal trucker, if the person transports livestock or wild
animals for hire.  The following persons are exempt from
licensing as animal truckers:

− An employee of a licensed animal trucker who transports
animals solely on behalf of the license holder, in vehicles
registered by the license holder.

− Persons who are solely engaged in transporting their own
animals.

− Persons who are solely engaged in the following
activities:

* Hauling animals on an occasional basis for persons
participating in a livestock exhibition, fair, trail ride, youth
livestock event or similar activity.

* Hauling animals on an incidental basis in connection with
another business, such as a veterinary practice or a stable
operation, does not ordinarily involve the sale of animals.

* Hauling animals for other persons fewer than 6 times per
year.

• A person must do all the following to obtain a license (no
change from current rules):

− Submit a complete license application.
− Pay license fees.  There is a basic annual fee of $30, plus

a $10 fee for each vehicle used to transport livestock or wild
animals (no fee change from current rules).

− Register all vehicles used to transport livestock or wild
animals.

− Pass a test administered by DATCP.  No test is required
for the renewal of an existing license.
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• DATCP must act on a license application within 30
business days after the applicant submits a complete
application and takes any required test (no change from
current rules).

• DATCP may deny, suspend or revoke a license for cause,
including violation of animal health or humane laws (no
change from current rules).

• An animal trucker must do all of the following (this rule
reorganizes, but does not change, current rules):

− Maintain properly equipped vehicles.
− Properly identify animals.
− Keep proper records.
− Transport and handle animals in a safe and humane

manner.
• An animal trucker may not:
− Commingle different animal species on the same

transport vehicle.
− Transport diseased or downer animals with healthy

animals on the same transport vehicle (there is a limited
exception for slaughter shipments).

Animal Transport Vehicles
Under current rules and this rule, an animal dealer, animal

market operator or animal trucker must register every vehicle
that the person uses to transport livestock or wild animals.
The operator must register annually and pay an annual fee of
$10 per vehicle.  DATCP must grant or deny a registration
application within 30 business days after the person submits
a complete application.

Under current rules and this rule, the following
requirements apply to every vehicle that an animal dealer,
animal market operator or animal trucker uses to transport
livestock or wild animals:

• The vehicle must be properly identified with the
operator’s name and business address, the operator’s DATCP
license number(s), and the DATCP vehicle registration
number.

• The vehicle must be properly constructed and equipped
to handle each type of animal transported.

• The vehicle must be kept in a clean and sanitary
condition.

Fiscal Estimate
The rule will not have a major impact on State or Local

government resources.  This rule;
1) Implements Wisconsin’s Captive Wildlife Law (2001

Wis. Act 56), which took effect on January 1, 2003.
2) Modifies related animal health rules administered by the

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(DATCP).

3) Coordinates animal disease control activities of DATCP
and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR).

Some of these changes will increase the workload in the
department, however it is anticipated that the workload
generated can be absorbed.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule affects the following businesses, among others:
• Deer farmers.
• Deer hunting preserve operators.
• Persons raising poultry and farm−raised game birds.
• Persons importing animals to this state.
• Wild animal dealers, truckers and market operators.

Many of those affected are “small businesses” as defined
in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Effects on Small Business
This rule adds regulatory requirements for some

businesses, but these requirements are necessary for animal
disease control and not expected to impose an undue burden.
The new Captive Wildlife Law mandates some of the
requirements.

In some cases, this rule gives affected businesses wider
latitude to choose a preferred method of compliance.  This
rule will benefit affected businesses by clarifying regulatory
requirements, and coordinating DATCP and DNR regulation.

This rule imposes new fees related to deer hunting
preserves.  The new fee ($150 for a 10−year hunting preserve
certificate) is modest, and is needed to defray costs of
providing inspections newly mandated by the Legislature.
This rule requires deer farm operators, including hunting
preserve operators, to identify dead animals with “dead tags”
purchased at cost from DATCP.  The “dead tags” are needed
for disease control and traceback, including chronic wasting
disease control.

This rule codifies, but does not increase, current fees for
poultry and farm−raised game bird operators that wish to
participate in the National Poultry Improvement Plan.  The
fees are modest ($20−200, depending on flock size and type),
and merely cover DATCP’s cost to provide inspections and
services required under the National Poultry Improvement
Plan.

The rule expands current regulation of livestock truckers,
dealers and markets to include entities that handle wild
animals.  This change was mandated by the Legislature.  The
change could have a substantial impact on wild animal
markets, dealers and truckers, which will now have to comply
with the same regulations that apply to livestock markets,
dealers and truckers.  However, DATCP does not believe that
many “small businesses” will be affected.

This rule will require health certificates (certificates of
veterinary inspection) for the import of certain animals that
can now be imported without a certificate.  This rule also
requires persons importing wild animals to obtain a permit for
DATCP (there is no charge for the permit).  The new import
requirements are consistent with current requirements for
livestock, are needed to control serious diseases that may be
spread by these animals, and which are not adequately
addressed by current import controls.

This rule will add some record keeping requirements,
especially for deer hunting preserves, wild animal markets,
and wild animal dealers and truckers.

Steps to Assist Small Business
In some cases, this rule gives affected businesses wider

latitude to choose a preferred method of compliance.  For
example, this rule:

• Authorizes alternative forms of “official individual
identification” of animals.

• Provides more flexibility related to the timing of required
tuberculosis tests.

• Makes it easier and cheaper for deer farm operators to
have test samples collected for chronic wasting disease tests.
Under current rules, a veterinarian must collect the samples at
the herd premises.  Under this rule, the deer farm operator may
send the deer head to the veterinarian who collects the test
sample from the brain.

This rule will benefit affected businesses by clarifying
regulatory requirements, and coordinating DATCP and DNR
regulation.  This rule provides a “one stop” clearinghouse for
animal disease reporting and health certificate filing.
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Conclusion
This rule will have an impact on small business.  In most

cases, this rule will not have a significant adverse impact.  And
in some cases, it will have a positive impact.  DATCP has
attempted to minimize adverse effects on small business.
Effects, if any, are necessary to ensure more effective control
of serious animal diseases that may affect humans, domestic
animals and wild animals.

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 03−119]

[CR 03−120]
The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection announces that it will hold a public
hearing on 2 proposed rules that do the following:

• Amend ch. ATCP 35, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the
agricultural chemical cleanup program.

• Amend ch. ATCP 40, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to
fertilizer tonnage fee surcharges used to fund the agricultural
chemical cleanup program.

The department will hold one hearing, covering both rules,
at the time and place shown below.  The department invites the
public to attend the hearing and comment on the proposed
rules.  Following the public hearing, the hearing record will
remain open until January 31, 2004, for additional written
comments.

You may obtain free copies of the rules by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource Management,
2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708,
or by calling (608) 224−4523.  Copies will also be available
at the hearing.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
this hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by January 19, 2004, by writing to Judy Testolin,
Division of Agricultural Resource Management, P.O. Box
8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4523.
Alternatively, you may contact the Department TDD at (608)
224−5058.  Handicap access is available at the hearing.

The hearing is scheduled :

Thursday, January 22, 2004, 2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m.
Alliant Energy Center
1919 Alliant Energy Center Way
Monona – Wingra Room (Second Floor)
Madison, WI  53713

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

Agricultural Chemical Cleanup Program (ATCP 35).
Statutory Authority:  ss. 93.07 (1) and 94.73 (11), Stats.
Statute Interpreted: s. 94.73, Stats.
The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer

Protection (DATCP) currently administers an agricultural
chemical cleanup program under s. 94.73, Stats.  This
program is designed to clean up spills of agricultural
chemicals and minimize environmental contamination.
Under this program, DATCP may reimburse a portion of the
eligible cleanup cost.

DATCP has adopted rules, under ch. ATCP 35, Wis. Adm.
Code, to govern this program.  This rule modifies current

rules.  Among other things, this rule implements statutory
changes enacted in 2003 Wis. Act 33 (biennial budget act).

Landspreading Soil from Cleanup Sites
In appropriate cases under current rules, a cleanup

operation may include landspreading of soils contaminated
with spilled fertilizers or pesticides.  Landspreading may
reduce the concentration of the fertilizer or pesticide, and may
provide an economical and potentially useful disposal option.

This rule clarifies that a person who landspreads soil
contaminated with a pesticide is, for purposes of pesticide
applicator licensing and certification, engaged in the
application of that pesticide.  The person must be licensed and
certified to spread the pesticide−contaminated soil, to the
same extent as if the person were applying the pesticide.

Costs to Remove Existing Structures
In some cases, it may be necessary to remove existing

structures in order to clean up a spill site.  Current rules
generally prohibit DATCP from reimbursing costs incurred
for the removal of existing structures.  But DATCP may
reimburse costs to remove certain concrete or asphalt
structures (containment structures, parking areas, roadways,
curbs and sidewalks) if DATCP pre−approves the removal
after finding that the removal is less expensive than other
cleanup alternatives.

Under current rules, DATCP may also reimburse costs to
remove and reinstall certain movable structures or equipment,
or to replace certain fixtures (such as fences and utility lines)
that were in good operating condition when removed for the
cleanup.

This rule changes and clarifies the current rules.  Under this
rule, DATCP may reimburse all the following:

• Costs to remove any concrete or asphalt (not just the
concrete or asphalt structures identified in the current rules)
if DATCP pre−approves that removal after finding that it is
less expensive than other cleanup alternatives.  Under this
rule, as under current rules, DATCP may reimburse the
depreciated value of the concrete or asphalt, as well as the
costs of removal and disposal.  However, DATCP may not
reimburse the cost of replacing the concrete or asphalt.

• Costs to install engineered barriers, to limit infiltration of
existing contamination.  The responsible person must agree to
maintain the barrier at his or her expense.

• Temporary removal and reinstallation of a surface,
structure, fixture or equipment item that is removed intact,
and returned intact to its original use and approximate original
location.

• The following corrective measures related to fixtures
(such as fences and utility lines) that are in good condition and
operating adequately when the corrective measure occurs:

*  Temporary or permanent relocation.
*  Removal and replacement with a new fixture of the same

size and quality, including any upgrade required by law.
*  Protection during a spill cleanup, through shoring or

other methods.
Repeat Spills
This rule authorizes DATCP, in consultation with the

agricultural chemical cleanup council, to reduce the
reimbursement rate for cleanups of repeat spills.  Under this
rule, DATCP may reduce the reimbursement rate for a spill
cleanup if DATCP has received or paid a reimbursement
claim related to a prior spill at the same site.

The presumptive reimbursement rate (reduced rate) is
50%, unless DATCP finds that a larger or smaller reduction
is appropriate.  In determining the amount of the reduction,
DATCP may consider all of the following in consultation with
the agricultural chemical cleanup council:
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•  The type of agricultural chemical discharged.
• The nature, size and location of discharge.
• The similarity between the discharge and prior

discharges.
• The number of prior discharges, and the number of prior

discharges for which the department has reimbursed
corrective action costs.

• The responsible person’s apparent negligence, if any.
• Whether the discharge was caused by a law violation.
• Other factors that the department or the agricultural

chemical cleanup council consider relevant.
Alternative Sources of Drinking Water
In some cases, spills of agricultural chemicals may impair

drinking water supplies.  Current rules prohibit DATCP from
reimbursing well replacement costs, except that DATCP may
reimburse up to $20,000 in well replacement costs if DATCP
or the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) orders the
well replacement.

This rule expands DATCP’s authority to reimburse well
replacement costs, consistent with legislative changes
enacted in 2001 Wisconsin Act 16.  Under this rule, DATCP
may reimburse up to $50,000 in costs incurred for any of the
following actions ordered by DATCP or DNR:

• Replacement or restoration of private wells.
• Connection to alternative water sources, whether public

or private.
Contractor to Disclose Identity of Landspreading

Subcontractor
Current rules require contractors to disclose certain

information in bids for cleanup services.  This rule requires a
contractor to disclose, in every bid that includes
landspreading services, the name of the subcontractor (if any)
who will provide those services.

Noncompetitive Bids
Under current rules, if DATCP finds that a bid for cleanup

services is unreasonable, or that the cleanup service is
unnecessary, DATCP may disapprove the bid, require
additional bids or reimburse a lesser amount.  This rule
authorizes DATCP to take the same actions if DATCP finds
that bids appear to be noncompetitive.

Payment Schedule
Under current rules, DATCP must pay cleanup

reimbursement claims in installments if the cleanup fund
balance is less than $1 million.  DATCP may pay an initial
installment of up to $50,000.  DATCP may not make any
additional payment to a claimant in any fiscal year until
DATCP has paid initial installments to all eligible claimants
in that year.  This may delay full reimbursement to some
claimants, even when adequate funds are available to pay all
eligible claimants.  DATCP must pay interest on any delayed
payments.  This rule changes the current method of payment.
Under this rule, DATCP may pay the full amount of
reimbursement claims on a first−come, first−served basis
(there is no $50,000 installment limit).  This will allow
DATCP to pay claims more quickly, and limit interest costs to
the agricultural chemical cleanup fund.

Reimbursement Rate
Under current rules, DATCP reimburses 80% of eligible

cleanup costs.  There is a minimum cleanup cost “deductible”
of $3,000 or $7,500 (depending upon the type of business
doing the cleanup), and DATCP does not reimburse costs to
the extent that they exceed $400,000.  The maximum allowed
payment per cleanup, including interest on delayed payments,

is $317,600 or $314,000 (depending on the applicable
“deductible”).

This rule reduces the current reimbursement rate,
consistent with legislation enacted in 2003 Wisconsin Act 33.
Under this rule, DATCP will reimburse 75% of eligible
cleanup costs incurred on or after January 1, 2004.  There will
still be a minimum cleanup cost “deductible” of $3,000 or
$7,500 (depending upon the type of business doing the
cleanup).  DATCP will still not reimburse costs to the extent
that they exceed $400,000.  The maximum allowed payment
per cleanup will be $297,750 or $294,375 (depending on the
applicable “deductible”).

Repeal of Obsolete Provisions
This rule repeals obsolete retroactivity provisions

contained related to reimbursement claims filed with the
department prior to November 1, 2000.
Fiscal Estimate

DATCP estimates that this rule will save $180,000 for the
agricultural chemical cleanup fund each year.  This includes
the following projected savings:

• By lowering the cleanup cost reimbursement rate from
80% to 75% (as required by current law), DATCP will save
approximately $160,000 each year.

• By paying reimbursement claims on a first−come,
first−served basis instead of installments, DATCP will save
approximately $20,000 in interest costs each year.

DATCP estimates that it will save an additional $50,000
each year by reducing the reimbursement rate for repeat spills.
But DATCP estimates that these savings will be offset, each
year, by $50,000 in additional reimbursement payments
related to concrete structure removal and private well
replacement.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This rule affects businesses that clean up spills of fertilizers
and pesticides in Wisconsin.  Currently more than 360
businesses are involved in fertilizer or pesticide cleanups.
Most of the cleanups occur at farm centers, agricultural
dealerships and agricultural cooperatives.  Many of these
businesses are “small businesses” as defined in s. 227.114 (1)
(a), Stats.

This rule will affect the reimbursement of spill cleanup
costs.  But this rule will not, by itself, have a major impact on
small business.  This rule merely implements a
reimbursement rate reduction that the Legislature has already
mandated.  The rule changes expedite reimbursement
payments, and increase reimbursement eligibility for certain
cleanup costs. Small businesses will not need additional
professional services to comply with this rule.

This rule will reduce reimbursement rates for repeat spills.
However, businesses handling agricultural chemicals can
participate in the department’s Environmental Partners
program to minimize their risk of repeat spills.
Environmental Assessment

DATCP has prepared an environmental assessment on this
rule. You may obtain a free copy of the environmental
assessment by contacting the Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Division of
Agricultural Resource Management, 2811 Agriculture Drive,
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708, or by calling (608)
224−4523.  Copies will also be available at the hearing.

Fertilizer Tonnage Fees Used to Fund the Agricultural
Chemical Cleanup Program (ATCP 40)

Statutory authority:  ss. 93.07 (1), Stats.
Statutes interpreted: ss. 94.64 (4) (a) 1., 5. and 6., Stats.
The department of agriculture, trade and consumer

protection (DATCP) currently administers an agricultural
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chemical cleanup program under s. 94.73, Stats.  The program
is partly funded by fertilizer tonnage fee surcharges.

Fertilizer manufacturers and distributors currently pay
tonnage fees and surcharges, based on their annual gross sales
of fertilizer in this state.  Under current rules, manufacturers
pay a surcharge of 38 cents per ton to fund the agricultural
chemical cleanup program.  This rule increases the surcharge
to 86 cents per ton, as authorized by 2003 Wis. Act 33.  The
new surcharge will apply to fertilizer distributed after July 1,
2004, with initial payment due in August 2005.

This rule also updates current rules to reflect fee changes
made by 1999 Wisconsin Act 9 (DATCP has already changed
its fee collections according to reflect the statutory changes).
The statutory changes decreased the basic fertilizer inspection
fee by 2 cents per ton, and added a fertilizer weights and
measures inspection fee of 2 cent per ton.

Fiscal Estimate
This rule will increase fertilizer tonnage fee revenues

deposited to the agricultural chemical cleanup fund.  The
increased fee revenues will help finance the reimbursement of
agricultural chemical spill cleanup costs, and reduce a
projected deficit in the fund.  In recent years, the fund has
expended from $3.6 to $3.9 million per year in reimbursement
payments, whole generating only $2,614,000 in annual
revenues.

The fund had a substantial reserve until recently, but that
reserve dropped below $200,000 at the end of FY 2002−03.
Fiscal year 2003−04 is expected to end with unreimbursed
claims (a deficit) of $784,000.  Those claims (and associated
interest expenses) must be reimbursed in subsequent years.

DATCP projects a reimbursement backlog (deficit) of
$1,400,000 by the end of FY 2004−05.  DATCP estimates that
the fertilizer tonnage fees proposed in this rule will generate
approximately $624,000 per year beginning in FY 2005−06.
Those additional fee revenues will gradually reduce the
reimbursement backlog (fund deficit).

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule affects tonnage fees paid by businesses

(approximately 500) that are licensed to manufacture or
distribute fertilizer in Wisconsin. This rule may indirectly
affect farmers, landscape businesses and other persons who
purchase and use fertilizer, to the extent that tonnage fee costs
are passed on to those purchasers.  Some of the affected
businesses are “small businesses” as defined in s. 227.114 (1)
(a), Stats.

This rule will not have a major adverse impact on small
business.  The rule will generate an additional $624,000 in
fees on the 1,300,000 tons of fertilizer sold annually in
Wisconsin.  These fertilizers have an average price of more
than $150 per ton.  The fee increase represents a price increase
of about 0.3% on an agricultural input that typically has
annual price fluctuations of several percent. This rule does not
add any new record keeping or reporting requirements for
affected businesses.

By increasing revenues for the agricultural chemical
cleanup fund, this rule will benefit businesses (including
fertilizer manufacturers and distributors) who rely on the fund
for reimbursement of spill cleanup costs.  Cleanups often cost
more than $30,000, and sometimes more than $100,000.  This
rule will assist small businesses by assuring adequate funding
to cover up to 75% of cleanup costs (subject to a $3,000
deductible).

It will also help ensure faster payment of cleanup
reimbursement claims.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Worker Examining Board
[CR 03−090]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Worker Examining Board in Wis.
Stats. ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), and 457.03 (1), and
interpreting s. 457.08, Stats., the Marriage and Family
Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Worker
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to amend ss.
MPSW 3.01 (2), 3.05 (2), 3.07 (2), 3.09 (2), 11.01 (1) (b), and
16.01 (1) (a) 3., relating to a foreign degree to be equivalent
to a degree from an accredited school in the United States.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: January 13, 2004
Time: 1:45 P.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 179A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708.  Written comments must be received by
January 23, 2004 to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

PROPOSED ORDER
An order of the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Worker Examining Board to amend ss.
MPSW 3.01 (2), 3.05 (2), 3.07 (2), 3.09 (2), 11.01 (1) (b), and
16.01 (1) (a) 3., relating to the determination of the
equivalency of a foreign degree to a degree from an institution
accredited in the United States, and to require some
candidates to demonstrate English proficiency.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  ss. 15.085 (5) (b),
227.11 (2) and 457.03 (1), Stats.

Statutes interpreted:  ss. 457.08, 457.10, and 457.13, Stats.
SECTION 1.  Under current requirements, applicants for

social worker certification or licensure must have earned a
social work degree from a school accredited by the Council on
Social Work Education.  Applicants otherwise qualified are
prevented from obtaining Wisconsin certification or licensure
if the applicant obtained a degree in another country.  The
Council on Social Work Education has a process for
determining equivalency of degrees, and in fairness to
graduates of foreign schools, the Social Worker Section
wishes to rely on that process for accepting equivalent
degrees.  This section amends the rules to permit the Social
Worker Section to accept from applicants for social worker
certification or licensure a foreign degree determined by a
national accrediting organization to be equivalent to a degree
from an accredited school. The amendment would require
candidates to demonstrate proficiency in English.  This
section specifies the new process and requirement.

SECTION 2.  Under current requirements, licensure as a
professional counselor requires that candidates be graduates
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of programs accredited by the Commission for Accreditation
of Counseling (CACREP) and Related Educational Programs
or the Council on Rehabilitation Education.  The National
Board of Certified Counselors provides a service to evaluate
whether foreign degrees are equivalent to a degree program
accredited by CACREP.  The amendment would require
candidates to demonstrate proficiency in English.  This
section specifies the new process and requirement.

SECTION 3.  Under current requirements, licensure as a
marriage and family therapist requires that candidates be
graduates of programs accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education
(COAMFTE) of the American Association of Marriage and
Family Therapy.  This amendment permits an individual who
is a graduate of a program from a foreign institution to seek
licensure when an organization approved by the Marriage and
Family Section determines that the program is equivalent to
a program accredited by COAMFTE.  The amendment would
require candidates to demonstrate proficiency in English.
This section specifies the new process and requirement.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1. MPSW 3.01 (2), 3.05 (2), 3.07 (2) and 3.09

(2) are amended to read:
MPSW 3.01 (2) Verification that the school or program

which awarded the social work degree was accredited by, or
a pre−accreditation program, of the council on social work
education Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) at the
time the applicant graduated from the program or school, or
that a degree awarded by a foreign institution of higher
learning has been determined by the CSWE to be equivalent
to a program accredited by the CSWE. If the applicant’s
education was not received in English, the applicant must
demonstrate proficiency in English by achieving a score of
550 (or 213 on the computer−based exam) or above on the
Test Of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or an
equivalent score on an equivalent exam.

MPSW 3.05 (2) Verification that the school or program
which awarded the social work degree was accredited by, or
a pre−accreditation program, of the council on social work
education Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) at the
time the applicant graduated from the program or school, or
that a degree awarded by a foreign institution of higher
learning has been determined by the CSWE to be equivalent
to a program accredited by the CSWE. If the applicant’s
education was not received in English, the applicant must
demonstrate proficiency in English by achieving a score of
550 (or 213 on the computer−based exam) or above on the
Test Of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or an
equivalent score on an equivalent exam.

MPSW 3.07 (2) Verification that the school or program
which awarded the social work degree was accredited by, or
a pre−accreditation program, of the council on social work
education Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) at the
time the applicant graduated from the program or school, or
that a degree awarded by a foreign institution of higher
learning has been determined by the CSWE to be equivalent
to a program accredited by the CSWE. If the applicant’s
education was not received in English, the applicant must
demonstrate proficiency in English by achieving a score of
550 (or 213 on the computer−based exam) or above on the
Test Of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or an
equivalent score on an equivalent exam.

MPSW 3.09 (2) Verification that the school or program
which awarded the social work degree was accredited by, or
a pre−accreditation program, of the council on social work
education Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) at the
time the applicant graduated from the program or school, or
that a degree awarded by a foreign institution of higher

learning has been determined by the CSWE to be equivalent
to a program accredited by the CSWE. If the applicant’s
education was not received in English, the applicant must
demonstrate proficiency in English by achieving a score of
550 (or 213 on the computer−based exam) or above on the
Test Of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or an
equivalent score on an equivalent exam.

SECTION 2. MPSW 11.01 (1) (b) is amended to read:
MPSW 11.01 (1) (b) Verification that the institution which

awarded the degree was a regionally accredited college or
university, or accredited by the commission for accreditation
of counseling and related educational programs (CACREP),
or the council on rehabilitation education at the time the
applicant graduated from the school, or that a degree awarded
by a foreign institution of higher learning has been determined
by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) or by
another organization approved by the section to be equivalent
to a degree from a program accredited by CACREP.  If the
applicant’s education was not received in English, the
applicant must demonstrate proficiency in English by
achieving a score of 550 (or 213 on the computer−based
exam) or above on the Test Of English as a Foreign Language
(TOEFL) or an equivalent score on an equivalent exam.

SECTION 3. MPSW 11.01 (1) (b) is amended to read:
MPSW 16.01 (1) (a) 3. An applicant who has a master’s or

doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a
program which was not accredited by the commission on
accreditation for marriage and family therapy education
(COAMFTE) of the American association for marriage and
family therapy must submit satisfactory evidence of having
completed education equivalent to a master’s or doctoral
degree in marriage and family therapy from a program
accredited by the commission on accreditation for marriage
and family therapy education of the American association for
marriage and family therapy, pursuant to s. MPSW 16.02, or
that a degree awarded by a foreign institution of higher
learning has been determined by an organization approved by
the section to be equivalent to a degree from a program
accredited by COAMFTE. If the applicant’s education was
not received in English, the applicant must demonstrate
proficiency in English by achieving a score of 550 (or 213 on
the computer−based exam) or above on the Test Of English as
a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or an equivalent score on an
equivalent exam.

Fiscal Estimate
There will be no additional cost to the Department of

Regulation and Licensing to certify these applicant social
workers than for current applicants with degrees from schools
in the United States that are accredited by the Council.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will be reviewed by the department

through its Small Business Review Advisory Committee to
determine whether there will be an economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection − Air Pollution
Control, Chs. NR 400—)

[CR 03−118]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2) (a), 285.11 (1), (16) and (17) and 285.65 (14), Stats.,
interpreting ss. 285.11 (6), 285.60 and 285.61, Stats., the
Department of Natural Resources will hold public hearings on
revisions to chs. NR 405, 408 and 484, Wis. Adm. Code,
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relating to incorporation of federal changes to the air
permitting program.  On December 31, 2002, the U.S. EPA
promulgated federal rules which significantly changed the
federal new source review (NSR) program for major emission
sources located in both attainment and nonattainment areas.
The major elements of the Department’s proposed
implementation are:

1.  Baseline actual emissions – The Department is
proposing that facilities be able to use any 2 years in the past
10 years for establishing baseline emissions, as in the federal
rule.  However, the proposed rule provides that the same
baseline period must be used for all pollutants, unless the
Department approves an alternative time period.  The
Department is also proposing that replacement units be
treated as new units, as they are under the existing program.
Additionally, the Department is proposing that any new units
installed after the baseline period that have at least a
24−month actual emission history be required to use their
actual emissions in the baseline.

2.  Methodology for calculating emission increases – The
Department is proposing that the federal applicability test,
including a demand growth factor, be adopted.  However, the
Department is looking for input as to how this factor should
be calculated.  Without clear standards for estimating demand
growth, it will be difficult for the Department to include a
demand provision in the final rule.

3.  Plantwide applicability limitations (PALs) – The
Department is proposing that the federal PAL proposal be
accepted in Wisconsin with the option to exclude any
emission unit that is designated a “clean unit” from the PAL.
The emission would be calculated the same as baseline actual
emissions.  Additionally, the Department is proposing that
PAL facilities which are located in a nonattainment area be
subject to a declining emission cap for the nonattainment
pollutants.  Essentially this would require that facilities
achieve a best available control technology (BACT) level of
control on all significant emission units prior to the expiration
of the PAL.

4.  Clean unit applicability test – The Department is
proposing to accept the federal clean unit provisions with the
proviso that retroactive determinations will only be made
back as far as 2001.  The Department is also adding a
provision to cover situations where an area is redesignated
from attainment to nonattainment.  The Department is
requesting comments on three proposed options on these
provisions.

5.  Pollution control project (PCP) exclusion – The
Department is proposing a rule which is essentially identical
to that required under the federal rule.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

January 22, 2004
Thursday at 1:00 p.m.

Room 158/185, DNR Region Headquarters
1300 W. Clairemont
Eau Claire

January 23, 2004
Friday at 10:00 a.m.
Room 027, GEF #2 Building
101 South Webster St.
Madison

January 28, 2004
Wednesday at 1:00 p.m.
Auditorium, Bay Beach Wildlife Sanctuary
1660 E. Shore Drive
Green Bay

January 29, 2004
Thursday at 1:00 p.m.
Room 141, DNR Region Hdqrs.
2300 N. Dr. Martin L. King Jr., Dr.
Milwaukee

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Robert Park at (608) 266−1054 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted
to Mr. Jeffrey Hansen, Bureau of Air Management, P.O. Box
7921, Madison, WI 53707 no later than January 30, 2004.
Written comments will have the same weight and effect as
oral statements presented at the hearings.

Fiscal Estimate
Because these rule revisions will reduce the number of

PSD/NSR permits that the department will process annually,
revenues from the completion of these permits will be lost.
Based upon 2002 permitting efforts, the department estimates
this lost revenue to be $480,000 annually.  Increasing minor
source permitting efforts may result due to less regulatory
burden, the department estimates that this increasing level
would equal $140,000.

The department estimates that although these revisions will
reduce the number of projects that would be subject to
permitting under the PSD/NSR program, the department will
be required to spend resources conducting complex
applicability determinations and preparing exclusions from
the PSD/NSR program under the options provided for in the
rule revisions.  These exclusions will be labor intensive on the
front end in order to ultimately provide regulatory relief.  It is
estimated that any time that would have been available as a
result of the reduced number of PSD/NSR permit applications
will be spent responding to requests for applicability
determinations or in preparing exclusionary documents for
sources taking advantage of the exclusionary options.  The
department estimates that the costs to prepare these
exclusionary documents will equal or exceed the costs of
preparing PS/NSR permits, and may be possible to absorb
within the agency’s budget.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person
A copy of proposed rule AM−06−04 and its fiscal estimate

may be obtained from:
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Proposed Rules
Bureau of Air Management
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
Phone:  (608) 266−7718
FAX:  (608) 267−0560

Notice of Proposed Rule
Transportation

[CR 03−122]
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an

order to amend ch. Trans 149 (title), 149.01 (2), 149.02 (6)
(m), 149.05 (5) (a) 2., 149.07 (1) (a) 2., 149.08 (1) and Trans
305.065 (1) and (2) (b), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to titling
and registration of homemade, reconstructed or repaired
salvage vehicles.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the
authority of ss. 85.16 (1), 227.11 (2) (b) and 342.07 (2), Stats.,
and according to the procedure set forth in s. 227.16 (2) (e),
Stats., the Wisconsin Department of Transportation will adopt
the following rule amending chs. Trans 149 and 305 without
public hearing unless, within 30 days after publication of this
notice January 1, 2004, the Department of Transportation is
petitioned for a public hearing by 25 natural persons who will
be affected by the rule; a municipality which will be affected
by the rule; or an association which is representative of a farm,
labor, business or professional group which will be affected
by the rule.

Questions about this rule and any petition for public
hearing may be addressed to Patricia Hansen, Division of
State Patrol, Room 551, P. O. Box 7912, Madison, Wisconsin
53707−7912, telephone (608) 267−0325.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutory Authority: ss. 85.16 (1), 342.07 (2) and 227.11
(2) (b), Stats.

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 341.268, as amended by 2001 Wis.
Act 109, and 342.07, Stats.

General Summary of Proposed Rule.  Prior to passage of
2001 Wis. Act 109, motorcycles built by non−licensed
manufacturers were titled as “replica” vehicles.  2001
Wisconsin Act 109 amended s. 341.268, Wis. Stats., to
exclude motorcycles from the definition of replica vehicle.
After October 1, 2002, the definition of homemade vehicle is
expanded to include motorcycles that reproduce a vehicle
originally made by another manufacturer.

Current policies of the Department of Transportation
require that all homemade and reconstructed vehicles be
inspected before a title and registration plates may be issued.
This policy is expressed in s. Trans 305.065, Wis. Admin.
Code.  The proposed rule will amend chs. Trans 149 and 305
to clarify that inspections of homemade vehicles, including
motorcycles, are to be conducted in the same manner as
inspections of repaired salvage vehicles.  The proposed rule
further amends ch. Trans 149 to provide that the requirement
for receipts for motorcycle parts be raised from the current
$50 to $150 in order to capture information on major part
purchases and to eliminate receipts for minor, non−essential
motorcycle parts.  The inspections for homemade and
reconstructed vehicles do not require a fee since there is no
statutory provision for charging a fee.  The proposed rule will
amend ch. Trans 149 to clarify that the fee provisions of that
rule apply only to inspections of repaired salvage vehicles.

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE
Under the authority vested in the state of Wisconsin,

department of transportation, by ss. 85.16 (1), 227.11 (2) (b)
and 342.07 (2), Stats., the department of transportation hereby
proposes to amend rules interpreting ss. 341.268 and 342.07,
Stats., relating to titling and registration of homemade,
reconstructed or repaired salvage vehicles.

SECTION 1.  Ch. Trans 149 (title) is amended to read:
INSPECTION OF A HOMEMADE, RECONSTRUCTED

OR REPAIRED SALVAGE VEHICLE
SECTION 2.  Trans 149.01 (2) is amended to read:
Trans 149.01 (2) This chapter applies to any person

seeking to obtain a certificate of title on a homemade vehicle,
reconstructed vehicle, repaired salvage vehicle or on a vehicle
identified in another jurisdiction as a repaired salvage or
salvage vehicle.

SECTION 3.  Trans 149.02 (6) (m) is amended to read:
Trans 149.02 (6) (m) Any motorcycle part not listed under

this subsection which has a value exceeding $50 $150.
SECTION 4.  Trans 149.05 (5) (a) 2. is amended to read:
Trans 149.05 (5) (a) 2.  The Wisconsin salvage certificate

of title evidencing the applicant’s ownership of the vehicle,
which may be a salvage certificate of title in the name of the
applicant, or a Wisconsin salvage certificate of title in the
name of another person who has properly assigned the title to
the applicant in the space provided on the certificate.  This
paragraph does not apply to homemade or reconstructed
vehicles.

SECTION 5.  Trans 149.07 (1) (a) 2.  is amended to read:
Trans 149.07 (1) (a) 2.  The applicant’s current salvage

certificate of title.  This paragraph does not apply to
homemade or reconstructed vehicles.

SECTION 6.  Trans 149.08 (1) is amended to read:
Trans 149.08 (1) The applicant shall pay an inspection fee

for each inspection performed, except that there is no
additional fee for the reinspection described in s. Trans 149.07
(2) (b).  There is no fee for the inspection of a homemade or
reconstructed vehicle.

SECTION 7.  Trans 305.065 (1) and (2) (b) are amended
to read:

Trans 305.065 (1) INSPECTION.  Upon completion of
assembly or reconstruction, every homemade or
reconstructed vehicle shall be inspected prior to being
registered or titled for compliance with this chapter, ch. Trans
149 and ch. 347, Stats.  The inspection shall be performed by
an inspector authorized by the department to perform
inspections of salvage vehicles under s. 342.07, Stats.  This
subsection does not apply to trailers or semitrailers.

(2) (b) Replica and street modified vehicles.  The
department shall issue a title indicating that a vehicle, except
a motorcycle, is a replica or street modified vehicle and the
make and model year shown on the title shall be the original
make and model year of the street modified vehicle or the
make and model year of the vehicle being replicated.  The
installation of reproduction body parts on a previously
manufactured and titled vehicle body and frame is not
considered by the department to constitute a replica vehicle
for purposes of identifying the vehicle on its title.  A vehicle
shall be considered a replica or a street modified vehicle if it
has been certified by the owner to be a replica or a street
modified vehicle for purposes of registration under s.
341.268, Stats.  A vehicle shall also be considered a street
modified vehicle if the vehicle’s engine has been replaced
with one which required adaptation beyond ordinary
replacement.
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Fiscal Effect
The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal

impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city,
village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult
education district, sewerage district, or federally−recognized
tribes or bands.  The Department estimates that there will be
no fiscal impact on state revenues or liabilities.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The amendments of these rules have no direct affect on

small businesses.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of the rule may be obtained upon request, without

cost, by writing to Patricia Hansen, Division of State Patrol,
P. O. Box 7912, Room 551, Madison, WI  53707−7912, or by
calling (608) 267−0325.  Hearing−impaired individuals may
contact the Department using TDD (608) 266−0396.
Alternate formats of the proposed rule will be provided to
individuals at their request.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

[CR 03−123]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 85.16

(1) and 348.07 (4), Stats., interpreting s. 348.07 (4), Stats., the
Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing at the
following location to consider the amendment of chapter
Trans 276, Wis. Admin. Code, relating to allowing the
operation of double bottoms and certain other vehicles on
certain specified highways:

January 20, 2004 at 11:00 a.m.
Transportation District 3
2733 Ridge Road
Conference Room 2
Green Bay, WI
(Parking is available for persons with disabilities)
The public record on this proposed rule making will be held

open until close of business on the date of the hearing to
permit the submission of written comments from persons
unable to attend the public hearing or who wish to supplement
testimony offered at the hearing.  Any such written comments
should be submitted to Ashwani K. Sharma, Traffic
Operations Engineer, Bureau of Highway Operations, Room
501, P. O. Box 7986, Madison, Wisconsin, 53707−7986.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutory Authority:  ss. 85.16 (1) and 348.07 (4), Stats.
Statute Interpreted:   s. 348.07 (4), Stats.
General Summary of Proposed Rule.  This proposed rule

amends Trans 276.07 (10), (10m), (11) and (17); and create
Trans 276.07 (34w), Wis. Adm. Code, to add five segments of
highway to the designated highway system established under
s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  The actual highway segments that this
proposed rule adds to the designated highway system are:

Hwy.            From                           To
STH 47 STH 29 USH 45
STH 55 STH 64 at Langlade STH 29 at Shawano
CTH “M” STH 32 W. of Suring STH 55
STH 49 STH 29 STH 66 E. of Rosholt
STH 83 IH 94 STH 59 at Genesee

The long trucks to which this proposed rule applies are
those with 53−foot semitrailers, double bottoms and the

vehicles which may legally operate on the federal National
Network, but which exceed Wisconsin’s regular limits on
overall length.  Generally, no person may operate any of the
following vehicles on Wisconsin’s highways without a
permit:  A single vehicle with an overall length in excess of
40 feet, a combination of vehicles with an overall length in
excess of 65 feet, a semitrailer longer than 48 feet, an
automobile haulaway longer than 66 feet plus allowed
overhangs, or a double bottom.  Certain exceptions are
provided under s. 348.07 (2), Stats., which implements
provisions of the federal Surface Transportation Assistance
Act in Wisconsin.

The effect of this proposed rule will be to extend the
provisions of s. 348.07 (2) (f), (fm), (gm) and (gr), and s.
348.08 (1) (e), Stats., to the highway segments listed above.
As a result, vehicles which may legally operate on the federal
National Network in Wisconsin will also be allowed to
operate on the newly−designated highways.  Specifically, this
means there will be no overall length limitation for a
tractor−semitrailer combination, a double bottom or an
automobile haulaway on the affected highway segments.
There also will be no length limitation for a truck tractor or
road tractor when operated in a tractor−semitrailer
combination or as part of a double bottom or an automobile
haulaway.  Double bottoms will be allowed to operate on the
affected highway segments provided neither trailer is longer
than 28 feet, 6 inches.  Semitrailers up to 53 feet long may also
be operated on these highway segments provided the kingpin
to rear axle distance does not exceed 43 feet.  This distance is
measured from the kingpin to the center of the rear axle or, if
the semitrailer has a tandem axle, to a point midway between
the first and last axles of the tandem.  Otherwise, semitrailers,
including semitrailers which are part of an automobile
haulaway, are limited to 48 feet in length.

These vehicles and combinations are also allowed to
operate on undesignated highways for a distance of 5 miles or
less from the designated highway in order to reach fuel, food,
maintenance, repair, rest, staging, terminal or vehicle
assembly or points of loading or unloading.
Fiscal Impact

The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal
impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city,
village, town, school district, technical college district or
sewerage district.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The provisions of this proposed rule adding highway
segments to the designated system have no direct adverse
effect on small businesses, and may have a favorable effect on
those small businesses which are shippers or carriers using the
newly−designated routes.
Copies of Rule and Contact Person

Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost
upon request to the office of the State Traffic Engineer, P. O.
Box 7986, Room 501, Madison, Wisconsin, 53707−7986,
telephone (608) 266−1273.  For questions about this rule
making, please call Ashwani Sharma, Traffic Operations
Engineer at (608) 266−1273.  Alternate formats of the
proposed rule will be provided to individuals at their request.

Notice of Hearings
Workforce Development

[CR 03−125]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 102.15

(1) and 227.11, Stats., the Department of Workforce
Development proposes to hold a public hearing to consider
changes to chapter DWD 80, relating to worker’s
compensation.
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Hearing Information
Friday, January 16, 2004 at 10 a.m.
GEF 1 Building, Room B105
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances that may
make communication or accessibility difficult at the hearings,
please call (608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing
date. Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority: Sections 102.15 (1) and 227.11, Stats.
Statutes interpreted: Sections 102.16 (2), 102.16 (2m),

102.31 (2) (a), 102.32 (6), 102.35 (1), 102.37, 102.38, and
102.82, Stats.

The proposed rules make the following changes, as agreed
to by the Worker’s Compensation Advisory Council:

Supplementary reports by employers and insurance
companies. Under the current rule self−insured employers
and insurance companies are required to submit supplemental
reports only if the reported injury meets the definition of lost
time under DWD 80.02 (1) (a). The proposed amendment to
s. DWD 80.02 (2) (b) will require self−insured employers and
insurance companies to submit supplemental reports for all
claims reported whether or not they meet the lost−time
definition. The amendment will not require the reporting of no
lost time or denied claims but will require the filing of
supplemental reports for all claims that are reported.

Written notice by employers and insurance companies. The
proposed amendment to s. DWD 80.02 (2) (g) 2. will require
self−insured employers and insurance companies to provide
notice of denial to the department and employees for claims
that are initially reported and paid but later denied. The
current rule is inconsistent with the requirement to report only
compensable claims.

Written notice by employers and insurance companies. The
proposed rules repeal s. DWD 80.02 (2) (h). Under the current
rule, self−insured employers and insurance companies are
required to provide the department with written notice related
to denial or continued investigation of claims with copies of
the report provided to employees. This provision is repealed
because the requirement for self−insured employers and
insurance companies to submit reports about the denial or
investigation of claims to the department is eliminated. The
newly−created DWD 80. 02 (2m) replaces this provision and
requires self−insured employers and insurance companies to
provide notice of denial or investigation of claims to
employees only and not to the department.

Notice by employers and insurance companies to
employees. The proposed rules amend s. DWD 80.02 (2m) to
clarify that a notice of denial or investigation of claims is to
be sent to the employee along with a statement advising the
employee of the right to a hearing before the department. The
notice of investigation will specify if additional medical or

other information is needed to complete the investigation.
This notice must be sent to the employee and is not required
to be sent to the department.

Electronic reporting. The proposed amendment to s. DWD
80.02 (3m) will permit the department to require self−insured
employers and insurance companies to submit all or selected
information in reports or amendments to reports to be filed via
electronic, magnetic, or other media satisfactory to the
department. Under the current rule self−insured employers
and insurance companies may request to submit required
reports electronically but are not required to do so. This
amendment will allow the department discretion to require
electronic reporting to help the self−insured employer or
insurance company to meet reporting requirements. This
amendment also permits the department to grant waivers from
the requirement to submit reports by electronic means if the
employer, self−insured employer or insurer can establish
good cause.

Payment of permanent disability. A new section is created
at s. DWD 80.52 to establish when payment for compensation
for permanent disability must begin in cases in which the
self−insured employer or insurance company concedes
liability but disputes the extent of permanent disability. Under
this rule payment is to begin (1) within 30 days after the
self−insured employer or insurance company receives a
report that provides a permanent disability rating or (2) within
30 days after receiving a report from an examination
performed under s. 102.13 (1) (a), Stats., in the amount of
permanent disability found as a result of the examination. If
no examination was previously performed, the self−insured
employer or insurance company may give notice of a request
for an examination within 30 days of receiving a report that
establishes permanent disability. If the examining
practitioner’s report is not available within 90 days of the
request for an examination, payment must begin by that date.

Uninsured employers fund. Section DWD 80.62 (7) (a) 3.
is amended to allow the department to seek reimbursement
from uninsured employers for payments made by the
Uninsured Employers Fund for claims administration
expenses.

Notice of cancellation or termination. The proposed rules
amend s. DWD 80.65 to permit insurance companies to give
notice of cancellation or termination of insurance policies to
the Wisconsin Compensation Rating Bureau by facsimile
machine transmission, electronic mail, or any electronic,
magnetic, or other medium approved by the department. The
current rule permits notice only by certified mail or personal
service. The rule is amended to authorize notice by different
means to comply with a recent amendment to s. 102.31 (2) (a),
Stats.

Reasonableness of fee disputes. Section DWD 80.72 (3) (a)
is amended to require self−insured employers and insurance
companies to raise disputes over liability or the extent of
disability of the underlying claim and give notice within 30
days after receiving a completed bill from a healthcare
provider, unless there is good cause for the delay in providing
this notice.

Necessity of treatment. Section DWD 80.73 (3) (a) is
amended to require self−insured employers and insurance
companies to raise disputes over liability or the extent of
liability of the underlying claim and give notice within 60
days after receiving a bill from the healthcare provider, unless
there is good cause for the delay in providing this notice.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule changes may affect small business as

defined in s. 227.114, Stats., but the changes would not have
a significant economic impact.
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Fiscal Impact
The proposed rule changes do not have a fiscal effect on

state or local government.

Contact Information
The proposed rules are available on the DWD web site at

http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/dwd/hearings.htm.  A paper
copy may be obtained at no charge by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel
Dept. of Workforce Development

201 E. Washington Avenue

P.O. Box 7946

Madison, WI 53707−7946

(608) 267−9403

elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Written Comments
Written comments on the proposed rules received at the

above address no later than January 20, 2004, will be given the
same consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Elections Board
(CR 03−100)

Ch. ElBd 2, relating to sufficiency of nomination papers
and petitions.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−074)

Ch. NR 6, relating to waiver of the slow−no−wake
restriction on Elkhorn Lake, Walworth County.

Public Instruction
(CR 03−103)

Ch. PI 25, relating to the children at risk program.

Transportation
(CR 03−109)

Ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing the operation of
double bottoms and certain other vehicles on certain
specified highways.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Controlled Substances Board
(CR 03−056)

An order affecting ch. CSB 2, relating to rescheduling
buprenorphine from a schedule V controlled substance to
a schedule III controlled substance under federal law.

Effective 2−1−04.

Controlled Substances Board
(CR 03−057)

An order affecting ch. CSB 2, relating to the scheduling
of a schedule III controlled substance under federal law.

Effective 2−1−04.

Employee Trust Funds
(CR 03−062)

An order affecting ch. ETF 20, relating to the annuity
dividend effective date

Effective 2−1−04.

Health and Family Services
(CR 03−010)

An order affecting ch. HFS 39, relating to voluntarily
relinquishing custody of a newborn who is 72 hours old
or younger.

Effective 2−1−04.

Hearing and Speech Examining Board
(CR 03−025)

An order affecting chs. HAS 1 to 6, relating to definitions,
grounds for discipline and minor and technical changes.

Effective 2−1−04.

Public Service Commission
(CR 03−003)

An order affecting chs. PSC 113 and 119, relating to
interconnection of distributed generation to electric
distribution systems.

Effective 2−1−04.

Transportation
(CR 99−135)

An order affecting chs. Trans 138 and 139, relating to
dealer facilities, records and licenses; and motor vehicle
trade practices.

Effective 3−1−04.
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Rules published with this register and final regulatory
flexibility analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the December 31, 2003, Wisconsin
Administrative Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to
the subscribers of the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board
(CR 02−152)

An order affecting chs. AT 1, 3 and 4, relating to
consulting physicians and changing “athletic trainer” with
“licensee.”  Effective 1−1−04.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These rules will have no significant economic impact on

a substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Commerce
(CR 03−011)

An order affecting ch. Comm 48, relating to petroleum
products.  Effective 1−1−04.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Sections 168.04, 168.07 (2) and 168.16 (4), Stats.,

authorize the Department to promulgate rules prescribing
minimum product grade specifications for petroleum
products that come into the state of Wisconsin.  The proposed
rules of Clearinghouse Rule No. 03−011 are minimum
requirements to meet the directives of the Statutes, and any
exceptions from compliance for small businesses would be
contrary to the Statutory objectives which are the basis for the
rules.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Dentistry Examining Board
(CR 02−139)

An order affecting ch. DE 2, relating to faculty licenses.
Effective 1−1−04.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These rules will have no significant economic impact on

a substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Ethics Board
(CR 03−061)

An order affecting ch. Eth 1, relating to the identification
of a topic of a lobbying communication that relates to an
attempt to influence administrative action.  Effective 1−1−04.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These rules will have no significant economic impact on

a substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Health and Family Services
(CR  03−033)

An order affecting various chapters, making minor
revisions to the department’s body of administrative code.
Effective 1−1−04.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These rules will have no significant economic impact on
a substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Natural Resources
(CR 02−145)

An order affecting ch. NR 520, relating to adjusting solid
waste licensing and plan review fees.  Effective 1−1−04.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The department does not believe that the proposed
revisions will have a significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses.  In general, these
revisions affect municipalities and larger businesses.  The
small businesses that would most likely be impacted by the fee
increases would be solid waste collection and transportation
facilities.  The proposed 10% increase in annual license fees
would apply to these businesses.  These fees have not been
raised for six years.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rules were reviewed by the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources and the Senate Committee on
Environment and Natural Resources.  On September 16,
2003, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  On September 18, the Senate Committee on
Environment and Natural Resources held a public hearing.
No modifications were recommended to the department.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−029)

An order affecting ch. NR 19, relating to wildlife
rehabilitation licenses and activities.  Effective 1−1−04.
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Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The revisions to chs. NR 12 and 19 pertain to rules

relating to the rehabilitation of wildlife.  These rules are
applicable to individual persons and organizations and
impose no compliance or reporting requirements for small
businesses.  Therefore, a final regulatory flexibility analysis
is not required.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rules were reviewed by the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources and the Senate Committee on
Environment and Natural Resources.  On September 16,
2003, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  No modifications were recommended to the
department.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−035)

An order affecting ch. NR 45, relating to use regulations
on department properties.  Effective 1−1−04 and 3−1−04.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

A potential impact on small business will come with the
creation of the department commercial use permit.  This
permit would allow the department to place reasonable
restrictions on commercial activities on certain department
properties and to collect fees when deemed appropriate.  In
many cases, commercial activities have a more consumptive
impact on department lands than do individual users due to
their more intensive use and regular scheduling.

Examples of businesses affected include commercial
photographers, ski schools, climbing schools, horse trip
guides and scuba diving schools.  These groups will be subject
to a $30 annual commercial use permit.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rule was referred to the Assembly Committee on
Tourism and the Senate Committee on Environment and
Natural Resources.  On September 18, 2003, the Senate
Committee on Environment and Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  No modifications were recommended to the
department.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−044)

An order affecting ch. NR 64, relating to reimbursement
of eligible expenses on all−terrain vehicle trails.  Effective
1−1−04.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rule does not affect small business;
therefore, a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rule was referred to the Assembly Committee on
Tourism and the Senate Committee on Environment and
Natural Resources.  On September 18, 2003, the Senate
Committee on Environment and Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  No modifications were recommended to the
department.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−049)

An order affecting ch. NR 428, relating to the control of
emissions of nitrogen oxides.  Effective 1−1−04.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Small businesses may be able to utilize more efficient and

less costly options for providing energy at lower emission
levels than was previously available.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rule was reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Environment and Natural Resources  and the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  On October 15,
2003, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  No modifications were recommended to the
department.

Transportation
(CR 03−059)

An order affecting ch. Trans 327, relating to motor carrier
safety requirements.  Effective 1−4−04.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule will have minimal adverse impact on
small businesses.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The Legislative Council report contained only one
comment.  Due to modifications made as a result of testimony
at the hearing, the provision has been omitted from the rule as
originally proposed.

Transportation
(CR 03−060)

An order affecting chs. Trans 325 and 326, relating to
motor carrier safety regulations.  Effective 1−4−04.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small
businesses.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Workforce Development
(CR 03−022)

An order affecting ch. DWD 40, relating to the child
support guidelines.  Effective 1−1−04.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

A final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required
because the rule does not affect small business as defined in
s. 227.114, Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

On July 22, 2003, the Senate Committee on Health,
Children, Families, Aging and Long Term Care requested that
the department modify the proposed rule to provide for a
realistic payment amount for low−income payers and review
the high−income section of the proposed rule to determine if
the level of support required is justified.

The proposed low−income section originally submitted
to the legislature provided that when determining earning
capacity the court may impute income that a person may earn
by working 30 hours per week at the minimum wage if
evidence is presented that the parent’s ability to earn is limited
because the parent has less than a high school education, has
been employed less than 6 months in the past 12 months, and
there is limited availability for work in or near the parent’s
community.

The department submitted a modification on August 28,
2003, that provides a schedule with reduced percentage rates
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to be used to determine the child support obligation for payers
with an income below approximately 125% of the federal
poverty guidelines if the court determines that the payer’s
total economic circumstances limit his or her ability to pay
support at the level determined using the full percentage rates.
The modified rule also provides that when income is imputed
based on earning capacity the court shall consider a parent’s
history of child care responsibilities as the parent with
primary placement in addition to other factors.

The department reviewed the high−income provision and
concluded that the proposed rule did accurately reflect
research on the cost of raising children and no modification of
the high−income provision was submitted. The Senate
Committee did not object to the department’s response.

On September 10, 2003, the Assembly Committee on
Children and Families requested that the department consider
the following issues:

•Reduction of high−income payer threshold.
•Mandatory application of the high−income formula.

•Appropriateness of application of new
shared−placement provision to existing cases in which
parents have substantially equal placement resulting in
significantly higher support orders in some circumstances.

•Requiring courts to consider a parent’s recent education,
training and work experience and the parent’s current
physical and mental health, in addition to other factors, when
imputing income based on earning capacity.

On September 23, 2003, the department submitted the
following modifications:

•The threshold for application of the high−income payer
formula was decreased from $102,000 to $84,000.

• In determining income imputed based on earning
capacity, the court shall consider “recent work experience”
and “current physical and mental health,” in addition to other
factors.

The department considered the other issues raised and no
changes were made. The Assembly Committee did not object
to the department’s response.
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Sections affected by rule revisions and corrections

The following administrative rule revisions and corrections have taken place in December 2003, and will be effective as
indicated in the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at
(608) 266−7275.

Revisions

Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing
Board

Ch. AT 1
S. AT 1.07
Ch. AT 3
S. AT 3.02
Ch. AT 4
S. AT 4.02 (4)

Commerce
Ch. Comm 48
S. Comm 48.02 (5)
SS. Comm 48.03 and 48.035
S. Comm 48.04 (1) (b), (e) and (2)
SS. Comm 48.05 and 48.06
S. Comm 48.07 (2) to (4)
S. Comm 48.08
S. Comm 48.09 (1) (a) and (3) (b)
S. Comm 48.10 (1) (a), (b) and (3)
S. Comm 48.11 (1) (b) to (d), (3)

Dentistry Examining Board
Ch. DE 2
S. DE 2.015

Ethics Board
Ch. Eth 1
SS. Eth 1.03 and 1.04

Health and Family Services
Ch. HFS 56
S. HFS 56.02 (2) (a)
Ch. HFS 83
S. HFS 83.05 (1) (c)
Ch. HFS 90
S. HFS 90.05 (4) (a) and (c)
S. HFS 90.06 (2) (m)
S. HFS 90.08 (3) (b)
S. HFS 90.10 (2) (b)
S. HFS 90.11 (1) (b), (3) (b), (6) (a)
S. HFS 90.12 (6) (e)
Ch. HFS 101
S. HFS 101.03 (49)
Ch. HFS 105
S. HFS 105.01 (3)

S. HFS 105.39 (4) (b)
S. HFS 105.41
S. HFS 105.52 (1) (L) and (2) (a)
S. HFS 105.53 (3) (a), (c) and (6) (b)
Ch. HFS 107
S. HFS 107.02 (2m) (a) and (c)
S. HFS 107.10 (1), (2) (a), (d), (3) (b) to (d), (h), (i), (4)

(L) and (5) (a)
S. HFS 107.11 (6) (b)
S. HFS 107.12 (1) (e)
S. HFS 107.24 (2) (a), (3) (h) and (5) (j)
S. HFS 107.36 (1) and (2)
Ch. HFS 111
S. HFS 111.03 (36)
Ch. HFS 120
S. HFS 120.02
S. HFS 120.03 (7), (13), (20) and (34)
S. HFS 120.05 (2)
S. HFS 120.11 (3) (c), (d), (f), (4) (e)
S. HFS 120.12 (2) (b), (3) (b), (c), (5) (b), (5m) (a), (b),

(6) (a) and (c)
S. HFS 120.13 (2) (a)
S. HFS 120.14 (1) (b), (c), (e)
S. HFS 120.20 (3) (b)
S. HFS 120.21 (1) (a)
S. HFS 120.22 (1) (a)
Ch. HFS 124
S. HFS 124.05 (3) (h)
Ch. HFS 132
S. HFS 132.42 (3) (a), (4)
S. HFS 132.44 (1) (b)
S. HFS 132.51 (2) (b)
S. HFS 132.52 (2) (c)
S. HFS 132.66 (1) (d)
Ch. HFS 133
S. HFS 133.03 (8) (b)
Ch. HFS 134
S. HFS 134.11
S. HFS 134.12 (1)
S. HFS 134.13 (7), (10) (a), (12), (13), (17) and (39)

(intro.)
S. HFS 134.14 (1), (2) (a), (5m)
S. HFS 134.815 (1) and (2) (a)
Ch. HFS 144
S. HFS 144.03 (2) (b), (c) and (e)
Ch. HFS 145
S. HFS 145.05 (2) and (3)
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Ch. HFS 155 (Entire chapter)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 12
S. NR 12.001 (5), (8)
S. NR 12.10 (1) (a), (b), (2) (b)
S. NR 12.15 (11) (c)
SS. NR 12.30 to NR 12.41
Ch. NR 19
SS. NR 19.70 to NR 19.85
Ch. NR 45
S. NR 45.03 (2m), (9f), (9m), (15), (18m) and (26)
S. NR 45.04 (1) (f), (2) (c), (3) (f), (n) and (p)
S. NR 45.05 (4)
S. NR 45.06 (1) and (6) (a)
S. NR 45.09 (4)
S. NR 45.10 (1) (k), (n) and (4) (am)
S. NR 45.11 (6) (g)
S. NR 45.12 (1) (a), (b) to (d), (2) (a) to (d), (3) (b) and

(c), (4) (a) and (k)
S. NR 45.13 (1) (d) and (2) (e), (2m), (17) (a), (b), (18),

(24) to (26)
Ch. NR 64
S. NR 64.14 (2) (a) and (b)

Ch. NR 428
S. NR 428.02 (1)
S. NR 428.04 (2) (g)
S. NR 428.06 (2) (a)
Ch. NR 520
S. NR 520.04 (1) (d) and (5)
S. NR 520.15 (3)

Transportation
Ch. Trans 325
S. Trans 325.02 (intro.) and (8)
Ch. Trans 326
S. Trans 326.01 (intro.) and (8)
Ch. Trans 327
S. Trans 327.03
S. Trans 327.09 (8) (intro.) and (b)

Workforce Development
Ch. DWD 40
S. DWD 40.01 (3)
S. DWD 40.02 (2) to (10) , (13) to (20) and (22) to (31)
S. DWD 40.03 (1) (intro.) and (2) to (11)
S. DWD 40.04 (1) (b) and (2) to (5)
S. DWD 40.05

Editorial corrections

Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Employment Relations
Ch. ER 1
S. ER 1.02 (43)
Ch. ER 4
S. ER 4.02 (2)
S. ER 4.03 (note)
Ch. ER 29
S. ER 29.03 (7) (f)
Ch. ER 46
S. ER 46.03 (2) (a) and (note)
S. ER 46.07
S. ER 46.08 (3)

Employment Relations−Merit Recruitment
and Selection

Ch. ER−MRS 16
S. ER−MRS 16.03 (3)
Ch. ER−MRS 30
S. ER−MRS 30.10 (2)

Health and Family Services
Ch. HFS 13
S. HFS 13.03 (5) and (16)
Ch. HFS 56
S. 56.07 (4) (g)
Ch. HFS 83
S. HFS 83.03 (2) (e)

S. HFS 83.04 (15), (32) and (63)
S. HFS 83.41 (1) (d)
S. HFS 83.42 (15)
S. HFS 83.45 Table
S. HFS 83.51 (3) (b)
S. HFS 83.52 (2) (d)
S. HFS 83.53 (1) (a) to (c)
S. HFS 83.56 (1)
Ch. HFS 88
S. HFS 88.02 (4) (a)
Ch. HFS 94
S. 94.19 (1)
Ch. HFS 105
S. HFS 105.44
Ch. HFS 107
S. HFS 107.11 (6) (b)
S. HFS 107.12 (1) (b)
Ch. HFS 120
S. HFS 120.04 (2) (c)
Ch. HFS 131
S. HFS 131.53 (4) (a) and (b) and (19)
Ch. HFS 132
S. HFS 132.13 (17)
S. HFS 132.65 (6) (d)
S. HFS 132.812 (1)
Ch. HFS 134
S. HFS 134.15 (3) (c)
S. HFS 134.51 (1) (c)



Page 37December 31, 2003 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 576

S. HFS 134.812 (1)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 12
S. NR 12.001 (2) (a)
S. NR 12.16 (2) (a)
S. NR 12.31 (4) and (4e)
S. NR 12.35 (3)
S. NR 12.36 (3) (b)
S. NR 12.37 (6)
S. NR 12.41 (2) (b)
Ch. NR 19
S. NR 19.79 (3)
S. NR 19.795 (3) (b) and (3) (b)

S. NR 19.80 (2) and (6)
S. NR 19.84 (2) (b)

Public Service Commission
Ch. PSC 136
S. PSC 136.04 (3) (h) and (4) (d)
S. PSC 136.05 (3) (d)
S. PSC 136.10

Transportation
Ch. Trans 327
S. Trans 327.07
S. Trans 327.09 (2) (intro.), (3) and (13) (a)

Errata

Items reprinted to correct printing errors such as dropped copy (or other errors) are indicated in the following listing:

Health and Family Services
Ch. HFS 88
S. HFS 88.06 (1) (c) and (d)
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Executive  orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 30. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for 2nd Lieutenant Jeremy L. Wolfe of the United States Army who lost his life
during Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 31. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Spc. Eugene A. Uhl III of the United States Army who lost his life during
Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 32. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Sergeant Warren S. Hansen of the United States Army who lost his life during
Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 33. Relating to a special election for the Seventeenth Assembly District.

Executive Order 34. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Firefighter Jeffrey Tiegs of the Amherst Fire District.



The State of Wisconsin
Department of Administration
Bureau of Document Services
Document Sales and Distribution Section
P.O. Box 7840
Madison, Wisconsin 53707−7840

First Class Mail

Dated Material.  Please Do Not Delay!


