## CHAPTER 3

## CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS

**3.01 Ten congressional districts.** Until otherwise provided by law, the state is divided into 10 congressional districts, each of which shall be entitled to elect one representative in the congress of the United States as follows:

**3.02** First district. The counties of Kenosha, Racine, Rock and Walworth constitute the first district.

History: 1963 c. 63.

3.03 Second district. The counties of Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green and Jefferson constitute the 2nd district. History: 1963 c. 63.

**3.04 Third district.** The counties of Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Sauk, Trempealeau and Vernon constitute the 3rd district. History: 1963 c. 63.

**3.05 Fourth district.** The villages of Greendale, Hales Corners and West Milwaukee; the cities of Cudahy, Franklin, Greenfield, Oak Creek, St. Francis, South Milwaukee and West Allis, all in Milwaukee county; and that part of the city of Milwaukee lying south of the 5th district, as described in s. 3,06, constitute the 4th district.

History: 1963 c. 63.

**3.06** Fifth district. That part of the city of Milwaukee bounded by a line as follows: Beginning at the center line of N. 60th street where said center line intersects with W. Wright street, proceeding thence northerly along the center line of N. 60th street where it intersects with W. Burleigh street, proceeding thence westerly along the center line of W. Burleigh street to where it intersects with the center line of W. Lisbon avenue, proceeding thence northwesterly along the center line of W. Lisbon avenue, proceeding thence northwesterly along the center line of N. 76th street, proceeding thence northerly along the center line of N. 76th street, proceeding thence northerly along the center line of N. 76th street, proceeding thence northerly along the center line of N. 76th street, proceeding thence

street to a point where said center line intersects with the center line of W. Hampton avenue, proceeding thence easterly along the center line of W. Hampton avenue to a point where said center line of said W. Hampton avenue intersects the city limits of the city of Milwaukee, proceeding thence along the said city limits of the city of Milwaukee southerly and thereafter irregularly along the city limits dividing Milwaukee with Glendale, Whitefish Bay and Shorewood, and proceeding thence along said city limits, easterly up to Lake Michigan, proceeding thence southerly and somewhat southwesterly along the shore of Lake Michigan to a point in the center line of the Milwaukee river, thence northwesterly along the main channel of said river to the confluence of the Milwaukee and Menomonee rivers; thence westerly, southerly and westerly along the main channel of the Menomonee river to the intersection of said river with the center line of S. 39th street extended; thence south along the center line of S. 39th street extended to the city limits; thence westerly, northerly, easterly, and north along the city limits of the city of Milwaukee to the point of commencement constitutes the 5th district. History: 1963 c. 63.

**3.07 Sixth district.** The counties of Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington and Winnebago constitute the 6th district.

History: 1963 c. 63.

**3.08 Seventh district.** The counties of Adams, Clark, Florence, Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Portage, Shawano, Taylor, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood constitute the 7th district. History: 1961 c. 679; 1963 c. 63.

3.09 Eighth district. The counties of Brown, Door, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto and Outagamie constitute the 8th district. History: 1963 c. 63. **3.10** Ninth district. The county of Waukesha; the villages of Bayside, Brown Deer, Fox Point, River Hills, Shorewood and Whitefish Bay; the cities of Glendale and Wauwatosa, all in Milwaukee county; and that part of the city of Milwaukee located northwesterly of the 5th district, as described in s. 3.06 constitute the 9th district.

History: 1963 c. 63.

3.11 Tenth district. The counties of Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Iron, Oneida, Polk, Price, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, Vilas and Washburn constitute the 10th district. History: 1963 c. 63.