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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (2)

1. EmR0913 — Rule adopted revising s. ATCP 21.17,
relating to the quarantines of Brown County and Kenosha
County for emerald ash borer.

Finding of Emergency
On July 24, 2009, APHIS identified emerald ash borer in

Brown County. On August 12, 2009, APHIS identified
emerald ash borer in Kenosha County.  Emerald ash borer is
an exotic pest that poses a dire risk to the ash forest. When
APHIS declares quarantine, DATCP has regulatory authority
for import controls and quarantine for emerald ash borer
under ATCP 21.17.  It is anticipated that APHIS will declare
quarantines for Brown County and Kenosha County but that
it will take up to six weeks for APHIS to act.   A six week delay
until enactment of the federal quarantines leaves too much
time for businesses or individuals to move potentially
emerald ash borer infested material out of the county to areas
of Wisconsin or other states that are not infested with emerald
ash borer.

DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Publication Date: August 22, 2009
Effective: August 22, 2009 through

 January 18, 2010
Hearing Dates: September 29 and 30, 2009

2. EmR0922 — Rule adopted revising s. ATCP 21.17,
relating to the quarantines of Milwaukee County, Racine
County and Waukesha County for emerald ash borer.

Finding of Emergency
On August 28, 2009, APHIS identified emerald ash borer

in Milwaukee County, near the borders of Racine County and
Waukesha County. Emerald ash borer is an exotic pest that
poses a dire risk to the ash forest. When APHIS declares
quarantine, DATCP has regulatory authority for import
controls and quarantine for emerald ash borer under ATCP
21.17.  It is anticipated that APHIS will declare quarantines
for Milwaukee County, Racine County and Waukesha County
but that it will take up to six weeks for APHIS to act.  A six
week delay until enactment of the federal quarantines leaves
too much time for businesses or individuals to move
potentially emerald ash borer infested material out of the
county to areas of Wisconsin or other states that are not
infested with emerald ash borer.

DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Publication Date: September 14, 2009
Effective: September 14, 2009

through February 10, 2010
Hearing Date: October 15, 2009

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2

EmR0934 — Rule adopted revising Chapter Comm 2,
relating to public swimming pool and water attraction plan
review and inspection fees.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1. Implementation of the federal Virginia Graeme Baker
Pool and Spa Safety Act necessitates most existing public
swimming pools and water attractions to undergo physical
modifications to reduce the risk of entrapment at suction
outlets.

2. The Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act
has a compliance date of December 19, 2008.

3. The department estimates that 3,700 existing pools and
water attractions will need to be modified in order to comply
with the federal act.  As of December 1, 2009, approximately
1,800 pool modifications have been submitted to the
department for review and approval.

4. There are claims that the availability of parts to make
the necessary modifications is limited.

5. The current department plan review fees and inspection
fees under s. Comm 2.68 reflect an estimated average time
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and cost to provide those services.  For the types of pool and
water attraction modifications necessary to comply with the
Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act, the
department believes that the time and cost to provide the
service will be below the averages reflected under the current
fee structure of section Comm 2.68.

6. The department believes that a fee reduction to facilitate
plan review and inspection relative to the Virginia Graeme
Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act is in alignment with the
direction provided under s. 101.19, Stats., of keeping fees
consistent with the costs of providing service.

Expected Publication Date:  January 1, 2010
Hearing Date: January 21, 2010

(See the Notice in this Register)

Commerce
Uniform Dwelling, Chs. Comm 20−25

EmR0917 — Rule adopted revising Ch. Comm 22,
relating to energy conservation.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare. A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1. Recently, chapter Comm 22, relating to energy
conservation, was repealed and recreated to bring the
Wisconsin requirements in line with the national model
energy code. Effective April 1, 2009, chapter Comm 22
incorporates new prescriptive requirements that apply to
individual components such as walls, windows, skylights,
doors and ceilings. Within that subsection is section Comm
22.31 (2) (a), that allows the use of a “total dwelling thermal
envelope” method, and (2) (b), that allows the use of
REScheck software, version 4.1.0, or later, to calculate
compliance with the Uniform Dwelling Code thermal
envelope requirements.

2. The U.S. Department of Energy’s Building Energy
Codes Program develops and distributes REScheck software.
The software program simplifies and clarifies residential code
compliance with the Model Energy Code (MEC) and the
International Energy Conservation Code (IECC). REScheck
software makes it easier for designers, builders, product
manufacturers and code officials to comply with energy codes
based on the IECC or ASHRAE/IESNA Standard 90.1
requirements. Also, REScheck can be tailored to meet
state−specific codes.

3. The department included the REScheck software edition
requirement in anticipation that Version 4.1.0 would be
compatible with the current code. Working with Pacific
Northwest Laboratories, who contracts with the U.S.
Department of Energy to develop the REScheck software, the
department developed state−specific energy calculations that
were not incorporated into REScheck software until Version
4.2.2. The calculations that reflect the current code are
identified in the software as “Wisconsin 2009.” Versions prior
to 4.2.2 do not have the code choice “Wisconsin 2009.”

4. Previous versions of REScheck, including Version 4.1.0,
do not meet nor support the requirements of Wisconsin’s
current energy code. In fact, Version 4.1.0 includes other
values, such as gross wall trade−offs and appliance credits that

are not included in chapter Comm 22 that became effective
April 1, 2009.

5. The department recognizes that without promulgating
this emergency rule, there would be confusion and
miscalculations surrounding the use of Version 4.1.0 and
other previous and out−of−date versions of REScheck
software to calculate compliance with Uniform Dwelling
Code thermal envelope requirements.

Publication Date: September 5, 2009
Effective: September 5, 2009 through

February 1, 2010
Hearing Date: October 21, 2009

Commerce (2)
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104—

1. EmR0910 — Rule adopted to create Chapter Comm
100, relating to tax benefits for job creation, capital
investment, employee training, and corporate
headquarters.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by section 9110 (4) in 2009 Wisconsin Act

2, exempts the Department from providing evidence that this
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety or welfare; and exempts the Department
from providing a finding of emergency for the adoption of this
rule.

Publication Date: June 30, 2009
Effective: June 30, 2009 through 

July 1, 2010 or the date
permanent rules take
effect, whichever is sooner

Hearing Date: September 15, 2009

2. EmR0931 — Rule adopted creating Chapter Comm 136,
relating to midwestern disaster area bonds.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of public welfare.  The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows.

Between June 14 and July 9, 2008, thirty Wisconsin
counties were declared major disaster areas by the
President as a result of severe storms, tornados or flooding
in 2008 that caused extensive damage to communities,
residents, businesses, the economy and critical
infrastructure.  Subsequently, the federal Heartland
Disaster Tax Relief Act of 2008 was enacted, authorizing
the Governor of Wisconsin to designate up to
$3,830,112,000 in Qualified Midwestern Disaster Area
Bonds, which must be issued before January 1, 2013, for the
purpose of encouraging economic development and
recovery in the 30 counties.

To implement the provisions this federal Act, Governor
Jim Doyle issued Executive Order #288, directing the
Department to promulgate rules for allocating Wisconsin’s
Qualified Midwestern Disaster Area Bonding Authority, and
including the necessary provisions to ensure that bonds are
allocated to eligible projects on the basis of providing
assistance to areas in the order in which the assistance is most
needed.  This rule is the result of that directive.
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Publication Date: November 9, 2009

Effective: November 9, 2009 through
April 7, 2010

Corrections

EmR0920 — Rule adopted revising s. DOC 309.466,
relating to inmate release accounts.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of public peace, health, safety and
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Under 2009 WI Act 28, an increased number of inmates are
being considered for release.  In addition, the department has
developed a number of release initiatives to address an
inmate’s successful transition from incarceration to
community life.  As part of those initiatives, there are costs
associated with that transition, including acquiring housing,
employment, and transportation.  For example, an inmate
must have a social security card, a driver’s license or state
identification card, the first months rent and security deposit
for an apartment, and civilian clothing.

Under the current rule, an inmate may only use release
account funds for “adequate clothing for release” and for
“out−of−state release transportation.”  In addition, the rule
limits the maximum amount of money which can be saved in
the release account to $500.00.  The emergency rule
immediately permits the use of release account money for a
wide variety of purchases, including fees associated with
obtaining a driver’s license or state identification card,
housing, and a mode of transportation (bus tickets, vehicle,
bicycle, etc.).  In the past the Department has borne some of
these costs, despite an inmate having the money in his or her
release account.  Given the initiatives of reentry and release,
an inmate should be responsible for these expenditures.

In addition, the emergency rule raises the limit on release
accounts from $500.00 to $5,000.00.  Since the current limit
was established, the cost of living in the community has risen.
The department seeks this change to reflect the significant
costs of housing, transportation, and food and other
necessities.

If the rule is not created promptly and immediately, the
department will not be able to use inmate release account
funds to pay for items which inmates need in preparation for
their release to the community.  The purpose of the emergency
rule is to permit inmates to use release account funds for a
greater range of expenditures related to their release from
incarceration and transition back into the community.  The
permanent rule process has been started.  However, the
permanent rule process will take approximately nine months
to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to respond
promptly to the need to use inmate funds, not state funds,
while permanent rules are being developed.

Publication Date: September 10, 2009

Effective: September 10, 2009
through February 6, 2010

Hearing Date: October 14, 2009

Health Services
Medical Assistance, Chs. DHS 101—

Health, Chs. DHS 110—

EmR0932 — Rule adopted revising Chapters DHS 105,
106 and 133, relating to personal care agencies and providers,
and affecting small businesses.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by 2009 Wis. Act 28, Section 9122 (2),

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency to adopt
these emergency rules.

Publication Date: December 16, 2009
Effective: December 16, 2009

through May 14, 2010
Hearing Date: February 3, 2010

(See the Notice in this Register)

Health Services
Health, Chs. DHS 110—

EmR0928 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter DHS 163,
relating to requirements for conducting lead−safe renovation
activities in pre−1978 housing and child−occupied facilities,
and affecting small businesses.
Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health Services (department) finds that
an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the continuity of regulations relating to
lead hazard exposure in Wisconsin.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

Under ch. DHS 163, the department, as Wisconsin’s public
health agency, regulates lead hazard reduction and lead
management activities in pre−1978 housing (target housing)
and child−occupied facilities.  The rules include standards for
certification of individuals and companies conducting these
activities, accreditation of lead training courses and approval
of instructors, and work practices.  In addition to the
department’s authority under chs. 250 and 254, Stats., to
regulate lead hazards, the department has authorization from
the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to regulate lead
hazard reduction and management activities in lieu of the EPA
administering federal regulations in Wisconsin.

On April 22, 2008, the EPA issued rules under 40 CFR 745
to establish requirements for training renovators, other
renovation workers, and dust sampling technicians; for
certifying renovators, dust sampling technicians, and
renovation firms; for accrediting providers of renovation and
dust sampling technician training; and for renovation work
practices (and associated recordkeeping requirements) that
disturb paint in target housing and child−occupied facilities.
Under the EPA regulations, beginning on April 22, 2010,
persons who perform renovation activities for compensation,
including repair and painting activities, that disturb paint in
target housing and child−occupied facilities must be certified,
properly trained, and follow specific work practices to
prevent lead contamination.  The EPA will begin accepting
applications for certification from individuals and companies
on October 22, 2009.

States that promulgate rules that conform to the EPA
standards on or before October 22, 2009, may accept
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applications for certification in lieu of the EPA.  Otherwise,
on October 22, 2009, the EPA will begin accepting these
applications and the associated fees from Wisconsin
companies and individuals.  Such an occurrence may cause
confusion among the regulated community and property
owners, and would impede the department’s ability to
continue to administer a viable lead hazard reduction program
if covered persons begin complying with the EPA
certification requirements before state requirements are
implemented.  Promulgating rules before October 22, 2009,
will help to avoid any unnecessary complexity for covered
persons that may be caused by overlapping state and federal
regulations that address lead−based paint hazards in target
housing and child−occupied facilities.

Publication Date: October 16, 2009

Effective: October 19, 2009
through March 17, 2010

Hearing Date: November 18, 2009

Insurance (5)

1. EmR0918 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter Ins 6,
relating to exempting commercial umbrella and
commercial liability policies covering only hired and
non−owned autos from having to offer or include
uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Act 28 (2009) modified the requirements for auto
insurance in Wisconsin.  Most of these new provisions go into
effect on November 1, 2009.  These modifications did not
specifically address the issue of insurers who write
commercial liability insurance and commercial umbrella
policies which insure only hired and non−owned automobiles
(“HNO”) under the policy but do not insure any automobiles
owned by the insured.

If these new Act 28 requirements apply to commercial
liability insurance and commercial umbrella policies which
insure only hired and non−owned automobiles (“HNO”)
under the policy, this creates a significant problem.  Some of
these insurers do not have authority to write auto insurance
which is needed to write uninsured (“UM”) and underinsured
coverage (“UIM”).  Other insurers offering the commercial
umbrella and commercial liability HNO have not ever written
UM/UIM coverages because the current rules exempt them.
Insurers have also stated that obtaining reinsurance for this is
a problem.

This issue was addressed in 1997 when an emergency rule
was promulgated and modifications to Ins 6.77 were enacted
in response to various court cases.  In that process,
commercial insurers who wrote liability policies that covered
only HNO were exempted from the requirement to offer or
include UM/UIM coverage.  This emergency rule would
continue this exemption so that the market for commercial
liability insurance and commercial umbrella policies is not
disrupted.

Publication Date: September 9, 2009
Effective: November 1, 2009 through

March 30, 2010
Hearing Date: December 8, 2009

2. EmR0923 — Rule adopted to create section Ins 3.36,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to treatment of autism spectrum
disorders and affecting small business.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to s. 632.895

(12m) (f) 2., Stats., need not find that an emergency exists nor
provide evidence that promulgating a rule is necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.

Specifically, s. 632.895 (12m) (f), Wis. Stats., requires the
commissioner to define “intensive−level services,”
“nonintensive−level services,” “paraprofessional,” and
“qualified” for purposes of providing services under this
subsection. The statute further authorizes that the
commissioner may promulgate rules governing the
interpretation or administration of this subsection.

Publication Date: September 26, 2009
Effective: September 26, 2009

through February 22, 2010
Hearing Date: December 2, 2009

3. EmR0925 — Rule adopted to create section Ins 3.75,
relating to continuation of group health insurance
policies.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under 2009 Wisconsin Act 11, section 9126, a Finding of

Emergency is not required for this emergency rule. The
relevant portion of 2009 Act 11 reads as follows:
2009 Wisconsin Act 11, SECTION 9126.0Nonstatutory
provisions; Insurance.

(4) CONTINUATION COVERAGE RULES. (a) Notwithstanding
section 632.897 of the statutes and subsections (1), (2), and
(3), the commissioner of insurance may promulgate rules
establishing standards requiring insurers to provide
continuation of coverage for any individual covered at any
time under a group policy who is a state eligible individual to
whom subsection (2) or (3) applies or an assistance eligible
individual, as defined under section 3001 (a) (3) of the federal
act, including rules governing election or extension of
election periods, notice, rates, premiums, premium payment,
application of preexisting condition exclusions, and election
of alternative coverage.

(b) The commissioner may promulgate the rules under
paragraph (a) as emergency rules under section 227.24 of the
statutes. Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (c) of the
statutes, emergency rules promulgated under this paragraph
may remain in effect for one year and may be extended under
section 227.24 (2) of the statutes.  Notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the commissioner is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating a rule
under this paragraph as an emergency rule is necessary
for the preservation of public peace, health, safety, or
welfare and is not required to provide a finding of
emergency for a rule promulgated under this paragraph.
[Emphasis Added]

Publication Date: October 1, 2009
Effective: October 2, 2009

through October 1, 2010
Hearing Date: December 8, 2009
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4. EmR0927 — Rule adopted to create Chapter Ins 57,
relating to care management organizations and affecting
small business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Beginning January 1, 2010, care management
organizations are required to obtain a permit from the
commissioner to provide services under the Family Care
program.  In order to ensure no gap in services to enrollees,
organizations and the office need to complete and accept
applications for permits prior to January 1, 2010.
Promulgation of this rule will permit the timely filing and
review of permittees.

Publication Date: October 9, 2009
Effective: October 10, 2009

through March 10, 2010
Hearing Date: December 3, 2009

5. EmR0930 — Rule adopted to create section Ins 3.34,
relating to insurance coverage of dependents to age 27 and
affecting small business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:  the
Commissioner is aware that insurers, employers and
consumers are interpreting the state mandate inconsistently so
without this rule consumers will not be treated similarly when
the law becomes effective on January 1, 2010; the
Commissioner has received numerous inquiries from
insurers, consumers and employers seeking clarity of terms
and guidance on interpretation and implementation of the law
as many employers are entering open enrollment for the 2010
plan year.

These changes will be effective the day following
publication in the official state newspaper and a permanent
rule will start the permanent rule process to achieve
uniformity in interpretation therefore protecting the public,
informing employers, and guiding insurers in the state.

Publication Date:  October 30, 2009

Effective:  October 31, 2009 through
 March 29, 2010

Hearing Date:  January 14, 2010

(See the Notice in this Register)

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

EmR0914 — Rule adopted to revise Chapter NR 10,
relating to hunting and the 2009 migratory game bird seasons
and waterfowl hunting zones.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies

rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds. The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions.  Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until mid−August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations to
conformity with the federal regulations.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Publication Date: August 22, 2009

Effective: September 1, 2009 through
January 28, 2010

Hearing Date: November 4, 2009

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Water Regulation, 

Chs. NR 300—

EmR0915 — A rule adopted revising Chapters NR 335 and
336, relating to grants for dam maintenance, repair,
modification, or abandonment and removal.

Finding of Emergency
The substantial increase in bonding for the dam grant

programs is a strong message from the legislature that
concern for public welfare from unsafe dams is growing, as
well as the desire to help dam owners, including the owners
of the many dams damaged during the flooding in 2007 and
2008.  In order to protect the public and provide this
financial assistance, these additional funds should be put to
work as soon as possible. The timeline for permanent rule
promulgation will impede the Department’s ability to
accept applications and commit funding to dam safety
projects until at least June 2010, which would delay most
projects until late 2010 or 2011.  The emergency rules will
allow immediate implementation of modifications that will
allow a grant application cycle to be conducted yet this fall
and allow most projects to be constructed during the 2010
construction season or before.

Publication Date: August 28, 2009

Effective: August 28, 2009 through
January 24, 2010

Public Defender Board

EmR0926 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PD 8,
Discovery Payments, relating to the maximum fees that the
state public defender may pay for copies of discovery
materials in criminal proceedings, proceedings under Chapter
980, Wis. Stats., and other proceedings in which the state
public defender provides legal representation.

Finding of Emergency
These rules are promulgated under s. 227.24 (1) (a), Stats.,

because the magnitude of the shortfall in the state public
defender’s appropriation for transcripts, discovery, and
interpreters in both years of the current biennium constitutes
an emergency that requires implementation of a rule earlier
than a permanent rule could take effect if the agency were to
comply with the applicable notice, hearing, legislative−
review, and publication requirements.
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The state public defender was initially provided a base
budget of $60,000 in 1995 for discovery payments, which at
that time consisted mostly of photocopies and some
photographs.  In the 1999−2001 budget act, this appropriation
was increased to $150,000, based on a presumptive rate for
photocopies of $0.20 per page.  In the 2001−2003 biennial
budget act, this appropriation was subjected to a five percent
funding reduction, leaving a base budget for discovery
payments of $142,500.

The public defender received discovery bills totaling
$717,000 for the fiscal year that ended June 30, 2009.
Although discovery costs are caseload driven, this represents
a nearly five−fold increase since 2001 and is due primarily to
two factors. First, in the past many counties and
municipalities did not bill the state public defender for copies
of discovery materials. Because local budgets have come
under increasing pressure, most now do so. Second, 2005
Wisconsin Act 60 resulted in more widespread use of audio
and video recordings of interrogations by law enforcement,
copies of which must be provided to the defense.

The public defender board’s requests for cost−to−continue
budget increases for discovery payments in 2007−2009 and in
2009−2011 were not funded.  Instead, the FY 2009−2011
budget act reduced this appropriation by 1%, leaving a base
budget of $141,100, and directed the board to promulgate
rules to address the funding shortfall.

Publication Date: October 3, 2009

Effective: October 3, 2009 through
March 1, 2010

Hearing Date: November 16, 2009

Public Instruction (3)

1. EmR0916 — A rule adopted revising ss. PI 35.03 and
35.05, relating to establishing a fee under the Milwaukee
Parental Choice Program.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to Section 9139 (3) of the nonstatutory provisions

of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the Department of Public
Instruction is not required to provide evidence that this rule is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a finding of
emergency.

Publication Date: September 1, 2009

Effective: September 1, 2009 through
January 28, 2010

(Except Section 1)
Effective: October 1, 2009 through

February 27, 2010
Hearing Date: October 26, 2009

2. EmR0921 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PI 15,
relating to revenue limit exemptions for energy
efficiencies.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to Section 9139 (2x) of the nonstatutory

provisions of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the Department of
Public Instruction is not required to provide evidence that this
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a
finding of emergency.

Publication Date: September 4, 2009
Effective: September 4, 2009 through

January 31, 2010
Hearing Date: November 9, 2009

3. EmR0933 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PI 39,
relating to grants for tribal language revitalization.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The tribal language revitalization grant program under s.
115.745, Stats., was created under 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.
The Act became effective June 30, 2009, and appropriated
$247,500 annually beginning in the 2009−10 school year.  In
order for school districts to develop applications and for the
department to review the applications and grant awards in
time for the program to operate in the second semester of the
school year, rules must be in place as soon as possible to
establish application criteria and procedures.

Publication Date: December 15, 2009
Effective: December 15, 2009

through May 13, 2010
Hearing Date: January 15, 2010

(See the Notice in this Register)

Public Service Commission

EmR0919 — Rule adopted to create Chapter PSC 172,
relating to the police and fire protection fee created under
2009 Wisconsin Act 28.

Finding of Emergency
The Commission finds that an emergency exists and that an

emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.  The police and fire
protection fee, which must go into effect September 1, 2009,
(2009 Wisconsin Act 28 section 9441) will be used to replace
shared revenue payments for such services.  To ensure the
public peace, health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of
Wisconsin, it is vital for funding of police and fire protection
services to continue smoothly, quickly, and unimpeded.  Thus,
it is necessary for the rule administering the fee to be
implemented as soon as possible.

Publication Date: September 11, 2009
Effective: September 11, 2009

through February 7, 2010
Hearing Date: December 2, 2009

Regulation and Licensing (2)

1. EmR0827 — Rule adopted creating s. RL 91.01 (3) (k),
relating to training and proficiency in the use of automated
external defibrillators for certification as a massage
therapist or bodyworker.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
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the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008

Effective: September 10, 2008 
through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Dates: November 26, 2008
April 13, 2009

2. EmR0828 — Rules adopted to amend s. RL 181.01 (2)
(c); and to create ss. RL 180.02 (1m), (3m) and (11),
181.01 (1) (d), (2) (c) 1. and 2., relating to training and
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators
for licensure as a licensed midwife.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008

Effective: September 10, 2008 
through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Date: November 26, 2008

Revenue (4)

1. EmR0912 — Rule adopted revising Chapter Tax 2,
relating to combined reporting for corporation franchise
and income tax purposes.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The function of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue is
to administer the Wisconsin tax laws. These laws, and tax
policy for raising revenue, are determined by the State
Legislature. The State Legislature recently enacted numerous
items of tax legislation, affecting individuals and businesses
alike. Some of these apply retroactively to January 1, 2009.
Emergency rules are needed, not only to address the risk of
revenue loss, but to add more clarity and certainty about the
scope and application of the newly enacted statutes.

Publication Date: August 8, 2009

Effective: August 8, 2009 through
January 4, 2010

Hearing Dates: September 25, 2009 and
October 16, 2009

2. EmR0924 — Rule adopted revising Chapter Tax 11,
relating to sale and use tax.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The changes made by the emergency rule must be effective
October 1, 2009, to be in conformity with the Streamlined
Sales and Use Tax Agreement.  In order to meet this deadline,
it is necessary to promulgate this rule as an emergency rule.

Publication Date: September 30, 2009
Effective: October 1, 2009 through

February 27, 2010
Hearing Dates: December 1 and 15, 2009

3. EmR0929 — Rule adopted to create sections Tax 2.85
and 11.90, relating to failure to produce records.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to reflect changes in Wisconsin’s tax
laws due to the adoption of penalties for failure to produce
records.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to provide
guidance so that the penalties can be administered in a fair and
consistent manner.

Publication Date: October 19, 2009
Effective: October 19, 2009 through

March 17, 2010
Hearing Dates: December 10 and 21, 2009

4. EmR0935 — Rule adopted to create section Tax 1.16,
relating to the financial record matching program.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to reflect changes in Wisconsin’s tax
laws due to the creation of the financial record matching
program.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to provide
procedures so that the program can be administered in a fair
and consistent manner.

Publication Date: December 22, 2009
Effective: December 22, 2009

through May 20, 2010

Veterans Affairs
EmR0911 — Rule adopted to revise section VA 2.01,

relating to the assistance to needy veterans grant program.

Finding of Emergency
The Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs finds that

an emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
The economic recession in effect for the last fiscal year has
adversely affected the veteran population. Many veterans
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have lost their employment or had their scope of employment
reduced. In addition to losing employment, many veterans
have seen their health care reduced or eliminated. In order to
serve the largest population of veterans and ensure minimal
health care for that population, the department is requesting
emergency rules to define “vision care and to limit the
eligibility, by available funding, for “dental care”, “hearing
care”, and “vision care”.  These eligibility limitations, which
address the cost, type and frequency of care available under

the program, will allow more veterans in need to access the
limited resources of this program.

Publication Date: July 1, 2009

Effective: July 1, 2009 through
November 27, 2009

Extension Through: January 26, 2010
Hearing Date: August 14, 2009
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Scope Statements

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject

Revises Chapter ATCP 34, relating to the Chemical and
Container Collection (“Clean Sweep”) Program.

Objective of the Rule

Update and clarify current rules related to Wisconsin’s
“Clean Sweep” program.  Among other things, this rule will
implement statutory changes authorizing a “Clean Sweep”
program for the collection and disposal of unwanted
prescription drugs.

Policy Analysis

DATCP has operated an agricultural “Clean Sweep” grant
program since 1990.  The “Clean Sweep” program has helped
county and local governments to collect and dispose of over
3 million pounds of farm chemical wastes.

2003 Wis. Act 33 transferred the state’s household “Clean
Sweep” grant program (for the collection of hazardous
household wastes) from the Department of Natural Resources
to DATCP.  In 2004, DATCP consolidated the household
“Clean Sweep” program with the agricultural program.  Since
then, “Clean Sweep” grants have helped county and local
governments to collect and dispose of over 5 million pounds
of household hazardous wastes.

Under the “Clean Sweep” program, DATCP distributes
grants to county and local governments for hazardous waste
collection events (or permanent collection sites).  Funded
projects accept farm and household hazardous wastes from
end−users and from certain businesses such as agrichemical
dealers and golf courses (“very small quantity generators”).

2007 Wis. Act 20 authorized DATCP to expand the “Clean
Sweep” grant program to include grants for county and local
projects to collect unwanted prescription drugs.  DATCP has
implemented a pilot prescription drug program, and now
proposes to develop rules for a more “permanent” program.

This rule may do all of the following:

� Create a “Clean Sweep” component program for
prescription drugs that is consistent with federal and state
laws related to prescription drugs and controlled
substances.

� Clarify procedures under the entire “Clean Sweep”
program, including procedures related to grant
applications, grant approval, grant contracts, reporting
requirements, reimbursement procedures, selection of
hazardous waste handlers, and other matters.

� Make other changes, as necessary, to improve the
administrative and operational efficiency of the “Clean
Sweep” program.

Policy Alternatives

No change.  If DATCP takes no action, current rules will
remain in effect.  There will be no rules for the prescription
drug “Clean Sweep” program, and rules for other parts of the

“Clean Sweep” program will be outdated.  This will cause
confusion and inhibit effective administration of the “Clean
Sweep” program.

Statutory Alternatives

Amend s. 93.57, Stats., to delete the authorization for a
prescription drug “Clean Sweep” program.

Statutory Authority

Sections 93.07, 93.55, and 93.57, Wis. Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

The United States Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) administers the Resource Conservation and Recovery
Act (RCRA), which includes regulations affecting the
collection, movement, and disposal of hazardous agricultural
and household waste.  EPA has also adopted universal waste
management rules under 40 CFR 273.  Wisconsin’s “Clean
Sweep” grantees and vendors must comply with all applicable
RCRA and universal waste provisions.

Prescription drugs that are controlled substances are
regulated under the federal Controlled Substance Act (21
USC 801) and the Controlled Substances Import and Export
Act (21 USC 951).  Wisconsin’s prescription drug “Clean
Sweep” program must comply with these and related federal
laws.

Entities Affected by the Rule

This rule may affect the following persons and entities,
among others:

� Local governments (counties, municipalities and regional
planning commissions) and tribal nations who are eligible
to apply for and receive “Clean Sweep” grants.

� Farmers.

� Homeowners and residential tenants.

� Business that generate very small quantities of hazardous
wastes.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 1.0 FTE
staff to develop this rule.  This includes time required for
investigation and analysis, rule drafting, preparing related
documents, coordinating advisory committee meetings,
holding public hearings and communicating with affected
persons and groups.  DATCP will use existing staff to develop
this rule.

DATCP may not begin drafting this rule until the Board of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (Board)
approves this scope statement.  The Board may not approve
this scope statement sooner than 10 days after this scope
statement is published in the Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  If the Board takes no action on the scope statement
within 30 days after the scope statement is presented to the
Board, the scope statement is considered approved.  Before
DATCP holds public hearings on this rule, the Board must
approve the hearing draft.  The Board must also approve the
final draft rule before the department adopts the rule.
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Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject
Revises Chapter ATCP 69, relating to buttermaker

licensing.

Objective of the Rule
This rule may modify current training and examination

requirements for licensed buttermakers under ch. ATCP 69,
Wis. Adm. Code.  Wisconsin is currently facing a shortage of
licensed buttermakers.  This rule may modify current training
and examination requirements, and create new options to
facilitate the training and licensing of qualified buttermakers.

Policy Analysis
DATCP administers Wisconsin’s buttermaker licensing

program under ch. 97.17, Wis. Stats.  DATCP has adopted
licensing rules under ch. ATCP 69, Wis. Adm. Code.  There
have been few changes in the current program since 1929.

Under current law, butter must be made by or under the
supervision of a licensed buttermaker.  However, there are
currently only 38 licensed buttermakers in the state.  There is
a growing national market for butter.  Without more licensed
buttermakers, Wisconsin’s butter industry will be at
significant risk and may be unable to take advantage of new
market opportunities.

Under current rules, an applicant for a buttermaker license
(other than a renewal applicant) must pass an examination.
Every applicant (including a renewal applicant) must have at
least one of the following qualifications:

� The applicant has been licensed as a buttermaker for at
least 10 years.

� The applicant has worked directly under a licensed
buttermaker for at least 24 months.

� The applicant has worked directly under a licensed
buttermaker for at least 18 months and has completed a
DATCP−approved training course from an accredited
post−secondary institution.

� The applicant has obtained a 4−year degree in food
science (or an equivalent major) from an accredited
post−secondary educational institution, and has worked
directly under a licensed buttermaker for at least 12
months.

This rule may provide more flexible training and
examination options to facilitate the training and licensing of
qualified buttermakers.  DATCP will develop this rule in
consultation with the Wisconsin dairy industry, including the
emerging artisan and farmstead buttermaking industry.
DATCP will also consult with the University of Wisconsin
and other institutions.  This rule may take advantage of new
training resources and technologies that were not previously
available.

This rule will promote the development and diversification
of Wisconsin’s dairy industry.  It will allow more people to
enter the industry as licensed buttermakers, including makers
of artisan and farmstead butter.  It will help relieve an acute
shortage of licensed buttermakers, which is putting the state’s
entire butter industry at risk.  It will also ensure the safety and
quality of Wisconsin butter, and maintain Wisconsin’s
reputation as a dairy leader, by ensuring that buttermakers are
adequately trained and qualified.

Policy Alternatives
If DATCP takes no action, current rules will remain in

effect.  Current rules may unnecessarily limit buttermaker
licensing, which may in turn limit the development and
diversification of Wisconsin’s dairy industry.

There are no statutory alternatives at this time.

Statutory Authority
Sections 93.07 (1), 97.17 and 227.24, Wis. Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
The United States food and drug administration has

adopted food safety and labeling standards for butter,
including a butter “standard of identity” (a product such as
margarine may not be sold as “butter”).  The United States
department of agriculture has adopted grading standards for
butter.  This rule will not be directly affected by federal rules.
However, licensed buttermakers must be aware of relevant
federal rules.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Buttermakers
This rule may offer more flexible training and licensing

options for current and prospective buttermakers.  That may,
in turn, increase the total number of licensed buttermakers in
the state.

Cheesemakers
This rule may make it easier for licensed cheesemakers to

obtain a buttermaker license.  That may give them more job
flexibility, and provide more opportunities for value−added
dairy enterprise.

Dairy Industry
This rule will promote the development and diversification

of Wisconsin’s dairy industry.  It will allow more people to
enter the industry as licensed buttermakers, including makers
of artisan and farmstead butter.  It will help relieve an acute
shortage of licensed buttermakers, which is putting the state’s
entire butter industry at risk.  It will also ensure the safety and
quality of Wisconsin butter, and maintain Wisconsin’s
reputation as a dairy leader, by ensuring that buttermakers are
adequately trained and qualified.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
DATCP estimates that it will use the equivalent of 0.5 FTE

staff to revise this rule.  This anticipates a 6 month period for
investigation and analysis, rule drafting, preparing related
documents, coordinating advisory committee meetings,
holding public hearings and communicating with affected
persons and groups.  DATCP will use existing staff to develop
this rule.

DATCP may not begin drafting this rule until the Board of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (Board)
approves this scope statement.  The Board may not approve
this scope statement sooner than 10 days after this scope
statement is published in the Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  If the Board takes no action on the scope statement
within 30 days after the scope statement is presented to the
Board, the scope statement is considered approved.  Before
DATCP holds public hearings on this rule, the Board must
approve the hearing draft.  The Board must also approve the
final draft rule before the department adopts the rule.
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Commerce
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104—

Subject

Creates Chapter Comm 101, relating to tax credits for jobs
and training.

Objective of the Rule

This rulemaking would create chapter Comm 101 for
administering the jobs tax credit established in sections 71.07
(3q), 71.28 (3q), 71.47 (3q) and 560.2055 of the Statutes, as
enacted in 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.

Policy Analysis

The Department has various rules for administering
several economic development programs, but those rules do
not specifically include the expected rule text for earning
refundable business tax credits by increasing net employment
that is either high−paying or is accompanied with employee
training.

Section 560.2055 (5) (f) of the Statutes requires the
Department to promulgate these rules.  The alternative of not
promulgating these rules would disregard that directive.

Statutory Authority

Sections 227.11 (2) (a) and 560.2055 (5) (f).

Comparison with Federal Regulations

In researching federal tax incentives, the Department and
the Department of Revenue found that there are no tax credits
at the federal level that are exactly like the corresponding
credit in sections 71.07 (3q), 71.28 (3q), 71.47 (3q) and
560.2055 of the Statutes.  The following federal tax credit
may apply to the activities that will be addressed by the
proposed rules, but this federal tax credit is structured
differently than the credit in sections 71.07 (3q), 71.28 (3q),
71.47 (3q) and 560.2055 of the Statutes.

Job creation that would be eligible for tax benefits under
the proposed rules may qualify for the federal consolidated
Work Opportunity Tax Credit – which includes tax credits for
an employer that hires an individual who is (1) a qualifying
Hurricane Katrina employee, (2) a member of a qualifying
family with long−term or recent receipt of Temporary
Assistance to Needy Families payments, (3) a qualifying food
stamp recipient, (4) a qualifying veteran, (5) a qualifying
ex−felon, (6) a resident of a designated community, (7) a
qualifying summer youth employee, (8) a qualifying recipient
of vocational rehabilitative services, or (9) a qualifying
recipient of Supplemental Security income.

Entities Affected by the Rule

These rules may affect any business that elects to pursue
refundable business tax credits for increasing net employment
which is either high−paying or is accompanied with employee
training.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The staff time needed to develop the rules is expected to
range from 120 to 180 hours, depending upon the associated
complexity.  This includes research, rule drafting, and
processing the rules through public hearings, legislative
review, and adoption.  There are no other resources necessary
to promulgate the rules.

Commerce
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104—

Subject
Creates Chapter Comm 102, relating to the Wisconsin

Enterprise Zone program.

Objective of the Rule
This rulemaking would create chapter Comm 102 for

establishing definitions in the enterprise zone program
administered by the Department under section 560.799 of the
Statutes, as modified by 2009 Wisconsin Acts 11 and 28.  This
rulemaking may also include codifying other practices related
to administering this program.

Policy Analysis
The Department has various permanent rules for

administering several economic development programs, but
those rules do not currently include the expected rule text for
(1) defining an original equipment manufacturer with a
significant supply chain in Wisconsin, (2) defining full−time
employee, and (3) defining tier I and tier II counties and
municipalities.

The definition of full−time employee is expected to be
consistent with the definition of this term that the Department
plans to create in chapter Comm 100 for consolidating five of
the Department’s development−zone tax−credit programs
into a single, statewide program.

The definitions of tier I and tier II counties and
municipalities are expected to be consistent with the
definitions of these terms that the Department plans to create
in chapter Comm 101 for the jobs tax credit addressed in
section 560.2055 of the Statutes.

Section 560.799 (6) (g) of the Statutes requires the
Department to promulgate these rules.  The alternative of not
promulgating these rules would disregard that directive.

Statutory Authority
Sections 227.11 (2) (a) and 560.799 (6) (g), Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
In researching federal tax incentives, the Department and

the Department of Revenue found that there are no tax credits
at the federal level which are exactly like the enterprise zone
tax credit in sections 71.07 (3w), 71.28 (3w), 71.47 (3w) and
560.799 of the Statutes.  The following federal tax credit may
apply to some of the activities that may be addressed by the
proposed rules, but this federal tax credit is structured
differently than the credit in these sections of the Statutes.

Job creation that would be eligible for tax credits under the
proposed rules may qualify for the federal consolidated Work
Opportunity Tax Credit – which includes tax credits for an
employer that hires an individual who is (1) a qualifying
Hurricane Katrina employee, (2) a member of a qualifying
family with long−term or recent receipt of Temporary
Assistance to Needy Families payments, (3) a qualifying food
stamp recipient, (4) a qualifying veteran, (5) a qualifying
ex−felon, (6) a resident of a designated community, (7) a
qualifying summer youth employee, (8) a qualifying recipient
of vocational rehabilitative services, or (9) a qualifying
recipient of Supplemental Security income.

Entities Affected by the Rule
These rules may affect any business that elects to pursue

tax credits for qualifying activities in an enterprise zone
designated by the Department.  The qualifying activities
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include beginning or expanding operations in, relocating to,
or making significant capital expenditures in the zone.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The staff time needed to develop the rules is expected to
range from 40 to 80 hours, depending upon the associated
complexity.  This includes research, rule drafting, and
processing the rules through public hearings, legislative
review, and adoption.  There are no other resources necessary
to promulgate the rules.

Commerce
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104—

Subject

Revises Chapter Comm 133, relating to the Film
Production Accreditation program.

Objective of the Rule

The intended rules would update this chapter to make it
consistent with the portions of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 that
address this program.  Those portions consist of changes to
sections 71.07 (5f) and (5h), 71.28 (5f) and (5h), and 71.47
(5f) and (5h) of the Statutes.  This rulemaking may also
include clarifying or updating the current rules to make them
consistent with current industry and administrative practices.

Policy Analysis

The Department’s current rules for tax credits for film
productions address (1) the eligibility requirements for film
productions to become accredited, (2) the documentation that
must be submitted to receive accreditation and to receive
acceptance of incurred expenses which are related to tax
credits for producing a film production in Wisconsin, (3) the
documentation that must be submitted to receive acceptance
of incurred expenses which are related to tax credits for
establishing a film production company in Wisconsin, (4) the
Department’s response to the submitted documentation, and
(5) use of the Department’s response when filing claims with
the Department of Revenue for the corresponding tax credits.

The new rules are expected to include (1) narrowing the
eligible productions to include only those with at least 35% of
their budget spent in Wisconsin, (2) limiting the maximum tax
credit in each year to $500,000, (3) expanding the credits to
include expenses for operating a film production company in
Wisconsin, and (4) imposing an application fee.

The alternative of not promulgating these rules would
cause this chapter to remain inconsistent with the current
Statutes.

Statutory Authority

Sections 227.11 (2) (a) and 560.206 (4), Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Neither the Department nor the Department of Revenue is
aware of any existing or proposed federal regulation that
addresses these tax credits.

Entities Affected by the Rule

The proposed rules may affect any entity that elects to
pursue tax credits for expenses relating to film production
services or to establishing or operating a film production
company.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
The staff time needed to develop the rules is expected to

range from 120 to 180 hours, depending upon the associated
complexity.  This includes research, rule drafting, and
processing the rules through public hearings, legislative
review, and adoption.  There are no other resources necessary
to promulgate the rules.

Regulation and Licensing

Subject
Revises Chapter RL 7, relating to the Impaired

Professionals Procedure (IPP).

Objective of the Rule
The Department of Regulation and Licensing established

a task force to review the Impaired Professionals Procedure
(IPP), which is designed to protect the public from credential
holders who are impaired by reason of their abuse of alcohol
or other drugs.  The IPP Task Force created recommendations
that have been reviewed by the department, boards and
affiliated credentialing boards.

Policy Analysis
Revisions to modernize and improve the IPP will be based

on the task force recommendations, the consultation provided
by boards, and additional considerations that may be raised
during the rule−making process, including available
resources.

Statutory Authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 51.30, 146.82, 227.11 (2) and

440.03, Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is none.

Entities Affected by the Rule
The Department of Regulation and Licensing, examining

and affiliated examining boards attached to the department,
boards and affiliated credentialing boards, licensed
professionals, applicants, employers of licensed
professionals, and entities engaged to perform monitoring
and evaluation services on behalf of the department.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
200 hours.

Transportation

Subject
Creates Chapter Trans 198, relating to convenience fees

for credit card, debit card, and other electronic payment
methods.

Objective of the Rule
2009 Wis. Act 28 allows the Department to accept

payments by credit card, debit card, or any other electronic
payment mechanism, for fees required to be paid to the
Department under chs. 194, 218, 341, 342, 343, or 348, Stats.,
which are motor vehicle statutes.

Section 85.14, Stats., permits the Department to charge a
convenience fee for transactions paid by these methods, in an
amount to be established by rule.  The convenience fee shall
approximate the cost to the Department for providing this
service to persons who request it.
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This rule making, creating ch. Trans 198, establishes the
Department’s interpretation of ss. 85.14 and 20.395 (5) (cg),
Stats., and establishes the method that the convenience fee is
determined and published.

The proposed rule will consolidate all Division of Motor
Vehicles rules relating to convenience fees for credit card,
debit card, and other electronic payment methods.  Therefore,
this rule making will relocate into the proposed rule the
provisions that are currently established as sections Trans
196.04 (1) (d) and 250.04.

Policy Analysis

The Department has currently established a convenience
fee for internet registration renewal and internet application
of oversize/overweight permits.  The convenience fee is
determined by the Department annually based on the cost of
providing the service, up to a maximum amount stated in the
rule, and the fee is published on the Department’s web site and
in communications that the Department sends to the generally
affected populations.

The Department will use similar methodology for this rule.

The Department would like to establish a convenience fee
amount that is as uniform as possible, and yet the Department
also realizes the convenience fee amount should reasonably

relate to the product fee amount, as well as to the cost of
providing electronic payment option.

In this rule making, the Department will determine the fee
structure for the convenience fee.  Examples of issues that the
Department will consider:  whether the various DMV fee
transactions fall into categories which logically are charged a
single categorical convenience fee; or whether certain
transactions appropriately are removed from a categorical fee
structure and instead charged a convenience fee that is a
percentage of the DMV transaction amount; and to what
degree costs associated with providing electronic payment are
similar for different products.

Statutory Authority
Section 85.14 (1) (a), Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
No federal regulations relate to this rule making.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Wisconsin individuals and businesses that receive products

from the Division of Motor Vehicles.  Businesses that provide
electronic payment methods.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
120 hours
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Administration
CR 09−114

On December 15, 2009, the Department of Administration
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order creates Chapter Adm 80, relating to
administrative procedures for the Wisconsin Covenant
Scholars Program.

2009 Wisconsin Act 28 requires the Department of
Administration (DOA) to promulgate rules for the
implementation of the Wisconsin Covenant Scholars
Program and to submit proposed rules to Legislative Council
staff no later than the first day of the twelfth month beginning
after the effective date of the bill.  The Act also requires DOA
to promulgate rules establishing criteria for designation as a
Wisconsin Covenant Scholar by the Office of the Wisconsin
Covenant Scholars Program (OWCSP).

2007 Wisconsin Act 20 created s. 39.437, Wis. Stats.,
which provides grants to Wisconsin Covenant Scholars who
are enrolled at least half−time at an eligible in−state
institution.  HEAB administers this program with the
assistance of the OWCSP under s. 39.437, Wis. Stats.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be scheduled at a later
date.  The Office of the Wisconsin Covenant is primarily
responsible for the promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information

If you have any questions regarding the proposed rule,
please contact:

Amy Bechtum, Director
Office of the Wisconsin Covenant
P.O. Box 7869
Madison, WI  53707−7869
Phone:  (608) 261−8652
E−Mail: Amy.Bechtum@wisconsin.gov

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2

CR 09−116

On December 16, 2009, the Department of Commerce
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed order revises Chapter Comm 2, relating to

public swimming pool and water attraction plan review and
inspection fees.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for January
21, 2010.  The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible
for promulgation of the rule.
Contact Information

James Quast, Program Manager
Phone:  (608) 266−9292
Email:  jim.quast@wisconsin.gov

Health Services
Community Services, Chs. DHS 30—

CR 09−109
On December 11, 2009, the Department of Health Services

submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapter DHS 75, relating to
substance abuse counselors, clinical supervisors, and
prevention specialists to reflect the transfer of credentialing
authority for these professions from the Department to the
Department of Regulation and Licensing (DRL) as required
under 2005 Wisconsin Act 25, section 9121 (12s).
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for January 22, 2010.
Contact Information
For substantive questions on rules contact:

S. Kate Johnson
Bureau of Prevention, Treatment and Recovery
1 West Wilson Street, Room 850
Madison, WI 53704
Phone:  (608) 267−7707
Email:  SarahKate.Johnson@wisconsin.gov

Small Business Regulatory Review Coordinator:
Rosie Greer
Phone:  (608) 266−1279
Email:  greerrj@dhs.state.wi.us

Health Services
Medical Assistance, Chs. DHS 101—

Health, Chs. DHS 110—
CR 09−107

On December 4, 2009, the Department of Health Services
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
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Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapters DHS 105, 106 and
133, relating to Medical Assistance certification of personal
care agencies and providers.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for February 3, 2010.

Contact Information

For substantive questions on rules contact:
Al Matano
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53702
Email:  alfred.matano@wisconsin.gov

Small Business Regulatory Review Coordinator:
Rosie Greer
Phone:  (608) 266−1279
Email:  greerrj@dhs.state.wi.us

Health Services
Health, Chs. DHS 110—

Economic Support, Chs. DHS 250—
CR 09−115

On December 16, 2009, the Department of Health Services
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order repeals Chapters DHS 117, 160 and
253, and revises Chapter DHS 172, relating to fees for copies
of health care provider records, registration of sanitarians,
child support cooperation for food stamps, and safety,
maintenance and operation of public swimming pools and
water attractions, and affecting small businesses.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Department will adopt the rules as proposed without
public hearing unless within 30 days after publication of the
notice of no hearing in the Wisconsin Administrative Register
on January 1, 2010, the Department of Health Services is
petitioned for a public hearing by 25 natural persons who will
be affected by the rule; a municipality which will be affected
by the rule; or an association which is representative of a farm,
labor, business or professional group which will be affected
by the rule.

Contact Information

For substantive questions on rules contact:
Rosie Greer
Department of Health Services
Phone:  (608) 266−1279
Email:  greerrj@dhs.state.wi.us

Small Business Regulatory Review Coordinator:
Rosie Greer
Department of Health Services
Phone:  (608) 266−1279
Email:  greerrj@dhs.state.wi.us

For additional information, please contact:
Julie E. Walsh, OCI Legal Unit
Phone:  (608) 264−8101
Email:  julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — General, Chs. NR 100—

CR 09−112

On December 15, 2009, the Department of Natural
Resources submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapters NR 151, 153 and 155,
relating to runoff management, targeted runoff management
grant program, and urban nonpoint source water pollution
abatement and storm water management grant program.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be scheduled at a later
date.

Contact Information
Carol Holden, Runoff Management Section, DNR
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
Phone:  (608) 266−0140
Email:  carol.holden@wisconsin.gov

Tourism
CR 09−111

On December 11, 2009, the Department of Tourism
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order creates Chapter Tour 3 relating to
grants to municipalities and organizations for regional tourist
information centers created under 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.

Section 41.16 (3) (c), Wis. Stats., requires the Department
to promulgate rules to administer the grants under this section,
including the preparation of an application form.

Under the proposed rule, tourist information centers may
apply for a grant to seek reimbursement for up to 50 percent
of eligible costs.  The proposed rule identifies the eligible
costs, application procedures, contracts and reporting
requirements.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required but has not yet been scheduled
for this proposed rule.  The Office of the Secretary is primarily
responsible for the promulgation of the proposed rule.
Contact Information

If you have any questions regarding the proposed rule,
please contact:

Laura Muenich, Budget and Policy Analyst
Department of Tourism
201 W. Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 8690
Madison, WI 53708−8690
Telephone: (608) 261−8764
E−Mail: lmuenich@travelwisconsin.com
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Transportation
CR 09−113

On December 16, 2009, the Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order creates Chapter Trans 148, relating to
electronic recording and release of liens by non−individual
creditors.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for January
29, 2010.  The Division of Motor Vehicles Bureau of Vehicle
Services is primarily responsible for promulgation of the
rules.

Contact Information

Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal

Phone:  (608) 267−3703

Email:  Julie1.Johnson@wisconsin.gov

Workforce Development
Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279

CR 09−110

On December 14, 2009, the Department of Workforce
Development submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order creates Chapter DWD 273, relating to
the regulation of traveling sales crews, which involves the
employment of groups of persons as salespersons who travel
to a variety of locations and sell consumer goods or services
door to door.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on January 20,
2010.  The DWD Equal Rights Division is the organizational
unit that is primarily responsible for promulgation of the rule.
Contact Information

Howard Bernstein, DWD Legal Counsel
Phone:  (608) 266−9427
Email: howard.bernstein@dwd.wisconsin.gov
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

CR 09−105
(2nd Printing)

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will hold
public hearings on a proposed rule to revise Chapter ATCP 92,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to weights and measures licensing
and fees.

Hearing Information
DATCP will hold the public hearings at the times and

locations shown below.
Monday, January 11, 2010
10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room (CR−106)
Madison, Wisconsin 53718−6777

Tuesday, January 12, 2010
10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Marathon County Public Library – Wausau Library
300 North First Street
Wausau, Wisconsin 54403

Friday, January 15, 2010
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Havenwoods State Forest
6141 North Hopkins Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53209−3565
Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for

these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by January 8, 2010, by writing to Michelle Reinen,
Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708−8911, Michelle.reinen@wi.gov,
telephone (608) 224−5160.  Alternatively, you may contact
the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap access is
available at the hearings.

Submission of Written Comments
DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing and

comment on the rule.  Following the hearing, the hearing
record will remain open until Friday, January 29, 2010 for
additional written comments.  Comments may be sent to the
division of Trade and Consumer Protection at the address
below, by email to michelle.reinen@wi.gov, or online at
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, you may also contact DATCP’s small business
regulatory coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, or
by emailing to Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by
telephone at (608) 224−5039.

Copies of Proposed Rules
You may obtain a free copy of this rule, fiscal estimate, and

business impact analysis by contacting the Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection,

Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.  You can also
obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−5160 or emailing
michelle.reinen@wi.gov.  Copies will also be available at the
hearings.  To view the proposed rule online, go to
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (DATCP) administers state laws to ensure the
accuracy of commercial weights and measures.  DATCP
adopts weights and measures rules, and licenses persons who
operate or service weighing and measuring devices.  DATCP
may establish certain license fees and other fees by rule.

This rule modifies current DATCP weights and measures
rules.  Among other things, this rule implements 2009 Wis.
Act 28 (biennial budget act).  Act 28 changed state weights
and measures laws, including laws related to vehicle scales,
weights and measures service companies, vehicle tank meters
and liquefied petroleum (LP) gas meters.  Act 28 created new
license requirements, and authorized DATCP to establish
certain license fees and surcharges by rule.  Act 28 also
authorized DATCP to charge reinspection fees to help pay for
reinspections made necessary by weights and measures law
violations.

Statutes interpreted
Sections 93.06 (1p), 93.07 (1), 97.30 (3m) (c) 3., 98.03 (2),

98.16, 98.18, 98.224, 98.245 and 98.255, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 93.07 (1), 97.30 (5), 98.03 (2), 98.16 (4), 98.18

(2), 98.224 (4), 98.245 (9) and 98.255 (2), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
General

DATCP has general authority, under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to
interpret laws under its jurisdiction.  Under s. 93.06 (1p),
Stats., DATCP may charge for certain services (including
analytical services) provided in response to a voluntary
request (in this case, fees to analyze and process voluntary
requests for livestock scale construction variances).

Weights and Measures; General
DATCP administers ch. 98, Stats., related to commercial

weights and measures. Under s. 98.03 (2), Stats., DATCP has
broad authority to adopt rules governing the construction,
installation and use of commercial weights and measures
(including scales and other weighing and measuring devices).

Retail Food Establishments
DATCP licenses and inspects retail food establishments for

food safety purposes under s. 97.30, Stats.  However, DATCP
also conducts weights and measures inspections of retail food
establishments.  Licensed establishments must pay an annual
weights and measures fee under s. 97.30 (3m) (c) 3., Stats.
DATCP may establish that fee by rule (s. 97.30 (5), Stats.).

Vehicle Scales
Vehicle scales are regulated by s. 98.16, Stats.  Under s.

98.16 (as modified by Act 28), a vehicle scale operator must:
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� Be annually licensed by DATCP and pay an annual license
fee for each vehicle scale (DATCP may adjust license fees
by rule).

� Pay a license fee surcharge for each vehicle scale if the
operator is found operating that scale without a license
(Act 28 authorizes DATCP to adjust that surcharge by
rule).

� Obtain a permit from DATCP before installing or
relocating a vehicle scale (Act 28 authorizes DATCP to
charge a permit fee).

� Comply with scale construction standards, unless DATCP
grants a variance (Act 28 authorizes DATCP to charge a
fee for processing variance requests).

� Pay reinspection fees for reinspections made necessary by
law violations (DATCP may adopt reinspection fees by
rule under s. 98.255, Stats.).

DATCP may adopt rules to establish and adjust fees, and
regulate the construction and operation of vehicle scales
(s. 98.16 (3), Stats.).

Weights and Measures Service Companies and Technicians
Section 98.18, Stats., regulates persons engaged in the

business of installing, servicing, testing or calibrating scales
and other weighing and measuring devices (weights and
measures service companies).  Under that section:

� Weights and measures service companies must:

� Be annually licensed by DATCP and pay an annual
license fee (DATCP may adjust license fees by rule).

� Pay a license fee surcharge if the weights and
measures service company is found operating without
a license (DATCP is not authorized to adjust that
surcharge by rule).

� DATCP may adopt rules to regulate weights and measures
service companies and establish license fees (s. 98.18(2),
Stats.).

DATCP rules currently exempt individual weights and
measures technicians from licensing if they are employed by
a licensed weights and measures service company.  However,
individual technicians must be certified for competence (there
is a certification examination fee of $25).  A certification is
good for 5 years.

Vehicle tank meters
Vehicle tank meters are regulated by s. 98.224, Stats., as

created by Act 28.  Under that section, a vehicle tank meter
operator must:

� Be annually licensed by DATCP and pay an annual license
fee for each vehicle tank meter (DATCP must establish
license fees by rule).  An operator must pay a license fee
surcharge if the operator is found operating a vehicle tank
meter without a license (DATCP may establish the
surcharge by rule).

� Comply with testing and reporting requirements.  An
operator who fails to do so must pay a license fee
surcharge that DATCP must establish by rule.

� Pay reinspection fees for reinspections made necessary by
law violations (DATCP may adopt reinspection fees by
rule under s. 98.255, Stats.).

DATCP may adopt rules to establish and license fees and
surcharges; testing, reporting and recordkeeping
requirements; and standards for the construction, operation
and maintenance of vehicle tank meters (s. 98.16 (4), Stats.).

LP Gas Meters
LP gas meters are regulated by s. 98.245, Stats., as

modified by Act 28.  Under that section, LP gas meter
operators must:
� Be annually licensed by DATCP and pay an annual license

fee for each LP gas meter (DATCP must establish license
fees by rule).  An operator must pay a license fee surcharge
if the operator is found operating an LP gas meter without
a license (DATCP must establish the surcharge by rule).

� Comply with testing and reporting requirements.  An
operator who fails to do so must pay a license fee
surcharge that DATCP must establish by rule.

� Pay reinspection fees for reinspections made necessary by
law violations (DATCP may adopt reinspection fees by
rule under s. 98.255, Stats.).

DATCP may adopt rules to establish and license fees and
surcharges; testing, reporting and recordkeeping
requirements; and standards for the construction, operation
and maintenance of vehicle tank meters (s. 98.245 (9), Stats.).

Reinspection Fees
Under s. 98.255, Stats. (as created by Act 8), DATCP may

charge a reinspection fee to cover DATCP reinspection costs
incurred because of a law violation found on an initial
inspection of a weight or measure (including a scale or other
weighing or measuring device).  DATCP may establish
reinspection fee amounts by rule (s. 98.255 (2), Stats.).
DATCP may specify different reinspection fees for different
types of weighing or measuring devices.  The fee for each type
of device may not exceed DATCP’s average cost to reinspect
that type of device.

Related statutes and rules
Among other things, this rule establishes annual weights

and measures fees for retail food establishments, which are
licensed and regulated (for food safety purposes) under s.
97.30, Stats., and ch. ATCP 75, Wis. Adm. Code.

Content of rule
The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer

Protection (DATCP) administers Wisconsin’s weights and
measures program which ensures the accuracy of commercial
weights and measures.  DATCP inspects commodities, scales
and measuring devices to ensure that businesses and
consumers get what they pay for.  The weights and measures
program is partially funded by weights and measures license
fees.  The biennial budget act expanded licensing of weights
and measures devices, and authorized certain fee adjustments
by rule, in order to improve weights and measures regulation
and help remedy a sever budget shortfall.  The budget act
affects vehicle scales, vehicle tank meters and LP gas meters,
among other things.  It also authorizes DATCP to charge fees
for reinspections made necessary by weights and measures
law violations.

This rule is designed to implement the budget act.
However, this rule also updates and clarifies other weights
and measures rule provisions under ch. ATCP 92, Wis. Adm.
Code.  This rule establishes different fees for different weights
and measures program and license categories, based upon an
analysis of program costs associated with each category.  Fees
are generally proportionate to program costs in each category.
Specifically, this rule does all of the following:

Retail Food Establishments
This rule increases the annual weights and measures

inspection fees paid by licensed retail food establishments (it
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does not change food safety inspection fees).  This rule does
all of the following:

� Increases, from $100 to $420, the annual fee for a retail
food establishment that has annual food sales of at least $1
million and processes potentially hazardous food.

� Increases, from $45 to $55, the annual fee for a retail food
establishment that has annual food sales of at least
$25,000 but less than $1 million and processes potentially
hazardous food.

� Increases, from $25 to $45, the annual fee for a retail food
establishment that has annual food sales of at least
$25,000 and is engaged in food processing, but does not
process potentially hazardous food.

� Establishes a fee of $30 for a retail food establishment that
is not engaged in food processing.

Vehicle and Livestock Scales
This rule does all of the following:

� Increases, from $100 to $140, the annual fee for a vehicle
scale operator license (does not apply to livestock scales
other than vehicle scales).

� Increases, from $200 to $350, the license fee surcharge for
a person found operating a vehicle scale without a license
(does not apply to operators of livestock scales other than
vehicle scales, because those operators are not licensed).

� Establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an operator
who, during the previous year, failed to comply with
vehicle scale testing and reporting requirements (does not
apply to operators of livestock scales other than vehicle
scales, because those operators are not licensed).

� Establishes a fee of $160 for a permit to install or relocate
a vehicle scale.  This fee does not apply to livestock scale
permits (other than vehicle scales) because the statutes do
not authorize DATCP to charge fees for livestock scale
permits mandated by DATCP.

� Establishes a fee of $360 to process a request, by a vehicle
scale operator or livestock scale operator, for a variance
from an applicable scale construction standards (this rule
does not change current construction standards).  See ss.
93.06 (1p) and 98.16 (2m) (b) and (4), Stats.

� Updates and clarifies current requirements for annual
testing of vehicle scales and livestock scales, and
reporting test results to DATCP.

� Establishes a vehicle scale operator license surcharge of
$350 for an operator who fails to comply with annual scale
testing and reporting requirements (does not apply to
operators of livestock scales other than vehicle scales,
because those operators are not licensed).

Weights and Measures Service Companies and Technicians
This rule increases current annual license fees for weights

and measures service companies, as follows:

� Increases the basic license fee from $250 to $325.

� Increases the supplementary license fee for companies
operating more than one business location.  The fee for
each additional business location is increased from $75 to
$100.

This rule increases, from $25 to $35, the current
examination fee for certification of an individual weights and
measures technician (5−year certification).  The examination
fee may be paid by the weights and measures service company
that employs the technician.

LP Gas Meters
This rule does all of the following:

� Implements statutory licensing requirements for
operators of LP gas meters.

� Establishes an annual license fee of $140.
� Establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an

applicant who was found operating an LP gas meter
without a required license during the previous year.

� Establishes basic annual testing and test reporting
requirements related to LP gas meters, and establishes a
license fee surcharge of $350 for an applicant who failed
to comply with those basic requirements in the previous
year.

Vehicle Tank Meters
This rule does all of the following:

� Implements statutory licensing requirements for vehicle
tank meter operators.

� Establishes an annual license fee of $140.
� Establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an

applicant who was found operating a vehicle tank meter
without a required license during the previous year.

� Establishes basic annual testing and test reporting
requirements related to vehicle tank meters, and
establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an applicant
who failed to comply with those basic requirements in the
previous year.

Reinspection Fees
This rule establishes reinspection fees to cover DATCP

reinspection costs incurred because of law violations found on
an initial inspection of a weight or measure (including a scale
or other weighing or measuring device).  This rule establishes
the following reinspection fees for the following types of
weights and measures, based on DATCP’s average cost to
reinspect that type of weight or measure:
� Large capacity scale (over 5,000 lbs), $300.
� Medium capacity scale ( 300−5,000lbs), $185.
� Small capacity scale (up to 300 lbs), $150.
� Vehicle tank meter, $230.
� Liquified petroleum gas meter, $360.
� Loading rack meter, $300.
� Retail motor fuel device (or similar liquid measuring

device), $150.
� Timing device, $150.
� Grain moisture meter, $200.
� Package labeling accuracy, $185.
� Price accuracy, $255.
� Other reinspections, $175.
Comparison with federal regulations

States have the primary responsibility for regulating
weights and measures.   The National Institute of Standards
and Technology (NIST) provides model regulations and
standards which may be adopted and enforced by the states.
This rule is not mandated by federal law.

Comparison of rules in adjacent states
Wisconsin has a well−developed weights and measures

program.  Wisconsin statutes authorize DATCP to license
persons who operate or service weights and measures in the
state and also authorize DATCP to adopt rules prescribing
standards for the construction, operation and maintenance of
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weights and measures and to establish the fees for inspections
and licenses.

Some surrounding states have less comprehensive weights
and measures programs, and fewer administrative options for
standardizing and regulating weights and measures.
Surrounding states tend to regulate weights and measures on
a more ad hoc basis.  However, several surrounding states
have established weights and measures fees to help fund their
state programs.

Retail Food Establishments
Illinois and Minnesota charge retail food establishment

scale fees, and Minnesota charges fees for package checking.
Comparable Illinois scale fees range from $20−$900 annually
per establishment, depending upon number of scales.
Minnesota scale fees range from $35−$1125 annually per
establishment, depending upon number of scales (the fee is
$25 per scale).  Minnesota package checking fees range from
$35−$330 depending on lot size.

Weights and Measures Service Companies and Technicians
Illinois and Michigan license weights and measures service

companies.  Illinois has an annual license fee of $50.
Michigan has a $300 biennial license fee.  Minnesota does not
have a licensing program (funding comes from general
program revenue).

Illinois and Michigan both license service company
technicians.  Illinois has an annual technician license fee of
$25.  Michigan has a $100 technician license fee every 2
years.  Minnesota does not have a licensing program (funding
comes from general program revenue).

Vehicle Scales
Illinois and Minnesota both license vehicle scales.  Illinois

has an annual license fee of $200.  Minnesota charges a range
of $170−$250 per license with a Place in Service fee of $110.
Michigan does not have a licensing program (funding comes
from general program revenue).

LP Gas Meters
Illinois and Minnesota both license LP gas meters.  Illinois

has an annual license fee of $165.  Minnesota has a $150
license fee with a “place−in−service” fee of $110.  Michigan
does not have a licensing program (funding comes from
general program revenue).

Vehicle Tank Meters
Illinois and Minnesota both license vehicle tank meters.

Illinois charges a range of $100 to $200 for an annual license.
Minnesota’s program funding comes from other sources, but
does have a “place−in−service” fee of $110.  Michigan does
not have a licensing program (funding comes from general
program revenue).

Reinspection Fees

Device
Illinois

fees
Michigan

fees
Minnesota

fees

Vehicle Scale 
(large capacity)

$200
GPR 
(no fee)

Avg $388

Medium Capacity
Scale

$75−200 GPR $145−270

Small Capacity
Scale

$20−50 GPR $125−$250

Vehicle Tank
Meter

$100−200 GPR SEG

LPG Meter $165 GPR $250

Loading Rack
Meter

$200 GPR SEG

Retail Motor Fuel $50 GPR SEG

Timing Device N/A GPR $175/hr

Grain Moisture
Meter

$100 GPR N/A

Package Labeling N/A GPR $235−$530

Price Accuracy N/A GPR
$175−$190
/hour

Other N/A GPR
$175−190/
hour

Small Business Impact
This rule will affect businesses that operate or service

weights and measures in Wisconsin.  Many affected business
will pay higher fees, or will pay fees for the first time.
However, the fee increases are not expected to have a major
impact on overall business costs.  Fees for each business
category are proportionate to weights and measures program
costs for that business category, and cover only a portion of
program costs.  A complete business impact analysis is
available from DATCP.

Fiscal Estimate
This rule will increase annual DATCP revenues by an

estimated $400,000 and will allow DATCP to cover a larger
share of its costs to administer Wisconsin’s weights and
measures program.  This rule will have no significant impact
on local units of government.  A complete fiscal estimate is
available from DATCP.

Agency Contact Person
Questions and comments related to this rule may be

directed to:
Michelle Reinen, Program & Policy Analyst
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708−8911
Telephone: (608) 224−5160
E−Mail: hearingcomments@datcp.state.wi.us
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Notice of Hearing

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2

EmR0934, CR 09−116

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.19
and 145.26, Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold a
public hearing on proposed rules and the emergency rules
to amend section Comm 2.68 (3) (d), Tables 2.68−1 and
2.68−2; and to create section Comm 2.68 (3) (a), relating to
fees for plan review and inspection of public swimming pools
and water attractions and affecting small business.

Hearing Information

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
January 21, 2010 Conference Room 3C
10:00 a.m. Tommy G. Thompson Center

201 West Washington Avenue
Madison

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Submission of Written Comments

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until January 29, 2010, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to James Quast, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
jim.quast@wisconsin.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rules

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or TDD Relay dial 711 in Wisconsin or (800)
947−3529.  Copies will also be available at the public hearing.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Commerce

Statutes interpreted

Sections 101.19 and 145.26, Stats.

Statutory authority

Sections 101.19 and 145.26, Stats.

Related statute or rule
Statutes:  None
Administrative Rules:  Chapter Comm 90

Explanation of agency authority
Chapters 101 and 145, Stats., grant the department general

authority for the purpose of protecting public health, safety
and welfare by establishing standards and regulatory
oversight programs for the construction and maintenance of
buildings, structures and dwellings, public swimming pools
and water attractions.  These programs are administered by
the Safety and Buildings Division.  Sections 101.19 and
145.26, Stats., grant the department authority to promulgate
rules to fix and collect fees that reflect the cost of
administering the public swimming pool and water attraction
program.
Summary of proposed rules

The rules adjust the plan review and inspection fees for
public swimming pools and water attractions.  The rules also
create a separate plan review and inspection fee for
modifications to existing swimming pools and water
attractions that are necessary in order to comply with the
federal Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act.  The
federal Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act
requires most existing public swimming pools and water
attractions to undergo physical modifications to reduce the
risk of entrapment at suction outlets.
Comparison with federal regulations

An internet−based search of the code of federal regulations
and the federal register did not identify any federal
requirements relating to public swimming pool and water
attraction plan review or inspection fees.  The federal
Consumer Product Safety Commission’s implementation of
the Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act
necessitates the modification of existing pools to address
entrapment at suction outlets.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

An Internet−based search for the states of Illinois, Iowa,
Michigan and Minnesota found the following:
Illinois:

The Illinois Department of Public Health provides for the
inspection and licensing of all public swimming pools, spas,
waterslides, wading pools, and bathing beaches. Effective
February 2003, the Department reviews all plans and
specifications before construction can begin. The state’s
permit for the construction, development, major alteration or
installation of each swimming facility is $50, and must
accompany any application.
Iowa:

The Iowa Department of Public Health Swimming Pool
Program regulates the construction and reconstruction of
swimming pools and spas.  Plan Review fees range from $165
for swimming pools less than 500 square feet to $825 for pools
4000 square feet or greater which may include a water slide.
Water slides with a dedicated plunge pool have a plan review
fee of $550 with a fee of $165 for each additional water slide.
The plan review fees for spas range from $165 for a spa less
than 500 square feet to $385 for a spa of 1000 square feet or
greater.  The reconstruction plan review fee is $250 for each
swimming pool, spa, or bathhouse altered in the
reconstruction.
Michigan:

The Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Water Bureau regulates public swimming pool construction
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permits and licensing fees, which range from $596 for a new
pool 500 square feet or less to $1,951 for a new pool more than
4000 square feet in area.  The permit fee for modification of
an existing pool is $298.

Minnesota:
The Minnesota Department of Health regulates swimming

pool and spa pool plan review.  Plan review and inspection
fees are $800 each for swimming pools, wading pools,
therapy pools, spray decks and interactive water features;
$500 each for spa pools and a request for variance;  $400 for
slides and alterations not altering shape or size;  and $75 for
a disinfection system change.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The changes are necessary in order to bring revenues in line

with the cost of providing the services for public swimming
pools and water attractions.  The department is statutorily
directed to establish and collect fees which should, as closely
as possible, equal the cost of providing those services.

Implementation of the federal Virginia Graeme Baker Pool
and Spa Safety Act necessitates most existing public
swimming pools and water attractions to undergo physical
modifications to reduce the risk of entrapment at suction
outlets.  The department estimates that 3,700 existing pools
and water attractions will need to undergo some type of
modifications.  The current plan review fees reflect the
estimated average time and costs to provide the service.  For
types of pool and attraction modifications necessary to
comply with the Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety
Act, the department believes that the time and cost to provide
the service will be below the averages reflected under the fee
structure of section Comm 2.68.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The general increases for the plan review and inspection
fees for public swimming pools and water attractions are
similar to those proposed in 2008 and reviewed by the Pool
Council.  It is estimated that the plan review and inspection fee
adjustments will result in an estimated annual increase in
revenues of $25,000.

One fee reduction is occurring in light of the
implementation of the federal Virginia Graeme Baker Pool
and Spa Safety Act which necessitates most existing public
swimming pools and water attractions to undergo physical
modifications to reduce the risk of entrapment at suction
outlets.  The plan review and inspection fees for these types
of pool and water attraction modifications are reduced by 50
to 67%.  The reduction will save pool and water attraction
owners $200 to $650 per plan submittal.  The department
estimates there are still approximately 1,900 existing public
swimming pools and water attractions in Wisconsin needing
to submit plans for the necessary federally mandated
modifications.  The department estimates that 90% of the
future plan submittals, 1,710, will fall under the category
involving department inspections and 10% of the future plan
submittals, 190, will fall under the category where the
department does not conduct the inspections.  Under this
assumption, the department will not realize $703,000 in plan
review and inspection revenue from these plan submittals
under the rules.

The Department believes that the rules will have a minimal
direct impact on small business in that most businesses would
utilize the plan review and inspection services on an
infrequent basis and are typically a one time occurrence.

These types of fees would not be significant to the overall
operation of the business in comparison to overall expenses.

An economic impact report has not been required pursuant
to s. 227.137, Stats.

Small Business Impact

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis

Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules.
The proposed rules would affect owners or agents who

propose to build or alter public swimming pools or water
attractions.  Example of groups that may be affected by the
proposed rules would be municipalities, hotels and motels and
water amusement parks.

Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules.

The proposed rules do not impose any additional reporting,
bookkeeping or other procedures for compliance.

Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with the
rules.

The proposed rules do not require any type of professional
skills for compliance.

Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses?

No.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
The small business regulatory coordinator for the

Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.

Environmental Analysis
The Department has considered the environmental impact

of the proposed rules.  In accordance with chapter Comm 1,
the proposed rules are a Type III action.  A Type III action
normally does not have the potential to cause significant
environmental effects and normally does not involve
unresolved conflicts in the use of available resources.  The
Department has reviewed these rules and finds no reason to
believe that any unusual conditions exist.  At this time, the
Department has issued this notice to serve as a finding of no
significant impact.

Fiscal Estimate

Assumptions used in arriving at fiscal estimate
The general increases for the plan review and inspection

fees for public swimming pools and water attractions are
similar to those proposed in 2008.  It is estimated that the plan
review and inspection fee adjustments will result in an
estimated annual increase in revenues of $25,000.

One fee reduction is occurring in light of the
implementation of the federal Virginia Graeme Baker Pool
and Spa Safety Act which necessitates most existing public
swimming pools and water attractions to undergo physical
modifications to reduce the risk of entrapment at suction
outlets.  The plan review and inspection fees for these types
of pool and water attraction modifications are reduced by 50
to 67%.  The reduction will save pool and water attraction
owners $200 to $650 per plan submittal.  The department
estimates there are still approximately 1,900 existing public
swimming pools and water attractions in Wisconsin needing
to submit plans for the necessary federally mandated
modifications.  The department estimates that 90% of the
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future plan submittals, 1,710, will fall under the category
involving department inspections and 10% of the future plan
submittals, 190, will fall under the category where the
department does not conduct the inspections.  Under this
assumption, the department will not realize $703,000 in plan
review and inspection revenue from these plan submittals
under the rules.

The Department believes that the rules will have a minimal
direct impact on small business in that most businesses would
utilize the plan review and inspection services on an
infrequent basis and are typically a one time occurrence.
These types of fees would not be significant to the overall
operation of the business in comparison to overall expenses.

State fiscal effect
Decrease existing revenues.

Local government fiscal effect
None.

Fund sources affected
PRO.

Long−range fiscal implications
None are anticipated.

Agency Contact Person
James Quast, Program Manager
Phone:  (608) 266−9292
Email:  jim.quast@wisconsin.gov

Notice of Hearing
Health Services

Community Services, Chs. DHS 30—
CR 09−109

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 46.973
(2) (c), 51.42 (7) (b), 51.45 (8) and (9) and 227.11, Stats., and
2005 Wisconsin Act 25, section 9121, the Department of
Health Services will hold a public hearing on proposed rules
to consider revisions to Chapter DHS 75, relating to substance
abuse counselors, clinical supervisors, and prevention
specialists, and affecting small businesses.

Hearing Information

Date and Time Location
January 22, 2010
10:00 a.m. to Noon

Wilson Street State Office Bldg.
1 W. Wilson St., Rm. 751
Madison, WI

Accessibility

English
DHS is an equal opportunity employer and service

provider.  If you need accommodations because of a disability
or need an interpreter or translator, or if you need this material
in another language or in an alternate format, you may request
assistance to participate by contacting S. Kate Johnson at
(608) 267−7707.  You must make your request at least 7 days
before the activity.
Spanish

DHS es una agencia que ofrece igualdad en las
oportunidades de empleo y servicios. Si necesita algún tipo de
acomodaciones debido a incapacidad o si necesita un
interprete, traductor o esta información en su propio idioma
o en un formato alterno, usted puede pedir asistencia para

participar en los programas comunicándose con S. Kate
Johnson al número (608) 267−7707.  Debe someter su
petición por lo menos 7 días de antes de la actividad.
Hmong

DHS yog ib tus tswv hauj lwm thiab yog ib qhov chaw pab
cuam uas muab vaj huam sib luag rau sawv daws. Yog koj xav
tau kev pab vim muaj mob xiam oob qhab los yog xav tau ib
tus neeg pab txhais lus los yog txhais ntaub ntawv, los yog koj
xav tau cov ntaub ntawv no ua lwm hom lus los yog lwm hom
ntawv, koj yuav tau thov kev pab uas yog hu rau S. Kate
Johnson ntawm (608) 267−7707.  Koj yuav tsum thov qhov
kev pab yam tsawg kawg 7 hnub ua ntej qhov hauj lwm ntawd.

Copies of the Rule
A copy of the rules may be obtained from the department

at no charge by downloading the documents from
www.adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by contacting:

S. Kate Johnson
Bureau of Prevention, Treatment and Recovery
DMHSAS/DHS
1 West Wilson Street, Room 850
Madison, WI 53704
SarahKate.Johnson@wisconsin.gov
(608) 267−7707

Submission of Written Comments
Comments may be submitted to S. Kate Johnson, listed

above, or to the Wisconsin Administrative Rules Website at
www.adminrules.wisconsin.gov until January 22, 2010, 4:30
p.m.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health
Services

Statute interpreted
2005 Wisconsin Act 25, section 9121 (12s).

Statutory authority
Sections 46.973 (2) (c), 51.42 (7) (b), 51.45 (8) and (9) and

227.11, Stats., and 2005 Wisconsin Act 25, section 9121.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 46.973 (2) (c), Stats., authorizes the Department to

develop standards and provide consultation for local drug
dependence and drug abuse programs, and s. 51.42 (7) (b),
Stats., authorizes the Department to promulgate rules
governing a variety of services, including alcoholism and
drug abuse services.  Section 51.45 (8), Stats., authorizes the
Department  to establish minimum standards for approved
treatment facilities that must be met in order for a treatment
facility to be approved.  Section 51.45 (9), Stats., authorize the
Department to promulgate rules for acceptance of persons
into the treatment program for the purpose of early and
effective treatment of alcoholics and intoxicated persons. All
of the standards are referenced in ch. DHS 75.

Section 227.11 establishes requirements and parameters
for agencies to promulgate rules, policies, and documents
supporting rules for programs that are administered by it.

Related statute or rule
Chapters RL 160 to 168, Wis. Adm. Code.

Plain language analysis
The Department proposes to amend ch. DHS 75, relating

to substance abuse counselors, clinical supervisors, and
prevention specialists to reflect the transfer of credentialing
authority for these professions from the Department to the
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Department of Regulation and Licensing (DRL) as required
under 2005 Wisconsin Act 25, s. 9121 (12s) and conform the
definitions in ch. DHS 75 with those in chs. RL 160 to 168.

Chapter DHS 75 has not been updated to reflect these
changes since the changes were created in 2005.  The passage
of Act 25 divided oversight for substance abuse programs and
providers resulting in the Department maintaining
responsibility for certification of substance abuse services
and assigning DRL responsibility for certification of
individuals providing substance abuse treatment.

The proposed changes to ch. DHS 75 include the
following:

1) Updating definitions in s. DHS 75.02 to reflect
changes to those terms in chs. RL 160 to 168,
including clinical supervisor, counseling, prevention,
prevention specialist, prevention specialist−in
training, and substance abuse counselor, substance
abuse counselor−in training, and clinical substance
abuse counselor.

2) Updating the names of bureaus and divisions.

3) Incorporating any additional changes related to the
definitions referenced above.

These policy changes cannot be implemented in an
alternative manner or policy due to the scope of ch. DHS 75,
which establishes policies for certification of community
substance abuse services.  Definitions of substance abuse
professionals are currently included in ch. DHS 75 and need
to be updated due to their direct relationship with substance
abuse services.

The expected outcome of these revisions is to have ch. DHS
75 to be congruent with  chs. RL 160 to 168, and reflect current
statutory requirements. There will not be an effect on
businesses and public agencies since these changes are
already implemented within DRL.

Comparison with federal regulations
There appears to be no existing or proposed federal

regulations that address the activities to be regulated by the
proposed rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Title 77 Part 2060 of Illinois Administrative Code sets forth

the requirements for certification of substance abuse
treatment and intervention services. Substance abuse
counselors are licensed by the Illinois Alcohol and Other
Drug Abuse Professional Certification Association according
to the Illinois Model for the Certification of Alcohol and other
Drug Abuse Counselors.

Iowa:
Alcohol and drug counselors are certified by the Iowa

Board of Certification according to their rules and regulations
published in the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Handbook.
Substance abuse treatment programs in Iowa are licensed
according to Ch. 125.13, Stats., and Adm. Code 641, Ch. 155.

Michigan:
In Michigan, substance abuse counselors must meet

Michigan Certification Board for Addiction Professionals
certification requirements which are taken from the
International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium
(ICRC).  Substance use disorder programs must be licensed
according to Act 360, s. 6231 (1), Stats., and ss. 325.14101 to
325.14928, Adm. Code.

Minnesota:
Alcohol and Drug Counselors in the State of Minnesota are

certified according to s. 148C., Stats., and ss. 4747.0010 to
4747.1500, Adm. Rule, established by the Minnesota Board
of Behavioral Health and Therapy.  Substance abuse
treatment programs must be licensed according to treatment
licensing rules ss. 9530.6405 to 9530.6505 (Rule 31).

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The proposed rules will not directly affect small

businesses.  The rules under this order are to conform to the
transfer of authority under 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 from the
department to DRL.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The proposed rules will not directly affect small
businesses.  Any fiscal impact upon small business occurred
when the changes from 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 were
implemented by DRL in 2005 and 2006.

Small Business Impact
The proposed rules will not directly affect small

businesses. The rules under this order are to conform to the
transfer of authority under 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 from the
department to DRL. Any fiscal impact upon small business
occurred when the changes from 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 were
implemented by DRL in 2005 and 2006.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
Rosie Greer
rosie.greer@dhs.wisconsin.gov
608−266−1279

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The proposed revisions to DHS 75 bring DHS

administrative rules into compliance with changes finalized
by the legislature in 2005 and implemented by the Department
of Regulation and Licensing (DRL) in 2006.  Any fiscal
impact due to the changes would have already been addressed
by state government, local governments, and small businesses
when DRL implemented the changes in 2006.

A copy of the full fiscal estimate may be obtained from the
department’s contact person listed below upon request.

State fiscal effect
None.

Local government fiscal effect
None.

Private sector fiscal effect
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.

Agency Contact Person
S. Kate Johnson
Bureau of Prevention, Treatment and Recovery
DMHSAS/DHS
1 West Wilson Street, Room 850
Madison, WI 53704
SarahKate.Johnson@wisconsin.gov
(608) 267−7707
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Notice of Hearing
Health Services

Medical Assistance, Chs. DHS 101—
Health, Chs. DHS 110—
EmR0932, CR 09−107

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 49.45
(2) (a) 11., (10) and (42) and 227.11 (2), Stats., the Department
of Health Services will hold a public hearing on emergency
rules and proposed permanent rules to consider revisions to
Chapters DHS 105, 106, and 133, relating to Medical
Assistance certification for personal care agencies and
providers, and affecting small businesses.

Hearing Information

Date and Time Location
February 3, 2010
9:00 a.m. − 11:00 a.m.

Dept. of Health Services
Wilson St. State Office Bldg.
1 West Wilson Street
Room 950A
Madison, Wisconsin

Accessibility

English
DHS is an equal opportunity employer and service

provider.  If you need accommodations because of a disability
or need an interpreter or translator, or if you need this material
in another language or in an alternate format, you may request
assistance to participate by contacting Pat Benesh at
608−264−9896.  You must make your request at least 7 days
before the activity.

Spanish
DHS es una agencia que ofrece igualdad en las

oportunidades de empleo y servicios. Si necesita algún tipo de
acomodaciones debido a incapacidad o si necesita un
interprete, traductor o esta información en su propio idioma
o en un formato alterno, usted puede pedir asistencia para
participar en los programas comunicándose con Pat Benesh al
número 608−264−9896. Debe someter su petición por lo
menos 7 días de antes de la actividad.

Hmong
DHS yog ib tus tswv hauj lwm thiab yog ib qhov chaw pab

cuam uas muab vaj huam sib luag rau sawv daws. Yog koj xav
tau kev pab vim muaj mob xiam oob qhab los yog xav tau ib
tus neeg pab txhais lus los yog txhais ntaub ntawv, los yog koj
xav tau cov ntaub ntawv no ua lwm hom lus los yog lwm hom
ntawv, koj yuav tau thov kev pab uas yog hu rau Pat Benesh
ntawm 608−264−9896. Koj yuav tsum thov qhov kev pab yam
tsawg kawg 7 hnub ua ntej qhov hauj lwm ntawd.

Copies of the Proposed Rule

A copy of the rules may be obtained from the department
at no charge by downloading the documents from
www.adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by contacting:

Pat Benesh, Quality Assurance Program Spec−Senior
Division of Quality Assurance
1 West Wilson St., Room 534
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: 608−264−9896
Fax: 608−267−0352
patricia.benesh@wisconsin.gov

Submission of Written Comments
Comments may be submitted to the agency contact person

listed above or to the Wisconsin Administrative Rules
Website at www.adminrules.wisconsin.gov until February 4,
2009, 4:30 p.m.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health
Services
Statute interpreted

Sections 49.45 (42) (c) and (d) 3., Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 49.45 (2) (a) 11., (10) and (42) and 227.11 (2),
Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Section 49.45 (2) (a) 11., Stats., authorizes the department
to establish criteria for certification of providers of Medical
Assistance, certify providers who meet certification  criteria
and promulgate rules to implement the statute.

Section 49.45 (10), Stats., authorizes the department to
promulgate rules consistent with its duties in administering
Medical Assistance, including its duties relating to
reimbursement for personal care services by certified
providers.

Section 49.45 (42) (c), Stats., allows the department to
charge a fee to certify a provider of personal care services that
is not an independent living center (ILC), county department,
a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in
Wisconsin or a licensed  home health agency.

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., allows agencies to
promulgate rules interpreting the provision of any statute
enforced or administered by the agency if the agency
considers it necessary to effectuate the purpose of the statute.
Related statute or rule

DHS chs. 101, 106, and 107.
Plain language analysis

The department proposes standards by which to certify
freestanding personal care agencies, county departments,
home health agencies, federally recognized American Indian
tribe or band in Wisconsin, and ILCs as personal care
providers. The proposed rules includes certification
requirements for persons that want to directly bill and be
reimbursed by the Medical Assistance program for the
personal care services provided to recipients of Medical
Assistance.  The rules include new provisions that all personal
care providers must follow. The new provisions are:
� Provide employee orientation, evaluation and health

screening, including tuberculosis.
� Train staff regarding infection control and prevention.
� Provide client rights, including determination of client

appropriateness for service, provisions of rights and
notice of how to file a complaint with the department.

� Require a service agreement and a notice and criteria for
discharge.

� Promptly notify the physician of a significant change in
condition.

Comparison with federal regulations
Section 440.167 of 42 CFR contains the requirements for

providing personal care services to Medicaid recipients.
Section 440.167 does not provide detail on the types of
agencies which are allowed to provide personal care services
or to directly bill the Medicaid program for reimbursement.
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Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Wisconsin offers personal care as an optional Medicaid

state plan service, but Illinois does not. Illinois does offer
some types of personal care services under waivers.

Iowa:
Wisconsin offers personal care as an optional Medicaid

state plan service, but Iowa does not. Iowa does offer some
types of personal care services under waivers.

Michigan:
Both Michigan and Wisconsin offer personal care as an

optional Medicaid state plan service.
Michigan is one of only 2 states nationwide (the other is

New Jersey) that covers assistive devices or equipment under
the PCS benefit. Nationwide, 17 of the 25 states that offer
personal care services (71%) allow some kind of consumer
direction for the PCS benefit. Michigan allows it to some
extent (as does Minnesota). Wisconsin very recently began
offering a self−directed personal care option on a very limited
basis to participants in the self−directed program known as
IRIS (Include, Respect, I Self−Direct).

Wisconsin is in the middle of the 3 states in the region terms
of the settings where the personal care services benefit may be
provided. Michigan is more restrictive than Wisconsin, as the
service may only be provided in the home. In Wisconsin, the
services may be provided in the home or in community−based
residential setting in facilities of 20 beds or less.

Minnesota is the most stringent of the 3 states in terms of
who may authorize the use of personal care services.
Minnesota requires a statement of medical need from a
physician and an assessment as to need by a public health
nurse. In Michigan, physicians, social workers, case
managers, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners may
all authorize personal care services.  Wisconsin only allows
personal care services when authorized by a physician.

Minnesota:
Both Minnesota and Wisconsin offer personal care as an

optional Medicaid state plan service.
Wisconsin is in the middle of the 3 states in terms of the

settings where the personal care services benefit may be
provided. In Wisconsin, the services may be provided in the
home or in community−based residential setting in facilities
of 20 beds or less. Minnesota provides the service in the home,
in community−based residential settings, in schools, and in
the workplace.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The department relied on all of the following sources to
determine the impact on small businesses, specifically
personal care agencies to draft the rules:

1. The Department met with the Home Care Advisory
Committee (HCAC) and reviewed the initial draft of
the rule.  This committee is composed of
representatives of the Wisconsin Personal Services
Association (WPSA), Wisconsin Homecare
Organization (WHO), Professional Homecare
Providers (PHP), subcontracted personal care
agencies, ILCs, home health agencies, counties, and
representatives from the Homecare Consumer
Advisory Committee. Representatives from these
organizations were provided a copy of the initial draft
of the rule and asked for comments.   The initial draft

of the rule was also sent to counties and ILCs for
comment.

2. The 2002 Economic Census – Wisconsin Geographic
Series, compiled by the U.S. census bureau every 5
years for each year ending in “2” and “7” and contains
the latest available economic data (2007 data is not yet
published−October 2009) compiled on businesses
located in Wisconsin.

3. Criteria adopted by the Department and approved by
the Wisconsin Small Business Regulatory Review
Board to determine whether the Department’s rules
have a significant economic impact on a substantial
number of small businesses.  Pursuant to the
Department’s criteria, a rule will have a significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small
businesses if at least 10% of the businesses affected by
the rules are small businesses and if operating
expenditures, including annualized capital
expenditures, increase by more than the prior year’s
consumer price index or reduces revenues by more
than the prior year’s consumer price index.  For the
purposes of this rulemaking, 2008 is the index year.
The consumer price index is compiled by the U.S.
Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics; the
preliminary rate for the Midwest in 2008 is currently
estimated at 3.9 percent.

4. Section 227.114 (1) (a), Wis. Stats., defines “small
business” as a business entity, including its affiliates,
which is independently owned and operated and not
dominant in its field, and which employees 25 or fewer
full−time employees or which has gross annual sales
of less than $5,000,000.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The North American Industry Classification System
(NAICS) includes personal care agencies in the Health Care
and Social Assistance sector, (sector 62) and further defined
in sub−sector 6216 home health agencies (home based
services).  This industry sector comprises establishments
primarily engaged in providing skilled nursing services in the
home, along with a range of the following: personal care
services; homemaker and companion services; physical
therapy; medical social services; medications; medical
equipment and supplies; counseling; 24−hour home care;
occupation and vocational therapy; dietary and nutritional
services; speech therapy; audiology; and high−tech care, such
as intravenous therapy.  Employment statistics and revenue
data are not readily available for the personal care agency
share of these major health care providers.  The DQA has no
data on personal care agencies, as these are not currently
regulated by the agency.   Based on the limited data available,
it is estimated that 70 personal care agencies will initially seek
certification from the department. The number of small
business entities is unknown.  Certification is required for
these agencies to qualify for reimbursement from the
Medicaid program.  Currently, personal care agencies are
reimbursed for services through counties or other third−party
Medicaid providers.

This emergency order makes it possible for personal care
agencies to bill the Wisconsin Medicaid program directly by
complying with certification requirements in the Medicaid
regulations. The overall outcome for the small businesses
affected by the rules should be positive.

2009 Act 28, the 2009−11 biennial budget bill, expands the
types of entities that can be certified by the department as
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Medicaid personal care providers.  In particular, personal care
agencies other than counties, Tribes, home health agencies,
and Independent Living Centers can be certified directly as
Medicaid providers.  This emergency rule amends the
existing Medicaid personal care certification rule, DHS 105,
to implement the biennial budget provisions.

Counties, Tribes, home health agencies, and Independent
Living Centers that are already Medicaid certified personal
care providers under the prior statutory provisions, can
remain personal care providers, without initiating or going
through an application process.

In addition to specifying the certification procedures for
independently certified personal care agencies, the
emergency rule also updates requirements and includes new
requirements for personal care providers to strengthen the
protection of clients’ health, safety, and rights.  These changes
apply both to existing certified personal care providers and to
personal care agencies that seek certification under the Act 28
provisions. Based on consultations with personal care
providers, these new requirements are best practices that have
generally already been adopted by providers.  For this reason
they are not expected to impose new workload on providers.

The fiscal impact on small business as defined in s. 227.114
(1), Stats., should be minimal.  The items listed below have
been identified as potentially increasing revenues or costs to
personal care providers.

Independent personal care agency certification
The provisions of the emergency rule will allow personal

care agencies that provide services under contract with a
county, Tribe, home health agency, or independent living
center to become independently certified and bill the
Medicaid program directly for personal care services.  In
addition, other agencies that do not currently serve Medical
Assistance recipients will be able to be certified as Medical
Assistance providers, begin serving Medical Assistance
recipients, and be reimbursed for their services.  The rule
provisions would increase revenues for agencies that seek to
be certified.

Application and annual fee
Personal care agencies that seek Medicaid certification

under the provisions of Act 28 will be required to pay an initial
application fee and an annual fee. Fees will be established by
the Department’s Division of Quality Assurance and may be
periodically revised.  The amount of the annual fee will be
based on a number of factors including revenues from
operations.   The Division of Quality Assurance anticipates
that initially the application fee will be $300.  It is anticipated
the annual fee will range from a minimum of $500, not to
exceed $2,500 and will be based on the annual revenue of the
freestanding personal care agency.

Minimize Risk of Infection
The first substantive revision requires agencies to provide

staff training and proper supplies to minimize the risk of
infection and to monitor for compliance.  This requirement is
expected to result in minimal costs to providers because many
personal care providers in Wisconsin already provide staff
training and monitoring to meet current standards of practice
and Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines.  Any
provider that does not meet this standard is able to access
information from CDC’s web site to train their staff and start
their monitoring program.  Additional costs for sundry
supplies (e.g., gloves, masks, etc.) are expected to be minimal.

Communicable disease screening
Personal care providers will be required to ensure that

employees are screened for the presence of clinically apparent
communicable diseases, including tuberculosis, within 90
days before the employee has direct client contact.  This
standard is similar to employee health screening requirements
for nursing homes, home health agencies, hospices, hospitals,
facilities for the developmentally disabled and restaurants.
The Journal of American Medical Association (April 19,
2000) identifies health care workers as a group at risk for
acquiring tuberculosis.  Pulmonary tuberculosis is a
contagious disease that is usually spread through the coughing
and sneezing of an infected person.  Transmission of the
infection usually occurs only after prolonged exposure.  It is
important for persons in high risk groups to be tested to ensure
they are free from infectious disease to prevent exposure and
spread of the disease to clients and to identify the need for
treatment.

The average time to complete the pre−employment
screening is estimated to be 30 minutes, at an estimated cost
of $14 per employee.  Although not required by rule, this may
encourage providers to complete a tuberculosis skin test, at an
average cost of $50 each.
Training and Orientation

The rules will require an estimated additional 4 hours of
training and orientation for personal care workers (PCWs)
and registered nurses.  It is estimated that the average hourly
rate is $28.00 salary and fringe.  Estimated per staff costs are
$116 per affected employee.
Discharge summary

The proposed rules require the completion of a discharge
summary for all clients.  It is estimated that a registered nurse
will need 10 minutes to complete this requirement.  The
per−client cost is estimated at $7 ($40 per hour salary and
fringe x 10 minutes).

Small Business Impact
The proposed rule will affect at least 10% of the small

businesses affected by the rule, but the rules will not have a
significant negative economic impact on those businesses.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
Rosie Greer
rosie.greer@dhs.wisconsin.gov
608−266−1279

Fiscal Estimate
A copy of the full fiscal estimate may be obtained from the

department’s contact person listed below upon request.
Summary

A proposal included by the Wisconsin Legislature in the
biennial budget act, 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, expands the
types of entities whose personal care services may be
reimbursable by Medical Assistance. To implement the
legislation, the department has developed rules by which to
certify personal care providers other than county agencies,
home health agencies, tribes and Independent Living Centers
that want to directly bill and be reimbursed by the Medical
Assistance program for personal care services provided to
recipients of Medical Assistance. This will allow existing
personal care providers that currently bill the Medical
Assistance program through one of the types of agency listed
above to directly bill the Medical Assistance program, in the
event their billing agency discontinues Medical Assistance
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certification as a personal care agency. In addition, some
additional personal care agencies that do not serve Medical
Assistance recipients will be able to be certified as Medical
Assistance providers, begin serving Medical Assistance
recipients, and be reimbursed for their services.

The rule allows small businesses to bill the Wisconsin
Medicaid program for reimbursement for services they
provide where they cannot do so now. As a result, rule will be
beneficial to them, as it will allow them to bill the Medicaid
program for reimbursement.

Act 28 included these provisions because it was anticipated
that some counties may choose to discontinue their Medicaid
personal care certification when they implement Family Care.
The provisions would allow independently certified personal
care agencies to serve Medicaid recipients who were
previously served by the county.  The rule provisions will not
have any fiscal effect on state agencies other than those
already reflected in Act 28.

In addition, the rule includes new provisions applying to all
personal care providers regarding infection control,
communicable disease screening, training and orientation,
and discharge summaries.  These provisions will not increase
state agency costs.  The provisions may result in a minimal
cost increase for county agencies certified as personal care
providers.

State fiscal effect
None.

Local government fiscal effect
Indeterminate.

Private sector fiscal effect
Indeterminate.

Long−range fiscal implications
None known.

Agency Contact Person
Pat Benesh, Quality Assurance Program Spec−Senior
Division of Quality Assurance
1 West Wilson St., Room 534
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: 608−264−9896
Fax:  608−267−0352
Email:  patricia.benesh@wisconsin.gov

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
(Without Hearing)
Health Services

Health, Chs. DHS 110—
Economic Support, Chs. DHS 250—

CR 09−115

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 227.11
(2) (a), Stats., and according to the procedure set forth in s.
227.16 (2) (e), Stats., the Department of Health Services will
adopt a rule as proposed in this notice, without public hearing
unless within 30 days after publication of this notice in the
Wisconsin Administrative Register on January 1, 2010, the
Department of Health Services is petitioned for a public
hearing by 25 natural persons who will be affected by the rule;
a municipality which will be affected by the rule; or an
association which is representative of a farm, labor, business
or professional group which will be affected by the rule.

The rule repeals Chapters DHS 117, 160 and 253, and
revises Chapter DHS 172, relating to fees for copies of health
care provider records, registration of sanitarians, child
support cooperation for food stamps, and safety, maintenance
and operation of public swimming pools and water
attractions, and affecting small businesses.

Submission of Written Comments
General questions may be submitted to:
Rosie Greer
Department of Health Services
608−266−1279
Rosie.greer@dhs.wi.gov

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health
Services

Similar to the legislature’s need to periodically make
corrections and minor revisions to the Wisconsin statutes, the
Department must periodically make such revisions to the
Department’s section of the Wisconsin administrative code
and to its administrative rules.  The changes made under this
order are due to changes made to state law or rules and are
intended to have little or no substantive effect on persons
regulated by the rules.

DHS 117
The legislature, under 2009 Act 28, established a fee

schedule for medical record copies under s. 146.83, Stats.,
which replaces the medical record copy fee schedule
established by the department under ch. DHS 117.  Under this
order, the department repeals ch. DHS 117.

DHS 160
The legislature, under 2005 Act 25, transferred authority to

regulate sanitarians to the department of regulation and
licensing (DRL). DRL subsequently promulgated chs. RL
174 to 177 to regulate sanitarians. The department’s rules for
sanitarians are under ch. DHS 160.  Under this order, the
department repeals ch. DHS 160.

DHS 172
The department of commerce repealed and recreated ch.

Comm 90 (Clearinghouse Rule 08−056) which resulted in the
renumbering of various sections of that chapter.  Chapter DHS
172 includes cross−references to a number of sections in ch.
Comm 90.  In addition to inaccurate cross−references, the
DHS 172 contains language in need of correction or
clarification. Under this order, the department updates the
cross−references, and revises language in ch. DHS 172.

DHS 253
The legislature, under 2007 Act 20, repealed s. 49.79 (2)

(a), Stats., the child support cooperation requirement for food
stamp eligibility.  The department’s rules for implementing
these requirements are under ch. DHS 253.  Under this order,
the department repeals ch. DHS 253.

Comparison with federal regulations
Not applicable.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
Not applicable.

Iowa:
Not applicable.

Michigan:
Not applicable.
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Minnesota:
Not applicable.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The department reviewed statutes, Acts, and the rules
presented in this order to determine which rules needed to be
repealed or revised.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The revisions will not have a fiscal effect on businesses.

Small Business Impact

The revisions will not have a fiscal effect on businesses.

Fiscal Estimate

There will be no fiscal effect on the state, local, or the
private sector.

Summary

Similar to the legislature’s need to periodically make
corrections and minor revisions to the Wisconsin statutes, the
Department must periodically make such revisions to the
Department’s section of the Wisconsin administrative code
and to its administrative rules.  The changes made under this
order are due to changes made to state law or rules and are
intended to have little or no substantive effect on persons
regulated by the rules.

The legislature, under 2009 Act 28, established a fee
schedule for medical record copies under s. 146.83, Stats.,
which replaces the medical record copy fee schedule
established by the department under ch. DHS 117.  Under this
order, the department repeals ch. DHS 117.

The legislature, under 2005 Act 25, transferred authority to
regulate sanitarians to the department of regulation and
licensing (DRL). DRL subsequently promulgated chs. RL
174 to 177 to regulate sanitarians. The department’s rules for
sanitarians are under ch. DHS 160.  Under this order, the
department repeals ch. DHS 160.

The legislature, under 2007 Act 20, repealed s. 49.79 (2)
(a), Stats., the child support cooperation requirement for food
stamp eligibility.  The department’s rules for implementing
these requirements are under ch. DHS 253.  Under this order,
the department repeals ch. DHS 253.

The department of commerce repealed and recreated ch.
Comm 90 (Clearinghouse Rule 08−056) which resulted in the
renumbering of various sections of that chapter.  Chapter DHS
172 includes cross−references to a number of sections in ch.
Comm 90.  In addition to inaccurate cross−references, the
DHS 172 contains language in need of correction or
clarification. Under this order, the department updates the
cross−references, and revises language in ch. DHS 172.

State fiscal effect

None.

Local government fiscal effect

None.

Private sector fiscal effect

None.

Long−range fiscal implications

None known.

Text Of Proposed Rule

SECTION 1. Chapter DHS 117 is repealed.

SECTION 2. Chapter DHS 160 is repealed.

SECTION 3. DHS 172.04 (13), (27) (c) 1., (39), (40), and (45)
are amended to read:

DHS 172.04 (13) “Deep portion” means a water depth
greater than 5.5 portion of a pool having a design water depth
greater than 5 feet.

(27) (c) 1.  A certificate from the American Red Cross
“CPR for the Professional RescuerCPR−AED for
Lifeguards” course.

(39)  “Pool and water attraction area” means, in an outdoor
facility, the pool or water attraction and the area within the
basin’s enclosure and, in an indoor facility, the pool or water
attraction and the required deck as specified in s. Comm 90.09
Comm 90.13 (1) &and (2).

 (40)  “Pool slide” means a slide where the drop from the
slide terminus to water is less than 20 inches (50.8
centimeters) and the flume carries less than 100 gallons of
water per minute.

 (45) “Superchlorination” means the addition of an
oxidizing product such as chlorine to pool water to raise the
level of the oxidizer to raise the level of oxidizer to at least 10
ppm. “Superchlorination” is sometimes referred to as
“superoxidation”.

SECTION 4. DHS 172.05 (4) (a) 4. is amended to read:
DHS 172.05 (4) (a) 4. A statement from an engineer who

worked on the pool indicating that it was completed in
accordance with the pool’s construction plan under s. Comm
90.0490.05 (1) (c).

SECTION 5. DHS 172.11 (1) is amended to read:
DHS 172.11 (1)  GENERAL. As required by s. Comm

90.11, each Each pool shall have a water recirculation system
with disinfection treatment and filtration equipment
consisting of overflow gutters or skimmers, main drains,
inlets, pumps, piping, and filters. The system shall be operated
continuously except for seasonal closing or during periods of
necessary maintenance.

Note: See s. Comm 90.14 for design requirements for the
recirculation system.

SECTION 6.  DHS 172.11 Table B is amended to read:

Table DHS 172.11−B 
Maximum Turnover Time for Therapy and Exercise Pools 

Temperature in º
F. (º C.) 

Load (gals/
person)a 

Maximum Turnover
Time  (hours) 

<72−93
(22−33 º C.) 

> 2,500 4 

<72−93
(22−33 º C.) 

> 450 2 

<72−93
(22−33 º C.) 

< 450 1 

>93−104
(33−40 º C.) 

N/A 0.5 

N/A = not applicable. 
a The number is equal to posted patron load. 

SECTION 7. DHS 172.13 (1) (intro.) and (a) are amended to
read:

 DHS 172.13 (1)   GENERAL. As required in s. Comm
90.12 (1) (b), all All disinfectant feeders shall be approved by
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the department of commerce and installed according to the
manufacturer’s directions,and used only with the disinfectant
recommended by the manufacturer and meet all of the
following requirements:

(a) Feeders shall be automatic, easily adjustable, capable of
providing the required chemical residuals, equipped with
flow control valves upstream and downstream from the
feeder, easily disassembled for cleaning and maintenance,
durable, and capable of accurate feeding with a rate−of−flow
meter installed to accurately measure the flow through the
feeder system.
SECTION 8.  Table DHS 172.14 is amended to read:

Table DHS 172.14 
Minimum Disinfectant Residuals 

  Minimum Free
 Chlorine Residual 

Total 
Bromine 

Swimming and Activity Pools

Swimming and Activity Pool 1.0 ppm 3.0 ppm 

Swimming and Activity Pool With
Stabilizer 

1.5 ppm N/A 

Wading Pools  

Wading Pool 2.0 ppm 4.0 ppm 

Wading Pool With Stabilizer 3.0 ppm N/A 

Whirlpool, Exercise, 
Therapy Pools  

Whirlpool, Exercise, or Therapy
Pool 

3.0 ppm 7.0 ppm 

Whirlpool With Stabilizer 4.0 ppm N/A 

Water Attractions Other Than
Those Specified 

  

Water Attraction Other Than Those
Specified 

1.0 ppm 3.0 ppm 

Water Attraction Other Than Those
Specified With Stabilizer 

1.5 ppm  N/A 

Plunge Pools and Wave Pools    

Plunge and Wave Pool 2.0 ppm 5.0ppm 

Plunge/ Wave Pool With Stabilizer 3.0 ppm N/A 

Interactive Play Attractions  

Interactive Play Attraction 2.0 ppm 5.0 ppm 

Interactive Play Attraction With 
Stabilizer 

3.0 ppm 7.0 ppm 

Waterslides and Pool Slides   

Waterslides and Pool Slides 2.0 ppm 5.0 ppm 

Waterslides With Stabilizer 3.0 ppm N/A 

SECTION 9. DHS 172.14 (2) (c) 8. Note is repealed.

SECTION 10. DHS 172.15 (1) is amended to read:
DHS 172.15 (1)  CHLORINE GENERATORS. Chlorine

generators shall be NSF approved and installed according to
NSF and manufacturer instructions. An additional
disinfection system shall remain on line to provide the
capacity to superchlorinate the water as specified in s. Comm
90.12 (1) (c)and maintain the required sanitizer residual.

SECTION 11. DHS 172.17 (3) is amended to read:
DHS 172.17 (3) The disinfectant testing reagent shall be

diethyl–p–phenylene diamine (DPD) in powder or liquid
form. A test kit using the titrimetric method (FAS−DPD) for
chlorine and bromine testing and colorimetric comparators
used for additional water testing shall be approved by the
department and shall provide for accurate comparison in the
required range for each test as stated in s. DHS 172.14 (4). The
test equipment shall provide for direct measurement of free
and combined chlorine from 0 to 10 ppm in increments of 0.2
ppm. If bromine is used, the testing equipment shall provide
for direct measurement of total bromine from 0 to 20 ppm in
increments of 0.2 0.5 ppm.

SECTION 12. DHS 172.19 (4) (b) is amended to read:
DHS 172.19 (4) (b) Except in par. (d), the water

temperature of an indoor pool shall be between 72ºF.
(2522ºC.) and 95ºF. (35ºC.). The minimum water temperature
for an outdoor pool shall be 65ºF. (18ºC.).

SECTION 13. DHS 172.22 (2) (b) 1. and 3. are amended to
read:

DHS 172.22 (2) (b) 1.  American Red Cross Water Park
Lifeguard Training certificate.

3.  National Pool and Water park International Lifeguard
Training Program certificate.
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SECTION 14.  Table DHS 172.23 B is amended to read:

Table DHS 172.23−B 
Required Number of Lifeguards and Attendants Based on Pool Type  

Pool Type Lifeguard and Attendant Staffing Requirements 

Activity Pools At least one lifeguard is required if the pool contains one of the following:
1. A pad walk.
2. A tethered floatable more than 18 inches long in 2 directions. Appendages such as alligator feet
should not be included in determining the length.
3. A non−tethered floatable. Non−tethered floatables do not include tire inner tubes used in leisure
rivers or waterslides. 

Leisure Rivers At least one attendant is required at the entrance of the leisure river. The attendant shall have a
clear line of sight for all areas of the river, or additional attendants are required so that all areas of
the river are in view of at least one attendant. 

Vanishing Edge
Pools 

At least one lifeguard regardless of the square footage, unless the water attraction is limited to
adult use only. 

Vortex Pools and
Current Pools 

At least one lifeguard is required whenever the pool is occupied by a patron.  

Wave Pools At least one lifeguard is required regardless of the square footage of the pool. Additional lifeguard
staffing shall be based on the patron load requirements in Table DHS 172.23−A. 

Pools with a Visual
Obstruction 

At least one attendant is required if the pool has a visual obstruction larger than 10 feet in length
by 6 feet in height by 5 feet in width or if the visual obstruction covers more than 20 percent of the
pool’s basin. 

Pools with Diving
Boards or Platforms 

At least one lifeguard for every 2 diving boards or platforms in the same pool. 

Pools with Slides
 

1. Children’s Slide: No attendant is required.
2. Poolslide: Greater than 4 feet but less than 6 feet in height, which drops into water greater than
4 feet deep: At least one lifeguard.
3. Poolslide: Less than 6 feet in height, with an obstructed view of slide terminus at 43 inches at
entry point: At least one lifeguard.
4. Drop slide: Less than 6 feet in height: At least one lifeguard
5. Run−out slide: 
Greater than 6 feet in height clear view of the terminus end: At least one attendant on top platform.
Greater than 6 feet obstructed view of the terminus end: At least one attendant on top and bottom
of run−out.
Less than 6 feet clear view of terminus end: No attendant or lifeguard required
6. Waterslide: 
Greater than 6 feet: Attendant on top of the slide, lifeguard on bottom and means of 2−way com-
munication between attendants and lifeguards. 
Less than 6 feet with a clear view of terminus end and no obstructions around slide: At least one
lifeguard. 

Wading Pools Wading pools do not require a lifeguard or attendant unless there is a large obstruction per ss.
Comm 90.18 (3)90.20 (4) and 90.30 (3) (90.30 (3).

Exercise Pools Exercise pools do not require a lifeguard or attendant. 

Whirlpools If a whirlpool is located within a water attraction complex, at least one attendant shall provide
periodic supervision of the whirlpool. If a whirlpool is not guarded or attended with an attendant
assigned at all times, a sign shall be posted that states in letters that are at least 4 inches high:
Non−guarded area. 

Therapy Pools At least one attendant who has current CPR certification is required for a therapy.  

Interactive Play
Attraction 
(Splash Pads) 

An interactive play attraction not restricted by an enclosure shall have at least one attendant on the
premises. The attendant shall provide periodic supervision of the water attraction as specified in
the staffing plan. 
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SECTION 15. DHS 172.26 (1) (b) and (c) and (2) Note are
amended to read:

DHS 172.26 (1) (b) For each basin of water over 4 feet in
length and over 2 feet deep, a shepard’sshepherd’s crook−type
pole shall be provided. In addition, for each lifeguard chair, or
for a pool 30 feet or more in width that does not have lifeguard
chairs, at least one of the following shall be provided:

(c) The safety rope required in s. Comm 90.08 (4)90.18 (1)
shall remain in place except during a lifeguarded activity or
adult only lap swim. The responsible supervisor shall ensure
the rope is in place during required times.

(2) Note: A request for an alternative location for a
telephone or another system of communication that provides
access to emergency service during hours of pool operation
may be made under s. DHS 173.02 (2)172.03 (2).

SECTION 16.  DHS 172.29 (3) (f) is amended to read:
DHS 172.29 (3) (f) Minors under the age of 6 and under are

not permitted in the whirlpool.

SECTION 17. DHS 172.33 (1) (d) and (g), (2) (a) Note, and
(4) (c) Note are amended to read:

DHS 172.33 (1) (d)  Hosing. Hosing shall be provided in
adequate lengths to flush the entire pool deck. All hose bibbs
shall be protected against backsiphonage by the proper
installation of an approved backflow prevention device as
required under s. Comm 90.13 (6)90.16 (4).

 (g)  Drinking fountain. Each drinking fountain required
under ss.s.Comm 90.09 (3) and 90.16 90.19 shall be
maintained in clean and sanitary condition.

 (2) (a)   Note: See chapter s. Comm 9090.19 for additional
information.

(4) (c)   Note: Refer to chapter s. Comm 9090.16 for
department of commerce installation requirements.

SECTION 18.  DHS 172.34 (5) Note is amended to read:
DHS 172.34 (5) Note: See chapter s. Comm 9090.18 (4)

for additional rules relating to the outdoor pool enclosure.

SECTION 19. DHS 172.35 (1) and (2) are amended to read:
DHS 172.35 (1) All waterslides and pool slides shall be

designed and installed as required in s. Comm 90.3090.31.

 (2)   Waterslide and pool slide lubrication shall be in
accordance with s. Comm 90.30 (4) 90.31 (4). Run−out slide
flume lubrication systems shall comply with the requirements
in s. Comm 90.206 (3) (b) 2. and 3 90.31 (4) (a).

SECTION 20.  DHS 172.36 (2) (a) is amended to read:
DHS 172.36 (2) (a) If access to the interactive play

attraction is not restricted by an enclosure, an attendant shall
be present to provide periodic supervision.

SECTION 21. Chapter DHS 253 is repealed.

Agency Contact Person
Rosie Greer
Department of Health Services
608−266−1279
Rosie.greer@dhs.wi.gov

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

EmR0930, CR 09−095
(Reprinted with Rescheduled Hearing)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to the
authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth under ss. 227.18 and 227.24 (4), Stats.,
subject to the Commissioner’s approval of the Statement of
Scope, the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI )
will hold a public hearing to consider the adoption of
emergency rules and proposed permanent rules creating
section Ins 3.34, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to coverage of
dependents to age 27 and affecting small business.

Hearing Information

Date: January 14, 2010
Time: 10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the matter 

  may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 227 (2nd Floor)

125 South Webster Street, Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 334
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Julie E. Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 334
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Julie E. Walsh
julie.walsh@wisconsin.gov

Web site:  http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin
Administrative Rule Web site at: http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Fiscal Estimate
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the Web site
at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting:

Inger Williams, OCI Services
Phone:   (608) 264−8110
Email:   inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster Street — 2nd Floor

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873
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Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statutes interpreted

Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12), 632.885, Stats.

Statutory authority

Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority

The commissioner is authorized by s. 601.41, Stats., to
propose rules in accordance with s. 227.11 (2), Stats., in order
for the commissioner to administer and enforce the insurance
statutes.  Since passage of 2009 Wis. Act 28, the
commissioner has been made aware of dramatic differences
in interpretation and approaches to implementation that
necessitate rule making.

Related statutes or rules

None.

Plain language analysis
The proposed rule interprets and implements the

requirements of s. 632.885, Stats., by clarifying and defining
eligibility criteria and providing guidance as to how insurers
and self−insured health plans are to determine an adult child’s
eligibility for coverage.  The proposed rule clarifies that the
mandate applies to individual and group health insurance,
limited−scope health insurance including vision and dental
plans as well as self−insured health plans.  The rule also
clarifies that this mandate does not apply to certain insurance
products including long−term care and Medigap policies.
Further, as described in the applicability provisions of 2009
Wis. Act 28, the rule states when the mandate first applies,
including the initial applicability for collectively bargained
health plans.

The proposed rule provides clarity through definitions of
“premium contribution” and “premium amount.”  The
commissioner received the greatest volume of inquiries
seeking guidance on how the premium comparison was to be
conducted.  The proposed rule simplifies and guides insurers
and self−insured plans on exactly what is to be compared for
this element of eligibility determination.

Guidance is provided regarding to whom an offer of
coverage for an eligible adult child is to be given and
reinforces the statutory provision that it is only the applicant
or the insured who determines whether or not an eligible
dependent is added to his or her health plan.  The rule further
informs insurers and self−insured plans on prohibited
practices that would unduly restrict an otherwise eligible
dependent from coverage contrary to the intent of the statute.

Specifically the rule provides specific guidance to insurers
offering individual health insurance products as compared to
insurers or self−insured health plans offering group health
insurance coverage.  Insurers offering individual health
insurance may rate, may utilize pre−existing condition
waiting periods and may apply elimination riders to an
eligible adult child but may not impose such limitations as
coverage would be rendered illusory.  Insurers offering group
health insurance or limited−scope insurance and self−insured
health plans must comply with s. 632.746, Stat., with regards
to pre−existing condition waiting periods and application of
creditable coverage.  The rule also requires insurers and
self−insured health plans to treat an eligible adult child as a
new entrant and provide annually at least a 30−day enrollment
period.

Finally, the rule clarifies s. 632.885 (2) (a) 3. and (b) 3.,
Stats.  An adult child is an eligible adult child when the child
is between the ages of 17 and 27, is not married and who is not
eligible for his or her employer sponsored coverage or whose
employer does not offer health insurance to its employees.  An
adult child who has been called to federal active duty is an
eligible adult child when a full−time student, less than 27
years of age when called to active duty.  The rule clarifies that
the adult child will have up to 12 months after completing
active duty to apply for full−time student status at an
institution of higher education, and that if the adult child is
called more than once in four years of the first call to active
duty, insurers and self−insured health plans may only use the
adult child’s age at the time of the first call to active duty when
determining eligibility.

Comparison with federal regulations

There is no existing regulation directly related to this new
mandate.  The federal government, US House and Senate are
currently debating health insurance reform and at this time the
office is aware that some of the proposals will be revised to
contain similar requirements for extending coverage to adult
children, but none have passed as of this date.

Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states

Illinois:
215 ILCS 5/356z.12 provides parents with the option of

keeping unmarried dependents on their health care insurance
up to age 26. Parents with dependents who are veterans can
keep dependents on the plans up to age 30. The veterans must
be unmarried, must be Illinois residents, and must have
received a discharge other than dishonorable.  Veterans do not
have to be enrolled as full−time students.

Iowa:
Iowa Code § 509.3 and Iowa Code § 514E.7 requires that

health insurance providers continue to cover unmarried
children under their parents’ coverage provided that the child:
1) is under the age of 25 and a current resident of Iowa, 2) is
a full−time student, or 3) has a disability.  Iowa Code §
509A.13.B, effective July 1, 2009, allows reenrollment of the
same children in previously existing coverage under certain
circumstances.

Michigan:
No comparable regulations found.  Michigan Code §

500.3406g prohibits the denial of enrollment on certain
grounds for plans offering dependent coverage, and §
500.3406h addresses the eligibility of parents for dependent
coverage and the health coverage of children through
noncustodial parents.  § 500.2264 provides exception for the
termination of dependent coverage at specified age if a child
is incapable of self−support due to mental or physical
disability.

Minnesota:
Minnesota Chapter 62E.02 Defines ”dependent” as a

spouse or unmarried child under age 25, or a dependent child
of any age who is disabled.

Ohio:
(information only) Ohio Rev. Code § 1751.14, as

amended by 2009 OH H 1 allows an unmarried, dependent
child who is an Ohio resident or a full−time student to remain
on parent’s insurance up to age 28, or without regard to age if
they are incapable of self−sustaining employment due to
disability.
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Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The commissioner reviewed existing interpretation of
terms used within the new mandate that are used in other areas
of the statutes and administrative code for consistency.
Further the commissioner considered the intent of the
mandate and proposed rules that furthered that intent.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine rule’s
effect on small businesses

Although there are some limited−scope health insurers that
may meet the definition of a small business, the effect on the
insurers will not be significant since insurers will be able to
assess and collect premium for the inclusion of the eligible
adult child or may apply limitations on coverage.
Intermediaries, some of whom may meet the definition of a
small business will need to become familiar with this
regulation but will not significantly effect those persons.

Small Business Impact

This rule will have little or no effect on small businesses
and does not impose any additional requirements on small
businesses.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator

The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and
may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate

State fiscal effect

None.

State government fiscal effect

None.

Private sector fiscal effect

No significant effect on the private sector regulated by
OCI.

Long−range fiscal implications

None.

Agency Contact Person

Inger Williams, OCI Services
Phone:   (608) 264−8110
Email:   inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster Street — 2nd Floor

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Notice of Hearing

Public Instruction
EmR0933, CR 09−106

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss.
115.745 (3) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Department of
Public Instruction will hold a public hearing to consider
emergency rules and proposed permanent rules creating
Chapter PI 39, relating to grants for tribal language
revitalization.  The hearing will be held as follows:

Hearing Information
Date and Time Location
January 15, 2010 Madison
2:30 — 4:00 p.m. GEF 3 Building

125 South Webster Street
Room 041

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you require reasonable accommodation to
access any meeting, please call JP Leary, American Indian
Studies Program Consultant, at (608) 267−2283 or leave a
message with the Teletypewriter (TTY) at (608) 267−2427 at
least 10 days prior to the hearing date.  Reasonable
accommodation includes materials prepared in an alternative
format, as provided under the Americans with Disabilities
Act.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Agency Contact Person
The administrative rule and fiscal note are available on the

internet at http://dpi.wi.gov/pb/rulespg.html.  A copy of the
proposed rule and the fiscal estimate also may be obtained by
sending an email request to lori.slauson@dpi.wi.gov or by
writing to:

Lori  Slauson, Administrative Rules and Federal Grants
Coordinator

Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI  53707

Submission of Written Comments
Written comments on the proposed rules received by Ms.

Slauson at the above mail or email address no later than
January 22, 2010, will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Public
Instruction

Statute interpreted
Section 115.745, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 115.745 (3) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 115.745 (3), Stats., requires the department to

promulgate rules to implement and administer this program.
Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., gives an agency rule−making

authority to interpret the provisions of any statute enforced or
administered by it, if the agency considers it necessary to
effectuate the purpose of the statute.

Related statute or rule
N/A

Plain language analysis
2009 Wisconsin Act 28, the biennial budget bill, created a

new competitive grant program under s. 115.745, Stats.,
appropriating $247,500 annually for a school board or
cooperative educational service agency (CESA), in
conjunction with a tribal education authority to apply to the
department for a grant for the purpose of supporting
innovative, effective instruction in one or more American
Indian languages.

The proposed rule establishes criteria and procedures for
awarding grants to eligible applicants. Rules must be in place
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as soon as possible to award grants in time for the upcoming
school year.  Therefore, emergency rules were promulgated
effective December 15, 2009.

Comparison with federal regulations

 N/A

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and Minnesota do not have rules
relating to grants for tribal language revitalization.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

Because 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 creating this grant
program became effective June 30, 2009, the rule established
an application deadline of January 29, 2010 to expedite the
awarding of funds in 2009−10. In subsequent years,
applications will be due March 1 to coincide with application
timelines established for other grants awarded by the
department.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

N/A

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

N/A

Small Business Impact

The proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.

Fiscal Estimate

Under s. 20.255 (2) (km), Stats., 2009 Wisconsin Act 28,
the biennial budget bill, appropriated $247,500 annually to
create a new competitive grant program under s. 115.745,
Stats.  The grant program allows a school board or CESA in
conjunction with a tribal education authority to apply to the
department for a grant for the purpose of supporting
innovative, effective instruction in one or more American
Indian languages.

The rule establishes criteria and procedures for awarding
these program grants. The rule, itself, will not increase local
revenue. It is the school district’s choice as to whether it will
apply for a grant and implement an American Indian language
program.

The costs associated with administering this grant program
will be absorbed by the department.

Agency Contact Person
JP Leary
American Indian Studies Program Consultant
(608) 267−2283
jp.leary@dpi.state.wi.us.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

CR 09−113

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 342.245
(3) and (4), Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold
a public hearing to consider the creation of Chapter Trans 148,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to electronic recording and release
of liens by non−individual creditors.

Hearing Information

Date and Time Location
January 29, 2010 Hill Farms State Transportation

   Building
11:00 a.m. Room 144−B

4802 Sheboygan Avenue
Madison, WI

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for this hearing.  Parking for persons with disabilities
and an accessible entrance are available.

Copies of Proposed Rule
A copy of the rule may be obtained upon request from

Carson Frazier, Department of Transportation, Bureau of
Vehicle Services, Room 253, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, WI
53707−7911.  You may also contact Ms. Frazier by phone at
(608) 266−7857 or via e−mail:  carson.frazier@dot.state.
wi.us.

Submission of Written Comments
The public record on this proposed rule making will be held

open until close of business the day of the hearing to permit
the submission of comments in lieu of public hearing
testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at
the hearing.  Any such comments should be submitted to
Carson Frazier, Department of Transportation, Bureau of
Vehicle Services, Room 253, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, WI
53707−7911.  You may also contact Ms. Frazier by phone at
(608) 266−7857 or via e−mail:  carson.frazier@dot.state.
wi.us.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the
current rule, and submit written comments via
e−mail/internet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenoti
ces.htm.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutes interpreted
Sections 342.19 (2) (a), 342.20 (2) and (3), 342.22 (1) and

(2), and 342.245, Stats.

Statutory authority
Section 342.245 (3) and (4), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 342.245 of the Wisconsin Statutes requires a

secured party to use an electronic process prescribed by the
Department of Transportation to file a security interest
statement, and deliver a release of a security interest in a
motor vehicle and to pay a fee for those actions. The
Department may, by rule, exempt a person or a type of
transaction from those requirements, except that any person
who is exempted shall pay a fee to the department for
processing applications and releases submitted by the person
utilizing a process other than an electronic process. The
statutes require the Department to promulgate rules to
implement and administer these requirements. This
rulemaking does that.

Related statute or rule
Sections 85.16 (1), 227.11, 342.19 (2), 342.20 (2) and (3),

342.22 (1) and (2), 342.245, Stats.
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Plain language analysis

2009 Wis. Act 28 created s. 342.245, Stats., and amended
related provisions, to require secured parties that are not
individuals to file a security interest in a vehicle utilizing an
electronic process prescribed by the Department.  Act 28 also
authorizes the Department to exempt a person or a type of
transaction from that requirement.  Act 28 requires the
Department to promulgate administrative rules to implement
and administer the statute.

In this rule making, the Department proposes policies and
procedures to implement the requirement that non−individual
secured parties file a security interest statement electronically.
The Department uses as a model ch. Trans 141, which requires
licensed motor vehicle dealers to process title transactions
using an electronic process prescribed by the Department.

Similar to policies established in ch. Trans 141, the
Department, in ch. Trans 148, proposes to exempt from the
requirement of electronic filing of security interest statement
a secured party that has filed fewer than 49 security interest
statements on Wisconsin motor vehicle titles during the
previous calendar year.  The proposed rule states that the
Department may deny a secured party the authority to file and
release security interest statements electronically based on the
secured party’s inadequate performance.  As required by s.
342.245, Stats., and following the model of ch. Trans 141, the
Department proposes to charge a $5 fee per transaction for
processing applications submitted by secured parties not
required to process electronically, and the $5 fee and a $20
surcharge per transaction for processing applications
submitted by secured parties not authorized to process
electronically and by non−exempt secured parties that fail to
comply with the law.

The Department proposes to exempt two types of
transactions from the requirement that a secured party must
file security interest statements electronically and, for these
specifically exempted security interest transactions, the
Department shall not charge a secured party a processing fee.
First, if the security interest statement is being filed as part of
a certificate of title transaction for a vehicle; and second, if the
security interest statement is part of a transaction that is
prohibited from successful electronic transaction because of
an express limitation on the vehicle title or customer record,
or on the e−MV Agent internet−based web application or
APPS.

Comparison with federal regulations

No federal regulations govern the process covered in the
proposed rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Michigan:
Michigan has no requirement, allowance, or means for a

secured party to electronically file security interest
statements.

Minnesota:
Minnesota has no requirement or allowance for a secured

party to electronically file security interest statements.
Minnesota at one time had such a pilot program; however,
Minnesota has discontinued this practice.

Illinois:
Illinois has no requirement, allowance, or means for a

secured party to electronically file security interest
statements.

Iowa:
Iowa has no requirement, allowance, or means for a

secured party to electronically file security interest
statements.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
Since 2007, all licensed motor vehicle dealers are required

to process title and registration transactions.  This law is
implemented in chs. Trans 141 and Trans 156.

While financial institutions affected by ch. Trans 148 are
of course different from motor vehicle dealers, many of the
issues involved in electronically processing transactions and
updating the DMV database are the same.  For example, all
transactions are subject to the same federal and state privacy
laws and DMV security procedures.  All transactions utilize
the same methods of payment to DMV.

Therefore, the Department uses chs. Trans 141 and Trans
156 as a basis for ch. Trans 148, with changes as needed to
address the different needs of secured parties.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small businesses

The Department has analyzed the number of security
interests listed on motor vehicle titles, by non−individual
secured party, for calendar year 2008.  There are more than
15,700 different secured parties that have current liens listed
on motor vehicle titles.

The Department then excluded from the count security
interests that were added as part of a title transaction
(generally, a vehicle purchase in which the buyer obtained a
loan).  Of the total 15,700 secured parties, only about 2,080
secured parties listed security interests that are not part of a
title transaction.  Of the 2,080, only 433 secured parties listed
50 or more security interests, not part of a title transaction, in
2008.  The 433 secured parties that listed 50 or more security
interests are responsible for a total of 95,489 security interests
not part of a title transaction.  This is 88% of all security
interests that are not part of a title transaction listed in calendar
year 2008.  The remaining 1,647 secured parties listed only
13,311 security interests not part of a title transaction, or 12%
of all non−title security interests listed in 2008.

Therefore, the Department has concluded that a cut−off of
48 or fewer non−title transactions is a reasonable number.
This number is the same number of sales which exempt a
motor vehicle dealer from requirements under ch. Trans 141,
making program administration and communication with
DMV’s business partners easier while, at the same time, this
number captures a very large share of the security interest
filing volume.

In this proposed rule, the Department proposes the
exemption cut−off at 48 or fewer non−title security interests
listed during the previous calendar year.

Small Business Impact
Most non−individual secured parties are financial

institutions, located in and outside Wisconsin.  Virtually all
financial institutions maintain their records in electronic
format and possess computers and access to the Internet.  On
the other hand, the Department recognizes that some small
businesses do not possess this capability.

While there is not a direct connection between the size of
the business and the amount of business done with the
Department, the Department believes that this is an adequate
measure of a small business for which it may be difficult to
purchase necessary hardware and software, or to hire
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sufficient staff to manage electronic security interest
statement filing.  Therefore, the proposed rule exempts
secured parties that have filed 48 or fewer security interest
statements in motor vehicles during the previous calendar
year.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be

contacted by e−mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by
calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal Estimate
The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal

impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city,
village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult
education district, sewerage district, or federally−recognized
tribes or bands.

The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal
impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.

Agency Contact Person
Carson Frazier
Dept. of Transportation — Bureau of Vehicle Services
Room 253, P. O. Box 7911
Madison, WI  53707−7911
Phone :  (608) 266−7857
Email:  carson.frazier@dot.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279
CR 09−110

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 103.34
(13) and 227.11, Stats., the Department of Workforce
Development proposes to hold a public hearing to consider
the creation of Chapter DWD 273, relating to the regulation
of traveling sales crews.

Hearing Information

Date and Time Location
January 20, 2010 Madison
Wednesday G.E.F. 1 Building, B103
1:30 p.m. 201 E. Washington Avenue

Accessibility
Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter

through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk.  The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Copies of Proposed Rule
The proposed rules are available for review at the website

http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov and may also be obtained by
contacting Howard Bernstein, Office of Legal Counsel, Dept.
of Workforce Development, P.O. Box 7946, Madison, WI

53707−7946, (608) 266−9427, or Howard.Bernstein@
dwd.wisconsin.gov.

Appearances at the Hearing and Submission of Written
Comments

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Written comments on the rule may be submitted to the
website or to Howard Bernstein at the address listed above by
January 22, 2010, and will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development
Statutory authority

Sections 103.34 (13) and 227.11(2), Stats.
Statutes interpreted

Section 103.34 (13), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Section 103.34, Stats., created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 3,
provides for the regulation of traveling sales crews, which
involves the employment of groups of persons as salespersons
who travel to a variety of locations and sell consumer goods
or services door to door.  Section 103.34(13), Stats., provides
the authority for rules interpreting the statute, establishing
fees, and setting requirements for registration and safety.
Summary of the proposed rule

After providing brief statements on the authority, purpose
and applicability of the rule, the proposed rule enumerates the
items required for a certificate of registration.  These include:
a completed application form; two completed fingerprint
cards (for the purpose of a criminal background check) for
each person who is a proprietor, managing partner, manager,
principal officer, employee, agent or representative of the
traveling sales crew business who supervises or transports
traveling sales crew workers;  verification that the applicant
has a surety bond, a certificate of deposit, an escrow account,
or an irrevocable letter of credit, in the amount of at least
$10,000;  a registration fee, in the amount of $60 for each
individual for whom a background check is required;  a
mechanic’s certification that all vehicles to be used to
transport sales crews are in compliance with all safety
standards; copies of the information that is to be provided to
employees describing the transportation to be provided, and
any hazardous materials (such as cleaning supplies) that the
crew may be storing, handling, transporting or otherwise
having exposure to; and documents showing that the operator
applicant has the required amount of insurance coverage.

The proposed rule provides that the Department will begin
to process the application when it has received all of the
required documents, and it will complete its processing of the
application within 30 days of receipt of the results of the
criminal background check.

The proposed rule specifies standards for the fingerprint
cards that are to be submitted as part of the certification
application, requires the applicant or certified operator to
notify the Department of any change in information that has
been submitted to the Department, and provides that a
certificate of registration may be denied, suspended or
revoked if the Department determines that the applicant or
certified operator is not in compliance with the law.
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The proposed rule specifies the employment and wage
payment records that are to be maintained by a certified
operator.  The proposed rule requires that the vehicles used
must meet all safety requirements and that the certified
operator must provide written information to the crew
members on the safe handling, storage and transportation of
any products or other materials that accompany the crew in
their vehicles.

The proposed rule describes the information that must be
provided by the operator to the Department to obtain traveling
sales crew member permits.  This includes, for each crew
member, a government picture ID, information on the area of
recruitment, the locations where the crew will be working, a
description of the duties of the crew members, a description
of the products being sold, and a statement verifying that this
information has been provided to the crew member.  The
proposed rule provides that permit applications will be
processed and permits issued within ten days after the receipt
of all application materials.  The proposed rule provides that
operators and crew members are required to carry permits and
identification at all times while working.

The proposed rule provides that a person who is required
to obtain a traveling sales crew member permit is entitled to
file a claim for unpaid wages with the Department under sec.
109.09, Stats.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no federal law which regulates traveling sales

crews or which requires work permits for door to door sales.

Comparison with laws in adjacent states
None of the states adjacent to Wisconsin (Illinois, Iowa,

Michigan and Minnesota) has a law which regulates traveling
sales crews.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The proposed rule is based on the requirements of sec.

103.34, Stats.

Small Business Impact
Because the proposed rule carries forward the

requirements of the statute and does not establish new
requirements, the proposed rule does not have an effect on
small business.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The proposed rule does not create any costs that are

separate from costs potentially due to the new statute.

State fiscal effect
None.

Local government fiscal effect
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.

Agency Contact Person
Timara Budack, Section Chief
Labor Standards Section
(608) 267−2495
Timara.Budack@dwd.wisconsin.gov
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Pharmacy Examining Board
CR 09−098

A rule−making order to amend sections Phar 6.08, 7.12 (2)
(f) and 8.12 (2) (b), relating to security systems, utilization
reviews, and prescription orders transmitted by facsimile
machines.

Pharmacy Examining Board
CR 09−099

A rule−making order to create section Phar 7.095, relating
to remote dispensing sites.

Public Instruction
CR 09−074

A rule−making order to amend section PI 35.05 (12) (a) 2.
and to create sections PI 35.03 (1m) and 35.05 (4n), relating to
establishing a fee under the Milwaukee Parental Choice
Program.

Public Service Commission
CR 06−067

A rule−making order to revise Chapter PSC 160, relating to
universal telecommunications service, administration of the
universal service fund, and related changes.

Transportation
CR 09−041

A rule−making order to revise Chapter Trans 206, relating
to the local roads improvement program.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — General, Chs. NR 100—

CR 05−058
Rule revises Chapter NR 115, relating to minimum

standards for county shoreland ordinances.
Effective 2−1−10.
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Rules Published with this Register and Final Regulatory
Flexibility Analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the December 31, 2009, Wisconsin
Administrative Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to
the subscribers of the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 09−037

Rule revising Chapter ATCP 91, relating to method of sale
of commodities, including method of sale by weight, measure
or count.  Effective 1−1−10.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This rule changes current rules, which regulate methods of
sale of commodities (including required methods of sale by
weight, measure or count), to make them consistent with
standards published by the National Institute of Standards and
Technology (“NIST”) and adopted by 45 other states.  This
rule also updates and clarifies current rule coverage.

NIST has published specific method−of−sale standards for
certain commodities (these standards typically address
consumer protection or fair competition issues that have
arisen in connection with those particular commodities).  This
rule incorporates current NIST standards for the following
commodities (subject, in some cases, to exceptions required
by Wisconsin law):
Food products

� Meat, poultry, fish and seafood.
� Dairy products.
� Fresh fruits and vegetables.
� Butter, margarine and like spreads.
� Flour, corn meal and like products.
� Pickles and pickle relish.

Non−food products

� Fence wire.
� Coatings.
� Fireplace and stove wood.
� Peat and peat moss.
� Prefabricated utility buildings.
� Roofing and roofing material.
� Sealants.
� Sod and turf.
� Softwood lumber.
� Carpet.
� Hardwood lumber (retail)
� Polyethylene products.
� Insulation.
� Precious metals.
� Mulch.
� Liquefied petroleum gas.
� Liquid oxygen for respiration.

� Animal bedding.
� Wiping cloths.
� Baler twine.
� Potpourri.
� Communication paper.
� Bulk sand, rock, gravel and stone.

This rule incorporates the following general NIST
standards (or makes DATCP rules more consistent with those
NIST standards):
� Price declarations for food commodities sold from bulk by

weight (must be shown per whole unit, not fractional unit,
of weight).

� Price presentation (showing fractions of a cent).
� Combination quantity declarations.
� Vending machine labeling.
� Railroad car tare weights.

DATCP has not incorporated a small business enforcement
policy in this rule.  This rule will benefit businesses that sell
commodities in more than one state, because it incorporates
many of the NIST model standards and thus makes Wisconsin
standards more consistent with standards used in 45 other
states.   While this rule does add some new standards to current
rules, those standards are based on NIST standards with which
most affected businesses are already complying.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

On August 13, 2009, DATCP transmitted the above rule for
legislative review.  The rule was assigned to the Senate
Committee on Small Business, Emergency Preparedness,
Technical Colleges, and Consumer Protection and to the
Assembly Committee on Agriculture.  The Senate Committee
on Small Business, Emergency Preparedness, Technical
Colleges, and Consumer Protection did not hold a hearing and
took no action.  The Assembly Committee on Agriculture did
not hold a hearing and also took no action.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−030

Rule revising section A−E 6.03, relating to land surveying
experience.  Effective 1−1−10.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This citation correction of the rule will have no significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses,
as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were reported.
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Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−032

Rule creating Chapter A−E 10, relating to continuing
education for land surveyors.  Effective 1−1−10.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These rules will have no significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were reported.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−033

Rule revising section A−E 8.03 (5), relating to the
definitions of supervision, direct supervision, responsible
charge, and direction and control.  Effective 1−1−10.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These rules will have no significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were reported.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
CR 09−034

Rule revising section A−E 8.08 (3) and (4), relating to
failure to respond to information requests in conjunction with
an investigation of a complaint filed against a registrant.
Effective 1−1−10.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These rules will have no significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were reported.

Children and Families
Family and Economic Security, Chs. DCF 101−153

CR 09−059
Rule revising Chapter DCF 120, relating to emergency

assistance for needy families.  Effective 1−1−10.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The rule will affect small businesses as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats., but will not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2

Plumbing, Chs. Comm 81−87
CR 09−050

Rule revising Chapters Comm 2 and 82, relating to permits
to operate, registration and filing fees.  Effective 1−1−10.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rules increase the fees for permits to operate which will

affect businesses which own any boiler, pressure vessel,
anhydrous ammonia system, mechanical refrigeration
system, conveyance and passenger ropeway.

The revisions regarding the cross connection control
program will affect businesses where certain types of cross
connection control assemblies are to be installed or exist to
protect public water supplies.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Financial Institutions — Banking
CR 09−060

Rules revising Chapters DFI−Bkg 40 to 44, repealing
Chapter DFI−Bkg 45, and creating Chapter DFI−Bkg 47,
relating to the transition from a registration system to a license
system under subch. III of Ch. 224, Stats., branch offices,
mortgage broker agreements, surety bonds, and trade names.
Effective 1−1−10; except the repeal eff. 1−1−11.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule will have no adverse impact on small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Financial Institutions — Securities
CR 09−056

Rules revising Chapters DFI−Sec 1 to 5, 7 and 9, relating to
minor revisions to securities sections for conformity with
Wisconsin securities statutes, filings, and securities agent
examination matters.  Effective 1−1−10.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule will have no adverse impact on small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
CR 09−058

Rules revising section Trans 315.03 (1), relating to safety
belt medical use exemption.  Effective 1−1−10.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These rules will have no significant economic impact on a

substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were reported.
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Sections Affected by Rule Revisions and Corrections

The following administrative code sections had rule revisions and corrections take place in December 2009, and will be
effective as indicated in the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Legislative Reference
Bureau at (608) 266−7590.

Revisions

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Ch. ATCP 91
ATCP 91.01
ATCP 91.015
ATCP 91.02 (1)
ATCP 91.03
ATCP 91.04
ATCP 91.041
ATCP 91.042
ATCP 91.05
ATCP 91.06
ATCP 91.07
ATCP 91.08
ATCP 91.09
ATCP 91.10
ATCP 91.11

Architects, Engineers, Designers, etc.
Ch. A−E 6
A−E 6.03 (1) (a), (b)
Ch. A−E 8
A−E 8.03 (5)
A−E 8.08 (3), (4)
Ch. A−E 10 (Entire Chapter)

Children and Families
Ch. DCF 120
DCF 120.03 (6m)
DCF 120.05 (1) (f), (2) (c), (3), (4)
DCF 120.06
DCF 120.07
DCF 120.08 (2), (4), (5) (intro.)

Commerce
Ch. Comm 2
Comm 2.11 (6)
Comm 2.12 (4)
Comm 2.13 (3)
Comm 2.15 (4)
Comm 2.21 (4)
Comm 2.64 Table 2.64−1
Comm 2.645

Ch. Comm 5
Comm 5.99 (1), (3), (4), (5)
Ch. Comm 82
Comm 82.20 (1), Tables 82.20−1 and 82.20−2
Comm 82.22 (8) (b), (9), Table 82.22−1
Comm 82.41 (6)

Financial Institutions — Banking
Ch. DFI−Bkg 40 (Entire Chapter)

Ch. DFI−Bkg 41 (Entire chapter)

Ch. DFI−Bkg 42 (Entire chapter)

Ch. DFI−Bkg 43 (Entire chapter)

Ch. DFI−Bkg 44
DFI−Bkg 44.01 (1) (f), (g)
Ch. DFI−Bkg 45 (Entire chapter) (eff. 1−1−11)

Ch. DFI−Bkg 47 (Entire chapter)

Financial Institutions — Securities
Ch. DFI−Sec 1
DFI−Sec 1.02 (5) (b), (c), (8)
Ch. DFI−Sec 2
DFI−Sec 2.01 (9), (10)
DFI−Sec 2.02 (9) (b), (m)
DFI−Sec 2.04 (2)
Ch. DFI−Sec 3
DFI−Sec 3.03 (1) (intro.)
Ch. DFI−Sec 4
DFI−Sec 4.01 (3) (intro.), (4) (e) to (g)
Ch. DFI−Sec 5
DFI−Sec 5.01 (4) (a), (b)
DFI−Sec 5.05 (2) (a)
DFI−Sec 5.13 (4)
Ch. DFI−Sec 7
DFI−Sec 7.01 (2) (title), (c)
Ch. DFI−Sec 9
DFI−Sec 9.01 (1) (b)

Transportation
Ch. Trans 315
Trans 315.03 (1) (a), (c)
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Editorial Corrections
Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.92 (4) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Commerce
Comm 5
Comm 5.12 (2) (h)

Comm 131
Comm 131.50 (1) and Appendix
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Sections Affected by Corrections Not Published

Corrections under s. 13.92 (4) (b), Stats., identified in this Wis. Adm. Register.

Subscriber’s note: Please make corrections (manually) in your printed code. The affected sections are shown as corrected on
the Legislative Reference Bureau Internet site, Http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/, and on the WisLaw  CD−ROM.  Printed code
will be shown as corrected in its next printing.

    Location of Agency Reference
and/or Cross−Reference

Outdated Agency Reference / 
Invalid Cross−Reference Correction

PC 1.01 chs. PC 1 to 7 chs. PC 1 to 6

PC 1.07 chs. PC 1 to 7 chs. PC 1 to 6
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Executive  Orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 300.  Relating to a Proclamation of an Energy Emergency.

Executive Order 301.  Relating to a Declaration of an Agricultural Emergency.

Executive Order 302.  An Amendment to Executive Order No. 300, Relating to a Proclamation of an Energy
Emergency.

Executive Order 303.  Relating to the Governor’s WIRED for Health Board.

Executive Order 304.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State
of Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff on National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day.

Executive Order 305.  Relating to a Special Session of the Legislature.

Executive Order 306.  Relating to a Declaration of a State of Emergency.

Executive Order 307.  Relating to the Closure of State Government Offices Due to Extreme Winter Weather
Conditions.
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