2557 NURSING 149.01

CHAPTER 149.

NURSING.

(49.01	Board of nursing.	1149.08	Temporary permit,
	State department of nurses.		Temporary trainee permits; foreign
	Director.)	nurses.
			Trained practical nurses,
149.04	Requisites for examination as a reg-	149.10	Definitions.
	istered nurse.	149.11	Administration; nonaccredited
149.05	Examination for nurses,	1	schools.
149.06	Certificate; civil liability exemption.	149.12	Penalty.
149.07	Revocation.	ļ	•

149.01 Board of nursing. (1) The state board of nursing shall consist of the state health officer or his representative, the director of nursing education, and 8 members to be appointed by the governor with the consent of the senate, 2 nurse members from the Wisconsin nurses' association, 2 nurse members from the Wisconsin league for nursing, one member from the state hospital association, one member from the Wisconsin conference of the Catholic hospital association, one member from the state medical society and one nurse member from the public health nursing bureau of the state board of health. Each of such organizations may submit a list of names from which the representatives may be selected to serve for a term of 4 years and until their successors have been appointed, except that in 1967 one nurse member from the Wisconsin nurses' association and one member from the state hospital association shall be appointed for terms of one year, one nurse member from the Wisconsin nurses' association and one member from the Wisconsin conference of the Catholic hospital association shall be appointed for terms of 2 years and one nurse member from the Wisconsin league for nursing and one member from the state medical society shall be appointed for terms of 3 years. Each nurse member shall meet minimum qualifications as follows:

- (a) Graduation from a program in professional nursing accredited by the state in which the program was conducted;
- (b) Graduation from a recognized college or university with at least a baccalaure-ate degree.
- (c) Varied experience in nursing, preferably including nursing administration or teaching in a nursing education program;
 - (d) Residence in this state for one year;
 - (e) Current professional nurse registration; and
 - (f) Membership in the nurse group from which such nurse is to be selected.
- (2) The director of nursing education shall act as secretary. Five members shall be a quorum. A regular meeting shall be held at least annually at a time and place fixed by the board and special meetings may be called by the president or secretary or upon the written request of 2 members. The members shall be reimbursed actual and necessary expenses.
- (3) The powers and duties of the board shall be regulatory, advisory, and policy-forming and not administrative. It may establish minimum standards for schools for nurses and schools for trained practical nurses licensed under this chapter, including all related clinical units and facilities, and make and provide periodic surveys and consultations to such schools. It may also establish rules to prevent unauthorized persons from practicing professional nursing. It shall approve all rules for the administration of this chapter in accordance with ch. 227.
- (4) The board shall direct that those schools which qualify be placed on the accredited list of schools for professional nurses or of schools for trained practical nurses on application and proof of qualifications; and shall make a study of nursing education and initiate rules and policies to improve it.
- (5) The board in its discretion may promote the professional education of graduate nurses registered in Wisconsin, through creation of scholarships available to such graduate nurses, by foundation of professorships in nursing courses in Wisconsin colleges and universities, by conducting educational meetings, seminars, lectures, demonstrations and the like open to registered nurses, by publication and dissemination of technical information or by other similar activities designed to improve the standards of the nursing profession in this state. The board in its discretion may promote the training of trained

149.01 NURSING 2558

practical nurses through support of workshops and institutes and by conducting meetings, lectures, demonstrations and the like open to licensed practical nurses. For the execution of its functions under this subsection the board may recommend the use of such portion of the fund created by s. 20.580 (1) (h) [20.165 (3) (g)] as it deems necessary.

- (6) (a) The board may grant scholarships—under this subsection for the purpose of alleviating the critical shortage of qualified nursing educational personnel, to strengthen and increase existing nursing school faculties and permit the establishment of new nursing schools, by providing scholarships for qualified persons to prepare themselves to become nursing school instructors or administrative personnel in accredited schools of professional and practical nursing in this state.
- (b) Such scholarships may be provided for persons enrolled in institutions of higher learning acceptable to the board.
- (c) The scholarships shall not exceed \$4,000 for each person annually and shall be paid from the appropriation made by s. 20.580 (2) (b) [20.165 (3) (b)].
- (d) The scholarships shall be granted only to persons who agree to accept and remain in a teaching or administrative position in accredited schools of nursing or in a Wisconsin agency participating in an educational program for nursing students in this state for at least 2 years after completing the courses of study upon which the scholarships are based.
- (e) The amount received by any person under this subsection must be repaid to the board with interest at the rate of 4% per annum if he fails to complete the course of study upon which payment of such sums was based or if he does not accept and remain in the positions in this state for the time and purposes required in par. (d). The board shall determine the amount to be refunded plus interest, if a person has partially fulfilled the obligation in par. (d).
- (f) The board may by rule determine the other qualifications of the recipient of a scholarship and the time to be allowed for fulfilling the time requirement in par. (d).

 History: 1963 c. 458; 1965 c. 433 s. 121; 1965 c. 533, 645.
- 149.015 State department of nurses. The state department of nurses shall consist of the director of nursing education and department employes. The department shall be provided with office rooms and with necessary furniture, stationery, blanks, books, periodicals, printing, and other supplies.
- 149.02 Director. (1) The board shall appoint, upon certification of the department of administration, a state director of nursing education, fix her salary, and prescribe her duties and provide clerical service. Such director shall have at least the following minimum qualifications:
 - (a) A citizen of the United States.
 - (b) A graduate of a recognized college or university.
 - (c) A registered nurse.
- (d) Five years' experience as an executive of a school of nursing of not less than 35 nurses.
- (2) The administrative powers and duties of the department shall be vested in the director to be administered under the statutes and subject to the policies and in accordance with the principles established by the board.
- (3) The director, with prior approval of the board, shall establish rules and regulations for administering the department and performing the duties assigned to it.
- 149.03 Examiners for nurses. The board shall appoint a committee of examiners for nurses to consist of the director of nursing education, who shall act as secretary, and 4 nurses of not less than 3 years' experience in nursing. The term of each shall be 4 years and until their successors have been appointed, except that in 1955 one shall be appointed for 4 years and one for 3 years. Members shall be reimbursed actual and necessary expenses and receive such per diem for each day engaged as may be fixed by the bureau of personnel based upon the current daily compensation of private duty nurses in the state.
- 149.04 Requisites for examination as a registered nurse. Any person who is a citizen or who has legally declared her intention to become a citizen and of good moral character, who has graduated from a high school or its equivalent as determined by the board, who holds a diploma of graduation from an accredited school of nursing, may apply to the department for registration as a registered nurse, and upon payment of \$30 shall be entitled to examination. Ten dollars of such fee shall be refunded to an

2559 NURSING 149.08

applicant who gives advance written notice that she will be unable to be present for the examination.

History: 1963 c. 458; 1967 c. 43.

149.05 Examination for nurses. The committee of examiners for nurses shall prepare or select written questions in areas it determines and prescribe rules, subject to the approval of the board, for conducting examinations and the preservation of the examination papers for one year. Examinations shall be held at least twice a year at times and places designated by the committee, and at least 30 days' public notice shall be given. Examinations may also be held at other times and places with or without public notice as directed by the committee. The committee may also proctor an examination of another state for the convenience of a candidate and charge such fee therefor as the committee fixes to cover the actual cost of the service rendered.

History: 1963 c. 458.

- 149.06 Certificate; civil liability exemption. (1) One complying with this chapter relating to an applicant for registration as a nurse and passing a satisfactory examination shall receive a certificate of registration. The holder of such a certificate of registration of another state or territory or province of Canada may be granted a certificate without examination if her credentials of general and professional educational qualifications and other qualifications are comparable to those required in Wisconsin during the same period and if the board is satisfied from her employment and professional record that she is currently competent to practice her profession. The board shall evaluate the credentials and determine the equivalency and competency in each such case. The application for registering without examination shall be accompanied by a fee of \$30 to cover the cost of such evaluation.
- (2) The certificate shall be issued by the president of the board and countersigned by the secretary of the committee of examiners. The holder of such certificate is a "registered nurse" and may append "R.N." to her name, and is authorized to practice professional nursing.
- (3) A registered nurse practicing for compensation shall annually during January file with the department on furnished blanks a statement giving her name, residence and such other facts as the board requires, with a reregistration fee of \$6.
- (4) No person shall practice or attempt to practice professional nursing, nor use the title, letters, or anything else to indicate that she is a registered or professional nurse unless she is registered under this section. No person not so registered shall use in connection with her nursing employment or vocation any title or anything else to indicate that she is a trained, certified or graduate nurse.
- (5) No person registered under this section, who in good faith renders emergency care at the scene of an emergency, is liable for any civil damages as a result of acts or omissions by such person in rendering the emergency care. For the purpose of this subsection, the scene of an emergency shall be those areas not within the confines of a hospital or other institution which has hospital facilities, or a physician's office.

History: 1961 c. 362; 1963 c. 94, 458; 1965 c. 249; 1967 c. 43.

Civil liability for treatment rendered at 494, scene of emergency. 48 MLR 80, 1964 WLR

149.07 Revocation. The board may revoke, suspend or deny renewal of a certificate of registration of a nurse, or license of a trained practical nurse, upon proof that the person was guilty of fraud in the procuring or renewal of such certificate or license, has failed to become a citizen within 7 years after declaring such intent, or has wilfully or repeatedly violated any of the provisions of this chapter, or is unfit or incompetent by reason of negligence, habitual intemperance, addiction to the use of habit-forming drugs, mental incompetency or moral delinquency, or, in the case of a registered nurse, unprofessional conduct, upon notice in writing, addressed to the last post-office address shown on the records of the board specifying the charges, and time of hearing, not less than 10 days after mailing of the notice, and after hearing at which she shall have opportunity to produce testimony. A certificate or license revoked may, after one year, upon application be reinstated in the discretion of the board.

History: 1963 c. 458.

149.08 Temporary permit. A nurse who has graduated from an accredited school but is not registered in Wisconsin may be granted a temporary permit by the board to practice for compensation until she can qualify for registration. The temporary permit may be granted for a period of 3 months and may be renewed once. Further renewals

149.08 NURSING 2560

may be granted in hardship cases. A fee of \$2 shall be charged for each permit or renewal.

History: 1963 c. 458.

149.081 Temporary trainee permits; foreign nurses. The board may issue temporary trainee permits for the purpose of supplementing the education of nurses trained outside the United States. The board may establish requirements for such permits which may include but not be limited to the following: legal authorization to practice professional nursing in applicant's own country, approval by the international exchange service of the U.S. department of state or of the American nurses association, proficiency in the English language, financial independence and other qualifications it deems necessary. The board may establish rules limiting the use and duration of such permits and providing for their revocation and may establish a permit fee not to exceed \$30 per year. No institution or agency may offer or undertake a program of supplemental education for holders of temporary trainee permits without prior authorization by the board and without the approval of such program by the board. Such authorization or approval may be withdrawn for cause at any time. The board may charge fees and expenses for consultations in the establishment of supplemental programs and for appraisals thereof Such fees shall be based upon cost.

History: 1961 c. 501.

- 149.09 Trained practical nurses. (1) Examiners. The board shall appoint a committee of examiners for trained practical nurses to consist of one nurse, 3 licensed trained practical nurses, one faculty member of an accredited school for practical nurses who is a nurse and the director of the department who shall act as secretary. With the exception of the director, none of those appointed shall be members of the committee of examiners for nurses created under s. 149.03. Each term shall be for 3 years and until a successor has been appointed and qualified. Committee members shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses and shall receive such per diem for each day engaged as may be fixed by the personnel board, based on the current daily compensation of private duty nurses in the state.
- (2) Prefequisites for examination as trained practical nurses. A citizen or an alien who has legally declared her intention to become a citizen, who is at least 18 years of age, of good moral character, who has completed 2 years of high school or its equivalent as determined by the board, and who has completed the work prescribed by an accredited school for trained practical nurses approved by that board, which school shall be connected with an institution providing hospital facilities for the care of medical, surgical and obstetrical cases, may apply to the board for licensing as a trained practical nurse, and upon the payment of \$20 shall be entitled to take an examination for such purpose. Seven dollars of such fee shall be refunded to an applicant who gives advance written notice that he will be unable to be present for the examination. Any school for trained practical nurses, in order to be accredited, must offer a course of not less than 9 months. The size or average daily census of an institution shall not be a determinative factor in qualifying a school for trained practical nurses. The board may, in its discretion, waive the requirement of attendance at such a school when it deems the applicant to have had comparable training.
- (3) Examination. The committee of examiners for trained practical nurses shall prepare or select written questions in areas it determines and prescribe rules, subject to the approval of the board, for the examination of those desirous of becoming trained practical nurses, and the examination papers of all such applicants shall be preserved for one year. Examinations shall be held at least twice annually at times and places designated by the board, and at least 30 days' public notice shall be given of each such examination. Examinations may also be held at other times and places with or without public notice as directed by the committee. The committee may also proctor an examination of another state for the convenience of a candidate and shall charge such fee therefor as the committee fixes to cover the actual cost of the services rendered.
- (4) LICENSING. (a) On complying with this chapter relating to applicants for licensure as trained practical nurses, and passing a satisfactory examination, the applicant shall receive a license as a trained practical nurse, which license shall be issued by the president of the board and countersigned by the secretary of the committee of examiners for trained practical nurses. The holder of such license is a "licensed trained practical nurse", and may append the letters "T.P.N." to her name. The board may revoke the license of a licensed trained practical nurse pursuant to s. 149.07.
- (b) A licensed trained practical nurse practicing for compensation shall file each July with the department, on blanks furnished by that department, an application for

2561 NURSING 149.11

license renewal, together with a statement giving her name, residence, nature and extent of practice as a trained practical nurse during the prior year and prior unreported years and such other facts bearing upon her current competency as the board requires, accompanied by a license renewal fee of \$6.

- (c) No license is required for practical nursing, but no person without a license shall hold herself out as a trained practical nurse or licensed attendant, use the title or letters "Trained Practical Nurse" or "T.P.N.", "Licensed Practical Nurse" or "L.P.N.", "Licensed Attendant" or "L.A.", "Trained Attendant" or "T.A.", nor otherwise seek to indicate that she is a trained practical nurse or licensed attendant; nor shall a trained practical nurse or a licensed attendant use the title, or otherwise seek to act as a registered, trained, certified, graduate or professional nurse. Anyone violating this subsection shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by s. 149.12. The board shall grant without examination a license as a trained practical nurse to any person who was on July 1, 1949, a licensed attendant.
- (d) The board may license without examination any person who has been licensed as a licensed attendant or trained practical nurse in another state or territory or province of Canada if her general education, training, prior practice and other qualifications, in the opinion of the board, are at least comparable to those of this state for trained practical nurses and current licensing or renewal. The fee for licensing without examination is \$20 to cover the cost of such evaluation.
- (e) A temporary license may be granted to an applicant who is qualified for examination, to practice as a licensed trained practical nurse until her regular license may be had, for a period of 3 months and may be renewed for a like period. Further renewals may be granted in hardship cases. A fee of \$2 shall be charged for each temporary license or renewal.

History: 1963 c. 458; 1967 c. 43.

- 149.10 Definitions. (1) Practice of professional nursing. The practice of professional nursing within the terms of this chapter means the performance for compensation of any act in the observation or care of the ill, injured or infirm, or for the maintenance of health or prevention of illness of others, which act requires substantial nursing skill, knowledge or training, or application of nursing principles based on biological, physical and social sciences, such as the supervision of a patient, the observation and recording of symptoms and reactions, the execution of procedures and techniques in the treatment of the sick under the general or special supervision or direction of a physician, the execution of general nursing procedures and techniques and the supervision and direction of trained practical nurses and less skilled assistants.
- (2) Practice of practical nursing. The practice of practical nursing under this chapter means the performance for compensation of any simple acts in the care of convalescent, subacutely or chronically ill, injured or infirm persons, or of any act or procedure in the care of the more acutely ill, injured or infirm under the specific direction of a nurse or physician. A simple act is one which does not require any substantial nursing skill, knowledge or training, or the application of nursing principles based on biological, physical or social sciences, or the understanding of cause and effect in such acts and is one which is of a nature of those approved by the board for the curriculum of schools for trained practical nurses.
- (3) NURSE AND NURSING. Wherever the term "nurse" is used in this chapter without modification or amplification it shall mean only a registered nurse. Wherever the term "nursing" is used in this chapter without modification or amplification it shall mean the practice of professional nursing as herein defined.
- (4) FOR COMPENSATION. Wherever the term "compensation" is used in this chapter it shall include indirect compensation as well as direct compensation and also the expectation thereof whether actually received or not.
- (5) This chapter shall not be construed to affect nursing by friends, members of the family or undergraduates in an accredited school, nor be construed to interfere with members of religious communities or orders having charge of hospitals or taking care of the sick in their homes, except that none of such excepted persons while engaged in such activities shall represent herself as a registered, trained, certified or graduate nurse unless registered under this chapter.

History: 1963 c. 458.

149.11 Administration; nonaccredited schools. (1) The department shall enforce this chapter and cause the prosecution of persons violating it. It shall keep a register of the names and addresses of registered nurses and a record of licensed trained practical nurses, which shall be open to the public at reasonable times; also a record of applications, and a detailed account of money received. The director shall make an annual

149.11 NURSING 2562

report to the governor of its proceedings under this chapter, including an itemized account of money received. The director and employes shall furnish an official bond in such amount and in such form as the board determines. The bond referred to and required shall conform substantially to the bond specified in s. 19.01 (2) and be subject to the statutes governing official bonds. The premium for any bond shall be charged to the appropriation made to the state board of nursing by s. 20.580-(1)-(g) [20.165 (2) (it)]. The department may issue certified photostatic copies of records at cost.

(2) No person shall operate in this state a school for professional nurses or a school for practical nurses unless the same shall be accredited by the board. No solicitation shall be made in this state of the sale of, or registration in, a course by correspondence or conducted without the state for practical nurses unless all written material used in such solicitation plainly states in type as large as any other type on the material that the course is not accredited in this state for training of practical nurses.

History: 1961 c. 362; 1963 c. 177; 1965 c. 97, 433 s. 121.

- 149.12 Penalty. (1) Any person violating this chapter or knowingly employing another in violation of this chapter may be fined not more than \$250 or imprisoned not more than one year in the county jail.
- (2) No action may be brought or other proceeding had to recover compensation for professional nursing services unless at the time such services were rendered the person rendering the same was a registered nurse or had a temporary permit issued under this chapter.
 - (3) The remedy of injunction may be used in enforcing this chapter. History: 1963 c. 458.