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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (2)

1. Rules adopted amending s. ATCP 10.47 (2) (c) and (3)
(b) 3., relating to minimum acreage requirements for
farm−raised deer hunting preserves.

(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers state laws
related to farm−raised deer.  DATCP currently licenses deer
farms and issues certificates for deer hunting preserves,
pursuant to s. 95.55, Stats., and ch. ATCP 10, Wis. Adm.
Code.

(2)  Current law generally prohibits deer hunting preserves
smaller than 80 acres.  However, 2005 Wis. Act 359 (enacted
effective May 3, 2006) provides a limited “grandfather”
exemption for certain white−tailed deer hunting preserves
previously licensed by the Department of Natural Resources
(“DNR”).   Under Act 359, a white−tailed deer hunting
preserve is exempt from the 80−acre minimum size
requirement if, among other things, the acreage of the hunting
preserve is “not less than the acreage subject to the deer farm
license on December 31, 2002.”    This rule clarifies that the
“acreage subject to the deer farm license on December 31,
2002” means the hunting acreage subject to the deer farm
license on December 31, 2002.  Without this interpretation,
Act 359 would have no practical effect and would be rendered
a nullity.

(3)  The “grandfather” exemption in Act 359 is limited to
hunting preserve operators who apply by November 1, 2006.

DATCP must act on applications within 90 business days.
Action may affect an operator’s ability to operate during the
2006 hunting season.  DATCP is adopting this rule as an
emergency rule, in order to facilitate timely action on
applications.  DATCP could not adopt this rule by normal
rulemaking procedures in time to implement Act 359.

Publication Date: October 9, 2006
Effective Date: October 9, 2006
Expiration Date: March 7, 2007
Hearing Date: November 13, 2006

2. Rules adopted creating ch. ATCP 112, relating to credit
report security freezes.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) will administer s. 100.54,
Stats. as of January 1, 2007.  DATCP is required under s.
100.54 (12), Stats. to adopt rules related to identification
required of consumers requesting credit report security
freezes.

(2)  As of January 1, 2007, s. 100.54, Stats. will be in effect,
however without an emergency rule the statute will be unclear
regarding what constitutes proper identification for purposes
of creating a security freeze, temporarily releasing a security
freeze or permanently removing a security freeze from a
consumer credit report.

(3)  DATCP is adopting this emergency rule for the sole
purpose of allowing consumers to clearly place a security
freeze on their consumer credit report while the permanent
rulemaking process is completed.

Publication Date: January 19, 2007
Effective Date: January 19, 2007
Expiration Date: June 18, 2007
Hearing Date: February 12, 2007

Dentistry Examining Board

Rules were adopted amending ch. DE 11, relating to better
identifying the different levels of anesthesia, including
nitrous oxide, anxiolysis, conscious sedation−enteral,
conscious sedation−parenteral, deep sedation, and general
anesthesia, and the requirements for each level.

Finding of Emergency
The board finds that failure to delay the effective date of

CR04−095, from January 1, 2007, to July 1, 2007, will create
a danger to the public health, safety and welfare.  The extra six
months are needed to allow the implementation of the rule to
occur and to ensure the continued use of conscious sedation
for dental patients.

Publication Date: December 21, 2006
Effective Date: December 29, 2006
Expiration Date: May 28, 2007
Hearing Date: January 31, 2007
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Financial Institutions − Banking

Rules were adopted revising ch. DFI—Bkg 77, relating to
pawnbrokers.

Finding of Emergency
The effect of 2005 Wisconsin Act 158 is that pawnbrokers

licensed by the department under s. 138.09, Stats., are exempt
from s. 138.10, Stats., effective October 1, 2006.  Under
statutory procedures, however, a permanent rule regulating
these pawnbrokers is unlikely to be effective until mid−2007,
leaving the public without the safeguards of the permanent
rule until that time.  Thus the preservation of public safety and
welfare necessitates enacting the safeguards of the emergency
rule until a permanent rule is in effect.

Publication Date: September 25, 2006

Effective Date: October 1, 2006

Expiration Date: February 28, 2007
Hearing Date: December 13, 2006

Insurance (2)

1. Rules adopted creating ss. Ins 9.25 (8) and 9.27 (4), Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to preferred provider plan
applicability dates and affecting small business plan
limited exemption.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The rule identifies a limited group of policies issued by
licensed insurers offering preferred provider plans that do not
comply with newly promulgated ch. Ins 9, Wis. Adm. Code.
In compliance with the request of the Joint Committee for the
Review of Administrative Rules  (JCRAR), this rule must be
issued as an emergency rule and permanent rule.  It is not
possible to complete the permanent rule process prior to the
effective date of the chapter, January 1, 2007, therefore this
emergency rule is necessary.

The commissioner has filed a notice of scope for drafting
the permanent rule corresponding to this emergency rule and
will continue with the permanent rule making process.  It is
intended that one rule hearing can be held to comply with both
the emergency rule and permanent rule requirements.

Publication Date: August 31, 2006

Effective Date: September 1, 2006

Expiration Date: January 29, 2007
Hearing Date: December 12, 2006
Extension Through: March 29, 2007

2. Rules adopted revising s. Ins 6.77, relating to
underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage in
umbrella and commercial policies.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These changes will modify the rule in light of the recent
Supreme Court decisions, Rebernick v American Family
Mutual Ins Company, 2006 WI 27 and Rocker v USAA
Casualty Ins Company, 2006 WI 26. In Rebernick, the court
held that s. 632.32 (4m), Stats, applies to personal umbrella
policies. In Rocker, the court held that s. 632.32 (6) (a), Stats,
applies to commercial general liability policies and
commercial umbrella policies. These interpretations are
inconsistent with current insurer practices and OCI’s
expectation of what would be covered in these types of
policies.

Compliance with this interpretation would create
significant, if not impossible compliance problems for
insurers. Many insurers who write umbrella coverage do not
write and are not even licensed to write automobile coverage.
A second, difficult issue is that the limits for umbrella
coverages are generally very high, $1,000,000. It is unclear
how an umbrella policy would reconcile these limits with the
underlying auto policy and underinsured motorist coverage.
For this reason, OCI had previously by rule exempted
umbrella policies from the similar requirements of the
uninsured motorist coverages in s. 632.32, Stats. For similar
reasons, the same revision is being made for commercial
liability policies.

Publication Date: September 29, 2006
Effective Date: September 29, 2006
Expiration Date: February 26, 2007
Hearing Date: December 11, 2006

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Hazardous

Waste, Chs. NR 600—)

Rules adopted revising chs. NR 660 to 665, relating to
hazardous waste management.
Exemption from Finding of emergency

The Department of Natural Resources finds that an
emergency exists and that rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

In 2001, EPA proposed regulations to change the
hazardous waste manifest requirements under the federal
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) to
eliminate all state−specific manifest requirements and to
require electronic submittal of the manifests.  The EPA’s final
rule was published March 4, 2005, with correcting
amendments published on June 16, 2005, and the effective
date is September 5, 2006.  The new regulations require the
use of standardized manifest forms in all states and require
certification from EPA in order to print the manifest forms.
(Final action on the e−manifest was postponed.)  Unlike most
RCRA rules, this federal regulation will take effect,
nation−wide, on the effective date.  The new federal
requirements will apply in all states, including Wisconsin, but
will not override or supersede Wisconsin’s state−specific
hazardous waste manifest requirements.  Accordingly, the
potential exists for conflicting or additional state manifest
requirements to exist beginning on that date, and the
advantages of a single, uniform nationwide rule will be lost.

The normal administrative rulemaking process cannot be
completed in time to conform Wisconsin’s hazardous waste
manifest requirements to the new EPA manifest regulations
by their September 5, 2006 effective date.  However, failure
to adopt the new federal requirements as state rules by this
date may cause legal uncertainty and potential confusion
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among hazardous waste generators, transporters and
treatment, storage and disposal facility operators, as well as
state regulatory program staff.  This could interfere with
interstate commerce and the orderly functioning of
government, imposing unnecessary regulatory costs on
Wisconsin individuals and businesses and out−of−state
companies doing business in Wisconsin, to the detriment of
the public welfare.  More importantly, the potential confusion
caused by different state and federal manifest requirements
could lead to improper transportation and management of
hazardous wastes, resulting in a threat to public health or
safety and the environment.

Publication Date: September 2, 2006

Effective Date: September 5, 2006
Expiration Date: February 2, 2007
Hearing Date: September 26, 2006
Extension Through: March 2, 2007

Optometry Examining Board

A rule was adopted creating ch. Opt 8, relating to
continuing education.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 297 section 58 states in part:
“(3) Continuing education rules.  (b) …Notwithstanding

section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the statutes, the
optometry examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this paragraph as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
paragraph.”
Plain language analysis

Chapter Opt 8 is being created to incorporate the
continuing education requirements that optometrists must
complete in order to renew their registrations.  As a result of
the changes made to ch. 449, Stats., by 2005 Wisconsin Act
297, all optometrist will now be required to complete 30 hours
of continuing education.  Previously, only optometrists who
were certified to use diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA)
and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) were required
to complete continuing education course work.

Publication Date: November 8, 2006

Effective Date: November 8, 2006
Expiration Date: April 7, 2007
Hearing Date: December 7, 2006

Regulation and Licensing

Rules adopted creating chs. RL 160 to 168, relating to
substance abuse professionals.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”

Plain language analysis
2005 Wisconsin Act 25 created Subchapter VII of chapter

440, Stats., Substance Abuse Counselors, Clinical
Supervisors, and Prevention Specialists.  This Act transferred
the certification and regulation of Alcohol and other Drug
Abuse (AODA) counselors from the Department of Health
and Family Services to the Department of Regulation and
Licensing, effective 2006.  This proposed rule−making order
creates rules relating to definitions, requirements for
certification, supervised practice, scope of practice, education
approval and professional liability insurance for substance
abuse professionals.

Publication Date: November 27, 2006
Effective Date: December 1, 2006
Expiration Date: April 30, 2007
Hearing Date: February 13, 2007

Transportation (2)

1. Rules adopted creating ch. Trans 515, relating to
contractual service procurement.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 8 of 2005 Wis. Act 89,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation

The proposed rule requires a cost benefit analysis before
procuring engineering or other specialized services under s.
84.01 (13), Stats., in excess of $25,000 when those services
are normally performed by state employees. The required
analysis includes a comparison between the costs of
contracting out and performing the services with state
employees.  The analysis also considers other subjective
factors such as timeliness, quality and technical expertise.

Publication Date:July 1, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 8 (2) of 2005 Wis. Act 89
Hearing Date: August 8, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing
the operation of certain 2−vehicle combinations on certain
highways without a permit.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 7 of 2005 Wis. Act 363,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.
Plain language analysis

Section 348.07 (1), Stats., historically has limited vehicle
lengths on Wisconsin highways to 65 feet.  Section 348.07(2),
Stats., allowed vehicles meeting the specifications of that
subsection to operate without permits despite exceeding the
65−foot limit of subsection (1).

2005 Wis. Act 363 amended s. 348.07, Stats., and
essentially made 75 feet the default permitted length on the
state trunk highway system.  Wisconsin’s old default 65−foot
overall length limit still applies on all local roads but only
applies to state trunk highways that are designated as 65−foot
restricted routes by the Department.  This emergency rule
making establishes a preliminary list of such “65−foot
restricted routes.”

Prior to Act 363, s. 348.07 (4), Stats., permitted the
Department to designate “long truck routes” upon which no
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overall length limits apply.  The Department designates the
state’s long truck routes in s. Trans 276.07.  This rule making
does not affect those longstanding designations.

The new “default” 75−foot overall length limit applies on
state highways that are neither designated as 65−foot
restricted routes under this rule making nor long truck routes
under s. Trans 276.07.

Definitions have been added to the rule to make it easier to
identify the nature of designations made by the Department in
Ch. Trans 276.

In drafting this rule the Department noticed several items
that it believes may be of special interest to the legislature and
which, in the Department’s view, deserve special legislative
attention.  First, Act 363 did not grant any authority for
75−foot vehicles using the new 75−foot routes to leave those
routes to reach fuel, food, maintenance, repair, rest, staging,
terminal or vehicle assembly facilities or points of loading or
unloading.  The Department does not believe this oversight
was intentional and, on an emergency basis, has designated
the intersection of each 75−foot route and any other highway
as a long truck route under its authority in s. 348.07 (4), Stats.
This will permit trucks to exceed the 65−foot default length
limit on local roads to access such facilities and make
deliveries.  The Department encourages the legislature to
consider statutorily establishing access rights for vehicles
using 75−foot restricted routes.

The second consequence of Act 363 the Department has
discovered in drafting this emergency rule is that one statute
that formerly restricted double−bottom tractor−trailer
combinations to the state’s long−truck network was repealed
by the deletion of the reference to s. 348.07 (2) (gm), Stats.,
by the Act’s amendment of s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  Under the
amended statute, as revised by Act 363, it might appear to a
reader that double bottom trucks of unlimited length may
operate upon any highway in the state, including local roads
and streets, without permits.  Section 348.08 (1) (e), Stats.,
however, continues to provide that double−bottom trucks be
restricted to highways designated by the department under s.
348.07 (4).  WisDOT believes this provision continues to limit
double−bottom operation to long truck routes designated by
the Department under s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  WisDOT would
suggest the deleted reference to (2) (gm) in 348.07 (4), Stats.,
be re−inserted into the statute to avoid confusion.

Finally, the Department notes that s. 348.07, Stats., is
becoming difficult to decipher from a legal standpoint
because of the many amendments that have been made to it
over the years.  It may be that recodifying the statute for the
purpose of clarification of the length limitations of Wisconsin
law would be helpful to truck and long vehicle operators in
this state.

Publication Date: September 15, 2006

Effective Date: September 15, 2006

Expiration Date: See section 7 (2) of 2005 Wis.
  Act 363

Hearing Date: October 4, 2006

Workforce Development
(Workforce Solutions, Chs. DWD 11 to 59)

Rules adopted revising s. DWD 56.06, relating to child
care rates and affecting small businesses.
Finding of Emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The child care subsidy budget estimates that the child care
subsidy program will have a tight budget by the end of fiscal
year 06−07.  This is due to flat federal funding, rising
caseload, and increased provider costs.  To begin to address
the tight budget, the Department will not increase the child
care subsidy maximum rates for 2007.  This emergency rule
will maintain the maximum rates at 2006 levels.

Publication Date: January 22, 2007
Effective Date: January 22, 2007
Expiration Date: June 21, 2007

Workforce Development
(Public Works Compensation, Chs. DWD

290−294)

Rules adopted amending s. DWD 290.155 (1), relating to
the adjustment of thresholds for application of prevailing
wage rates.
Finding of Emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. If these new
thresholds are not put into effect by emergency rule, the old
thresholds will remain effective for approximately six to
seven months, until the conclusion of the permanent
rule−making process. The thresholds are based on national
construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be changed by
the permanent rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 28, 2006
Effective Date: January 1, 2007
Expiration Date: May 31, 2007
Hearing Date: February 19, 2007
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Scope statements

Health and Family Services

Subject

The Department of Health and Family Services proposes
to repeal and recreate chs. HFS 110, 111, 112, and 113,
relating to emergency medical services (EMS).
Policy Analysis

Emergency medical services have been in existence for 40
years.  In the State of Wisconsin, rules were enacted in the
mid−seventies to direct and coordinate the actions of EMS
workers.  As the profession grew and levels of providers
expanded, the department adopted subsequent rules for each
new level of provider through emergency rule action.  These
emergency rule actions have created permanent rules that are
inconsistent and difficult to follow and enforce.  To increase
consistency, organization and clarity of the EMS rules, the
department intends to consolidate, correct and update the
requirements and operational guidelines for all providers by
repealing and recreating chs. HFS 110, 111, 112 and 113 into
a single chapter of rules under ch. HFS 110.

As part of this process, the department intends to establish,
by rule, conditions under which the department may assess
administrative fees and penalties against providers who
violate rules or who are delinquent in license renewal.  The
department does not intend to assess providers initial or
renewal licensing fees.

The department also intends to create a critical care
paramedic level licensure.  Critical care advanced level skills
are required for severely ill patients that require transport
from one medical facility to another.  Ambulance service
providers have had significant difficulty being reimbursed by
payers for these services.  The creation of this license level
will help to define those skills and treatments that are
considered critical care.

The Department may propose additional changes to rules
it determines are necessary during the repeal and recreation of
chs. HFS 110, 111, 112 and 113.
Statutory Authority

Sections 146.50 (4) (c), (5) (b), (6) (b), (8m) and (13),
146.53 (5) (g) and (k), 146.58 (4) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

There are no federal regulations that are governing or
applicable to these rules.
Entities Affected by the Rule

The citizens of Wisconsin, counties, emergency medical
technicians, and ambulance service providers.
Staff Time Required

The department estimates that it will take approximately
450 hours to develop the proposed rules.  The department will
use the assistance of the Emergency Medical Services
Advisory Board and the Board’s stakeholder group to guide
the content of the consolidated rule.

Insurance

Subject
Objective of the rule.  The Office intends to work with

interested parties, including life insurers and agents, and other
federal and state governmental bodies and agencies to
develop a rule which will establish standards for supervision
systems addressing compliance with the law in the sales of
annuities.
Policy Analysis

Current law requires insurers, general agencies and
independent agencies to maintain a system to supervise the
sale of annuities to seniors that is reasonably designed to
achieve compliance with the law.  In addition under current
law a violation by an agent in the course of making any
annuity sale is imputed to the insurer and insurance agency the
agent represents.  Finally current law requires all licensed
insurers and intermediaries to maintain methods and practices
in conducting business such that the public interest is
protected.  None of these current requirements provide
specific standards for supervision systems addressing
compliance with the law in the sales of annuities.  This
rulemaking process is proposed in order to develop a rule that
provides specific standards for supervision systems.
Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for this rule is ss. 601.41 (4),
601.42, 611.13, 611.20, 613.13, 613.20, 614.13, 614.20,
618.12, 618.37, 628.04, 628.10, 628.34, 628.347 and 628.38,
and ch. 645, Wis. Stats.
Staff Time Required

2000 hours.  The Office also will invite interested parties,
including life insurers and agents, and other governmental
bodies and agencies  to contribute to the deliberations
concerning the development of the rule.
Entities Affected by the Rule

The proposed rule will affect insurers, general agencies and
independent agencies.  It will also affect individual insurance
intermediaries.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

The Office expects that the proposed rule will be drafted so
as to coordinate with regulations of the National Association
of Security Dealers (“NASD”) that address supervision
systems for the sales of securities.  Some insurance products,
particularly variable annuities, are subject to those rules.

The NASD is a self−regulating organization established
under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.   NASD Conduct
Rule 3010, requires members (security brokers) to establish
a system and develop, maintain, and implement written
procedures to supervise the activities of each registered
representative, reasonably designed to achieve compliance
with applicable securities laws, regulations and association
rules. Conduct Rule 3010 requires, at a minimum that
members designate qualified supervisors with appropriate
authority to monitor and review compliance requirements
with each registered representative, to implement appropriate
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practices such as records inspections and compliance audits
to detect violations, and to take appropriate action. Members
must periodically review the supervisory systems and
procedures to ensure they are current and adequate.

Public Instruction

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Modify s. PI 11.36 (6), relating to

specific learning disabilities as required by federal law and
modify PI 11.36 (11), relating to significant developmental
delay as permitted by federal law.
Policy Analysis

As specified in IDEA, the evaluation procedures relating to
the identification of specific learning disabilities provide that:
1) States may not require the use of significant discrepancy as
part of a determination of SLD, 2) States must permit the use
of a process based on a child’s responses to
scientifically−based intervention as part of its determination
of a SLD, and 3) States may permit the use of other alternative
research−based procedures to determine whether a child has
a SLD.  IDEA also added reading fluency skills as an area of
identification for SLD.

IDEA also permits the identification of children with
significant developmental delay through the age of nine rather
than six.
Statutory Authority

Sections 115.76 (5) (a) 10. and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Entities Affected by the Rule

LEAs that provide programs to children with disabilities in
Wisconsin.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

The modified rule will parallel the new federal
requirements for SLD under 20 U.S.C. 1401 (30) and 1414 (b)
(6) and will be consistent with federal authority related to
SDD under 20 U.S.C. 1401 (3) (b).
Staff Time Required

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Revenue

Subject
Chapters Tax 61 and Tax 63, relating to technical

improvements in both chapters and to the implementation of
changes to Wisconsin Lottery retailer billing terms, consistent
with Section 2427 b. of 2005 Act 25, as it amends s.565.10
(15), Stats.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Retail organizations that sell lottery products will be
affected.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

The department is not aware of any existing or proposed
federal regulation that is intended to address the activities to
be regulated by the rule.

Policy Analysis
Objective of the rule.  The objectives of the proposed rule

are to create provisions for future billing terms to be offered
to retailers consistent with Section 2427b of 2005 Act 25, to
offer additional shipping options at cost to the retailer in
situations where the retailer desires additional shipping
options, and to remove minor requirements that currently
exist in the Retailer Performance Program (RPP) which the
Lottery has determined are not consistent with the program
intent.  And last, the proposal will also create rules that satisfy
the voluntary non−disclosure requirements of 2003 Act 145,
and will also clean up minor technical problems in both
chapters.

Current policies are being updated to align to new statutory
law, and to provide better customer service options to the
retailers of Lottery product.
Statutory Authority

Sections 227.11 (2) (a), 565.02, and s. 565.10 (15), Stats.
Staff Time Required

It is estimated that approximately 140 hours of staff time
will be required to develop this rule order.

Workforce Development

Subject
Chapter DWD 56, child care rates

Policy Analysis
Each county or tribal agency annually establishes

maximum reimbursement rates for child care services
provided to eligible individuals by licensed and certified child
care providers, unless the Department sets multi−county
rates.  The Department or each county sets the rates based on
a survey of all licensed providers that determines the child
care prices the providers charge the general community.  The
maximum reimbursement rate for licensed providers is set so
that at least 75% of the number of places for children within
the licensed capacity of all child care providers in the county
can be purchased at or below that maximum rate. Separate
maximum rates are set for licensed group child care centers,
licensed family child care centers, Level I certified family
child care providers, and Level II certified family child care
providers. Separate maximum rates are also set for children in
various age groupings.  The current rates are multi−county
rates set by the Department in 2006.

In past years, the adjusted rates based on the annual survey
have generally become effective January 1 of the new year.
The Department has issued an emergency rule that provides
that the rates will not be adjusted for the year beginning
January 1, 2007, and the rates effective on December 31,
2006, will remain in effect.  This is the corresponding
proposed permanent rule.
Statutory Authority

Sections 49.155 (6) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Families who receive assistance under the child care
subsidy program and child care providers who care for
children of these families
Comparison with Federal Regulations

Under 45 CFR 98.43, a state must certify that state payment
rates for the provision of child care services funded under the
Child Care and Development Fund are sufficient to ensure
equal access to child care services for eligible families as
families not eligible for child care assistance.  At a minimum,
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the state must show that it considered 3 key elements in
determining that its child care program provides equal access
for eligible families: 1) Adequate payment rates based on a
local market rate survey conducted no earlier than two years
prior to the effective date of the current plan; 2) Choice of the
full range of categories and types of providers; and 3)
Affordable copayments.

In the commentary issued with the regulation, the

Administration for Children and Families notes that rates
established at least at the 75th percentile of the market rate
would be regarded as providing equal access. Under the
former title IV−A child care program, states were required to
set rates at this level. (63 FR 39936, 39959, July 24, 1998)
Staff Time Required

60 hours.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce

On January 26, 2007, the Department of Commerce
submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council Rules
clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory authority: Section 227.14 (4m) and 227.17,
Stats.

The proposed rules affect chs. Comm 5 and 20, relating
to dwelling contractor certification.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The department will hold a public hearing on this rule on

February 27, 2007. The department’s Safety and Buildings
Division is primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Person
Jim Quast
Program Manager
608−266−9292
jim.quast@wisconsin.gov

Commerce

On January 29, 2007, the Department of Commerce
submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council Rules
clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory authority: Section 227.14 (4m) and 227.17,
Stats.

The proposed rules affect ch. Comm 67, relating to
rental unit energy efficiency standards.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The department will hold a public hearing on this rule on

March 15, 2007. The department’s Safety and Buildings
Division is primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Person
Joe Hertel
Program Manager
608−266−5649
jhertel@commerce.state.wi.us

Workforce Development

On January 31, 2007, the Department of Workforce
Development submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules clearinghouse.
Analysis

Statutory authority: Sections 108.02 (12) (f), 108.14 (2)
and 227.11 (2), Stats.

The proposed rules affect chs. DWD 100 to 150, relating
to unemployment insurance technical corrections.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Pursuant to s. 227.16 (2) (b), Stats., a public hearing is
not required because the proposed rule  brings an existing
rule into conformity with a statute that has been changed.
The organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of
the proposed rules is the DWD Unemployment Insurance
Division.
Contact Person

Elaine Pridgen
Telephone: (608) 267−9403
Email: elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Workforce Development

On January 31, 2007, the Department of Workforce
Development submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules clearinghouse.
Analysis

Statutory authority: Sections 106.01 (9) and 227.11 (2),
Stats.

The proposed rules affect ch. DWD 295, relating to
enforcement of apprenticeship agreements and affecting
small businesses.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on
February 28, 2007. The organizational unit responsible for
the promulgation of the proposed rules is the DWD
Division of Workforce Solutions.
Contact Person

Elaine Pridgen
Telephone: (608) 267−9403
Email: elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 07−004]
(Reprinted from 1/31/07 Wis. Adm. Register)
The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed new rule, Chapter ATCP
106, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to Price Gouging During and
Emergency.

DATCP will hold three public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Friday, March 16, 2007 for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Trade and
Consumer Protection at the address below, by email to
kevin.leroy@datcp.state.wi.us or online at
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, 2811
Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.  You
can also obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4928 or emailing
kevin.leroy@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be available
at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online, go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home
To provide comments or concerns relating to small

business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by February 13, 2007, by writing to Kevin LeRoy,
Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4928.
Alternatively, you may contact the DATCP TDD at (608)
224−5058.  Handicap access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations:
Tuesday, February 20, 2007
2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
DATCP Northwest Regional Office
3610 Oakwood Hills Pkwy
Eau Claire, WI  54701−7754

Wednesday, February 21, 2007
9:30 a.m.. to 11:30 a.m.
DATCP Northeast Regional Office
Room 152A
200 N Jefferson Street
Green Bay WI  54301

Tuesday, February 27, 2007
9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection

2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room (CR−106)
Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule implements s. 100.305, Stats. (created by 2005
Wis. Act 450), which prohibits price gouging in sales of
consumer goods or services during an emergency declared by
the Governor.  This rule includes standards for determining
what constitutes illegal price gouging.

Statutory Authority:  ss. 93.07 (1), 93.15 and 100.305 (3),
Stats.

Statutes Interpreted:  ss. 93.06 (1) and (9), 93.15, 93.16 and
100.305, Stats.

The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“DATCP”) is responsible for
administering the price gouging prohibition under s. 100.305,
Stats.  Section 100.305, Stats., prohibits sellers from selling
“consumer goods or services” at wholesale or retail at
“unreasonably excessive prices” if the Governor, by
executive order, has certified that the state or a part of the state
is in a “period of abnormal economic disruption” due to an
emergency.  An emergency may include, for example, a
destructive act of nature, a disruption of energy supplies that
poses a serious risk to the public health or welfare, a hostile
action, or a strike or civil disorder.

DATCP has broad general authority, under s. 93.07 (1),
Stats., to adopt rules to implement laws under its jurisdiction.
Under s. 100.305 (3), Stats., DATCP is specifically required
to adopt rules defining what constitutes an “unreasonably
excessive price” for purposes of the price gouging prohibition
under s. 100.305, Stats.

Under ss. 93.06 (1) and (9) and 93.14 to 93.16, Stats.,
DATCP may investigate possible rule violations, and may
require persons to provide documents, testimony and other
evidence related to its investigation.  Under s. 93.15, Stats.,
DATCP may by general order (rule) require persons to answer
DATCP questions and submit documents for inspection.

Rule Content
Under this rule, a seller may not sell a consumer good or

service in a declared emergency area during a declared
emergency period at a price that is more than 10% above the
highest price at which the seller sold like consumer goods or
services to like customers in the relevant trade area during the
60−day period immediately preceding the emergency
declaration.  A seller may charge a higher price if the seller can
prove, based on evidence in the seller’s possession at the time
of sale, that any of the following apply:

 The higher price does not exceed the seller’s cost plus
normal markup.  “Normal markup” means the percentage
markup, over the seller’s cost, which the seller regularly used
in sales of like goods or services to like customers in the
relevant trade area during the 60−day period immediately
preceding the emergency declaration.  This allows sellers to
pass on bona fide cost increases.

 The higher price is required by law.  For example, a seller
may prove that the higher price is required to comply with
Wisconsin’s Unfair Sales Act (“minimum markup law”), s.
100.30, Stats.
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 The Governor’s emergency declaration directly or
impliedly exempts the sale from coverage under the
emergency declaration.

Under this rule, DATCP may require a seller to submit
written, documented answers to DATCP questions related to
the seller’s compliance with this rule, including information
related to any of the following:

 The highest price at which the seller sold a consumer good
or service to like customers in the relevant trade area during
the 60−day period immediately preceding the emergency
declaration.

 The scope of the relevant trade area.

 Any defenses claimed by the seller under this rule.
 Other information relevant to DATCP’s investigation.

Federal and Surrounding State Regulations

Federal Law
At various times in United States history, the federal

government has imposed price controls.  There are no federal
“price gouging” prohibitions currently in effect.  However,
there are federal laws that set or limit prices for certain
products or services in certain sectors.  Some of these laws
may preempt state “price gouging” provisions related to the
federally−regulated products or services.  For example, state
law may not regulate interest rates charged by federally
chartered banks, or certain prices charged by certain federally
regulated common carriers.  The scope and effect of federal
regulation varies by industry sector, and is highly specific to
individual federal programs.

Other States
Many states have prohibited price gouging during declared

periods of emergency.  Most of those states prohibit prices
above pre−emergency prices, except that most states allow
sellers to pass on increased costs.  Four states prohibit
increased markups over cost, and 6 states cap price increases
at some percentage such as 10% or 25%.

Nineteen states prohibit prices that are “unconscionably
excessive,” “exorbitant,” “unjustified,” or “grossly
excessive” without defining those terms or establishing more
specific standards.  However, the New York attorney general
found that New York’s broad prohibition against
“unconscionably excessive” prices was unworkable without
more specific standards.

The states surrounding Wisconsin have the following
regulations:

 Illinois, on September 2, 2005, adopted an emergency rule
(now expired) which prohibited “unconscionably high prices
for petroleum products.”

 Indiana prohibits price gouging in the sale of fuel.  Price
gouging occurs if a retailer charges a price that grossly
exceeds the average price at which the fuel was readily
available during the 7 days immediately preceding the
declared emergency and the increase is not attributable to cost
factors to the retailer.

 Iowa regulates prices on “merchandise needed by disaster
victims.”  The Iowa regulation prohibits “unjustified prices”
during times of disaster and recovery (60 day maximum) in a
declared disaster zone.

 Michigan’s consumer act prohibits, among other things, a
price that is “grossly in excess” of the price at which similar
property or services are sold.

 Minnesota does not regulate price gouging.

 Ohio prohibits, during a state of emergency, prices that are
substantially higher than “the price at which the goods or

services were readily obtainable during the 30 days
immediately preceding the state of emergency” or “the
average price of the goods or services during the 30 days
immediately preceding the state of emergency.”

Business Impact Analysis
Depending on the scope of a declared emergency, this rule

could conceivably affect nearly every business that sells
consumer goods in the state (whether at wholesale or retail).
A declared emergency may be statewide or localized in scope,
and may be broad−based or confined to certain economic
sectors.  The impact of this rule will vary accordingly.

This rule could have a substantial impact on a wide array
of businesses.  But it is not possible to predict the impact on
individual businesses or on business generally.

Whenever it applies in an emergency, this rule will limit the
prices that may be charged by affected businesses.  This rule
prohibits prices that are more than 10% higher than
pre−emergency prices, unless sellers can document that their
higher prices do not exceed their cost plus normal markup.
Sellers are thus free to pass on relevant cost increases, if they
can document those increases.

This rule applies only when the Governor, by executive
order, issues an emergency declaration.  The emergency
declaration determines the scope of coverage, and may
exempt certain business sectors from coverage.  This rule
applies only for the period of time that the emergency
declaration remains in effect.

This rule provides some latitude for price adjustments in
response to supply and demand, and allows sellers to pass on
bona fide cost increases.  However, this rule does ultimately
set limits on the prices that manufacturers, wholesaler
distributors and retailers may charge.  Some sellers may
withhold goods or services from the market rather than sell at
those limited prices.  Retailers may benefit from wholesale
price limitations, but may suffer from wholesaler decisions to
withhold goods or services from distribution.

Under 2003 Wis. Act 145, DATCP and other agencies must
adopt rules spelling out their rule enforcement policy for
small businesses.  DATCP has adopted a separate rule
outlining its small business enforcement policy (see ATCP 1,
subch. VII).  DATCP will follow that rule in the
administration of this price gouging rule.  DATCP will, to the
maximum extent feasible, seek voluntary compliance with
this price gouging rule.

This rule first applies to small businesses 2 months after it
first applies to other businesses, as required by s. 227.22 (2)
(e), Stats.   This rule will not apply to small businesses during
declared emergencies that fall within that 2−month period, but
will apply to small businesses during subsequent declared
emergencies.  If a declared emergency period starts before the
small business effective date, but extends beyond the small
business effective date, this rule will apply to small businesses
for that portion of the emergency period that occurs after the
small business effective date.

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 07−006]
(Reprinted from 1/31/07 Wis. Adm. Register)
The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on proposed amendments to chapters
ATCP 60, 69, 77, 80 and 82, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to safe
production, processing, distribution and sale of milk and dairy
products.
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DATCP will hold four public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Monday, March 19, 2007, for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Food Safety at the
address below, by email to
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us, or online at:
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Food Safety, 2811 Agriculture Drive,
P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.  You can also obtain a
copy by calling (608) 224−4712 or emailing
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be
available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online,
go to: https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by February 12, 2007, by writing to Deb Mazanec,
Division of Food Safety, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4712.  Alternatively, you
may contact the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap
access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations
Tuesday, February 20, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Appleton Public Library, Room C
225 N. Oneida Street
Appleton, WI 54911

Wednesday, February 21, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
State of Wisconsin Office Building, Room 105
718 W. Clairemont Avenue
Eau Claire, WI 54701

Friday, February 23, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Green County Agriculture Building Auditorium
2841 6th Street
Monroe, WI  53566

Monday, February 26, 2007
1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer

Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room (CR−106)
Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule updates current rules related to safe production,
processing, distribution and sale of milk and dairy products.
This rule affects dairy farms, dairy plants, milk haulers, milk
testing laboratories, buttermakers, cheesemakers and others.
Among other things, this rule:

Brings Wisconsin rules into conformity with the Interstate
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (“PMO”).  Milk and fluid milk
products must be produced in compliance with the PMO, in
order for Wisconsin to be able to ship those products in
interstate commerce.

Updates current rules to accommodate new dairy industry
technology and practices.

Clarifies current statutory prohibitions against the sale of
raw milk to consumers, consistent with administrative law
judge decisions.

Clarifies some rule provisions, so they will be easier to read
and understand.

Statutory Authority
Statutory authority: ss. 93.07(1) and (2), 93.09 (1), 93.12

(3) and (5), 97.09 (1) and (4), 97.20 (4), 97.21 (6), 97.22 (8),
97.24 (3), and 97.52.

Statutes interpreted:  ss. 93.09, 93.12, 97.02, 97.03, 97.09,
97.12, 97.17, 97.175, 97.20, 97.21, 97.22, 97.24, 97.50,
97.52, 98.145 and 98.146.

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) is responsible for administering
Wisconsin food safety and labeling laws, including laws
related to the safety of milk and dairy products.  DATCP
licenses and regulates dairy farms, dairy plants, milk haulers,
milk testing laboratories and analysts, bulk milk weighers and
samplers, and others.  DATCP has broad authority to regulate
these entities, to ensure safe and wholesome dairy products
and fair business practices.

Milk and fluid milk products must be produced and
distributed in compliance with “Grade A” standards under the
Interstate Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (“PMO”).  If
Wisconsin fails to comply with the PMO, Wisconsin may be
precluded from shipping milk and fluid milk products in
interstate commerce.  Under s. 97.24, Stats., DATCP must
adopt “Grade A” rules that are in substantial accord with the
PMO.

DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to
adopt rules needed to interpret and implement laws under its
jurisdiction.  In addition, DATCP has the following
rulemaking authority:

Under s. 93.07 (2), Stats., to prescribe forms used in
connection with DATCP programs.

Under s. 93.09 (1), Stats., to adopt grading, packaging and
labeling standards for food.

Under ss. 93.12 (3) and (5), Stats., to adopt rules for
laboratories testing milk and dairy products.

Under s. 97.09 (1), Stats., to adopt food standards of
identity, composition and quality.

Under s. 97.09 (4), Stats., to regulate the production,
processing, packaging, labeling, transportation, storage,
handling, display, sale, and distribution of food to protect the
public from adulterated or misbranded foods.

Under s. 97.20 (4), 97.21 (6) and 97.22 (8), Stats., to
regulate dairy plants, bulk milk tankers and dairy farms.

Under s. 97.24 (3), to adopt rules for the production,
processing, pasteurization, distribution and testing of milk
and dairy products.  Rules for milk and fluid milk products
must be in substantial accord with “Grade A” standards under
the PMO.

Under s. 97.52, Stats., to establish sanitary standards for the
production, handling and transportation, inspection and
testing of milk and dairy products.

Background
The United States Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”)

recently completed an audit of Wisconsin’s dairy regulatory
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program.  FDA requested a number of changes in current
DATCP rules, to make the rules more fully consistent with the
current (2005) version of the PMO.  This rule makes changes
requested by FDA.  This rule also makes other changes to
update and clarify current rules, and to accommodate
changing dairy industry technology, organization and
practices.  The changes in this rule are, for the most part,
technical in nature.  However, some rule changes may require
significant changes by some dairy businesses (see Business
Impact Analysis below).

DATCP and others have proposed major reforms to
modernize and streamline the PMO.  However, those reforms
will require action at the national level and by other states.  In
the meantime, Wisconsin must comply with existing PMO
requirements.

Rule Content
Dairy Farms
This rule updates and modifies current rules related to dairy

farms.  Among other things, this rule does all of the following:
•  Incorporates PMO requirements related to gravity flow

manure handling systems and liquid manure storage.
•  Clarifies milk hauler responsibilities relating to mixing,

sampling, and testing milk shipments.
•  Spells out standards and procedures related to

Wisconsin’s performance−based dairy farm inspection
system.

•  Updates drug residue action levels and safe levels,
consistent with the PMO.

•  Clarifies dairy plant and DATCP responsibilities relating
to testing milk from dairy farms, and reporting test results.

• Spells out new requirements related to the safety of water
used in milking and processing operations.

•  Clarifies milk temperature monitoring and recording
requirements, and requires dairy farms to keep milk
temperature records for at least 6 months (extended from 90
days under current rules).

Clarifies drug residue testing procedures, including
requirements confirmation of positive screening tests and
rejection of milk shipments pending follow−up testing to
show that drug contamination has been eliminated.

•  Clarifies producer and installer responsibilities for
obtaining DATCP review of dairy farm remodeling plans.

• Expands rule coverage to include all “milking animals,”
not just cows, sheep and goats.

• Expands current requirements related to dairy farm and
dairy plant cooling systems.

• Clarifies the current statutory prohibition related to the
sale of unpasteurized “raw milk” to consumers, consistent
with administrative law judge decisions.  Raw milk sales have
been implicated in a number of serious food−borne disease
outbreaks in Wisconsin and elsewhere.

• Eliminates current requirement related to dairy plant
testing for coarse sediment in milk.

Dairy Plants
This rule updates and modifies current rules related to dairy

plants.  Among other things, this rule does all of the following:
Strengthens water safety requirements and clarifies that

DATCP, rather than the dairy plant operator, must perform
certain water safety tests.

Clarifies cleaning and sanitizing requirements.
Clarifies milk testing requirements, including drug residue

testing requirements.  Among other things, this rule clarifies

testing requirements for farms that milk directly to bulk milk
tankers.

This rule eliminates coarse sediment testing requirements.
Updates and clarifies pasteurization standards, procedures

and testing requirements.
Requires regular DATCP review of pasteurization records

and “cleaned−in−place” equipment cleaning records.
Updates requirements related to calibration of automated

milk component testing devices.
Updates dairy plant recordkeeping requirements.  Dairy

plants must retain certain cleaning and sanitizing records for
at least 6 months.  Dairy plants must keep for at least 3 years
certain documents related to bulk milk shipments.

Milk Testing Laboratories
DATCP currently certifies laboratories that test milk, food

or water for compliance with public health standards.  This
rule updates and clarifies current rules related to the
certification of laboratories and lab analysts.  Among other
things, this rule:

Updates the list of tests for which certification is required.
Clarifies current certification and testing requirements

related to drug residue testing in milk, including requirements
for timely confirmation of positive screening test results.

Clarifies that test results reported by a certified laboratory
are presumptively valid.

Milk Haulers and Bulk Milk Tankers
This rule updates and modifies current requirements

related to milk haulers and bulk milk tankers.  Among other
things, this rule does all of the following:

Establishes standards for bulk milk tanker cleaning
facilities at dairy plants.

Requires dairy plants to keep bulk milk tanker cleaning and
sanitizing records for 15 days, rather than 90 days.  When a
dairy plant operator cleans a bulk milk tanker, the operator
must remove the cleaning tag from the last cleaning and keep
the removed tag for at least 15 days.

Clarifies that out−of−state bulk milk tankers with grade A
permits from other jurisdictions are not required to hold
Wisconsin grade A permits.

Requires grade A permit numbers to be clearly displayed
on bulk milk tankers.

Clarifies the responsibilities of milk haulers (bulk milk
weighers and samplers) related to weighing, measuring, and
sampling milk shipments.

Buttermakers and Cheesemakers
This rule clarifies current professional licensing

requirements for individuals engaged as buttermakers and
cheesemakers.  This rule gives license applicants more
options for meeting training and experience qualifications.

Standards Incorporated by Reference
Pursuant to s. 227.21, Stats., DATCP will request

permission from the attorney general and revisor of statutes
to incorporate the following standards by reference in this rule
without reproducing the publications in full.  This rule
updates titles, publication dates, and supporting information
for the following publications:

•  “Grade A Pasteurized Milk Ordinance,” published by the
Food and Drug Administration, Public Health Service, U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services (2005 Revision).

• “3−A Accepted Practices for the Design, Fabrication and
Installation of Milking and Milk Handling Equipment,”
document #3A606−05, published by “3−A Sanitary
Standards, Inc. (November 2002).



Page 16 Mid−February 2007WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 614

• “3−A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Cooling and
Holding Tanks,” document #3A13−10, published by 3−A
Sanitary Standards, Inc. (November 2003).

•  “3−A Accepted Practices for the Sanitary Construction,
Installation, Testing, and Operation of High−Temperature
Short−Time and Higher−Heat Shorter−Time Pasteurizer
Systems,” document #3A603−07, published by 3−A Sanitary
Standards, Inc. (November 2005).

•  “3−A Sanitary Standards for Stainless Steel Automotive
Transportation Tanks for Bulk Delivery and Farm Pick−Up
Service,” document #3A05−15, published by 3−A Sanitary
Standards, Inc. (November 2002).

• “Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International,”
published by AOAC International (18th Edition, 2005).

• “Milk and Dairy Beef Residue Prevention Protocol, 2005
Producer Manual of Best Management Practices,” published
by Agri−Education, Inc.

• “Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy
Products, published by the American Public Health
Association (17th Edition, 2004).

• “Compendium of Methods for the Microbiological
Examination of Foods, published by the American Public
Health Association (4th Edition, 2001).

• “Bacteriological Analytical Manual,” published by the
Food and Drug Administration, Public Health Service, United
States Department of Health and Human Services (8th

Edition, Revision A, 1998).
• “Manual for the Certification of Laboratories Analyzing

Drinking Water,” published by the U. S. Environmental
Protection Agency (5th Edition, 2005).

• “Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and
Wastewater, published by the American Public Health
Association, the American Water Works Association and the
Water Environment Federation (20th Edition, 1998).

• “Methods of Making Sanitation Ratings of Milk
Supplies,” published by the Food and Drug Administration,
Public Health Service, United States Department of Health
and Human Services (2005 Revision).

• FDA 2400 Series Laboratory Evaluation Forms,
published by the United States Department of Health and
Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug
Administration (forms that are effective as of the effective
date of this rule).

Copies of these publications will be on file with DATCP
and the revisor of statutes.  Rule notes explain how readers
may obtain copies.

Fiscal Estimate
DATCP currently regulates dairy farms, dairy plants, bulk

milk weighers and samplers, bulk milk tankers, milk testing
laboratories, laboratory analysts, buttermakers and
cheesemakers to protect consumers and facilitate the
interstate shipment of Wisconsin grade A milk and dairy
products.

This rule will not have a significant fiscal impact on state
government.  This rule updates current rules, but does not
make major changes that will increase state government costs.
This rule does not change current license fees, and does not
have any impact on current state revenues.

Business Impact
DATCP currently regulates dairy farms, dairy plants, bulk

milk weighers and samplers, bulk milk tankers, milk testing

laboratories, laboratory analysts, buttermakers and
cheesemakers to protect consumers and facilitate the
interstate shipment of Wisconsin grade A milk and dairy
products.  Current regulations have an important impact on
dairy industry operations, including small business
operations.  Most dairy farms, and some dairy processing
operations, qualify as “small businesses” under s. 227.114,
Stats.

This rule makes a large number of technical changes to
existing regulations.  For the most part, however, this rule will
not have a significant impact on affected businesses.

Some rule changes may have a significant impact on some
affected businesses.  For example, this rule mandates certain
pasteurization and cooling requirements that may require
some dairy plants to install new or remodeled equipment.
DATCP estimates that no more than 5 dairy plants will be
affected by this particular requirement.  The actual impact will
depend on variable factors related to processing operations,
current equipment and plant size.  This rule delays the
effective date of the requirement by one year, so that affected
dairy plants will have time to make the necessary changes.

This rule changes current recordkeeping requirements, but
the changes should not impose a significant burden on
affected businesses.  This rule will not require affected
businesses to obtain any new professional skills or services.

Federal Regulations
FDA administers the PMO in cooperation with the

National Conference on Interstate Milk Shipments (NCIMS).
NCIMS, a cooperative organization of states, develops and
adopts PMO provisions subject to approval by FDA.  FDA
audits state compliance, and may “de−list” individual milk
shippers or entire states that fail to comply.  Other states may
refuse to accept milk shipments from “de−listed” states or
shippers.

Wisconsin rules must be consistent with the PMO, in order
for Wisconsin to ship milk and fluid milk products in
interstate commerce.  FDA has requested changes in the
Wisconsin rules, to make them consistent with the current
version of the PMO.  This rule updates Wisconsin rules, so
they will be consistent with the PMO.

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
recommends standards for non−fluid dairy products (such as
cheese), and for “Grade B” milk used in the manufacture of
those products.  USDA evaluates state programs for
consistency with its recommended standards.  Unlike PMO
standards for “Grade A” milk and fluid milk products, the
USDA “Grade B” standards are not mandatory.   However,
Wisconsin and surrounding state rules are consistent with
those standards.

USDA and the United States Environmental Protection
Agency administer other programs (such as milk marketing
orders, pesticide registration and water pollution regulations)
that affect the operation of dairy businesses, but the PMO is
the primary federal or interstate regulation relevant to this
rule.   Federal regulations in 21 CFR 1240 mandate
pasteurization of milk and prohibit interstate sale of
unpasteurized milk and fluid milk products.

Surrounding State Programs
Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota are all members of

the NCIMS.  All 4 states have dairy regulations that are in
substantial compliance with the PMO.  They also have
regulations for “Grade B” milk and non−fluid dairy products
(such as cheese) that are substantially equivalent to USDA
recommended standards.
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Notice of Hearing
Commerce

[CR 07−007]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.63

and 101.645 Stats., as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 200 the
Department of Commerce will hold a public hearing on
proposed rules under chapters Comm 5 and 20 relating to
certification of dwelling contractors and affecting small
businesses.

The public hearing will be held as follows:
Date and Time: Location
February 27, 2007Conference Room 3C
10:00 a.m. Thompson Commerce Center

201 West Washington Avenue
Madison

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until March 9, 2007, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to James Quast, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
jim.quast@wisconsin.gov.

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Analysis
1.  Statutes Interpreted.
Sections 101.63 and 101.645, Stats., and 2005 Wisconsin

Act 200.
2.  Statutory Authority.
Sections 101.63 and 101.645, Stats., and 2005 Wisconsin

Act 200.
3.  Related Statute or Rule.  None.
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority.
Section 101.63 (2m), Stats., empowers the department to

promulgate certification rules regarding the financial
responsibility of contractors who obtain building permits for
work on dwellings.  The enactment of 2005 Wisconsin Act
200 further directed the department to promulgate rules
establishing educational obligations for contractors who
obtain building permits for work on dwellings.

5.  Summary of Proposed Rules.
Under current rules the department issues dwelling

contractor financial responsibility certifications to businesses
and entities that obtain building permits to perform work on
one− and two− family dwellings no matter when the structure
was initially constructed.  The department is proposing to
create a new separate certification, dwelling contractor
qualifier, issued to an individual in order to fulfill the
educational obligations established under 2005 Wisconsin
Act 200.  The qualifier certification term is proposed for one
year and renewal of the certification is contingent upon the

holder obtaining 6 hours continuing education.  The proposed
rules also provide grandfathering provisions for obtaining the
contractor qualification certification.

6. Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.

The proposed rules address administrative issues unique to
the department’s rules.  There are no existing or proposed
federal regulations that address the activities to be regulated
by the proposed rules.

7. Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.
An internet search of the State of Illinois’ website did not

reveal the existence of a state−level licensing or certification
for dwelling contractors or home builders.

An internet search of the State of Iowa’s website revealed
that there is not licensing or certification for building
contractors or home builders just a simple registration
program that does not require educational perquisites.

The State of Michigan’s website indicates that Michigan
licenses residential builders and maintenance and alteration
contractors.  However, the qualifications for the license and
its renewal do not appear to require the fulfillment of any
educational obligations.

The State of Minnesota website indicates that Minnesota
requires residential building contractor and remodeling
companies to obtain a license.  Each company must designate
one individual as a qualifying person who must take the
required examination and fulfill the 7−hours of continuing
education required to renew the license.

8. Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies.

In developing the proposed rules the department reviewed
the language of 2005 Wisconsin Act 200 together with the
existing laws under ss. 101.63 and 101.654, Stats. and the
existing administrative rules under s. Comm 5.31.  The
department also received input from the statutorily−created
Contractor Certification Council.  The council’s composition
reflects a variety of organizations whose memberships
include many types of small businesses.  The department
utilizes advisory councils to gather information on potential
impacts in complying with both the technical and
administrative requirements of its codes.  A responsibility of
council members is to bring forth concerns their respective
organizations may have with the proposed rules, including
concerns regarding economic impacts.  (Copies of the council
meetings summaries are on file in Safety and Building
Division.)

The Contractor Certification Council is comprised of:
Craig Rakowski, Wauwatosa, Wisconsin Builders

Association
Jay Statz, Middleton, National Association of the

Remodeling Industry
Joseph Welch, Pewaukee, Wisconsin State Council of

Carpenters  
9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine

Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report.

The proposed rules implement the mandates imposed by
2005 Wisconsin Act 200.  The Act establishes educational
obligations for contractors who need to obtain building
permits involving work on one− and two− family dwellings.
Currently, a building permit is required for the construction of
every new one− and two− family dwelling.  The necessity to
obtain a building permit for alterations and additions to
existing dwellings is at the discretion of each municipality in
terms when, if and for what type of work a building permit is
required before starting the project.  In light of this, the Act
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and the proposed rules potentially affect a wide variety of
contractors and trades, including home builders and
contractors, remodeling businesses and roofing contractors.
The cost of the department’s proposed annual contractor
certification is $30.  The renewal of the certification is
contingent upon the holder obtaining at least 6 hours of
continuing education.  The continuing education, upon
approval by the department, can be provided by anyone.  The
fee, if any, for a continuing education course or seminar is left
to the discretion of the course/seminar provider.  The
department does not believe that the proposed rules will
increase the effect on small businesses over that imposed by
the Act.

An economic impact report has not been required pursuant
to s. 227.137, Stats.

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Environmental Assessment
Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered

the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1.  Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
As required under 2005 Wisconsin Act 200 beginning on

January 1, 2008 all certified contractors needing to obtain
building permits to undertake work on a one− and two− family
dwellings will have had to fulfill educational course work
unless grandfathered.  The renewal of their certifications will
be contingent upon the fulfillment of continuing education
obligations.  The type of businesses affected by the Act and
the proposed administrative rules include builders,
remodelers and roofers.

2.  Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

There are no reporting or bookkeeping procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

3.  Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

There are no types of professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.

4.  Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.

No.  Rules not submitted to Small Business Regulatory
Review Board.

Fiscal Estimate
Under current rules the department issues dwelling

contractor financial responsibility certifications to businesses
and entities that obtain building permits to perform work on
one− and two− family dwellings.  The department is

proposing to create a new separate certification, dwelling
contractor qualifier, issued to an individual in order to fulfill
the educational obligations established under 2005 Wisconsin
Act 200.  Currently, the department has issued 10,550
dwelling contractor financial responsibility certifications.  It
is anticipated that some contracting businesses and entities
may desire to have more than one individual hold the qualifier
certification.  It is estimated that 10 percent of the businesses
may employ this strategy.  In light of this, the department
estimates that it will issue approximately 11,600 qualifier
certifications annually.  The fee for the qualifier certification
is proposed to be $30.  This will generate $348,000 in annual
revenue.  The proposed rules will also decrease the fee for the
dwelling contractor financial responsibility certifications by
$5.00.  This will decrease annual revenue by $52,000.

The department believes that the workload generated by
issuing and administering the new qualifier certification can
be absorbed into current staffing levels and functions.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

[CR 07−008]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.02

(1) and (15), and 101.122, Stats., the Department of
Commerce will hold a public hearing on proposed rules under
chapter Comm 67, relating to rental unit energy efficiency
standards.

The public hearing will be held as follows:
March 15, 2007 Conference Room 3C
10:00 a.m. Thompson Commerce Center

201 West Washington Avenue
Madison

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until March 29, 2007, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Joe hertel, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 2689,
madison, WI 537701−2689, or email at
jhertel@commerce.state.wi.us.

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Analysis
1. Statutes Interpreted:  ss. 101.02 (1) and (15), 101.122

and 101.19 (1) (i), Stats.
2.  Statutory Authority:  ss. 101.02 (1) and (15), 101.122

and 101.19 (1) (i), Stats.
3.  Related Statute or Rule.  None.
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority.
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Under sections 101.02 (1) and (15), Stats., the Department
has authority to protect public health, safety, and welfare, at
public buildings and places of employment, by promulgating
and enforcing requirements for construction and maintenance
of those facilities.  Under section 101.122, Stats, the
Department also has the responsibility to develop minimum
energy efficiency requirements for rental units.  The energy
efficiency requirements must be met before the ownership of
a rental unit may be transferred.  Under section 101.122 (2)
(e), the Department must review the administrative rules
adopted under this section of the statutes every five years to
determine whether new energy conservation technologies
should be included under chapter Comm 67.  Also, under s.
101.19 (1) (i), Stats., the Department may fix and collect fees
for inspecting and certifying rental units as specified in s.
101.122, Stats., and the Department proposes to reduce the
fees, which will more closely equal the cost of providing the
services.

5.  Summary of Proposed Rules.

The last revision to chapter Comm 67 was in 1999 and
included language in response to legislation.  This current
review and update includes a repeal and recreation of the
requirements to improve clarity, revise the rules in accordance
with the standard rule development format, reduce the
number of department forms that are required to be submitted
to show compliance with the code and reduce the fees, which
will more closely equal the cost of providing the services.

The following are the major changes proposed in the
revisions to chapters Comm 2 and Comm 67:

 Modify the fees under chapter Comm 67 by eliminating the
fees for application for exemptions, stipulations and waivers
and adjusting the fee for certification stamps.  These fee
changes will offset program costs.  The maximum fee for
performing an inspection will also be eliminated.  Private
inspectors will establish their fees and the department will
charge fees as specified under s. Comm 2.04 relating to
miscellaneous inspections and investigations.  [ Comm 2.35]

 Reorganize all of the requirements under Comm 67 by
grouping them into subchapters relating to application,
definitions, administration and enforcement, and technical
provisions.

 Eliminate the cost payback exemption because the
minimum technical provisions are already based on achieving
a 5−year cost payback and compliance with these
requirements are now based on the life time of the building.
Allowing an exemption from compliance with the code is not
within the intent of the code.  [Requirements formerly under
s. Comm 67.06]

 Modify the definitions for consistent use under the chapter.
[Comm 67.04]

 Clarify the definition of “owner−occupied” by stating the
owner must occupy a dwelling unit exclusively as the primary
or secondary residence within the first year immediately after
the date of transfer of the dwelling unit.  It also clarifies the
owner may not claim more than 2 residences.  This change is
being proposed to recognize owners, who may own another
dwelling used as a summer or winter residence. [Comm 67.04
(17)]

 Clarify the administration and enforcement requirements
relating to issuance of certificates, waivers, stipulations and
satisfaction of compliance.  [Comm 67.06]

 Clarify the 2−year time period granted for a waiver starts
from the date the waiver is validated, and include a
requirement that states a rental unit with an expired waiver
may not be transferred. [Comm 67.06 (3) (b) 2.]

 Clarify that an owner of a rental unit must bring the unit
into compliance with the energy requirements no later than
one year after the stipulation was validated.  [Comm 67.06 (4)
(a) 1.]

 Clarify the stipulation requirements, and include an option
that the owner may bring the rental unit into compliance using
either the code in effect at the time the stipulation was issued
or using the current code requirements.  [Comm 67.07 (2) (b)
2. and 67.06 (4) (a) 3.]

 Reword the issuance requirements for certificates of
compliance and stipulations to include the filing requirements
previously covered under section Comm 67.08 (4) (g).
[Comm 67.06 (2) and (4)]

 Clarify the rules relating to insulation of box sills to permit
foam plastic insulation to be used without the required
thermal barrier.  [Comm 67.11 (1) (c) and Table 67.11−B]

 Clarify the rules relating to insulation of ducts and pipes
to include vented attic spaces. Change the requirements
relating to domestic hot water pipes to domestic water heater
pipes, and require the insulation of only the supply pipes for
noncirculating hot and cold water pipes in vented crawl
spaces. [Comm 67.11 (1) (d) and Table 67.11−3]

6. Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.

An Internet−based search for “energy efficiency standards
for rental dwelling units” in the Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR) did not identify any existing federal regulations
establishing energy efficiency requirements for the transfer of
dwelling units used as rental property.  However, it did
identify the following existing federal regulation that awards
grants to provide a weatherization assistance program to
increase the energy efficiency of dwellings owned or
occupied by low−income persons, reduce their total
residential expenditures, and improve their health and safety.

10 CFR 440 – Weatherization Assistance for Low−income
Persons

An Internet−based search for the referenced federal
regulation of the 2003, 2004 and 2005 issues of the Federal
Register did not identify any proposed changes to this
regulation relating to the weatherization of dwellings owned
by or occupied by low−income persons.

7. Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.
An Internet−based search of adjacent states’ codes resulted

in finding no similar code requirements for providing energy
efficiency standards prior to the transfer of ownership of
rental property.  Minnesota, Michigan, and Iowa have energy
conservation requirements for both commercial and
residential buildings; however, these states do not require
mandatory compliance with energy efficiency standards in
existing rental units changing ownership.

Illinois does not have a statewide building code covering
energy efficiency standards in rental units.  In Illinois
enactment of building codes is at the local municipal level.

8. Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies.

In accordance with s. 101.122 (2) (e), Stats., the
Department is required to review the rental unit energy
efficiency rules every 5 years to determine whether there are
any new energy conservation technologies that would impact
these rules.  In developing the proposed rules, the Department
reviewed the current rental unit energy conservation
requirements along with the energy requirements specified
under chapter Comm 22, Energy Conservation of the Uniform
Dwelling Code (UDC) and the latest requirements under the
International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) and did not
find any new technologies.  The Department’s review and
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assessment process involved the participation of an advisory
council.  The members of the Rental Unit Energy Efficiency
Code Council represented home inspectors, realtor’s
association and apartment owners.  (A listing of the Council
members is provided at the end of this analysis.)

9. Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report

The rental unit energy efficiency rules impact any small
business providing inspection services for compliance and
any small business owning rental property that is proposed to
be sold or transferred to a new owner where the rules under
this chapter have not been applied prior to the transfer.

The Department believes the proposed rules would have no
additional economic impact on the identified affected small
business because no new technologies were identified and the
existing technical rules were only clarified to improve
enforcement and application.  The administrative rules were
also clarified to improve application and no additional
reporting or bookkeeping requirements were developed.  The
cost to provide the additional insulation for ducts and pipes
will have a minimal effect on small businesses.  The fees for
a stipulation and a waiver have been eliminated and the fee for
a certification authorization stamp has been increased, and it
is believed this change will provide cost savings to small
businesses affected by these rules.  An economic impact
report as specified under s. 227.137, Stats has not been
prepared.

10. Effect on Small Business

The proposed rules should have a minimal effect on small
business.

Council Members and Representation

The proposed rules were developed with the assistance
from the Rental Unit Energy Efficiency Advisory Council.
The members of that citizen advisory Council are as follows:

Name Representing

Rob Jens Apartment Assn. of South−Central WI

Tom McKenna WI Realtors Association

Kent Schwanke WI Association of Home Inspectors

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Environmental Assessment

Notice is hereby given that the Department has prepared a
preliminary Environmental Assessment (EA) on the
proposed rules.  The preliminary recommendation is a finding
of no significant impact.  Copies of the preliminary EA are
available from the Department on request and will be
available at the public hearings.  Requests for the EA and
comments on the EA should be directed to:

Joe Hertel

Division of Safety and Buildings

Department of Commerce

P.O. Box 2689

Madison, Wisconsin 53701

Telephone (608) 266−5649
or TTY (608) 264−8777
Written comments will be accepted until march 29, 2007.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1.  Types of small businesses that will be affected by the
rules.

Any small business providing inspection services for
compliance with the rental unit energy efficiency standards,
and any small business owning rental property under the
scope of these rules will be affected.

2.  Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

The proposed rules have no additional reporting or
bookkeeping requirements.

3.  Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

No new skills are required.
4.  Rules have a significant economic impact on small

businesses.
No.  Rules not submitted to Small Business Regulatory

Review Board.

Fiscal Estimate

State Effect
The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for

administering and enforcing chapter Comm 67 relating to
rental unit energy efficiency standards.  The proposed rules
change the Division’s fees charged for administering and
enforcing chapter Comm 67 by eliminating the $25 fee for an
application exemption and the $50 fee charged for each
stipulation and waiver issued by the Division.  By eliminating
the stipulation and waiver fees, the Division’s internal fiscal
processing would also be improved by eliminating the need
to send rebates to the 61 local authorized agents who submit
these fees to the agency.

The certification stamp fee will be raised from $20 to $30.
While there will be a fiscal impact, the proposed rules will not
create any additional workload costs.

Local Effect
Local municipalities authorized by the Department to issue

certificates of compliance may enforce these rules, and will
have the authority to offset any costs by charging appropriate
fees.

Private Sector Effect
The provisions in chapter Comm 67 are to establish

minimum energy efficiency standards for rental units that
must be met before the ownership of a rental unit is
transferred.  The intent of the rules is to ensure that rental units
in Wisconsin are constructed and maintained as to promote
efficient energy use.  The proposed changes are primarily to
rules relating to administration and enforcement procedures;
however, there are changes that will require the insulation of
ducts and pipes located in vented attic spaces.  It is assumed
that for such rental units, it may cost up to $200 to provide the
required insulation.  The Department anticipates few rental
units would be affected.    The elimination of the fees for
stipulations and waivers will be a cost savings to owners who
would otherwise be required to file and pay a fee for either of
these situations.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.
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Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

(Apprenticeship)
[CR 07−010]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 106.01
(9) and 227.11 (2), Stats., the Department of Workforce
Development proposes to hold a public hearing to consider
changes affecting Chapter DWD 295, relating to the
enforcement of indenture agreements and affecting small
businesses.

Hearing Information
Thursday, February 28, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
Madison
G.E.F. 1 Building, D203
201 E. Washington Avenue
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and

will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority: Sections 106.01 (9) and 227.11, Stats.
Statutes interpreted: Sections 106.01 (5j), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority. Section 106.01 (5j),

Stats., provides that the department may on its own motion,
or on the complaint of any person, after due notice and a
hearing, make findings and issue orders declaring any
indenture at an end if it is proved at the hearing that any
apprentice, employer or organization that is a party to the
indenture is unable to continue with the obligations under the
indenture or has breached the indenture.

Section 106.01 (9), Stats., provides that the department
may investigate, fix reasonable classifications, issue rules and
general or special orders and, hold hearings, make findings
and render orders upon its findings as shall be necessary to
carry out the intent and purposes of s. 106.01, Stats. Orders
issued are subject to review under ch. 227, Stats.

Summary of the proposed rules. The current procedure for
enforcement of an indenture agreement allows any person
alleging that an indenture has not been complied with to file
a complaint with the department. The department may
investigate the complaint and attempt to resolve it by
conference, conciliation, and persuasion. If the department is
unable to resolve the complaint by conference, conciliation,
or persuasion, it notifies the parties. If the complaint requested
that the department cancel the indenture agreement, the notice
informs the parties that the agreement will be cancelled 20
days from the date of the notice, unless any party receiving the
notice makes a request in writing for a hearing on the matter.

The department, the Apprenticeship Advisory Council,
and apprenticeship customers agree that there is a timeliness
problem with the current procedure. The current conciliation

process takes 5−6 months and the full appeal process takes 9
months to one year. During this time, apprentices stay in the
same apprenticeship status they are in at the time of the
appeal.  If in an active status, apprentices who have failed
school still attend school, and apprentices who have
demonstrated that they are not capable of doing the work still
need to be placed at job sites.

The proposed rule repeals the conference, conciliation, and
persuasion provision. If a party to an indenture wants to cancel
the contract, the department will send an intent to cancel letter.
The apprentice has 20 days to object and explain why the
contract should not be cancelled. If the department receives a
timely objection, it will conduct an investigation. If the
investigation supports cancellation, the apprentice will be
promptly cancelled. The apprentice may appeal the decision
but the apprenticeship will remain cancelled throughout the
appeal process.

The proposed rule will also require that a hearing be
transcribed and allow a party to obtain a copy of the transcript
by purchasing a copy from the transcription agency. The
current rule does not require transcription unless a written
request is made by any party. However, under current
practice, the hearing examiners generally request a
transcription. A written transcript also supports
administrative review. In addition, the proposed rule will
replace the term “division” with “department.” The current
rule refers to the division of apprenticeship and training,
which no longer exists.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies.
Before presenting the rule for revision, the Apprenticeship
Advisory Council and the Bureau of Apprenticeship
Standards presented the proposed rule to apprenticeship
customers through the State Committee process.
Representatives from key organizations supported this
change, including: Associated Builders and Contractors;
AGC of Wisconsin; AGC of Milwaukee; National Electrical
Contractors Association, both the State Chapter and the
Milwaukee Chapter; Mechanical Contractors of Wisconsin;
Sheet Metal Employer Association; United Brotherhood of
Carpenters−−Southern District; IBEW−−all locals;
Ironworkers−−both locals; Laborers District Council; Sheet
Metal Workers; Steamfitters−−all locals; Sprinkler Fitters
Local 183; State AFL−CIO; and Painters & Decorators
District Council.

Comparison with federal law. Federal law provides that
apprenticeship programs and apprentice agreements may be
registered with the federal Department of Labor (DOL) or a
recognized state apprenticeship agency that has been properly
constituted under acceptable law or executive order and has
been approved by DOL for state registration or approval of
local apprenticeship programs and agreements for federal
purposes. Complaints arising under an apprentice agreement
may be submitted to the appropriate authority. A state
apprenticeship agency may adopt a complaint review
procedure that differs from the federal procedure.

The federal complaint procedure provides that a complaint
shall be submitted within 60 days of the final local decision
and shall set forth the specific matter complained of, together
with all relevant facts and circumstances. DOL or the
recognized state agency shall render an opinion within 90
days after receipt of the complaint. During the 90−day period,
DOL or the state agency shall make reasonable efforts to
effect a satisfactory resolution between the parties involved.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states. In Illinois, Iowa,
and Michigan, the U.S. Department of Labor resolves
complaints under apprentice agreements pursuant to 29 CFR
29.1.
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In Minnesota, complaints are resolved by the state
apprenticeship agency. The state apprenticeship director
conducts the initial investigation and issues a determination.
If any person aggrieved by the decision files an appeal within
10 days of the date of service of the notice of decision, the
agency appoints a hearing board composed of 3 members of
the apprenticeship advisory council. The hearing board holds
a hearing on the appeal and submit a recommended decision
to the agency commissioner. The commissioner may adopt
the recommended decision of the hearing board or disregard
the decision and prepare a decision based on the findings of
fact. Any person aggrieved by the agency decision may appeal
to circuit court.

Effect on small businesses. The proposed rule affects small
businesses as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats. The changes in
the proposed rule will allow complaints under an indenture
agreement to be resolved more quickly and without
apprentices remaining in the apprenticeship pending the
determination. This will relieve businesses of the hardship of
maintaining apprentices who have demonstrated that they are
not capable of doing the work during a lengthy appeal process.
The department’s small business regulatory coordinator is
Jennifer Jirschele, (608) 266−1023,
jennifer.jirschele@dwd.state.wi.us.

Fiscal Effect
The proposed rule simplifies the procedures for

enforcement of an indenture agreement. It does not have a
fiscal effect.

Contact Information
The proposed rules are available at the web site

http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov by typing “indenture
agreement” in the search engine. This site allows you to view
documents associated with this rule’s promulgation, register
to receive email notification whenever the Department posts
new information about this rulemaking order, and submit
comments and view comments by others during the public
comment period. You may receive a paper copy of the rule by
contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel
Dept. of Workforce Development
P.O. Box 7946
Madison, WI 53707−7946
(608) 267−9403
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
Written comments. Written comments on the proposed

rules received at the above address, email, or through the
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov web site no later than March
1, 2007, will be given the same consideration as testimony
presented at the hearing.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 05−013)

Ch. ATCP 50, relating to agricultural nutrient
management.

Commerce
(CR 06−113)

Ch. Comm 104, relating to woman−owned business
certification program.

Controlled Substances Board
(CR 06−058)

Ch. CBS 2, relating to the scheduling of two schedule I
controlled substances under ch. 961, Stats.

Controlled Substances Board
(CR 06−059)

Ch. CBS 2, relating to the scheduling of two schedule I
controlled substances under ch. 961, Stats.

Occupational Therapists Affiliated
Credentialing Board
(CR 06−115)

Ch. OT 3, relating to continuing education waivers.

Optometry Examining Board
(CR 06−116)

Chs. Opt 1 and 3 to 8, relating to examinations,
endorsement, delegation, TPA−DPA, renewal and
continuing education relating to optometrists.

Revenue
(CR 06−107)

Ch. Tax 9, relating to cigarette and tobacco products tax
bad debt deductions.

Transportation
(CR 06−101)

Chs. Trans 141 and 156, relating to the automated
processing partnership system program and requiring
motor vehicle dealers to process vehicle titles and
registrations electronically, unless exempted by the
department.

Workforce Development
(CR 06−032)

Ch. DWD 133, relating to the unemployment insurance
and temporary help employers.

Workforce Development
(CR 06−138)

Ch. DWD 277, relating to notice to home care consumers
and home care workers.
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