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SUBCHAPTER 1
GENERAL PROVISIONS

424.101 Short title. This chapter shall be

known and may be cited as Wisconsin consumer

act—insurance.
History: 1971 c. 239.

424.102 Scope. This chapter applies to
agreements between a creditor and a debtor
under which insurance is provided or is to be
provided in relation to consumer credit

transactions.

History: 1971 ¢. 239; 1973 ¢. 3.

Wisconsin consumer act—a critical analysis. Heiser, 57
MLR 389

Wisconsin consumer act—a freak out? Barrett, Jones, 57
MLR 483.

424.103 Application of general defini-
tions. The definitions in s. 421.301 shall apply

to ch. 424.
History: 1973 ¢. 3.

SUBCHAPTER 1I
CONSUMER CREDIT INSURANCE

424,201 Definition “consumer credit in-
surance’’. “Consumer credit insurance”
means insurance, other than insurance on prop-
erty, by which the satisfaction of debt in whole
or in part is a benefit provided, but does not
include:

(1) Insurance provided in relation to a
consumer credit transaction in which a payment
is scheduled more than 60 months after the
extension of credit;

(2) Insurance issued as an isolated transac-
tion on the part of the insurer not related to an

agreement or plan for insuring customers of the
creditor; or
(3) Insurance indemnifying the creditor
against loss due to the customer’s default.
History: 1971 ¢. 239; 1973 ¢. 3.

424.202 Charge for insurance. (1) Except
as otherwise provided in this chapter and subject
to the provisions on additional charges (s.
422.202), and maximum charges (s. 422.201) a
creditor may agree to provide insurance, and
may contract for and receive a charge for insur-
ance separate from and in addition to other
charges. A creditor need not make a separate
charge for insurance provided or required by
him.

(2) This chapter does not authorize the issu-
ance of any insurance prohibited under any
statute, or rule thereunder, governing the busi-
ness of insurance.

History: 1971 ¢. 239

424.203 Conditions applying to Iinsur-
ance to be provided by creditor. (1) When
the parties agree that consumer credit insurance
shall be provided, at the time the indebtedness is
incurred there shall be delivered to the customer
the individual policy, a group certificate of in-
surance, a copy of the application for such
insurance or a notice of proposed insurance.

(2) The evidence of insurance provided pur-
suant to sub. (1) shall set forth the name and
home office address of the insurer, the name or
names of the customers, the premium or amount
of payment by the customer, if any, separately
for credit life insurance and credit accident and
sickness insurance, the amount, term and a brief
description of the coverage provided, including
all exclusions and exceptions.
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(3) Within 30 days of the date upon which
the indebtedness is incurred, the insurer shall
cause the individual policy or group certificate
of insurance to be delivered to the customer if it
is not delivered at the time the indebtedness is
incurred.

(4) Within 10 days from the date the indebt-
edness is incurred, the customer shall be permit-
ted to return the policy, certificate of insurance
or the notice of proposed insurance to the credi-

tor and to receive a refund of any premium paid

for the insurance if he is not satisfied with the
insurance for any reason. Such insurance shall
then be void and the parties will be in the same
position as if-no certificate, policy or notice of
proposed insurance had been issued. Conspicu-
ous notice of the right to return the policy,
certificate of insurance or notice of proposed
insurance shall be furnished with or in the
policy, certificate or notice of proposed
insurance.

(5) A violation of this section is subject to s.

425.303.
Hlstmy 1971 c.239;1973 ¢. 3ss 59, 69.

424, 204 Maxlmum charge by creditor for
Insurance. (1) Except as provided in sub. (2),
if a creditor contracts for or receives a charge for
insurance, the amount charged for the insurance
may not exceed the premium to be charged by
the insurer, as computed at the time the charge
to the customer is determined, conforming to
any rate filings requlred by law and made by the
insurer with the commissioner of insurance.

(2) A creditor who provides consumer credit
insurance in relation to an open-end credit plan
may calculate the charge to the customer in each
billing cycle by applying the current premium
rate to either:

" (a) The average daily unpaid balance of the
obligation in the cycle;

(b) The unpaid balance of the obligation or a
median amount within a specified range of
unpaid balances of the obligation on approxi-
mately the same day of the cycle. The day of the
cycle need not be the day used in calculating the
finance charge (s. 422.201), but the specified
range shall be the range used for that purpose; or

(¢) The unpaid balances of principal calcu-
lated according to the actuarial method.

(83) A violation of this section is subject to s.

425.304.
“History: 1971 ¢. 239.

424.205 - Refund or credit required. (1)
Upon prepayment in full of a consumer credit
transaction by the proceeds of consumer credit
insurance, the customer or his estate is entitled
to a refund of any portion of a separate charge
for insurance which by reason of prepayment is
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retained by the original creditor or any assignee
or returned to either of them by the insurer.

(2) This chapter does not require the creditor
to grant a refund or credit if all the refunds and
credits due to the customer under this act
amount to less than $1 and, except as provided in
sub. (1), does not require the creditor to account
to the debtor for any portion of a separate
charge for insurance because:

(a) The insurance is terminated by perform-
ance of the insurer’s obligation;

(b) The creditor pays or accounts for premi-
ums to the insurer in amounts and at times
determined by the agreement between them; or

(¢) The creditor receives directly or indi-
rectly under any policy of insurance a gain or
advantage not prohibited by law.

(3) Except as provided in sub. (2), the
creditor shall promptly make or cause to be
made an appropriate refund or credit to the
customer with respect to any separate charge
made to him for insurance if:

(a) The insurance is not provided or is pro-
vided for a shorter term than that for which the
charge to the debtor for insurance was com-
puted; or

(b) The insurance terminates prior to the end
of the term for which it was written because of
prepayment in full or otherwise.

(4) A refund or credit required by sub. (3) is
appropriate as to amount if it is computed
according to either s. 422.209 or a method
prescrxbcd or approved by the commissioner of

insurance.
History: 1971 ¢. 239.

424.206 Deferral, refinancing and consol-
idation agreements. (1) The creditor may
not receive a separate charge for insurance in
connection with a deferral (s. 422.204), a refi-
nancing (s. 422.205) or a consolidation (s.
422.206) unless:

(2) The customer agrees in writing at the
time of deferral, refinancing or consolidation
that a specific charge may be made;

(b) The customer is to be provided with
insurance for an amount or a term, or insurance
of a kind, in addition to that to which he would
have been entitled had there been no deferral,
refinancing or consolidation;

(c) The customer receives a refund or credit
on account of any unexpired term of existing
insurance in the amount that would be required
if the insurance were terminated (s. 424.205);
and

(d) The charge does not exceed the amount
permitted by this chapter (s. 424.204).

(2) A creditor may not contract for or re-
ceive a separate charge for insurance which
duplicates insurance with respect to which the
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creditor has previously contracted for or re-
ceived a separate charge.
(3) A violation of this section is subject to the

provisions of s. 425.303.
History: 1971 ¢. 239.

424.207 Term of insurance. (1) Consumer
credit insurance provided by a creditor may be
subject to the furnishing of evidence of insura-
bility satisfactory to the insurer. Whether or not
such evidence is required, the term of the insur-
ance shall commence no later than when the
customer becomes obligated to the creditor or
when the customer applies for the insurance,
whichever is later except as follows:

(a) If any required evidence of insurability is
not furnished until more than 30 days after the
term would otherwise commence, the term may
commence on the date when the insurer deter-
mines the evidence to be satisfactory; or

(b) If the creditor provides insurance not
previously provided covering debts previously
created, the term may commence on the effec-
tive date of the policy.

(2) In the case where the commencement of
the insurance is delayed, the customer to the
extent he has paid a premium charge for any
period of time before the. insurance became
effective, shall be entitled to a rebate or credit of
such premium according to s. 424.205.

(3) The originally scheduled term of the
insurance shall extend at least until the due date
of the last scheduled payment of the obhgatlon,
except as follows:

(a) If the insurance relates to an open-end
credit plan, the term need extend only until the
payment of the account and may be sooner
terminated after at least 30, days notice.to the
customer; or

(b) If the customer is adv1sed in wntmg ina
clear and conspicuous manner- that the insur-
ance will be written for a specified shorter time,
the term need extend, only until the end of the
specified time.

(4) The term.of the insurance shall not

extend more than 15 days after the originally

scheduled due date of the last scheduled pay-
ment. of the debt unless. it is-extended without
additional cost to the customer or as an incident
to a deferral, refinancing .or .consolidation

agreement.
History: 1971 c. 239.

424.208 Amount of insurance. (1) The ini-
tial amount of credit life insurance shall not
exceed the total amount repayable under the
contract of indebtedness however the indebted-
ness may be repayable, but:

(a) In cases where an indebtedness is repay-
able in substantially équal instalments, the
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amount of insurance shall at no time exceed the
scheduled or actual amount of unpaid indebted-
ness, whichever is greater; and

(b) In cases where credit life insurance is
provided on consumer credit transactions for an
agricultural purpose, such insurance may be
written up to the amount of the loan commit-
ment.on a nondecreasing or level-term plan.

(2) The total amount of indemnity payable
by credit accident and sickness insurance in the
event of a disability, shall not exceed the aggre-
gate of the periodic scheduled unpaid instal-
ments of the indebtedness, and the amount of
each periodic indemnity payable shall not ex-
ceed the original indebtedness divided by the
number of periodic instalments.

History: 1971 ¢. 239; 1973 ¢. 3 ss. 60, 69.

Legislative Council Note, 1973:-[As to sub. (1) (intro.)]
Clarifies the application of this subsection to open-end ac-
counts. As the section reads prior to amendment, it could be
construed to mean that maximum credit life insurance cover-
age would be determined by the account balance at the time
the insurance was initially contracted for. However, the in-
tent is that the amount of insurance fluctuate with, but never
exceed, the account balance in open-end credit accounts. For
veriﬂcation, see s, 424.204 (2), which uses the current ac-
co]unt balance to determine the premium charge. [Bill 432-
A

424.209  Filing and approval of rates and
forms. (1) No individual or group policy, cer-
tificate of insurance, notice of proposed insur-
ance, application for insurance, endorsement or
rider relating to credit life insurance or credit
accident and sickness- insurance delivered or
issued for delivery in this state, or the schedule
of premium rates or charges pertaining thereto,
may be issued, delivered or used in this state
until a copy of the form thereof has been filed
with  the commissioner of insurance, nor until
the expiration of 30 days after it has been so filed
unless the commissioner shall sooner give his
wriften ‘approval thereto. The commissioner,
w1th1n 30 days after the filing of any such form,
may disapprove such form or rate schedule if the
benefits provided are unreasonable in relation to
the premiums to be. charged, or if the form
contains a provision which is unjust, unfair,
inequitable, misleading, deceptive or encourages
misrepresentation of the policy, or is contrary to
the insurance code of this state or any rule
adopted thereunder. The benefits provided by
any such policy shall be presumed reasonable in
relation to the premium to be charged if the ratio
of losses incurred to premiums earned is, or may
reasonably be expected to be, 50 % for credit life
insurance and for credit accident and sickness
insurance 60% or such lower loss ratio as desig-
nated by the commissioner to afford reasonable
allowance for expenses for a particular plan of
coverage. - If the ratio of losses incurred to
premiums earned is less than or can reasonably
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be expected to be less than the prescribed stan-
dards, the benefits provided shall be presumed
unreasonable in relation to the premiums
charged. Determination of the reasonable rela-
tion of benefits to premiums shall be made by
the commissioner for each policy form filed for
such approval. Premium rate standards for
other benefit plans shall be actuarially consist-
ent with the prescribed rate standards. The
commissioner may limit the use of any such
form -for those creditors or customers whose
experience was the basis for approval and such
other creditors or customers likely to experience
similar mortality or morbidity.

(2) Not later than 6 months after March 1,
1973, the commissioner of insurance, by rule,
shall adopt premium rates for. credit life' and
credit accident and sickness insurance based
upon the loss ratio standards set forth in sub.
(1), which rates shall be acceptable without
further justification. No charge may be made
for credit life or credit accident and sickness
insurance. which exceeds such premium rates
except as provided in this subsection. The
commissioner of insurance from time to time
shall raise or lower the acceptable premium
charges permitted. for such insurance for any
particular creditor, class of creditor or class of
transaction whenever he determines that the
actual loss experience for that particular credi-
tor, class of creditor or class of transactions
produces a ratio of losses to premiums which
differs substantially, based on credible data for a
relevant period of time, from the loss ratio
standards established by sub. (1).

(38) No individual policy of credit accident
and sickness insurance or group policy of credit
accident and sickness insurance may be deliv-
ered or issued for delivery in this state if the
benefits are payable after a waiting period of
less than 14 days, regardless of whether the
payment of benefits is retroactive to the first day
of disability.

(4) If a group credit life insurance policy or
group. credit accident and sickness insurance
policy is delivered to a policyholder which is not
a Wisconsin corporation or other resident and
does not have its principal office in Wisconsin,
the forms to be filed by the insurer with the
commissioner of insurance are the group certifi-
cates .and notices of proposeéd insurance. He
shall approve them if:

(a) They provide the information that would
be required if the group policy were delivered in
this state;

(b) The applicable premium rates or charges
do not exceed those established by chs. 421 to
427 or by rules adopted thereunder; and
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(¢) They do not contain provisions which are
unjust, unfair, inequitable or deceptive, or en-
courage misrepresentation .of the coverages, or
are contrary to the insurance code of this state,

or of any rule adopted thereunder.
" History: 1971 ¢ 239; 1973 ¢. 3: 1977 ¢ 339 s 43

SUBCHAPTER 111
PROPERTY INSURANCE

424.301 Restrictions on property insur-
ance. (1) A creditor may not contract for or
receive a separate charge for insurance against
loss of or damage to property unless:

(a) The insurance covers a substantial risk of
loss or damage to property which is allowable
collateral under s. 422.417 for the credit
transaction;

(b) The amount, terms, and conditions of the
insurance are reasonable in relation to the chai-
acter and value of the property insured or to be
insured; and ;

(c) The term of the insurance is reasonable in
relation to the terms of credit.

(2) The termof the insurance is reasonable if
it is customary and does not extend substantially
beyond a scheduled maturity.

(3) A creditor may not contract for or re-
ceive a separate charge for insurance against
loss of or damage to property unless the amount
financed exclusive of charges for the insurance is
$800 or more, and the value of the property is
$800 or more.

History: 1971 ¢. 239; 1973 ¢. 3.

Legislative Council Note, 1973: [As tosub. (1) (a)] Clari-
fies the scope of allowable property insurance. This para-
graph sets forth one of the conditions necessary for property
insurance. However, as it reads prior to amendment, no insur-
ance could be taken on any household furnishings, regardless
of whether the transaction involved a security interest in
them  The effect of the amendment is to allow insurance on
any permitted collateral, regardless of its nature Therefore, if
a.creditor has a security interest in household furnishings, he
will ‘be able to protect his interest by the use of insurance
against loss or damage. [Bill 432-A]

424.302 Insurance on creditor’s interest
only. If a creditor contracts for or receives a
separate charge for insurance against loss of or
damage to property, the risk of loss or damage
not ‘wilfully caused by the customer is on the
debtor only to the extent of any deficiency in the
effective coverage of the insurance, even though
the insurance covers only the interest of the
creditor.
History: 1971 ¢. 239.

424.303 Cancellation by creditor. (1) A
creditor shall not request cancellation of a policy
of propetty or liability insurance except after the
customer’s default (s. 425.103), or in accord-
ance with a written agreement by the customer
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at any time other than when the original trans-
action is entered into. In either case the cancel-
lation does not take effect until written notice is
delivered to the customer or mailed to him at his
address as stated by him. The notice shall state
that the policy may be canceled on a date not less
than 30 days after the notice is delivered, or, if
the notice is mailed, not less than 33 days after it
* is mailed.

(2) Following cancellation, the customer
shall be entitled to a rebate or credit for any
prepaid charges which represent the premium
for a period following cancellation.

(3) This section shall not apply to a contract
issued by an insurance premium finance com-

pany licensed under s.138.12.
History: 1971 ¢. 239; 1973 .¢. 3.

SUBCHAPTER IV
ADMINISTRATION

424.401 Cooperation between adminis-
trator and commissioner of Insurance. The
administrator and the commissioner of insur-
ance shall consult and assist one another in
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maintaining compliance with this chapter. They
may jointly or severally pursue investigations,
prosecute suits and take other official action, as
may seem to them appropriate, if either of them
is otherwise empowered to take the action. If the
administrator is informed of a violation or sus-
pected violation by an insurer of this chapter, or
of the insurance code, rules and regulations of
this state, he shall advise the commissioner of
insurance of the circumstances, and the commis-
sioner of insurance may act under the laws of
this state. - . ;
History: 1971 ¢ 239; 1973 c. 3; 1977 ¢. 339 5. 43

424.402 Administrative action of com-
missloner of insurance. To the extent that his
responsibility under- this chapter requires, the
commissioner of insurance shall issue rules with
respect to insurers and with respect to refunds
(s. 424.205), forms, schedules of premium rates
and charges (s. 424.209), and his approval or
disapproval thereof and, in case of violation,
may make an order for compliance.
History: 1971 ¢. 239.
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