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SUBCHAPTER I

"GENERAL PROVISIONS -

655'001 - Definitions. In this chapter:

(1) “Board of governors’* means the board created under s.
619,04 (3). .

(2) “Claimant” means the person f11mg a request for
mediation under's. 655.44 or 655.445. -

(4) “Department” means the department’ of health and
social services. o

(6) ‘Fiscal year’ means the penod beginning on Iuly 1 and
ending on the following June 30.

N “Fund” means the patxents compensation fund under s
655 27.

(8) “Health care provider” means a person to whom this
chapter applies under s. 655.002 (1) or a person who elects to
be subject to'this ¢hapter under s. 655.002 (2).

(9) “Nurse anesthetist” means a nurse licensed under ch
441 who is certified as a nurse anesthetist by the American
assomatxon of nurse anesthetists.

(10) “Patxent” means an individual who xecelved or should
have received health care services from a health care provider
or from an employe of a health care provider acting within
the scope of his or her employment.

(1 Om) “Physician” means a medical or osteopathxc physi-
cian licensed  under ch. 448.

(11) -“Principal place of practice” means any of the
followmg :

(a): The state in which a health care prov1der furnishes
health care services.to more than 50% of h1s or hex patients.in
a fiscal year

(b) The state in which a health care provider derives more
than 50% of his or her income in a fiscal year from the
practlce of hlS or her profession. ,

(12) “Representatlve means the personal representative,
spouse, parent, guardlan, attomey or other legal agent of a
patlent

{13) “Respondent” means the person alleged to have been
negligent in a request for mediation filed under s. 655.44 or
655.445.

History: 1975 ¢, 37,79, 1977¢. 26 5. 75; 1977 ¢ 131;1977 ¢ 203 s. 106; Sup.
Ct. Order, 88 W'(2d) xiii; 1979 c. 124, 185, 355; 1983 a. 189 5. 329 (5); 19852
340; 1987'a. 27, 182, 264, 403; 1989 a. 187; 1991 a. 214
s Medical malpractice panels: The Wisconsin approach. Kravat. 61 MLR

‘A‘summar'y of the new statutes governing medical malpractice . Saichek.
WBB Oct; 1986.
891Recent developments in Wisconsin medical malpractice law. 1974 WLR
) Testmg the constitutionality of medical malpractice legnslanon The Wis-
consin medical malpractice act of 1975. 1977 WLR 838 See also: State ex rel
Strykowski v Wilkie, 81 W (2d) 491

655.002 Appilicability. (1) MANDATORY PARTICIPATION. Ex-
cept as provided in s. 655.003, this chapter applies to all of the
following:

(a) A physician or a nurse anesthetist for whom this state is
a principal place of practice and who practices his or her
profession in this state more than 240 hours in a fiscal year.

" (b) A physician or-a nurse anesthetist for whom Michigan
is a principal place of practice, if all of the following apply:

1. The physician or nurse anesthetist is a resident of this
state.

2. The physician or nurse anesthetist practices his or her
profession in this state or in Michigan or a combination of
both more than 240 hours in a fiscal year.

3, The phy51c1an or nurse anesthetist performs more proce-
dures in a Michigan hospital than in any other hospital. In
this subdivision, “Mlchlgan hospital” means a hospital lo-
cated in Michigan that is an affiliate of a corporation
organized under the laws of this state that maintains-its
principal office and a hospital in this state.

(c) A physician or nurse anesthetist who is exempt under s.
655.003 (1) or (3), but who practices his or her profession
outside the scope of the exemption and who fulfills the
requirements under par. (a) in relation to that practice
outside the scope of the exemption. For a physician or a nurse
anesthetist who is subject to this chapter under this para-
graph, this chapter applies only to claims arising out of
practice that is outside the scope of the exemption under s.
655.003 (1) or (3).

.. (d) A partnership comprised of physicians or nurse anes-
thetists- and organized and operated in this state for the
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primary purpose of providing the medical services of physi-
cians or nurse anesthetists.

(e) A corporation organized and operated in this state for
the primary purpose of providing the medical services of
physicians or nurse anesthetists.

(f). A cooperative sickness care association organized
under ss. 185.981 to 185.985 that operates a nonprofit sick-
ness care plan in this state and that directly provides services
through salaried employes in its own facility. :

(2) An ambulatory surgery center that operates in this
state,

(h) A hosprtal as defined in s. 50.33 (2).(a) and (c), that
operates in this state.

(i) An entity operated in this state that is an afﬁlrate ofa
hospital and that provides diagnosis or treatment of or care
for, patients of the hospital.

(]) A nursing home, as defined in s. 50.01 .(3), whose
operations are combined as a single entity with a hospital
described in par. (h), whether or not the nursing home
operations are physrcally ‘separate from the hospital
opeérations.

(2) OPTIONAL PARTICIPATION. All of the followrng may
elect, in the manner designated by the commissioner by rule
under s, 655.004, to be:subject to this chapter:

(a) A physician or nurse anesthetist for whom this state is a
principal place ‘of. practice but who practices. his' or- her
. profession fewer than 241 hours in a fiscal year, for a fiscal
year, or a.portion of a fiscal year, during which hc or she
practices his or her profession.

“(b) Except as provided. in sub. Q) (b), a physician or nurse
anesthetrst for whom this state is not a principal place of
practice, for a fiscal year, or a portion of a fiscal year, during
which he or she practices his or her profession in this state.
For-a health care provider who elects to be subject to this
chapter under this paragraph this chapter applies.only to
claims arising out of practice that is in this state and- that is

outside the scope of an exemption under s. 655:003 (1) or (3).
History: 1987 a. 27; 1991 a. 214.

655. 003 Exemptlons tor publlc employes and facllitles
and volunteers. Except as provided in's. 655.002 (1) (c), this
chapter does not apply toa health care provrdcr that is any of
the following:

“{1) A physician or a nurse anesthetrst who isa state, county
or municipal employe, or federal employe - or - contractor
covered under the federal tort claims act, as amended, and
who is acting within the scope of ‘his or her employment or
contractual duties.

(2) A facility that is exempt under s.50. 39 (3) or operated
by any governmental agency. "

3)A physrcran or a nurse anesthetrst who provides profes-
sional services under the conditions described in s. 146.89,
with respect to those professional services: provrded by the
physician or nurse anesthetist for which he or she is covered
by's. 165.25 and considered an agent of the department as

provided in's. 165.25 (6) (b).
. History: 1989 a. 187, 206; 1991 a. 214

655.004 -Rule-maklng authorlty. The director of state
courts, department and commissioner may promulgate such
rules under ch. 227 as are necessary to enable them to ] per form

their responsibilities under this chapter,
History: 1975 ¢. 37; Sup. Ct. Order, 88W(2d) xiii; 1987 a. 27; Stats 1987's
655.004; 1989 a. 187 s.28.

655.005 Health care provider emptoyes 1) Any petson
listed in s. 655.007 havinga claim or a derivative claim against
a health care provider or an employe of the health care
provider, for damages for bodily injury or death due to acts
or'omissions-of the employe of the health care provider acting

HEALTH CARE LIABILITY AND PATIENTS COMPENSATION 685.013

within the scope of his or her employment and providing
health care services, is subject to this chapter.

(2) The fund shall provide coverage, under s. 655.27, for
claims against the health care provider or the employe of the
health care provider due to the acts or omissions of the
employe acting within the scope of his or her employment and
providing health care services. This subsection does not apply
to an employe of a health care provider if the employe is a

physician or a nurse anesthetist.
21“.Histm'y: 1985 a 340; 1987 a. 27; Stats. 1987 5. 655.005; 1989 a. 187; 1991 a

655.006 Remedy. (1) (a) On and after July 24, 1975, every
patient, every patient’s representative and every health care
provider shall be conclusively presumed to have accepted to
be bound by this chapter: '

(b) Except as otherwise specifically provided in this chap-
ter,‘ this subsection also applies to minors.

{2) This.chapter does not -apply to injuries. or death
occurring, or services rendered, prior to July 24, 1975.

History: 1975 ¢. 37, 1987 a, 27; Stats. 1987 5. 655.006

655.007 Patients’ clalms. On and after July 24, 1975, any
patient or the patient’s representative having a claim or any
spouse, parent or child of the patient having a derivative
claim for injury or'death on account of malpractice is sub]ect
to this chapter. r

"History: 1975 ¢. 37, 199; 1983 a. 253,

This chapter was inapplicable to third-party claim based on contract where
no bodily injury was alleged. Northwest General Hosprtal v. Yee, 115 W (2d)
59, 339 NW (2d) 583 (1983) .-

655. 009 Actions against health care providers. An action
to recover damages on account of malpractice shall ccmply
with the following:

(1) CompraNT. The complaint in such action shall not
specify the amount of money to which the plaintiff supposes
to be entitled,

(2) MEDICAL EXPENSE PAYMENTS. The couit or Jur y, which-
ever is applicable, shall determine the amounts of medical
expense payments previously mcurred and for future medrcal
expense payments,

(3) VENUE. Venue in a court actron under this chapter is in
the county wheré the claimant resides if the claimant is a
resident of this state, or in a county specified in s. 801.50 (2)

(a)or (¢} if the claimant is not-a resident of this state, .~
‘History: 1975 ¢ 37, 198, 199; 1983 2. 253; 1985a 340, ' A

655. 01 Forms. The drrector of state courts shall prepare
and cause to be printed, and upon request. furnish free of
charge, such forms and materials as the director deems
necessary to facilitate or pr omote the efficient admmrstratron

of 'this chapter /
Hlstory 1975 ¢ 37, 199 Sup Ct Order, 88W(2d) xiii; 1989 a. 187s 28

655 013 Attorney tees (1) With respect to any act of
malpractice after July 24, 1975, for which a contingency fee
arrangement has been entered into. before June 14, 1986, the
compensation determined on a contingency basis and pay-
able to all attorneys acting for one or more plamtrt‘fs or
claimants is subject to the following unless a new contingency
fee arrangement is entered into that complies with subs (1m)
and (1t):.

(a) The determination shall not reflect amounts pr evrously
paid for medical expenses by the health care provider or the
provrder s insurer.

(b) The determination shall not reflect payments for future
medical expense in excess-of $25,000.

-.(1m) Except as provided in sub. (1t), with respect to any act
of malpractice for which a contingency fee arrangement is
entered into on and after June 14, 1986, in addition to
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compensation for the reasonable costs of prosecution of the
claim, the compensation determined on a contingency basis
and payable to all attorneys acting for one or more plaintiffs
or claimants is subject to the following limitations:

(a) Except as provided in par. (b), 33 1/3% of the first
$1 000,000 recovered.

(b) Twenty-five percent of the first $1,000,000 recovered if
liability is stipulated within 180 days after the date of filing of
the original complaint and not later than 60 days before the
first day of trial. .

(c) Twenty percent of any amount in excess of $1,000,000
recovered.

(1%) ‘A court may approve attorney fees in excess of the
limitations under sub. (Im) upon a showing of exceptional
circumstances, including an appeal.

{2) An attorney shall offer to charge any client in a
malpractice proceeding or action on a per diem or per hour
basis. Any such agreement shall be made at the time of the
employment of the attorney. An attorney’s fee on a per diem
or per hour basis is not subject to the limitations under sub.
(1) or (Im).

History: 1975 c¢. 37,-199;.1985 a. 340.

655.015  Future medical expenses. If a settlement, panel
award or judgment under this chapter entered into or ren-
dered before June 14, 1986, provides for future medical
expense payments in excess of $25,000, that portion of future
medical expense payments in excess of $25,000 shall be paid
into. the fund. The commissioner shall develop by rule a
system for managing and disbursing those moneys through
payments- for these expenses. The payments shall be made
under the system until either the amount is exhausted or the

patient dies. .
99Hlst3ry 1975 ¢. 37; 1977 ¢ 29; 1979 c. 34, 154; 1983 a 158; 1985 a. 340;
1 14

655 017 leltatlon on noneconomic damages. The
amount of noneconomic damages recoverable by a claimant
or plaintiff under this chapter for acts or omissions of a health
care provider if the action is filed on or-after June 14, 1986
and before January 1, 1991, and for acts or omissions of an
employe of a-health care provider; acting within the scope of
his or: her employment and providing health care services, for
actions filed on or after June 14, 1986 and before January 1,
1991, is subject to the limit under s. 893.55 (4).

_History: 1985 a. 340.
See note to 895 04, citing Rineck v. lohnson 155 W (2d) 659, 456 NW (2d)
336 (1990).

655.019  Information needed to set fees. The department
shall provide the director of state courts, the commissioner
and the board of governors with information on hospital bed
capacity and occupancy rates as needed to set fees under s.

655.27 (3) or 655.61.
History: 1985 a. 340; 1989 a. 187 s. 28; 1991 a 214

, SUBCHAPTER 1II
" INSURANCE PROVISIONS

655.23 - Limitations of iiability; proof of financial responsi-
bility. (3) (2) Except as provided in par. (d), every health care
provider either shall insure and keep insured the health care
provider’s liability by a policy of health care liability insur-
ance issued by an insurer authorized to do business in this
state or shall qualify as a self-insurer. Qualification as a self-
insurer is subject to conditions established by the commis-
sioner and is-valid only when approved by the commissioner.

(b) Each insurance company issuing health care liability
insurance that meets the requirements of sub. (4) to any
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health care provider shall, at the times prescribed by the
commissioner, file with the commissioner in a form pre-
scribed by the commissioner a certificate of insurance on
behalf of the health care provider upon original issuance and
each renewal.

(c) Each self-insured health care provider furnishing cover-
age that meets the requirements of sub. (4) shall, at the times
and in the form prescribed by the commissioner, file with the
commissioner a certificate of self-insurance and a separate
certificate of insurance for each additional health care pro-
vider covered by the self-insured plan.

(d) If a cash or surety bond furnished by a health care
provider for the purpose of insuring and keeping insured the
health care provider’s liability was approved by the commis-
sioner before April 25, 1990, par. (a) does not apply to the
health care provider while the cash or surety bond remains in
effect. A cash or surety bond remains in effect unless the
commissioner, at the request of the health care provider or
the surety, approves its cancellation

(4) Health care lability insurance, self-insurance or a cash
or surety bond under sub. (3) (d) shall be in amounts of at
least $200,000 for each occurrence and $600,000 per year for
all occurrences in any one policy year for occurrences before
July 1, 1987, $300,000 for each occurrence and $900,000 for
all occurrences in any one policy year for occurrences on or
after July 1, 1987 and- before July 1, 1988, and $400,000 for
each occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences in any one
policy year for occurrences on or after July 1, 1988.

(5) While health care liability insurance, self-insurance or a
cash or surety bond under sub. (3) (d) remains in force, the
health care provider, the health care provider’s estate and
those conducting the health care provider’s business, includ-
ing the health care provider’s health-care liability insurance
carrier, are liable for malpractice for no more than the limits
expressed in sub. (4) or the maximum liability limit for which
the health care provider is insured, whichever is higher, if the
health care provider has met the requirements of this chapter.

{5m) The limits set forth in sub. (4) shall apply to any joint
liability of a physician or nurse anesthetist and his or her
corporation or partnership under s. 655.002 (1) (d) or ().

(6) Any person who violates this section or s. 655.27 (3) (a)
is subject to s. 601.64. For purposes of s. 601.64 (3) (c), each
week of delay in compliance with this section or s. 655.27 (3)
(a) constitutes a new violation.

- {7y Each health care provider shall comply with this section

and with s. 655.27 (3) (a) before exercising any rights or
privileges conferred by his or her health care provider’s
license. The commissioner shall notify the board that issued
the license of a health care provider that has not complied
with this- section or’ with 's. 655.27 (3) (a). The board that
issued-the license may suspend, or refuse to issue or to renew
the license of any health care provider violating this section or
8. 655.27 (3) (a). .

(8) Norhealth care provider who retires or ceases operation
after July 24, 1975, shall be eligible for the protection
provided under this chapter unless proof of financial respon-
sibility for all claims arising out of acts of malpractice
occurring after July 24,1975, is provided to the commissioner
in the form prescribed by the commissioner.

History: 1975 ¢. 37,79, 199; 1977 ¢. 131; 1983 a. 158; 1985 a 340; 1989 a. 56
5. 259; 1989 a. 187 ss. 14 to 19, 29; 1989 a. 332; 1991 a. 214,

Insurer is liable under (5) upto policy limits. Patients Fund v. St. Paul Ins.
Co 116 W (2d) 537, 342 NW (2d) 693 (1984)

655.24 Insurance poilcy forms. (1) No insurer may enter
into or issue any policy of health care liability insurance until
its policy form has been submitted to and approved by the
commissioner under s, 631.20 (1). The filing of a policy form
by -any insurer. with the commissioner for approval shall
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constitute, on the part of the insurer, a conclusive and
unqualified acceptance of all provisions of this chapter, and
an agreement by it to be bound hereby as to any policy issued
by it to any health care provider.

(1m) Notwithstanding sub. (1), the issuance of a policy of
health care liability insurance by an insurer to a health care
provider constitutes, on the part of the insurer, a conclusive
and unqualified acceptance of all of the provisions of this
chapter, and an agreement by it to be bound under the
provisions of this chapter as to any policy issued by it to a
health care provider.

(2) Every policy issued under this chapter shall be deemed
conchisively to provide all of the following:

(a) That the insurer agrees to pay in full all of the following:

1. Attorney fees and other costs incurred in the settlement
or defense of any claims.

2.:Any settlement, arbitration award or judgment imposed
against the insured under this chapter up to the limits
expressed in s. 655.23 (4), or the maximum liability limit for
which the health care prov1der is insured, wh1chever is
greater.

3. Any portion or.all of the interest, as determined by the
board of governors, on an amount recovered against the
insured -under this chapter for which the insured is liable
under s. 807.01-(4), 814.04 (4) or 815.05 (8).

-(b) That any termination of the policy by cancellation or
nonrenewal is not effective as to patients claiming against
those covered by the policy unless the insured has been
notified as provided in sub. (3) and s. 631.36, except that an
insurer- may cancel a health care provider’s policy under .
631.36 (2) if the health care provider is no longer licensed to
practice medicine or nursing.

{3) A notice of cancellation or nonrenewal that is requned
under sub:-(2) (b) issued to a health care provider who is a
natural person must inform the health care provider that his
orher license to practice medicine or nursing may be: sus-
pended or not renewed if the health care provider has no
insurance or insufficient insurance. The insurer shall retain a
copy of each notice issued under sub. (2) (b) for not less than
10 years from the date of mailing or delivery of the notice-and
shall furnish. a copy to the commissioner upon request..

(4) The insurer shall, upon termination of a policy of health
care liability insurance issued under this chapter by cancella-
tion. or nonrenewal, notify the commissioner of the
termination.

.. History: 1975.¢ 37; 1977 . 131;-1985 a. 340 1989.2. 187; 1991 a 214,

655.245 Insurance policy limitations. (1) No policy of
health ‘care liability insurance may permit a health care
provider to reject any settlement agreed upon between the
claimant and the insurer.

(@A policy of health care liability insurance may permxt
the insurer.to make payments for medical expenses prior to
any determination of fault. Such payments are not an admis-
sion “of fault.. Such payments may be deducted from any
judgment or arbitration award, but shall not be repaid
regardless of the judgment or award. Nothing in this subsec-
tion shall restrict the insurer’s right of comparative contribu-
tion or indemnity in accordance w1th the laws of this state.
- History: 1975 ¢.'37

655.25 : Avallabillty and effectiveness for health care lia-
‘bility Insurance. (1) No policy of health care liability insur-
ance ‘written under. the -provisions of s: 619.04 may be
canceled or nonrenewed except for nonpayment of premiums
unless. the ‘health care provider’s license is revoked by the
appropriate licensing board. A health care provider whose
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license is revoked shall be permitted to buy out in cases of a
claims-made policy.
History: 1975 ¢. 37

655.26 ' Reports on claims paid. (1) In addition to any
information required by the commissioner under s. 601.42, by
the 15th day of each month, each insurer that writes health
care liability insurance in this state and each self-insurer
approved under s. 655.23 (3) (a) shall report the following
information to the medical examining board and the board of
governors on each claim paid during the previous month for
damages arising out of the rendering of health care services:
" (a) The name and address of the policyholder or self-
insured entity and the name and address of any-individual on
whose behalf the claim was paid.

" (b) The profession of the individual or the type of facility
or entity on whose behalf the claim was paid.

(¢) The health care provider’s medlcal specialty, if the
provider is a physician.

d A descrlptlon of the injury, including its cause and
severity.

(e) Whether the claim was paid as a result of a settlement, a
patients compensation panel award or a court award.

(f) The amount of the payment.

(g) The number and amounts of any previous claims paid
by the insurer or self-insurer for damages arising out of the
rendering of health care services by the insured, the self-
insurer or the employes of the insured or self-insurer. Only
claims paid on or after July 20, 1985, are required to be
reported -under this.paragraph

(h) Any additional information requested by the medical
examining board or the board of governors.

{2) By the 15th day of each month, the board of governors
shall report the information specified in sub. (1) to the
medical examining board for each claim paid by the fund
during the previous month for damages arising out of the
rendering of health care services by a health care provider or
an employe of a health care provider.

(3) If more than one payment will be made on a claim, the
first report filed under sub. (1) or (2)-after the first payment is
made on the claim shall include the total amount of the award
or settlement and: the pro;ected schedule and amounts of
payments.

{4) Any person ‘who in good faith: provides information to
the medical examining board orthe board of governors under
this section'is immune from civil liability for his or her acts or

omissions in providing such information,
History: 1985 a. 29, 340; 1989 a. 187; 1991 a. 214

SUBCHAPTER 1V
PATIENTS COMPENSATION FUND

655.27 Patlents compensation fund. (1) Funp. There is
created a patients compensation- fund for the purpose of
paying that portion of a medical malpractice claim which is in
excess of the limits expressed in s. 655.23 (4) or the maximum
liability limit for which the health care provider is insured,
whichever limit is' greater, paying future medical expense
payments under s.- 655.015 and paying claims under -sub.
(1m).-The fund shall provide occurrence coverage for claims
against health care providers that have-complied with this
chapter, and against employes of those health care providers,
and for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in pay-
ment of claims and fund administrative expenses. The cover-
age provided by the fund shall begin July 1, 1975. The fund
shall not be liable for damages for injury or death caused by
an intentional crime, as defined under s. 939.12, committed
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by a health care provider or an employe of a health care
provider, whether or not the criminal conduct is the basis for
a medical malpractice claim.

(1m) PeerR REVIEW ACTIVITIES. (a) The fund shall pay that
portion of a claim described in par. (b) against a health care
provider that exceeds the limit expressed in s. 655.23 (4) or the
maximum liability limit for which the health care prov1der is
insured, whichever limit is greater.

(b) A health care provider who engages in the activities
described in s. 146.37 (1g) and (3) shall be liable for not more
than the limits expressed under s. 655.23 (4) or the maximum
liability limit for which the health care provider is insured,
whichever limit is greater, if he or she is found to be liable
under s. 146.37, and the fund shall pay the excess amount,
unless the health care provider is found not to have acted in
good faith during those activities and the failure to act in
good faith is found by the trier of fact, by clear and convinc-
ing evidence, to be both malicious and intentional.

(2) FUND ADMINISTRATION AND. OPERATION. Management
of the fund shall be vested with the board of governors. The
commissioner shall either provide staff services necessary for
the operation of the fund or, with the approval of the board
of governors, contract for all or part of these services. Such a
contract is subject to s. 16.765, but is otherwise exempt from
subch. IV of ch. 16. The commissioner shall adopt rules
governing the procedures for creating and implementing
these contracts before entering into the contracts. At least
annually, the contractor shall report to the commissioner and
to the board of governors regarding all expenses incurred and
subcontracting arrangements, If the board of governors
approves, the contractor may hire legal counsel as needed to
provide staff services. The cost of contracting for staff
services shall be funded from the appropriation under s.
20.145(2) (u).

(3) FrEs. (a) Assessment. Each health care provider shall
pay an.annual assessment, which, subject to pars. (b) to (br),
shall be based on the following considerations:

1. Past and prospective loss and expense expetience in
different’ types of practice.

2. The past and prospective loss and expense experience of
the fund.

2m. The loss and expense experience of the individual -

health care provider which resulted in the payment of money,
from the fund or other sources, for damages arising out of the
rendering of medical care by the health care provider or an
employe of the health care provider, except that an adjust-
ment to a health care provider’s fees may not be made under
this subdivision prior to the receipt of the recommendation of
the patients compensation fund peer review council under s.
655.275 (5) (a)-and the expiration of the time period provided,
under s. 655.275 (7), for the health care provider to comment
or.prior to the expiration of the time period under s. 655.275
(%) @-

3. Risk factors for persons who are semiretired or part-
time professionals.

(am) Assessments for peer review council. The fund, a
mandatory health care liability risk-sharing plan established
under s. 619.04 and a private health care liability insurershall
be assessed, as appropriate, fees sufficient to cover the costs
of the patients compensation fund peer review council, in-
cluding costs of administration, for reviewing claims paid by
the fund; plan and insurer, respectively, unders. 655.275 (5).
The fees shall be set by the commissioner by rule, after
approval by the board of governors, and shall be collected by
the commissioner for deposit in the fund. The costs of the
patients compensation fund peer review council -shall. be
funded from the appropriation under s. 20.145(2) (um):
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(b) Fees established. 1. The commissioner, after approval
by the board of governors, shall by rule set the fees under par.
(a). The rule shall provide that fees may be paid annually or in
semiannual or quarterly instalments. In addition to the
prorated portion of the annual fee, semiannual and quarterly
instalments shall include an amount sufficient to cover inter-
est not earned and administrative costs incurred because the
fees were not paid on an annual basis. This paragraph does
not impose liability on the board of governors for payment of
any part of a fund deficit.

2. With respect to fees paid by physicians, the rule shall
provide for not more than 4 payment classifications, based
upon the amount of surgery performed and the risk of
diagnostic and therapeutic services provided or procedures
performed.

2m. In addition to the fees and payment classifications
described under subds. 1 and 2, the commissioner, after
approval by the board of governors, may by rule establish a
separate payment classification for physicians satisfying s.
655.002 (1) (b) and a separate fee for nurse anesthetists
satisfying s. 655.002 (1) (b) which take into account the loss
experience of health care providers for whom Michigan is a
principal place of practice.

(bg) Fee increase. 1. Every rule under par. (b) shall provide
for an automatic increase in a health care provider’s fees,
except as provided 'in subd. 2, if the loss and expense
experience of the fund and other sources with respect to the
health care provider or an employe of the health care provider
exceeds either a number of claims paid threshold or a dollar
volume of claims paid threshold, both as established in the
rule. The rule shall specify applicable amounts of increase
corresponding to the number of claims paid and the dollar
volume of awards in excess of the respective thresholds.

2. The rule shall provide that the automatic increase does
not apply if the board of governors determines that the
performance of the patients compensation fund peer review
council in making recommendations under s. 655.275 (5) (a)
adequately addresses the consxderatlon set forth in par. (a)
2m.

(br) Limit on fees. Every rule setting fees for a particular
fiscal year under par. (b) shall ensure that the fees assessed do
not exceed the greatest of the following:

1. The estimated. total dollar amount of claims to be paid
during that particular fiscal year.

2. The fees assessed for the fiscal year preceding that
particular fiscal year, adjusted by the commissioner of insur-
ance to reflect changes in the consumer price index for all
urban consumers, U.S. city average, for the medical care
group, as determined by the U.S. department of labor.

3. Two hundred percent of the total dollar amount dis-
bursed for claims during the calendar year preceding that
particular fiscal year.

(c) Collection and deposit of fees. Fees under pars. (a) and
(b) and future medical expense payments specified for the
fund by a settlement, panel award or judgment entered into
or rendered before June 14, 1986, shall be collected by the
commissioner for deposit into the fund in a manner pre-
scribed by the commissioner by rule.

(d) Rule not effective; fees. If the rule establishing fees
under par. (b) does not take effect prior to June 2 of any fiscal
year, the commissioner may elect to collect fees as established
for the previous fiscal year. If the commissioner so elects and
the rule subsequently takes effect, the balance for the fiscal
year shall be collected or refunded or the remaining semian-
nual or quarterly instalment payments shall be adjusted
except the commissioner may elect not to collect, refund or
adjust for minimal amounts,




Electronically scanned images of the published statutes.

4303 91-92 Wis. Stats.

(e) Podiatrist fees. The commissioner, after approval by the
board of governors, may by rule assess fees against podia-
trists for the purpose of paying the fund’s portion of medical
malpractice claims and expenses resulting from claims
against podiatrists based on occurrences before July 1,:1986.

(4) FUND ACCOUNTING AND AUDIT. (a) Moneys shall be
withdrawn from the fund by the commissioner only upon
vouchers ‘approved and authorized by the board of
gOVErnors.

(b) All books, records and audits of the fund shall be open
to the general public for reasonable inspection, with the
exception of confidential claims information.

(c) Persons authorized to receive deposits, withdraw, issue
vouchers or otherwise disburse any fund moneys shall post a
blanket fidelity bond in an amount reasonably sufficient to
protect fund assets. The cost of such bond shall be paid from
the fund.

(d) Annually after the close of a fiscal year, the board of
governors shall furnish a financial report to the commis-
sioner. The report shall be prepared in accordance with
accepted accounting procedures and shall include the present
value of-all claims reserves, including those for incurred but
not reported claims as determined by accepted actuarial
principles,.and such other information as may be required by
the commissioner. The board of governors shall furnish an
appropriate summary of this report to all fund participants.

(e) The board of governors shall submit a quarterly report
to the state investment board and the department of adminis-
tration projecting the future cash flow needs of the fund. The
state investment board shall invest moneys held in the fund in
investments with maturities and liquidity that are appropri-
ate for the needs of the fund as reported by the board of
governors in its quarterly reports under this paragraph. All
income derived from such investments shall be credited to the
fund.

" (f) The board of governors shall submit a functional and
progress. report to the chief clerk of each house of the
legislature, for distribution to the appropriate standing com-
mittees under's. 13.172(3), on or before March 1 of each year.

(g) The board of governors may cede reinsurance to an
insurer authorized to do business in this state under ch. 611,
613,614 or 618 or pursue other loss funding management to
preserve the solvency and integrity of the fund, subject to
approval by the commissioner. The commissioner may pre-
scribe controls over or other conditions on such use of
reinsurance or other loss-funding management mechanisms.

(5) CLAIMS PROCEDURES. (a) 1. Any person may file a claim
for damages arising out of the rendering of medical care or
services or participation in peer review activities under s.
146.37 within this state against a health care provider or an
employe of a health care provider. A person filing a claim
may recover from the fund only if the health care provider or
the employe of the health care provider has coverage under
the fund and the fund is named as a party in the action.

2. Any person may file an action for damages arising out of
the rendering of medical care or services or participation in
peer review activities under s. 146.37 outside this state against
a ‘health care provider or an employe of a health care
provider. A person filing an action may recover from the fund
only if the health care provider or the employe of the health
care provider has coverage under the fund and the fund is
named as a party in the action. If the rules of procedure of the
jurisdiction in which the action is brought do not permit
naming the fund as a party, the person filing the action may
recover from the fund only if the health care provider or the
employe of the health care provider has coverage under the
fund and the fund is notified of the action within 60 days of
service of process on the health care provider or the employe
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of the health care provider. The board of governors may
extend this time limit if it finds that enforcement of the time
limit would be prejudicial to the purposes of the fund and
would benefit neither insureds nor claimants.

3. If, after reviewing the facts upon which the claim or
action is based, it appears reasonably probable that damages
paid will exceed the limits in s. 655.23 (4), the fund may
appear and actively defend itself when named as a party in an
action against a health care provider, or an employe of a
health care provider, that has coverage under the fund. In
such action, the fund may retain counsel and pay out of the
fund attorney fees and expenses including court costs in-
curred in defending the fund. The attorney or law firm
retained to defend the fund shall not be retained or employed
by the board of governors to perform legal services for the
board of governors other than those directly connected with
the fund. Any judgment affecting the fund may be appealed
as provided by law, The fund may not be required to file any
undertaking in any judicial action, proceeding or appeal.

(b) It shall be the responsibility of the insurer or self-
insurer providing insurance or self-insurance for a health care
provider who is also covered by the fund to provide an
adequate defense of the fund on any claim filed that may
potentially affect the fund with respect to such insurance
contract or self-insurance contract. The insurer or self-insurer
shall act in good faith and in a fiduciary relationship with
respect to any claim affecting the fund. No settlement exceed-
ing an amount which could require payment by the fund may
be agreed to unless approved by the board of governors.

(c) It shall be the responsibility of any health care provider
with a cash or surety bond in effect under s. 655.23 (3) (d) to
provide an adequate defense of the fund on any malpractice
claim filed or any claim filed under sub. (Im) that may
potentially affect the fund. The health care provider shall act
in good faith and in a.fiduciary relationship with respect to
any claim affecting the fund. No settlement exceeding an
amount which could require payment by the fund may be
agreed to unless approved by the board of governors.

(d) A person who has recovered a final judgment or a
settlement approved by the board of governors against a
health care provider, or an employe of a health care provider,
that has coverage under the fund may file a claim with the
board of governors to recover that portion of such judgment
or settlement which is in excess of the limits in s. 655.23 (4) or
the maximum liability limit for which the health care provider
is insured, whichever limit is greater. In the event the fund
incurs liability exceeding $1,000,000 to any person under a
single claim as the result of a settlement, panel award or

judgment entered into or rendered under this chapter before

June 14, 1986, the fund shall pay not more than $500,000 per
year. Payments shall be made from money collected and paid
into the fund under sub. (3) and from interest earned thereon.
For claims subject to the $500,000 limit, payments shall be
made until the claim has been paid in full, and any attorney
fees in connection with such claim shall be similarly prorated.
Payment of not more than $500,000 per year includes direct
or indirect payment or commitment of moneys to or on
behalf of any person under a single claim by any funding
mechanism. No ‘interest may be paid by the fund on the
unpaid portion of any claim filed under this paragraph,
except as provided under s. 807.01 (4), 814.04 (4) or 815.05
@®). 3

(e) Claims filed against the fund shall be paid in the order
received within 90 days after filing unless appealed by the
fund. If the amounts in the fund are not sufficient to pay all of
the claims, claims received after the funds are exhausted shall
be immediately payable the following year in the order in
which they were received.
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(6) INTEGRITY OF FUND. The fund shall be held in trust for
the purposes of this chapter- and may not be used for purposes
other than those of this chapter.

(7) ACTIONS AGAINST INSURERS, SELF-INSURERS OR PROVID-
ERs. The board of governors may bring an action against an
insurer, self-insurer or health care provider for failure to act
in good faith or breach of fiduciary responsibility under sub.
(%) (b) or (). ,

History: 1975 c. 37,79, 199; 1977 ¢. 29, 131; 1979¢. 34, 194; 1981 c. 20; 1983

.27, 158; 1985 a 340; 1987 a. 27, 186, 247, 399; 1989 a. 102, 187, 332; 1991 a
315,

655.275 Patients compensatlon fund peer review council.
(1) DEFINITION, In this section, “council” means the patlents
compensation fund peer review council.

(2) ApPOINTMENT. The board of governors - shall appoint
the members of the council. Section 15.09, except s. 15.09 (4)
and (8), does not apply to the council. The board of governors
shall designate the chairperson, vice chairperson and secre-
tary of the council and the terms to be served by council
members. The council shall consist of 5 persons, not more
than 3 of whom are physicians who are actively engaged in
the practice of medicine i in this state. The chairperson shall be
a physician and shall serve as an ex officio nonvoting member
of the medical examining board.

3) MEeTINGs. The council shall meet at the call of the
chauperson of the board of governors or the chairperson of
the council. The council shall meet at the location determined
by the person calling the meeting. ’

.(4) Repor1s. The council shall submit to the chairperson of
the board of governors, upon request of the chairperson but
not more often than annually, areporton the operatlon of the
councﬂ

- (5) DuTiEs. (a) The councﬂ shall review, within one year of

the date of first payment on the claim, each claim that is paid
by the fund, a mandatory health care liability risk-sharing
plan established under s. 619: .04, a private health care liability
insurer or.-a self-insurer for damages arising out of the
rendering of medical care by a health care provider or an
employe of the health care provider and shall make recom-
mendations to all of the following:

1. The commissioner and the board of governors regarding
any adjustments to be made, under s. 655.27 (3) (@) 2m, to
fund fees assessed against the health care provider, based on
the paid claim.

2. The commissioner and the board of goveinors regarding
any adjustments to be made, under s. 619.04 (5) (b), to
premiums assessed against a physician under a-mandatory
health care liability risk-sharing plan estabhshed under s.
619 04, based on the paid claim.

3.A private health care liability insurer regarding adjust-
ments to premiums assessed against a physician covered by
private insurance, based on the pald claim, if requested by the
private insurer.

(b) In developing recommendations under par. (a), the
council may consult with any person and shall consult with
the following:

1. If a claim was pa1d for damages ansmg out of the
rendering of care by a physician, with at least one physician
from. the area. of medical specialty. of the physician who
rendered the care and with at least one physician from the
area of medical specialty of the medical procedure involved, if
the specialty area of the procedure is different than the
specialty area of the physician who rendered the care.

2. If-a claim: was paid-for- damages arising out of the
rendering.-of care by a nurse anesthetlst with -at least one
nurse anesthetist.
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(6) Fees. Fees sufficient to cover the council’s costs,
including costs of administration, shall be collected under s.
655.27 (3) (am).
~(7) NOTICE OF RECOMMENDATION. The council shall notify
the affected health care provider, in writing, of its recommen-
dations to .the commissioner, the board of governors or a
private insurer made under sub. (5). The notice shall inform
the health care provider that the health care provider may
submit written comments on the council’s recommendations
to the commissioner, the board of governors or the private
insurer within a reasonable period of time specified in the
notice.

(8) PaTiENT RECORDS. The council may obtain any infor-
mation relating to any claim it reviews under this section that
is-in’ the -possession of the commissioner or the board of
governors. The council shall keep patient health care infor-
mation confidential as required by s. 146.82 (2) (b).

(9) ImmuNITY. Members of the council and persons con-
sulting with the council under sub. (5) (b) are immune from
civil lability for acts or omissions while performing their
duties under this section. }

(10) MEMBERS” AND CONSULTANTS’ EXPENSES. Any person
serving on-the council and any person consulting with the
council under sub. (5) (b) shall be paid $50 for each day’s
actual attendance at council meetings, plus actual and neces-

sary travel expenses.
_ History: 1985 a. 340; 1989 a. 187; 1991 a. 214, 315

SUBCHAPTER VI
' MEDIATION SYSTEM

655.42 Establishment of mediation system. (1) LEGISLA-
11vE INTENT. The legislature intends that the mediation sys-
tem provide the persons under sub. (2) with an informal,
inexpensive and expedient means for resolving disputes with-
out litigation and intends that. the director of state courts
administer the mediation system accordingly.

(2) MEDIATION sYSTEM, The director of state courts shall
establish a mediation system complying with this subchapter
not later than September 1, 1986. The mediation system shall
consist. of mediation panels. that assist in the resolution of
disputes, regarding medical malpractice,  between patients,
their representatives, spouses, parents or children and health

care providers.
Hlstory 1985 a. 340; 1989 a. 187s 28. .

655:43 ‘Mediatlon requirement. The claimant and all re-
spondents named in a request for mediation filed under s.
655.44 or 655.445 shall participate in mediation under this

subcha ter.
Hlstory 1985 a. 340

655.44 . Request for mediation prior to court action. (1)
REQUEST AND FEE. Beginning September 1, 1986, any person
listed in 5. 655.007 having a claim or a deri ivative claim under
this chapter for bodily injury or death because of a tort or
breach of contract based on professional services rendered or
that should have been rendered by a health care provider may
file a request for mediation and shall pay the fee under s.
655.54.

2 CONTENT OF REQUEST. The request for mediation shall
be" in . writing -and shall include all of the following
information: -

" (a) The claimant’s name and city, village or town, county
and state of residence.

(b) The name of the patient.

(¢) The name and address of the health care provider
alleged to have been negligent in treating the patient.
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(d) The condition or disease for which the health care
provider was treating the patient-when the alleged negligence
occurred and the dates of treatment.

(e) A brief description of the injury alleged to have been
caused by the health care provider’s negligence.

(3) DELIVERY OR REGISTERED MAIL. The request for media-
tion shall be delivered in person or sent by registered mail to
the director of state courts.

(4) STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS. Any applicable statute of
limitations is tolled on the date the director of state courts
receives the request for mediation if delivered in person or on
the date of mailing if sent by registered mail. The statute
remains tolled until 30 days after the last day of the mediation
period under s. 655.465 (7).

(5) NO- COURT ACTION COMMENCED BEFORE MEDIATION.
Except as provided in s. 655.445, no court action may be
commenced - unless a request for mediation has been filed
under this section and until the expiration of the mediation
period under s. 655.465 (7).

{6) NOTICE OF COURT ACTION TO DIRECTOR OF STATE COURTS.
A claimant who files a request for mediation under this
section and who commences a court action after the expira-
tion- of the:mediation period under s. 655.465 (7) shall send
notice of the court action by 1st class mail to the director of
state courts. :

History: 1985 a_ 340; 1989 a. 187 5. 28

Request for medlatlon of claim nammg only one doctor did not toll statute
of limitations applicable to claims against doctors not named in mediation

request. Dipple v. Wis Patients Comp. Fund, 161 W (2d) 854, 468 NW (2d)
789 (Ct. App.+1991).

655.445 Request for mediation in conjunction with court
action. (1) COMMENCING ACTION, REQUEST AND FEE. Beginning
September 1, 1986, any person listed in s. 655.007 having a
claim or a derivative claim under this chapter for bodily
injury or-death because of a tort or breach of contract based
on professional services rendered or that should have been
rendered by a health care provider shall, within 15 days after
the date of filing an action- in court, file a request for
mediation. The request shall be prepared and delivered in
person -or sent by registered mail to the director of state
courts, in the form and manner required under s. 655.44 (2)
and (3), together with a notice that a court action has been
commenced and the fee under s. 655.54 shall be paid.

(2) SCHEDULING. All time periods under s. 802.10 (2) and
(3) (a) and (b) are tolled on the date of filing the court action.
The time periods remain tolled until the expiration of the
mediation period unders. 655.465 (7).

(3) NO COURT PROCEEDINGS BEFORE MEDIATION. For actions
filed under sub. (1), no discovery may be made and no trial,
pretrial conference or scheduling conference may be held
until the expiration of the mediation period under s. 655.465

N , :
( )History: 1985 a. 340; 1989 a. 187 s 28.

655.45 Reports to licensing bodies. (1) For the quarter
beginning on July 1, 1986, and for each quarter thereafter, the
director of state courts shall file reports complying with sub.
(2) with: the medical examining board, the board of nursing
and the department, respectively, regarding health care pro-
viders licensed by the respective bodies.

(2) The reports under sub. (1) shall set forth all of the
followmg

(a) The names of all health care prov1ders who are named
as defendants in court actions of which the director of state
courts receives notice under s. 655.44 (6) or 655.445 (1) during
the quarter.

(b) Whether any court action of which the director of state
courts received notice under s. 655.44 (6) or 655.445 (1) was
disposed of by settlement, compromise, stipulation agree-
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ment, dismissal default or judgment during the quarter and
the amount of the settlement or award to the claimant, if any,
to the extent the director of state courts has any of the
information under this paragraph.

History: 1985 a. 340; 1989 a. 187 s 28

655.455 Notice to health care providers. The director of
state courts shall serve notice of a request for mediation upon
all health care providers named in the request, at the respec-
tive addresses provided in the request, by registered mail
within 7 days after the director of state courts receives the
request if delivered in person or within 10 days after the date
of mailing of the request to.the director of state courts if sent
by. registered mail.

History: 1985 a. 340; 1989 2. 187 5 28

15-day time limit for filing request for mediation after commericement of

court action is directory, rather than mandatory Eby v. Kozarek, 153 W (2d)
75, 450 NW (2d) 249 (1990).

655.465 Mediation panels; mediation period. (1) MEDIA-
TION PANEL FOR DISPUIE. The director of state courts shall
appoint the members of a mediation panel under sub. (2) and
send notice to the claimant and all respondents by registered
mail. The notice shall inform the claimant and all respon-
dents of the names of the persons appointed to the mediation
panel and the date, time and place of the mediation session.
The director of state courts may change the date, time or
place of the mediation session as necessary to accommodate
the parties, subject to the requirement that the mediation
session be held before the expiration of the mediation period
under sub. (7).

(2) APPOINTMENT OF MEDIATORS. Each mediation panel
shall consist of the following members appointed by the
director of state courts:

(a) One public member who is neither an attorney nor a
health care provider and who is selected from a list of public
member mediators prepared every 2 years, or more fre-
quently upon request of the director of state courts, by the
governor or, if any person resigns or is unable to serve as.a
public member mediator, from a list of alternates prepared by
the director of state courts.

(b) One attorney who is licensed to practice law in this
state. :

(c) One health care provider as follows:

1: Except as provided in subds. 4 and 5, if all respondents
named in the request for mediation are physicians, a physi-
cian who is licensed to practice in this state and who is
selected- from a list prepared by a statewide organization of
physicians designated by the director of state courts.

2. Except as provided in subds. 4 and 5, if none of the
respondents named in the request for mediation is a physi-
cian, a health care provider who is licensed to practice in this
state in the same health care field as the respondent and who
is selected from a list prepared by the department or the
examining board that regulates health care providers in that
health care field.

3. Except as provided in subds. 4 and 5, if more than one
respondent is named in the request for mediation at least one
of whom is-a physician and at least one of whom is not, a
health care provider who is licensed to practice in this state
and who is selected from the list under subd. 1 or 2, as
determined by the director of state courts.

4. If the director of state courts determines that a list under
subd. 1 or 2 is inadequate to permit the selection of an
appropriate health care provider, a health care provider who
is licensed to practice in this state and who is selected from an
additional list prepared by the director of state courts.

5. If the director of state courts determines that lists under
subds. 1 or 2 and 4 are inadequate to permit the selection of
an appropriate health care provider for a particular dispute, a
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health care provider who is licensed to practice in this state
and who is selected by the director of state courts.

(3) FiLLING vACANCIES. If a person appointed to a media-
tion'panel under sub. (1) resigns from or is unable to serve. on
the mediation panel, the director of state courts shall appoint
a replacement selected in the same manner as the predecessor
appointee. -

{4) CoNFLICT OF INTERESI. No person may serve on a
mediation panel if the person has a professional or personal
interest in the dispute.

(5) ComPENsATION. Each mediator shall be compensated

$150 plus: actual and necessary expenses for each day of

mediation conducted. Compensation and expenses shall be
paid out of the appropriation under s. 20.680 (2) (qm) upon
such ‘authorizations ‘as the dnector of state courts. may
prescribe.

(6) IMMUNITY AND PRESUMPTION OF GOOD FAITH. (a) A
mediator is immune from civil liability for any good faith act
or-omission within the scope of the mediator’s performance
of his or her powers and duties under this subchapter.

(b) Itis presumed that every act or omission under par. (a)
is a“good faith act or omission. This presumption may be
overcome only by clear and convincing evidence.

(7). MeDIATION PERIOD. The period for mediation shall
expire- 90 days-after the director of state courts receives a
request for mediation if delivered in person or within 93 days
after the date of mailing of the request to the director of state
courts if sent by registered mail, or within a longer period
agreed to by the claimant and all respondents and specified
by them in writing for purposes of applying ss. 655.44 (4) and

(5) and 655.445 (3).
History: 1985 a. 340; 1989-a. 187 5. 28; 1989a 359
Claimant’s failure to participate in medlatlon within 90- day period under
(7) does not require dismissal; court’ may’ determine appropriate sanction,
Schulz v. Nienhuis, 152 W (2d) 434, 448 NW (2d) 655 (1989) .
... Completion of mediation within period under (7) isn’t jurisdictional pre-
requisite: for maintenance of medical: malpractice suit. Bertotello v.'St. Jo-
seph’s- Hosp. of Marshfield, 685'F Supp. 192 (W. D. Wis: 1988)

655.54 ' Filing fee. Requests for medlatlon f11ed with the
director of state courts are subject to a filing fee of $11. The
filing fee shall be paxd into the medlatlon fund under s.

655.68.
Hxstory 1985a 340 1989a 187s 28

"655 58 Medlaﬁon procedure. (1) No RECORD Mediation
shall be conducted W1thout a stenographlc record or’ any
‘other transcnpt

'(2) No'EXAMS, SUBPOENAS, OAIHS -‘No physxcal examina-
’tions or production of records may be ordered, no witnesses
‘may ‘bé subpoenaed and no oaths may be administeied in

mediation, whether by a mediation panel-or member thereof

orasa result of application to-a court by any person. .

) No EXPERT WITNESSES; PANEL CONSULTANTS PERMITTED,
(a) Except as: provided in.par. ‘(b); ‘no -expert witnesses,
opinions-or: xepous may be submitted or otherwise used in
medlatlon ’

‘(b) The medlauon panel- or -any member thereof _may
consult with any expert, and upon-authorization. of  the
director of state courts may compensate the expert from the
appropnatlon under s. 20.680 (2) (qm).

{ (8) PATIENT RECORDS CONFIDENTIAL EXCEPT TO PARTIES. All
patient health care records-in.the possession of a mediation
panel shall be kept confidential by all members of the
mediation panel and all other persons participating in media-
tion. Every- person participating in -mediation shall make
available to one another and all members of the mediation
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panel all patient health care records of the patient named in
the request for mediation that are in the person’s possession.

(5) COUNSEL PERMITTED. Any person participating in medi-
ation may be represented by counsel authorized to act for his

or her respective client.
. Hlstory 1985 a. 340; 1989 a. 187's. 28.

655.59  Inadmissibility. Filings under ss. 655.44 and 655.445
are not admissible in any court action. No statement or
expression of opinion made in the course of a mediation
session is admissible, either as an admission or otherwise, in
any court action.

History: 1985 a. 340

655.61 Funding. (1) The mediation fund created under s.
655.68 shall be financed from fees charged to health care
providers. The director of state courts shall, by February 1
annually, determine the revenues needed for the operation of
the mediation system during the succeeding fiscal year and
inform the board of governors of that amount. The director
of state courts shall also inform the board of governors of the
numbeér of requests for mediation involving each type of
health care provider set out in s. 655,002 for the most recent
fiscal year for which statistics are available. The board of
governors. shall, by rule, set fees to charge health care
providers at a level sufficient to provide the necessary
revenue.

(1m) Notwithstanding sub. (1), the board of governors
may exempt any type of health care provider set out in s.
655.002: from payment of the annual fee based on a low
number. of requests for mediation involving that type of
health care provider,

(2) The annual fees under sub. (1) shall be collected in a
manner prescnbed by rule of the commissioner. The commis-
sioner shall pay all money collected under sub. (1) into the

mediation fund created under s. 655.68.
Hlstory 1985a 340;.1989 4. 187 1991a. 214

SUBCHAPTER VII
'MEDIATION FUND

655.68 . Mediation fund. (1) CReaTION. There is created a
mediation fund to pay the ‘administrative expenses of the
medlatlon system created under subch. V1.

(2 ADMINISTRATION AND OPERATION. Management of the
mediation fund is vested with the director of state courts.

(3) Fees. The mediation fund is financed from fees gener-
ated under ss. 655.54 and 655.61.

(4) ACCOUNTING AND' 'FINANCIAL REPORTS. (a) Any petson
authorized - to receive deposlts withdraw moneys, issue
vouchers or otherwise disburse mediation fund moneys shall
post a blanket fidelity bond in an amount reasonably suffi-
cient to protect mediation fund assets. The cost of the bond
shall be paid from the mediation fund.

“(b) The state mvestment board shall invest money held i in
the mediation fund in short-term, fixed-return, interest-
bearmg investments. All income derived from these invest-
ments returns to the mediation fund.

(c) On or before March 1 annually, the director of state
courts shall submit a report on the operation of the mediation
system and on the status of the mediation fund to the chief
clerk of each house of the legislature; for distribution to the

appropriate standing committees under s. 13.172 (3).
: Hlstory 1985 2. 340;1987 2. 186; 1989 2 1875 28; 1991 2. 214.




	91Stat0655.pdf 

