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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Commerce

A rule adopted creating s. Comm 2.33 (5), relating to
manufactured home certificate of title fees.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 76 (2) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 45 permits the

Department of Commerce to promulgate rules required under
sections 101.9205 (3), 101.9208 and 101.9213 (8), Stats., as
amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45, by using the emergency
rulemaking procedure under section 227.24, Stats., except
that the department is not required to provide evidence that the
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of public
peace, health, safety or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency.

The current statutes establish specific minimum fees that
the department must charge for conducting a file search, for
providing various services related to the titling of
manufactured homes, and for providing certain notices
related to security interests in manufactured homes.  2005
Wisconsin Act 45 removes those fees, effective December 1,
2005, from the statutes and requires the department to
establish, by rule, the fees for those services.  The emergency
rule establishes the required fees in the department’s fee
schedule, chapter Comm 2, without any changes in the fees
that have been charged under the current statutes.

The Act also requires the department to assess a new fee to
fund a manufactured housing rehabilitation and recycling
grant program.  The emergency rule establishes that fee to be

approximately the same as the environmental impact fee that
is no longer assessed.

Publication Date: November 29, 2005
Effective Date: December 1, 2005
Expiration Date: See section 76 (2) 2005 

  Wis. Act 45.
Hearing Date: January 6, 2006

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.
Finding of Emergency

The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the
recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818, s.
532 (3) and 532 (4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, s. ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005
Effective Date: February 3, 2005*
Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.



Page 5Mid−January 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 601

Insurance

Rules adopted amending s. Ins 8.49 Appendix 1, Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to small employer uniform employee
application for group health insurance.

Finding of emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The federal government will be implementing Medicare
Part D insurance for prescription drugs effective January 1,
2006, therefore s. Ins 8.49 Appendix 1 needs to reflect
accurately the status of applicants as it relates to Medicare Part
D enrollment.  Further, also effective January 1, 2006, the
federal government requires employers or insurers to provide
an employee specific information on how to elect insurance
coverage after a qualifying event subsequent to have waived
coverage in accordance with 45 CFR 146.117 (c) (1).  In order
to have these changes in place prior to January 1, 2006, the
rule must be promulgated to add these modifications.

These changes include the ability for the employee
applicant to indicate that they carry Medicare Part D effective
January 1, 2006 and amends one sentence in the notice portion
of the wavier section of the application to add information on
how an employee following a qualifying event may opt to
obtain health insurance coverage after initially waiving
insurance coverage through the small employer group health
insurance plan.

Publication Date: November 4, 2005
Effective Date: November 4, 2005
Expiration Date: April 3, 2006

Natural Resources (4)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 46 and 47, relating to the
administration of the Managed Forest Law and the
Wisconsin Forest Landowner Grant Program.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules that
govern the managed forest law.  The state legislature has
delegated the appropriate agencies rule−making authority to
administer the managed forest law.  State statute governing
the managed forest law was amended on July 25, 2005 with
an initial applicability date of June 1, 2005. This order is
designed to bring the administrative code into conformity
with the state statutes that govern the managed forest law.
Normal rule−making procedures will not allow the
establishment of changes necessary to continue processing
petitions for managed forest law received from June 1, 2005
to July 1, 2005 (petition deadline). Failure to process these
petitions will result in a delay in designation of these lands as
managed forest land and a failure to meet statutory deadlines
for designation.

Publication Date: October 4, 2005
Effective Date: October 4, 2005
Expiration Date: March 3, 2006
Hearing Date: October 19, 2005

2. Rules were adopted amending s. NR 19.50 relating to
hunter education fees.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate fees for safety education courses.  The state
legislature has delegated to the appropriate agencies rule
making authority to regulate and administer these courses.
The department must comply with state law.  This order is
desired to provide necessary funding for continuation of our
quality hunter education program.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the changes by
September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in lost
revenues and added expense to the hunter education program.

Publication Date: October 3, 2005

Effective Date: October 3, 2005
Expiration Date: March 2, 2006
Hearing Date: October 12, 2005

3. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 47 relating to
relating to master logging certification scholarships.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate and administer grant programs.  The State legislature
has delegated responsibility for rule−making to the
Department of Natural Resources.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the rules in
time to allocate funds during this fiscal year.  Failure to
establish rules during FY06 will result in lost revenues and
added expense to the Master Logger Certification program.

Publication Date: November 15, 2005

Effective Date: November 15, 2005

Expiration Date: April 14, 2006
Hearing Date: December 12, 2005

4. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 25 relating to
commercial fishing for lake trout in Lake Superior.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
The waters of Lake Superior were not part of the extensive
off−reservation treaty rights litigation known as the Voigt
case.  The parties stipulated that the Lake Superior rights
would be dealt with, to the extent possible, by agreement
rather than litigation.  This rule represents the implementation
of the most recent negotiated amendments to the agreement
between the State and the Red Cliff and Bad River Bands.  In
order to comply with the terms of the agreement, the State
must change its quotas and commercial fishing regulations at
the earliest possible date.  Failure by the State to do so will not
only deprive state fishers of increased harvest opportunities
available under the agreement, but could also jeopardize the
agreement, putting the entire Lake Superior fishery at risk of
litigation.

Publication Date: December 15, 2005

Effective Date: December 15, 2005

Expiration Date: May 14, 2006
Hearing Date: January 13, 2006
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Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Water Regulation,

Chs. NR 300—)

Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004

Effective Date: April 19, 2004*

Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Revenue (2)

1. Rule adopted revising s. Tax 2.50 and creating s. Tax
2.502, relating to the computation of the apportionment
fraction by multistated public utilities and
telecommunications companies.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that a rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to prescribe the method to be used
for apportioning the apportionable income of the following
business entities:

•  interstate public utilities, other than telecommunications
companies, and

•  interstate telecommunications companies.
It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to provide the

method of apportionment to be used by interstate public
utilities.

Publication Date: December 5, 2005
Effective Date: December 5, 2005
Expiration Date: May 4, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising chs. Tax 1 and 2, relating to
electronic funds transfer, information returns and wage
statements.

The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists
and that a rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

Section 71.775, Stats., requires pass−through entities to
file and pay withholding tax on the income allocable to their
nonresident members. The department has determined that in
order to administer this tax in a cost effective manner, it is
necessary to require pass−through entities to file and pay the
tax by electronic means. The department has also determined
that, in the interest of cost effectiveness, a requirement to file
Form WT−7, Employers Annual Reconciliation of Wisconsin
Income Tax Withheld from Wages, should also be put in place.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to remove the
threat of revenue loss to the state as a result of pass−through
entities filing or paying withholding tax or employers filing
Form WT−7 by other than electronic means.

This rule is therefore promulgated as an emergency rule
and shall take effect upon publication in the official state
newspaper. Certified copies of this rule have been filed with
the Secretary of State and Revisor of Statutes, as provided in
s. 227.24, Stats.

Publication Date: December 28, 2005
Effective Date: December 28, 2005
Expiration Date: May 27, 2006

Technical College System Board

Rules were adopted creating ch. TCS 17, relating to
training program grants.
Finding of emergency

The Wisconsin Technical College System Board finds that
an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the



Page 7Mid−January 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 601

immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting an emergency
is:

The 2005 Wis. Act 25 (the 2005−2007 biennial budget bill)
created the training program grants under Wis. Stats. §§
20.292 (1) (eh) and 38.41.  An annual appropriation of
$1,000,000 GPR in was established.  These funds were
provided to address a critical need of Wisconsin employers for
skills training and education necessary to protect the state’s
economic vitality and health.

The Act requires the WTCS Board to promulgate rules to
implement and administer the awarding of these grants.  The
Board has begun the permanent rule making process for
establishing administrative rules for these grants, but cannot
complete the required public hearing and review of these rules
prior to the middle of the fiscal year.  Therefore, to ensure that
business in need of skills training and other education may
access these services as soon as possible and that appropriated
funds are distributed to technical college districts for this
purpose, emergency administrative rules must be established
immediately.

Publication Date: October 7, 2005

Effective Date: October 7, 2005
Expiration Date: March 6, 2006
Hearing Date: January 4, 2006

Transportation

A rule adopted amending s. Trans 325.02, relating to
motor carrier safety regulations.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is on
October 1, 2005 the new hours−of−service regulations
became effective.  The new regulations apply to drivers and
carriers transporting property and passengers by commercial
vehicles in interstate commerce.  It is imperative the industry
operates under a single set of regulations.  Additionally, the
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance out−of−service criteria
is directly formulated to the new hours−of−service.  Also
pursuant to 49 CFR 350.331(d), States are required to adopt
compatible laws or rules to remain eligible for Motor Carrier
Safety Assistance Program funding.  Currently, Wisconsin
receives approximately $4 million in such funding and that
funding could be in jeopardy if Wisconsin does not implement
these changes immediately.  The Motor Carriers Association
has urged the Department to implement these changes as it
will help ensure uniformity and increased highway safety.

Publication Date: December 1, 2005

Effective Date: December 1, 2005

Expiration Date: April 30, 2006
Hearing Date: February 13, 2006

Veterans Affairs  (2)

1. Rules adopted repealing s. VA 2.04 and repealing and
recreating s. VA 2.02, relating to the veterans tuition
reimbursement program.

Exemption From Finding of emergency
The legislature has authorized the department to

promulgate rules for the administration of the veterans tuition
reimbursement program under the emergency rule procedure
without providing evidence of the necessity of the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare at
sec. 9153 (1) of 2005 Wis Act 25.

Publication Date: August 2, 2005
Effective Date: August 2, 2005
Expiration Date: December 30, 2005
Hearing Date: October 21, 2005
Extension Through: February 27, 2006

2. Rules adopted repealing and recreating s. VA 2.01,
relating to the assistance to needy veterans program.

Exemption From Finding of emergency
The legislature has authorized the department to

promulgate rules for the administration of the assistance to
needy veterans program under the emergency rule procedure
without providing evidence of the necessity of the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare at
sec. 9135 (3k) of 2005 Wis Act 25.

Publication Date: August 2, 2005
Effective Date: August 2, 2005
Expiration Date: December 30, 2005
Hearing Date: October 21, 2005
Extension Through: February 27, 2006

Workforce Development
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”
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Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules

in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004

Effective Date: March 1, 2004*

Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.

Workforce Development
(Public Works Construction Projects, Chs.

DWD 290−294)

Rules adopted amending ss. DWD 290.155 (1) and DWD
293.02 (1) and (2), relating to the adjustment of thresholds for
application of prevailing wage rates and payment and
performance assurance requirements.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. The adjustment
of the thresholds for the application of the payment and
performance assurance requirements avoids imposing an
additional administrative burden on contractors for the same
reason. If these new thresholds are not put into effect by
emergency rule, the old thresholds will remain effective for
approximately six to seven months, until the conclusion of the
permanent rule−making process. The thresholds are based on
national construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be
changed by the rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 27, 2005

Effective Date: January 1, 2006

Expiration Date: May 31, 2006
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Scope statements

Health and Family Services

Subject

The Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services
(Department) proposes to repeal and recreate ch. HFS 149,
rules relating to the selection and monitoring of vendors for
the special supplemental nutrition program for women,
infants and children (WIC).

Policy analysis

Under the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for
Women, Infants and Children (WIC), the federal government
provides supplemental foods and nutrition education through
payment of cash grants to states that administer the program
through local agencies at no cost to eligible persons.  The WIC
program serves as an adjunct to good health care during
critical times of growth and development, in order to prevent
the occurrence of health problems. In Wisconsin, the WIC
program has approximately 112,000 certified participants,
comprised of low−income pregnant and breastfeeding
women, infants and children under 5 years of age.
Seventy−one local WIC projects (located in city and county
public health departments, private non−profit organizations,
and one hospital) administer WIC in designated project
service areas.  These services include health screening,
nutrition assessment and counseling, referrals to other health
and social services, and vouchers to purchase nutritious foods
at authorized grocery stores and pharmacies (vendors).  The
Wisconsin WIC program operates under State Plan
requirements pursuant to 7 CFR 246 and is responsible for the
authorization of some 1,000 vendors to provide food to WIC
participants.

Chapter HFS 149 was created in 1986, to establish
conditions under which the Department authorizes grocery
stores and pharmacies to be vendors for the special
supplemental nutrition program for the WIC program.
Chapter HFS 149 currently addresses vendor authorization,
rights and responsibilities and site visits, actions that
constitute vendor failure to comply with program
requirements, waivers and appeal procedures.  Chapter HFS
149 has remained largely unchanged since 1986, except for an
amendment relating to the creation of vendor peer groups in
early 2006.

Changes to both the controlling state statute, federal
statutes, and federal regulations over the past few years
require the Department to revise ch. HFS 149.  By
incorporating and reconciling pertinent provisions from s.
253.06, Stats., 7 CFR 246, and Interim Rule “Special
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and
Children (WIC): Vendor Cost Containment” that is effective
December 29, 2005,  the Department hopes to make ch. HFS
149 a more accurate and useful source of provisions for the 
Department, vendors, and WIC participants.  The revisions
will also assure more equitable treatment of authorized stores,
while improving the integrity of the program.  Pursuant to the
Department’s authority under s. 253.06, Stats., and
requirements of 7 CFR 246, and the interim rule,  the
Department intends to propose the following changes to ch.
HFS 149:

1. Add vendor “business integrity” provisions that may
include provisions concerning fraud, antitrust violations,
embezzlement, theft, forgery, bribery, falsification or
destruction of records, making false statements, receiving
stolen property, making false claims, and obstruction of
justice, in addition to other types of convictions or civil
judgments identified by the Department.

2. Allow immediate authorization of vendors in certain
circumstances.

3. Allow vendors who fail an initial site visit to submit a
correction notice and be granted a second site visit within six
months without having to submit a new application.

4. Significantly modify and expand vendor enforcement
provisions, which may include the addition of several new
offenses; changes in the length of disqualification periods;
reciprocal food stamp program disqualification; and the
addition of forfeitures that may be imposed on a vendor in
place of disqualification; and allow the Department to
summarily suspend a vendor from the WIC program without
a prior hearing if the vendor provided cash or nonfood items
in exchange for drafts, has been convicted of a criminal
offense in any activity substantially related to providing or
claiming reimbursement for services under the food stamp
program, any other food and nutrition service program
operated by the USDA or who has a history of disqualification
or noncompliance with any of these programs.
Entities affected by the rule

The entities that will be directly affected by the proposed
rules include Wisconsin grocery stores and pharmacies that
apply for initial authorization in WIC, and all WIC authorized
stores.  Some warehouses that supply food to
WIC−authorized stores may be affected if they are not
authorized by the state WIC program to sell infant formula to
WIC stores.  WIC participants that abuse the WIC program
will also be affected.
Comparison with federal requirements

The Wisconsin WIC Program operates under requirements
set forth in 7 CFR 246: Special Supplemental Nutrition
Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC).  An interim
rule that amends the regulations to strengthen vendor cost
containment is effective December 29, 2005.  7 CFR 246 and
the interim rule include legislative requirements that affect the
selection, authorization, and reimbursement of retail vendors;
and provide a basis for taking action against vendors,
participants, and persons serving as proxies for participants
who are abusing or defrauding the WIC Program. A revision
to HFS 149 is necessary in order to address requirements in
7 CFR 246 and the interim rule.
Statutory authority

The Department’s authority to repeal and recreate these
rules is found in ss. 46.016, 227.11 (2) (a) and 253.06 (5) (a),
Stats.
Staff time required

The Department estimates it will take 100 hours of staff
time to develop the proposed rules.  The Department will also
use an advisory committee that consists of members of the
public most affected by the proposed rules to participate in
drafting the proposed rules.
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Revenue

Subject

S. Tax 8.63, relating to liquor wholesaler warehouse
facilities.

Objective of the rule.  The objectives of the proposed rule
are to establish minimum requirements for warehouse
facilities on premises described in liquor wholesalers’ permits
issued by the Department under s. 125.54, Stats., and for
periodic site inspections by the Department of such
warehouse facilities.

Policy analysis

Existing policies are as set forth in the rules.  No new
policies are being proposed, other than to reflect law changes
and court decisions.  If the rules are not changed, they will be

incorrect in that they will not reflect current law or current
Department policy.
Entities affected by the rule

Those applying for or holding a liquor wholesalers’ permit
under s. 125.54, Stats., and those liquor wholesalers applying
for a warehouse permit under s. 125.19, Stats.
Comparison with federal requirements

The department is not aware of any existing or proposed
federal regulation that is intended to address the activities to
be regulated by the rule.
Statutory authority

125.54 (7) (d), Stats.
Staff time required

The department estimates it will take approximately 100
hours to develop this rule order.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board
Rule Submittal Date

On December 16, 2005, the Barbering and Cosmetology
Examining Board submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),
Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to definitions,
microdermabrasion, chemical skin peels, managers, ear
piercing, waxing, nail enhancement, licensing
requirements and reinstatement of license.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on
February 6, 2006, at 9:45 a.m. in Rooms 121AB, at 1400
East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin (enter at 55
North Dickinson Street).
Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Administrative
Rules, (608) 266−0495.

Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date
On December 21, 2005, the Marriage and Family

Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 457.03
(1) and 457.22 (1) (a), Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to continuing
education credits for social workers.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on
February 1, 2006 at 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin.
Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Legal Counsel,
(608) 266−0495.

Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date
On December 21, 2005, the Marriage and Family

Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 457.03
(1) and 457.22 (1) (c), Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to continuing
education credits for professional counselors.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on January
31, 2006 at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin.
Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Administrative
Rules, (608) 266−0495.

Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date
On December 21, 2005, the Marriage and Family

Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 457.03
(1) and 457.22 (1) (b), Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to continuing
education credits for marriage and family therapists.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on January
30, 2006 at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin,
Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Administrative
Rules, (608) 266−0495.

Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearing
Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board

[CR 05−118]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board
in ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and interpreting
ss. 454.02, 454.04, 454.06, 454.08 and 454.13, Stats., the
Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to repeal ss. BC 1.01 (1m) and 4.09 (3m);
to renumber ss. BC 1.01 (6h), (6r), (11) and (11m); to
renumber and amend BC 2.025 (2) (c), 4.08 (intro.), (1), (2)
and (3), 6.04 (1) and 8.01; to amend BC 1.01 (3), (3r) and (8),
2.025 (2) (b) and (3), 2.06 (5), 2.07 (1g), 3.01 (7), 3.02 (1) (a)
to (c), 3.06 (2), 4.01 (2), 4.02 (1), 4.03 (2), 4.06 (3), 4.07
(intro.) and (2), Figure 5.02, Figure 5.06, Figure 6.03 (1),
Figure 6.04 (3), ch. BC 8 (title) and 9.02; and to create
BC 1.01 (6s), (7m), (9), (11n), (11r), (11w) and (13t), 2.025
(2) (c) 1. and 2., (2m) and (6), 4.01 (8), 4.08 (1) and (2), 6.04
(1) (b) and 8.01, relating to definitions, microdermabrasion,
chemical skin peels, managers, ear piercing, waxing, nail
enhancement, licensing requirements and reinstatement of
license.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: February 6, 2006
Time: 9:45 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Rooms 121A & B
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by February 20,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted:  Sections 454.02, 454.04, 454.06,
454.08 and 454.13, Stats.

Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),
Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:  The Barbering and
Cosmetology Examining Board has the authority to
promulgate rules under sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),
Stats., relating to limitations and exceptions, practice,
licensure, establishment licenses, and licensees of other
jurisdictions.

Related statute or rule:  There are no other statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  This proposed rule−making order
encompasses several changes.  A number of the changes are
definitions and technical changes to make the rules easier to
read and understand (Sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 19, 25, 26, 28, 30,
31, 32 and 33).  A significant revision is allowing
microdermabrasion to be practiced, in specific circumstances,
without the supervision of a physician (Sections 11, 12, 13, 14
and 16).  This proposed rule−making order also modifies the
rules regarding managers, their responsibilities and the
amount of supervision they must provide (Sections 17, 18, 20,
34, 35 and 36).  This proposed rule−making order also
clarifies some language regarding sanitation procedures
providing additional guidance to the practitioners.  And,
finally, the proposed rule−making order also clarifies
licensing requirements that were previously ambiguous.

SECTION 1 repeals the definition of artificial nails which
is now subsumed by the addition in s. BC 1.01 (11w),
definition of “nail enhancement.”

SECTION 2 modifies the definitions of “contagious” and
“cutting” to more accurately reflect the meaning.

SECTION 3 moves language to a more appropriate
location.

SECTION 4 adds a definition of “exfoliation.”
SECTION 5 adds a definition of general supervision to

provide guidance to the licensee and the physician who wish
to collaborate in the providing of certain services.

SECTION 6 clarifies the definition of “infectious” to show
that contact is not a necessary element to the spread of
infectious disease.

SECTION 7 provides a definition of “laser” necessary to
understand the restrictions on laser hair removal services.

SECTION 8 changes the placement of definitions to a more
appropriate location.

SECTION 9 adds new definitions of “mechanical
exfoliation,” “microdermabrasion” and “nail enhancement.”

SECTION 10 adds a new definition of “physician.”
SECTION 11 creates an exception to the requirement of

medical supervision of microdermabrasion services.
SECTIONS 12 and 13 clarify that some commercially

available exfoliation products can be administered without
medical supervision.

SECTION 14 creates and identifies the circumstances that
must exist to allow microdermabrasion services in absence of
medical supervision.  The requirements include appropriate
training, restrictions on the type of machine allowed, and a
requirement for a pretreatment screening of the client to
determine suitability for the procedure.  This SECTION also
mandates a written consent from the client after disclosure of
known risks.

SECTION 15 imposes a requirement of parenteral or
guardian consent for laser hair removal services on minors.

SECTION 16 imposes a requirement that in licensed
establishments where laser hair removal, microdermabrasion
or chemical skin peels are performed as a delegated medical
act, information on the delegating physician must be
conspicuously posted.

SECTION 17 allows for supervision of apprentices and
temporary permittees by a licensee with substantial
experience.
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SECTION 18 sets the minimum level of experience
necessary for a practitioner other than a manger to be able to
supervise apprentices at 2,000 hours and requires a written
designation of that responsibility.

SECTIONS 19 and 26 clarify that the proper cleaning of
linens includes use of a germicide.

SECTION 20 amends the rules to clarify that chain salons
need to have full time managers for each salon and recognizes
that a manager may be absent for brief periods of time during
a day.

SECTION 21 deletes the requirement that a floor plan be
submitted to the department when a leased chair or booth is
relocated but maintains the requirement of notice to the
department of that relocation.

SECTION 22 clarifies that waterless hand washing agents
must meet certain standards and may only be used as a
substitute for washing with soap and water when the hands are
not visibly soiled.

SECTION 23 provides guidance on the appropriate use of
lancets for lateral piercing of whiteheads.

SECTION 24 notes that the rules regarding disinfecting
tweezers used in electrolysis are different than for general
cosmetology.

SECTION 25 adds a requirement that proper maintenance
of sterilizers includes following manufacturers
recommendations regarding maintenance procedures.

SECTION 27 acknowledges that ear piercing may be
performed by licensees and allows use of waterless alcohol
base washing agents as a substitute for soap and water.

SECTION 28 clarifies that use of a topical antiseptic is
required before performing a waxing procedure.

SECTION 29 establishes waxing as part of the scope of
practice for properly trained electrologists and manicurists.
This SECTION establishes the training standards for those
licensees seeking to provide waxing services.

SECTION 30 eliminates language that is redundant as a
result of the adoption of SECTION 23 above.

SECTIONS 31, 32 and 33 modify the training standards to
reflect the addition of the concept of nail enhancements as a
practice skill.

SECTION 34 eliminates a restriction that apprentices work
only under the supervision of a manager making the language
consistent with SECTION 18, which allows supervision by a
properly designated practitioner with at least 2,000 hours of
experience.

SECTION 35 adds a provision for temporary absence of a
manager and allowing temporary supervision of apprentices
by a qualified and designated practitioner.

SECTION 36 modifies the training standards for
apprentices to acknowledge nail enhancements as a practice
skill.

SECTION 37 modifies the title of the chapter to recognize
that the chapter deals with all licenses and eliminates
language suggesting the chapter only addresses licensees
from other jurisdictions.

SECTION 38 clarifies the title of the chapter to show that
it addresses license applications for which an examination is
not needed and relocates the SECTION to a more appropriate
location.

SECTION 39 repeats the basic statutory licensing
requirements in a rule.

SECTION 40 creates a provision for renewal of licensure
by licensees who are currently practicing out of state.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation

The federal government does not regulate barbers and
cosmetologists, and a search of the United States Code
Services (USCS) and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
returned no entries for microdermabrasion, chemical peels,
waxing, managers, artificial nails, or nail technology for
barbers or cosmetologists.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.
Fiscal estimate

The proposed rule will have no impact on the department’s
funds.
Effect on small business

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266−8608.
Agency contact person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before February 20, 2006 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board

[CR 05−120]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2), 457.03 (1) and 457.22 (1) (a), Stats., and
interpreting s. 457.08, Stats., the Social Worker Section of the
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and
Social Work Examining Board will hold a public hearing at
the time and place indicated below to consider an order to
create repeal s. MPSW 8.03 (2) (f); to amend ss. MPSW 8.02
(1) and 8.03 (2) (e); and to create s. MPSW 8.03 (1m) (d) to
(f), relating to continuing education credits for social workers.
Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: February 1, 2006
Time: 9:15 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
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but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by February 13,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  Section 457.08, Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2),

457.03 (1) and 457.22 (1) (a), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  Chapter MPSW 8 sets

forth the requirements for obtaining continuing education for
social workers.  Each biennium social workers are required to
obtain a minimum of 30 continuing education credits, which
may be taken in different subject areas, provided the
coursework is sponsored by acceptable organizations or
entities.  Additionally, credit limitations exist, depending on
the particular type of continuing education program or
presentation.  This amendment is intended to expand the
scope of acceptable continuing education organizations,
including, for instance, the American Medical Association,
the American Psychological Association, and the American
Osteopathic Organization.  It also permits credit for
continuing education programs that are recognized by the
Professional Counseling Section and by the Marriage and
Family Therapist Section.  This amendment also modifies the
credits one can obtain for interactive internet courses and
self−study courses, limiting the combined total to 21 credits,
with maximums of 10 credits for self−study courses and 16
credits for internet courses.  However, self−study courses are
not permitted to be used for satisfying the social work ethics
requirement.

Related statute or rule:  There are no other statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  Under existing rules for
continuing education programs, there is a lack of uniformity
among the Marriage and Family Therapists, Professional
Counselors and Social Worker Sections with respect to
continuing education, including the criteria and acceptance of
various programs.  Current rules do not allow credential
holders access to continuing education courses offered to
marriage and family therapists or professional counselors.
Additionally, credential holders may not receive continuing
education credit for teaching, publishing or presenting.
Finally, under current rules, credential holders are not able to
take courses approved or sponsored by the American
Psychology Association.

The modification to this rule will permit continuing
education credits to be granted for additional items, including,
but not limited to, teaching academic courses, publishing
professional books, and presenting at national conferences,
all of which may require substantial preparation and/or
research related to the knowledge and practice of social work.
Additionally, this modification will permit continuing
education credit to be granted to those credential holders who
take courses approved by the Marriage and Family Therapists
Section or by the Professional Counselors Section.  Finally,
the proposed rule will allow credential holders to take courses
approved or sponsored by the American Psychology

Association.  Access to these courses will provide a
substantial benefit to the practice of social work.

SECTION 1 amends MPSW 8.02 (1) by changing the
credentialing period date from July 1 to March 1 pursuant to
s. 457.20 (2), Stats.

SECTION 2 creates MPSW 8.03 (1m) (d) to (f) and
provides that any continuing education program approved,
sponsored or co−sponsored by a presenter approved by the
committee for the approval of continuing education sponsors
of the American Psychological Association is acceptable.  It
further provides that any educational programs recognized as
approved at the time of attendance as “Category I” continuing
education programs by the Council on Medical Education of
the American Medical Association or the American
Osteopathic Association are acceptable.  Finally, it provides
that any educational programs recognized by the Marriage
and Family Therapist Section and the Professional Counselor
Section are acceptable.

SECTION 3 amends MPSW 8.03 (2) (e) by providing
interactive internet learning courses offered by an accredited
university or preapproved by the ASWB:  1 CEH per .1 CEU
of instruction, or self−study courses approved by accredited
college or university schools of social work, local or national
professional social work organizations, or the association of
social work boards, 1 CEH per credit completed, but no more
than 21 total CEHs for interactive internet courses and
self−study courses will be accepted in any 2 year credentialing
period with a maximum of 10 CEHs for self−study courses
and a maximum of 16 CEHs for internet courses.  Self−study
courses shall not be used to satisfy the social work ethics
requirement.

SECTION 4 repeals MPSW 8.03 (2) (f).

Fiscal Estimate
The Department of Regulation and Licensing will incur the

equivalent of $1,913 costs in staff time to audit the continuing
education requirements.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Effect on small business:
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935.

Email:  pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be
received on or before February 13, 2006, to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.
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Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board

[CR 05−119]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2), 457.03 (1) and 457.22 (1) (c), Stats., and
interpreting s. 457.22 (1) (c), Stats., the Professional
Counselor Section of the Marriage and Family Therapy,
Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
will hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated
below to consider an order to create ss. MPSW 14.03 (4m) and
14.04 (6) to (9), relating to continuing education credits for
professional counselors.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: January 31, 2006
Time: 1:15 p.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by February 10,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  Section 457.22 (1) (c), Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2),

457.03 (1) and 457.22 (1) (c) Stats.

Explanation of agency authority

Chapter MPSW 14 sets forth the requirements for
obtaining continuing education for professional counselors.
Each biennium professional counselors are required to obtain
a minimum of 30 continuing education credits, provided the
coursework is sponsored by acceptable organizations or
entities.  However, there is no specific requirement as to what
type or category of continuing education they must take.  This
amendment would require licensees to have a minimum of 15
credits in certain categories and would further require that at
least 4 of those 15 credits be in the subject of professional
counseling therapy ethics and boundaries.  In addition, this
amendment expands the scope of acceptable continuing
education organizations, including, for instance, the
American Medical Association, the American Psychological
Association, and the American Osteopathic Organization.  It
also permits credit for continuing education programs that are
recognized by the Marriage and Family Therapist Section and
the Social Worker Section.  Furthermore, it increases the type
of credits that will be given for continuing education
including, for instance, formal presentations at professional
seminars, educational sessions at state and national

conferences, interactive internet courses, and authorship in
various publications.

Related statute or rule:  There are no other statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  Under the existing rules for
continuing education programs, there is a lack of uniformity
among the Marriage and Family Therapists Section, the
Professional Counselors Section, and the Social Worker
Section, with respect to continuing education, including the
criteria and acceptance of various programs.  Current rules do
not allow credential holders access to continuing education
courses offered to marriage and family therapists or social
workers.  Additionally, credential holders may not receive
continuing education credit for teaching, publishing or
presenting.  Finally, under current rules, credential holders are
not able to take courses approved or sponsored by the
American Psychology Association.

This proposed rule−making order will permit continuing
education credits to be granted for additional items, including
but not limited to, teaching academic courses, publishing
professional books, and presenting at national conferences,
all of which may require substantial preparation and/or
research related to the knowledge and practice of professional
counseling.  Additionally, this amendment will permit
continuing education credit to be granted to those credential
holders who take courses approved by the Marriage and
Family Therapist Section and the Social Worker Section.
And, the proposed rule will allow credential holders to take
courses approved or sponsored by the American Psychology
Association.  Access to these courses will provide a
substantial benefit to the practice of professional counseling.

SECTION 1 creates s. MPSW 14.03 (4m) which requires
licensees to take a minimum of 15 credits in approved
professional counseling continuing education programs and
other educational activities.  Four of the 15 credits shall be in
the subject area of professional counseling ethics and
boundaries.

SECTION 2 creates s. MPSW 14.04 (6) to (9) to provide
that any continuing education program approved, sponsored
or co−sponsored by a presenter approved by the Committee
for the Approval of Continuing Education Sponsors of the
American Psychological Association will be acceptable.  It
also provides that any educational programs recognized as
approved at the time of attendance as “Category I” continuing
medical education programs by the Council on Medical
Education of the American Medical Association or the
American Osteopathic Association is acceptable.
Additionally, any educational programs recognized by the
Social Worker Section and the Marriage and Family Therapist
Section are acceptable.  Finally, if approved or recognized by
one of the approved providers, credit will also be granted for
the following:  Formal presentations of relevant professional
material at seminars, workshops, programs or institutes,
which may include formal presentation and directed
discussion of videotaped material:  2 CEHs per hour of
continuing education for presenters, but no additional CEHs
shall be granted for subsequent presentations of the same
material; University, college or vocational technical adult
education courses, which may include formal presentation
and directed discussion of videotaped instruction:  20 CEHs
per semester hour or 13.2 CEHs per quarter hour for
instructors, but no additional CEHs shall be granted for
subsequent presentations of the same material; Educational
sessions at state and national conferences:  2 CEHs per hour
of continuing education for presenters, but no additional
CEHs shall be granted for subsequent presentations of the
same material; Educational telephone network (ETN)
courses:  2 CEHs per hour of continuing education for
presenters, but no additional CEHs shall be granted for
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subsequent presentations of the same material; Interactive
internet courses:  2 CEHs per hour of continuing education for
instructors, but no additional CEHs shall be granted for
subsequent presentations of the same material; Authorship of
a published chapter in a textbook or professional recourse
book, or a professional journal article:  8 CEHs; Development
of alternative media, computer software, videotapes, or
audiotapes:  8 CEHs.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The Professional Counselor Section, in accordance with the
Marriage and Family Therapist Section as well as the Social
Worker Section are amending their rules based on the
sections’ collective experience and understanding that
continuing education available to one section may be of
professional benefit to the other sections.

Fiscal Estimate

The Department of Regulation and Licensing will incur the
equivalent of $1,913 costs in staff time to audit the continuing
education requirements.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact person:

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal
Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Email
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before February 10, 2006, to be included in the record
of rule−making proceedings.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board

[CR 05−122]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2), 457.03 (1) and 457.22 (1) (b), Stats., and
interpreting ss. 457.10 (3), 457.11 and 457.14, Stats., the
Marriage and Family Therapist Section of the Marriage and
Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to amend s. MPSW
19.02 (4); and to create ss. MPSW 19.01 (4m) and 19.02 (5),
(6), (7), (8) (intro.) and (a) to (g), relating to continuing
education credits for marriage and family therapists.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: January 30, 2006
Time: 9:15 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by February 10,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted:  Sections 457.10 (3), 457.11 and
457.14, Stats.

Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2),
457.03 (1) and 457.22 (1) (b), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:  Chapter MPSW 19 sets
forth the requirements for obtaining continuing education for
marriage and family therapists.  Each biennium marriage and
family therapists are required to obtain a minimum of 30
continuing education credits, provided the coursework is
sponsored by acceptable organizations or entities.  However,
there is no specific requirement as to what type or category of
continuing education they must take.  This proposed
rule−making would require licensees to have a minimum of
15 credits in certain categories and would further require that
at least 4 of those 15 credits be in the subject of marriage and
family therapy ethics and boundaries.  In addition, this
amendment expands the scope of acceptable continuing
education organizations, including, for instance, the
American Medical Association, the American Psychological
Association, and the American Osteopathic Organization.  It
also permits credit for continuing education programs that are
recognized by the Professional Counselor Section and by the
Social Worker Section.  Furthermore, it increases the type of
credits that will be given for continuing education including,
for instance, formal presentations at professional seminars,
educational sessions at state and national conferences,
interactive internet courses, and authorship in various
publications.

Related statute or rule:  There are no other statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  Under existing rules for
continuing education programs, there is a lack of uniformity
among the Marriage and Family Therapists, Professional
Counselors and Social Worker Sections with respect to
continuing education, including the criteria and acceptance of
various programs.  Current rules do not allow credential
holders access to continuing education courses offered to
social workers or professional counselors.  Additionally,
credential holders may not receive continuing education
credit for teaching, publishing or presenting.  Finally, under
current rules, credential holders are not able to take courses
approved or sponsored by the American Psychology
Association.

The modification to this rule will permit continuing
education credits to be granted for additional items, including,
but not limited to, teaching academic courses, publishing
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professional books, and presenting at national conferences,
all of which may require substantial preparation and/or
research related to the knowledge and practice of marriage
and family therapy.  Additionally, this modification will
permit continuing education credit to be granted to those
credential holders who take courses approved by the Social
Worker Section or by the Professional Counselors Section.
Finally, the proposed rule will allow credential holders to take
courses approved or sponsored by the American Psychology
Association.  Access to these courses will provide a
substantial benefit to the practice of marriage and family
therapy.

SECTION 1 creates MPSW 19.01 (4m) which requires
licensees to take a minimum of 15 credits in approved
marriage and family therapy continuing education programs
and other educational activities.  Four of those 15 credits must
be in the subject area of marriage and family therapy ethics
and boundaries.

SECTION 2 amends MPSW 19.02 (4) by requiring that
any course or continuing education programs offered by an
accredited college or university be related to the clinical
practice of marriage and family therapy.

SECTION 3 creates MPSW 19.02 (5) to (8) (intro.) and (a)
to (g) and provides that any continuing education program
approved, sponsored or co−sponsored by a presenter
approved by the Committee for the Approval of Continuing
Education Sponsors of the American Psychological
Association will be accepted.  It also provides that any
educational programs recognized as approved at the time of
attendance as “Category I” continuing medical education
programs by the Council on Medical Education of the
American Medical Association or the American Osteopathic
Association is acceptable.  Additionally, any educational
programs recognized by the Social Worker Section and the
Professional Counselor Section are acceptable.  Finally, if
approved or recognized by one of the approved providers,
credit will also be granted for the following:  Formal
presentations of relevant professional material at seminars,
workshops, programs or institutes, which may include formal
presentation and directed discussion of videotaped material:
2 CEHs per hour of continuing education for presenters, but
no additional CEHs shall be granted for subsequent
presentations of the same material; University, college or
vocational technical adult education courses, which may
include formal presentation and directed discussion of
videotaped instruction; 20 CEHs per semester hour or 13.2
CEHs per quarter hour for instructors, but no additional CEHs
shall be granted for subsequent presentations of the same
material; Educational sessions at state and national
conferences:  2 CEHs per hour of continuing education for
presenters, but no additional CEHs shall be granted for
subsequent presentations of the same material; Educational
telephone network (ETN) courses:  2 CEHs per hour of
continuing education for presenters, but no additional CEHs
shall be granted for subsequent presentations of the same
material; interactive internet courses:  2 CEHs per hour of
continuing education for instructors, but no additional CEHs
shall be granted for subsequent presentations of the same
material; Authorship of a published chapter in a textbook or
professional resource book, or a professional journal:  8
CEHs; Development of alternative media, computer
software, videotapes, or audiotapes:  8 CEHs.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The Marriage and Family Therapist Section, in accordance
with the Social Worker Section as well as the Professional
Counselor Section, are amending their rules based on the
sections’ collective experience and understanding that

continuing education available to one section may be of
professional benefit to the other sections.
Fiscal Estimate

The Department of Regulation and Licensing will incur the
equivalent of $1,913 costs in staff time to audit the continuing
education requirements.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.
Effect on small business

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266−8608.
Agency Contact Person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:  Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack,
Paralegal, Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400
East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Email
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before February 10, 2006 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Notice of Hearing
Nursing

[CR 05−121]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN thatpursuant to authority

vested in the Board of Nursing in ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11
(2), Stats., and interpreting ss. 441.04 and 441.10, Stats., the
Board of Nursing will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to repeal s. N 2.06
(4) (b), (c) and (d); to renumber s. N 2.06 (4) (a); to amend ss.
N 2.03 (1) (c) and (2) (c), 2.04 (2) and (6) and 2.06 (1) (b); and
to create s. N 3.04 (1m), relating to qualifications for
examination and application procedures, temporary permits
and refresher courses.
Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: January 26, 2006
Time: 9:15 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by February 6,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.
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Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statute interpreted:  Sections 441.04 and 441.10, Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),

Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  The Board of Nursing

has the authority under ss. 441.04 and 441.10, Stats., to
establish the prerequisites for examination of registered
nurses and licensed practical nurses, including the
professional educational qualifications of those applicants
who have graduated from nursing schools located outside of
this state.

Related statute or rule:  There are no other statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  The proposed revision to s. N 2.03
(1) (c) eliminates the requirement that a graduate of a school
of nursing other than a board−approved school, complete a
board−approved qualifying examination prior to admission to
the NCLEX examination.  This rule primarily affects foreign
graduates are required under the existing rule to take and pass
the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools
(CGFNS) Qualifying Examination.  The rule revision allows
foreign graduate nurse applicants to submit verification from
the Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) of the Commission
of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS), as proof
of the equivalence of their nursing coursework prior to
admission to NCLEX, instead of taking the qualifying
examination.  Under the proposed rule revision, passage of the
qualifying examination will not be a mandatory requirement
for licensure; however, an applicant may take the examination
voluntarily.  Studies have shown that the value of the
qualifying examination as a predictor of successful passage of
the NCLEX does not outweigh the additional cost and
potential barrier resulting from the imposition of this as a
prerequisite for taking the NCLEX.  Foreign graduates are not
restricted as to the number of attempts or scheduled NCLEX
reexaminations which are taken.

The proposed revision of s. N 2.04 (2) and (6) inserts the
reference to schools of practical nursing because the CGFNS
coursework evaluation service was previously only available
for schools of professional nursing.  This rule primarily
affects foreign graduate registered nurses.  The CGFNS
service has been expanded to include schools of practical
nursing.

The proposed revision of s. N 2.06 (1) (b) limits the time
period for renewal of the temporary permit which is issued to
graduate nurses who are eligible to take NCLEX.  Currently,
an applicant is allowed to work as a nurse under a temporary
permit for up to nine months, with renewals, if they have
scheduled to take the NCLEX.  Under the proposed revision,
the permit will be limited to a period of three months or until
the holder receives failing examination results with no option
to renew for successive periods.  The need for renewal of the
temporary permit has been obviated by the increased

availability of the examination; the NCLEX is administered
as a computer−based examination at multiple sites seven days
per week as compared to the former periodic administration
of the examination, which resulted in an applicant having to
wait for a period of time to take or retake the examination.

The proposed revision to s. N 3.04 (1m) requires that an
applicant for a license by endorsement who has not actively
practiced as a nurse within five years must complete a
board−approved nursing refresher course.  A limited license
will be issued to any such endorsement applicant for the
purpose of completing the course.  Upon successful
completion of the refresher course, the applicant may petition
the board for full licensure.  This provision is similar to the
existing requirement for renewal of a Wisconsin nursing
license if the credential holder has not actively practiced as a
nurse within five years after its renewal date under s. N 5.08
(2) (b).

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The comparison information with the rules in adjacent states
was obtained directly from contact with those states and a
review of those state rules.  The rule revisions were based
upon a collection of information from various sources,
including informational literature, studies, recommendations
and departmental and board member reports.  The comparison
to the adjacent states demonstrates that the revisions are
substantially consistent with the rules in those states.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing has determined that
this rule change will have no significant fiscal effect on the
private sector.

Fiscal estimate
These rule changes will have no impact on funds of the

Department of Regulation and Licensing.

Effect on small business
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us.or by calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:  Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack
at the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of
Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152,
P.O. Box 89235, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Email to
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before February 6, 2006, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Health and Family Services
(CR 03−085)

Ch. HFS 2, relating to department recoupment of
program benefit overpayments from program recipients.

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board
(CR 05−098)

Ch. MPSW 3, relating to human services internship
requirements for a social worker training certificate.

Public Service Commission
(CR 05−079)

Ch. PSC 111, relating the establishment of capital cost
ratemaking principles for certain rate base electric
generating facilities.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Commerce
(CR 04−058)

An order affecting chs. Comm 5 and 47, relating to
Petroleum Environmental Cleanup Fund awards and
associated credentials.

Effective 5−1−06.

Commerce
(CR 04−135)

An order affecting chs. Comm 2, 26, 95, and ch. PSC 186,
relating to manufactured home communities.

Effective 3−1−06.

Commerce
(CR 05−064)

An order affecting ch. Comm 72, relating to cleaning
methods for historic buildings.

Effective 3−1−06.

Optometry Examining Board
(CR 05−036)

An order affecting chs. Opt 5 and 6, relating to conduct,
examinations and continuing education.

Effective 2−1−06.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 05−050)

An order affecting ch. RL 1, relating to cheating on an
examination and breach of examination security.

Effective 2−1−06.

Veterans Affairs
(CR 05−091)

An order affecting ch. VA 2, relating to the veterans
retraining grant program.

Effective 2−1−06.

Veterans Affairs
(CR 05−096)

An order affecting ch. VA 2, relating to the veterans
tuition reimbursement program.

Effective 2−1−06.

Veterans Affairs
(CR 05−097)

An order affecting ch. VA 2, relating to the assistance to
needy veterans program.

Effective 2−1−06.
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Public notices

Department of Natural Resources

Notice of Availability of a Legislative Report Relating to Wisconsin’s Air State Implementation Plan

All interested persons are advised that the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) intends to submit proposed
rules as contained in Natural Resources Board Order AM−03−05 (Clearinghouse Rule No. 05−072) to the United
States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) for incorporation into Wisconsin’s air state implementation plan
to meet requirements contained in the Federal Clean Air Act 42 USC  7401, et seq .  DNR has submitted these proposed
rules to revise certain motor vehicle emission limitations in Table 1 of s. NR 485.04, Wis. Adm. Code. It also makes
a minor revision to the catalytic converter replacement provisions in s. NR 485.06 (2), Wis. Adm. Code.  All
supporting information was supplied as a report to the legislative standing committees for environmental matters as
required under s. 285.14 (2), Stats.  Information on AM−03−05 can be viewed on the following website:
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Rmo?nRmoId=230#

If you are unable to make copies of this information from the website and would like copies of the information
supplied to the Wisconsin legislative committees, please call Ralph Patterson, DNR, at 608−267−7546 or send a
request via email to Ralph.Patterson@dnr.state.wi.us.
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